Snobby Niteclubs

Started by Rafa, November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Its actually strange but when I've been in many UK cities namely Liverpool, Edinburgh, Newcastle I've never been stopped or hassled when getting in. They don't seem to go for this "not tonight" shite. Even people from these places will tell that everywhere is an option and never warn off places for having a fussy door policy.

TheGreatRambo

Quote from: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 02:34:41 PM
Thought this was a thing of the past!

The 4 seasons (or Mexx) in Monaghan was always a bit above themselves years ago. One Wednesday night they stopped one of the lads for wearing trainers. He went out and changed into golf shoes, got in and put the dancefloor in shite with them!!

Also the Pig in Monaghan stopped people getting in wearing Monaghan jerseys after a saturday evening championship match.

Takes me back to my student days. Used to spend the summers in London working on the sites. Friday always meant a trip to Kilburn to get the auld cheque changed and this more often than not led to a messy night finished off with a trip to The National Ballroom to see just stars as Big Tom or Paddy Reilly. They would let any bog warrior in no matter how drunk he was, as long as he had proper shoes on him!!!!

I'd say 95% of the bouncers in Belfast are wankers (with the other 5% having the night off). I;m sure charlie stubbs could give a detailed breakdown of each establishment's doorsrtaff  ;)

A crowd of us went to omagh there and was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the bouncers were. Not what i was expecting considering 20 clowns full of buckfast had landed up out of the blue from lurgan! :o

DownFanatic

I was once part of the famous India St Elite/Rugby Bines ASU.

For one year our plan was to torment and to make life hard for any bouncer we came in to contact with. Some of our missions were successful but that infamous Thursday night back in mid December 2006 tore the heart out of our gang.

Yellow shirted Mandela Hall bouncers - you may have won the battle, but you never won the war!

It is extremely rare to meet a dead on bouncer in belfast alright. The bot ones are alright - I think they get to know your face and know you're not there to fight.

Everywhere else you go just seems to assume you want to fight and annoy people forgetting the fact you're out for a bit of craic and will add to their establishment's profits.

TheGreatRambo

Quote from: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 04:07:34 PM
Its actually strange but when I've been in many UK cities namely Liverpool, Edinburgh, Newcastle I've never been stopped or hassled when getting in. They don't seem to go for this "not tonight" shite. Even people from these places will tell that everywhere is an option and never warn off places for having a fussy door policy.

In fairness there are a few that did regret letting u in  ;)

Rafa

Same here! Although I've only been to Liverpool but I have been several times, weekend and midweek and you can guarantee each and everytime there has been a hell of a lot of drinking involved and I've never had any trouble with any bouncers over there.

Rafa

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 23, 2009, 03:30:18 PM
When youse grow up you'll realise there is nowhere in Belfast worth queueing up for, let alone pleading with the bouncers to let you in. Shitholes like Rain etc always start out on this tack in a bid to make the place look exclusive. They all do it, Milk did it when it opened, The Fly tried it, The Apartment did it. The list goes on, and fact that you mugs keep going back for punishment means they must be onto something.

Have some pride, grow a set, and go elsewhere.

You're probably right.

However it isn't us fellas fault. Top of the objectives list for the night is to somehow manage to trick a girl into thinking your semi-charming and not repulsive. Its these girls who choose to make places like Rain popular and therefore if we are to fullfil our objectives then we have to follow them to these establishments.

On another point I think a lot of the time we get turned away because there is probably too many fellas already inside, they like to keep a balance, don't want anyone going round saying Rain is a sausage-fest.

Quote from: TheGreatRambo on November 23, 2009, 04:44:49 PM

In fairness there are a few that did regret letting u in  ;)

A few...try most of them but in most cases it was my company that caused the problem!!

whiskeysteve

The older i get the more i reckon belfast is a shite place for a night out. Maybe familiarity breeds contempt but there is definitely less of a range of places to choose from and so they can take their clientele for granted (and the queues are ridiculous for what you get e.g. the bot)

Never been near this Rain place but doesnt sound like its worth the hassle anyway.

Thats Belfast all over, a pile of hassle for f**k all
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 04:55:41 PM
When youse grow up you'll realise there is nowhere in Belfast worth queueing up for, let alone pleading with the bouncers to let you in. Shitholes like Rain etc always start out on this tack in a bid to make the place look exclusive. They all do it, Milk did it when it opened, The Fly tried it, The Apartment did it. The list goes on, and fact that you mugs keep going back for punishment means they must be onto something.

You're probably right.

However it isn't us fellas fault. Top of the objectives list for the night is to somehow manage to trick a girl into thinking your semi-charming and not repulsive. Its these girls who choose to make places like Rain popular and therefore if we are to fullfil our objectives then we have to follow them to these establishments.

On another point I think a lot of the time we get turned away because there is probably too many fellas already inside, they like to keep a balance, don't want anyone going round saying Rain is a sausage-fest.
hes 100% right, there is nowhere worth queuing up for. though it can be a pain in the arse when a crowd heads out and one person is singled out for no reason other than the bouncer being a dick. the bro told me about him and his mates, all sober but one their party requires the use of a walking aid... Of course this was considered a weapon and he wasn't allowed in  >:(

Quote from: wherefromreferee? on November 23, 2009, 03:55:56 PM
Where is this 'Rain' ye are talking about?
Remember not getting into Renshaws once, big Colm and that wee Freddie Mercury lookalike were doing the door.  Bouncers in Dukes could see my attempts and obviously seen me getting knocked back.  Walked up, joined the queue at Dukes and got in no problems....
it used to be called  Milk

100% correct Tony, these clubs have a short best before date, soon enough they'll be have promotions to get people in.

Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:30:44 PM
So how exactly does one go about not looking like a culchie without, at the sametime, looking like an utter bollocks?

It was pointed out to me in Flannerys of Wexford St. (Dublin) by a girl who must have got lost on her way to the Village nightclub, that all the lads "in this place" chat-up line is so "what county are ya from?" She thought we (culchies) where obsessed with everyone's County of Origin. After a few drinks she admitted that it was a nicer approach than some of the chat-up lines in her usual haunts, she also admitted that her doddy was originally a Tipp man and mommy's parents where Mayo and Clare. It was nearly like drawing the unwanted culchie relatives out of the D4 closet.

Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 23, 2009, 04:22:00 PM
I'd say 95% of the bouncers in Belfast are w**kers (with the other 5% having the night off). I;m sure charlie stubbs could give a detailed breakdown of each establishment's doorsrtaff  ;)

A crowd of us went to omagh there and was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the bouncers were. Not what i was expecting considering 20 clowns full of buckfast had landed up out of the blue from lurgan! :o

Where did you go?

I think what some folk need to realise is that these upmarket places arent that keen on letting folks in who have already done their drinking else where...

The train of thought is why run the risk of hassle, when you havnt even made any money from these folks at the bar.