Fleadh 2026 Belfast

Started by gallsman, August 03, 2026, 08:57:02 PM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2026, 10:38:29 AMDon't think next year will go quite so smoothly. The "other side" already making waves that it should essentially be 50:50 orange and green. As we know if you give them an inch, which is what happened with introducing loyalist bands, they'll take a mile. They seem to be pushing a narrative that Orangefest i.e. triumphalism, burning pallets, hatred for other cultures etc. is a direct equivalent of the joy-filled scenes we have seen all week.

Nolan was asking Niall McClean from Ards CCE could there be even more next year. Smacked of the beginnings of a push towards "it needs to be 50/50". McClean was very clear that essentially anyone and everyone would be welcome and would actively encourage it. More representation won't be a problem for anyone I think. That doesn't mean CCE will or should be put under any pressure whatsoever to actively "be more inclusive".

There seems to be a concerted effort within organised unionism to praise the Fleadh, within reason and with qualification, in contrast with the "Republican hatefest" of the Feile. Chris Donnelly made a w**ker of Nolan when he was praising the Feile for pulling people away from the "corrosive" culture of bonfires, in reference to internment bonfires in republican communities. Nolan, either excitable or unknowing, jumped on him about being divisive, calling the other side corrosive etc.

Think you're on the money Tony that there'll be a calculated angle spun out of it to try to make noise and political capital, but I honestly can't see any way the vast majority of people let anything get in the way of it. While vocal and with access to a platform, those either outright opposing the Fleadh or seeking to jump on the tiniest, most inconsequential issue with this year's edition to score points are in a tiny minority.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 10, 2026, 10:44:45 AMI think the loyalist bands playing was the right thing to do though. There still seems a lack of awareness though that the culture isn't very inclusive or welcoming.

Agree, but not sure that's a big issue for the Fleadh. Loyalist bands playing at the Fleadh won't fix everything, but at least it's progress. They can be welcomed with open arms from a cultural/musical perspective, whilst still opposing them marching with Orangemen through Catholic/nationalist communities and deliberately targeting churches and other locations with provocative songs etc.

Yeah I think the TUV and Poots smelt blood with that food van thing and got nothing to follow it up.

Nolan was probably looking to boost the ratings too so would have been looking for any negative angle but thankfully nothing.

No agreed it's not an issue for the fleadh.

I'd agree with that gallsman. The fact that it was so unbelievably positive with minimal fuss given its size has to be carried into next year. The fact that Lockhart etc. have minor issues to pick at shows how good it was.

I'd also agree with Tommy that allowing some element of loyalist bands in was correct and more should be made of their acceptance of their part in a 32 county Ireland music scene. Purely to annoy them of course  ;)

Fleadh organisers in particular have been effusive in their praise of the Belfast Bands Forum and its chair (president? leader?) Darren Leighton for its engagement. Whatever else any of us may think of the bands or some of their members or their politics or their beliefs, it can't be denied that at least some of them were prepared to put their necks on the line within their own community and participate. That can't have been easy for them, so fair play. Baby steps for everyone.

Nolan was banging on again about how he wasn't trying to take a shite on it the week before. He was simply raising legitimate concerns from business owners and taxi drivers worried about city centre access. I'm sorry, maybe seafoid will land in and bash me as a neoliberal, but whatever line of business you're in, if you couldn't make money off the back of the Fleadh, get a new f**king job. On the contrary, most businesses really engaged with it, adapting and flexing however they could to meet demand. Hard work? Difficult? 100%, but the reward was there for whoever wanted it The boy from Sawers deli had a serious week on social media and was absolutely loving it. Not sure how you were physically supposed to eat some of the things he was highlighting (the calzone for example) but I'd have been more than happy to give it a right good go.

Great that it was all such a success and long may it continue.
Tens of thousands of people enjoying music and the occasion.

The few 17th Century moaners got no traction as the 21st Century people got on with enjoying the craic.

As said above if a business couldn't make a killing from  up to a million visitors....
Triple Connacht Champions

p3427977

Brysons next book Culture Wars is out today. We're all in bother now.

Christ. Is it in crayons?

Quote from: p3427977 on August 10, 2026, 11:53:21 AMBrysons next book Culture Wars is out today. We're all in bother now.
I'd say ChatGPT earned it's keep that day

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2026, 12:05:49 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on August 10, 2026, 11:53:21 AMBrysons next book Culture Wars is out today. We're all in bother now.

I'd have thought he'd have ended up lost when Windows said "hit any key to continue" and he couldn't find the key that said "any" on it.
i usse an speelchekor

Did Jim write it and use Jamie as a pseudonym

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 10, 2026, 12:21:50 PM

I'd have thought he'd have ended up lost when Windows said "hit any key to continue" and he couldn't find the key that said "any" on it.

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 10, 2026, 12:21:50 PM

Ah now, you can't rip off the Simpsons like that. Credit where its due please!

Took the kids to Belfast for mine and their first AI fleadh. I've been to county Fleadh's before when I was younger, on the lash and always had great craic, but haven't been to one in at least 20 years. We're not really that into music in my house, but I have to say the experience was amazing. I was driving, but certainly put you in the mood for pints!

My kids loved it - came home looking to join the comhaltas so they can go busking next year - might never happen but shows the effect the experience had on them and I'll certainly take them to it and encourage them to pick up an instrument.
We wandered into the Black Box and there was a group called the Reillys playing - some original music and some covers. They were excellent and a great atmosphere. One think that was a real positive was that businesses were allowing the public in to use the facilities without having to purchase something - actually encouraged me to spend more.

I didn't really go into any bars as I had the kids and they all looked packed, but the atmosphere looked amazing.
There were plenty of people on the street who'd had a few too many, BUT there was none of that loutish nonsense or typical chip-on-the-shoulder stuff you'd see on a normal night out. What I mean by that, is that everyone was friendly, everyone was talking, everyone was in a great mood and enjoying the experience.

I genuinely positive experience and for the begrudgers out there, I wouldn't even give them the time of day or the satisfaction of reacting to their tripe. It was obvious to any and all that this is what true culture is, what true community spirit is and what acceptance of everyone is about.
I feel the likes of Jamie and Lockhart look at this and it scares the sh*te out of them to see an AI event like this show them and their like up. No need to debate them, that just gives them credibility. Just ignore them and they'll be swallowed up in all the positivity generated by this.

Roll on 2027 - will definitely be back next year.

Quote from: tbrick18 on August 10, 2026, 12:59:43 PMI feel the likes of Jamie and Lockhart look at this and it scares the sh*te out of them to see an AI event like this show them and their like up.

I think this is it in a nutshell, especially as it's in no way a political or republican event. It's about music and dancing and culture and craic. Irish culture. Unionist culture. Even loyalist culture. Both separate and shared without any judgment attached. Arguing that it's anything but will be laughed at by a few more people than it was beforehand, and that's an inherently good thing.

They'll try in due to course to paint it as republicanism by stealth. They'll say it's about pulling the wool over people's eyes about a great a UI will be. I'm sure a few Free Ps will be along to demonise it over how the devil's buttermilk was free flowing. And again, a few more people than before will listen to them and think they're complete eejits.