Snobby Niteclubs

Started by Rafa, November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Rafa

Whats the story with this?

Headed out to 'Rain' in Belfast on Saturday night. As I have about a 20% success rate with getting into this place I wasn't holding out much hope. We did the usual drill - as there was five of us we split up into two groups (ya know since apparently niteclubs don't like people who go out with more than 2 friends). I was in the second group. Soon enough I could see the rejection at the head of the queue as the all too familiar words were being mouthed by the bouncers, "not tonight lads". So that was that for another week.

One of my mates has never actually gotten into Rain before, I have and its not all that special! We've even taken to making sure were not in any sort of mess heading up the door now to try and get in. Were just not their 'type of people' it seems. We don't look protestant enough, them with their fancy clothes and swarthy skin.

Any suggestions for future excursions to Rain are welcome!

T O Hare

ripped jeans, fake tan and spiky blonde hair ;D
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

Had the exact same experience in Rain on Thursday night, with an added lie from the bouncer about me "slabbering" at them on nights I was miles away.

Think they just don't like the look of culchies!

Rafa

So how exactly does one go about not looking like a culchie without, at the sametime, looking like an utter bollocks?

dundrumite

Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM
Whats the story with this?

Headed out to 'Rain' in Belfast on Saturday night. As I have about a 20% success rate with getting into this place I wasn't holding out much hope. We did the usual drill - as there was five of us we split up into two groups (ya know since apparently niteclubs don't like people who go out with more than 2 friends). I was in the second group. Soon enough I could see the rejection at the head of the queue as the all too familiar words were being mouthed by the bouncers, "not tonight lads". So that was that for another week.

One of my mates has never actually gotten into Rain before, I have and its not all that special! We've even taken to making sure were not in any sort of mess heading up the door now to try and get in. Were just not their 'type of people' it seems. We don't look protestant enough, them with their fancy clothes and swarthy skin.

Don't go.

Went with a friend and was told he couldn't get in because of his shoes, then when he pointed out he had wore them last week in Rain, he was told he was too drunk. No time for that bulls**t. At least with the Bot its virtually impossible not to get in  :D

the scenic route

I agree, was in it once been turned away a couple of other times.
Reckon the bouncers are being so fussy to create the illusion that its a really special place and only the coolest get in. They can shove it up there holes as far as im concerned.
Was down saturday queue was ridiculous so didnt even bother. mind you i was so drunk they wouldn let me into the bot so i reckon my eyes musta been well glazed over and i wouldn a stood much chance.
"Underneath that thin veneer of human civilisation, we're all just a bunch of fu*king animals"

dundrumite

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 23, 2009, 02:28:41 PM
Had the exact same experience in Rain on Thursday night, with an added lie from the bouncer about me "slabbering" at them on nights I was miles away.

Too be fair if I owned a niteclub I wouldn't let you in either  :P

Thought this was a thing of the past!

The 4 seasons (or Mexx) in Monaghan was always a bit above themselves years ago. One Wednesday night they stopped one of the lads for wearing trainers. He went out and changed into golf shoes, got in and put the dancefloor in shite with them!!

Also the Pig in Monaghan stopped people getting in wearing Monaghan jerseys after a saturday evening championship match.

Rafa

Quote from: the scenic route on November 23, 2009, 02:32:49 PM
Reckon the bouncers are being so fussy to create the illusion that its a really special place and only the coolest get in. They can shove it up there holes as far as im concerned.
Was down saturday queue was ridiculous so didnt even bother. mind you i was so drunk they wouldn let me into the bot so i reckon my eyes musta been well glazed over and i wouldn a stood much chance.

Thats the spirit!

dundrumite

Quote from: the scenic route on November 23, 2009, 02:32:49 PM

:o
You have defied all the laws of Belfast with that one

Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Yeah go some where else. Was once refused entry into a place I was semi regular as "it was no Jerseys". This on the Sunday of a Dublin match  ::) ::). We just went next door and was a year before we went back to that place.

dundrumite

To all those who got turned away... ha ha! Suckers!

Quote from: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:34:28 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 23, 2009, 02:28:41 PM

Too be fair if I owned a niteclub I wouldn't let you in either  :P

Actually I generally tend to be very profitable for nightclub owners!

Be a long time until I'm back at Rain, if they're going to lie to you and not let you in for no reason then I'll take my custom elsewhere.