Snobby Niteclubs

Started by Rafa, November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Rafa

I can understand turning people away for being too drunk but we've really made an effort to be fairly sober going to this place these last few times.

I remember 'The Box' pursued a similar strategy to this and I think they shot themselves in the foot with it as you rarely hear of people going to the box these days. These places usually have a short life-cycle anyway.

Good old reliable bot though. Just on that, anyone else hate when someone in work on a Monday asks you where did you go out on Saturday night and when you reply with 'bot' they laugh?

the scenic route

Quote from: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:38:17 PM
Quote from: the scenic route on November 23, 2009, 02:32:49 PM
I agree, was in it once been turned away a couple of other times.
Reckon the bouncers are being so fussy to create the illusion that its a really special place and only the coolest get in. They can shove it up there holes as far as im concerned.
Was down saturday queue was ridiculous so didnt even bother. mind you i was so drunk they wouldn let me into the bot so i reckon my eyes musta been well glazed over and i wouldn a stood much chance.

:o
You have defied all the laws of Belfast with that one

lol I know, was at the saw doctors down in the limelight before it, throwing the jameson into me was drunk as a lord, but thought i would still be grand for the bot. Clearly not, Tried explaining to the bouncer that i was grand and was far worse for wear on the wednesday previous after the ireland game rolling about the bot.
aw well ending up in thompsons and back to a house for a few bottles of stella afterwards to draw on a friend who had fallen asleeps face. all was not lost
"Underneath that thin veneer of human civilisation, we're all just a bunch of fu*king animals"

anyone ever tried getting into lillies?  :D
,been turned away from club m once for being too drunk,thats about it. It doesnt help to fall right in front of the bouncers.

I dont understand, why do yous keep heading to a place if yous aren't getting in?
If I was turned away once I'd never be back.

I would not darken their door again and be sure and bad mouth the place to everyone you meet.  Its that old adage, if you get good customer service you will tell 2 people but if you get bad service you will tell twenty (or words to that effect!). 

Celt_Man

I remember myself and another boy got turned away from the door of a certain Harcourt street based niteclub, naturally we were very disappointed although not surprised - second day of sauce on the trot and had been on it since before lunch that day...

Didn't know what to do, so me in perhaps my best moment of clarity in recent years pulled a last chance masterstroke and I took off my jacket off and put it under my arm and my mate followed suit...

We joined the back of the quene and I'd say within 90 seconds of being refused we were saluted by the bouncers "evening lads, enjoy yourselves" and in the door of the place.... couldn't believe it.  Just shows ya how hard they look at you sometime either that or we were wearing some bad looking jackets   :D
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Archie Mitchell

First time I went to go to Rain I was turned away for apparantly being too drunk. Decided it was a shame to waste a good evenings drinking so went to go to the Bot. It was jammed and they wern't letting anyone in. Was around 12 so decided to chance Rain again. Asked for student ID, showed my old student card, was then told the picture was too faded and wouldn't let me in as would only accept student ID. Got in OK on Wednesday night though when I could barely stand and wasn't asked for ID.

charlie stubbs is the man to ask about getting in to pubs and clubs. Only man I know who was carried into a pub.

Celt_Man

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on November 23, 2009, 03:21:43 PM
First time I went to go to Rain I was turned away for apparantly being too drunk. Decided it was a shame to waste a good evenings drinking so went to go to the Bot. It was jammed and they wern't letting anyone in. Was around 12 so decided to chance Rain again. Asked for student ID, showed my old student card, was then told the picture was too faded and wouldn't let me in as would only accept student ID. Got in OK on Wednesday night though when I could barely stand and wasn't asked for ID.

charlie stubbs is the man to ask about getting in to pubs and clubs. Only man I know who was carried into a pub.

Legend!!!
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

When youse grow up you'll realise there is nowhere in Belfast worth queueing up for, let alone pleading with the bouncers to let you in. Shitholes like Rain etc always start out on this tack in a bid to make the place look exclusive. They all do it, Milk did it when it opened, The Fly tried it, The Apartment did it. The list goes on, and fact that you mugs keep going back for punishment means they must be onto something.

Have some pride, grow a set, and go elsewhere.

Have been to rain 4 times and got in every time - not worth it trust me...

Milk always used to turn me away though and have not once been able to get in to yello. Never going back there. (3 times I've tried but it's always an angry scotsman with me who gets me turned away...)

Rain isnt worth it any way, full of posers and over priced drink!
Really hate when places turn you away for no reason, can understand it  if your loaded, but other times its just cause you have a 'cluchie accent'  :-\

Quote from: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 03:31:14 PM
Have been to rain 4 times and got in every time - not worth it trust me...

Milk always used to turn me away though and have not once been able to get in to yello. Never going back there. (3 times I've tried but it's always an angry scotsman with me who gets me turned away...)

I also have a 100% record for rain. Went once, got in once, had a shit night once.

Remember, stone cold sober, getting turned away from the Empire at about 9 in the evening (i.e. the place was still f**king empty). Was told I didn't have a 'valid' ID, despite showing both a student card and driving licence (which apparently looked a bit dodgy). Shouldn't have mattered in the slightest because I was only heading in for a quiet pint or two on the way back from the cinema, but I was livid that the p***k bouncer could get away shite like that.

boojangles

Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 03:01:43 PM
I dont understand, why do yous keep heading to a place if yous aren't getting in?
If I was turned away once I'd never be back.

Cant believe it but Im in total agreement with Pints here. Fair enough if your steaming and all over the shop,you don't deserve to get in but this crack of 'Not tonight lads' for no reason sickens my hole. Manys an argument I had with Bouncers who in alot of cases are on a power trip.
Alot of clubs in Galway used to be notorious a few years ago for being strict at the door. Going in with 3 pints in ya and being told to head across to Pizza Hut for a coffee.
Never tried any of the so-called Posh spots like Lillies or Krystel because if I got in(very unlikely) Id probably end up getting sick all over the place at the sight of some of the clientelle.
Tried Club M in Temple Bar once and couldn't get in,never went back. Was thrown out of Doyles across from Trinity one nite for singing but wouldn't budge until they refunded me the price of my pint-which was over a Fiver. Damn right Im a Cavan man.

wherefromreferee?

Where is this 'Rain' ye are talking about?

Remember not getting into Renshaws once, big Colm and that wee Freddie Mercury lookalike were doing the door.  Bouncers in Dukes could see my attempts and obviously seen me getting knocked back.  Walked up, joined the queue at Dukes and got in no problems....

In your Endo!

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on November 23, 2009, 02:49:36 PM
anyone ever tried getting into lillies?  :D
,been turned away from club m once for being too drunk,thats about it. It doesnt help to fall right in front of the bouncers.
f**k me, is Club M still on the go? ''Irelands greatest laser show''