Fleadh 2026 Belfast

Started by gallsman, August 03, 2026, 08:57:02 PM

Anyone at it? Great craic so far, thankfully not overly ruined by Belfast ones.

Wee niece dancing at it, got bit of exposure on the socials today. Few relatives up saying it's great

Me personally, I'm still recovering from enniscorthy 01 and 02 🤭

Onthe40

a few of the in-laws up yesterday
said the prices scandalous

20 quid for a pint and glass of vino in one bar...£13 for a burger on the street

but atmosphere great

Friend up yesterday,has wom multi medals in the past at the Fleadh, wasnt impressed, said Wexford was way better 2yrs ago and a no of previous ones, Said the Fleadh was not really suited to a large city area. Said there was a limited number of places to play, plus some pubs with the speakers on, drowning out music from other nearby musicians.We not mention the transport issues or the £200 per nite hotels.( alot that normal in Belfast. We see if it improves.

Champion The Wonder Horse

Can someone teach them southerners how to drive? The A1 was incredibly dangerous today. The number of southern regs sitting in the overtaking lane at 55-60mph for miles and the number of good god-fearing northerners who felt the need to undertake.

Has totally ruined the Fleadh for me.

Though I did see a young man carrying an O'Brien's, Foreglen kit bag through Royal Hillsborough.

Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 03, 2026, 10:35:53 PMCan someone teach them southerners how to drive? The A1 was incredibly dangerous today. The number of southern regs sitting in the overtaking lane at 55-60mph for miles and the number of good god-fearing northerners who felt the need to undertake.

Though I did see a young man carrying an O'Brien's, Foreglen kit bag through Royal Hillsborough.
Fear of God when I see them near a roundabout  :o

Was up this evening. Brilliant atmosphere.

Pint was £6.20 and the sausage supper was £10.

Some great pub sessions.

Brendan

Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 03, 2026, 10:35:53 PMCan someone teach them southerners how to drive? The A1 was incredibly dangerous today. The number of southern regs sitting in the overtaking lane at 55-60mph for miles and the number of good god-fearing northerners who felt the need to undertake.

It's the Foreglen man you should really be scared of

People that go to cities and complain about prices need to not bother going, it's the same in every city.

There on Sunday to enjoy the craic with family, didn't worry about the price of a pint or the food. Atmosphere brilliant and while there no issues

Stingy gurning middle aged feckers stay and Home and count the pennies ;D
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

SaffronSports

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2026, 11:57:25 PMPeople that go to cities and complain about prices need to not bother going, it's the same in every city.

There on Sunday to enjoy the craic with family, didn't worry about the price of a pint or the food. Atmosphere brilliant and while there no issues

Stingy gurning middle aged feckers stay and Home and count the pennies ;D

You'd make a great Tory.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2026, 10:18:19 PMFriend up yesterday,has wom multi medals in the past at the Fleadh, wasnt impressed, said Wexford was way better 2yrs ago and a no of previous ones, Said the Fleadh was not really suited to a large city area. Said there was a limited number of places to play, plus some pubs with the speakers on, drowning out music from other nearby musicians.We not mention the transport issues or the £200 per nite hotels.( alot that normal in Belfast. We see if it improves.

Hope the multi-medalled friend has a better experience at the weekend.

She got 5 1st place medals i never see lol

Pubs needs to cop the f**k on with recorded music being blasted out. White's, Kelly's etc. Great session in the Duke of York started off by four young Down and Armagh girls who were near terrified to ask the bouncer could they go in and set up. Took an awful lot of balls and they had background music pumping awful shite over the top of them even as they played genuinely brilliant stuff. Took a solid 45 mins before they had the wit to turn it off. Wasn't helped by screaming twats requesting the fields of Athenry or demanding to know "do yiz not know any Michael Jackson?!"

Made a point of going to see a group of Irish dancers from Green island/Hong Kong first thing in Victoria Square. Some brilliant and some terrified but my 5 year old was utterly enchanted. Was in awe of the girls from start to finish. They did brilliantly.

Saw a great spot in 2 Royal Avenue for an hour or so. Can't remember the name but they were Belfast family ones from Twinbrook and they were brilliant. Especially came together when the younger ones joined in. Locals need to learn when and how to whoop and holler. Have heard the rattlin bog enough for the whole week

Really good session in the Sunflower and then came across a great late spot with two lads on guitar at the bottom of Royal Avenue. Haymarket? Maybe used to be the Hudson. Had a catalogue of classics but despite my repeated and vocal suggestion wouldn't or couldn't play the Green and Red of Mayo.

Handed over a fresh, crisp 20 for two pints of stout and two packets of scampi fries in the Morning Star. Couldn't believe my £1 change. Was in Lyrath Estate in Kilkenny last week spending a fortune and didn't feel like my pants were being pulled down as much.

onefaircounty

Only able to get up to mid-afternoon. Anyone know of any places that may be good for early sessions/trad stuff?

Not the folky music that's been on the socials of a lot of young ones.

The city looks fantastic.

I think the pubs will start to wise up about the amplified music,  as there have been enough complaints!

Mon-Wednesday are generally only feeling their way into the craic but Thursday onwards will be something else.  I think the big thing is that it has been underestimated how big this is and how many people will be about,  despite the fact that they have been told umpteen times!

As for the pints going up I am not surprised...this will keep a lot of places floating for a long time!  I did challenge Bamber in Maddens if they'd go back to normal prices next week and he said they'd go up to £7!!!