GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on July 20, 2008, 06:51:03 PM

Title: Tyrone v Westmeath
Post by: Fuzzman on July 20, 2008, 06:51:03 PM
Should be fun
Title: Re: Tyrone v Westmeath
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:52:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 20, 2008, 06:51:03 PM
Should be fun

But very tough - Westmeath were the only team to give Dublin a game in Leinster !

Omagh next Saturday night ?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on July 20, 2008, 06:53:32 PM
If Tyrone think they are going to get things easy - hey are very much mistaken.

Westmeath will be able for Tyrone. Shame its not in Mullingar
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 06:56:27 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on July 20, 2008, 06:53:32 PM

Nobody in Tyrone reckons it will be easy !

Post by: Rois on July 20, 2008, 07:01:23 PM

No one is disputing that - you sound very defensive already!
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 07:03:12 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 20, 2008, 07:01:23 PM

No one is disputing that - you sound very defensive already!

And we're not afraid of you either !!!  ;) :D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: sam03/05 on July 20, 2008, 07:18:28 PM
I think Tyrone will be happy to have avoided Monaghan, Donegal and Down
and a home draw will be very welcome.
Westmeath are a decent side however the standard in Leinster is very poor at the minute.
I think that Tyrone will win but expect a close contest.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 07:21:02 PM
Could've been worse and could've been better.

They beat Offaly by 6 and Longford by 3 yet ran the Jackeen close. They play a bit like ourselves so it'll be a good test.
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 07:26:38 PM

Don't think anyone thinks Tyrone's going to win this easily. Infact, you're the first to suggest this.

Home game, so should give us a little extra advantage. However, it's not the fortress it once was. (Media tag, not Tyrone's)
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 07:48:24 PM
So what happens with the County Championship games next weekend? Any of the teams in it, got county players?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2008, 08:14:54 PM
Home advantage could be critical here. Tomás Ó'Fhatharta has this Westmeath team very well organised and very well disciplined, especially defensively, as Dublin found, almost to their cost. If Dolan and Glennon are on song, we'll need to be very much on our own game defensively -- should make for an interesting contest, though taking nothing for granted.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 08:22:15 PM
Trying to think of recent meetings. I remember we hammered them in Omagh in '04 and again in Mullingar in '05. O'Neill was flying that day in Mullingar. Oh the memories....
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 08:30:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 08:22:15 PM
Trying to think of recent meetings. I remember we hammered them in Omagh in '04 and again in Mullingar in '05. O'Neill was flying that day in Mullingar. Oh the memories....

Quite !

Let's hope the memories last and are still sweet !  ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 20, 2008, 08:33:35 PM
Tyrone have went from 33-1 with some bookies on Friday into 12-1 for the All Ireland. Thats some movement for a win over Louth, surely they couldnt read too much into that? They were 14-1 before the qualifier draw so its not like they see Westmeath as a soft touch which they certainly arent. Im glad this is a home tie as its a tough one. Westmeath are a decent outfit. Id like to see the team changed around a little as there are still some weaknesses.

A win here and confidence would certainly have returned. Hopefully the injury situation will stay the same and we can see what are full choice team is capable off. Was suprised Mulligan didnt get 15 minutes last night especially as the game was won with some time left.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 08:35:34 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 20, 2008, 08:33:35 PM
Tyrone have went from 33-1 with some bookies on Friday into 12-1 for the All Ireland. Thats some movement for a win over Louth, surely they couldnt read too much into that? They were 14-1 before the qualifier draw so its not like they see Westmeath as a soft touch which they certainly arent. Im glad this is a home tie as its a tough one. Westmeath are a decent outfit. Id like to see the team changed around a little as there are still some weaknesses.

A win here and confidence would certainly have returned. Hopefully the injury situation will stay the same and we can see what are full choice team is capable off. Was suprised Mulligan didnt get 15 minutes last night especially as the game was won with some time left.

Bookies odds are a load of shite !
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 08:37:14 PM
I just hope Tyrone don't get too over confidence over the win yesterday against Louth and believe they are better than they are. If that happens, Westmeath have the game won.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 08:39:37 PM
Compacency won't be a factor here - Westmeath present a tough challenge - it's a good tie to have at home - If Westmeath were at home they'd be favourites  - Tyrone at home will be slight favourites in my book.
Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 08:47:19 PM
I don't mean compacency over Westmeath. Compacency over the manner of their win over Louth.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 08:51:26 PM
The manner of the win over Louth was nothing to get complacent about. Twas very rusty in parts and we were beaten in the second half.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 09:01:21 PM
Even your denials of complacency have an air of complacency about them....... Its as if ye think the Westmeath lads are too thick to see through it.

Tyrone think they will thump Westmeath in fortress Omagh. Make no mistake about it.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 09:03:07 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 09:01:21 PM
Even your denials of complacency have an air of complacency about them....... Its as if ye think the Westmeath lads are too thick to see through it.

Tyrone think they will thump Westmeath in fortress Omagh. Make no mistake about it.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2008, 09:06:15 PM
If i were tyrone i'd tread bloody carefully, westmeath are damn close to being serious contenders. if flanagan and duffy were fit, they'd be quietly fancied by a lot of people.Tyrone to win, just.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 09:10:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2008, 09:06:15 PM
If i were tyrone i'd tread bloody carefully, westmeath are damn close to being serious contenders. if flanagan and duffy were fit, they'd be quietly fancied by a lot of people.Tyrone to win, just.

Are they fit ?

Post by: ziggysego on July 20, 2008, 09:14:23 PM
Why, you interested orangeman? ;)
Post by: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 09:14:49 PM
Enough already,

Westmeath are a second-tier team as shown against Dublin - canidates foe a quick return to Div 1B next season.

Tyrone will win next week IF they do the following:-
Rock at CHB;
McGee in the stand where he cannot foul and give away easy frees;
Dooher to up his work-rate - disappointment so far this season;
Cav at MF - his best position;
Justin McMahan at FB to mark Glennon - needed for his speed;
Tyrone need to operate with two forwards to act as sweepers - to counteract Glennon and Dolan

My initial thoughts so far.......
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 09:17:31 PM
Quote from: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 09:14:49 PM
Enough already,

Westmeath are a second-tier team as shown against Dublin - canidates foe a quick return to Div 1B next season.

Rock at CHB;
Tyrone need to operate with two forwards to act as sweepers - to counteract Glennon and Dolan

My initial thoughts so far.......

Harsh on Mc Gee who is a real terrier !  ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 09:25:22 PM
QuoteMy initial thoughts so far.......

Following that tour-de-f**kin force of tactical genius we await your further thoughts with bated breath....
Post by: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 09:27:43 PM
Orangeman,

don't agree - he constantly gives away frees - I was at the game yesterday and when he came on he gave away 4 scoreable free - off which 2 were converted.

It appears to be en-grained in his mentality unfortunately  :( :( :(
Post by: Zulu on July 20, 2008, 09:32:57 PM
Enough already,

Rock at CHB;
Tyrone need to operate with two forwards to act as sweepers - to counteract Glennon and DolanMy initial thoughts so far.......

2 forwards as sweepers!!! Jesus with WM getting 12 lads behind the ball as well there might be no scores in the game, might be just as easy to toss a coin  to decide the winner.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 09:38:21 PM
Agree concerning McGee (and Carlin) but I thought Dooher's workrate was surpassed by no-one yesterday.
Post by: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 09:53:12 PM
Mike Sheehy,

Apologies for the constuctive analysis  :o :o :-\
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2008, 09:58:31 PM
Quote from: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 09:27:43 PM
...  don't agree - he constantly gives away frees - I was at the game yesterday and when he came on he gave away 4 scoreable free - off which 2 were converted.

With no little help from the man-in-the-middle, who had a serious problem with blowing us up for very little indeed!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 10:03:52 PM
QuoteApologies for the constuctive analysis

you mean this ?

QuoteWestmeath are a second-tier team as shown against Dublin - canidates foe a quick return to Div 1B next season

you deserved a put down for that kind of comment. Show a bit of respect for christ sakes.
Post by: Rossfan on July 20, 2008, 10:19:07 PM

EHHHHH???
Post by: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 10:23:13 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 09:25:22 PM
QuoteMy initial thoughts so far.......

Following that tour-de-f**kin force of tactical genius we await your further thoughts with bated breath....

Sheedy,

Show a little respect.....as above...right back at you....p***k
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 10:27:33 PM
QuoteShow a little respect.....as above...right back at you....p***k

admin : This sort of personal abuse has no place on the board.

QuoteSheedy,

Plus, he cant read or spell. Ban him for his own good before I make mincemeat of the tulip.
Post by: AN other on July 20, 2008, 10:38:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 09:10:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2008, 09:06:15 PM

Are they fit ?

Unfotunately, no. Neither played against Tipperary. Big losses. Even if whatever knocks/bumps clear up by next weekend both players have a distinct lack of match practice. Wilson was also a notable absentee. If we had a fully fit team I think we'd give most teams, including Tyrone, a good run for their money. With the match in Omagh and a significant injury list Westmeath will have to dig very deep to get close to Tyrone though. If we produce much of what was produced against Tipperary we'll be badly beaten.
On the positive side, Westmeath should have no problems motivating themselves for a match against Tyrone.
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2008, 10:48:54 PM
This should be a good game - one for TV perhaps ?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on July 20, 2008, 10:55:55 PM
Remember Galway 2006 lads - Think positive.

Post by: redhandluke on July 20, 2008, 10:58:03 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 10:27:33 PM
QuoteShow a little respect.....as above...right back at you....p***k

admin : This sort of personal abuse has no place on the board.

QuoteSheedy,

Plus, he cant read or spell. Ban him for his own good before I make mincemeat of the tulip.

Sheedy,

To correct you...he can't read or spell......pot and black ;D ;D ;D
BTW, did not know flowers contained meat
Sheedy if you can't win the argument then resign and do not resort to personal abuse  - administrator has been reported for your personal well-being :-\
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 11:13:42 PM
Mike you're getting a wee bit tiresome. Baiting is only funny when it's subtle.
Post by: AN other on July 20, 2008, 11:13:51 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on July 20, 2008, 10:55:55 PM
Remember Galway 2006 lads - Think positive.

We have as good a chance as we did against Galway in 2006 alright. It's not a disastrous draw by any means and it's very easy to put a positive spin on it from a Westmeath point of view. Our defence is a solid as a rock and 100% reliable up until now and the few bad performances against Tipp will have surely provoked a bollocking from Tomás and a couple of kicks up arses. There's little or no point in getting easy draws at this stage, you're either good enough or you're not and you're as well out now as the week after. A home draw would have been nice but such is life! It's going to be alot easier to get motivated for a match against Tyrone than most of the rest. If we can produce the level of performance we produced against Dublin and be a little bit more accurate in front of the posts we can win. Tyrone in Omagh isn't much more daunting, if any more daunting, than the Dubs in Croker. It's certainly not beyond us.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 11:25:37 PM
QuoteMike you're getting a wee bit tiresome. Baiting is only funny when it's subtle.

you're one to talk given what you said about the Dublin fans. Worst baiting I've seen on gaaboard
Post by: Yes I Would on July 20, 2008, 11:27:50 PM
Are the sheep asleep Mikey??
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2008, 11:58:46 PM
QuoteAre the sheep asleep Mikey??

Hang on, I'll czech....
Post by: Jinxy on July 21, 2008, 12:18:14 AM
 :D :D
Post by: Zapatista on July 21, 2008, 08:17:37 AM
Quote from: sam03/05 on July 20, 2008, 07:18:28 PM
I think Tyrone will be happy to have avoided Monaghan, Donegal and Down

I don't think they would have cared either way. There is no point hoping to avoid anyone at this stage. Down might have been a bad draw but it would've been equally or even worse for Down. Tyrone may have peaked and we might have to accept we have seen them at their best.

So Westmeath it is and the only thing to be happy about from the draw is that we are at home. The rest dosen't really matter.
Post by: rrhf on July 21, 2008, 09:08:29 AM
AI prediction
My favourites: Dubs / Cork
Equivalent chances: Armagh, Tyrone, Kerry, Galway.
Its there to play for:
Post by: Fuzzman on July 21, 2008, 10:40:35 AM
Yeah I'm happy enuf as think it will be a good challenge as would rate them around the same level of ourselves and from what I heard during the National League I believe they have really taken on board our style from 2003/05 where they play on the break with Glennon quite the target man

I think the home advantage will be a big bonus for us and a bit of a hindrance for Westmeath

If we do as well around the middle in this game as we did on Sat then I think we should come through alright.
We still have Mugsy, Mulgrew & a few other forwards to step in so moving Sean to MF would be possible.

It sure is a wide open AI this year with one of the earlier favourites Derry falling away on Sat and with Armagh looking very beatable now too.
How good the Dubs are is still in doubt and so if we can hang in there and get a run in the qualifiers then maybe we can make the quarters

Interesting how we seem to be following in Dublins footprints so far with Louth and now Westmeath.
Thank God Meath are gone but wonder could we get Wexford should we progress.
Post by: clarshack on July 21, 2008, 10:59:30 AM

tyrone's championship record at omagh is far from impressive. derry 91 & 06, armagh 93 & down 08 spring to mind. westmeath have been gutless in the past when it has been put up to them - who can forget dessie dolan missing a 14 yard free in front of the posts against meath and the derry farce in 04. however i think they have a bit more steel this year and it will be a close game.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 21, 2008, 11:56:10 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2008, 08:22:15 PM

I remember that all too well, tore us assunder...  >:(

Quote from: clarshack on July 21, 2008, 10:59:30 AM

tyrone's championship record at omagh is far from impressive. derry 91 & 06, armagh 93 & down 08 spring to mind. westmeath have been gutless in the past when it has been put up to them - who can forget dessie dolan missing a 14 yard free in front of the posts against meath and the derry farce in 04. however i think they have a bit more steel this year and it will be a close game.

What was the Derry farce in 04??? Disclaimer: Never watched the replay of this game...

Couldn't have got a much tougher draw. Tyrone, genuine AI contenders, away from home, ffs... Someone in GAA land has it in for us, 4 games away from home in the NFL, 3 games out of 3 away from home in the Leinster Championship and so far 2 games out of 2 away from home in the AI Qualifiers.  >:( That added to the fact that our first 3 midfielders are on blocks puts us right up against it. We'll need a performance similar to the Dublin game with better point and free taking to stand a chance. Hopefully the miracle healers will be working round the clock in Westmeath this week...

Presume this match will be in Healy Park, will it be pay at the gate, close to sell out??? Also directions and parking tips coming from Donegal town would be appreciated...
Post by: Fuzzman on July 21, 2008, 12:13:06 PM
Bad road Croi but shouldn't be much traffic

You'll come in the Dromore Road into Omagh and then you're looking to get onto the Mountjoy/Gortin Road B48.
You might be better parking up near the town centre and walking out to the ground as traffic afterwards is usually brutal.

http://local.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=&saddr=Donegal+Town&daddr=54.547774,-7.851105+to:Omagh&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=11&via=1&sll=54.592356,-7.660217&sspn=0.283259,0.598755&ie=UTF8&ll=54.56211,-7.617645&spn=0.283469,0.598755&z=11 (http://local.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=&saddr=Donegal+Town&daddr=54.547774,-7.851105+to:Omagh&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=11&via=1&sll=54.592356,-7.660217&sspn=0.283259,0.598755&ie=UTF8&ll=54.56211,-7.617645&spn=0.283469,0.598755&z=11)

Can't see it being all ticket for a Sat night match can we folks?
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2008, 12:27:57 PM
Fecking sister's wedding >:(
Post by: sam03/05 on July 21, 2008, 12:40:27 PM
id say the stand could be all ticket
Post by: clarshack on July 21, 2008, 12:47:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 21, 2008, 11:56:10 AM
What was the Derry farce in 04??? Disclaimer: Never watched the replay of this game...

winning your 1st leinster title should have been a springboard for an assault on the all-ireland but instead westmeath just lay down against derry in the all-ireland 1/4 final.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 21, 2008, 01:10:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 21, 2008, 12:27:57 PM

Is that all-ticket too?
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2008, 01:21:55 PM

Feckin wedding anniversary.
Post by: Zapatista on July 21, 2008, 01:22:52 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 21, 2008, 12:47:54 PM

winning your 1st leinster title should have been a springboard for an assault on the all-ireland but instead westmeath just lay down against derry in the all-ireland 1/4 final.

Our else a huge sence of achievement and an excuse for a major pissup. Do you think if Fermanagh beat Armagh they will make an assault on the all Ireland?
Post by: clarshack on July 21, 2008, 01:32:57 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 21, 2008, 01:22:52 PM

Our else a huge sence of achievement and an excuse for a major pissup. Do you think if Fermanagh beat Armagh they will make an assault on the all Ireland?

100% yes they will. if they didnt they would be cheating themselves.
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2008, 01:37:25 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 21, 2008, 01:10:13 PM

Is that all-ticket too?

Summonses only !
Post by: FermGael on July 21, 2008, 01:41:02 PM

don't be silly  ;) 
Post by: Zapatista on July 21, 2008, 01:45:49 PM
Quote from: FermGael on July 21, 2008, 01:41:02 PM

don't be silly  ;) 

We might never know :P
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 21, 2008, 02:21:00 PM

Lay down  :D Goals win games and Derry took both chances clinically. We would have won that game if it was based on points but the goals killed us, by the time we clawed the deficit back we were out on our feet and Derry took advantage in the last 5 mins...
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2008, 03:52:51 PM
Omagh 3pm Saturday
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2008, 07:26:30 PM
TV3 are showing the game. Coverage starts at 2pm.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2008, 07:33:50 PM
Bit of pressure on PTG to be rational.
Post by: caraghtyrone on July 22, 2008, 12:11:58 AM
Hi,

Seen Peter a couple times on TV3 now and thought he has done very well considering he is new to the live punditry.  In fairness he was a little nervous the 1st few games which is only natural as it must be a daunting pressure job but as I said previously I believe he has done well recently and settled well into the job.  His analysis has been good and a breath of fresh air to have a straight up analysis broadcast.  Too many of these pundits act the puppets and only say what is politically correct or what they believe the viewers want to hear, whereas Peters views are more honest and wether controversial or not he says what has to be said.  I believe he has the makings of a quality pundit and will only get better.  Lets face it as the saying goes he has been there and got a few t-shirts to show for his efforts on the field of play so no surprise for me that hes doing well in his new job.

All things considered you are right Saturday will be interesting viewing!

Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2008, 10:27:30 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 22, 2008, 07:18:11 AM
I think he's good too. "Trone are playing agin the wine in the second half."

;) ;D ;D It's a local audience you see !  ;)
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2008, 10:30:34 AM
Having been knocked out by Laois in 06 (after a Louth scare) and Meath in 07, Tyrone know that they're probably meeting a better Leinster side than those three so complacency will not be on the menu.
Post by: rrhf on July 22, 2008, 10:43:04 AM
It gives a hot day.  So you can rule out a Wexford - NFL / Laois  championship performance.
Hopefully the management will be prepared to make some very neccessary changes to bring the team up to potentially an ALL Ireland winning standard. 
A wise man made the statement to me at the match on Saturday.  "Tyrone will win no All ireland this year but they'll take some batin'"  - Thats probably where we are, so how do we improve?
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2008, 10:44:38 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 22, 2008, 10:43:04 AM
It gives a hot day.  So you can rule out a Wexford - NFL / Laois  championship performance.
Hopefully the management will be prepared to make some very neccessary changes to bring the team up to potentially an ALL Ireland winning standard.  A wise man made the statement to me at the match on Saturday.  "Tyrone will win no All ireland this year but they'll take some batin'"  - Thats probably where we are, so how do we improve?

Such as ?
Post by: uselessfootballer on July 22, 2008, 11:03:07 AM
Any word if this is going to be all-ticket?
Post by: tyrone86 on July 22, 2008, 11:12:55 AM
Quote from: uselessfootballer on July 22, 2008, 11:03:07 AM

No, £15 for the stand, £12 terrace
Post by: uselessfootballer on July 22, 2008, 11:20:23 AM
Cheers 86
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2008, 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 22, 2008, 11:12:55 AM

Pricey, least we'll have the option of a seat this week though... What time will you bies be taking up all the good seats???
Post by: under the bar on July 22, 2008, 11:29:45 AM
Canavan won't agree with other pundits just cos he's new to the punditry game, neither will he disagree for the sake of making good telly, nor use it as a platform for promoting himself.   Therefore expect him to call it as he sees it unlike many of the others bar Tohill.
Post by: tyrone86 on July 22, 2008, 11:34:44 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2008, 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 22, 2008, 11:12:55 AM

Pricey, least we'll have the option of a seat this week though... What time will you bies be taking up all the good seats???

Same as last week for us, twas €20 and €16 - I'd assume U16s are free as well
Post by: ziggysego on July 22, 2008, 11:57:20 AM
A Chara

Please note that the All-Ireland football championship fixture Tyrone v Westmeath on Saturday 26th July at 3.00 pm in Healy Park Omagh is NOT an all-ticket event.
Admission prices at the turnstiles will be as follows:
Covered Stand: £15
Terrace: £12

The replay of the Ulster senior football championship final in Clones on Sunday 27th July is an all-ticket event; since Tir Eoghain is not participating on this occasion, the number of tickets available to the county will be severely limited.
Any Club seeking tickets for this replay must have its order submitted before 10.00 pm on Tuesday 22nd July.
At this stage it should be noted that orders of more than ten tickets cannot be accepted.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 22, 2008, 01:04:02 PM
I can't see the beard making any changes. Possibly a few positional switches, Sean to midfield, Enda to 15 and Tommy/McCullagh to 14. Will be very surprised if there's personnel changes unless of course injuries were picked up.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 22, 2008, 02:05:45 PM
I can see Mugsy or Volm Cavanagh come in for Penfold

If everyone in the panel was 100% fit now who would you 8-15 be and why?
Post by: feetofflames on July 22, 2008, 02:17:26 PM
volm will eat your babies. 
Post by: ziggysego on July 22, 2008, 02:17:38 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on July 22, 2008, 12:45:29 PM
I'm sure Dominic loves seeing his emails printed up on the interweb ziggy.

I removed all telephone numbers and email addresses ;)
Post by: ziggysego on July 22, 2008, 02:45:29 PM
Update.

Stand is ticket only.

Terrace can be paid at the turnstiles. £12.00.
Post by: tyrone86 on July 22, 2008, 02:47:47 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 22, 2008, 02:17:38 PM
I removed all telephone numbers and email addresses ;)

Well, because you posted the email, the stand is now ticket only, price remains the same and U16 only get into the terrace free.

Happy now?
Post by: ziggysego on July 22, 2008, 04:33:26 PM
KIDDO does it soo much better than me  ;)
Post by: KIDDO 4 on July 22, 2008, 04:59:53 PM
Soo
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2008, 05:12:42 PM
Will the stand tickets have seat numbers on them or will it be an open seating policy??? If seat numbers, what section is on/near the halfway line???
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2008, 05:45:17 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2008, 05:12:42 PM
Will the stand tickets have seat numbers on them or will it be an open seating policy??? If seat numbers, what section is on/near the halfway line???

The middle section !  ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2008, 06:23:08 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 22, 2008, 02:05:45 PM
I can see Mugsy or Volm Cavanagh come in for Penfold

If everyone in the panel was 100% fit now who would you 8-15 be and why?

McGinley
Mellon
Dooher
B McGuigan
S Cavanagh
McCullagh
T McGuigan/C Cavanagh (50 50 call)
Mugsy

The midfield on Saturday night show'd enough to suggest that they deserve another go. Both will put in a lot of work and should compete in the air with the help of Cavanagh. Cavanagh is probably better out the field due to the amount of work he puts in so would bring him to half forrward were he can still be a scoring threat. Tommy McGugian has played his best football out the pitch but dont think he offers the same workrate as the other 5. He would therefore challenge for a place in the full forward line.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2008, 06:37:17 PM
I think Mickey'll name an unchanged side.
Post by: redhandluke on July 22, 2008, 08:04:05 PM
Would prefer to see T McGuigan instead of Colm Cavanagh - if for no other reason than his great performance against Down when he came on and scored 5 points.

Important thing is we definitely need a free-taker on board - if he is fit and ready to play then Mulligan should probably have a starting position somewhere.

WM have a great defensive record this year, and will be hard to breach - no better example than when they played Monaghan this year and beat them easy.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2008, 08:36:32 PM
Wouldnt be suprised if the team is unchanged but dont think we played that well on Saturday that Mickey couldnt justify 1 or 2 changes. Penrose could probably lose out in attack if everyone is fit. Personally Id rather see Harte not start in defence. I was happy enough with him in 05' but no longer feel he's one of the best 6 defenders in Tyrone - would be shocked if he was dropped though. Westmeath will be very tough and are probably a tougher test than Down who defeated us in Ulster. Unless there any further injuries I believe we are a lot stronger than we were in June. A win here and we'll be hard to beat going forward but there's nothing straight forward about Saturdays game. Westmeath out played Dublin in the division 2 league final and gave them a decent game in the championship.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 22, 2008, 09:08:06 PM
Also believe that MH will name an unchanged 15, to introduce a semblance of stability and continuity if nothing else.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2008, 09:15:55 PM
Dont think many would say the team last week was our strongest 15. Surely at this stage we need the best 15 out, which if fit would include Mulligan.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 22, 2008, 09:22:19 PM
Agreed TD, but he'd be hoping that those who were deficient on this particular occasion can raise it a level, which may not be at all possible where a few of the positions are concerned. So, just not to be previous with the fracturing of a winning team, I reckon he'll hang back on changes, but he'd need to be ready to act sharpish if we're struggling in whichever area(s).
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 22, 2008, 10:29:51 PM
Obviously Mulligan goes straight in when fit, but he didn't even get 10 minutes on Saturday night. If we manage to get past the maroons, hopefully he'll see some action the following weekend, my presumption being he's nowhere near fit for Healy Park.
Post by: loughshore lad on July 23, 2008, 08:46:34 AM
I think a fit mugsy would be a starter but he must not be at the races yet or else MH would have given him some game time.  As MH is quoted as saying in the Irish News today you can train all you want its the games that ultimately improve your fitness.  How anyone thinks Colm Cavanagh should start before Tommy the next day is beyond me.  With everyone fit and available I would like to see Tyrone play a system with Dooher, Sean Cav and Tommy in the half forward line, McCullagh and Mugsy inside and Brian given a free role to link the play in the hole between the half and full forward lines like he did in Drogheda.  Something like:

Dooher (roving)

Tommy, Sean

Brian

Mugsy, McCullagh
Post by: Fuzzman on July 23, 2008, 09:58:18 AM
Did any of ye notice on Sat how Dooher and Ricey seemed to be the only two lads who were busting a gut to run for each other.

Remember in previous years there would be loads of players running of yer shoulder and ye had loads of options for passes
Bit concerning that we're still reliant on the older heads to have this mad work ethic as other teams especially Fermanagh and Westmeath have really improved in this area

I reckon if we don't work hard enuf on Sat we could lose this one.
Post by: orangeman on July 23, 2008, 11:04:23 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 23, 2008, 09:58:18 AM
Did any of ye notice on Sat how Dooher and Ricey seemed to be the only two lads who were busting a gut to run for each other.

Remember in previous years there would be loads of players running of yer shoulder and ye had loads of options for passes
Bit concerning that we're still reliant on the older heads to have this mad work ethic as other teams especially Fermanagh and Westmeath have really improved in this area

I reckon if we don't work hard enuf on Sat we could lose this one.

That goes without saying - we just can't expect to turn up and win !
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2008, 11:59:50 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 21, 2008, 12:13:06 PM
Bad road Croi but shouldn't be much traffic

You'll come in the Dromore Road into Omagh and then you're looking to get onto the Mountjoy/Gortin Road B48.
You might be better parking up near the town centre and walking out to the ground as traffic afterwards is usually brutal.

http://local.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=&saddr=Donegal+Town&daddr=54.547774,-7.851105+to:Omagh&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=11&via=1&sll=54.592356,-7.660217&sspn=0.283259,0.598755&ie=UTF8&ll=54.56211,-7.617645&spn=0.283469,0.598755&z=11 (http://local.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=&saddr=Donegal+Town&daddr=54.547774,-7.851105+to:Omagh&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=11&via=1&sll=54.592356,-7.660217&sspn=0.283259,0.598755&ie=UTF8&ll=54.56211,-7.617645&spn=0.283469,0.598755&z=11)

Can't see it being all ticket for a Sat night match can we folks?

Just looking at google maps there, route via ballybofey and newtownstewart will take the exact same time and will avoid Omagh town center. Will have to have my wits about me though to take the right back roads  :o, what's the parking like north of Healy Park on the Gortin Road??? Safe to have the flag on the car???

Also if anyone apart from that empty vessel knows the number of the middle of the stand t'would be very much appreciated...
Post by: Rois on July 23, 2008, 12:43:35 PM
Parking on the top side (coming from Newtownstewart) is just on the roadside or at the graveyard, though not sure what time it would close at and it's grand to have the flag up.

I can give you more detailed directions from the main Newton-Omagh road through the backroads if you want? 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2008, 12:49:11 PM
Thanks Rois, it's just a left I have to take at Killynure/Mountjoy onto the Gortnagam Road I have to look out for, any landmarks to look out for before I miss the turn???
Post by: Bensars on July 23, 2008, 01:00:27 PM
Comng from newton you will pass the american folk park on your left hand side.  First left after that ( about half a mile).
you will come out on a corner to join the main gortin/omagh road. Turn right and pitch is about 2 mile on left
Post by: Rois on July 23, 2008, 01:00:47 PM
Coming through Newtown you'll pass the Mellon Country Inn/Hotel, then the Ulster American folk park, and the turn off is up on the crest of a hill - there's a signpost for Mountjoy at the turn-off directly opposite it.
Post by: redcard on July 23, 2008, 01:39:52 PM
(http://lh6.ggpht.com/Pelgis/R2WVrLGMULI/AAAAAAAACD4/_U8PAanm2rY/s144/2007_08020074.JPG)

As you look at the healy park stand I think starting from the right the first red section is section A then each red bit is B, C etc. On the top right hand corner is the Gortin Road. Go left to the centre of town, right to Gortin.

Go here to see larger picture:

http://picasaweb.google.com/Pelgis/2007_0802Omagh/photo#5144682718286336178
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2008, 01:55:34 PM
Thanks folks, should be a decent traveling support from the midlands, hopefully the journey won't be in vain...  :P
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2008, 02:13:28 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2008, 01:55:34 PM
Thanks folks, should be a decent traveling support from the midlands, hopefully the journey won't be in vain...  :P

Do you not mean 'in a van'? Round them roads i don't blame ye.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 23, 2008, 03:52:53 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on July 23, 2008, 08:46:34 AM
I think a fit mugsy would be a starter but he must not be at the races yet or else MH would have given him some game time.  As MH is quoted as saying in the Irish News today you can train all you want its the games that ultimately improve your fitness.  How anyone thinks Colm Cavanagh should start before Tommy the next day is beyond me.  With everyone fit and available I would like to see Tyrone play a system with Dooher, Sean Cav and Tommy in the half forward line, McCullagh and Mugsy inside and Brian given a free role to link the play in the hole between the half and full forward lines like he did in Drogheda.  Something like:

Dooher (roving)

Tommy, Sean

Brian

Mugsy, McCullagh

Agree with all that LL but the bit in bold in particular. McGuigan Og has been one of Tyrone's best attackers this season and without doubt deserves his starting place on the team. Similarly Id feel Penrose would be unlucky to lose his place at this stage, he has had maybe his best run of games for Tyrone over the last couple of months.

As for Mugsy he hasnt played for Tyrone for months now and surely its too early to be throwing him onto the starting 15. The forwards did well the last day so Id go with the same lineup again and hold Mugsy back for the second half. So for me its the same team but with Sean playing further out the field.
Post by: orangeman on July 23, 2008, 04:13:21 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2008, 01:55:34 PM

Will you bring 500 ? 1000 ?
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2008, 04:19:02 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 23, 2008, 03:52:53 PM

. McGuigan Og has been one of Tyrone's best attackers this season and without doubt deserves his starting place on the team. Similarly Id feel Penrose would be unlucky to lose his place at this stage, he has had maybe his best run of games for Tyrone over the last couple of months.

True. I think he has peaked (assuming he has peaked) at the right time. He wasn't very impressive up untill the Championship.
Post by: Red Sea on July 23, 2008, 04:36:10 PM
A purely pointless match neither will make it past the quaters neway... when d real chips are down! tyrone are a spent force for a few years and westmeath will never  win anything they should stick to fishing or sumthing! :D
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2008, 04:37:58 PM
Quote from: Red Sea on July 23, 2008, 04:36:10 PM
A purely pointless match neither will make it past the quaters neway... when d real chips are down! tyrone are a spent force for a few years and westmeath will never  win anything they should stick to fishing or sumthing! :D

Quality discussion Red Sea.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 23, 2008, 05:25:18 PM
I can sea your point there Red Sea and think you summed it up well but I'm not sure about the chips in Down being that great and certainly with both Tyrone and Westmeath being counties with no coastline I think the summer fishing could be a long shot despite the inland rivers in both.

I think you're right though its a pointless exercise and I'll get Ziggy to send one of his excellent letters to the Tyrone secretary to get the game cancelled.
Good work Red Sea and thanks for Signing up just to share that with us.
You'll save us a fortune in tickets, diesel, sandwiches and I hope you can get back to your homeland safely

http://worshippingchristian.org/biblestorymurals/images/Moses-Parts-the-Red-Sea%202.jpg (http://worshippingchristian.org/biblestorymurals/images/Moses-Parts-the-Red-Sea%202.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on July 23, 2008, 06:36:14 PM
Letter's penned and ready to drop in the letterbox. Just give me the word fuzzman.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2008, 10:00:51 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 23, 2008, 05:25:18 PM
both Tyrone and Westmeath being counties with no coastline I think the summer fishing could be a long shot despite the inland rivers in both.

Westmeath is full of lakes too.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 24, 2008, 02:40:10 PM
So anybody got any last minute news on possible lineup to be announced tonight?

Will Mugsy get a start or will he be drafted in during the 2nd half?
Will Penrose get another run or does someone else deserve a game such as young Niall Gormley or Harte's favourite Cavanagh brothers

I doubt they're be any changes but I would like to see....

Devine
McCaul/Carlin  - Ricey better used in HB line pushing forward
Justy/Joe - Would like to see Joe back in here allowing Justy to play MF
PJ Quinn  - Looks sharp
Ricey (NO CHANCE) - Better than Harte
Conor - Getting back to his old form
Jordan - Getting back to his old form
Enda - Did OK the last day but drifted in & out
Sean - Have to contradict myself now and he wasted in FF line & drives the whole team forward
Dooher - Another day like the last would be good Brian
Brian - Needs to get match time under his belt but beginning to show where he was.
Tommy - Our best forward in 2008 and would prefer if he was at FF but think he is better from HF
Mellon (3rd MF) - Showed some great fielding the last day and maybe would be better there from the start.
Colm Cavangh - Wouldn' tbe here if Mugsy was totally fit in my book but his height and accuracy will be help to FF line
McCullagh - Beginning to be a regular top scorer now in most matches and isn't just a free taker.

If Joey & Mugsy was fit to play then we would have
Joey/Justy
Sean Cav
McGinley
Tommy
Mellon
Com Cav
Mugsy

All big men well able to field and score and would add a lot of height and strength to our attack which struggled all during the NFL.

Post by: feetofflames on July 24, 2008, 02:44:14 PM
Tyrone V Westmeath

I have travelled thru Ireland England and Wales
and once I made it to Scotland
but never have I had such craic
till I arrived at the home of the red hand

"Omaghs got talent" - a fine looking town
the girls with curly blond hair
as I arrived in my Westmeath hat
they all just stopped and they stared

They said we've had kerrymen, Cork, Down and the Dubs
But nothing yet quite like you
The only maroon we've seen on the cubs
is the Galway tribal hue.

So I threw off my hat and I stood with a pint
and I told them of my dream
Of Dessie Dolan holding Sam
sure they told me that I was a scream

As I left later on with my hopes somewhat dashed
after being beaten inside out
Standing under the sperrins with my new mates half lashed
These tyrone folk they love their stout

But they'll now know westmeath and they know Dessie d
for he gave them quite a battle
and if we meet them next year and we mark big sean C
Sure we'll give it an awful rattle

But as for Tyrone and their fine looking hens
their singers and their songs
Their great Healy park and their footballing men
I hope their seasons long

the further I travel, the more that I see
theres little to beat the redhand
for the football so good and the girls so pretty
tis the finest county in Ireland.  

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2008, 03:17:26 PM
Would be suprised if there is any changes but you never know with Harte. Would like to see Justy McMahon tried at half back and if fit Mugsy starting.
Post by: feetofflames on July 24, 2008, 03:28:20 PM
Interesting one TD and I would agree that its  worth a shake up.  How about this for the back half of a team. 
Mc Caul: Joe Mc Mahon, P J Quinn; 
Ricey Mc Mahon Gormly
Mellon, Cavanagh
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2008, 03:41:19 PM
Thats not bad and would be physically bigger than what we currently have. Would be harsh to leave Jordan out who has showed signs of his old form. Would probably rather see Gormley in the centre and Justy on the wing were he would have greater freedom. Like most of our corner backs in recent years I feel McCaul is better suited to the half back line were he could use his speed to get forward. Have seen him struggling against good forwards a few times at corner back but he looks good when bursting forward from defence.
Post by: feetofflames on July 24, 2008, 04:00:50 PM
Jordans been our best half back to date to be fair, to be honest I didnt have the balls to drop Conor and Ive always wondered about Justin at 6, Lets face it its all about Davy.   
Post by: Fuzzman on July 24, 2008, 04:09:14 PM
Yeah I thought Jordan was poor enough in most games this year to be honest compared to his usual high standard

He was getting caught in possession a lot in Newry as both him and Davy try to run THRU men and hope to win their free.
Westmeath have become great at the blanket defence and so I'd like to see longer balls cleared out of defense rather than running it out like the past

Teams now know it worth their while fouling back there to slow down the momentum and thus frustrate our forwards.

I fear Westmeath's workrate will surpass ours this Sat and so we might find it hard to break free to get good ball into FF line.

I'd like to see Carlin get a run out again as he brings a lot of energy to attacks. What would he be like at 15 where he tracks back to sweep ip midfield possession
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2008, 04:17:37 PM
Carlin is good getting forward but the problem is that when he gets there he has a habbit of wasting possession and cant shoot. Still wouldnt complain too much if he was half back, wouldnt want to see him at 15 though.
Post by: Red Sea on July 24, 2008, 05:20:26 PM
Lads.. get off the horse here.. this game is pointless, a joke everyone know both these teams would make it past the quarter finals. Tyrone are a spent force wit years and Westmeath will never win anything so maybe we should just call off the game eh boys!! ;D
Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2008, 08:16:40 PM
No changes
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 08:27:18 PM
Quote from: Red Sea on July 24, 2008, 05:20:26 PM
Lads.. get off the horse here.. this game is pointless, a joke everyone know both these teams would make it past the quarter finals. Tyrone are a spent force wit years and Westmeath will never win anything so maybe we should just call off the game eh boys!! ;D

Have you just fallen off the Hoganstand message board Red Sea? A little adult input from yourself would not go unappreciated.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 08:29:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 24, 2008, 08:16:40 PM
No changes

Just heard, and happy enough with that.
Post by: orangeman on July 24, 2008, 10:04:51 PM
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team for Saturday's All-Ireland SFC qualifier against Westmeath at Healy Park (1500 BST).

Harte has an injury-free squad and gives a vote of confidence to the starting fifteen who featured in last weekend's 1-18 to 1-10 win over Louth.

Sean Cavanagh's spell at full forward continues, with Ryan Mellon once again partnering Enda McGinley at midfield.

The McGuigan brothers, Brian and Tommy, are named in the half forward line.

The Tyrone boss was pleased to report a clean bill of health.

"It's a privileged position we haven't been in for a long time," said Harte.

"But Westmeath put a lot of men behind the ball and it's going to be tough. That's the problem we have to solve."

The Tyrone manager is the first to acknowledged that the home venue is a major plus for the Red Hands.

"It's definitely a distinct advantage. You don't have to travel big distances and you don't have an overnight anywhere.

"It's also your own ground and you should know it better than your opponents," added the Tyrone manager.

Harte is totally unconcerned by any suggestion that the Saturday afternoon throw-in could lead to a lack of atmosphere in Omagh.

"We're not concerned about crowd control or crowd atmosphere although maybe we can generate a bit of atmosphere for those who are there.

"It's going to be all about our focus and how up are players are for the game.

"Westmeath lost against Dublin by a couple of points in the Leinster semi-final.

"They put up a huge effort into Leinster this year and they are a formidable side. It's certainly a step up in quality from our last qualifier."

Harte will also be mindful that Westmeath claimed a big win on their last foray into Ulster in April when they defeated Monaghan to pip the Farney man for promotion to Division 1 of the National League.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tyrone: J Devine, R McMenamin, J McMahon, PJ Quinn, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, R Mellon, E McGinley, B Dooher, B McGuigan, T McGuigan, M Penrose, S Cavanagh, C McCullagh.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 10:09:53 PM
What are the Lakers' changes is now the question, if we're to have any at all from the last runs out. Wouldn't be surprised for either or both of Duffy or/and Flanagan were to play a part on Saturday for them.
Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2008, 11:45:42 PM
Twas interesting to read Canavan's column in the Mirror this week. He hints at a little bit of frustration at our reluctance to hit Sean early with good ball and the tendency to take too much out of the ball, running into defences that are much more adept at dealing with Tyrone's running game.

Westmeath will gobble the likes of Davy Harte and Jordan up if they persist with this. Scores will be at a premium.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 11:52:04 PM
If we're competing at all in midfield and delivering to the FF line*, then Seán Cav is an asset, otherwise he's a humungous waste. And for a team that has traditionally struggled there, we're certainly sailing a bit close.

* Particularly aerially.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 25, 2008, 12:06:40 AM
Quote"They put up a huge effort into Leinster this year and they are a formidable side. It's certainly a step up in quality from our last qualifier."

::) ::) not very diplomatic toward Louth is he....
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 12:12:25 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 24, 2008, 08:46:42 PM
Mike from Kerry, though not to be confused with that Sheehy fellow.

You're serious Mike!... Well then, I'm not going to reply at all to you again then!  ;)
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 25, 2008, 12:36:47 AM
Tyrone Team v Westmeath Named
24 Jul 2008

GAA All Ireland Football Qualifiers Rd 2
Tyrone Senior Football Team v Westmeath

1. John Devine   Aireagal Chiaráin
2. Ryan McMenamin   An Droim Mhór
3. Justin McMahon   An Omaigh
4. P J Quinn   Baile na Móna
5. Davy Harte   Aireagal Chiaráin
6. Conor Gormley   An Charraig Mhór
7. Philip Jordan   An Mhaigh
8. Ryan Mellon   An Mhaigh
9. Enda McGinley   Aireagal Chiaráin
10. Brian Dooher   Clann na nGael
11. Brian McGuigan   Ard Bó
12. Tommy McGuigan   Ard Bó
13. Martin Penrose   Achadh Uí Aráin
14. Sean Cavanagh   An Mhaigh
15. Colm McCullagh   An Droim Mhór

16. Pascal McConnell  An Baile Nua
17. Dermot Carlin   Coill an Chlochair
18. Colm Cavanagh   An Mhaigh
19. Peter Donnelly   Oilean a'Ghuail
20. Niall Gormley   Trí Leac
21. Ciarán Gourley   An Charraig
22. Colin Holmes   Na Clairsigh
23. Kevin Hughes   Cill Íseal
24. Cathal McCarron   An Droim Mhór
25. Damian McCaul   Domhnach Mór
26. Michael McGee   Loch Mhic Ruairí
27. Joseph McMahon   An Omaigh
28. Raymond Mulgrew   An Chorra Chriochach
29. Owen Mulligan   An Chorra Chríochach
30. Shaun O'Neill   An Droim Mhór
31. Paul Quinn   Aireagal Chiaráin
32. Jonathan Curran   Oilean a'Ghuail
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 12:40:57 AM
That's a strong panel, very strong.
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2008, 12:45:50 AM
Is it really, Fear? To us perhaps because they're household names in Tyrone. But, apart from a fit Mugsy, who's going to come on and perhaps change the pattern of a game?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 12:57:31 AM
Yes ONeill, and I know there are a few who won't change the pattern as individuals, but surely there are more than a handful of the subs who could justifiably claim a starting place if they were at the top of their respective games? And we're not all about individual efforts.

Put it another way, how many counties have a stronger reserve 17?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 25, 2008, 01:06:12 AM

Sure it's a strong reserve 17 Fear but they're only as good as the calls being made (in a timely manner)
to draft them if any of the starting 15 are struggling.. :-\
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2008, 01:26:51 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 12:57:31 AM
Yes ONeill, and I know there are a few who won't change the pattern as individuals, but surely there are more than a handful of the subs who could justifiably claim a starting place if they were at the top of their respective games? And we're not all about individual efforts.

To change the pattern of a game is not about individual effort. It's bringing something to the table that offers Harte an alternative tactic.

Ok, ignore the goalies. Carlin (17) - yes he can offer a running game from HB if one of the three is underpar. I've seen nothing from 18-20, 24, 25, 30, 31 that excites me or offers something different to what we have in abundance. 21 and 26 could possibly curb someone who's giving our defence a runaround. 22, 23 and 27 ....well possibly an extra presence around the middle if we're losing clean ball. Mulgrew - an alternative to Tommy.

It's more than likely that as an attacking force we might need options. Mugsy (unfit apparently or would be starting), Mulgrew (prober), Gormley (any better than McCullagh/Penrose?), O'Neill (?), Colm Cavanagh (still waiting) are our options.
Post by: AN other on July 25, 2008, 08:29:23 AM
Flanagan, Buddah and David Glennon in for Westmeath. Just speculating, but I'd imagine the two Bannon's and Simon Quinn are the three to loose out. I wouldn't be expecting much more than 35 minutes  from Flanagan, if Duffy could give us another 35 we should do okay in the middle if both play well. They haven't played in a good few weeks now though, I'd expect some rustiness and lack of match sharpness/fitness. Based on last weeks performance I'd expect to see Gary Dolan in midfield at some stage. I'd like to think we could call on Wilson too. G Dolan, Wilson, Duffy and the two Bannon's have plenty of game time and should be able to make a contribution if called on.
I think David Glennon deserves his chance although it is a bit of a baptism of fire, would be great to see him grab the chance with both arms though, I think he has the ability. Expect to see alot more laying off of the ball from Dennis, with the brother alongside him! It looks as though Dolan will be out around half forward again, don't strictly agree with this, but he makes one hell of a contribution around there.
If Buddah isn't playing well 15-20 minutes in, Tomás needs to pull him, simple as...and if he's anywhere near the full forward line at any stage Tomás should be shot!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 25, 2008, 10:20:31 AM
Flanagan back for Westmeath
25 July 2008

Martin Flanagan makes a dramatic return to the Westmeath team for Saturday's All-Ireland football qualifier against Tyrone in Omagh.

A late cameo role against Dublin apart, the Tyrrellspass clubman has been sidelined since injuring his knee in the Leinster SFC quarter-final win over Offaly early last month. He sat out last Saturday's qualifier win over Tipperary, but has been restored to the engine room in place of Paul Bannon for the televised showdown at Healy Park.

Westmeath manager Tomas O Flatharta has made also made two alterations to his attack which see David Glennon and Alan Mangan coming in for Dermot Bannon and Simon Quinn. Dessie Dolan switches from the right corner to the right wing, while injuries ruled David Duffy and Fergal Wilson out of consideration for starting places.

Westmeath (SFC v Tyrone): G. Connaughton; F. Boyle, K. Gavin, J. Keane; M. Ennis, D. Heavin, D. Healy; D. O'Donoghue, M. Flanagan; D. Dolan, J. Smyth, D. Harte; David Glennon, Denis Glennon, A. Mangan.

Surprised to see Flan back starting so soon, you'd wonder what the thinking behind that is considering he didn't play at all last week, hopefully he's lost none of his edge but it's a big ask. 1-8 picked themselves and thankfully Harte has recovered from last week, again lets hope he's fit. Disappointed but not surprised that Willo and Duffy haven't made it, hopefully there's some game time in them both as they could be needed to push us over the line. Big call to start David Glennon as well as hasn't had much game time this year, will tomorrow be the day he finally puts in a performance in a Westmeath jersey??? Want to see Budda playing further out the field than Dessie as we need Dessie right in front of the inside forwards, big pressure on Budda to deliver...

Gavin has another huge ask ahead of him tomorrow, Cavanagh (if he stays in there) will have the height over him so he'll have to break any high balls that come in and make absolutely certain that Cavanagh doesn't round him if he gets the ball. Tyrone have a very strong bench so no matter if a big name goes off we'll still have to redouble our efforts. Backs have been playing well but would expect to see a little bit more from Heals and Boyle as they've been quieter than usual the last couple of games.

An Iarmhí Abú
Post by: Fuzzman on July 25, 2008, 11:00:02 AM
Does anyone else think we haven't been hitting enough ball into Sean at FF

Teams haven't been double marking him as yet but I think we could see a sweeper in front of him on Saturday as Westmeath will try to strangle the game I think.
Or will they change their tactics as we are now expecting that.

Last week in the 1st 20 mins there was loads of stray passes hit aimlessly into the corners and over the end line
Surely we could play like we did in the 1st 20 mins in Omagh v Down where we target Sean with good high ball with McCullagh running onto him and maybe Penrose behind him

Yeah our main forwards on the bench are Mugsy, Colm Cav & Mulgrew who in fairness would all very close to starting anyway

Ye are all saying Tommy is better in HF line but how would he fair in FF line alongside Sean and a fully fit Mugsy

How would this Forward line look

Mellon
McGinley
Dooher
Brian
Mulgrew/Colm
Mugsy
Sean
Tommy

To me that would be my strongest 8-15 with maybe even Joey to play at 8 if Mellon wasn't cutting it but he is at the minute

I hope to God Mickey stops being so loyal to Hub as he's got so many chances now and hasn't really shone once in my eyes
Post by: Hereiam on July 25, 2008, 12:50:12 PM
Will it be possible to watch this game in Liverpool. Is anywhere showing it.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on July 25, 2008, 02:10:14 PM
Good to see Flano back. Hope he has a fine game at Midfeild. Type of player who performs well on the big stage.

Wilson will be a Big loss.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 25, 2008, 03:42:45 PM
QuoteWill it be possible to watch this game in Liverpool. Is anywhere showing it.

Any pub with Sky will have TV3
Post by: Maroon Heaven on July 25, 2008, 04:08:38 PM
Fecking Crazy that I will not get to see match in Belfast.

No TV3, Setanta not showing it from their listing.

Just have to listen to the best of them on the Radio
Post by: Maroon Heaven on July 25, 2008, 06:33:43 PM
Sons 4th birthday party or I would be down in the Bot
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 09:32:59 PM
Not surprised that Flanagan has been named in the starting line-up for Westmeath, but will be mildly surprised if he actually starts. Seems more like a rallying cry to the faithful at this juncture - can't see how he'd possibly be fit enough to start a match at this stage of the up-and-at-'em.
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2008, 10:36:14 PM
6am this morning. Woke in a cold sweat. Westmeath 2-5 Tyrone 0-4 with 3 mins left. Ricey had just been sent off.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 11:16:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 25, 2008, 10:36:14 PM
6am this morning. Woke in a cold sweat. Westmeath 2-5 Tyrone 0-4 with 3 mins left. Ricey had just been sent off.

The Lakers are too afraid to acknowledge such a possibility, and we're too afraid to even contemplate it.

If it's the sort of game that Ricey's going to walk in, I'd expect it to be much sooner, and that would be a bad state of affairs for ourselves, in that if it had actually degenerated into such a dogfight. Don't expect it, but do expect it to be a tight affair. Westmeath were brutal against Tipp last week -- didn't score until the 21st minute; they know if that's repeated tomorrow it's game (and Championship) over for them.
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2008, 11:36:09 PM
Who walks will depend totally on the ref and how he interprets the rules - give me a Jimmy White who last week just let it go and we had a great game.
Post by: Zapatista on July 26, 2008, 08:05:04 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2008, 11:16:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 25, 2008, 10:36:14 PM

The Lakers are too afraid to acknowledge such a possibility, and we're too afraid to even contemplate it.

If it's the sort of game that Ricey's going to walk in, I'd expect it to be much sooner, and that would be a bad state of affairs for ourselves, in that if it had actually degenerated into such a dogfight. Don't expect it, but do expect it to be a tight affair. Westmeath were brutal against Tipp last week -- didn't score until the 21st minute; they know if that's repeated tomorrow it's game (and Championship) over for them.

Why would Ricey walk Fear? He dosn't have a history of it. In fact Hart would pull before there was an chance of it.

Don't forget Tyrone lost the second half to Louth. Can't see something like that happening again espeacially at home but it is worth remembering.
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 11:06:57 AM
Good luck today all in Tyrone, I like to see all the Ulster teams doin well and I'll be cheerin you on, I ecpect you to do it with 4 or 5 to spare, tougher test than last week but home advantage should be a major factor.  There will be no repeat of the 2nd half performance against us in Omagh.  Just imagine Tyrone v Kerry next week as a reward for beating westmeath, catch them cold and kerry out before the quarters for the first time since their inception!   Hope we can beat laois and then draw wexfors and we'll maybe get a championship match in croke aprk for the first time since 1994!   Good luck anyway
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 11:14:31 AM
Just read that post back...im not dyslexic just typing errors ;D
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2008, 12:01:39 PM
Was thinking about that today - today is a big IF but if we managed to squeeze past WestMeath by any means at all, I'd love to draw the Kingdom. Feck Wexford. Let us destroy Kerry for a decade like we did in 1986.

But, it could be tears tonight.
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 12:41:06 PM
O'Neill - I think you are right. There would be no better time to get the kingdom....

However, I hope the boys arent looking past their marker.

Very excited this game is on setanta. So excited that I got up at 2am just to make sure I didnt miss it. Hope I dont fall asleep in the interim.
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 02:26:28 PM
Kevin Hughes injured. Looks like a great day in omagh.

Last Chance saloon!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 26, 2008, 02:27:51 PM
Tyrone by 5 :-\
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2008, 03:34:01 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 12:41:06 PM
O'Neill - I think you are right. There would be no better time to get the kingdom....

However, I hope the boys arent looking past their marker.

Very excited this game is on setanta. So excited that I got up at 2am just to make sure I didnt miss it. Hope I dont fall asleep in the interim.

Throw in was 7am pacific time! :D
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:35:33 PM
Watchin tyrone match in work here, cavanagh fell really hard there hope he's ok and nopt badly injured but hes definitely out for rest of this match..huge blow to tyrone!
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2008, 03:36:14 PM
Fcuk that was an awful fall. Hope Kavanagh is just shook up and not badly hurt.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2008, 03:37:17 PM
God I hope he's alright. Horrible fall.
Post by: offtheground on July 26, 2008, 03:39:13 PM
Where are you watching it D4S??
Would ye post a link?
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:40:26 PM
It's on TV3 do you not have it?
Post by: offtheground on July 26, 2008, 03:42:30 PM
no TV3 coverage here  :-\
Post by: offtheground on July 26, 2008, 03:43:19 PM
big second half needed from TY. I'd love to hear what the beard is saying to them now.
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:44:58 PM
No can do, checked on rte and tv3 websites so option for live link for the match.  Tyrone looked in control in the opening 20 but didnt really show it so much on the scoreboard.  WestMeath came more into it and then got the killer goal and the same time cavanagh got injured.  Was a heavy fall on his head, game stopped for 5minutes or so and he was stretchered off to a standing ovation and applause, hopefully it won't keep him out of the game for too long he's an outstanding footballer!
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 03:46:07 PM
  Armagh man refereeing it.....WTF, some very soft calls against McMahon early on
 we've it all to do in the 2nd half :-\
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 26, 2008, 03:47:26 PM
W'meath much more economical  - doing the simple things better. Tyrone need to create more space and take scores when they are on rather than getting into heavy trafific and losing the ball or trying for scores under pressure. If Tyrone can get back on terms fairly quckly they can win but I would not rule out W'meath snatching another goal. Not sure either team would trouble Kerry on what we have seen so far.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 26, 2008, 03:52:33 PM
Up against it now and no Sean Cavanagh, not the best situation :-\
Need a big first ten!
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 03:54:19 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 03:46:07 PM
 Armagh man refereeing it.....WTF, some very soft calls against McMahon early on
 we've it all to do in the 2nd half :-\

3 free points for westmeath to be fair. All to do in the second half.

hope sean is ok.  :'(

make that 4. ::)
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:56:21 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 26, 2008, 03:47:26 PM
Not sure either team would trouble Kerry on what we have seen so far.

I'd say even if tyrone were to scrape through by a point they would definitely trouble kerry more even from a psychological point of view.  Thought mulgrew and tommy mcguigan looked really impressive in the opening 20.  Need a huge half from tyrone to win, but if cavanagh out for next weeks game and they do happen to draw kerry it would be too much for them!
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:58:28 PM
News on sean cavanagh is that it's his shoulder and arm and not his neck which is a good sign!
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2008, 03:59:24 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:56:21 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 26, 2008, 03:47:26 PM
Not sure either team would trouble Kerry on what we have seen so far.

I'd say even if tyrone were to scrape through by a point they would definitely trouble kerry more even from a psychological point of view.  Thought mulgrew and tommy mcguigan looked really impressive in the opening 20.  Need a huge half from tyrone to win, but if cavanagh out for next weeks game and they do happen to draw kerry it would be too much for them!

He's not playing.
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 04:02:27 PM
Was it penrose then? I thought he was mulgrew im in work cant really hear the commentary black haired fella?
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2008, 04:04:42 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 26, 2008, 03:58:28 PM
News on sean cavanagh is that it's his shoulder and arm and not his neck which is a good sign!

I wouldn't be surprised if he did his collar bone.
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2008, 04:08:02 PM
A lot of space opening up for Tyrone now - Flanagan doesn't look like he's match fit - he certainly isn't mobile
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2008, 04:09:35 PM
Denis Glennon is the Cristano Ronaldo of gaelic football.
Post by: dodo on July 26, 2008, 04:13:31 PM
Penrose booked for a petulant tackle........could've been a red if ref had spotted his kick out in the first half after the McCullogh goal chance.
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2008, 04:14:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2008, 04:09:35 PM
Denis Glennon is the Cristano Ronaldo of gaelic football.

That last one looked a free to me at first glance.
Post by: dodo on July 26, 2008, 04:15:25 PM
Dooher is a disgrace !
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 04:15:55 PM
Them 2 boys just wrecked any chance for westmeath surely there can only be a tyrone win now with westmeath down to 13men!
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2008, 04:16:08 PM
I was just going to post before the two red cards that Westmeath were losing their discipline...

Dooher deserves an oscar for clutching his face after getting a slap in the stomach..
Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2008, 04:16:15 PM
QuoteDenis Glennon is the Cristano Ronaldo of gaelic football.

Dooher has surpassed him.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2008, 04:16:20 PM
Brian Dooher is the Denis Glennon of Tyrone football!
Post by: The Gs Man on July 26, 2008, 04:21:04 PM
That Dooher fella needs shot with a ball of his own shite.  Disgraceful antics from the Tyrone captain.
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 04:24:19 PM
He can kick a fair point though. No need for the rolling around. Bad day for the cavanaghs.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 26, 2008, 04:24:48 PM
Great point by Dooher though. and a great reply from Glennon.  Tyrone making heavy weather of thiis and no shape to forwards. They may scrape home but not impressive
Post by: D4S on July 26, 2008, 04:27:32 PM
Tyrone look really average I'd be worried if they win today they could struggle next week against mayo, kerry or armagh/fermanagh.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 04:27:50 PM
The ref is a disgrace to the GAA. First 50mins was as bias a performance against a team as i ever seen. He favoured westmeath in everything giving crazy decisions to glennon.
Then he goes and sends off healy for at most yellow card. The other incident wouldnt of happened.

Moral of the story that ref shouldnt be let ref a game ever again. And remember im a neutral.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 26, 2008, 04:32:37 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 26, 2008, 04:27:32 PM
Tyrone look really average I'd be worried if they win today they could struggle next week against mayo, kerry or armagh/fermanagh.

Agree- very little shapr to the team and very poor shot selection, reallyaimless wides.

As for ref thought he was OK in the ifrst half though was conned a couple of times by Gleenon. Healy's sending off was crazy and of course led to the second.  Since then he does not seem to know what he is doing.
Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2008, 04:32:50 PM
Christ almighty, Dessie Dolan would drive you mad. Gets some great scores and is a great player. But when a match-winning score presents itself he makes a balls of it
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 04:37:03 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 04:27:50 PM
The ref is a disgrace to the GAA. First 50mins was as bias a performance against a team as i ever seen. He favoured westmeath in everything giving crazy decisions to glennon.
Then he goes and sends off healy for at most yellow card. The other incident wouldnt of happened.

Moral of the story that ref shouldnt be let ref a game ever again. And remember im a neutral.

had to go - already hads a yellow.
Post by: joemamas on July 26, 2008, 04:37:35 PM
had tyrone -3, nothing like a bit on stress on a sat afternoon.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 26, 2008, 04:38:40 PM
Quotehad to go - already hads a yellow

Seemed to show him a straight red. It was a yellow card and also a stupid foul.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 26, 2008, 04:41:45 PM
radio commentary I was listening to said it was a second yellow
Post by: corn02 on July 26, 2008, 04:45:31 PM
It was a straight red I think.

If you want to see how good that ref is just read the Armagh thread for thye last year.

Some of the frees given against Tyrone in the first half hour were incredible. I joked before   hand that he wouldn't give Tyrone much and in the first half he took it to the extreme.

Second half he gave two very soft red cards to Westmeath. Second one was porbably ok but it was hardly a dig in the gob. Dooher was a bit of a spoon on it.

Tyrone's shooting was terrible, McGuigan and McGinley excluded.

Was it just me or us every match on TV3 depressing?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 04:47:43 PM
  No I didn't see the yellow either, he just seemed to show the red.
A win is a win but Sean will be massive loss going into next week, the games
don't get any easier from here on :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 04:48:48 PM
QuoteIf you want to see how good that ref is just read the Armagh thread for thye last year.

And, imo, he's one of the better ones in Armagh (probably in the top 3).

Still think he was within his rights to abandon the St.Pats game.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 04:50:45 PM

I see the Mayo contingent here seem to be a tad perplexed over this result,
hoping to catch a handy one for next week perhaps ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2008, 05:06:55 PM
The ref handled that game like he was looking over his shoulder the whole time. That's the inevitable fall-out from the Collie Moran thing.
Post by: dodo on July 26, 2008, 05:16:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 04:50:45 PM

I see the Mayo contingent here seem to be a tad perplexed over this result,
hoping to catch a handy one for next week perhaps ;)

Sure we can do with all the handy matches we can get at this stage. Tyrone will be looking for a gimme in the draw like Mayo !
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 05:17:14 PM
poor game, ref was poor as well. armagh ref for a tyrone game? hope the cavanaghs are ok. Sean would pretty much derail tyrone's hopes if he's absent. tyrone have never replaced stephen o neill and without him i think thier goose is cooked.
Post by: corn02 on July 26, 2008, 05:27:37 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2008, 04:48:48 PM
QuoteIf you want to see how good that ref is just read the Armagh thread for thye last year.

And, imo, he's one of the better ones in Armagh (probably in the top 3).

You would be on your own there so!
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 05:46:01 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2008, 04:27:50 PM

One of the worst refereeing displays of all time !!!

Should never get another championship game - a reserve referee on a good day.

And what about that decision by the umpire to give a 45 just after half time ???  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 05:48:25 PM
the sending offs were the only thing he got right. that 45 was a disgrace though, can only assume the umpire was from armagh.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 26, 2008, 05:49:22 PM
Tommy McGuigan i thought was superb today and Brian was pretty decent in the first half as well. The red cards were jusified - first was 2 yellows i think and in the second one you cant go punching people in the stomach so he had to go. Dont believe Dooher went down easily as some people are suggesting on here. Dont see the same uproar about Roper anywhere on the board about how he rolled around on the floor like he was shot in the Donegal-Monaghan match when he was barely touched.

Wouldnt mind whoever we get in the next round now to be honest.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 05:52:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 05:48:25 PM
the sending offs were the only thing he got right. that 45 was a disgrace though, can only assume the umpire was from armagh.

What was the first Westmeath player sent off for ? Can anybody shed some light on it ?

Westmeath were going well and the sendings off simply turned the game in Tyrone's favour - Tyrone never looked troubled after the sendings off. Dooher had a horse of a game but Tommy did the damage on the scoreboard and therefore was MOM - PJ was in all sorts of trouble with Glennon - PJ's cause wasn't helped by the referee who gave Westmeath everything that was going up intil the sendings off. Justin did a great job on him - Ricey was excellent - back to his best.
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 05:56:25 PM
westmeath were never at any stage going to win that game. they simply don't score enough, they got at least 5 frees that no other ref would have given and a goal from wing back out of 1-7. outstanding defence but not enough up front. healy got done for 2 yellows and the 2nd one was definitely a yellow. if they could get 2 more forwards they could be a force. but without them they'll always be short.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 05:58:41 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 05:56:25 PM
westmeath were never at any stage going to win that game. they simply don't score enough, they got at least 5 frees that no other ref would have given and a goal from wing back out of 1-7. outstanding defence but not enough up front. healy got done for 2 yellows and the 2nd one was definitely a yellow. if they could get 2 more forwards they could be a force. but without them they'll always be short.

I'd love to see the referees assessment - I'd sat Fr. Gardiner would reckon he had a great game !
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 06:01:36 PM
Referee scored 0-5 and the umpire chipped in with a 50 !  ;) ;) :D :D :D
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 06:19:59 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on July 26, 2008, 05:57:50 PM
No worries on the Cavanagh front, that referee was a disgrace to the GAA, Ive never seen a crowd as riled up by an inept refereeing display as today, one rule for the Westmeath players and one for Tyrone. Im glad we managed to get through this one as it was looking a bit scary for a while, Davy Harte lost some amount of ball today - dont know how he managed to stay on the field. As for the 2 sending offs the first one was definitely for 2 yellows, I didnt see the second one but if he struck he deserved a straight red.

What's the latest?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 26, 2008, 06:36:01 PM
re run of game on  justin tv station gaa live!

http://www.justin.tv/nern (http://www.justin.tv/nern)
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 06:37:12 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on July 26, 2008, 06:32:25 PM
Sean hurt his shoulder and head but neck is OK, went to hospital but was back to Healy Park shortly afterwards, Colm dislocated his shoulder but back in place again.

Great news altogether..... :)
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 06:44:21 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on July 26, 2008, 06:32:25 PM
Sean hurt his shoulder and head but neck is OK, went to hospital but was back to Healy Park shortly afterwards, Colm dislocated his shoulder but back in place again.

Dislocated shoulder after a follow through on Colm Cavanagh = FREE OUT  ;) :D :D ;D ;D ;D ;D

What a clown !
Post by: Minder on July 26, 2008, 07:54:20 PM
Dooher should be embarrassed when he sees the footage of his reaction to getting a dig in the guts from the westmeath player,he deserved to go but Dooher ensured he did.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 07:56:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 26, 2008, 07:54:20 PM
Dooher should be embarrassed when he sees the footage of his reaction to getting a dig in the guts from the westmeath player,he deserved to go but Dooher ensured he did.

The player who took a silly dig at Dooher made sure he walked - why didn't he hit Dooher a good slap and get sent off for something decent ?
Post by: CoDeo2 on July 26, 2008, 07:59:13 PM
The second yellow was for a high tackle, caught dooher round the neck!! Didn't see it at the time but seen the highlights after the donegal game when i got home!!! The second one was in front of the ref, you cant lift you hand to someone. end off!! Dooher got through a lot of work today, got one of his trademark points too!!

That 45 was a weird one, there didnt look to be a man close enough to even get a touch on the ball!!

The ref hadnt a clue, he lost control at one stage on the second half!! Gave a free for Tyrone but was pointing the wrong way etc! Was a joke!!

I though mcginlay played really well today, Tyrone won alot in midfield which is alway good to see!!!
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 08:01:38 PM
 It honestly looked to me like a strategically placed dig to the solar plexus
and if any of ye have been on the receiving end of that may think differently.
Lets face it, if you were going to try to take the sails out of any Tyrone player
who would that be.? .....just a thought
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 08:06:45 PM
tyrone were the better team and deserved to win but there are still a lot of things to work on for the next game. i firmly believe theres at least one big game performance in this tyrone team and i've a feeling we could see it next weekend against Kerry?
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:21:05 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 08:06:45 PM
tyrone were the better team and deserved to win but there are still a lot of things to work on for the next game. i firmly believe theres at least one big game performance in this tyrone team and i've a feeling we could see it next weekend against Kerry?

Wouldn't like to see Kerry - Kerry would be the toughest possible opposition.
Post by: Minder on July 26, 2008, 08:26:40 PM
if it was a dig to the solar plexus why did he go down clutching his face ?
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 08:30:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:21:05 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 26, 2008, 08:06:45 PM

Wouldn't like to see Kerry - Kerry would be the toughest possible opposition.

yeah but they might be more vulnerable in the next round than in a possible semi or final.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:36:49 PM
I think Kerry will comprehensively beat whoever they play next weekend and that would include Tyrone.
Post by: CoDeo2 on July 26, 2008, 08:40:43 PM
He went down clutching his stomach and then put one hand on his head ffs!! Didn't look like he was holding his head at all!!
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 08:42:07 PM
 Jaysus you're just a conveyor belt of it, Colm Cavanagh was holding his face as was Sean when down with their shoulder injuries,
natural reaction in many cases.... No? but then you'd have to remove the blinkers or the tinted glasses to admit such things.
Which great County are you from again? ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 08:52:13 PM
Any updates on Sean and Colm ?

Sean would be a big miss - Colm less so.

Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2008, 09:01:19 PM
Tommy McGuigan and Enda McGinely really starred today. Tommy seems to have talent in abundance - but does anyone else think he appears to just saunter through games? Maybe thats just the measure of his talent that he rarely looks like he is busting a gut. That point over his left shoulder in the first half was superb.

Davy lost a bit of ball today, Ricey was everywhere - even before the sendings off. Had we lost that game today I might have had a stab at re-writing the rule book myself. PJ Quinn was comfortable on the ball - but a better full forward line might have caused us trouble today.

O'Neill said before the game that Kerry would be a good draw - and im inclined to agree - but not without Sean Mor.

Heard rumblings of Stephen O'Neill in dialogue with Mickey Harte - anyone hear anything more substantial than this?
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 09:04:45 PM
i think tyrone should hope for wexford based on today. kerry and mayo would take them on current form. fermanagh/armagh probably would as well. stephen O Neill simply hasn't been replaced and with mulligan and mulgrew on the bench, hard to see them doing anything.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 09:06:06 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 09:04:45 PM
i think tyrone should hope for wexford based on today. kerry and mayo would take them on current form. fermanagh/armagh probably would as well. stephen O Neill simply hasn't been replaced and with mulligan and mulgrew on the bench, hard to see them doing anything.

I think Tyrone could compete with Wexford, Mayo and losers of tomorrow's game. Kerry would be a bridge too far.
Post by: full back on July 26, 2008, 09:10:17 PM
Good result for the Tyronies & although their shot selection was sh1t I cant see them doing the same next day out.
Sean Cav was having a superb game until his injury & it would be a major worry if he is missing.
A few handy frees kept W/Meath in the game in the first half, with the Tyrone fullback line having every right to feel agrieved.
Gormley had a steady enough game.
Mc Ginley had a great second half.
Ricey was at his usual sh1t on a few occasions - think it was Smith that was down on the ground in the 1st half and he kicked at him (now there was no power in it at all & it may not have touched him) but why is he still at this oul sh1te. He also put the knee into a player in the 2nd half ::)
T Mc Guigan had some super scores (why didnt he start against Down? )
ONeill & Mulligan would help the forwards out no end
Post by: time ticking away on July 26, 2008, 09:27:55 PM
I think today was a good day for Tyrone

Justy showed he may be an excellent full back

Ricey and Conor Gormley gave their best displays of the year so far

Midfield showed they can compete {although Westmeath weren't great in midfield)

and Brian Mc Guigan is definately getting there.

We need ball winners in the full forward line though.

I would love to get Kerry but maybe next week might just be too soon
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 09:41:15 PM
i think the 4th sunday in september would be too soon, if mickey harte pulls this off he should be canonised, can't see them winning sam.
Post by: time ticking away on July 26, 2008, 09:43:42 PM
you could be right but i think we have a decent outside chance
Post by: dodo on July 26, 2008, 09:44:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 26, 2008, 07:54:20 PM

Wonder how he would react to a kick from a bullock at work ? !!
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2008, 10:06:15 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 09:41:15 PM
i think the 4th sunday in september would be too soon, if mickey harte pulls this off he should be canonised, can't see them winning sam.

I not so sure Kerry instill the same fear without Galvin and O'Sullivan, D O'Shea doesn't seem to have
70 mins in him at this level either, the one test they had in heated battle this year against Cork.. well we saw
what happened, Pat O'Shea hasn't impressed either.
With those two missing it might just bring them down to everyone else's level imo.
Bring them on :P
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 10:14:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2008, 09:41:15 PM

One game at a time ! But Tyrone won't go far with this team. Simply not good enough. Hope they get a good run but can't see them getting to the final stages.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 26, 2008, 11:41:39 PM
QuoteOne game at a time ! But Tyrone won't go far with this team. Simply not good enough. Hope they get a good run but can't see them getting to the final stages.

Ach sure we spanked all the big asses and won Sam in '05 with a similar makeshift team........breakin records along the way.....even with the referees agin us....
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2008, 11:49:01 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 26, 2008, 11:41:39 PM
QuoteOne game at a time ! But Tyrone won't go far with this team. Simply not good enough. Hope they get a good run but can't see them getting to the final stages.

Ach sure we spanked all the big asses and won Sam in '05 with a similar makeshift team........breakin records along the way.....even with the referees agin us....

At this stage we had lost the Ulster final replay, stolen from us by Michael Collins, Cork but most fans knew that we'd be around in August and September and so it proved.

2008 is entirely different - the team has no Stephen O'Neill, Canavan etc etc - a lot of players have lost form and time is running out.
Post by: tyroneman on July 27, 2008, 02:12:11 AM
Re Stephen O'Neill - story doing the rounds is that Mickey (allegedley) went to the school in Gortin where SON teaches to speak to him and got very short shrift indeed.

SON will not be back this year by alll accounts.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 27, 2008, 06:04:41 AM
...a lot of cocky comments about meeting us in the next round.........I see through the false bravado lads. Ye are shitting ye'reselves.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 27, 2008, 06:15:55 AM
oh, and I never again want to be lectured about Kerry fans by Tyrone folk.  An attendance of 7700 for a home , do-or-die, game is a disgrace. The place looked empty and most of the cheering seemed to come from Westmeath fans.  Have Tyrone fans got so complacent after 2 AI that they wont travel 30 miles down the road to support the team ?
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2008, 08:35:46 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 27, 2008, 06:04:41 AM
...a lot of cocky comments about meeting us in the next round.........I see through the false bravado lads. Ye are shitting ye'reselves.

We already have !  >:( >:(
Post by: full back on July 27, 2008, 08:53:06 AM
Was thinking that myself ms.
The attendance yesterday was ridiculous - slightly embarassing in fact....
Imagine if Kerry were to draw Tyrone? Would we even get 5000 at it???
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 27, 2008, 10:56:01 AM
Not sure if its neutral venue or not. If it was in Killarney then I'd say you'd get a good crowd as all the Tyrone people would flock to the most beautiful county in Ireland whereas if its in Omagh (christ..it even sounds depressing..) then the crowd will probably be low. We wouldnt be seen dead in the place and, as evidenced by todays crowd, the Tyrone wans wouldnt be seen dead there either.
Post by: redcard on July 27, 2008, 11:58:23 AM
(http://www.tyronegaa.ie/image?tn=Block&key=blockID&colname=blkContents&keyval=1726)
(http://www.tyronegaa.ie/image?tn=Block&key=blockID&colname=blkContents&keyval=1741)

Big seans fall captured by Jim Dunne. There looked to be far more than 7500 at the match.
Post by: bridgegael on July 27, 2008, 12:03:06 PM
any word on how cavanagh is??
Post by: phpearse on July 27, 2008, 12:04:15 PM
Thought there was a lot more at that game last night that 7700. The stand had 2 completely empty sections, a silly decision to make the stand all ticket but the steps were packed. Given that Omagh's capacity is 25000, I would say 7,000 for the stand and 19,000 for the rest of the ground - last night's attendance would have had about 5,000 in the stand and 10,000 on the steps, so a figure of 15,000 would have been more realistic. Given that when you paid into the steps there was NO ticket given out, there could be a bit of understating of the crowd for revenue purposes!!
Post by: ONeill on July 27, 2008, 12:08:24 PM
Like last week, unconvincing, but a win's a win. Tommy's in the form of his life a the minute and is helping to ease the scoring burden in O'Neill's absence. Dooher's an amazing athlete and bombed over a couple of specials too. Sean's injury was unfortunate. Although he was playing well, Westmeath were keeping him out of range. The fact that he got injured whilst competing for a ball at corner back speaks volumes for his unsettled role in the team at the minute. With Mellon and McGinley performing well around the middle it looks like Sean is in for a an extended stay elsewhere. Mellon, again, caught a few humdingers - have we seen such fielding in a Tyrone midfield since Plunkett and Harry?

What to do with Davy Crockett? Scored a fine point, missed a sitter, bombed forward at the right times, but, but, the turnovers are costing us. It's a tough call for Mickey. I'd hold out on him. He still gets through a lot of positive work. Justin had the odd hairy moment but did well on a very dangerous man. Ricey was buzzing again and Quinn had mostly a good day. Gormley is also improving and put in a couple of good hits. Brian wasn't as involved as against Louth but was linking well with Sean when Cavanagh was at FF. He's forming a decent partnership with the brother too. McCullagh and Penrose didn't offer enough after the first 10 minutes, although Tommy seemed to be prepared to go it alone.

A word on the officiating - the marginal calls seemed to go against us early on and the more the crowd and players complained, the worse it seemed to get. However, after the crazy 45 decision (absolute bonkers) we started to get those calls in our favour. The ref had a bad, bad day at the office. I don't think he was biased - he simply lost the run of himself and the game early on and seemed to be reacting to the crowd. A bad advert for young referees.
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 27, 2008, 12:08:59 PM
So that's it. Couple of things about yesterday.

Very disappointing to have got such a tough away draw in the first place. 5 matches played in the championship this year and all away if you count the Dublin match. Worst of all no kudos gained with respect to the qualifiers by having won two championship matches ---- we were in the pot with those we beat ( Kerry, on the other hand, get into the last round of the qualifiers as a reward for beating Clare)

Westmeath have shown that they are competitive generally and I suppose have the consolation of promotion to a 'real' Div.1 and those Div 2 medals as a consolation.

The choice of an Armagh man to referee was a bit odd. It clearly enraged the crowd and was an unnecessary added factor in an already tense game. The level of abuse doled out to him in the first half was huge and I am sure from looking at his demeanor that he was under pressure. Certainly his umpires and linesmen were and they received multiple threats of grievous harm that I heard. After the 45 incident two bottles were thrown at the umpire involved and you could see he was greatly unnerved. When the referee made the error about which way the free was going we heard the biggest shout of the day.

Glennon got a couple of handy frees in the first half which surprised even him. He has a habit of turning very fast on his man and as a tall man often slips. These frees drove the crowd mad and we were lucky to get them. The switch Tyrone made on him greatly reduced his input.

frees had a big part to play in our defeat. Firstly quickly taken frees led to direct possession reversal on two occasions and Tyrone scores. these were calamitous when they occurred and must have seriously damaged morale. Secondly the close in free Denis Glennon missed in the second half was unfathomable. His address of the ball and orientation was unsuitable for such a tap over and it was very costly. It came at a time when they were under severe pressure and their early second half lead had been reversed.
The dismissals occurred soon afterwards . Brian Dooher is a great man to have when the game reaches a turning point. Westmeath fell for it hook, line and sinker.
The change from 15 to 13 was not as catastrophic as it should have been and at times I was counting Westmeath fellas to make sure that two had actually been sent off. Tyrone should have romped home but didn't and then.....Dessie, Dessie ,Dessie.

The general assertion that Westmeath are fine defensively, competent in midfield but need one or two more effective attackers was shown to be the case again. paradoxically  this problem might ease a bit as Dessie declines.

Feck it anyway........
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2008, 12:16:04 PM

The choice of an Armagh man to referee was a bit odd. It clearly enraged the crowd and was an unnecessary added factor in an already tense game. The level of abuse doled out to him in the first half was huge and I am sure from looking at his demeanor that he was under pressure. Certainly his umpires and linesmen were and they received multiple threats of grievous harm that I heard. After the 45 incident two bottles were thrown at the umpire involved and you could see he was greatly unnerved. When the referee made the error about which way the free was going we heard the biggest shout of the day.

That's shocking.  Completely out of order.
Post by: passedit on July 27, 2008, 12:29:57 PM
QuoteVery disappointing to have got such a tough away draw in the first place. 5 matches played in the championship this year and all away if you count the Dublin match. Worst of all no kudos gained with respect to the qualifiers by having won two championship matches ---- we were in the pot with those we beat ( Kerry, on the other hand, get into the last round of the qualifiers as a reward for beating Clare)

It's ironic that the qualifiers which were introduced alledgedly to aid the weaker counties actually skews things even further in favour of the stronger. The fact that the strongest county has the easiest route says all that is wrong about this system and the retention of the provincial championships.

If the provincial system must be retained (I think it should be scrapped myself) then the qualifiers should only be open to those counties who lose their first game out, after that its knockout for everyone with the last two standing in the qualifiers playing off against the munster and connacht winners for a semi final place (thus redressing the numerical imbalance in the provinces).

This way everyone is guaranteed two games minimum and the stronger teams in munster and connacht have to exert themselves befor August.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 27, 2008, 12:54:36 PM
The ref was a disgrace. I thought we played quite well and dominated for much of the match but shooting was very poor at times. Full forward line needs sorted out for the Kerry game next weekend. Penrose and McCullagh could both lose out. Davy Harte is struggling but the signs are that Harte wont take him off/drop him no matter what. We definately need Sean C fit for next week or else we could be in trouble. I actually thought the sending offs disrupted Tyrone, we were starting to play quite well just before them but seemed to lose shape afterwards.
Post by: ONeill on July 27, 2008, 01:08:26 PM
100%. Tyrone were flying just before the sendings off and had scored 4 in succession to edge in front. The sendings off disrupted their superiority.
Post by: Main Street on July 27, 2008, 02:41:07 PM
I'm glad to hear the news on Sean Cavanagh is not as bad as feared.
Anything could have happened to him with a fall like that.

I only caught the last 20 mins.
Tyrone shooting can only improve  :)

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 27, 2008, 06:59:01 PM
A win's a win's a win, but we can't take too much more from it. Still, we're still there, though I wish the GAA would stop appointing Armagh referees for Tyrone games.
Post by: AN other on July 27, 2008, 10:59:00 PM
I think you summed the refeering situation up well there O'Neill, along with the Sunday Tribune article on the match today. We got a couple of marginal calls for fouls on Glennon in the first half, but there was only the one I would say was "definitely not a foul" after watching the highlights. Any marginal calls in the second half seemed to go to Tyrone. The Tyrone crowd's general reaction to referees and umpires was well over the top anyhow, as are accusations of bias. He was also the referee in charge for the Dublin v Westmeath game and gave similar marginal frees. Indeed, seeing as he has been the man in charge in both of Westmeath's championship defeats this year I won't be too disappointed if I don't see him in featuring in any of our games next year!
Can't have any complaints with Harte's sending off even if Dooher made a meal of it. To do it right in front of the referee was just plain stupid, and I wouldn't have expected that from Harte. If Healys sending off was a straight red the referee got it wrong, i thought it was a deserved second yellow. Healy's first was for nothing. Much more sinned against than sinning with Dooher acting the prat.
We really battled following the sendings off and if it had only been the one sending off it could actually have worked in our favour.
Tyrone dominated midfield and the game for the first ten minutes or so and it wasn't until about half way through the first half we came into it. When we did come into it John Smith had another good game and has been a vital link in the team all year since his return against Monaghan. Has eradicated the errors big time. Gets through some amount of work, picks up some amount of breaking ball and takes serious punishment. Even got his name on the scoreboard off his left, a true collectors item...
The defence did little wrong again also, Gavin worth a mention for his performance on Cavanagh resulting in him being moved out the field. Unfortunately he didn't do as well on Cavanagh's replacement. (I think it was T McGuigan)
Glennon did well enough. Great flick for the goal and didn't do much wrong all day. Not nice to see McMenamin shouting at him on the ground when he obviously got some sort of a knock to the head. Unfortunately, this sort of behaviour is to be expected from him. I also noted Dermot Bannon heavily winded when in McMenamin's presence at one stage and Bannon questioning umpires. I wonder was it a cleverer version of Harte's punch to Dooher's stomach...If it was, fair play to Bannon for not making a meal of it.
Midfield did okay and over the 70 minutes matched Tyrone. Flanagan wasn't at his best but this was to be expected. Took the 45 well! As with the referee, I think it's unfair to accuse the linesman of bias. Healy's kick was so far wide you could understand why the umpire might have assumed it to have taken a deflection...obviously wrong as he was. I wouldn't have liked to see the crowd's reaction had Tyrone lost or drew this one, and I'd say this could well have been in the back of the referee's mind too.
The sending offs aside, I guess the loosing of this game was the failure to get enough scores on the board again. Considering we have workers like Smith in the half forward line and providers like O'Donoghue and Flanagan in midfield, I would really have liked to see Dolan deployed nearer to goal this year. Also in the tribune today, Kieran Shannon I think it was that wrote it, alluded to Dolan's new role on the wing blunting his scoring instincts highlighting the goal chance near the end. This was just the tip of the iceberg though, his role this year and the amount of work that went with it, while playing it very well and contributing alot, left him so tired he hadn't been able to take men on and get scores/frees. I think O'Flaherta has done a great job this year but when we are crying out for scores it makes no sense to not be playing Dolan inside. I don't recall Dolan scoring from play against either Tipperary or Tyrone. If so I doubt this has ever happened in two consecutive Dolan performances before. He has been confined to scores from frees and has lost some of his scoring prowess. He needs to be played inside more next year. Dolan from the past as we know him, and Glennon, would cause most full back lines big problems.
That aside, there's loads of positives to be taken from the year, probably our best season since '04 and I think a better team than '04. We're a couple of scores short of a team to compete with anybody. We had a clear game plan and whether by accident or design had a clear style of play. It may not have been the prettiest but it was effective. Obviously biased as I am, I think we've got little credit for our performances from the media. Dublin, and now Tyrone didn't perform against us and alot of emphasis has been put on these bad performances rather than Westmeath's effectiveness in not letting them play. We saw what Dublin did to Wexford and I wouldn't be a bit surprised if Tyrone did something along similar lines to Mayo.
Duffy/Boyle/Gavin/Glennon have proved themselves to be quality intercounty players and credit must be given to O'Flaherta for their development. If Flanagan and Duffy hadn't picked up injuries we would likely be celebrating our second provincial title and looking forward to a quarter final. I think there's another year or two in Flanagan and Healy. Both are obviously aging but I would hope they're not finished yet! I certainly don't think management will be asking either to leave. I'd also like to think there's another year or two in O'Flaherta and the current management team. He's done very well this year (apart from the deployment of Dolan!) and the hunger and commitment the team displayed this year was exceptional, not least the closing stages of yesterday's game.
We've been improving steadily since '05 and if we can find another forward or two, combined with the return of O'Shaughnessey and hopefully another year or two from Healy and Flanagan we can continue to do so next year. Doubtlessly, we'll be one of the favourites for relegation from division 1 next year but if we can continue to improve the experience of division 1 could be the making of this team. Stick with it Tomás, you're not finished yet!

Iarmhí Abú.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on July 27, 2008, 11:02:35 PM
Dooher should have got an Oscar.
Post by: Double Cross on July 27, 2008, 11:07:29 PM
Are Tyrone still playing football? I thought Down knocked them out
Post by: Over the Bar on July 27, 2008, 11:09:02 PM
QuoteDooher should have got an Oscar.

I'm sure he's happier with his 2 all-ireland medals.......
Post by: AN other on July 27, 2008, 11:16:17 PM
Really liked the discussion on this game from the lads on TSG. Great work fellas, keep it up!
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2008, 11:28:18 PM
Armagh will go out in the quarters !  ;) :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 27, 2008, 11:31:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 27, 2008, 12:08:24 PM
The ref had a bad, bad day at the office. I don't think he was biased...

Yeah, it's genetic -- he's from Armagh.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 28, 2008, 12:38:55 PM
Tyroneies, fierce decent people to say howya before the game, some amount of whingers during it. A lot of giving out about the referee on here too but the funny thing is that he was the reason they won it in the end. People forget that Westmeath were punished by him during the Dublin for "soft" frees and I think they went out on Saturday with the intention of playing him. What I mean by that (and it usually happens in most games once the teams see what the ref is giving frees for and not) is that Westmeath weren't going to give any "soft" frees away inside the 45 and were prepared to let their man shoot under pressure rather than giving a quick tug of the jersey, pulling back the arm, etc. Took Tyrone an awful long time to cop on to this. The reception the ref started to get from the home crowd in the second quarter (if I can put it like that) and especially at half time could have had nothing else apart from an effect.

Nearly crashed the car on the way back to Donegal when I heard O'Flaherta's interview, apparently they were happy with the performance in the first half.  :o Westmeath were shocking from midfield up, didn't see anything from O'Donoghue at all. Budda is more or less finished at inter county level and David Glennon doesn't have the pace for the inside line. Only for the backs and Natchie's goal the game would have been over at half time. Flan did ok for a player who's been out for nearly 2 months and the half forward line tried at least. Special mention to John Smyth who was obviously finding it tough on the hard ground, he gave everything he had. Was nice to Cavanagh was able to appear before the camera after the game and thankfully he didn't seem to have done too much damage to himself.

The game was won and lost in the fifty whatever minute it was. Pictures weren't conclusive last night but Dooher grabbed Healys hand (which shouldn't have been as high as it was) and made it look he was pulled down, easy to see how the ref was fooled by it. Incidentally Healys first yellow resulted from Dooher using him as a bucking broncho in the first half. The sooner the GAA issues a directive to book the aggressor and not give out the two token yellows the better off our games will be. I didn't actually see the sending off incident but from Dooher's reaction and the fact it was a straight red I presumed it was a slap to the jaw or God forbid a headbutt. Can't believe what actually happened, first time of viewing the immediate reaction was the Dooher would have been a very embarrassed man waking up yesterday morning but the more I thought about it the more sure I became that he'd be on the other end of the spectrum. That man is clearly going to go to any lengths necessary to ensure a Tyrone win and nothing is too big an embarrassment. Same with McMenamin except that he's more malicious. Didn't see the Smyth incident but I did see him kneeing the fellow on the ground in front of the linesman  >:( and him standing over Glennon giving him verbals and being pushed away by his own player. Incidentally, if Harte deserved to go for a strike to the solar plexus when surely Joe McMahon (I think) should have gone in the first half. I hope Harte apologised to every single player and backroom member after the match as it was an incredible selfish and stupid thing to do. He was a great find for us this year and I hope he learns from this harsh lesson.

I think there's another year left in this team. Healy and his travel commitments is hopefully the only one who might go but it would be great if he stayed. It was a decent year from Westmeath and while it may have ended sooner that it should, injuries and luck (the lack of it) more than played their part. A Westmeath team of old would have thrown in the towel after the sendings off but credit to them they kept their heads up and may even have snatched a draw at the death. There must have been a realigning of the planets around 2000 and hopefully they maintain their current alignment for many's the year yet...
Post by: feetofflames on July 28, 2008, 12:43:47 PM
Did anyone hear there that Dooher had to go to the hospital after the game.  Id like to wish him all the best. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2008, 02:33:25 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on July 28, 2008, 12:43:47 PM
Did anyone hear there that Dooher had to go to the hospital after the game.  Id like to wish him all the best. 

Funny enough. I happened to see him yesterday, and his eye was a right old mess. Defintely looked like a few stitches along the lid. I'll pass on your heart felt thoughts all the same.
Post by: orangeman on July 28, 2008, 05:26:21 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on July 28, 2008, 12:43:47 PM

So much for him diving !