Fleadh 2026 Belfast

Started by gallsman, August 03, 2026, 08:57:02 PM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 08, 2026, 09:13:13 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on August 07, 2026, 11:26:00 PMAfter this week you can only imagine what the Euro's could have been for Belfast.

It has been an amazing week and two days still to go!
Brings a different type of person onto the streets fuelled by alcohol.

Yes, ridiculous comparison tbh. Would be nothing alike.

Quote from: gallsman on August 08, 2026, 11:33:58 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on August 07, 2026, 11:26:00 PMAfter this week you can only imagine what the Euro's could have been for Belfast.

Yes, ridiculous comparison tbh. Would be nothing alike.

Yes and no,  would depend on the countries that were drawn to play here. Lots of the European teams have happy,  party fans. Not all are England or its ilk. Imagine group matches involving teams like Spain or Portugal or Croatia or the Scots!  The craic would be mighty

It would be craic for sure, but it would still be about nothing but drinking, drinking and more drinking. There'd be a load of money spent and hopefully they'd all behave themselves, but it would still all be about drinking.

The atmosphere at the Fleadh is very different. There are activities and things to see from a child's first sentient moments to the point someone is ready to shuffle off this mortal coil. I've had absolutely no hesitation in bringing my kids aged 2 and 5 into it multiple times this week and they've had a great time. There has been some limited drink involved for the adults, but it's not about the drink. I'll be back next year hopefully with a 6 month old. If Portugal were playing Norway in Casement, I'd not dream of bringing a family of young kids into town just to soak up a bit of atmosphere and wander around.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: maggie on August 08, 2026, 10:35:16 AMThe public transport(pink buses so dunno what gliders/trains were like) to get out of town around half 10/11 bit of a sh**show but hopefully they learn lessons for next year.

Glider and trains a bit of a shitshow unfortunately from what I've seen and heard. Translink letting the side down pretty badly.

3.30 Train in yesterday was turning people away from Lisburn onwards.

Glider up the falls bungee and turning people away from millfield.

And others been saying about bus issues through week.

I'll admit I thought the 800k this week was fanciful - but by Tues Translink management should have been reacting to the reality of it.

Pulling other drivers, and if needs be buses, from across the north should have been an obvious stop gap. Aiming to at least double the cadence on main routes - even if it means mixing their precious gliders with normal buses should have been very doable.
i usse an speelchekor

Buses heading out the Lisburn Road were departing from Donegall Sq. South on Thursday evening. Headed back there yesterday and there were some not particularly clear signs up saying that all Lisburn road services were going from Bedford Street. There were some helpful Translink staff on hand to explain and apologise that it had changed overnight. Sure nothing, it's only round the corner.

Went round the corner trying to find the spot to lineup and there was a bus out of service so we asked the driver. "no no no. All Lisburn road services are going from Donegall Sq.". Explained what we'd just be told and he gave us an exasperated shrug and said that the drivers are the last to find these things out at the minute. Again, very polite and apologetic.

I think they're trying and will hopefully learn from it, but room for improvement for sure. That's maybe about as much as could be asked of Translink. Normally they don't bother to try.

Jibbajabba on the way. Lock up your daughters snarf snarf

True but still would have been a brilliant event.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2026, 01:33:16 PMJibbajabba on the way. Lock up your daughters snarf snarf

Wasn't it you that was going to meet there lads for "drinkies" before? Best of luck to you, most of the women I've seen have been on the pints.

Grace Murphy

Goin to take the hubbie and 3 kids on Sunday for a couple of hours. Kids are between 4-8. Maybe around 4-6.

Any tips of where to go where to park etc. coming in from M1.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 08, 2026, 02:09:29 PM

True but still would have been a brilliant event.

Yes, totally different crowd. An probably nowhere near the atmosphere and numbers of people attending the Fleadh but the point I'm making is Belfast is capable of hosting these big events and the Euros would have been another massive positive for the city. Why do we have to compare apples and oranges? Two different events.

Aristo 60

Quote from: Grace Murphy on August 08, 2026, 02:29:14 PMGoin to take the hubbie and 3 kids on Sunday for a couple of hours. Kids are between 4-8. Maybe around 4-6.

If ye dont know what age your eldest is what hope is there for the rest of us 😅

Quote from: Aristo 60 on August 08, 2026, 05:10:33 PM
Quote from: Grace Murphy on August 08, 2026, 02:29:14 PMGoin to take the hubbie and 3 kids on Sunday for a couple of hours. Kids are between 4-8. Maybe around 4-6.

If ye dont know what age your eldest is what hope is there for the rest of us 😅
;D  ;D

Unionist/loyalist weirdos like Moore Holmes and Philip Brett fairly changed their tune. Now claiming the Fleadh as some sort of victory for Unionism, with a snide reminder to the croppies where they live, as they have allowed it to happen in an inclusive UK. They must smell money.

Quote from: gallsman on August 08, 2026, 02:13:39 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2026, 01:33:16 PMJibbajabba on the way. Lock up your daughters snarf snarf

Wasn't it you that was going to meet there lads for "drinkies" before? Best of luck to you, most of the women I've seen have been on the pints.

Duno mate. Sure have a scroll back I'm sure you'll find something to get angry about 😄

Been up a couple of times now. Was very apprehensive and it's the first Fleadh in about 30 years that I haven't stayed over and while the train service has been pretty chaotic at least it is a very viable alternative although I think I will stay next year depending on the feedback from the camper van fraternity about the campsite facilities. Great idea having it and Feile on at the same time as it split the crowds. Council et al has really bought into it and the feedback has quite rightly been very positive. I'd like to see Belfast get it for a third year