Fleadh 2026 Belfast

Started by gallsman, August 03, 2026, 08:57:02 PM

My nearly 80 year old aul fella went in today and had a great time. Thought the atmosphere was terrific and everyone was just being social and friendly, looking to have a good time. He did feel the music got lost a bit in the midst of the big piss-up which I'd agree with. Some of the music has been very hard to hear in some of the spots over the sheer din of people having a good time.

Did see a couple of rats last night beside Kelly's in need of a good hiding screaming Islamic abuse at a group of security guards. "Jesus Christ is our Lord and saviour you f**king Mohammed c***ts" I believe it was. Stereotypical Belfast pikeys out of their minds on god knows what with their hands down their trousers. Sorry, tracksuit bottoms.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 05, 2026, 07:45:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 07:41:32 PMThe music last night in Maddens was astonishingly good.
What time you in there at? Are the better pub sessions on later into the evening?

It was fairly late on. But from tomorrow onwards Fleadhs really take off. The competitions start on Friday and tonnes of musicians about.

Quote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 10:15:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 05, 2026, 07:45:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 07:41:32 PMThe music last night in Maddens was astonishingly good.
What time you in there at? Are the better pub sessions on later into the evening?

It was fairly late on. But from tomorrow onwards Fleadhs really take off. The competitions start on Friday and tonnes of musicians about.
I was supposed to be going on Friday but the big son wants to go tomorrow now instead! Sounds like it'll be good craic.

LC

Quote from: gallsman on August 05, 2026, 09:25:11 PMMy nearly 80 year old aul fella went in today and had a great time. Thought the atmosphere was terrific and everyone was just being social and friendly, looking to have a good time. He did feel the music got lost a bit in the midst of the big piss-up which I'd agree with. Some of the music has been very hard to hear in some of the spots over the sheer din of people having a good time.

Did see a couple of rats last night beside Kelly's in need of a good hiding screaming Islamic abuse at a group of security guards. "Jesus Christ is our Lord and saviour you f**king Mohammed c***ts" I believe it was. Stereotypical Belfast pikeys out of their minds on god knows what with their hands down their trousers. Sorry, tracksuit bottoms.

100%

UTV News obviously spent ages trawling businesses in Belfast to find a negative slant. They managed to find an optician who said that his business was negatively impacted. When they put this point to the representative from the Chamber of Commerce, she quickly put them in their box highlighting all the positives.

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 06, 2026, 09:41:12 AMUTV News obviously spent ages trawling businesses in Belfast to find a negative slant. They managed to find an optician who said that his business was negatively impacted. When they put this point to the representative from the Chamber of Commerce, she quickly put them in their box highlighting all the positives.

The opticians should have seen it coming 😮

Quote from: Orior on August 06, 2026, 10:28:36 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 06, 2026, 09:41:12 AMUTV News obviously spent ages trawling businesses in Belfast to find a negative slant. They managed to find an optician who said that his business was negatively impacted. When they put this point to the representative from the Chamber of Commerce, she quickly put them in their box highlighting all the positives.

Listen it's negative publicity no matter what way you frame it

No, you're looking at it though the wrong lens.

Quote from: Orior on August 06, 2026, 10:28:36 AM

Personally I think he made a spectacle of himself

bannside

Very shortsighted of them.

bannside

Not good for the Optics....

Had been a spec tacular event up till that

Really, really good family friendly atmosphere about this morning. Noticeably much busier already. We hopped off the bus and Catherine Connolly was that there watching a small session of kids on the grass at City Hall.

We were supposed to go to Dublin today venue we fly home on Saturday evening and have cancelled the hotel to stay on.

DaleCooper

Someone should have "corrected" him. Normally he would have "focal" to complain about.

Newbridge Exile

We were up at it yesterday as our young lad was playing at the gig rig in Corn Market  it probably surpassed my expectations in terms of the crowds and atmosphere , they played for a couple of hours in Whites Tavern after , (Maddens and Kelly's were also packed with a lot of musicians playing )