Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on February 07, 2009, 11:11:06 PM

Title: U2
Post by: 5 Sams on February 07, 2009, 11:11:06 PM
..right lads and lasses...like them or not the biggest band in the world are about to release a new album...and by all accounts they are gonna be playing ar an talamh naofa in July.

If you're a fan gimme your top 3 U2 tunes.......... if you're not a fan you know you love their music ;)...join in..

Seo mo rogha

Red Hill Mining Town
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytRekLUX3GE

Staring at the Sun
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5A8-N_SUcUc

And then of course the daddy of them all......

Bad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPyhYczii8I
Title: Re: U2
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 07, 2009, 11:19:08 PM
I'm only a luke-warm fan. I hated their last album but the one before it was good.

1 Hawkmoon 269
2 Electrical Storm
3 Elevation
Post by: AFS on February 07, 2009, 11:21:21 PM
In general I can't stand them, but I don't think the new one (something about boots or something ???) is that bad. I see most U2 fans don't have much time for it, maybe thats why I like it  :-\
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2009, 11:32:14 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 07, 2009, 11:11:06 PM
..right lads and lasses...like them or not the biggest band in the world are about to release a new album...and by all accounts they are gonna be playing ar an talamh naofa in July.

If you're a fan gimme your top 3 U2 tunes.......... if you're not a fan you know you love their music ;)...join in..

Seo mo rogha

Red Hill Mining Town

Staring at the Sun

Bad

Are they really the biggest band in the world still? Is a U2 concert really an "event"? I've seen them before but I think they've been pretty gash for a good few years now.

However, in the spirit of the thread:
Red Hill Mining Town is a great call 5Sams.
I Will Follow.
Angel of Harlem
Post by: The Gs Man on February 07, 2009, 11:37:45 PM
I fecking hate U2.
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 07, 2009, 11:53:11 PM
Bono is a knob but I am definitely a fan of theirs.

Three picks that have personal resonance for me:

Hold me, thrill me, kiss me
Angel of Harlem
Desire
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 08, 2009, 01:36:11 AM

Van Diemen's Land
Peace on Earth
One

Van Diemen's Land definitely my favourite. Wikipedia tells me it was one of only 4 U2 songs sung by the Edge.
Post by: Puckoon on February 08, 2009, 01:42:48 AM
Red hill mining town is probably my favourite.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyIbYW9B8FQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyIbYW9B8FQ)  Wake up dead man

Any other song after that.

My main gripe with U2 is that they havnt really evolved. That said, the time they tried something different (Zoo) they got slated.

Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 08, 2009, 01:52:58 AM
All I want is You
Bullet the Blue Sky
Silver and Gold
Two Hearts Beat as One

Post by: redcard on February 08, 2009, 01:58:22 AM
always liked this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yiNqwEAtpk&feature=related
Post by: 5 Sams on February 08, 2009, 02:09:46 AM
Its probably COOL to hate U2 nowadays but jaysus lads some of the music they have produced is unreal...

I'll get back to yiz tomorrow when the Becks wears off ;)
Post by: give her dixie on February 08, 2009, 03:56:28 AM
I have loved U2 since I saw the video of New Years Day in '83 as a 13 year old. 2 years later, my 1st ever concert was the Unforgettable Fire" concert in '85 in Croke Park, 2 weeks before Live Aid. Since then, I havn't missed a concert from every tour. Now, nearly 27 years later, I can't wait to get the new album, and see them again for their 4th tour at Croke Park. They have given me some musical memories for many years.

I had the privlidge to see them in Feb '06 in Santiago Chile, and with the new president in the audience, Bono had 60,000 people crying when he talked about how Pinochet took his victims to the National stadium, (where U2 were playing, but not at the same time), and had them killed. And then the Edge took out an Andean 12 string guitar that the President had given him that day, and together with Bono, the 2 of them did "Mothers Of The Disapeared". The sight of so many people young and old crying, made me feel so proud that an Irish band could have such an impact on the Chilean people.

So, Mothers Of The Disapeared" is my favourite.
Post by: downredblack on February 08, 2009, 09:37:57 AM
Running to stand still

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kioyUGaABjA

Wth or without you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEfSnjL0pd8

The unforgettable fire

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yiNqwEAtpk
Post by: fred the red on February 08, 2009, 10:12:54 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd1mKaxN6EY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd1mKaxN6EY)

Sunday Bloody Sunday

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k04KzgYRKrE&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k04KzgYRKrE&feature=related)

Pride

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpVbLm4TN3g&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpVbLm4TN3g&feature=related)

Where the streets have no name
Post by: carnaross on February 08, 2009, 10:24:49 AM
I was introduced to their music in the early 80's by a friend, wasn't particularly impressed till I saw their video of New Year's Day on TOTP. Told everybody I knew after that, they'd be huge. First saw them in Sheffied arena on the indoor leg of the ZOO TV tour. Got to go backstage before the show (couldn't believe there was no alcohol available for anyone) as a cousin of mine was working with the band. Also saw them in Roundhay Park Leeds on the outdoor leg and most lately at Man. City. Always thought they are brilliant both live and in the studio. Many songs are very poignant to me: Kite, Sometimes You Cant Make It On You Own and Bad to name three.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 08, 2009, 12:21:56 PM
They might be a great band musically but with that insufferable w**ker Bono singing I jsut couldn't bring myself to listen to them.
Post by: glens73 on February 08, 2009, 01:49:08 PM
With or Without You
I Will Follow
New Years Day
Post by: Maguire01 on February 08, 2009, 02:04:26 PM
Gone
Stay
The Unforgettable Fire

There are probably loads more - i was mad into them at one time but have lost interest over the last few albums and didn't even buy the last one.
Post by: Minder on February 08, 2009, 02:22:06 PM
You can argue about Bono being a p***k,what you cant argue about is they have produced some of the best songs of the last 20 years. In no particular order my favourites would be - Running to stand still. With or without you & Bad
Post by: joemamas on February 08, 2009, 02:48:35 PM
Agree that Bono is a complete tool. Saw them at Madison Square garden about four years ago, the hateful Fu*ker never stopped talking about the UN and poverty, meanwhile the ticket cost $133. Rest of the band seem fairly sound.
Post by: Double Cross on February 08, 2009, 03:00:03 PM
Didnt realise it at the time but Self Aid was probably their most powerful performance, Bad is my favourite U2 song and this was just about the perfect version. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGX7B9bGGRU

I remember live Aid like it was yesterday, we were all wondering what they would play, but we didnt think they would play Sunday Bloody Sunday because the concert was in London, how wrong we were and what a performance. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2hUS3abFNg

For some reason a lot of "fans" didnt like the Popmart tour, I think it was their best. Definitely the best opening to any of their concerts, though Howie B did a good job on the crowd as a the warn up act. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8DHj-pA4Rk
Post by: milltown row on February 08, 2009, 03:07:38 PM
running to a stand still

one

bad (live version)

Party girl   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZJNrf6NGt0

seen them a few times.  first one was 88 at Croke. me Dad brought me and my older Bro down. i was 16. we got dropped off and went straight to the offy, two barrack busters. my bro went back into the shop for fags, i'm standing there and ma Da drives past shaking his head and waving his fist. vivid memory

the Pouges and the Dubliners were doing the wild rover thing, F*cks local Dubs boys wer going mental in the ground. got to the front a couple of times but was trailed over the barrier and had to make way back :(
Post by: Billys Boots on February 08, 2009, 03:08:04 PM
Lost interest about 15 years ago, but a lot of the stuff up to (and including) 'Achtung Baby' was interesting to me.

Ultraviolet (light my way)
11 o'clock tick-tock
Promenade

I like 'Cartoon World' too, it would be, as Larry Gogan might say, 'bubbling under'.  ;)
Post by: thejuice on February 08, 2009, 07:24:59 PM
My top 3,

1. Bad
2. New Years Day
3. Cover of Springhill Mining Disaster

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWzYSJ3-Cjw&feature=related
Post by: C_Berg_316 on February 08, 2009, 09:10:59 PM
My Top 3

City of Blinding Lights (Lethal version from the Vertigo Tour - Lights are awesome)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCzccXAF8Lo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCzccXAF8Lo)

Yahweh - also love this acoustic version from the same tour  :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkEQS5SJZPU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkEQS5SJZPU)

And my final will have to be the classic - with or without you
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2009, 09:17:15 PM
Like Billy I too lost interest a long time ago.

Was at Croker in 85 and Giants Stadium in 87. Achtung Baby was innovative but it's been a slow death since

I will follow
Bad (live)
One
Post by: stephenite on February 09, 2009, 01:48:13 AM
If God will send his angels
Electrical Storm
The one with Pavarotti
Post by: dec on February 09, 2009, 02:45:29 AM
bad pride one
Post by: mouview on February 09, 2009, 03:47:09 PM
No mention for 'All I want is you'?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 09, 2009, 04:36:58 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 08, 2009, 03:00:03 PM

For some reason a lot of "fans" didnt like the Popmart tour, I think it was their best. Definitely the best opening to any of their concerts, though Howie B did a good job on the crowd as a the warn up act. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8DHj-pA4Rk

this wasnt bad either http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=2E5F12EB590790BA&playnext=1&v=I5omeaIIcbc

Post by: muppet on February 09, 2009, 05:57:13 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 08, 2009, 03:56:28 AM
I have loved U2 since I saw the video of New Years Day in '83 as a 13 year old. 2 years later, my 1st ever concert was the Unforgettable Fire" concert in '85 in Croke Park, 2 weeks before Live Aid. Since then, I havn't missed a concert from every tour. Now, nearly 27 years later, I can't wait to get the new album, and see them again for their 4th tour at Croke Park. They have given me some musical memories for many years.

I had the privlidge to see them in Feb '06 in Santiago Chile, and with the new president in the audience, Bono had 60,000 people crying when he talked about how Pinochet took his victims to the National stadium, (where U2 were playing, but not at the same time), and had them killed. And then the Edge took out an Andean 12 string guitar that the President had given him that day, and together with Bono, the 2 of them did "Mothers Of The Disapeared". The sight of so many people young and old crying, made me feel so proud that an Irish band could have such an impact on the Chilean people.

So, Mothers Of The Disapeared" is my favourite.

I'm about the same age and have been fan a long time.

I could pick anything at all but just to be different today it'll be:

An Chat dubh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCRTT2ywgKk&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCRTT2ywgKk&feature=related)

A sort of homecoming

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9H6yNpOeZrg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9H6yNpOeZrg)

Vertigo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhWZ7bpfQag (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhWZ7bpfQag)
Post by: Larry Duff on February 10, 2009, 10:32:24 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2009, 09:17:15 PM
Like Billy I too lost interest a long time ago.

Was at Croker in 85 and Giants Stadium in 87. Achtung Baby was innovative but it's been a slow death since

I have to agree. In recent years their tours have still been well worth going to, with some mediocre attempts interspersed with classic tracks. However Bono's insistance on using the stage to show us all that the world would be a fantastic place if we all just did what he said, is becoming a bit tiresome. Remember that "Jesus, Mohammad, Buddha" headband at Croke ??? What a knob :-[
Post by: 5 Sams on February 14, 2009, 12:11:47 AM
Couple of hidden gems...

I fall down

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vq0vj36usm8&feature=PlayList&p=278B84546BCCAE56&index=2

I threw a brick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tc-npSf-jSg

I'm getting the impression that a lot of the punters on here are too young to remember the singles off Boy and October ....and even War

Post by: Double Cross on February 14, 2009, 12:41:44 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 14, 2009, 12:11:47 AM
I threw a brick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tc-npSf-jSg

I threw a brick threw a window was released as a double A sided single, the other side was much better in my opinion.
A day without me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiCDScr2V4g

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 14, 2009, 12:11:47 AM
I'm getting the impression that a lot of the punters on here are too young to remember the singles off Boy and October ....and even War

I got into U2 around the time War was released, some good stuff on the early albums, but the later material is much better.
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 14, 2009, 12:55:38 AM
Showing my age here but saw them for the first time Leisureland Galway January 1982, I believe it was 4 pound for the ticket. There was about 300 hundred at the concert. I got Bono, The Edge and Adam Clayton to sign the back of the ticket (which I still have) but Larry was chatting to two young ones so did not get his autograph...didn't want to intrude on him,I am still raging.

My 3 Favourites

Boy

One

October
Post by: the colonel on February 14, 2009, 11:23:36 AM
where the streets have no name

out of control

one

cant wait for the gigs this summer

a guy with 10 yr croke park tickets has said he will give me 2 tickets for one of the concerts

Post by: cornerback on February 27, 2009, 02:41:02 PM
Anybody catch U2 on radio 1 this afternoon?

Not the biggest bono fan but he went up in my estimation when he called chris martin a w**ker...  :D

Post by: Minder on February 27, 2009, 02:42:57 PM
Any word of when they are releasing those tickets for the Summer?
Post by: cornerback on February 27, 2009, 02:59:31 PM
They didn't make any announcements on radio 1 today
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2009, 03:21:19 PM
Did Bono not announce that Chris Martin from the bedwetters Coldplay was a "w**ker" and almost put yer wan presenting it into meltdown!
Post by: maddog on February 27, 2009, 03:25:04 PM
Quote from: cornerback on February 27, 2009, 02:41:02 PM

Not the biggest bono fan but he went up in my estimation when he called chris martin a w**ker...  :D

Chris Martin, the guy that seems to be modelling himself on bono ?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on February 27, 2009, 03:55:27 PM

Takes one to know one
Post by: muppet on February 27, 2009, 08:20:58 PM
Listened to the album for the 1st time this evening. Usually U2 songs grow on me with time so anything I remotely like straight away probably will end up on my favourites playlist.

1. No line on the Horizon. Very good start. Sounds like a heavier more electric Arcade Fire song.
2. Magnificent. Not sure if it's magnificent but it is definitely worth downloading as a single for those who wouldn't want the album.
3. Moment of Surrender. The intro reminds me a bit of 'You're So Cruel' but the vocals sound like Bono imitating Arcade Fire. I don't recall him sounding like that before. Still, I like it & it will go straight onto my favourites.
4. Unknown caller. Edge intro somewhere between 'I still haven't found' and 'All that you can't leave behind' . Almost like the anthems of old in the chorus but I might need to listen to it more.
5. I'll go crazy if I don't go crazy tonight. I didn't think much of 'Elevation' when I heard it first but it took on a new life on stage. This could be one of those songs, I think it would sound very good live.
6. Get on your boots. We know this one. Starts with a great Clayton bass line but seems to get lost about a minute in. This isn't really growing on me.
7. Stand up comedy. Sounds a bit like a 70s stadium rock song. I really like it and think it would be class live. Big Edge guitar in this one.
8. FEZ-Being born. And now for something completely different. The 1st minute is a bit like a Radiohead experiment, the second minute changes direction and sounds like a U2 experiment. I really can't make up my mind on this one.
9. White as snow. A pseudo ballad/hymn. Melody sounds a bit dodgy at the start but as usual it grows on you. Lyrics only for U2 extremists: "Who can forgive forgiveness where forgiveness is not".
10. Breathe. Something completely different again. Lots of guitar and simple melody. Very good though.
11. Cedars of Lebanon. When I saw the name I thought it would be a lecture but it is not. Some will probably think this is the best song on the album, but not me. Probably the weakest.

I am unashamedly a U2 fan so my opinion is obviously biased but after 1 sitting I think it is very good. It usually goes up in my estimation after that. Already I want to go back and listen to 4 or 5 of the songs again straight away which is a good sign I suppose.

'Get on your Boots' was a very odd song to choose as a single off this album. I would rate it about 9th or 10th on the album.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2009, 10:49:25 PM
Their on Johnathon Ross tonight
Post by: Maguire01 on February 27, 2009, 10:53:09 PM
Quote from: maddog on February 27, 2009, 03:25:04 PM

Chris Martin, the guy that seems to be modelling himself on bono ?
Indeed. Maybe we're seeing a bit of the green eyed monster!
I have to admit, i admire them both to an extent, although both can annoy me too.

Quote from: Minder on February 27, 2009, 02:42:57 PM
Any word of when they are releasing those tickets for the Summer?
Spotted this update today:
http://www.hotpress.com/news/5288776.html
Post by: INDIANA on February 27, 2009, 11:19:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 27, 2009, 08:20:58 PM
Listened to the album for the 1st time this evening. Usually U2 songs grow on me with time so anything I remotely like straight away probably will end up on my favourites playlist.

1. No line on the Horizon. Very good start. Sounds like a heavier more electric Arcade Fire song.
2. Magnificent. Not sure if it's magnificent but it is definitely worth downloading as a single for those who wouldn't want the album.
3. Moment of Surrender. The intro reminds me a bit of 'You're So Cruel' but the vocals sound like Bono imitating Arcade Fire. I don't recall him sounding like that before. Still, I like it & it will go straight onto my favourites.
4. Unknown caller. Edge intro somewhere between 'I still haven't found' and 'All that you can't leave behind' . Almost like the anthems of old in the chorus but I might need to listen to it more.
5. I'll go crazy if I don't go crazy tonight. I didn't think much of 'Elevation' when I heard it first but it took on a new life on stage. This could be one of those songs, I think it would sound very good live.
6. Get on your boots. We know this one. Starts with a great Clayton bass line but seems to get lost about a minute in. This isn't really growing on me.
7. Stand up comedy. Sounds a bit like a 70s stadium rock song. I really like it and think it would be class live. Big Edge guitar in this one.
8. FEZ-Being born. And now for something completely different. The 1st minute is a bit like a Radiohead experiment, the second minute changes direction and sounds like a U2 experiment. I really can't make up my mind on this one.
9. White as snow. A pseudo ballad/hymn. Melody sounds a bit dodgy at the start but as usual it grows on you. Lyrics only for U2 extremists: "Who can forgive forgiveness where forgiveness is not".
10. Breathe. Something completely different again. Lots of guitar and simple melody. Very good though.
11. Cedars of Lebanon. When I saw the name I thought it would be a lecture but it is not. Some will probably think this is the best song on the album, but not me. Probably the weakest.

I am unashamedly a U2 fan so my opinion is obviously biased but after 1 sitting I think it is very good. It usually goes up in my estimation after that. Already I want to go back and listen to 4 or 5 of the songs again straight away which is a good sign I suppose.

'Get on your Boots' was a very odd song to choose as a single off this album. I would rate it about 9th or 10th on the album.

Don't like it I have to say. Should release another greatest hits album and leave it at that. Once you get beyond 7/8 albums its inevitable you start rehasing old material and thats what I think here. Its not a bad album but like Spingsteen's new one, its not one I'll remember.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 27, 2009, 11:40:37 PM
Thought the first song on Jonathan Ross tonight, Breathe, sounded pretty good on first listen. Bono acting the c**k as usual with his walkabout amongst clearly uncomfortable audience members!
Post by: INDIANA on February 27, 2009, 11:52:03 PM
Thats not a bad song at all and gets better the more you listen to it. Get on Your boots is painful shite though.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 28, 2009, 12:05:59 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 27, 2009, 11:52:03 PM
Thats not a bad song at all and gets better the more you listen to it. Get on Your boots is painful shite though.

On the money!
Post by: Maguire01 on February 28, 2009, 12:10:55 AM
You have to wonder, if there are better tracks on the album, what bright spark thought 'boots' was the best choice for lead single?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 28, 2009, 12:19:13 AM
They're on the Culture Show Uncut on bbc2 now.
Post by: AFS on February 28, 2009, 12:21:36 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 28, 2009, 12:10:55 AM
You have to wonder, if there are better tracks on the album, what bright spark thought 'boots' was the best choice for lead single?

It doesn't sound like a 'U2 song', so it might attract people who previously would have dismissed them. I'd say thats the thinking.
Post by: INDIANA on February 28, 2009, 12:43:06 AM
failed miserably then so. I can't finad anyone who likes that song. Sounds like it was recorded in some one's kitchen.
Post by: AFS on February 28, 2009, 12:52:00 AM
I half like it  :-\
Post by: muppet on February 28, 2009, 11:06:04 AM
http://www.hotpress.com/5272388.html (http://www.hotpress.com/5272388.html)

In the HMV vote for your favourite U2 song 'Bad' doesn't even make the top 25!
Get on your boots comes in at 21.
There is obviously no accounting for the pleb factor. ::)

1. One (20.1%)
2. With Or Without You (15.2%)
3. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For (10.0%)
4. Beautiful Day (7.9%)
5. Where The Streets Have No Name (7.7%)
6. Sunday Bloody Sunday (7.0%)
7. Pride (In The Name Of Love) (5.1%)
8. Sweetest Thing (4.0%)
9. I Will Follow (3.4%)
10. New Year's Day (2.9%)
11. Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of (2.3%)
12. Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own (2.1%)
13. Walk On (2.0%)
14. The Fly (1.6%)
15. Angel Of Harlem (1.5%)
16. Stay (Faraway, So Close!) (1.3%)
17. Mysterious Ways (1.2%)
18. Even Better Than The Real Thing (1.1%)
19. Elevation (1.0%)
20. Desire (1.0%)
21. Get On Your Boots (0.9%)
22. When Love Comes To Town (0.8%)
23. The Saints Are Coming (0.5%)
24. Vertigo (0.4%)
25. Window In The Skies (0.3%)
Post by: Minder on February 28, 2009, 11:47:31 AM
The Sweetest Thing? WTF
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 28, 2009, 11:26:54 PM
I bought the new Bell X1 CD instead of U2's one this weekend. Is it worthwhile getting any of the special edition No line on the Horizon releases?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 28, 2009, 11:37:51 PM
What's the new BellX1 album like? I didn't like the last one as much as Music In Mouth.
Post by: Gnevin on March 02, 2009, 12:05:06 AM
Running to stand still
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhQSeVjC-_Q
Van Diemen's land
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wS_xQ9H9raU
Miss sarajevo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xh_AQUYvRvg
Post by: 3000 miles away on March 02, 2009, 07:35:43 PM
U2 are brillant, bono is a tool, is it true he burned the tri-colour in germany years ago.
Post by: under the bar on March 02, 2009, 08:17:50 PM
QuoteU2 are brillant, bono is a tool, is it true he burned the tri-colour in germany years ago.

Dunno, but there wss a story doing the rounds about 15 years ago at a US concert he ripped the tricolur into three bits and used the white part to blow his nose, then said he didnt have a clue wtf the flag stood for anymore.
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2009, 08:53:45 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 02, 2009, 08:17:50 PM
QuoteU2 are brillant, bono is a tool, is it true he burned the tri-colour in germany years ago.

Dunno, but there wss a story doing the rounds about 15 years ago at a US concert he ripped the tricolur into three bits and used the white part to blow his nose, then said he didnt have a clue wtf the flag stood for anymore.

Apparently he actually waved a flag once!!!  ::)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 04, 2009, 11:00:16 PM
The album is growing on me the more I listen to it and I find myself putting it on in the evenings when I get in from work at the minute... to me it's vintage U2 at their best, to be  honest  :-[
Post by: INDIANA on March 05, 2009, 12:31:14 AM
Its an acquired taste in my view. But in my opinion its like bile. Can't stand it, gets worse very time I listen to it. So I've stopped. ;D
Post by: Eoghan Mag on March 05, 2009, 01:23:13 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 28, 2009, 11:37:51 PM
What's the new BellX1 album like? I didn't like the last one as much as Music In Mouth.

There are some fine tracks on it, but the tracks I liked most the woman turned her nose up at. Its not everyone's cup of tea. The last track is unusual but works fine for me.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 05, 2009, 09:36:36 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 04, 2009, 11:00:16 PM
The album is growing on me the more I listen to it and I find myself putting it on in the evenings when I get in from work at the minute... to me it's vintage U2 at their best, to be  honest  :-[

Cant understand why they released 'Boots" as the first single...OK it has grown on me a small bit but there are some deadly tracks on this album....much better than "Boots"....its as good as anything they have done to date IMHO.....the more I listen the better it gets....

Have to say The Edge's guitar is unreal 8)
Post by: stiffler on March 05, 2009, 09:38:52 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 05, 2009, 09:36:36 PM

Cant understand why they released 'Boots" as the first single...OK it has grown on me a small bit but there are some deadly tracks on this album....much better than "Boots"....its as good as anything they have done to date IMHO.....the more I listen the better it gets....

Thinking the same myself 5sams, the album grows on ya after a listen or two! that boots song should never been released as 1st track, poor decision IMO
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 05, 2009, 09:52:14 PM
QuoteHave to say The Edge's guitar is unreal

Improvements in technologu in my opinion:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EDuK46ZqFM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EDuK46ZqFM)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 05, 2009, 10:04:32 PM

I love Boots  ;D

It speaks to me, that's the only way I can describe it. 
I would put it right up there with some of their best tracks ever.  No point in referring to any other song here though - they are all great (well possibly apart from the zooropa and pop stuff but they can be ignored by and large  :D )
Post by: 5 Sams on March 05, 2009, 10:22:30 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 05, 2009, 10:04:32 PM

I love Boots  ;D

It speaks to me, that's the only way I can describe it. 
I would put it right up there with some of their best tracks ever.  No point in referring to any other song here though - they are all great (well possibly apart from the zooropa and pop stuff but they can be ignored by and large  :D )

Dont forget that Pop produced "Staring at the Sun".......quality

I'm really liking "Moment of Surrender" of this one... :)
Post by: Double Cross on March 05, 2009, 10:58:23 PM
The new album is really starting to grow on me,  I'll Go Crazy If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight is probably my favourite, closely followed by Magnificent. Boots is probably the weakest song on the album, don't know why they decided to release it as the first single.
Really looking forward to seeing them in the summer, just a pity they are playing in Croker.
Post by: muppet on March 05, 2009, 11:55:07 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on March 05, 2009, 10:58:23 PM
The new album is really starting to grow on me,  I'll Go Crazy If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight is probably my favourite, closely followed by Magnificent. Boots is probably the weakest song on the album, don't know why they decided to release it as the first single.
Really looking forward to seeing them in the summer, just a pity they are playing in Croker.

According to U2.com the stage will be in the middle of the stadium which might help the sound.

Am I alone in hearing Arcade Fire and Kings of Leon in some of the songs?
Post by: Double Cross on March 06, 2009, 12:53:27 PM
Definitely hear some Arcade Fire alright.
Post by: under the bar on March 06, 2009, 01:09:23 PM
Get on your boots reminds me very much of some of the later Queen stuff in the harmonies. 

I sincerely hope that they won't open & close their live perfomance with Boots as they did with Vertigo.  What a waste of all too scarce concert time playing Vertigo for a 2nd time instead of Walk On.
Post by: muppet on March 06, 2009, 01:13:10 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 06, 2009, 01:09:23 PM
Get on your boots reminds me very much of some of the later Queen stuff in the harmonies. 

I sincerely hope that they won't open & close their live perfomance with Boots as they did with Vertigo.  What a waste of all too scarce concert time playing Vertigo for a 2nd time instead of Walk On.

Great idea.

List 20 U2 songs you would want to hear live (it must include 3 or 4 from the new album obviously).

Post by: The GAA on March 06, 2009, 01:34:33 PM
Definitely Arcade fire in there.

The album has grown on me quite surprisingly.

I hated Achtung baby the first time i listened to it and now its my favourite album
Post by: BenDover on March 09, 2009, 08:46:48 AM
Tour Dates are as follows:

U2 360° TOUR :: 2009
Date Venue City State Country PUBLIC ON-SALE
20 June 2009 Camp Nou Barcelona  ES Wed. 25 March
07 July 2009 San Siro Milan  IT Fri. 13 March
11 July 2009 Stade De France Paris  FR Fri. 20 March
15 July 2009 Parc des Sports Charles Ehrmann Nice  FR Fri. 20 March
18 July 2009 Olympic Stadium Berlin  DE Fri. 27 March
20 July 2009 Arena Amsterdam  NL Sat. 14 March
24 July 2009 Croke Park Dublin  IE Fri. 20 March
31 July 2009 Ullevi Stadium Gothenburg  SE Fri. 13 March
03 August 2009 Veltins-Arena Gelsenkirchen  DE Fri. 27 March
06 August 2009 Slaski Stadium Chorzow  PL Fri. 20 March
10 August 2009 Stadium Makimir Zagreb  HR Fri. 27 March
14 August 2009 Wembley Stadium London  US Fri. 20 March
18 August 2009 Hampden Park Glasgow  GB Fri. 20 March
20 August 2009 Don Valley Stadium Sheffield  GB Fri. 20 March
22 August 2009 Millenium Stadium Cardiff Wal. GB Fri. 20 March
12 September 2009 Soldier Field Chicago IL US Mon. 30 March
16 September 2009 Rogers Centre Toronto ON CA Mon. 30 March
20 September 2009 Gilette Stadium Boston MA US Mon. 30 March
24 September 2009 Giants Stadium New York NY US Mon. 30 March
29 September 2009 FedEx Field Washington DC US Mon. 6 April
01 October 2009 Scott Stadium Charlottesville VA US Sat. 4 April
03 October 2009 Stadium Raleigh NC US Mon. 6 April
06 October 2009 Georgia Dome Atlanta GA US Mon. 6 April
09 October 2009 Raymond James Center Tampa FL US Sat. 18 April
12 October 2009 New Cowboys Stadium Dallas TX US Mon. 20 April
14 October 2009 Reliant Stadium Houston TX US Mon. 20 April
19 October 2009 Oklahoma Memorial Stadium Norman OK US Sat. 4 April
20 October 2009 Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Phoenix AZ US Mon. 20 April
23 October 2009 Sam Boyd Stadium Las vegas NV US TBD
25 October 2009 Rose Bowl Los Angeles CA US Mon. 6 April
28 October 2009 BC Place Stadium Vancouver BC CA Mon. 6 April

Anyone have the presale code? :)
Post by: 5 Sams on March 13, 2009, 10:31:28 PM
2nd date in Croker announced today....tickets go on sale at 8am this day week.

No line gets better every time I listen to it....Get on your Boots is still shite though :-[

Post by: StGallsGAA on March 16, 2009, 09:32:02 AM
Anyone know the Subscriber Discount Coupon code for u2.com?
Post by: clareman on March 16, 2009, 02:11:01 PM
Or the early purchase code for ticketmaster?! Someone had it for Kings of Leon before and it worked great....
Post by: FL/MAYO on March 16, 2009, 02:23:14 PM
Quote from: BenDover on March 09, 2009, 08:46:48 AM
Tour Dates are as follows:

U2 360° TOUR :: 2009
Date Venue City State Country PUBLIC ON-SALE
20 June 2009 Camp Nou Barcelona  ES Wed. 25 March
07 July 2009 San Siro Milan  IT Fri. 13 March
11 July 2009 Stade De France Paris  FR Fri. 20 March
15 July 2009 Parc des Sports Charles Ehrmann Nice  FR Fri. 20 March
18 July 2009 Olympic Stadium Berlin  DE Fri. 27 March
20 July 2009 Arena Amsterdam  NL Sat. 14 March
24 July 2009 Croke Park Dublin  IE Fri. 20 March
31 July 2009 Ullevi Stadium Gothenburg  SE Fri. 13 March
03 August 2009 Veltins-Arena Gelsenkirchen  DE Fri. 27 March
06 August 2009 Slaski Stadium Chorzow  PL Fri. 20 March
10 August 2009 Stadium Makimir Zagreb  HR Fri. 27 March
14 August 2009 Wembley Stadium London  US Fri. 20 March
18 August 2009 Hampden Park Glasgow  GB Fri. 20 March
20 August 2009 Don Valley Stadium Sheffield  GB Fri. 20 March
22 August 2009 Millenium Stadium Cardiff Wal. GB Fri. 20 March
12 September 2009 Soldier Field Chicago IL US Mon. 30 March
16 September 2009 Rogers Centre Toronto ON CA Mon. 30 March
20 September 2009 Gilette Stadium Boston MA US Mon. 30 March
24 September 2009 Giants Stadium New York NY US Mon. 30 March
29 September 2009 FedEx Field Washington DC US Mon. 6 April
01 October 2009 Scott Stadium Charlottesville VA US Sat. 4 April
03 October 2009 Stadium Raleigh NC US Mon. 6 April
06 October 2009 Georgia Dome Atlanta GA US Mon. 6 April
09 October 2009 Raymond James Center Tampa FL US Sat. 18 April
12 October 2009 New Cowboys Stadium Dallas TX US Mon. 20 April
14 October 2009 Reliant Stadium Houston TX US Mon. 20 April
19 October 2009 Oklahoma Memorial Stadium Norman OK US Sat. 4 April
20 October 2009 Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Phoenix AZ US Mon. 20 April
23 October 2009 Sam Boyd Stadium Las vegas NV US TBD
25 October 2009 Rose Bowl Los Angeles CA US Mon. 6 April
28 October 2009 BC Place Stadium Vancouver BC CA Mon. 6 April

Anyone have the presale code? :)

No Miami date this time around but they managed to fit in Norman Oklahoma WTF
Post by: Puckoon on March 16, 2009, 04:12:31 PM
Just bought this album at the weekend, the music is great, but the lyrics and bonos whine are a little weak. One of the songs is a rip off of a hymn! I think its 8 or 9.
Post by: stiffler on March 16, 2009, 05:58:26 PM
Anyone with the presale code, id appreciate it pmed.

thanks
Post by: Treasurer on March 18, 2009, 11:41:47 AM
Anyone get their presale tickets yet?

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 18, 2009, 11:47:51 AM
Folks anyone know the best way to get tickets?
By that I mean whose selling them, pre-ticket codes, websites etc?
Post by: Donagh on March 18, 2009, 11:49:25 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 18, 2009, 11:47:51 AM
Folks anyone know the best way to get tickets?
By that I mean whose selling them, pre-ticket codes, websites etc?

Join their fan club and you get an option to buy the pre-released tickets. This came the other week:

Dear Donagh,

U2 have revealed they'll be hitting the road this summer with the 360° Tour travelling to Europe and North America.

Opening in Barcelona on 30th June, the tour will visit 14 cities across Europe before arriving off in North America in Chicago on September 12th. Find all the dates on the U2.com tour page.

With an innovative 360° design you'll be able to see the show, unobstructed, from anywhere in the stadium. Don't believe us? Take a look.

First tickets for the U2 360° Tour go on sale this week and U2.com subscribers can enter a special presale ahead of everyone else. When you subscribe to U2.com you also get the double-CD 'U2 Medium, Rare and Remastered', a limited edition collection of rare tracks and lost early cuts.

Check out the U2.com subscription offer - and see how to get in early for your U2 360° Tour tickets.

best wishes
The U2.com Team.
Post by: Treasurer on March 18, 2009, 11:50:44 AM
You can still join (about 40 euro) and you'll get the last of the presale tickets (starting at 3pm today)
Post by: Treasurer on March 18, 2009, 04:42:15 PM
Tickets sorted for the Friday :D
Post by: muppet on March 18, 2009, 07:11:25 PM
Got my tickets today. (I feel like Tony  :-[)

I think you can still get pre-sale tomorrow though you need to check it.

Join U2.com as described.

You can join as a non-paying member which doesn't entitle you to pre-sale tickets but you can check out if joining fully will then get you access. Worth a look as I'd say they will sell out in flash on friday.
Post by: Treasurer on March 18, 2009, 08:24:34 PM
You can buy on pre sale up to 12 noon tomorrow.  What are Glasvegas like anyways? (Showing my age here).  I'd like to have seen the Kaisers on the Saturday but better chance of avoiding fixtures in the club by going on the Friday.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 18, 2009, 10:26:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 18, 2009, 07:11:25 PM
Did you not pay for it?
Post by: donelli on March 19, 2009, 09:48:06 AM
heard the tickets for this go from 33-145.

is the pitch all-standing again...and are they the cheap tickets??

If it is standing, i'd prefer them...
Post by: thebigfella on March 19, 2009, 09:53:54 AM
Quote from: donelli on March 19, 2009, 09:48:06 AM
heard the tickets for this go from 33-145.

is the pitch all-standing again...and are they the cheap tickets??

If it is standing, i'd prefer them...

I heard there was 33 euro or pound tickets. None available for Croke Park though on Ticketmaster. I think places like wembley have them. Pitch is general admission, so all standing, around 65 euro too which I thought was good value. Not sure why anyone would pay over 100 to get in the hogan or cusack(the expensive ones) ?
Post by: Treasurer on March 19, 2009, 10:13:41 AM
65 euro for pitch including transaction fee
Post by: aontroim on March 20, 2009, 08:22:13 AM
Anyone able to get tickets today - i was online before the sale started and had to wait about 10 mins and surprise surprise no tickets available!!! Grrrrrr - was coming home around this time would have been a nice event for the trip!  Ebay it is then.

UPDATE: Went back on and after a lot of waiting somehow managed to get 2 lower canal tickets - though if Sunday is announced then will try for better tickets / standing tickets.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 20, 2009, 08:31:47 AM
f**king raging, at home today logged on 45 mins ago, installed internet explorer 7 last night. Was able to get onto the ticketmaster website open my account but when I went to the U2 page and clicked on the date requuired It kept giving me an error message and saying that internet had to close down!  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: kumquat on March 20, 2009, 08:47:36 AM
 ;D Lower Cusack for the saturday. they will prob put another one on the sunday.
Post by: redboots on March 20, 2009, 09:16:59 AM
there is still tickets going in the local music shops for the friday night, Sunday night still to go on sale...
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 20, 2009, 09:36:23 AM
The wife spent about 45 mins waiting to try and get tickets for Saturday night before being informed they were sold out. She then tried for Friday tickets and got 2 for the upper canal for the princely sum of €75.60! Will the bar be open?
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 09:37:38 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on March 20, 2009, 09:36:23 AM
The wife spent about 45 mins waiting to try and get tickets for Saturday night before being informed they were sold out. She then tried for Friday tickets and got 2 for the upper canal for the princely sum of €75.60! Will the bar be open?

I thought the tickets started at €65 ?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 20, 2009, 09:46:24 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 09:37:38 AM

I have the confirmation email from ticketmaster. They charged my credit card €75.60. Section 716 row o seats 18 & 19!
Post by: Treasurer on March 20, 2009, 10:03:32 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 09:37:38 AM

Standing tickets are that
Post by: bingobus on March 20, 2009, 10:23:35 AM
Don't think demand was as high as last gigs.

Our local record store was swapped last year with hundreds in queue. Went past at 8.15 this morning and no queue.

I got mine handily enough online for the Saturday gig, Lower Cusack, 91.50 or so a pop.
Post by: donelli on March 20, 2009, 10:26:07 AM
some tickets were 33 odd.
the field tickets are 62. got some of them for friday, but couldnt get teh ones o wanted for saturday night at all (got the €33, upper hogan, row O).
would prefer saturday night, though i think the qualifiers are on that night, so if we're involved, it'll be the friday concert for me.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 20, 2009, 10:28:55 AM
Got the old U2 tickets today and got them for £35 for the middle of the upper cusack stand. Let's hope they don't play a lot of that new album because it was shi te
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 20, 2009, 10:29:17 AM
Not into the back garden would I go...
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 10:30:51 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 20, 2009, 10:29:17 AM

Used to be a big fan, seen them the last time in Croke and in Botanic gardens in '97 but it didnt appeal to me this time at all.
Post by: armaghniac on March 20, 2009, 10:41:48 AM
The better half queued for tickets. I might go along and see if they have changed since I last saw them in 1980. Mind you they are charging 35 times as much now, so they better be good.
Post by: bingobus on March 20, 2009, 10:47:16 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 10:30:51 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 20, 2009, 10:29:17 AM

Used to be a big fan, seen them the last time in Croke and in Botanic gardens in '97 but it didnt appeal to me this time at all.

Worked the bar at that show, was sure it was going to cave in round us. Worst position of a bar at a concert of all time, either side of the entrances to the park!! There where 4 ticket "sheds" that you bought you beer vouchers from and then you approached the bar to get your pints. The sheds lasted about an hour, one of the sellers was pulled out a window by a security man just before it collapsed in. It was madness, at one stage we stopped serving and held the bar up whiile Security drove people back.

To top it off we got paid stg£30 for about 8 hours work. They where carrying money out in binliners!!
Post by: David McKeown on March 20, 2009, 12:08:57 PM
I tried to get tickets for the saturday show.  Tried to get 4 of the cheapest tickets from the drop down menu (€65).  Waited in the queue for ten minutes and got none.  Tried again and asked for best available.  Waited 20 mins and got 4 €33 tickets that hadnt been available in the drop down menu.  Happy enough.  Brother got 2 sets of 4 upper hogan without much bother in the same length of time
Post by: the colonel on March 20, 2009, 12:47:29 PM
logged on at 12 and got 3 tickets for hampden, 85 quid each and an £8.50 service charge on each ticket. its ridiculous. there was 3 ticket options for seating, 30 quid, 85 and 150. not sure what the standing was.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 20, 2009, 01:21:52 PM
bro-in-law in Liverpool managed to get 8 tickets for Sat night so sorted!  ;D
Post by: stiffler on March 20, 2009, 05:39:34 PM
Did anyone manage to get standing tickets for the saturday night?

After trying for half an hour, the only option was the upper canal end.
Post by: Puckoon on March 20, 2009, 05:42:20 PM
I cant decided if I like this fecking album or not.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 20, 2009, 11:22:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 18, 2009, 07:11:25 PM
Only if you won them, or got them for free.

Post by: Over the Bar on March 23, 2009, 05:02:34 PM
Got tix for the Sat night.  Glas Vegas the support.  Who are they, who do they sound like and are they any good?
Post by: Treasurer on March 23, 2009, 05:11:02 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 23, 2009, 05:02:34 PM
Got tix for the Sat night.  Glas Vegas the support.  Who are they, who do they sound like and are they any good?

I thought Glasvegas were Fri night and the Kaiser Chiefs Sat night?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 23, 2009, 05:18:34 PM
Tickets for the Skydome show go on sale next Monday - will try and get some - never been a big fan though.

Snow Patrol are opening for them
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 23, 2009, 05:23:45 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on March 23, 2009, 05:11:02 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 23, 2009, 05:02:34 PM

I thought Glasvegas were Fri night and the Kaiser Chiefs Sat night?

Your right treasurer, Glasvegas on fri and KC on sat.
Post by: stiffler on March 23, 2009, 05:28:07 PM
Anyone interested in swapping standing tickets for the saturday night for seated tickets, send me a pm.

thanks
Post by: Over the Bar on March 24, 2009, 01:53:04 PM
QuoteAnyone interested in swapping standing tickets for the saturday night for seated tickets, send me a pm.

I think you'd need to be a bit clearer as to which tickets you have stiffler! ;)
Post by: stiffler on March 24, 2009, 06:34:52 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 24, 2009, 01:53:04 PM
QuoteAnyone interested in swapping standing tickets for the saturday night for seated tickets, send me a pm.

I think you'd need to be a bit clearer as to which tickets you have stiffler! ;)

Canal end tickets for the saturday night
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 24, 2009, 07:09:26 PM
Nope, the album still hasn't grown on me.
It lacks the 2 or 3 stand out songs that the other albums have, so it plays more like a collection of B sides.
Bono's voice is getting more raspy and hard to listen to.

Other years I would have gone through the hoops to get concert tickets, but I didn't bother this time.
Post by: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 10:43:09 AM
Just noticed this on ticketmaster

"U2 have confirmed that the U2 360 Tour will play a third and final Irish concert at Dublin's Croke Park on 27 July 2009.

Tickets go on sale Wednesday 1 April at 08:00. "
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 11:14:35 AM
The cheaper tickets thing was a load of sh*te.  Ok some crappy seats went for 35 euro but I'm in exactly the same section of upper hogan overlooking the stage as last time.  Tickets in 05 were apporx 65 euro and this time 95 euro! 

thanks Bono!  not!!
Post by: bingobus on March 25, 2009, 12:21:35 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 11:14:35 AM
The cheaper tickets thing was a load of sh*te.  Ok some crappy seats went for 35 euro but I'm in exactly the same section of upper hogan overlooking the stage as last time.  Tickets in 05 were apporx 65 euro and this time 95 euro! 

thanks Bono!  not!!

What is the Upper Hogan like for a view. Have a few options, one is Upper Hogan Row C about on the 30m line near the Canal end. Also have Canal end lower and standing to choose from.
Post by: lurganblue on March 25, 2009, 12:47:52 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 10:43:09 AM
Just noticed this on ticketmaster

"U2 have confirmed that the U2 360 Tour will play a third and final Irish concert at Dublin's Croke Park on 27 July 2009.

Tickets go on sale Wednesday 1 April at 08:00. "

a monday? is that a bank holiday?
Post by: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 01:00:53 PM

thanks Bono!  not!!

Are you sure? My pitch tickets worked out 65 pounds, about 96 euros round that time. I paid 64 euro for them this time so it's better - with a better exchange rate they would have worked out lots cheaper than the last time.

I don't understand why your complaining after you bought them.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 25, 2009, 01:25:01 PM

thanks Bono!  not!!
The cheaper tickets thing was exactly as advertised. Some tickets would be very cheap and some would be more expensive - a tiered system, rather than the usual flat rate for seating or standing. It should be obvious that the cheap seats would be the 'crappy seats' and the expensive seats would be in a better location.
Post by: armaghniac on March 25, 2009, 01:45:55 PM
QuoteIt should be obvious that the cheap seats would be the 'crappy seats' and the expensive seats would be in a better location.

Perhaps the GAA should do likewise.
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:14:47 PM
QuoteWhat is the Upper Hogan like for a view. Have a few options, one is Upper Hogan Row C about on the 30m line near the Canal end. Also have Canal end lower and standing to choose from.

LAst time around I went all 3 nights.  Friday on the pitch, sat upper hogan, Mon lower hogan.

Upper hogan was best by  a mile.  got the front row and it was spectacular.  When the crowd started jumping up and down at the start of Streets have no name the cantilever design meant it moved up and down quite considerably.  Was a brilliant sensation but the women were cacking themselves!
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 25, 2009, 02:17:50 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:14:47 PM
QuoteWhat is the Upper Hogan like for a view. Have a few options, one is Upper Hogan Row C about on the 30m line near the Canal end. Also have Canal end lower and standing to choose from.

LAst time around I went all 3 nights.  Friday on the pitch, sat upper hogan, Mon lower hogan.

Upper hogan was best by  a mile.  got the front row and it was spectacular.  When the crowd started jumping up and down at the start of Streets have no name the cantilever design meant it moved up and down quite considerably.  Was a brilliant sensation but the women were cacking themselves!
You sure this was a concert you were at?  :P
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:34:59 PM
QuoteYou sure this was a concert you were at? 

;D :D ;D :D ;D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 30, 2009, 04:24:32 PM
Got 4 for the Toronto show this morning  :D
Post by: Caid on April 02, 2009, 08:54:25 PM
I got the brother for for the Monday night show in Croker.  But their €135 a pop (half way up lower teir of cusack, right beside the stage).  Not sure if him and his mates are taking them now cause they dear with exchange rate (£125).  Will I get face value for them nearer the time you reckon?  Good seats but wary that they for a Monday..
Post by: thebigfella on April 03, 2009, 12:33:42 AM
Quote from: Caid on April 02, 2009, 08:54:25 PM
I got the brother for for the Monday night show in Croker.  But their €135 a pop (half way up lower teir of cusack, right beside the stage).  Not sure if him and his mates are taking them now cause they dear with exchange rate (£125).  Will I get face value for them nearer the time you reckon?  Good seats but wary that they for a Monday..

The monday for Vertigo was easily the best night. I've red zone tickets for friday and pitch for saturday but would easily swap the saturday ones for monday if I thought I could get the time off. I think it run over by an hour the last time and it went mental when they come out saying the cops had given them an extension to play longer.

I wouldn't worry  ;)
Post by: under the bar on April 03, 2009, 08:59:31 AM
QuoteThe monday for Vertigo was easily the best night. I've red zone tickets for friday and pitch for saturday but would easily swap the saturday ones for monday if I thought I could get the time off. I think it run over by an hour the last time and it went mental when they come out saying the cops had given them an extension to play longer.

I thought they only played 3-4 songs more?
Post by: muppet on May 04, 2009, 09:00:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EC5dSujau1E&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EC5dSujau1E&feature=related)

Will this be the stage for Croker?
Post by: 5 Sams on May 23, 2009, 02:14:59 PM
Sky Channel 364 - Q Music Channel

U2 day....all day today ;D
Post by: Minder on May 23, 2009, 03:02:02 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 23, 2009, 02:14:59 PM

So i see 5 Sams, i turned it on this morning and the end of the video for "All i want is you" was just finishing, they seemed to be burying someone in it. I have never seen it before and had a quick look on Youtube but it was all live versions. Anyone have a link?
Post by: Schkite on May 23, 2009, 05:25:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 23, 2009, 03:02:02 PM

So i see 5 Sams, i turned it on this morning and the end of the video for "All i want is you" was just finishing, they seemed to be burying someone in it. I have never seen it before and had a quick look on Youtube but it was all live versions. Anyone have a link?

Here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-TssRlmmBE
Post by: 5 Sams on May 23, 2009, 05:44:17 PM
Quote from: Schkite on May 23, 2009, 05:25:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 23, 2009, 03:02:02 PM

Here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-TssRlmmBE

Video "Not available in my country". :-\

On the subject of U2 videos...whats the best in your opinion......dont mind the music just the video....

Mine is Beautiful Day even though iI know its all camera trickology with the 747 etc.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 17, 2009, 11:15:58 PM
Bono and Edge on Johnathon Woss now.
Post by: muppet on July 18, 2009, 12:02:46 AM
I have located the exact moment when the financial crisis began.

Sadly it is U2's fault.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmIObmv2t6M (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmIObmv2t6M)
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 18, 2009, 12:12:55 AM
QuoteBono and Edge on Johnathon Woss now.

Waht songs did they sing or did bono just talk sh*te?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2009, 12:16:17 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on July 18, 2009, 12:12:55 AM
QuoteBono and Edge on Johnathon Woss now.

Waht songs did they sing or did bono just talk sh*te?
No songs. Just talking. Heard it all before.
Post by: offtheground on July 18, 2009, 09:38:13 AM
I have two spare Hogan tickets for the Sat nght. PM me if your interested...
Post by: Louth Exile on July 18, 2009, 12:39:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 18, 2009, 12:02:46 AM

Sadly it is U2's fault.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmIObmv2t6M (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmIObmv2t6M)

Oh man that is disturbing  :o I hope they sued their assess off for breach of copyright and crimes against a great song  :D
Post by: muppet on July 18, 2009, 03:48:32 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 18, 2009, 12:39:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 18, 2009, 12:02:46 AM

Sadly it is U2's fault.

Oh man that is disturbing  :o I hope they sued their assess off for breach of copyright and crimes against a great song  :D

That video means The Office wasn't a comedy!  ???
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on July 18, 2009, 08:31:06 PM
I am heading to the concert on Friday night and will be driving down and home again. Anyone advise about parking.

Does the College beside Croke Park open for concerts? I was also considering parking in Malahide and taking the Dart but am unsure about the time the concert ends and getting the Dart back out on time.

Any help with this appreciated.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 18, 2009, 09:39:06 PM
The college car park will be open.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on July 18, 2009, 10:34:09 PM
That's me sorted then!
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 18, 2009, 11:25:40 PM
Just picked up 2 tickets on Ebay, one for £17.50 and the other for £22

God bless the credit crunch!   ;D
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2009, 05:43:44 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 24, 2009, 07:09:26 PM
Nope, the album still hasn't grown on me.
It lacks the 2 or 3 stand out songs that the other albums have, so it plays more like a collection of B sides.
Bono's voice is getting more raspy and hard to listen to.

Other years I would have gone through the hoops to get concert tickets, but I didn't bother this time.

Tend to agree. Know people who were at the Barcelona gig . Just too many songs from the current album. Out of 20 songs they played about 7- which is about 6 too many. Very little of their very best tracks which is why people go to see them. Bono should remember that.
The reality is the likes of Bruce are so far ahead of U2 at this stage -its not funny.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 21, 2009, 02:47:08 PM
Not for everyone, I really like the new album and having seen them every time since Zooropa tour, I want to see new material.
Bruce doesnt jsut go out their and play the greatest hits either.
I will say one thing in comparing the two... Bruce on the Sunday night in the RDS was probably better any U2 gig I have ever been at.
Post by: bingobus on July 21, 2009, 03:05:25 PM
Hard to compare U2 and Bruce.

U2 will go out of their way to put on a production to enhance the music. This means their stage show is set up for certain songs at certain times and they are committed to a selection of songs before it hits the road. I like the stage shows they put on and have never been disappointed by a U2 show and as someone else said, I really enjoy listening to their new songs live. It always gives me a better appreciation of them.

Bruce on the other hand is old school. You get the impression that he calls the songs before the hit and stage and they are subject to change as the evening goes on, hence all the bedsheets and posters for requests. Bruce's gigs are unique in this and I love them for it.

I'd love to see U2 just hit the road with a stage and some lights ala Bruce. Not sure if they have the numbers of the E Street band to pull it off like Bruce, as their music is electroncially layered. Hopefully one day they'll do it.

I enjoy both of them for what they are.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 21, 2009, 03:16:50 PM
Is Bruce springsteen still playing?
Looking forward to this weekends concerts. Going on Friday & Saturday, may go on Monday if I get tickets.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 21, 2009, 10:30:23 PM
Would anyone possibly have a ticket for the special U2 train going from Belfast on Saturday, have one (got the last one online) but definately need one more.

Any help would be great.
Post by: T Fearon on July 22, 2009, 09:41:28 AM
GDA, Hope you find what you're looking for! ;D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 22, 2009, 10:47:11 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 22, 2009, 09:41:28 AM
GDA, Hope you find what you're looking for! ;D

Fecker!  :D
Post by: INDIANA on July 22, 2009, 11:29:06 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 21, 2009, 03:05:25 PM
Hard to compare U2 and Bruce.

U2 will go out of their way to put on a production to enhance the music. This means their stage show is set up for certain songs at certain times and they are committed to a selection of songs before it hits the road. I like the stage shows they put on and have never been disappointed by a U2 show and as someone else said, I really enjoy listening to their new songs live. It always gives me a better appreciation of them.

Bruce on the other hand is old school. You get the impression that he calls the songs before the hit and stage and they are subject to change as the evening goes on, hence all the bedsheets and posters for requests. Bruce's gigs are unique in this and I love them for it.

I'd love to see U2 just hit the road with a stage and some lights ala Bruce. Not sure if they have the numbers of the E Street band to pull it off like Bruce, as their music is electroncially layered. Hopefully one day they'll do it.

I enjoy both of them for what they are.

Each to their own I suppose. BUt from being a big U2 my interest has diminished to the extent I have little interest this time round. I just don't see any kind of method to their shows anymore and this tour just looks an attempt to sell more copies of a very average album by playing more songs off it then they should.
I suppose Bruce has just got better with age- and U2 have just gone the other way from being a brilliant live act to a tired one at this stage.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on July 22, 2009, 11:51:09 AM
does anybody know what ticket sales have been like?i remeber going to see u2 in 05 at croker and by all accounts it was a sell out but the pitch was only 3/4 full and a good few emty seats around the stadium,does sold out really mean sold out?or is this just a marketing ploy?
Post by: Louth Exile on July 22, 2009, 01:41:25 PM
Lets put it this way... there will be no problem getting tickets!!! e bay is flooded, have a mate with 2 sitting for the Monday, will be lucky to get half the price back that he paid!

I just had a look through the setlists so far, last night was IMHO definitely the best set list so far
http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/u2/2009/arena-amsterdam-netherlands-53d64f31.html
Breathe is my favourite song from the album, good choice for opener, Beautiful Day, Elvation and Desire, great wee trio. They seem to be switching between Desire and Angel of Harlem. Desire is a far superior song of the two I think. Bad!!! I haven't heard it live in years, that would be a brucey bonus. The encore has been the exact same since the start.

It definitely is not a greatest hits set, of the new album, the one song that I am disappointed that they are not playing, is Stand Up Comedy. I thought that this song was made for Stadium Rock  :-\  Come on lads, add it into the set
Post by: balladmaker on July 22, 2009, 01:54:45 PM
Quotedoes sold out really mean sold out?or is this just a marketing ploy?

Sold out followed by 'Additional tickets just released'  = there are loads left, come along and pay at the gate. 

Post by: 5 Sams on July 22, 2009, 02:02:52 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 22, 2009, 01:41:25 PM
Lets put it this way... there will be no problem getting tickets!!! e bay is flooded, have a mate with 2 sitting for the Monday, will be lucky to get half the price back that he paid!

I just had a look through the setlists so far, last night was IMHO definitely the best set list so far
Breathe is my favourite song from the album, good choice for opener, Beautiful Day, Elvation and Desire, great wee trio. They seem to be switching between Desire and Angel of Harlem. Desire is a far superior song of the two I think. Bad!!! I haven't heard it live in years, that would be a brucey bonus. The encore has been the exact same since the start.

It definitely is not a greatest hits set, of the new album, the one song that I am disappointed that they are not playing, is Stand Up Comedy. I thought that this song was made for Stadium Rock  :-\  Come on lads, add it into the set

It was on the set the last time they played Croker.....highlight of the concert!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 22, 2009, 02:13:25 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 21, 2009, 10:30:23 PM
Would anyone possibly have a ticket for the special U2 train going from Belfast on Saturday, have one (got the last one online) but definately need one more.

Any help would be great.

bump
Post by: fred the red on July 22, 2009, 02:49:44 PM
Will they be singing bloody sunday at croker?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 22, 2009, 03:10:47 PM
Quote from: fred the red on July 22, 2009, 02:49:44 PM
Will they be singing bloody sunday at croker?

The set list can vary from show to show, but they usually sing it.

They played Amsterdam last night, here is how they closed the show. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2spzZsPGrzA
Post by: corn02 on July 22, 2009, 03:49:57 PM
What is face value for tickets lads?
Post by: Louth Exile on July 22, 2009, 04:03:43 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 22, 2009, 02:02:52 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 22, 2009, 01:41:25 PM

It was on the set the last time they played Croker.....highlight of the concert!!!

Not every night!!!!
http://www.u2setlists.com/vertigo-europe.shtml
First time I saw U2 was on the Zooropa tour, I haven't missed a tour since and that remains as the only time that I have seen them perform Bad  :'(

Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 22, 2009, 03:10:47 PM
They played Amsterdam last night, here is how they closed the show. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2spzZsPGrzA
Class
Post by: slievegullion on July 22, 2009, 04:19:32 PM
Iv been offered two upper hogan tickets for the friday nite for 80stg, can someone tell me if thats good value or not? Whats face value and what are they going for at the minute?
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 22, 2009, 07:23:03 PM
Quote from: slievegullion on July 22, 2009, 04:19:32 PM
Iv been offered two upper hogan tickets for the friday nite for 80stg, can someone tell me if thats good value or not? Whats face value and what are they going for at the minute?

Lucky you. thats great value. They are 110 sterling face value.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 22, 2009, 08:18:47 PM
I know its a long shot but is anyone interested in one spare ticket I have for the Cusack Stand for the Monday night show? PM me if you are.
Post by: thebigfella on July 22, 2009, 08:23:11 PM
I've got 2 red zone tickets for friday night going, cost me 130 euro each and looking to recoup the cost after my mates let me down. If anyone is interested PM me.
Post by: Red Hurley on July 22, 2009, 09:35:18 PM
Going to the Sat night gig, staying in Hotel in Portmarnock, anyone got any travel advice about getting in and out to Croke Park with the least hassle.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 23, 2009, 10:16:15 AM
Quote from: Red Hurley on July 22, 2009, 09:35:18 PM
Going to the Sat night gig, staying in Hotel in Portmarnock, anyone got any travel advice about getting in and out to Croke Park with the least hassle.

I'd say the Dart's your only man.
Post by: muppet on July 23, 2009, 10:48:52 AM
Quote from: Red Hurley on July 22, 2009, 09:35:18 PM

There is a train station which is a 10 - 15 min walk from the Hotel (Golf links that is it's further from Sands). That station has parking and you could get the train to Connelly and walk up. Depending on what you do after you could get the train straight home or stay in town a while and get a Nightlink bus to Portmarnock.

If you have loads of cash just get taxis.
Post by: bingobus on July 23, 2009, 11:17:36 AM
Looking forward to the gigs and this morning I got sent two free tickets for the Monday night show. Was just heading to the Saturday night one.

Any weather forecasts. Seems to sunny with chance of the odd shower.
Post by: T Fearon on July 23, 2009, 11:53:23 AM
Right, who's going when? I'm there tomorrow night, dead handy as I've to pick my parents up after a family birthday party in Trim tomorrow night as well,otherwise I would have had to pay for their overnight hotel stay! It was a case of "Aw sure you needn't bother staying I'll pick you up on the way home!" ;D
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 23, 2009, 12:18:29 PM
Going Friday and Saturday. Havent decided on Monday yet. There are loads of cheap tickets around, in fact I dont now why the hell I queued all night now.
Post by: BenDover on July 23, 2009, 12:20:30 PM
I'll be there 2moro night - can't wait
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 23, 2009, 12:23:11 PM
Getting desperate, gonna have to get rid of the ticket now!   :-[
Post by: offtheground on July 23, 2009, 01:57:11 PM
Try gumtree, or toutless for another ticket...
I had spare tickets and was able to move them using gumtree and had a few replies from toutless as well...
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 23, 2009, 02:49:04 PM
Quote from: offtheground on July 23, 2009, 01:57:11 PM
Try gumtree, or toutless for another ticket...
I had spare tickets and was able to move them using gumtree and had a few replies from toutless as well...

Thanks tried gumtree, will just have to drive up and down on the same night!

Anyone want to buy a train ticket?  :-\
Post by: offtheground on July 23, 2009, 03:51:44 PM
seen this?;
http://belfast.gumtree.com/belfast/67/42182867.html
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 23, 2009, 03:56:07 PM
Quote from: offtheground on July 23, 2009, 03:51:44 PM
seen this?;
http://belfast.gumtree.com/belfast/67/42182867.html

Have e-mailed him already!  ;)
Post by: offtheground on July 23, 2009, 04:52:08 PM
 ;) Nope! ain't me, just wanting to help a fellow boarder!

Heading to the Monday night gig, really looking forward to it now, hope it doesn't rain though.
Am in two minds wether to head in early to see script and bell X1, anyone ever seen them live? any good d'ye reckon?
Post by: Louth Exile on July 23, 2009, 07:14:10 PM
Would serve the time for taking out the script!!!!

Bell X1 are very good IMHO, seen them plenty of times and have not disappointed yet
Post by: Treasurer on July 23, 2009, 11:15:14 PM
Is Clonliffe definitely open for parking?  I've a wee bit of back trouble at the min so will be trying to minimise the walking!
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 23, 2009, 11:20:13 PM
U2 Concerts at Croke Park - July 2009
The above Concerts take place at Croke Park on Friday, Saturday and Sunday the 24, 25 and 27 July 2009.

Stiles opening at - 18.00 hrs. Event Finishs at 23.00 hrs. Expected Attendance - 82,300.

The above Concerts take place at Croke Park on Friday, Saturday and Sunday the 24, 25 and 27 July 2009.

Patrons Travelling to Croke Park

All patrons travelling to Croke park stadium for the event are advised to utilise public transport. Croke Park stadium is serviced bus, train and Luas transport facilities.

Patrons who travel by car are advised to travel early to avail of the limited parking facilities.

There are two supervised car parks available in the vicinity of Croke Park.
1. Clonliffe College, Drumcondra Road (Access from Lower Drumcondra Road) ... 3,100 spaces

2. O'Connell's School, North Richmond Street (Access from the North Circular Road.) ... 400 Spaces

No Traffic will be permitted to leave the car Parks for a period after the game in order to allow foot patrons leave the area safely.

Patrons should park responsibly and not cause obstruction or inconvenience when parking in residential areas.

Patrons should be aware that illegally parked vehicles may be impounded or clamped and may be liable to a fine of €130.00.

Drivers should be aware that illegally or improperly parked vehicles have the potential to cause traffic disruption, obstruction and difficulty to emergency vehicles that may need to access the narrow residential streets that surround Croke Park Stadium.

Patrons are advised to travel to Croke Park via the M1 motorway to Drumcondra Road or M50 to Navan Road, North Circular Road. These routes lead directly to Croke Park. Supporters arriving via the M50 / M1 motorways are advised to allow time for traffic delays. Dublin Port Tunnel will be open to all vehicles.

After the game patrons will have the option of travelling the Belfast Road (M1) or on the M50 to the (N2) Ashbourne Road, (N3), Navan Road, (N4) Lucan Road and (N7) Naas Road.

Superintendent Ward advises in particular that patrons attending the concert on Monday evening, the 27th of July, that the IKEA Store in Ballymun is open for the first time to the Public, so patrons should be aware of a possible high volume of Traffic in this area.

Special Needs parking

There are no special needs parking facilities on the public streets within the Croke Park cordon area. The parking facility in Clonliffe College does have a large and very good special needs parking facility catering for 50 car parking places very close to the stadium, Access from Lower Drumcondra Road.

Bus/Coach Parking

There is a bus/coach parking facility at Mountjoy Square and a secondary facility at Western Way (off Phibsboro Road).

Pre Event Traffic Restrictions

As with all events at Croke Park, a Garda Cordon will be in effect on the streets that lead to Croke Park. Only accredited vehicles will be permitted to pass by this cordon. All vehicles will be checked for accreditation.

Local residents, their immediate families, local business community are in possession of passes and will be facilitated at the barriers subject to volumes of human traffic existing within the cordon area. It is envisaged that a rigid cordon system will be in place approximately 1 hour prior to stiles opening time.

Patron Search

All patrons entering the Garda cordon will be the subject of a ticket check by Stewards and search by Gardai. Any offensive articles, e.g. glass bottles, air horns, large flagpoles will be seized. Patrons are advised not to bring any unnecessary baggage with them and are advised to travel early to the stadium to avoid any unnecessary delays.

We would appeal to patrons not to queue overnight.

Ticketmaster Outlets Outside Croke Park:

As this event is sold out there will be no ticket sales outlets on the day of the event. Patrons must be in possession of an actual ticket. Patrons are further advised not to purchase tickets from any unaccredited source.

There will be one office operated by Ticketmaster as reference points to facilitate any enquiries in relation to tickets and collection of pre-booked tickets. The office will be located as follows:
1. Gills Corner.

Public Order.

Patrons are advised that the Gardaí will not permit the consumption of alcohol outside public houses, while walking along the street or in any other public place.

Patrons are asked to have consideration for local residents and refrain from anti-social behaviour (drinking and urinating).

Crime.

Patrons are advised to be aware of their own personal safety and security while attending the event. They should ensure the security of personal belongings while on route to and from the stadium i.e. purses / wallets / tickets / Mobile Phones.

Patrons who arrive by vehicle should also ensure that property is not left exposed in parked vehicles. They should ensure that car windows, sunroofs are correctly closed.

Croke Park Hotel Car park

All residents of Croke Park Hotel will be permitted entry and are requested to access the hotel via North Circular Road / Russell Street junction where there will be a register of all guest vehicles.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 25, 2009, 02:18:26 AM
Fantastic show, great crowd, even the weather was good. Cant wait until tomorrow night.
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 11:37:35 AM
U2 wow 80,000 fans at Croke Park
U2 kicked off the home leg of their world tour in style as 80,000 fans from all over the world landed in Dublin for an unforgettable night.

The atmosphere was electric as one of the world's greatest rock bands arrived back in Croke Park last night and belted out their first track Breathe.

There were more huge cheers when Bono launched in to Magnificent while walking across a moving bridge before he performed Beautiful Day.

Advertisement"In the words of our good friends the Corrs, we are so young," he shouted, at the start of Beautiful Day.

"As a nation I mean," he added pointing to the crowd.

U2 had promised fans a night and a stage show to remember and they were not going to let anyone down.

Once they performed tracks from their latest album, the band launched into their greatest hits.

Bono also paid tribute to Ronnie Drew of the Dubliners, who died last year, by playing the Auld Triangle.

U2 dazzled fans from inside a giant steel claw that rose to 60 metres high above the crown, almost as tall as the stands surrounding it.

It took a week to construct the impressive setting, which included 550 tonnes of steel, 56 tonnes of video screens and spanned across a third of the pitch.

Music aside, the band's political allegiance was clear - with a dedication to jailed Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi, currently on trial charged with breaking a draconian security law.

Thousands of concert-goers wore a mask bearing her image when the band played Walk On.

??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Fans queued from midnight on Thursday in torrential rain to catch the band up close.

Over the coming days more than 240,000 revellers from as far as Japan, Canada and America will descend on the north Dublin stadium.

It is estimated that the three gigs at GAA headquarters will boost Dublin's €50m.

Before the gig Bono told fans via a website link-up: "The 'rehearsals' have been going really well. We've been rehearsing in Barcelona, Milan, Nice, Berlin and Amsterdam, but we expect that the main event in Dublin will be better than any of them."

Post by: Cúig huaire on July 25, 2009, 01:41:01 PM
Members of the U2 crew were handing out masks at various points in the stadium. They were just cardboard cut outs. A number of the audience wearing the masks were brought onto the stage for "Walk On".

Anyone who doesnt like the new album really needs to hear it live, even the much maligned "boots" was excellent.
Post by: Seany on July 25, 2009, 02:35:37 PM
brilliant absolutely electric.  They just fired out the first five songs from the new album to start with and it was as if those songs had been around for decades.  Noone batted an eyelid that it was all new stuff which is typical of U2.  What other big band has the balls to rock a stadium with its new material.  Not Oasis, definitely not Rolling Stones who usually throw out a few token numbers from the new album in the middle of the set. But U2 can stand over every song, every album and continue to be the best in the world.  And yes Cúig huaire - the new album, live or not is superb.
Post by: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 02:40:18 PM
Poor opening.
Great middle
Average encore.Disappointing choice of last song.

Good performance but not a patch on previous outings. Why they persist with 4 songs in a row from the current album at the start is beyond me. Middle part of the gig was terrific though.
Post by: muppet on July 25, 2009, 02:46:33 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 02:40:18 PM
Poor opening.
Great middle

Good performance but not a patch on previous outings. Why they persist with 4 songs in a row from the current album at the start is beyond me. Middle part of the gig was terrific though.

To sell the album.
Post by: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 02:49:40 PM
True ;D but it really poxs up the set in my view. Magnificent is a good song but the other 3 aren't even close. You'd be better off being 20 mins late in my view.
Great to see some of their more memorable hits- ie the ones that made them. But they need to change the opening .
Post by: T Fearon on July 25, 2009, 02:49:52 PM
Brilliant gig, best U2 concert ever! Got two tickets on ebay for £40 (ie £20 each) and once in, managed to wangle my way from Davin up to Hogan right at the side of ther stage! ;D

Money saving parking tip! Go to Clerys Q Park in Marlborough Street at any time day or night. Get the ticket out of the machine and bring it when you park to the cutomer services desk. Show the attendant your U2 concert ticket and he or she will stamp your car parking ticket meaning that after the gig when you return to your vehicle,you will only pay 7 euros regardless of the time of day you parked! If you park after 5pm you will only pay 6 euros. Fantastic value and also you avoid the jams after the gig in the Croke Park vacinity. I was in Trim at 12.30 this morning not much more than an hour and a quarter after the concert!  ;D
Post by: thebigfella on July 25, 2009, 02:51:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2009, 02:46:33 PM
Poor opening.
Great middle

To sell the album.

TBH the first 4 or 5 songs were great live. Didn't like the last track but come on the whole point of the tour is to sell the new material. If you want to see the old stuff, get yourself a flux capacitor, 1.21 giggawatts etc........ Fcuk me some people are dense, go see the new tour live and complain cause they didn't play enough material from 20 years ago  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: muppet on July 25, 2009, 02:57:17 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 25, 2009, 02:51:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2009, 02:46:33 PM
Poor opening.
Great middle

To sell the album.

TBH the first 4 or 5 songs were great live. Didn't like the last track but come on the whole point of the tour is to sell the new material. If you want to see the old stuff, get yourself a flux capacitor, 1.21 giggawatts etc........ Fcuk me some people are dense, go see the new tour live and complain cause they didn't play enough material from 20 years ago  >:( >:( >:( >:(

To be fair ask 5 U2 fanatics and they wouldn't ever agree on a set list. They have such a wealth of material you will always leave their concerts wishing you heard other songs in addition to what they played.

The only solution is that they play much longer concerts, starting tonight.  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 02:58:15 PM
Nope just other artists don't try to flog dead ducks - some of the singles didn't make the top40 for christs sake. The album has sold worse than of their others in the States ;D ;D. We're all entitled to our opinions but in my opinion if they dropped the lame ducks with any songs even off their previous 2-3 albums- it could be the best live show yet.
I'm going again on Monday- please God they'll drop the opening.Or at least change it.
Post by: Treasurer on July 25, 2009, 10:16:11 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed it.  I think that was about my 8th time to see them live and it was as good as any, if not better.  I'd go again tonight if i could!
Post by: balladmaker on July 26, 2009, 02:45:21 AM
Just after watching a few clips on youtube.  Am I right in saying that the whole setup looked a bit ordinary while it was still daylight, but came into a class of its own once darkness fell and the lights came on?
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2009, 03:19:49 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 26, 2009, 02:45:21 AM
Just after watching a few clips on youtube.  Am I right in saying that the whole setup looked a bit ordinary while it was still daylight, but came into a class of its own once darkness fell and the lights came on?

No.

Best U2 concert I've been to.

Magnificent.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 26, 2009, 11:52:37 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 02:58:15 PM
Nope just other artists don't try to flog dead ducks - some of the singles didn't make the top40 for christs sake. The album has sold worse than of their others in the States ;D ;D. We're all entitled to our opinions but in my opinion if they dropped the lame ducks with any songs even off their previous 2-3 albums- it could be the best live show yet.
I'm going again on Monday- please God they'll drop the opening.Or at least change it.

You may give up on banging that drum Indiana, U2 ain't listening. Look at the setlists for the tour so far
http://www.setlist.fm/search?query=artist:%22U2%22+tour:%22360%C2%B0+Tour%22

SPOILER ALERT: for those who don't want to know.....
You can be guaranteed the concert will open as follows:
Breathe, NLOTH, Boots, Magnificent, Beautiful Day
The last three song encore is going to be:
Ultraviolet, With or Without You, Moment of Surrender
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 12:30:55 PM
Still buzzing after last night's gig. Absolutely tremendous, miles better than I thought it would be.

Had to laugh at the early one-liner from himself - 'We had a top night last night - we're gonna top that tonight - and we're gonna top ourselves on Monday.'

Don't see any issue with them starting with new stuff - why wouldn't they? They've done that with every tour they've done. I'm no fan of 'Boots' but everyone enjoyed it. The new album's title track is decent enough. But 'Breathe' is a killer opener, 'Magnificent', 'Unknown Caller' and 'Moment of Surrender' were all superb, and they even made a job of 'Crazy Tonight' by putting it to a daft Eurodisco-Balearic beat. The crowd went NUTS for that.

Himself even kept the speeches to a minimum. A welcome bonus in a terrific show. ;) Get tickets for Monday if you can.
Post by: lurganblue on July 26, 2009, 07:56:15 PM
My first time seeing U2 last night and I must admitt I thought the whole concert was brilliant. Really enjoyed it. I agree that it was a poor choice of song to end on but sure. They should have finished on with or without you.

On a side note I was in the big tree bar before the concert were there was a live band doing a U2 tribute. They were also excellent!
Post by: Sandino on July 26, 2009, 08:02:09 PM
Hi all, a quick question I am for the gig on Monday night, what time did U2 come on stage and what time was the gig over at. Thanks, can't wait!!
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 26, 2009, 08:05:59 PM
Quote from: Sandino on July 26, 2009, 08:02:09 PM
Hi all, a quick question I am for the gig on Monday night, what time did U2 come on stage and what time was the gig over at. Thanks, can't wait!!

Came on around 9 and off shortly after 11 last night. Unreal concert.
Post by: Sandino on July 26, 2009, 08:11:34 PM
Thanks,MDG that will help with my planning. I think I have great seats in the Hogan so it should be one to enjoy.
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2009, 08:13:11 PM
Quote from: Sandino on July 26, 2009, 08:11:34 PM
Thanks,MDG that will help with my planning. I think I have great seats in the Hogan so it should be one to enjoy.

Came on both nights at 2055. Have to finish at 2300.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on July 26, 2009, 08:33:09 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 02:58:15 PM

Name a u2 single that didn't make the top 40?
Post by: 5 Sams on July 26, 2009, 09:37:05 PM
Poor opening.
Great middle

Sorry Indiana...cant agree with you there.... Moment of Surrender will go down as a U2 classic.....I think its is already a masterpiece.....everyone has their own opinion I know but this new album is deadly...and that's coming from someone who's top 3 U2 songs are Red Hill Mining Town, Staring at the Sun and Bad.

I was there on Friday night and came away mesmerised by the performance....I wasnt prepared for Saturday night...absoultley stunning......Vertigo had the place bouncing...Mysterious Ways......Magnificent were all fabulous.....but at the end when he started into "I tied myself with wire".......f**king unreal......
Post by: 5 Sams on July 26, 2009, 09:43:37 PM
Quote from: Seany on July 25, 2009, 02:35:37 PM
brilliant absolutely electric.  They just fired out the first five songs from the new album to start with and it was as if those songs had been around for decades.  Noone batted an eyelid that it was all new stuff which is typical of U2.  What other big band has the balls to rock a stadium with its new material.  Not Oasis, definitely not Rolling Stones who usually throw out a few token numbers from the new album in the middle of the set. But U2 can stand over every song, every album and continue to be the best in the world.  And yes Cúig huaire - the new album, live or not is superb.

On the money Seany......
Post by: the colonel on July 26, 2009, 10:42:43 PM
from the youtube video they seemed to a remix of their best song off the new album- Crazy tonight. I love the song but the remix butchers it.

about the singles position debate, i think its null and void. u2 have and always will be an album band. Any half decent fan will buy the album and there will be no need to buy the single anyway
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 27, 2009, 12:18:46 AM
I thought the remix of Crazy was very good, its a live version of the  Alex Metric Remix. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3QjldBDgK0
Slightly different set last night, but every bit as good. Really looking forward to tomorrow nights gig which I think will be the best of the three. I expect them to play a little bit longer than 11 o`clock as they have done on previous last nights in Croker.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 27, 2009, 12:29:58 AM
I am a fan, so I go to as many gigs as I can. I havent missed a gig in Ireland since Self Aid. I may go to a couple in the UK, but I will definitely get to a few in America. Definitely going to Chicago and Vegas, may get to a few more, then they will announce the second leg of the tour for 2010 and hopefully they will play Hawaii again, will then take in a few more concerts on the way to Hawaii.
Post by: bingobus on July 27, 2009, 09:49:34 AM
Brillant show on Saturday. Some great moments and Bono seemed to play his part and kept his sermons to a minimum.

I enjoyed the opening for the new songs and don't see them as weak at all. Their effect may be less as the aren't of the nature of Vertigo or elevation of last few albums but as songs they are great tunes.

Stage show is awesome but without the music it would be nothing.

Great moments from Saturday night was the start of "I still haven't found what I'm looking for", 80,000 people singing the opening verse and chorus without Bono, also loved Ultraviolet.

Moment of Surrender is an incredible song and great finisher. U2 also close with a slow song.

Heading again this evening and hope to see Bad, Until the end of the world, Stuck in a moment and hopefully a few extra songs.
Post by: INDIANA on July 27, 2009, 01:49:41 PM
Please Bono- don't play 7 songs from that poxy new album tonight. Keep it to 3. ;)
Post by: bingobus on July 27, 2009, 02:07:43 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 27, 2009, 01:49:41 PM
Please Bono- don't play 7 songs from that poxy new album tonight. Keep it to 3. ;)

Relax it might grow on you  ;)
Post by: bingobus on July 27, 2009, 02:11:52 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 27, 2009, 02:09:32 PM
I heard that Bono fell off the stage on Saturday night.  Apparently he stood to close to the Edge.

Anyone confirm this happened?

That happened about 20 years ago when I was at primary school  ;)
Post by: thebandit on July 27, 2009, 03:52:51 PM
You'd imagine he'd be used to the platforms by now...
Post by: T Fearon on July 27, 2009, 04:04:46 PM
Tributes paid to Ronnie Drew on Friday night and Michael Jackson on Saturday night, it has to be Joe Dolan tonight, what's the odds on Bono singing "Good looking woman"?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on July 27, 2009, 04:33:15 PM
got the urge to jump in the car and head down for tonights concert,what the chances of picking up a ticket around the ground?
Post by: T Fearon on July 27, 2009, 04:34:56 PM
No problem, and at a heavily discounted rate, if Friday night was anything to go by.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on July 27, 2009, 04:36:34 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 27, 2009, 04:34:56 PM
No problem, and at a heavily discounted rate, if Friday night was anything to go by.

is it touts who are selling them?
Post by: Louth Exile on July 27, 2009, 04:36:49 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 27, 2009, 02:07:43 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 27, 2009, 01:49:41 PM

Relax it might grow on you  ;)

You may stop banging that drum Indiana, its going to be at least 6 and 7 if they play Unkown Caller.
Just sitting here in a mates gaffe in Drumcondra listening to the sound check. They sound checked, New Years Day, A Sort of Homecoming, I will follow, Electrical Storm (I hope not to the last one!!) There could be some surprises tonight!!

Bring it on   :)

There will be no probs picking up a ticket
Post by: T Fearon on July 27, 2009, 04:59:04 PM
Touts. Easily recognised with the scorched fingers ;D

I never say as many written signs with "Tickets for Sale" being held up anywhere like it before
Post by: Denn Forever on July 27, 2009, 05:47:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 27, 2009, 04:59:04 PM
Touts. Easily recognised with the scorched fingers ;D

I never say as many written signs with "Tickets for Sale" being held up anywhere like it before

And we all say "Awwhh" for the touts.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 27, 2009, 08:57:27 PM
So were there any lectures for the masses from his holliness? Did he recount his having tea in No 10, wallowing in his own self importance? You may like their music and songs but I couldn't bring myself to listen to that gobshite bono. The other band members must do yoga or something to keep sane.
Post by: bingobus on July 28, 2009, 09:45:18 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 27, 2009, 08:57:27 PM
So were there any lectures for the masses from his holliness? Did he recount his having tea in No 10, wallowing in his own self importance? You may like their music and songs but I couldn't bring myself to listen to that gobshite bono. The other band members must do yoga or something to keep sane.

He has totally cut the preaching down to a minimum. Only really before "Walk one" for the Burma lady.

Another cracking gig last night - really enjoyed New years day and Bad, additions from Saturday night. The place rocked for the whole gig.

New songs went down well I thought and the remix of "Go crazy..." was very good, went down better than Saturday night I thought.

The Milky way at the start of One was very impressive.
Post by: T Fearon on July 28, 2009, 12:40:16 PM
DVD of 1983 Red Rocks concert on Amazon for £8 something and free p&P.. I nearly bought it in Hmv, Henry St Dublin, last Friday for 12 euros. Saved over a quid! ;D
Post by: Louth Exile on July 28, 2009, 04:22:58 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 27, 2009, 04:36:49 PM
Just sitting here in a mates gaffe in Drumcondra listening to the sound check. They sound checked, New Years Day, A Sort of Homecoming, I will follow, Electrical Storm (I hope not to the last one!!) There could be some surprises tonight!!

First time in the whole tour that they played New Years Day and it was the first real big song of the night, no doubt.
Stay was class, I have to admit that most of the crowd around us weren't into Unkown Caller, even with the karaoke bit (must have been Indiana's people  :D ) Unforgettable Fire was class, but seemed to get a somewhat muted response from the crowd  :-[
Vertigo into Crazy tonight is excellent, it is one crazy song, great fun, super stage set up for it, definitely a highlight. I don't understand why they dropped the reprise at the end of Sunday Bloody Sunday! Apparently it was the same other two nights, it makes no sense, still an awesome song though. When he started into One, I told herself, last song before the encore (because when they have done Bad they have tended to play One early in the set). Well when I saw your man turning to the other fella and heard the opening notes of Bad I screamed like a feckin teenage girl, my personal highlight of the night. Ultraviolet and With or Without You were great as well.  
Post by: bingobus on July 28, 2009, 04:36:44 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 28, 2009, 04:22:58 PM

First time in the whole tour that they played New Years Day and it was the first real big song of the night, no doubt.
Stay was class, I have to admit that most of the crowd around us weren't into Unkown Caller, even with the karaoke bit (must have been Indiana's people  :D ) Unforgettable Fire was class, but seemed to get a somewhat muted response from the crowd  :-[
Vertigo into Crazy tonight is excellent, it is one crazy song, great fun, super stage set up for it, definitely a highlight. I don't understand why they dropped the reprise at the end of Sunday Bloody Sunday! Apparently it was the same other two nights, it makes no sense, still an awesome song though. When he started into One, I told herself, last song before the encore (because when they have done Bad they have tended to play One early in the set). Well when I saw your man turning to the other fella and heard the opening notes of Bad I screamed like a feckin teenage girl, my personal highlight of the night. Ultraviolet and With or Without You were great as well.  

Bad seemed to be an off the cuff thing, Bono was jumping round shouting at the others and then the Edge had to be pulled back by Bono to play it his way. Absolute powerful song and moment.

I thought they where in two minds at the end to play another tune or two. If the crowd pushed for another song, I reckon they'd have got it.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 28, 2009, 04:49:59 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 28, 2009, 04:36:44 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 28, 2009, 04:22:58 PM

Bad seemed to be an off the cuff thing, Bono was jumping round shouting at the others and then the Edge had to be pulled back by Bono to play it his way. Absolute powerful song and moment.

I thought they where in two minds at the end to play another tune or two. If the crowd pushed for another song, I reckon they'd have got it.

100% Agree

Here is the vid  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JCqJEJ-RaI

Have a look at the rest of this guys vids as well, they are class

http://www.youtube.com/user/U2006com
Post by: hectorsheroes on July 29, 2009, 09:43:33 AM
Went on Sat night. Have seen Oasis, AC/DC and U2 this summer. Now AC/DC were class but well U2 are ours ain't they and when they put on a show like this who can argue about them anymore. Yes Bono pontificates too much but first and foremost they put on the best show of the lot and constantly have done. Fair play to em
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 29, 2009, 11:37:58 AM
was on u2 on sat nite. i got down to the side of the stage where the pit was and still left early. i was at springsteen 2 weeks before and he was twice the show. bono ruined it for me. i came to listen to him sing some of the unreal songs the man has wrote down the years i did not go to listen to a political detabe and listen about chinese and far eastern affairs. all i wanted was good music not a spin off from the bbc news channel.

i wouldnt be near a u2 concert again simply due to this fact. if bono wants to save the world, do it when we arent paying to watch and listen to him sing.

i was in the auld dubliner before the concert in the temple bar. there was a shaven head man playin and i got more enjoyment from him than u2. sad to say but thats the way it was.

springsteen for president
Post by: Louth Exile on July 29, 2009, 02:22:03 PM
AC/DC was best gig of the year for me, followed by The Boss, but U2 was still a great gig.

Did anyone else apart from me and the Europeans go in to watch Bell X1???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qj0_JdgaxLw
Post by: muppet on July 29, 2009, 02:28:08 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 29, 2009, 11:37:58 AM
was on u2 on sat nite. i got down to the side of the stage where the pit was and still left early. i was at springsteen 2 weeks before and he was twice the show. bono ruined it for me. i came to listen to him sing some of the unreal songs the man has wrote down the years i did not go to listen to a political detabe and listen about chinese and far eastern affairs. all i wanted was good music not a spin off from the bbc news channel.

i wouldnt be near a u2 concert again simply due to this fact. if bono wants to save the world, do it when we arent paying to watch and listen to him sing.

i was in the auld dubliner before the concert in the temple bar. there was a shaven head man playin and i got more enjoyment from him than u2. sad to say but thats the way it was.

Funny, I left Springsteen early. Not Bruce's fault he gave it everything, but the weather was chronic as his Irish fans seem to be a most obnoxious bunch.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 29, 2009, 08:50:36 PM

Why did you even bother going? You know what you are going to get before you go to a U2 concert, I have to say that Bono`s sermons were kept to a minimum over the weekend and I didnt see or speak to too may after the gig that didnt think that they were back to their best. You`ll be complaining that the priest said too may prayers at mass next.
Post by: thebigfella on July 29, 2009, 10:15:01 PM

Biggest lie I have heard on this board in a long time  ::) Bono didn't preach until about halfway though the show, even then it was only for few minutes here and there. By that time it was an amazing show, I and expect loads more people, could overlook it. As another person pointed out, it was to be expected of him anyway so why go in the first place?

Springsteen on the Saturday night was pathetic, probably through no fault of his own. The weather caused loads of people to leave early or stand outside in shelter. The sound was the worst I have heard at a gig ever.
Post by: belleaqua on July 30, 2009, 12:11:34 PM
'Springsteen on the saturday night was pathetic' Bit of an oversensitive U2 fan here i suspect. Admittedly the sound was not the best on the saturday but no different to U2 in Croker a few years back. Sunday night all was put right for what was a phenomonel concert.

Over 2 nights in Dublin Springsteen performed 59 songs in total - 44 of them different! U2 in Barcelona two nights in a row played 44 songs in total with virtually the same setlist both nights. Dublin not much different.

I had to laugh when I read in the paper last week, 'U2 will begin with Breathe and finish with Moment of Surrender', Id love to see the day a Springsteen set can be predicted with such ease.

I turned down a U2 ticket after Springsteen's shows in the RDS and because im sick of hearing about International Space Stations, Burma and 'The Claw'. Its all about this stage. What about the music?? its an attraction gimmick of the highest order-a complete hype machine. For me the notion that Springsteen and U2 are comparable live is laughable at this stage
Post by: ziggysego on July 30, 2009, 01:17:41 PM
Apparently they bought a package of northern crisps at the Spar shop in Drumquin, Co. Tyrone last week.  ::)
Post by: thebigfella on July 30, 2009, 01:18:21 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on July 30, 2009, 12:11:34 PM
'Springsteen on the saturday night was pathetic' Bit of an oversensitive U2 fan here i suspect. Admittedly the sound was not the best on the saturday but no different to U2 in Croker a few years back. Sunday night all was put right for what was a phenomonel concert.

Over 2 nights in Dublin Springsteen performed 59 songs in total - 44 of them different! U2 in Barcelona two nights in a row played 44 songs in total with virtually the same setlist both nights. Dublin not much different.

I had to laugh when I read in the paper last week, 'U2 will begin with Breathe and finish with Moment of Surrender', Id love to see the day a Springsteen set can be predicted with such ease.

I turned down a U2 ticket after Springsteen's shows in the RDS and because im sick of hearing about International Space Stations, Burma and 'The Claw'. Its all about this stage. What about the music?? its an attraction gimmick of the highest order-a complete hype machine. For me the notion that Springsteen and U2 are comparable live is laughable at this stage

As I said probably through no fault of his own (and I never commented on Sunday), but then again it's easy to pick and choose parts of a sentence to get a reaction. I'm not being oversensitive, I just thought the post was a blatant lie to provoke a reaction and I called it. Personally I'm a huge Springsteen fan but as I said it was the most pathetic concert I have ever been too, they couldn't even fill the pit as they had guys running around the RDS offering passes. People were complaining about people standing up and dancing in the stands and don't get me started on the some of the crowd (as muppet pointed out an obnoxious bunch - same sort of cocks who think Gareth Brookes is class).

Post by: lurganblue on July 30, 2009, 01:24:52 PM
i hear that U2 tribute band i was listening to in the big tree are quite well know (not surprisingly). anyone know the name of the band by any chance?
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 01:45:46 PM

Groan. What difference does a varied set list to the one off concert goer? And as for the number of songs played compare the song lengths of Springsteen's songs on your iPod with U2's and in particular No Line on the Horizon. Moment of Surrender is 7 1/2 minutes long for example. And who cares anyway?

'What about the music?' I would every one of the 240,000 people who attended U2 were there for the music.

If you don't like U2 just say it.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 30, 2009, 04:54:22 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 30, 2009, 01:24:52 PM
i hear that U2 tribute band i was listening to in the big tree are quite well know (not surprisingly). anyone know the name of the band by any chance?

Mofo
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:06:41 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 29, 2009, 10:15:01 PM

Biggest lie I have heard on this board in a long time  ::) Bono didn't preach until about halfway though the show, even then it was only for few minutes here and there. By that time it was an amazing show, I and expect loads more people, could overlook it. As another person pointed out, it was to be expected of him anyway so why go in the first place?

Springsteen on the Saturday night was pathetic, probably through no fault of his own. The weather caused loads of people to leave early or stand outside in shelter. The sound was the worst I have heard at a gig ever.

what exactly you saying was a lie?

i was at bruce on the sunday night. was unreal!
Post by: belleaqua on July 30, 2009, 09:59:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 30, 2009, 01:45:46 PM

Groan. What difference does a varied set list to the one off concert goer? And as for the number of songs played compare the song lengths of Springsteen's songs on your iPod with U2's and in particular No Line on the Horizon. Moment of Surrender is 7 1/2 minutes long for example. And who cares anyway?

'What about the music?' I would every one of the 240,000 people who attended U2 were there for the music.

Am, Outlaw Pete is over 8 minutes long my friend. Rosalita, For You, Spirit in the Night, all performed are over 7 minutes long and regularly performed. Jungleland 9 minutes long, performed on the Sunday. Many of Springsteen's songs throughout his career received little radio play due to their length. The man played for 3 hours and 15 minutes on the Sunday but only 3 hours on the Saturday.

As for ur experience of the Saturday night? they were handing out pit passes which were all snapped up. I had numerous friends who couldnt get into the pit.

I like some U2 songs and admittedly am not a big fan. I got to see them in Croker in 05 and enjoyed it, they are an excellent band live. I do however think they are overhyped live and not comparable live to the E Street Band
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 10:07:45 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on July 30, 2009, 09:59:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 30, 2009, 01:45:46 PM

Am, Outlaw Pete is over 8 minutes long my friend. Rosalita, For You, Spirit in the Night, all performed are over 7 minutes long and regularly performed. Jungleland 9 minutes long, performed on the Sunday. Many of Springsteen's songs throughout his career received little radio play due to their length. The man played for 3 hours and 15 minutes on the Sunday but only 3 hours on the Saturday.

As for ur experience of the Saturday night? they were handing out pit passes which were all snapped up. I had numerous friends who couldnt get into the pit.

I like some U2 songs and admittedly am not a big fan. I got to see them in Croker in 05 and enjoyed it, they are an excellent band live. I do however think they are overhyped live and not comparable live to the E Street Band

TBH I thought the sound was poor in 2005 but was much better with 'the claw' this time.
Post by: thebigfella on July 31, 2009, 01:13:53 AM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:06:41 PM

The whole I left early because Bono ruined it for me mock protest, IMO I think your exaggerating a little  ::)  I could not care less if you left because you thought they were sh1te, to be honest thats your opinion and i'm sure others will agree with you. Though as a number have people have pointed out, why go if you knew what to expect from Pope Bono Vox? 
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 31, 2009, 08:01:42 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 31, 2009, 01:13:53 AM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:06:41 PM

The whole I left early because Bono ruined it for me mock protest, IMO I think your exaggerating a little  ::)  I could not care less if you left because you thought they were sh1te, to be honest thats your opinion and i'm sure others will agree with you. Though as a number have people have pointed out, why go if you knew what to expect from Pope Bono Vox? 

lad i didnt say the concert was sh1te. i just said it was not in the same league as bruce. then again i dont know many concerts that will be to be honest. i just thought the chinese thing etc was annoying and i just got fed up of bono. thats all
Post by: mc_grens on July 31, 2009, 09:53:49 AM
Admitedly I am looking at this through E-street tinted glasses, but we're comparing a live act who thrive on leave-no-musical-stone-unturned-balls-to-the-wall-for-3-hour-every-single-let's-make-love-this-as-much-as-we-do gigs, versus one who are touring Europe with a gimic stage obviously designed to get the most out of playing in American baseball stadiums and European fans be damned.

I've seen U2 5 times now and the Boss 8 times. My Top 5 gigs are ALL Springsteen ones. Including one Seeger Sessions gig!

The E Street band are by far the more competent musically and use this to get people involved in and feel part of the show- witness the stump the band section of the show, where in the US the band played requests for other peoples songs off the cuff! Outside of the politically motivated claptrap the U2 shows are very low on audience involvement. Bruce may be as hokey as it gets, but as Anthony Hopkins keeps telling us in the Sky Movies ads "So what? Life is hokey"!
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2009, 12:41:47 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 31, 2009, 09:53:49 AM
Admitedly I am looking at this through E-street tinted glasses

So post on the Springsteen thread. And please mention that his Sat night was awful. Meanwhile U2 Sat was awesome. Fair enough the weather wasn't Bruce's fault but neither was it U2's. If you want to post how great you think Bruce is start a thread or post on his earlier thread. Don't be the scouser on the manc thread.
Post by: thebigfella on August 01, 2009, 04:00:29 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 01, 2009, 12:41:47 AM

So post on the Springsteen thread. And please mention that his Sat night was awful. Meanwhile U2 Sat was awesome. Fair enough the weather wasn't Bruce's fault but neither was it U2's. If you want to post how great you think Bruce is start a thread or post on his earlier thread. Don't be the scouser on the manc thread.

Agreed, in fact pathetic as I have said. I'm a fan but that was the biggest let down ever.
Post by: thebigfella on August 01, 2009, 04:47:51 AM
Admitedly I am looking at this through E-street tinted glasses, but we're comparing a live act who thrive on leave-no-musical-stone-unturned-balls-to-the-wall-for-3-hour-every-single-let's-make-love-this-as-much-as-we-do gigs,

Get a grip.

versus one who are touring Europe with a gimic stage obviously designed to get the most out of playing in American baseball stadiums and European fans be damned.

Ok it was the 270 tour in Crokers (I'm assuming the entertainment license wouldn't them fill the hill?), but every other date in Europe I believe has a full stadium. Zoo Tv and Pop Mart was innovative too, but go to any big stadium tour and most bands are copying this format (including the B stage) with the massive video screens.

I've seen U2 5 times now and the Boss 8 times. My Top 5 gigs are ALL Springsteen ones. Including one Seeger Sessions gig!

The E Street band are by far the more competent musically and use this to get people involved in and feel part of the show- witness the stump the band section of the show, where in the US the band played requests for other peoples songs off the cuff! Outside of the politically motivated claptrap the U2 shows are very low on audience involvement. Bruce may be as hokey as it gets, but as Anthony Hopkins keeps telling us in the Sky Movies ads "So what? Life is hokey"!

The fact you said your top 5 gigs are ALL Springsteen says it all. Your a bit narrow minded there, have you seen any other bands live? I'm not a massive U2 fan but some of the Springsteen vs U2 on here is getting tired. Two different shows/artists and totally expectations from myself what I pay money to go see.
Post by: INDIANA on August 01, 2009, 11:37:42 AM

Even I'd have to admit Saturday was really good. Bruce is a different act but I will concede I do prefer Bruce. I think U2 have recaptured a bit of their youth again in terms of connecting with the audience again by playing some the hits that made them really famous after not playing them at concerts for maybe a decade and beyond in some cases.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 01, 2009, 11:57:03 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 01, 2009, 11:37:42 AM

Even I'd have to admit Saturday was really good. Bruce is a different act but I will concede I do prefer Bruce. I think U2 have recaptured a bit of their youth again in terms of connecting with the audience again by playing some the hits that made them really famous after not playing them at concerts for maybe a decade and beyond in some cases.

??? ???
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2009, 04:11:11 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on August 01, 2009, 11:57:03 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 01, 2009, 11:37:42 AM

??? ???

I can't figure them out either Louth Exile.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 02, 2009, 03:09:36 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2009, 11:32:14 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 07, 2009, 11:11:06 PM

Seo mo rogha

Red Hill Mining Town

Staring at the Sun

Bad

Are they really the biggest band in the world still? Is a U2 concert really an "event"? I've seen them before but I think they've been pretty gash for a good few years now.

However, in the spirit of the thread:
Red Hill Mining Town is a great call 5Sams.
I Will Follow.
Angel of Harlem

I think last weekend probably answered your question Tony.
Post by: the colonel on August 17, 2009, 12:29:06 PM
Have a mate who had to go to hospital for a couple of days so I have a spare ticket for Glasgow tomorrow night.

If anyone knows someone who might be interested send me a PM

Cheers
Post by: Cúig huaire on August 20, 2009, 02:05:12 PM
Good concert on Saturday night, though not quite as good as Croke Park, just not the same atmosphere.
Post by: Tempoman on August 20, 2009, 02:50:27 PM
The gig from Shefflied is being broadcast on radio aire tonite.
http://www.radioaire.co.uk (http://www.radioaire.co.uk)
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 04, 2009, 12:57:46 PM
Rumour has it that U2 will end their current tour in October 2010 with a gig in Croke Park.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 06, 2009, 12:25:41 PM
I didnt realise they were coming back to Europe next year...

http://www.u2.com/tour/index/

No sign of a Dublin date yet.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 11, 2009, 03:32:07 PM
LMJ in todays Sindo saying that he would like to end the tour in Belfast next September.....he says there have been talks about it....where would this be....Casement? Back in Botanic Gardens?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 20, 2009, 05:30:37 PM
U2 to stream LIVE on youtube this Sunday........

U2 to stream entire concert live on YouTube
      Tue Oct 20, 8:09 am ET
LONDON (Reuters) – U2 will stream an entire concert live on the YouTube video sharing site this weekend, the Irish band said on their website. Sunday's show at the Rose Bowl in California is already a sellout, with an audience of 96,000 expected, and U2 said it would be the first time for such a large show to be streamed live.

"The band has wanted to do something like this for a long time," said manager Paul McGuinness in a statement.

"As we're filming the LA show, it's the perfect opportunity to extend the party beyond the stadium. Fans often travel long distances to come to see U2 -- this time U2 can go to them, globally."

Google Inc's YouTube will stream the concert across five continents, and two replays will be available after the live feed -- on www.U2.com and YouTube.

The band behind hits like "Beautiful Day" and "Sunday Bloody Sunday" kicked off the U2 360 Tour in Barcelona in June and has boasted high attendances by using a circular platform that can be viewed from all sides of arena.

YouTube has had an uneasy relationship with the record industry in recent years, with labels arguing that popular social networking and online video sites should pay them more for the right to feature their artists.

At the same time they recognize the importance of maintaining their presence on sites that help shape young fans' musical tastes.

Post by: Cúig huaire on October 20, 2009, 06:31:47 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 06, 2009, 12:25:41 PM
I didnt realise they were coming back to Europe next year...

http://www.u2.com/tour/index/

No sign of a Dublin date yet.

Talk of both a Dublin & Belfast date yesterday on 2FM to end the tour.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2009, 04:44:46 AM
U2 live

http://www.youtube.com/u2?feature=ticker (http://www.youtube.com/u2?feature=ticker)
Post by: ONeill on October 26, 2009, 10:11:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/u2
Post by: 5 Sams on June 24, 2011, 10:14:53 AM
I see the Glastonbury set is being braodcast live on BBC3 and Setanta tonight at 10pm. ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on June 24, 2011, 10:22:05 AM
Cool; I haven't tuned into this lot in a long time.
Post by: amallon on June 24, 2011, 10:39:58 AM
They are expecting a large protest at U2's gig from anti tax avoidance people. 
Post by: Bingo on June 24, 2011, 10:46:51 AM
Quote from: amallon on June 24, 2011, 10:39:58 AM
They are expecting a large protest at U2's gig from anti tax avoidance people.

A couple of hundred crusties waving organically made posters in the crowd of 90k and trying to shout over the crowd and the sound system will have the boys onto their Tax advisors as soon as they come off stage  ;D
Post by: seafoid on June 24, 2011, 10:48:47 AM
I don't think history will be kind to U2.
Post by: Bingo on June 24, 2011, 10:52:35 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 24, 2011, 10:48:47 AM

It will be alot kinder than the shite they get nowadays.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 24, 2011, 10:55:06 AM

I wouldnt really give a flyin fcuk what history said about me if I had a few hundred million in my arse pocket now.......
Post by: screenexile on June 24, 2011, 04:04:39 PM
Meh!!! Was excited about this until an hour ago but it is chuckin it down here now and severe weather warnings in place all night long!! It should still be a hell of a show though... Strong rumours of Radiohead appearing as special guests at some stage this evening should ease the drying up process though!!
Post by: bcarrier on June 24, 2011, 07:51:58 PM

"No man is so obliged as to arrange his affairs in order to pay the maximum amount of tax".
Post by: maddog on June 24, 2011, 10:13:22 PM
They've started rightly but if they play that " put on yer boots" the tele is going off.
Post by: Celt_Man on June 24, 2011, 10:18:35 PM
Top Quality stuff...
Post by: bcarrier on June 24, 2011, 10:31:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 24, 2011, 10:23:20 PM
Jerusalem.....

Jaysus fcuk.

its either the jet lag or the laylines
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2011, 10:41:47 PM
Good set. Practice makes perfect.
Post by: theskull1 on June 24, 2011, 10:57:04 PM
Quote from: maddog on June 24, 2011, 10:13:22 PM
They've started rightly but if they play that " put on yer boots" the tele is going off.

:D Ni night maddog

Not a patch on muse imo.
Post by: ross4life on June 24, 2011, 10:59:10 PM
Good setlist indeed but it looks more like a night in November than June  :o
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2011, 11:00:42 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 24, 2011, 10:57:04 PM
Quote from: maddog on June 24, 2011, 10:13:22 PM

:D Ni night maddog

Not a patch on muse imo.
:D it's safe to come back maddog!

The Boss set was magic - helped along by the fact that I was half lit whilst watching it.
Post by: michaelg on June 24, 2011, 11:01:31 PM
Abolute loada boz
Post by: Declan on June 24, 2011, 11:24:02 PM
Might be just me and a few pints but Bono's voice doesn't seem to be there really. They still have a great set of songs mind you
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2011, 11:47:01 PM
Quote from: Declan on June 24, 2011, 11:24:02 PM
Might be just me and a few pints but Bono's voice doesn't seem to be there really. They still have a great set of songs mind you
He seemed to be having bother with high notes as he kept pressing his left monitor into his ear when he went for a high one. They were certainly value for money anyway.
Post by: 3000 miles away on June 25, 2011, 02:48:55 AM
i was at u2,two nights ago in baltimore USA, this is bound to have taken an effect on the band, they were brillant and it was one of bono's better performances ive seen, overall concert was f#cking brillant.
Post by: lurganblue on June 25, 2011, 09:09:11 AM
I enjoyed U2 last night. The fact that Bono is a welt doesn't put me off their music. I thought they were excellent. In saying that, they shouldn't have tried to do some of coldplay's yellow. Shite
Post by: ross matt on June 25, 2011, 10:33:33 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 24, 2011, 11:24:02 PM

Not just you Declan. Thought the same myself. The papers raved about the show this am though. The weather conditions might have affected the sound also I suppose....
Post by: Bingo on June 25, 2011, 10:58:47 AM
Loved the set last night, would love to see them do that in Dublin on a similar stage with their own crowd. It would be electric.

Re bono's voice, on the high notes he struggled near the end but in other parts it was great. I'd say the travels took it's toll. He actually looked very uncomfortable on BBC after it in studio. Like others I just ignore his rants, like the edge does who just laughs and makes faces behind him as he goes off on one. But as part of the 4 he never fails to put on a show. I don't think you can do what he does for so long without having a massive ego and been a shrinking violet, it comes with the terority.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2011, 11:24:22 AM
Take away the Edge's pedals and he's MEH! Bono's a nob but he wasn't too nobish last night

I don't like U2 anymore - lost interest in early 90s but still think Adam and Larry are way under-rated. They get the job done with no fuss. And they do a fine job.

Mullen actually smiled in the interview tent. Which, by all accounts, is some achievement.
Post by: The Gs Man on June 25, 2011, 03:09:51 PM
What I want to know is, with Bono and Chris Martin at Glastonbury, who the f**k's looking after Africa?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2011, 03:15:52 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on June 25, 2011, 03:09:51 PM
What I want to know is, with Bono and Chris Martin at Glastonbury, who the f**k's looking after Africa?
The Boomtown Rat is babysitting.
Post by: Orangemac on June 25, 2011, 03:46:53 PM
Set was good, still have great back catalogue.

Nearly vomitted watching cringeworthy arselicking interview with Zane Lowe (dickhead) afterwards though.
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2011, 03:53:58 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2011, 11:24:22 AM
Take away the Edge's pedals and he's MEH! Bono's a nob but he wasn't too nobish last night

I don't like U2 anymore - lost interest in early 90s but still think Adam and Larry are way under-rated. They get the job done with no fuss. And they do a fine job.

Mullen actually smiled in the interview tent. Which, by all accounts, is some achievement.
Same here.

I came across 'Bad " the other day. What do the lyrics mean or are they just nonsense?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 25, 2011, 04:59:08 PM
Bono is a cockhead.
Post by: Bingo on June 25, 2011, 05:19:15 PM
Bad is about the heroin plague that hit Dublin in the 80's. Great tune.

If all cockheads were like Bono the world would be a better place.
Post by: bridgegael on June 25, 2011, 06:43:49 PM
wat was the inflatable balloon yoke all about that the stewards took down?
Post by: The Gs Man on June 25, 2011, 06:56:16 PM
What's the difference between God and Bono??

God doesn't walk down the street thinking he's Bono...
Post by: muppet on June 25, 2011, 07:08:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 25, 2011, 03:53:58 PM
I came across 'Bad " the other day. What do the lyrics mean or are they just nonsense?

Are you related to Síle Seoighe?
Post by: muppet on June 25, 2011, 07:09:45 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on June 25, 2011, 06:56:16 PM
What's the difference between God and Bono??

Richard Dawkins believes there is a Bono.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2011, 10:39:14 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on June 25, 2011, 06:43:49 PM

A protest aimed at the bands decision to pay their taxes in Holland avoiding Ireland's higher tax charges.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2011, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 25, 2011, 10:39:14 PM

A protest aimed at the bands decision to pay their taxes in Holland avoiding Ireland's higher tax charges.
Seems to be that it is Brits protesting whereas (as usual) the Irish can't be arsed with that sort of thing.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2011, 11:15:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2011, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 25, 2011, 10:39:14 PM

Seems to be that it is Brits protesting whereas (as usual) the Irish can't be arsed with that sort of thing.

Ach sure we wouldn't want to cause an aul fuss sure.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 26, 2011, 11:35:59 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 25, 2011, 03:53:58 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2011, 11:24:22 AM

Same here.

Surprised at you seafoid.
Post by: carnaross on June 26, 2011, 01:21:11 PM
Did anybody notice Bono's positioning of the Tricolour retrieved from the crowd? He put it on the speaker the wrong way round!!!
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 26, 2011, 03:37:25 PM
Quote from: carnaross on June 26, 2011, 01:21:11 PM
Did anybody notice Bono's positioning of the Tricolour retrieved from the crowd? He put it on the speaker the wrong way round!!!

ah for fucks sake!! SO WHAT
Post by: Puckoon on July 05, 2011, 05:39:43 PM
No doubt might enrage someone... :D

http://music.msn.com/music/article.aspx?news=656843&GT1=28102 (http://music.msn.com/music/article.aspx?news=656843&GT1=28102)
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 05, 2011, 07:51:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 05, 2011, 05:39:43 PM
No doubt might enrage someone... :D

http://music.msn.com/music/article.aspx?news=656843&GT1=28102 (http://music.msn.com/music/article.aspx?news=656843&GT1=28102)

That can't be U2! Sure they always play the same songs,  the Arseholes! And they always play new songs while on tour, the Twats! And everything is so staged that they begin and finish with the same songs, the Knobs!
Oh, and Bono goes on about starving people in Africa and Civil Rights leaders in Burma, raising millions along the way for the poor, instead of being the washed out, five times married, dribbling drooling rock star that we all love to love.

What a dick.
Post by: Olly on July 05, 2011, 08:01:45 PM
Where are these pictures of his dick then?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 05, 2011, 08:23:45 PM
Quote from: Olly on July 05, 2011, 08:01:45 PM
Where are these pictures of his dick then?

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 08:26:46 PM
I am usually first in line to slag Bongo but I liked this.

Pay your taxes though  >:(
Post by: muppet on July 05, 2011, 10:58:36 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 08:26:46 PM
I am usually first in line to slag Bongo but I liked this.

Pay your taxes though  >:(

If every organisation did what the begrudgers are demanding U2 do, Ireland's economy wouldn't last the week.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 05, 2011, 11:06:42 PM
U2 are a shower of self-loathing wabs who would be terribly embarrassed to discover they were being discussed by the ordinary people on a GAA board of all people.

They can go f__k themselves for their pro-Brit Widgery friendly rewrite of John Lennon's classic protest song about Bloody Sunday. Most of you will never have heard it but here it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLZhNs7M1oE
Post by: boojangles on July 05, 2011, 11:36:36 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 05, 2011, 11:06:42 PM
U2 are a shower of self-loathing wabs who would be terribly embarrassed to discover they were being discussed by the ordinary people on a GAA board of all people.

They can go f__k themselves for their pro-Brit Widgery friendly rewrite of John Lennon's classic protest song about Bloody Sunday. Most of you will never have heard it but here it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLZhNs7M1oE

Rewrite me hole. Same title. Similarities end there.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 05, 2011, 11:39:55 PM
Quote from: boojangles on July 05, 2011, 11:36:36 PM

Wrong, the 'this is not a rebel song' introduction on 'the unforgettable fire' kinda aborted your argument decades before it was born. Nice try though, no doubt you were watchin the muppet show at the time and it wore off.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 11:54:38 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 05, 2011, 11:06:42 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLZhNs7M1oE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLZhNs7M1oE)

Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 05, 2011, 11:39:55 PM

Wrong, the 'this is not a rebel song' introduction on 'the unforgettable fire' kinda aborted your argument decades before it was born. Nice try though, no doubt you were watchin the muppet show at the time and it wore off.

What a a ptronising p***k.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 05, 2011, 11:56:55 PM

Wrong. I think you will find that the 'this is not a rebel song' live version was on 'Under a Blood Red Sky' live album, recorded in Sankt Goarshausen, Germany, 1983.

And not 'Unforgettable Fire' album - but sure when did facts ever matter?

Nice try though, no doubt you were in the muppet show at the time.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2011, 12:13:42 AM
Quoterecorded in Sankt Goarshausen, Germany, 1983

Was that album not recorded in Red Rocks in Colarado in 1983?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:17:25 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 05, 2011, 11:56:55 PM

Wrong. I think you will find that the 'this is not a rebel song' live version was on 'Under a Blood Red Sky' live album, recorded in Sankt Goarshausen, Germany, 1983.

So, I got the U2 albums confused. Big deal, the reality of the song remains......Bono did say 'this is not a rebel song' did he not?

Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:18:48 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2011, 12:13:42 AM
Quoterecorded in Sankt Goarshausen, Germany, 1983

Was that album not recorded in Red Rocks in Colarado in 1983?

Side one
1. "Gloria"   Denver, Colorado on 5 June 1983 4:32
2. "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"   Boston, Massachusetts on 6 May 1983 4:34
3. "I Will Follow"   Sankt Goarshausen, Germany on 20 August 1983 3:36
4. "Party Girl"   Denver, Colorado on 5 June 1983 2:52

Side two
1. "Sunday Bloody Sunday"   Sankt Goarshausen, Germany on 20 August 1983 4:55
2. "The Electric Co."   Sankt Goarshausen, Germany on 20 August 1983 5:18
3. "New Year's Day"   Sankt Goarshausen, Germany on 20 August 1983 4:29
4. "40"   Sankt Goarshausen, Germany on 20 August 1983 3:36
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:19:10 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 11:54:38 PM

What a a ptronising p***k.

Not only patronising but a traitor and a tax dodger, some boy is Bono.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 06, 2011, 12:22:56 AM
Yoko ruined that bloody Sunday song (dam my ears) Didn't FF bring in a rule back in the 80s that artists in Ireland didn't have to pay tax or something?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:27:39 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:17:25 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 05, 2011, 11:56:55 PM

So, I got the U2 albums confused. Big deal, the reality of the song remains......Bono did say 'this is not a rebel song' did he not?

Well, its a bigger deal to me that you got a U2 album wrong than it is worrying about where the song originated.

Furthermore, can I ask, what nationality was John Lennon? Was he from the same country that spawned Spandau Ballet with their iconic song 'Through the Barricades'?

Another Englishman singing a song about the Troubles? Not better an Irishman?

Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:32:33 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:27:39 AM

Well, its a bigger deal to me that you got a U2 album wrong than it is worrying about where the song originated.

Yeah but you exhibit chronic feejit tendencies so your opinion hardly counts.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:48:58 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:32:33 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:27:39 AM

Yeah but you exhibit chronic feejit tendencies so your opinion hardly counts.

My opinion has nothing to do with the fact that your response is avoiding the elephant in the room - 
that you would prefer a 'brit' (your term) to sing a song about Ireland instead of an Irishman.

Say it ain't so?

Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:55:26 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:48:58 AM

My opinion has nothing to do with the fact that your response is avoiding the elephant in the room - 
that you would prefer a 'brit' (your term) to sing a song about Ireland instead of an Irishman.

Say it ain't so?

I'd have preferred James Connolly and Jim Larkin to William Martin Murphy too. Your 'argument' suggests a natural tendency towards ballbaggery.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 08:53:03 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 06, 2011, 12:55:26 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 06, 2011, 12:48:58 AM

Say it ain't so?

I'd have preferred James Connolly and Jim Larkin to William Martin Murphy too. Your 'argument' suggests a natural tendency towards ballbaggery.

So who's pro brit now?
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 06, 2011, 12:54:03 PM

Bollocks.

Lennon's song is a rebel song specifically about Bloody Sunday, Derry, 1972. Look at the lyrics. He is explicitly referring to Bloody Sunday in Derry and saying 'Brits f*ck off out of Northern Ireland'.

U2's is not. It's a non-specific peace song. The lyrics convey a horrification at war and all that comes with it. They sing 'Sunday Bloody Sunday' as the chorus, but make no mention of anything to with Derry, and there's no 'taking sides' anywhere in the lyric (and I've been listening to that song for 28 years). They might as well be singing about Croke Park in 1920. Therefore it is not a rewrite of Lennon's.

Don't believe me? Try this from Larry Mullen (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunday_Bloody_Sunday) :

"We're into the politics of people, we're not into politics. Like you talk about Northern Ireland, 'Sunday Bloody Sunday,' people sort of think, 'Oh, that time when 13 Catholics were shot by British soldiers'; that's not what the song is about. That's an incident, the most famous incident in Northern Ireland and it's the strongest way of saying, 'How long? How long do we have to put up with this?' I don't care who's who - Catholics, Protestants, whatever. You know people are dying every single day through bitterness and hate, and we're saying why? What's the point? And you can move that into places like El Salvador and other similar situations - people dying. Let's forget the politics, let's stop shooting each other and sit around the table and talk about it... There are a lot of bands taking sides saying politics is crap, etc. Well, so what! The real battle is people dying, that's the real battle."[9]
Post by: 5 Sams on May 11, 2012, 10:19:05 PM
Bono 52 yesterday...LMJ 50 at halloween past...do these lads want to continue trying to make ground breaking rock music or will they slide into the twilight with an enormous back catalogue and a locka pound in the arse pocket????

Any thoughts??

Although I heard a wee whisper they were camped out in South County Dublin lately working on new material...allegedly ;)
Post by: BennyCake on May 11, 2012, 10:27:28 PM
U2 have been sliding for over a decade.