Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

NotedObserver

Louth under 20s are coming in and making some impact the difference is they are arriving into a well coached experienced established team

Ballygawleyftw

Get rid of the deadwood . Burns , Morgan , Daly etc
Shocking again. Ben McD had a decent game.
Surely McCaughey / Clarke are better than Quinn?

DaleCooper

Always puzzled why Ben didnt kick on after 2021...he is in an awkard position but have always felt him good enough. Certainly better than Burns

I think a lot of people get carried away with the underage success and don't realise that senior intercounty football is a very different type of game.
Watching minor or U20 games tend to be a lot more open and enjoyable to watch. Lot more scope for playing open attacking football and less focus on stopping the other team.
Look at Darragh and McCurry now and how they can be contained in big games and he's quite established at senior level now.
Lots of people think these good U20 players will just walk straight onto the senior team and continue to perform well like they did with their U20 team.

Another major point for me is compare what Jimmy McGuinness has done in Donegal. When he came back in he had a plan and gave everyone in the whole county that strong belief again. He is a great motivator and has that natural personality to lead and create a drive and hunger.
Since 2021 we seem to be in slumber mode and not that bothered if we win or lose.
They have lost the fans interest and now it seems the players arent even that bothered to fight for the jersey. As someone above said Joey Clarke seems to be one of the few with a bit of fire in his belly.

Donegal and Armagh fans turn out in their numbers cos they believe they can win Ulster and maybe the All Ireland. We dont believe we can win two games in a row.

NotedObserver

Quote from: Fuzzman on March 23, 2026, 12:12:42 PMI think a lot of people get carried away with the underage success and don't realise that senior intercounty football is a very different type of game.
Watching minor or U20 games tend to be a lot more open and enjoyable to watch. Lot more scope for playing open attacking football and less focus on stopping the other team.
Look at Darragh and McCurry now and how they can be contained in big games and he's quite established at senior level now.
Lots of people think these good U20 players will just walk straight onto the senior team and continue to perform well like they did with their U20 team.

Another major point for me is compare what Jimmy McGuinness has done in Donegal. When he came back in he had a plan and gave everyone in the whole county that strong belief again. He is a great motivator and has that natural personality to lead and create a drive and hunger.
Since 2021 we seem to be in slumber mode and not that bothered if we win or lose.
They have lost the fans interest and now it seems the players arent even that bothered to fight for the jersey. As someone above said Joey Clarke seems to be one of the few with a bit of fire in his belly.

Donegal and Armagh fans turn out in their numbers cos they believe they can win Ulster and maybe the All Ireland. We dont believe we can win two games in a row.

I would agree, a lot of the 2022 contingent are involved and are still looking years away yet although newer lads Conor ONeill and Joey Clarke have been impressive when playing

giveherlong

The worrying thing yesterday was how easily Cork opened up our defence. Men breaking tackles at ease and players getting in behind for a pop pass not being tracked.
Cork also had long periods of dominance at midfield and breaking ball.
Fair play to Mattie Donnelly- kept bringing the fight. What a servant for county and club.

W.A.G. Lover

Does any of our statistician have a list of the years each club had their last county representative?
I am looking at clubs like Beragh, Gortin, Kildress who have been mainly Intermediate with stints in senior and cant think of their last representative. Alot of Junior clubs also like Brocagh, Derrytresk, etc.

Could this be a factor in the lack of support? Some clubs feel cut off and not represented.

Topoftheworld

Good point WAG - right lock of players in intermediate/junior over the years not even given a chance. Been a fair few Trillick and Errigal lads playing for Tyrone because they start for their club

GAA Club Fan

Quote from: W.A.G. Lover on March 23, 2026, 12:55:30 PMDoes any of our statistician have a list of the years each club had their last county representative?
I am looking at clubs like Beragh, Gortin, Kildress who have been mainly Intermediate with stints in senior and cant think of their last representative. Alot of Junior clubs also like Brocagh, Derrytresk, etc.

Could this be a factor in the lack of support? Some clubs feel cut off and not represented.

I've mentioned this a few months back when 'support' was the topic too.

Geographically not all areas represented eg North Tyrone has zero after having 3 or 4 for years.

Not sure about other counties but serious amount of club football played in Tyrone over the weekend with U14, minor, girls, boys, senior men etc. Im not sure other counties have as big of an affinity at club level. I know personally I went to 2 of our club games over the weekend so had no time, energy etc to want to head to Healy Pk as well, especially with TV access.

Goals_Will_Come

Quote from: W.A.G. Lover on March 23, 2026, 12:55:30 PMDoes any of our statistician have a list of the years each club had their last county representative?

Good question

Ardboe - Shea O'Hare 2025
Carrickmore - 1 current
Coalisland - 4 current
Clonoe - Conor McAliskey, Dan McNulty, Declan McClure 2021
Donaghmore - 3 current
Eglish - 3 current
Dromore - 1 current
Dungannon - Dailagh Jones 2025
Edendork - 4 current
Errigal Ciaran - 4 current
Galbally - Daniel Kerr/Conor Quinn 2022
Killyclogher - 1 current
Loughmacrory - 4 current
Moortown - Tarlach Quinn 2023
Omagh - 1 current
Trillick - 3 current
Aghaloo -
Aghyaran - Ronan McNamee 2023
Beragh -
Cookstown - Owen Mulligan 2012
Clogher - 1 current
Derrylaughan - 1 Current
Drumquin - Oisin Gormley 2025
Greencastle - Cahir McCullagh 2017
Gortin -
Kildress -
Killeeshil - Kevin Hughes 2011
Moy - Michael Conroy 2025
Naomh Eoghan - Kevin Gallagher 2013
Owen Roes - Cathal McShane 2024
Pomeroy - 2 current
Rock - Liam Nugent 2024
Augher - Aidan Cassidy 2013
Derrytresk -
Drumragh -
Eskra - Peter Hughes 2014
Fintona - Ted Garrity 2002
Glenelly -
Stewartstown -
Strabane - Danny McBride 2015/16
Brackaville -
Brocagh -
Castlederg -
Clann na nGael - Stephen O'Neill 2014
Killyman -
Tattyreagh -
Urney - Johnny Lafferty 2013/14

Onthe40

is the development panel still a thing?
Be interested to see who's on it & what clubs represented...
its maybe pretty fluid hence why its not well advertised

phpearse

That really was a poor performance yesterday from Tyrone. I know when you on the back foot that players will look unfit and slow but there was never really a period in that game that the Tyrone players looked to get a second wind and push on. A lot of half decent play ended in a missed pass, running into tackles. All the Cork lads had to do was run along side the Tyrone player and eventually they would drop the ball or solo into a tackle or give the ball away. Some of the lads are game and will run and try and tackle all day but them same players don't have the physical size for intercounty football and don't have the power to break a tackle or stop a player.

Primary possession is key now. Tyrone will go into games now where they know they will loose the majority of their own kickouts. Brian Kennedy can only do so much by himself. They aren't winning enough breaking ball and the short kickout is not an option any more with the new rules. Tyrone are not good enough to win games with little possession. 

Topoftheworld

Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on March 23, 2026, 02:55:48 PM

Good question

Ardboe - Shea O'Hare 2025
Carrickmore - 1 current
Coalisland - 4 current
Clonoe - Conor McAliskey, Dan McNulty, Declan McClure 2021
Donaghmore - 3 current
Eglish - 3 current
Dromore - 1 current
Dungannon - 1 current - Dailagh Jones 2026
Edendork - 4 current
Errigal Ciaran - 4 current
Galbally - Daniel Kerr/Conor Quinn 2022, Cormac Donnelly 2024 i think
Killyclogher - 1 current
Loughmacrory - 4 current
Moortown - Tarlach Quinn 2023
Omagh - 1 current
Trillick - 3 current
Aghaloo -
Aghyaran - Ronan McNamee 2023
Beragh - Conor Owens Mckenna cup early 2024
Cookstown - Owen Mulligan 2012
Clogher - 1 current
Derrylaughan - 1 Current
Drumquin - Oisin Gormley 2025
Greencastle - Cahir McCullagh 2017
Gortin -
Kildress - Dean McNally 2014?
Killeeshil - Kevin Hughes 2011
Moy - Michael Conroy 2025
Naomh Eoghan - Kevin Gallagher 2013
Owen Roes - Cathal McShane 2024
Pomeroy - 2 current
Rock - Liam Nugent 2024
Augher - Aidan Cassidy 2013
Derrytresk -
Drumragh -
Eskra - Peter Hughes 2014
Fintona - Ted Garrity 2002
Glenelly -
Stewartstown - Gareth Devlin?
Strabane - Danny McBride 2015/16
Brackaville -
Brocagh -
Castlederg -
Clann na nGael - Stephen O'Neill 2014
Killyman -
Tattyreagh -
Urney - Johnny Lafferty 2013/14

God14

Quote from: phpearse on March 23, 2026, 03:20:22 PMThat really was a poor performance yesterday from Tyrone. I know when you on the back foot that players will look unfit and slow but there was never really a period in that game that the Tyrone players looked to get a second wind and push on. A lot of half decent play ended in a missed pass, running into tackles. All the Cork lads had to do was run along side the Tyrone player and eventually they would drop the ball or solo into a tackle or give the ball away. Some of the lads are game and will run and try and tackle all day but them same players don't have the physical size for intercounty football and don't have the power to break a tackle or stop a player.

Primary possession is key now. Tyrone will go into games now where they know they will loose the majority of their own kickouts. Brian Kennedy can only do so much by himself. They aren't winning enough breaking ball and the short kickout is not an option any more with the new rules. Tyrone are not good enough to win games with little possession. 

100% on the above

Its poor at the end of a rubbish 5 point league campaign we never even tried any of the bigger lads on the panel. For example Ruairi McHugh, and McGleenan both got no game time at all really, despite been named in many 26 man match day squads.

square_ball

Quote from: phpearse on March 23, 2026, 03:20:22 PMPrimary possession is key now. Tyrone will go into games now where they know they will loose the majority of their own kickouts. Brian Kennedy can only do so much by himself. They aren't winning enough breaking ball and the short kickout is not an option any more with the new rules. Tyrone are not good enough to win games with little possession. 

There was a few times yesterday when Kennedy was going up for the kickout and then was also the man scrapping for the break ball on the ground off the same kickout.