Snobby Niteclubs

Started by Rafa, November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

dundrumite

Quote from: DownFanatic on November 23, 2009, 04:40:05 PM
I was once part of the famous India St Elite/Rugby Bines ASU.

For one year our plan was to torment and to make life hard for any bouncer we came in to contact with. Some of our missions were successful but that infamous Thursday night back in mid December 2006 tore the heart out of our gang.

Yellow shirted Mandela Hall bouncers - you may have won the battle, but you never won the war!

Funny one of my firends used to get up to similar malarkey, finding different ways of getting fired out of Belfast's finest establishments. My personal favourite was the sight of him being trailed out of the Union. After a couple of quick texts from eye witnesses it emerged he had being in the female toilets washing his hair. Priceless

has anyone been to  the wright venue in swords was suppose to be snobby niteclub, but it's nothing more the the normal nightclub & very over hyped IMO

Rain is a late night place and one of few in belfast which isn't a gay bar. That would be why it attracts so many.

When the licensing folk clamp down that'll show them...

Archie Mitchell

Quote from: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 06:34:50 PM
Rain is a late night place and one of few in belfast which isn't a gay bar. That would be why it attracts so many.

When the licensing folk clamp down that'll show them...

Or when the licensing folk extend licenses for other premises we won't have this problem.

Maybe i'm just getting old, but I wouldn't queue to get into any pub or club. And if I was refused entry for no good reason, I wouldn't go back again.

Have to pay respect to a bouncer in Harveys nightclub down in Waterford. Good few years ago now, friend of mine was locked and showed a 20euro note instead of ID and the bouncer just laughed and said, have a good night lads.....didn't take the money either...

Quote from: Maguire01 on November 23, 2009, 06:40:05 PM
Maybe i'm just getting old, but I wouldn't queue to get into any pub or club. And if I was refused entry for no good reason, I wouldn't go back again.
At last, something we can agree on!

cornerback

I was in three different city centre bars on saturday night & walked straight into all three... if there was a queue i would've quickly moved on to the next bar/club.  And in fact the people we were meeting couldn't get in to one of these as the place filled up very quickly, so we moved on to the next bar. 

I don't think there is any bar good enough to warrant waiting to get in... of course i queued for placed in the past, but you will soon realise that the craic/music/talent (which ever you're looking for) is as good in the next bar...

Are you talking dublin or belfast there CB??

I wouldn't apply that logic to Belfast as there aren't many good bars in it!

cornerback

Quote from: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 08:53:13 PM
Are you talking dublin or belfast there CB??

I wouldn't apply that logic to Belfast as there aren't many good bars in it!

It was belfast.  I suppose it all depends on what your look for. The first two bars, although busy & lively, probably wouldn't be somewhere i would spend the whole night. The final bar was a late open bar/club!

Candyman

Rain is a complete dungeon!!!
Me and joey the lips made a wee trip up 1 nite and went wi the lads, about 10 in total!! Only gettin outta the taxi and the bouncers had their mind made up!! I rejoined the queue and actually got past the bouncers until all the fcukers I was with started roaring abuse n shouting I was out with them!!!! :D

redhugh

Belfast does seem to have a lot of arsehole doormen right enough. If they keep this up it will befall the same fate as all the other up their own arse clubs/bars in Belfast.They only let in the beautiful people at the start and keep out normal people ,the ones who are out for a nights drinking and will spend money.Then the next new place opens ,and all the beautiful people go there and abandon the last cool place.The last cool place lose their crowd and they spend a fortune trying to get back the normal people who they refused entry at the start because they were'nt cool or beautiful enough.The normal people have already been snubbed,and are not foolish enough to go back to a place that was so rude and up it's own arse.They then end up letting in anyone who will come through the door and the place is wrecked within a year .As they no longer know who their target market is ,they spend a fortune on advertising and marketing at a time when it's already too late.

If you want to be a real p***k - it's the management who reserve the right to refuse entry, not the doorstaff.You're within your rights to ask a member of management why you are being refused entry.Most good clubs have a member of management on the door with the doorstaff to sort out such situations.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 07:36:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 23, 2009, 06:40:05 PM
At last, something we can agree on!

As someone else alluded to, if you want to go somewhere after 1.30 its either Thompsons or Rain, which is f**king ridiculous for a city.  Nowhere else in Europe has such ridiculous licensing laws.  Another thing to thank fundamentalist unionism for!

Arthur_Friend

Quote from: whiskeysteve on November 23, 2009, 05:06:12 PM
The older i get the more i reckon belfast is a shite place for a night out. Maybe familiarity breeds contempt but there is definitely less of a range of places to choose from and so they can take their clientele for granted (and the queues are ridiculous for what you get e.g. the bot)

Never been near this Rain place but doesnt sound like its worth the hassle anyway.

Thats Belfast all over, a pile of hassle for f**k all

Sums up Belfast pefectly for me.