All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

Jim will get the 12 weeks because the precedent has been set with Ger Brennan. No excuses.

Silly by Mc Guinness. He's experienced enough.

Too man clowns on the line also. It said there was 45 on the pitch i.e. 15 non-players.

Is that Aaron Kernn in with Meath?

Or did my eyes deceive me?  :o

Quote from: oakleafgael on May 23, 2026, 09:57:37 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on May 23, 2026, 09:56:26 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 23, 2026, 09:54:12 PMWas Brennan sent off on the day or was against Galway or was it on the intervention of the CCCC?

Sent off at the start of second half when teams came back onto field.

That could be the get out for McGuinness or otherwise where do you draw the line.

Maybe Brendan Devenney can ring Fergal Logan and get him on the case. He has him on the podcast from time to time.

Whatever the potential punishment, I hope McGuinness and Donegal simply take it and don't embarrass themselves appealing the arse out of it like Brennan did.

Quote from: marty34 on May 23, 2026, 09:58:32 PMJim will get the 12 weeks because the precedent has been set with Ger Brennan. No excuses.

Silly by Mc Guinness. He's experienced enough.

Too man clowns on the line also. It said there was 45 on the pitch i.e. 15 non-players.

Brennan was given a red card at the time and a big ban handed out, HQ on this incident might choose to do nothing about the McGuinness incident as he wasn't booked or sent off.  Shouldn't be the case but won't surprise me with the way the CCCC work.

On another note David Clifford should be getting a one match ban going by the precedent that has been set already this year.

Cork red only really a yellow, More the man was trying to push u man off, and was high with the hand off.

AustinPowers

Quote from: gallsman on May 23, 2026, 09:33:25 PMMike Quirke in the studio. I'm sure he'll be nuanced as always.

I wonder did they  fly him  up to Dublin to defend the Kerry lads?

Lol,just watching Quirke, some Kerry long term thinking there, he's doing a number on Jimmy. Deserved mostly.

AustinPowers

Quote from: J70 on May 23, 2026, 09:44:12 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 23, 2026, 09:39:45 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 23, 2026, 09:12:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 23, 2026, 09:05:01 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 23, 2026, 08:38:23 PMJesus mcguinness came across as a childish prat when asked a simple question by Tommy.

Trying to spin it that tommy is looking him banned rather than taking responsibility for his own actions of storming the pitch and shoving opposition players instead of trying to calm it down.

In fairness to Jim,  he'd literally just observed Ryan McHugh having his eyebrow split open with blood all over him and O'Connor having been one of the players involved, so it's understandable he'd react like that in the moment.

I think it was a fair question, but Rooney knew perfectly well Jim wouldn't take very kindly to it based on past form. He was never going to say something that could be used against him by the GAA.
Yeah no issue with Jim getting involved, wouldn't expect anyone to stand by and watch a man get busted. Rooney only doing his job and asking the tough questions. Similar ban to Dessie Farrel incoming surely. (Which was absolutely ridiculously harsh)

You should have a big issue with it, we all should. No member of the bench, management or backroom team should be anywhere near the pitch, that's when things get out of hand...with the GAA it's a story as old as time itself. At club matches lunatics jump the fences during such outbreaks regularly
McGuinness gets a lengthy ban on the back of Ger Brennan and I doubt we'll see a repeat of it for a while.

And J70s bit above re O'Connor, O'Connor was having a spat with another player and McHugh threw himself into the middle of it, O'Connor I doubt even seen him coming...3rd man in and all that ie contributing to a melee

I didn't say Jim was right. I said that he saw McHugh come out of a spat with blood pouring out of his face and he saw O'Connor also emerge from the same spat, so in the immediate aftermath he presumably thought O'Connor had thrown the dig.

And yes, Jim will be banned.

But if you're going to start dishing out bans to McHugh for being third man in, then Kerry and Donegal might as well withdraw from the AI as their squads will be decimated.

Fine by me  8)

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 23, 2026, 10:09:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 23, 2026, 09:33:25 PMMike Quirke in the studio. I'm sure he'll be nuanced as always.

I wonder did they  fly him  up to Dublin to defend the Kerry lads?

He was grand tbh but he pivoted very quickly away from Clifford and Burns to talk about McGuinness.

McManus stuck his neck out a bit to highlight that the first Clifford incident with McGonagle had more to it than you'd think. McGonagle absolutely still took a dive though.

The second Clifford one was late but nothing in it.

The footage of the HT incident on the highlights ends with Paudie trotting off with Mac Gearailt towards the tunnel and a Donegal backroom team member goes past him to catch up with, possibly McCole, and looks over his shoulder at him. Presumably said something as Paudie charges after him like a bull but it transitions away before you can see if anything happened.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2026, 10:06:47 PMCork red only really a yellow, More the man was trying to push u man off, and was high with the hand off.

I think the Meath lad gave him a wee belt to the head just as he won the ball in and when he wins it he lashes/steikes out to push the tackle off.

A yellow but can see if he gets a red as he struck out. Should get off on an appeal.

Gael85

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2026, 10:06:47 PMCork red only really a yellow, More the man was trying to push u man off, and was high with the hand off.

Brendan Cawley strikes again. As bad as Daire Cregg red card.

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 23, 2026, 10:13:31 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 23, 2026, 08:38:23 PMJesus mcguinness came across as a childish prat when asked a simple question by Tommy.

Trying to spin it that tommy is looking him banned rather than taking responsibility for his own actions of storming the pitch and shoving opposition players instead of trying to calm it down.

In fairness to Jim,  he'd literally just observed Ryan McHugh having his eyebrow split open with blood all over him and O'Connor having been one of the players involved, so it's understandable he'd react like that in the moment.

I think it was a fair question, but Rooney knew perfectly well Jim wouldn't take very kindly to it based on past form. He was never going to say something that could be used against him by the GAA.
Yeah no issue with Jim getting involved, wouldn't expect anyone to stand by and watch a man get busted. Rooney only doing his job and asking the tough questions. Similar ban to Dessie Farrel incoming surely. (Which was absolutely ridiculously harsh)

You should have a big issue with it, we all should. No member of the bench, management or backroom team should be anywhere near the pitch, that's when things get out of hand...with the GAA it's a story as old as time itself. At club matches lunatics jump the fences during such outbreaks regularly
McGuinness gets a lengthy ban on the back of Ger Brennan and I doubt we'll see a repeat of it for a while.

And J70s bit above re O'Connor, O'Connor was having a spat with another player and McHugh threw himself into the middle of it, O'Connor I doubt even seen him coming...3rd man in and all that ie contributing to a melee

I didn't say Jim was right. I said that he saw McHugh come out of a spat with blood pouring out of his face and he saw O'Connor also emerge from the same spat, so in the immediate aftermath he presumably thought O'Connor had thrown the dig.

But if you're going to start dishing out bans to McHugh for being third man in, then Kerry and Donegal might as well withdraw from the AI as their squads will be decimated.

Fine by me  8)

Handy AI for Armagh.😄

Gael85

Quote from: marty34 on May 23, 2026, 10:00:16 PMIs that Aaron Kernn in with Meath?

Or did my eyes deceive me?  :o

He is coach with Meath.

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 23, 2026, 10:13:31 PM

Fine by me  8)

I'm not chatting about dishing out bans to anyone, just pointing out that McHugh the Innocent had a part to play in the incident, which, if you're being a stickler, is covered in the rule book