All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

p3427977

Quote from: JoG2 on May 24, 2026, 08:02:11 AM
Quote from: onefineday on May 24, 2026, 07:58:38 AMAre round 2 games home and away or neutral?

2a and 2b, first team drawn out is at home
What about Rd3? First out?

Quote from: seanaglis on May 24, 2026, 08:27:51 AMDonegal are a team with serious discipline issues. And its eminating from their senior leadership.

A manager that thinks its acceptable to run onto the pitch and put his hands on opposition players.

A captain who thinks he can punch opposition players, and faces no consequences.

The gaa need to nip this in the bud.

"Serious discipline issues"??

You think McGuinness was "thinking" at that second??

He saw McHugh get split open and reacted, in what would be a very tame manner in any other context.

And while Murphy has gone over the edge with the closed-fist tackles at times over the years, it's hardly symptomatic of the whole team.

Every year we go through the same shite on this board with certain lads (not saying you, I don't know you) driving an agenda against McGuinness, Murphy, Ryan McHugh and formerly Declan Bonner.

seanaglis

Quote from: J70 on May 24, 2026, 10:52:53 AM
Quote from: seanaglis on May 24, 2026, 08:27:51 AMDonegal are a team with serious discipline issues. And its eminating from their senior leadership.

A manager that thinks its acceptable to run onto the pitch and put his hands on opposition players.

A captain who thinks he can punch opposition players, and faces no consequences.

The gaa need to nip this in the bud.

"Serious discipline issues"??

You think McGuinness was "thinking" at that second??

He saw McHugh get split open and reacted, in what would be a very tame manner in any other context.

And while Murphy has gone over the edge with the closed-fist tackles at times over the years, it's hardly symptomatic of the whole team.

Every year we go through the same shite on this board with certain lads (not saying you, I don't know you) driving an agenda against McGuinness, Murphy, Ryan McHugh and formerly Declan Bonner.

One can only speculate as to McGuinness's thinking.

However, it is pretty clear from the interview afterwards with the OTB journalist that he doesnt think he did anything wrong.

In fact he was trying to frame it that the journalist was at fault for daring to ask a question.

Likewise, the media were at fault for highlighting Murphy's transgressions, rather than the multiple punches

When a manager behaves like this, the ill-discipline is bound to seep down to the players.

Quote from: p3427977 on May 24, 2026, 09:44:20 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 24, 2026, 08:02:11 AM
Quote from: onefineday on May 24, 2026, 07:58:38 AMAre round 2 games home and away or neutral?

2a and 2b, first team drawn out is at home
What about Rd3? First out?
All such information is on the first post on this thread.

Someone should have said 'Jimmy you're not available for interview,  away out there McGee and deal with it.'  There was always going to be that question asked and there should have been a better answer prepared than going on the attack. What could have been spun as Donegal being the 'victim' has now lost some level of sympathy due to Jimmys reaction to the quite appropriate questioning.

What this week will hopefully mean for us in Armagh is that the 'wounded animal' mentality that Derry might bring to the game may be better managed as Kerry did not do it yesterday and Donegal were streets ahead

You think he's out there at training telling the players to risk red cards and suspensions? Because despite what he might say when Murphy, a very high profile player, goes over the top and rightly gets publicity, McGuinness does not control what the GAA can and will do when it comes to discipline.

I'm not denying that he has instilled grit and physicality in his two stints. It was badly needed as we were way too naive and nice on the field for years, especially in Ulster.

But this idea that Donegal are somehow more indisciplined than other teams or that McGuinness gives them license to do things that could lead to red cards and suspensions is going to need data and something a little more than a manager aggressively standing his ground in press conferences.

The McGuinness thing is overshadowing (or in some cases deliberately being used to overshadow) the fact that Kerry were clearly the more undisciplined outfit there yesterday.

It started before the throw in with Morley et. al looking to rough up the Donegal FF line. They presumably went out with the mentality that they were going to lay down a marker after the boxes Murphy got away with in the league final. Donaghy's influence probably something to do with it. Clifford was at it more than I've ever seen and they were trying heavy blocks and checks all over the field. Then Burns lost the plot completely obviously.

AustinPowers

Quote from: J70 on May 24, 2026, 11:31:41 AMYou think he's out there at training telling the players to risk red cards and suspensions? Because despite what he might say when Murphy, a very high profile player, goes over the top and rightly gets publicity, McGuinness does not control what the GAA can and will do when it comes to discipline.

I'm not denying that he has instilled grit and physicality in his two stints. It was badly needed as we were way too naive and nice on the field for years, especially in Ulster.

But this idea that Donegal are somehow more indisciplined than other teams or that McGuinness gives them license to do things that could lead to red cards and suspensions is going to need data and something a little more than a manager aggressively standing his ground in press conferences.

Murphy  may get publicity, but  he doesn't get  punished. That's the difference.

McGuinness doesn't  need to send his players out  to get up to all sorts of acts. The CCCC/referees have repeatedly failed to  punish their previous actions (Murphy in particular), so they know  what they  can get away with (in Murphy's case, clearly everything), so Donegal  act accordingly. 

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 24, 2026, 12:17:15 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 24, 2026, 11:31:41 AMYou think he's out there at training telling the players to risk red cards and suspensions? Because despite what he might say when Murphy, a very high profile player, goes over the top and rightly gets publicity, McGuinness does not control what the GAA can and will do when it comes to discipline.

Murphy  may get publicity, but  he doesn't get  punished. That's the difference.

McGuinness doesn't  need to send his players out  to get up to all sorts of acts. The CCCC/referees have repeatedly failed to  punish their previous actions (Murphy in particular), so they know  what they  can get away with (in Murphy's case, clearly everything), so Donegal  act accordingly.

So we're in cahoots with the CCCC, referees and overall GAA?

There are no other high profile players who have gotten away with stuff that Murphy has?

And because Murphy has gotten off lightly at times (we'll ignore the occasions when he's been harshly sent off), then the whole Donegal squad now has license to do what the f**k they want.

All right lads, suit yourselves. Have at it. Same hysterical horseshit every year on this board.

laceer

If people are complaining about you, you're near the top of the pile. Happened Dublin for years, Tyrone for years, Meath etc. Not too much complaining about them teams now.

tyrone08

Quote from: From the Bunker on May 23, 2026, 11:35:04 PMTo get this in first - No fan of JMG. And I normally like Tommy Rooney.

Have to say Tommy Rooney went in playing Junior B Hurling - Looking for the I have you snookered here JMG and this will get the clicks. He got a Senior Hurling reply. Jim called it as it was - Rooney looking for to fly that kite. Looking for a sacrificial lamb to fill his podcast.

As for Jim not seeing anything - that's what all intelligent managers say. Opening your mouth about a situation will only give the Rooneys of the world more click bait.

Ironically Rooney still got his clip and the clicks.

So its the journalist fault for pointing it out but mcguinness is grand. Anyone the world is in such a state when people are complaining about journalist asking direct questions

AustinPowers

QuoteYou think he's out there at training telling the players to risk red cards and suspensions? Because despite what he might say when Murphy, a very high profile player, goes over the top and rightly gets publicity, McGuinness does not control what the GAA can and will do when it comes to discipline.

So we're in cahoots with the CCCC, referees and overall GAA?

There are no other high profile players who have gotten away with stuff that Murphy has?

And because Murphy has gotten off lightly at times (we'll ignore the occasions when he's been harshly sent off), then the whole Donegal squad now has license to do what the f**k they want.

All right lads, suit yourselves. Have at it. Same hysterical horseshit every year on this board.
Take your paranoia hat off. That's not what  I said.

Its not Donegal's fault. It's the failure of the CCcC and referees  by not  dishing out  appropriate punishment. 

Its not outrageous to say Murphy  is the one player who has gotten away  with an unbelievable amount of stuff  this last 18 months. Even  as a Donegal man , you have to admit that.

Other players do too (Donegal, and others), but nowhere near the same  extent.  But again, that's all down to the  failures of refs and disciplinary committees

cavanmaniac

Quote from: tyrone08 on May 24, 2026, 01:01:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 23, 2026, 11:35:04 PMTo get this in first - No fan of JMG. And I normally like Tommy Rooney.

Have to say Tommy Rooney went in playing Junior B Hurling - Looking for the I have you snookered here JMG and this will get the clicks. He got a Senior Hurling reply. Jim called it as it was - Rooney looking for to fly that kite. Looking for a sacrificial lamb to fill his podcast.

As for Jim not seeing anything - that's what all intelligent managers say. Opening your mouth about a situation will only give the Rooneys of the world more click bait.

Ironically Rooney still got his clip and the clicks.

So its the journalist fault for pointing it out but mcguinness is grand. Anyone the world is in such a state when people are complaining about journalist asking direct questions

The original post made me wonder the same thing, I must say. What journalist worth his salt wouldn't ask McGuinness that question? I'd hope if not Tommy Rooney, one of the others would have. Two straight up incidences of a manager getting physically involved, and the media are supposed to pretend the second one didn't happen and ask no questions? It's hardly clickbait when it's something that really happened and half the nation bore witness.

The arbiter of right and wrong on these things can never be "Jim McGuinness doesn't like it, don't be annoying poor Jim". He did himself very little credit with his response when literally a hundred other more graceful and de-escalatory options were open to him.

To suggest in an open forum that Tommy Rooney posing a legitimate question, in the course of fulfilling his job description, was somehow going to dictate the course of justice or set the GAA's course of disciplinary action, was borderline preposterous and should have been laughed out of the room. McGuinness really can be a proper gobshite at times.

DaleCooper

Dunneroyal

Disappointing performance in second half yesterday. No excuses cork were worthy winners. But we played excellent in first half, however cork could have had two goals. Our kickout is a major problem. And has to be addressed before next game. If at home in croke park I think we can beat anyone with a few tweaks. Still lot of football to be played
Hon the royal