GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2007, 07:43:15 PM

Title: Tír Eoghain vs Ciarraí
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2007, 07:43:15 PM
After a welcome result in Limerick, if not as welcome a peformance, time to look forward to Saturday night a chairde (not that I'm the official thread-starter, just eager!  ;))

Unavailable
C Mc Ginley
Seán Cavanagh
Brian Mc Guigan
M Magee

The team to start (wishful)

P Mc Connell

R Mc Menamin                                                   Joe Mc Mahon                                                  D Carlin

D Harte                                                            C Gormley (if fit)                                            Justin Mc Mahon                                                   

Raymond Mulgrew                                   Kevin Hughes

B Dooher (capt)                                                 O Mulligan                                                        Ryan Mellon

O'Neill                                                               Paul Rouse                                                        Niall Gormley

Subs                          

J Curran
E Mc Ginley
C Mc Cullagh
P Jordan
D Mc Caul
M Penrose
C Cavanagh
T Mc Guigan
C Mc Carron
P Donnelly
Kelvin Hughes

Good few ifs and buts in that selection, i.e., will Mulligan be back on terms, will Mulgrew be over his flu, will Jordan be fit for the bench, etc. 
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Ciarraí
Post by: ziggysego on March 26, 2007, 07:44:57 PM
How come Paul Rouse is both starting and on the sub's bench? ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2007, 07:52:27 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 26, 2007, 07:44:57 PM
How come Paul Rouse is both starting and on the sub's bench? ;)

The first to spot that deliberate error, well done!  :)
Post by: Deal_Me_In on March 27, 2007, 06:01:33 AM
Not a bad team there Fear but i doubt if Mulligan will start, on the bench yes but MH can be a stubborn man when he wants and will probably want to prove his point (again). I think you could see O'Neill starting at CHF and McGinley in the Corner acting as a 3rd midfielder when needed
Post by: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 08:00:01 AM
It would have done no harm to see Donaghy against Tyrone, I thought he was taken out by Donega.  Anyone?
Post by: imtommygunn on March 27, 2007, 08:19:39 AM
Donaghy apparently out for 8 weeks with a dislocated shoulder.

It'd have been interesting to see what tactics master tactician Harte would have employed against him. I suspect Gormley dropping back to sweep up a la 2005 final against Gooch would have been his answer.

Raymoond Mulgrew looks an excellent prospect but would he really have the physical power yet to play in midfield??

He looks to have the makings of an excellent half forward but midfield??
Post by: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 08:30:36 AM
Definitely not after saturday anyway.  The lad has great potential as a half forward even no 11, he scored 3 points on Saturday.  But both him and Cavanagh came a cropper on Saturday in midfield and it was due to a lack of power so I couldnt see either being an option for the seniors in the centre zone.  Thats why I keep saying we need to get 1 midfielder and 1 back up player from Hub, Hughes and Donnelly.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2007, 08:34:30 AM
Quote from: Deal_Me_In on March 27, 2007, 06:01:33 AM
Not a bad team there Fear but i doubt if Mulligan will start, on the bench yes but MH can be a stubborn man when he wants and will probably want to prove his point (again). I think you could see O'Neill starting at CHF and McGinley in the Corner acting as a 3rd midfielder when needed

Agreed, if Mulligans's a non-starter I'd say you're correct there, Mc Ginley was important dropping back against Limerick and he'll be in the frame for a starting place regardless of who's available I'd imagine.

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 27, 2007, 08:19:39 AM

Raymoond Mulgrew looks an excellent prospect but would he really have the physical power yet to play in midfield??

He looks to have the makings of an excellent half forward but midfield??

True, it's a risk, especially against a midfield pairing like O'Sé and Griffin, but I could see Mellon being the 3rd midfielder here -- did some great battling and fielding against Limerick, and depending on Hughes to boss it a bit, though MH would need to be ready to change things very quickly if this wasn't working out. 
Post by: Over the Bar on March 27, 2007, 09:29:08 AM
If Tyrone are losing the physical battle in MF there's always Enda or Joe McMahon to throw into the mix. 
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 27, 2007, 09:46:25 AM
Having watched Mulgrew in midfield for the U-21s against Armagh of Saturday past, there is no way on god's earth that he would be ready to play midfield at senior level.

He was completely out muscled on Saturday and at times even seemed reluctant to put himself into ariel challanges, he was eventually moved to chf in the second half before getting the line.

The cub is a class player without a doubt but at senior level for the time being he needs to be played on the wing and not through the middle where he will get squashed
Post by: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 09:48:11 AM
Well then we'll not be complaining if we dont score then,  Do you agree we should be playing games with 4 forwards as opposed to 6. Mellon must have done alright in Limerick, if hes guaranteed his place again because hes been terrible all year.  BTW lets not forget Raymies age, Is it testament to Tyrones slump that last year everybody thought he was way too young and light whilst this year yes have him as a midfielder. Unreal.
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 27, 2007, 10:00:46 AM
Apols RRHF, didn't see your earlier post making the same point about the midfield in the U-21 game.

This is a game that they need to win to keep pace with the teams aiming for the top 4, so I think he needs to select more scoring forwards (Mulgrew included). Mellon and McGinley bring similar attributes to the game, regular scoring isn't one of these and starting both as forwards does limit your scoring options I would start both but have one of them in midfield with Kevin Hughes.

A score of 1-08 will achieve nothing against Kerry, the selection of the front 6 needs to reflect this. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2007, 10:01:05 AM
Quote from: uselessfootballer on March 27, 2007, 09:46:25 AM
Having watched Mulgrew in midfield for the U-21s against Armagh of Saturday past, there is no way on god's earth that he would be ready to play midfield at senior level.

He was completely out muscled on Saturday and at times even seemed reluctant to put himself into ariel challanges, he was eventually moved to chf in the second half before getting the line.

The cub is a class player without a doubt but at senior level for the time being he needs to be played on the wing and not through the middle where he will get squashed

Fair enough, didn't realise he was so outmuscled on Saturday, and thought he had graduated somewhat this year from what I'd seen -- Kerry is definitely not the game in such a case. Enda will need to start, maybe Raymie on as a wing half-forward.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2007, 10:12:56 AM
P Mc Connell
McMenamin,  McMahon, Carlin
Harte, Gormley, Mc Mahon
McGinley, Kevin Hughes
Dooher, Mulgrew, Mellon
McCullagh, O'Neill, Gormley

I'd try to get some semblance of continuity in defence. If Gormley hasn't recovered I can see Donnelly drafted in somewhere maybe even at FB with McMahon at CHB.

Mulligan hopefully has the kick-up-the-arse required and could displace Gormley at corner forward. I'd try Mulgrew in the McGuigan role.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 10:22:55 AM
Mulgrew looks like a no 11 to me.  We need Niall Mc Ginn on aagainst Kerry.  :P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2007, 10:28:28 AM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 10:22:55 AM
Mulgrew looks like a no 11 to me.  We need Niall Mc Ginn on aagainst Kerry.  :P

Is he remotely in the frame?
Post by: nrico2006 on March 27, 2007, 11:15:05 AM
He has the ability, and although not the strongest or biggestit is not a major requirement for the number 11 position.  He has the vision to be a very able replacement while mcguigan is out.  If not Mulgrew, Ger Cavlan certainly has to start at 11.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2007, 11:43:25 AM
So what about this Kerry team? They lined out v Donegal

D Murphy;
M O Se, T O'Sullivan, M Lyons;
T O Se, A O'Mahony, P Reidy;
D O Se, T Griffin;
B Sheehan, S Scanlon, D Walsh;
D Quill, K Donaghy, MF Russell.

With Donaghy out I believe they may be drafting in Declan O'Sullivan for this one. Paul Galvin, Darren and Sean O'Sullivan may well be included if Declan isn't fit yet.

I hate to see the raiding Tomas O Se on the opposing team - always causes us no end of trouble. Who's going to put it up to Dara O'Se? Ricey on Russell? Quill is another handful. We're doomed I tell you.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 12:35:31 PM
O neill you have called it.  I believe Tyrone need to field as experimental a team as possible V Kerry.  Because we are for a hammering and believe me Kerry will not go soft on us. Kerry mike must be rubbing his hands with glee seeking revenge for the 2003 and 2005 all ireland defeats.  Give them no moral victory whatsoever.  The Kerry fans who go to the match on Saturday night will be going looking the blood of Tyrone men.  Shame on them all. ;)   
Division 2 football is a certainty for us this after this year.  But we will be back with hope in our hearts. 
Come on Tyrone youre on your own 
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2007, 01:18:13 PM
QuoteO neill you have called it.  I believe Tyrone need to field as experimental a team as possible V Kerry.  Because we are for a hammering and believe me Kerry will not go soft on us. Kerry mike must be rubbing his hands with glee seeking revenge for the 2003 and 2005 all ireland defeats.  Give them no moral victory whatsoever.  The Kerry fans who go to the match on Saturday night will be going looking the blood of Tyrone men.  Shame on them all.

Kerry Cute-hoorism at its greatest. Have you Kerry blood in you RRHF?

One true thing is we wont be going soft on ye. It should make for a physical encounter I'd say. You cant beat a good bit of skelping in March, to warm fellows up on a cold evening, and that's only in the crowd....

We have our problems after last weekends and the Big Don will be a huge loss, would have been interesting to see him against the county that he could have played for.

I would say the Kerry backs will show a change from the Donegal game with possibly Brendan Guiney in for Mossy Lyons. Padraig Reidy will need improvement.The other backs will be as were , but need to see a more competive full back line. Aidan O'Mahony to pick up Stephen O'Neill, should be a good clash. Tomas O'Se is carring an injury so will be a battle for him to be fit.

If Canavan togs out we are togging out Seamus Moynihan.

Midfield will be as was with hopefully a good performance from Darragh O'Se and hopefully he will have the elbows well greased. Tommy Griffin needs to really get stuck in , we were slaughtered at midfield against a physically big Donegal so we need to control the tempo of the game from here to allow a platform for the Kerry forwards.

I'd expect Paul Galvin to start on the wing with Scanlon and Walsh holding onto the other half forward positions. It will be MFR and Quill in the corners and I would think either Sheehan or Sean Sullivan filling in for Donaghy. Seamus Scanlon may also be tried again at 14 and his height might be the key. That would leave possibly Bryan Sheenan at centre forward.

Will see tomorrow what the team will be, Declan O'Sullivan is only back and cant see him being involved.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2007, 02:36:50 PM
The worst thing about a Tyrone/Kerry meeting is the clash of accents. No one can understand the other. I remember going into a shop down there and asking for a Chilly Willy ice-lolly and she gave me a packet of 20 Lambert and Butler and a whoopie cushion. I also played in a band with an oul Kerry lad in Birmingham called Maurice Long with the thickest Kerry accent and him in the Brum for 40 odd years. We ended up using nods as communication for 2 years.

Anyway, RRHF has called it right. Tyrone are in disarray, Kerry are still gurning at the fact that they haven't defeated the Red Hands in championship football since 1986 (last century, 21 years ago).
Don't let the children watch it.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2007, 02:53:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2007, 02:36:50 PM
The worst thing about a Tyrone/Kerry meeting is the clash of accents. No one can understand the other.

And the north Kerry folk haven't a clue what the south Kerry folk are on about, so t'will be mightly craic all round. T'is no wonder they're the kingpins of football, it's the primary means of communication!   ;D
Post by: realredhandfan on March 27, 2007, 02:59:25 PM
Will yes bring Sam up to to the pitch to give us a wee look at er. Could be a long time before we'll see her again.   :'(
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2007, 03:14:59 PM
QuoteThe worst thing about a Tyrone/Kerry meeting is the clash of accents. No one can understand the other.

yerra I haven't a clue what ye are on about.

QuoteCould be a long time before we'll see her again

Sam was a male not a Samantha. No wonder ye have only won it twice, its the little things like that, that make a difference.

QuoteWill yes bring Sam up to to the pitch to give us a wee look at er

We might bring it along to Croke Park in September if ye are are around for it.

QuoteAnd the north Kerry folk haven't a clue what the south Kerry folk are on about,

yerra that's the truth so it is.

Quoteand if we tog out frank mcguigan

ye are in more trouble than ye care to admit...
Post by: Over the Bar on March 27, 2007, 10:26:55 PM
Mickey shud let them bate us just like in Killarney in 05 to once again lure them into the superiority complex.  Then come the summer there's no doubt they'll be bate by half-time yet again and Paisley will be getting PR snaps with the Sam Maguire before Pat O'Shea's boys have got back as far as Cashel.   The only thing the bogmen will be winning this year is the turf!! 
Post by: ziggysego on March 27, 2007, 10:39:32 PM
QuoteThe worst thing about a Tyrone/Kerry meeting is the clash of accents. No one can understand the other.

yerra I haven't a clue what ye are on about.

Wat?

QuoteCould be a long time before we'll see her again

Sam was a male not a Samantha. No wonder ye have only won it twice, its the little things like that, that make a difference.

She could have lost something that defined her as a man, during the many many time Kerry misplaced her

QuoteWill yes bring Sam up to to the pitch to give us a wee look at er

We might bring it along to Croke Park in September if ye are are around for it.

I'll bring the Cremartin Shamrock Cup down for you to see

QuoteAnd the north Kerry folk haven't a clue what the south Kerry folk are on about,

A bit like East and West Tyrone

Quoteand if we tog out frank mcguigan

ye are in more trouble than ye care to admit...

Couldn't be any worst than when Canavan togged out
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 27, 2007, 11:35:21 PM
Quotebefore Jack O'Connors boys have got back as far as Cashel

..are ye playing Dromid next year ?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 28, 2007, 08:23:45 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 27, 2007, 10:39:32 PM

A bit like East and West Tyrone

Pardon, could you repeat that?  ;)
Post by: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 09:00:33 AM
In East Tyrone lakes are loughs and cakes are ./...

As for Kerry V Tyrone Id play Rouse at full forward for this game.  O neill is still playing poorly and Mulligan and Harte arent speaking obviously.
Post by: tieroan on March 28, 2007, 09:43:51 AM
I heard this morning that Conor Gormley has a broken wrist? Anyone know anything abpout it?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 28, 2007, 10:06:27 AM
Quote from: tieroan on March 28, 2007, 09:43:51 AM
I heard this morning that Conor Gormley has a broken wrist? Anyone know anything abpout it?

According to the BBC:

Defender Conor Gormley is likely to be available for Saturday night's crunch tie with Kerry in Tralee after a staved thumb forced him to miss the weekend win over Limerick.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 28, 2007, 01:10:39 PM
If McGinly has recovered from that calf strain, I wonder will he be back at number 3. McMahon could be moved into the middle to try and get to grips with O'Se
Post by: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 01:18:08 PM
I think the Hub man finished strongly on Sunday in midfield, Dara has yet to get the better of him.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 28, 2007, 01:20:42 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 01:18:08 PM
I think the Hub man finished strongly on Sunday in midfield, Dara has yet to get the better of him.

Yep, he's a must for the centre -- we badly need that presence there.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 28, 2007, 01:28:37 PM
I hope you're right. Collie Holmes must be close to a runnout as well. If ever we need to get something from midfield, it's against Kerry. Hopefully, Dooher will start his hoovering soon. He didn't get too break against Donegal at Healy Park and from the Q101 coverage it didn't sound as though he seen too much on Sunday. I suppose it's games that he needs.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 28, 2007, 01:40:48 PM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on March 28, 2007, 01:28:37 PM
I hope you're right. Collie Holmes must be close to a runnout as well. If ever we need to get something from midfield, it's against Kerry. Hopefully, Dooher will start his hoovering soon. He didn't get too break against Donegal at Healy Park and from the Q101 coverage it didn't sound as though he seen too much on Sunday. I suppose it's games that he needs.

Yeah, Dooher wasn't great on Sunday, gifted possession to Limerick too often.  The workrate and rhythm are increasing though, and he should click into gear anytime now.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 28, 2007, 02:04:26 PM
QuotePosted by: Fear ón Srath Bán 
Insert
Yeah, Dooher wasn't great on Sunday, gifted possession to Limerick too often.  The workrate and rhythm are increasing though, and he should click into gear anytime now.

Agree.  Hes only back and people have been criticising his performances as if hes never been away.  Give him a few more games and he will be back to his best.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 04:11:31 PM
Anything we get from Dooher this year will be a bonus considering the mans age and injury etc. Im now starting to believe that Tyrone are in a transitional period and will be for at least one more year.  This period has as much been brought on by horrific bad luck as opposed to players retiring and being over the hill.  All we ask is that everybody gives 100 % out on the field, and we'll not complain.  A lot of these players owe Tyrone football nothing, and they have still their shoulder to the wheel.  A lot of them may not give one ball of blue over the league and only care for the championship.  Whatever it is we'll still field strong come June.     
Post by: Star Spangler on March 28, 2007, 11:31:35 PM
From the BBC.

QuoteTyrone boss denies axing reports 

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has denied reports that he has axed Owen Mulligan and Gerard Cavlan from his squad.
Speculation was fuelled when both players were omitted from the 30-man panel that defeated Limerick on Sunday.

But Harte said that both Mulligan and Cavlan were still a part of the overall squad.

"The decision is based on the inability to take part in recent training sessions. It's a question of selecting 30 committed players," said Harte.

"Recently Owen seems to have been busy with his work and he has missed some crucial training sessions.

"Ger has been picking up a lot of injuries. He hasn't been able to train and he has been spending a lot of time with the physiotherapist," said Harte who categorically denied that the pair had been omitted due to disciplinary reasons.

Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 28, 2007, 11:58:29 PM
Humiliation is what I dread. Cork made us look like fools. Kerry could eat us alive. Donegal certainly did lar na pairc!. I wanna see Hub give O'Se his fill of it, will it happen, I don't think so. If hub does the business, I'll be the first man to climb down and say yes, hub for midfield.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 29, 2007, 12:38:21 AM

McConnell
       Ricey               Joe McMahon          Carlin

Harte                  Gormley            Justin McMahon

Mellon       Hub (not allowed to shoot)

Dooher               O'Neill             Mulgrew

McCarron             Rouse         Gormley/ McCullagh

Don't see any reason in the world why that team wouldn't give Kerry Problems,
The pessimism is very strange here ???
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on March 29, 2007, 01:38:47 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 29, 2007, 12:38:21 AM

McConnell

I was thinking the same thing myself on the pessimistic tone. Tyrone will be all right - the bad patch has hopefully ended with the Limerick win, albeit an unconvincing win. Meeting Kerry should be enough to lift the whole panel another bit and I'm expecting a close exciting game.
Hopefully Hub can keep improving from here on (I heard once that Dara O Se said Hub was his toughest opponent) and Mellon can keep showing some signs of improvement too.
I'd be happy with most of that team above (particularly the first 12) but with McGuigan now out for another while I'd like to see Mulgrew tried at no. 11. How many of the U21s might be playing this time?
What's the story with Mugsy (and Cavo) and Jordan at the moment? Plus how long more will we be without Cavanagh?

Post by: Tyrones own on March 29, 2007, 01:44:12 AM
  Actually i would have no problem with Mulgrew in CHF and O'Neill at his familiar 12 to be honest.
It wouldn't do mugsy any harm to be sat down imo, his head does need some sorting out.
Its not like we don't have nifty forwards champing at the bit looking for his position. Mellon might be a good option
to partner Hub, he's tall enough and very strong in the air, he's just not a corner forward and
he'll tell you that himself.
Post by: Flirtyflan on March 29, 2007, 01:56:55 AM
Heard tonight that Mickey Murphy has pulled out of the panel
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 08:32:41 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 29, 2007, 12:38:21 AM

McConnell

True, we're too pessimistic by half, and Hub should be allowed to shoot -- scored a peach at the weekend with his only shot at the sticks, but I think the accuracy might be improving there too.  We may need Mc Ginley in your selection there, just for the presence and graft.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:44:01 AM
Quote from: Flirtyflan on March 29, 2007, 01:56:55 AM
Heard tonight that Mickey Murphy has pulled out of the panel

Good player, but I thought it was a year early for him.
Post by: tieroan on March 29, 2007, 11:29:18 AM
Tell me what anyone sees in Cathal McCarron as a county senior player? I see him as a good talent but who can put the ball over the bar when unchallenged. Can he go out and win his own ball? A guy who works for me from Omagh actually shares the same view point as me, and that he goes missing in the bigger games for Omagh on regular occasion. His problem is that he is to timid if you catch my drift.
On Mellon. He hates playing corner forward, he is a great half forward and in my opinion could be a great midfielder
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2007, 12:26:10 PM
Spot on on both accounts.

McCarron reminded me of Mark Harte in many ways.
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 29, 2007, 12:44:36 PM
Tell me this though...who the bleddy hell is 'Hub'?  ???
Post by: tyroneman on March 29, 2007, 12:55:23 PM
Ryan Mellon had a phenomenal game against Galway in the NFL 2003, just before his illness started. His partnership with Sean C looked very promising that day.

I know with one game it doesn't automatically follow etc etc however the potential was there.

Mellon has good ability on the ball, can shoot and is a very decent fielder. I can't see any reson he is not worth a go in MF.

In addition he can handle high pressure games (see 2005 AIF). Playing him at CF does little for his confidence and gets about 60% of his ability (same when Hub and Sean C play in the forward line). People then get on his back and a cycle starts.

At this point I would have start looking at the Championship line out as far as possible. Players need games together to gel.

McConnell

Ricey                           - Joey -                      Carlin / McGee (much of a muchness)

Harte                          - Block -                      McMahon / Jordan (needs games soon)

Hub - Mellon / Holmes (until Sean C available)

Dooher                   - Cavo / Mulgrew -            Cavo / Mulgrew / McGinley

SON                           - Mugsy -                     McGinn

Add in McGuigan when available - there we go.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 12:59:10 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on March 29, 2007, 12:44:36 PM
Tell me this though...who the bleddy hell is 'Hub'?  ???

Hub is Kevin Hughes, and that makes it a bit easier now not to get mixed up between himself and Kelvin Hughes.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 01:01:37 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 29, 2007, 12:55:23 PM
Ryan Mellon had a phenomenal game against Galway in the NFL 2003, just before his illness started. His partnership with Sean C looked very promising that day.

I know with one game it doesn't automatically follow etc etc however the potential was there.

Mellon has good ability on the ball, can shoot and is a very decent fielder. I can't see any reson he is not worth a go in MF.

In addition he can handle high pressure games (see 2005 AIF). Playing him at CF does little for his confidence and gets about 60% of his ability (same when Hub and Sean C play in the forward line). People then get on his back and a cycle starts.

I agree, I had him as man of the match that day -- seemed like he was everywhere in the top third and caused Galway all sorts of problems in Pomeroy.  That's exactly the game he reminded me of against Limerick on Sunday, such was his energy and commitment.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 29, 2007, 01:14:43 PM
My pessimism is based solely on our last 3 outings. A 3/10, 4/10 & 5/10. As Harte says himself, we're playing in patches and need to turn these purple patches into 70 minutes or something near it. Without Cavanagh and Stevie O' Neill so low on confidence, I think these next 2 games look menacing. O'Neill is our major scoring threat. The simplest of frees are starting to look difficult for him. In 2005 he was untouchable. Genius in fact. I hope he starts finding the gears soon. Other forwards need to stand up and be counted in Kerry. Boys like Gormley and McCullough if selected, could nail a starting slot for the championship. Mugsy and Cavlan, well, I'll wait to see the team announced tonight.

Of course, when you add Jordan, Cav & McGuigan to the mix, with Dooher hoovering, I'll be brimming with optimism during the summer months.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 02:18:40 PM
If thats Niall Mc ginn you talking about you are winding me up...Eh cheek...  Even I wouldnt almost subconciously insert him into a Tyrone team without attempting to get Fear on Srath Ban, O Neill, Lobbied and on my side to back the selection up.  Cheeky But I like your style. :)
Post by: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 02:22:30 PM
interesting Ill make a prediction now that before the enn of the season therell be 3 Donaghmore men, 3 omagh men, 2 Dromore men, 3 Moy men 2 Clann na gael men all on the one team whilst theres only 1 Ballygawley and carmen man.  How the balance of power is shifting.   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 02:25:13 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 02:18:40 PM
If thats Niall Mc ginn you talking about you are winding me up...Eh cheek...  Even I wouldnt almost subconciously insert him into a Tyrone team without attempting to get Fear on Srath Ban, O Neill, Lobbied and on my side to back the selection up.  Cheeky But I like your style. :)

Right there RRHF, Niall Gormley maybe, but not Niall Mc Ginn, just yet...  ;)
Post by: loughshore lad on March 29, 2007, 03:04:46 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 02:22:30 PM
interesting Ill make a prediction now that before the enn of the season therell be 3 Donaghmore men, 3 omagh men, 2 Dromore men, 3 Moy men 2 Clann na gael men all on the one team whilst theres only 1 Ballygawley and carmen man.  How the balance of power is shifting.   

I will make a prediction also, if RRHF's prediction comes true I predict it wont be a very long year!
Post by: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 03:09:51 PM
Tell horse he owes me a new plasma
Post by: loughshore lad on March 29, 2007, 03:17:47 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 03:09:51 PM
Tell horse he owes me a new plasma

Some people have very short memories. At the end of the day and reguardless of what has transpired over the last few years no one can dispute that in 2003 Horse played a huge role in what was the most significant year in Tyrones football history. He may have gone off the boil since but in 2003 he was one of the key men.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on March 29, 2007, 04:19:14 PM
Conor Gormley broken thumb so is out fot several weeks :)
Post by: Tyrones own on March 29, 2007, 04:29:37 PM

In regards to that Hub Should be allowed to shoot, its just awfully frustrating that since his return
probably 6 out the 7 shots he has taken have been straight in to the keepers hands.
He's in there to do a job and trying to kick points is not it!
Post by: Wee Roddy on March 29, 2007, 05:15:39 PM
Indeed Conor Gormley has a broken thumb. Tieroan said that earlier in the week but because the very accurate BBC Website said he should be ok for the Kerry game, everyone thought he was. It is a cruel blow to Conor and indeed his club as he will be out for month to six weeks.
Realredhandfan, you said the balance of power is changing. Perhaps it is but not because of County representation. We got to 3 finals in a row (1999,2000,2001) winning 2, without a county player in sight and won the 2004 and 2005 championship with 1 county player, namely Conor Gormley, and were narrowly beaten in last years with no county men as Conor was injured.

Flirtyflan, is there any chance of a wee clue as to your identity so as us Carmen ones can stick together?
Post by: realredhandfan on March 29, 2007, 05:22:50 PM
Wee Roddy very much tongue in cheek in relation to the overload of Donaghmore men anyway. 
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2007, 07:29:00 PM
Will be out of contact for the weekend, best of luck to any Tyronies venturing to the Kingdom on Sat.

No Kerry team just yet but we need to bate ye  ;)

Best of luck to both teams.

Ciarrai Abu

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 07:40:08 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2007, 07:29:00 PM
Will be out of contact for the weekend, best of luck to any Tyronies venturing to the Kingdom on Sat.

No Kerry team just yet but we need to bate ye  ;)

Best of luck to both teams.

Ciarrai Abu

Gurab amhlaidh duitse a chara, Tír Eoghain abú! Sláinte.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 29, 2007, 08:35:07 PM
Quotewhilst theres only 1 Ballygawley and carmen man

So who between Enda McGinley and Davy Harte do you think will be dropped??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 08:37:31 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 29, 2007, 08:35:07 PM
Quotewhilst theres only 1 Ballygawley and carmen man

So who between Enda McGinley and Davy Harte do you think will be dropped??

Neither I'd say, not with Conor Gormley injured.  If Mickey Magee's back I could see Justin Mc Mahon CHB, and Magee in the left corner, with Dermy Carlin LHB.
Title: tir eoghain Teams
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 29, 2007, 09:15:00 PM
Tyrone Teams Selected
29 Mar 2007

The Tír Eoghain team to play Ciarraí in the Allianz NFL Division 1A on Saturday evening in Tralee at 7.30 pm is:

Pascal McConnell, Ryan McMenamin, Peter Donnelly, Dermot Carlin, Davy Harte, Conor Gormley, Justin McMahon, Kevin Hughes, Enda McGinley, Brian Dooher (Capt.), Martin Penrose, Ryan Mellon, Niall Gormley, Colm McCullagh, Stephen O'Neill

Subs: Jonathan Curran, Colm Cavanagh, Colm Donnelly, Ciaran Gourley, Colin Holmes, Kelvin Hughes, Aiden McCarron, Cathal McCarron, Damian McCaul, Tommy McGuigan, Joe McMahon, Raymond Mulgrew, Paul Quinn, Paul Rouse, Declan Treanor

The Tír Eoghain team to play Longfort in the Allianz NHL Div 3B on Sunday afternoon in Longford at 3.30 pm is:

Declan McCabe, Tony Hughes, Damian Maguire, Sean Og Grogan, Niall McDermott, Terry McIntosh (Capt),.Leigh Moore, Ryan Winters, Noel Hurson, Paul Lavery, Paul Hughes, Peadar McMahon, Cathal McErlean, John Kerr, Justin Kelly

Subs: John Devlin, Sean Paul Begley, Brian Daly, Paddy Devine, Stephen Donnelly, Michael McCullough, David Lavery, Jimmy Treacy, Padraig McHugh, Sean O'Hagan, Barry O'Neill, Joe O'Neill, Ryan O'Neill, Shane O'Neill, Barry Winters
Post by: tyroneman on March 29, 2007, 09:18:54 PM
Sorry lads.............was daydreaming earlier - meant Niall Gormley, not McGinn  ::)

Anyhow..............Donnelly at FB..FFS what has he got to do to be fecked out of the county set up. JOe McMahon needs games, Donnelly just needs the road.

Mugsy still not forgiven either  :-\
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:21:23 PM
As per the listing:

Pascal McConnell

Ryan McMenamin                                  Peter Donnelly                                                       Dermot Carlin

Davy Harte                                          Conor Gormley                                                       Justin McMahon

Kevin Hughes                                      Enda McGinley

Brian Dooher (Capt.),                           Martin Penrose                                                        Ryan Mellon

Niall Gormley                                       Colm McCullagh                                                       Stephen O'Neill

Subs: Jonathan Curran, Colm Cavanagh, Colm Donnelly, Ciaran Gourley, Colin Holmes, Kelvin Hughes, Aiden McCarron, Cathal McCarron, Damian McCaul, Tommy McGuigan, Joe McMahon, Raymond Mulgrew, Paul Quinn, Paul Rouse, Declan Treanor

OK, Joe Mc Mahon on the bench, Carmen having us on about Conor Gormley, fingers crossed for the bould Peter Donnelly...

Post by: never kickt a ball on March 29, 2007, 09:25:41 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:21:23 PM

OK, Joe Mc Mahon on the bench, Carmen having us on about Conor Gormley,

What's the betting McMahon replaces Gormley before throw in goes to full back with Donnelly CHB?Tyrone win the game but lose it over their innacurate teamsheet  ;D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:32:50 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 29, 2007, 09:25:41 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:21:23 PM

OK, Joe Mc Mahon on the bench, Carmen having us on about Conor Gormley,

What's the betting McMahon replaces Gormley before throw in goes to full back with Donnelly CHB?Tyrone win the game but lose it over their innacurate teamsheet  ;D

Wouldn't surprise me, there's something or other afoot.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 29, 2007, 09:43:59 PM
I can only see a defeat on Saturday evening but i will be happy to eat humble pie if they do manage to beat Kerry. Penrose at CHF is a poor move, he will have no impact at all on saturday. Donnelly at FB is a strange one - the dogs in the street know he isnt county standard and he must be doing something pretty special in training to get his place. Agree with previous poster that McMahon needs games at this stage of the year. Ah well still have faith in mickey - its all about the championship at the end of the day!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:54:40 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 29, 2007, 09:43:59 PM
I can only see a defeat on Saturday evening but i will be happy to eat humble pie if they do manage to beat Kerry. Penrose at CHF is a poor move, he will have no impact at all on saturday. Donnelly at FB is a strange one - the dogs in the street know he isnt county standard and he must be doing something pretty special in training to get his place. Agree with previous poster that McMahon needs games at this stage of the year. Ah well still have faith in mickey - its all about the championship at the end of the day!!

I wouldn't be so pessimistic, that triumvirate of Hughes, Mc Ginley and Mellon in midfield is, potentially, an awesome combination. Here's hoping they can all produce.

Anybody know when they're travelling down?
Post by: reddgnhand on March 29, 2007, 10:19:51 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:54:40 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 29, 2007, 09:43:59 PM

I wouldn't be so pessimistic, that triumvirate of Hughes, Mc Ginley and Mellon in midfield is, potentially, an awesome combination. Here's hoping they can all produce.

Anybody know when they're travelling down?

Friday night and that team is shite. Gonna be the same story. That half forward line is just going to run into trouble all night and the full forward line wont see enough ball to put up a decent score.. 
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2007, 10:26:17 PM
Well that's the team I called on page1, except for the Penrose inclusion. I had Mulgrew in there and still would have. A strange one although I can see Hughes and McGinley spoiling O'Se with Dooher and Penrose hoovering the breaking ball. Penrose excelled in this role during Dooher's absence in the NFL last year but I don't think there's room for the two of them. Penrose might keep tabs on the foraging Tomas O'Se.

Apart from that i'm very happy with the defence although if Gormley is missing it'll be a massive loss, almost insurmountable against the kingdom. In all honesty, to win this we need the real Stephen O'Neill to stand up.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 10:29:38 PM
Penrose and Dooher will vacuum up the whole half-forward line between them (and the dropping back forwards), with Mellon dropping back into midfield, that's why Penrose has been picked here. Hold the post mortems lads, we'll have plenty of time for those, and in the meantime shoulder to the wheel.
Post by: magickingdom on March 29, 2007, 11:00:21 PM
is this a tyrone shakedown? reading this you'd think ye didnt have a chance. we've no donaghy to put the ball in the back of yere net 4 times in the first half. must trot along to the bookies in the am and toss a few bob on yere poor hapless team....
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 11:12:00 PM
Yep, we haven't a prayer, don't even know why the lads are travelling down, or why Mickey Harte even picked a team!  ;)
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 29, 2007, 11:20:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 29, 2007, 10:26:17 PM
with Dooher and Penrose hoovering the breaking ball.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 10:29:38 PM
Penrose and Dooher will vacuum up the whole half-forward line between them (
Quoteis this a tyrone shakedown?

FFS lads what's going on here. I suppose you want O'Neill to stand upright and Ricey (the dirt devil) to take his man to the cleaners. Hub to dust up the Kerry midfielders and all attacks to filter through McGinley while Gormley acts as a sweeper at the back. Let's just hope that Tyrone bag a victory by brushing Kerry aside and aren't consigned to the dustbin of history like a bunch of suckers. And finally I hope they are NOT looking a cheap flight home after the game.

Let's hope they carpet Kerry.  :D :D :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 11:30:11 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 29, 2007, 11:20:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 29, 2007, 10:26:17 PM
with Dooher and Penrose hoovering the breaking ball.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 10:29:38 PM
Penrose and Dooher will vacuum up the whole half-forward line between them (
Quoteis this a tyrone shakedown?

FFS lads what's going on here. I suppose you want O'Neill to stand upright and Ricey (the dirt devil) to take his man to the cleaners. Hub to dust up the Kerry midfielders and all attacks to filter through McGinley while Gormley acts as a sweeper at the back. Let's just hope that Tyrone bag a victory by brushing Kerry aside and aren't consigned to the dustbin of history like a bunch of suckers. And finally I hope they are NOT looking a cheap flight home after the game.

Let's hope they carpet Kerry.  :D :D :D

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 30, 2007, 01:12:24 AM
Kerry Team named tonight:

Diarmuid Murphy
Marc O'Se   Tom O'Sullivan   Padraig Reidy
Tomas O'Se   Aidan O'Mahony   Daniel Bohane
Darragh O'Se Tommy Griffin
Bryan Sheehan   Eamon Fitzmaurice   Paul Galvin
Declan Quill   Seamus Scanlon   Mike Frank Russell

So a few surprise choices Daniel Bohane gets his first start , he was supposed to start a few weeks ago in the half forward line but was injured in the warm up, but now picked at wing back he replaces Mossy Lyons who was loose enough against Donegal. Bohane plays with Austin Stacks and there has been alot of talk about him, but with his first game in the green and gold we will soon see what he is made of, Brian Dooher will be no easy first opponent.

Eamon Fitmaurice get another trial at centre forward in a surprise move, he will replace Seamus Scanlon who moves to the edge of the square instead of Donaghy. Paul Galvin comes in for his first start as expected on the wing instead of Donnacha Walsh. Eamon has played well at 11 before but seems to be off the pace come championship time, he will add a bit of muscle around the middle, and after the pasting we took from Donegal at Midfield, we need a few extra ball winners there.

Sheehan is on the other wing so hopefully he will punish Tyrone if there are long range frees.

Scanlon has played well the last 2 games and will add some height to the edge of the square if we need to play that tactic. Doesnt score much as he lays off the ball a lot even in good scoring positions and will need to add that touch to his repetoire if he is to stake a place for the summer ahead, but with Donaghy out for 2 months and the Dr Crokes players club tied what better time for someone new to come in and make a name for himself.

Declan O'Sullivan is in the panel for the first time since leading us to our 34th title last September and he will be bursting for a bit of football after a few months in OZ, and with Sean OSullivan, Darren O'Sullivan, Donnacha Walsh also in the panel there are good support options up front. Still concerned about cover for midfield. Darragh needs more support from Tommy Griffin this weekend.

The rest of the team is as it was last week , Tomas o'Se seems to have shaken off the hamstring injury picked up last weekend. So its all systems go for Saturday. Best of luck to all.

Ciarrai Abu
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 08:31:18 AM
So we both have our sets of concerns Kerry Mike, thanks and all the more interesting for that. Have a good one.
Post by: ONeill on March 30, 2007, 09:06:00 AM
Yea KerryMike, shove it up yer hole....
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 09:09:49 AM
More than a few interesting tussles there:                                                                                 

Pascal McConnell

Ryan McMenamin/Mike Frank Russell                       Peter Donnelly/Seamus Scanlon                Dermot Carlin/Declan Quill 

Davy Harte/Paul Galvin                                       Conor Gormley/Eamon Fitzmaurice            Justin McMahon/Bryan Sheehan

Kevin Hughes/Dara Ó'Sé                                      Enda McGinley/Tommy Griffin

Brian Dooher (Capt.)/Daniel Bohane                      Martin Penrose /Aidan O'Mahony                Ryan Mellon/Tomás Ó'Sé

Niall Gormley /Padraig Reidy                                    Colm McCullagh/Tom O'Sullivan                  Stephen O'Neill/Marc Ó'Sé

Diarmuid Murphy

Post by: snappiered on March 30, 2007, 09:11:45 AM
Thats the end of Mugsy lads. He wont be back. Know for a fact.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 09:13:51 AM
Quote from: snappiered on March 30, 2007, 09:11:45 AM

What has happened exactly? Though if it's a strop he's throwing because of his stupidity in the Cork game I don't have much sympathy.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 30, 2007, 09:23:35 AM
The selections get more puzzling as the year progresses. All this talk about competition for places, no one is guaranteed a place etc. MH's faith in certain individuals is extremely puzzling - some players like Donnelly and Penrose has got more than enough chances without showing anything to suggest they merit inclusion. There are players on the panel who have not even got one NFL start in order to show what they can do. The only thing I can perhaps think of here is that privately MH is not too bothered about the league, confident that some of these newer players have got what it takes and is keeping them in reserve for the summer months ahead.
I think we all know that our best team is still the 2005 vintage but that we need a couple of players with the ability to come in and make an impact. I dont think we are there (or anywhere near there) yet.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 09:56:33 AM
Anybody making the journey.
Title: KM
Post by: Uladh on March 30, 2007, 10:13:36 AM

Apart from Gooch and Brosnan, would any of the the crokes lads be expected to make the kerry panel?
Post by: tyroneman on March 30, 2007, 10:23:06 AM
Mugsy finished??? I would doubt it.

Daily Mirror has him among the subs.

and how many times was Cavo written off this year.......................
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 10:24:55 AM
Theres a new rumour about Mugsy and Cavalan being finsihed every other month.  Treat them all with sceptism.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 30, 2007, 11:19:57 AM
Only seen the team there now. Donnelly at number 3 is a surprise. Think I'll watch this in the pub, a gallon of Guinness might be required to dull the pain. The last time I watched the lambh dearg on Setanta, I nearly choked on my pint when O'Neill missed a 21 yard free in front of the sticks. It went down the wrong way. Started spraying some blond with Guinness. Wasn't pretty. O'Neill will make up for it on Saturday night, I've no doubt. 
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 11:23:04 AM
Mr Nakata that belly button piercing needs looked at.
Post by: ONeill on March 30, 2007, 11:36:28 AM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on March 30, 2007, 11:19:57 AM
O'Neill will make up for it on Saturday night, I've no doubt. 

I feel that too. Respect to Cork and Donegal, but this is a big game. Big games bring out the best in class players. Can we win enough possession and use it intelligently in order to feed the FF line? The nightmare scenario is the sight of Harte, McMenamin, Carlin etc running into dead ends, soloing the ball to a standstill and then, under pressure from a plethora of Kerry men, releasing the ball to no one in particular.

We need intelligent play this Saturday or the goose is cooked. My prediction - Tyrone to show a much improved display but to go down fighting by a couple of points - 1-13 to 1-11.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 11:39:48 AM
Id settle for that.  He obviously sees Penrose as a ball holding option though.
Title: Re: KM
Post by: magickingdom on March 30, 2007, 11:42:54 AM
"Apart from Gooch and Brosnan, would any of the the crokes lads be expected to make the kerry panel?"

they'd be the only two for this w/e....
Post by: ONeill on March 30, 2007, 11:46:33 AM
That begs the question, can he hold onto the ball for 70 mins though, then win a free to nail it? It'd make great viewing.

How many frees will Galvin win? Mellon will have his fans full with T O Se. Can he track him or cause enough bother himself to occupy Tomas?

Starting to feel more optimistic, even without Cavanagh. Big game from Hughes in the middle, up against Dara.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 11:54:11 AM
ive never seen a lower key approach to a Tyrone v kerry  game in a  few years.  If Mickey and Co could pull out the stops one more time in this one Id settle for a defeat in the last game.   
Post by: ExiledGael on March 30, 2007, 05:00:19 PM
Enda McGinley definitely out of Kerry game, with calf injury, he couldn't train last night! You Tyronnies are cursed
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 30, 2007, 05:01:12 PM
Whilst I continue to have my doubts over P Donnelly (previously expressed) and would have concerns as to whether M Penrose has the guille, vision and range of passing to be a fully effect chf, I am encouraged by this weeks selection. No doubting that Penrose will put in the effort and he has popped up with the odd important goal before.

The midfield pairing looks very strong on paper and has lots of ball winning potential and at long last the ff line contains 3 scoring forwards.
We all know that class is permenant and form is tempoary, maybe this is the week that S O Neill finds his range again.

I think Tyrone will score more heavily than in the last 3 NFL matches and if they can keep Kerry away from the 3 pointers they might just sneak a result.

Be positive Kerry 0-11 Tyrone 1-10
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 05:20:08 PM
I agree...Backs to the wall but the result can be got. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 08:54:56 PM
Agreed, let's keep it positive, nothing lost (or won) just yet. I'm hopeful of a few surprisingly big performances here.
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2007, 11:35:56 PM
Don't ask me why, but I've a feeling that this will be the game that gets the Tyrone train back on track for the NFL and the Championship.
Post by: armaghniac on March 30, 2007, 11:38:50 PM
QuoteDon't ask me why, but I've a feeling that this will be the game that gets the Tyrone train back on track for the NFL and the Championship.

Tyrone and Kerry get on track!

(http://www.historicphotoarchive.com/images3/00080.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2007, 11:41:19 PM
Armagh free fall

(http://www.aerohio.com/images/photos/photos-s/photo3.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on March 31, 2007, 02:13:00 AM
Actually Ziggy diving is more a Tyrone thing. Armagh is merely resting at the moment.

Post by: ClosetotheHarte on March 31, 2007, 10:38:29 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 30, 2007, 11:35:56 PM
Don't ask me why, but I've a feeling that this will be the game that gets the Tyrone train back on track for the NFL and the Championship.

That's the way I feel about this one too Ziggy - if you can describe Tyrone as a train. Maybe the Limerick win got Tyrone back on track and the Kerry win tonight will help the train gather speed.
I've a feeling that the bad patch is going to come to an end soon, hopefully tonight. With Gooch, Donaghy and a couple more out for Kerry, they're short like us and this is a good outing to get things going for Tyrone at a good time!
Not totally convinced about the Tyrone team for tonight but I think O'Neill is due a big one and that can lift the whole team.

Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 31, 2007, 10:43:50 AM
Although I dont share the pessimism about our summer prospects that some Tyrone fans have shown I cant see anything other than defeat tonight. Dont understand why Mickey has put Donnelly in at FB and dropped Joey who needs games and looks our best bet for that position. Similarly I would rather have seen Mulgrew in the half forward line than Penrose and whatever is going on with Musgy lets get it sorted please, its tough enough without Jordan, Cavanagh and McGuigan without losing another big game player.
Kerry to win with a bit to spare :'( But Tyrone to bounce back when things heat up in the summer ;D
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 31, 2007, 12:39:38 PM
Well according to the Irish News Mugsy has travelled with the squad of 30.

Maybe we'll see him start on the hf line with Mellon moving to the middle to cover for big Enda. Maybe even Mugsy at 11 moving Penrose out 12.

That would still be a strong looking line-up
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 01:33:51 PM
Reckless (ly irresponsible) prediction: Penrose as MOTM, you heard it here first!  ;)
Post by: reddgnhand on March 31, 2007, 01:45:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 01:33:51 PM
Reckless (ly irresponsible) prediction: Penrose as MOTM, you heard it here first!  ;)

The game dosent start until 7.30 i suggest you set that drink down, go home and get a few hours sleep before throw in time.  ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 01:55:34 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on March 31, 2007, 01:45:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 01:33:51 PM

The game dosent start until 7.30 i suggest you set that drink down, go home and get a few hours sleep before throw in time.  ;)

Thanks reddgnhand, glad there's someone of sound mind around  ;)
Post by: realredhandfan on March 31, 2007, 02:47:38 PM
Fear On Srath ban you're a beacon of optimism in these dark days for Tyrone football.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 05:09:14 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 31, 2007, 02:47:38 PM
Fear On Srath ban you're a beacon of optimism in these dark days for Tyrone football.

Thanks RRHF, and we should know fairly soon now whether I should be committed or commended!  ;)
Tír Eoghain abú!
Post by: Elias on March 31, 2007, 05:24:37 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 05:09:14 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 31, 2007, 02:47:38 PM

Thanks RRHF, and we should know fairly soon now whether I should be committed or commended!  ;)
Tír Eoghain abú!

Someone needs to be optimistic Fear on Srath Ban, I wish I had your attitude  :(
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 31, 2007, 07:31:47 PM
http://www.radiokerry.ie/index8.php
For live commentary

Tyrone a point up and Kerry hit crossbar "with a bullet of a shot"

O'Se in "tremendous forhim"

Sounds like Mugsy and Joe McMahon are playing and Mulgrew.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 31, 2007, 07:41:21 PM
  Tyrone 0-7 Kerry 0-5
28 mins gone,  Kerry have 3 yellows

Post by: Square Ball on March 31, 2007, 07:53:53 PM
All square
Post by: Tyrones own on March 31, 2007, 07:58:47 PM
Half time
Tyrone 0-8  Kerry 0-6
Post by: FermPundit on March 31, 2007, 08:09:20 PM
who got the Tyrone scores?
Post by: Tyrones own on March 31, 2007, 08:25:28 PM
 I missed a bit of it but i think Mulligan, Penrose, Gormley and Mulgrew are fairly dangerous,
Kerry are getting dirty by the sounds of it, yellow cards Gallore.
Is Mikey Sheehy around i wonder, kerry don't seem to be interested in playing football at all!
"Kerry are swarming now" and thats on Kerry radio, tut tut
Post by: Tatler Jack on March 31, 2007, 08:37:00 PM
Still 0-8 to 0-6 after 16 mins of second half. Kerry on 7 yellows!!!
Post by: Tyrones own on March 31, 2007, 08:41:27 PM
 Tyrone 0-9  Kerry 0-9
All over.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on March 31, 2007, 09:03:00 PM
Finished 0-9 each.
Colm McCullagh sent off just before the final whistle for striking.
Post by: glens73 on March 31, 2007, 09:16:32 PM
Shocking game, especially second half. A lot of improvement needed from both teams if they have any hope of winning the All-Ireland.

Darragh O Se was immense for Kerry.

Paul Galvin is one dirty fecker, that dig on McMahon was totally unneccessary. Conor Gormley is a sneaky fecker too, sticking the knee into Darren O'Sullivan was out of order.

Tyrone seriously need Sean Cavanagh, Stephen O'Neill and Brian McGuigan back as Kerry do with Gooch & Donaghy.

Although, it's still early in the season I would think the race for Sam is wide open and with the way the so called big 3 are going, this may be a good year for the likes of Donegal, Dublin or Mayo.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 09:49:09 PM
Quote from: glens73 on March 31, 2007, 09:16:32 PM
Shocking game, especially second half. A lot of improvement needed from both teams if they have any hope of winning the All-Ireland.

Darragh O Se was immense for Kerry.

Paul Galvin is one dirty fecker, that dig on McMahon was totally unneccessary. Conor Gormley is a sneaky fecker too, sticking the knee into Darren O'Sullivan was out of order.

Tyrone seriously need Sean Cavanagh, Stephen O'Neill and Brian McGuigan back as Kerry do with Gooch & Donaghy.

Although, it's still early in the season I would think the race for Sam is wide open and with the way the so called big 3 are going, this may be a good year for the likes of Donegal, Dublin or Mayo.

Yep, and Galvin's a teacher (though it is in Cork  :)). Big improvement needed from ourselves, though we did manage to split the spoils in the Kingdom, and for this time of year, with a relatively depleted squad -- could be so much worse.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 31, 2007, 09:56:27 PM
Was up in the brother-in-law's and seen a quick run of incidents from the first half, shown at half time. I only saw this incident once, and in a split second, but did Dara O'Se throw an elbow again when being held? He definitely did it last week against Donegal!

I've no real issue with this, as long as the ref has the nads to do his job!  ;)
Post by: sam03/05 on March 31, 2007, 09:57:22 PM
shocking tackle on Ryan Mellon no need for that at all.
was it Galvin?? I thought it was number 7

it is obvious that these two teams are not fireing on all cylinders at the minute
but dont forget the amount of big game players missing from both sides
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 10:10:58 PM
Dara Ó Sé was outstanding again, but he has that tendency, and he threw a couple of elbows, but what a fielder. More out of frustration than anything else, but no excuse. Galvin was just a kn**ker from as soon as he came on, and did what he's designed for; seems that if he doesn't pick up at least a black-eye he considers himself a failure, but what a tr**p; though I wouldn't mind him on our side (though we're far too decent for that! ;))
Post by: red hander on March 31, 2007, 11:23:30 PM
'Paul Galvin is one dirty f**ker'
... u only discovering that now ... he's a tr**p who got away with murder in 2005 final
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 01:06:02 AM
Well that was an absolute abomination of a game

2 teams going out with neither team seeming to have the idea of playing football.......ball out of play for half the match, about 250 handpasses in the game, 18 points scored only and only 4 in the 2nd half.....a nearly total inability or interest of players to actually try and catch a kickout apart from O'Se - I think Tyrone caught one kickout in the game.....

Diving and throwing themselves to the ground nearly as bad as Ronaldo does for Utd....getting hit in the chest and diving as if hit in the face....
Running to the ref asking for cards - Dooher should be absolutely ashamed of himself for doing that - there is no call for that on a GAA pitch...
Dirty rabbit punching by Galvin, Dropping a knee like Gormley into a player on the ground....
Jersey pulling off the ball, 3rd man tackles an inability to tackle properly.....
Post by: reddgnhand on April 01, 2007, 04:23:17 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 01:06:02 AM

2 teams going out with neither team seeming to have the idea of playing football.......ball out of play for half the match, about 250 handpasses in the game, 18 points scored only and only 4 in the 2nd half.....a nearly total inability or interest of players to actually try and catch a kickout apart from O'Se - I think Tyrone caught one kickout in the game.....

Diving and throwing themselves to the ground nearly as bad as Ronaldo does for Utd....getting hit in the chest and diving as if hit in the face....
Running to the ref asking for cards - Dooher should be absolutely ashamed of himself for doing that - there is no call for that on a GAA pitch...
Dirty rabbit punching by Galvin, Dropping a knee like Gormley into a player on the ground....
Jersey pulling off the ball, 3rd man tackles an inability to tackle properly.....

Go away back to your flats and feed your horse.
Post by: reddgnhand on April 01, 2007, 04:35:55 AM
Quote from: snappiered on March 30, 2007, 09:11:45 AM

Who was that fella that was the double of Mugsy in the full forward line tonight?  :o
Post by: Tyrones own on April 01, 2007, 05:07:55 AM

Any idea what happened to O'Neill, is he injured?
Post by: Hound on April 01, 2007, 09:55:31 AM

Donegal were doing a lot of that v Dublin this year too - first time I'd seen a team doing that en masse - so no surprise that its goina spead. The Ulster lads must watch more soccer than the rest of us...
Post by: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 10:10:21 AM
familiarity breeds contempt DSFM- hard to disagree with you though - it was a shocker. Kerry should have won. Tyrone look like a team doing  far bit of heavy training at the moment- for their sakes that would want to be true- because they aren't playing well. i think Kerry are going all right- they are missing  afew plus the fact playing in the weakest province allows them to peak later.
They've found another forward in quill - have the best freetaker in the country and the best midfielder in the country like O Se- kerry will be there at the business end of things.
Tyrone badly need Mc Guigan back and O Neill. Mulgrew looks knackered after playing so much football To be fair though young gormley looks a find. I'm not seeing anything for other teams to be afraid of in relation to tyrone.
Post by: tyroneman on April 01, 2007, 10:53:02 AM
Missed the first half trying to find a pub in Lurgan that showed the match  >:(

What happened with SON and Hub - injured????

McCullogh will be in for some bollocking I would think...we could have stolen the game at the death
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 01, 2007, 11:16:06 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 10:10:21 AM
i think Kerry are going all right- they are missing  afew plus the fact playing in the weakest province allows them to peak later. Tyrone badly need Mc Guigan back and O Neill. Mulgrew looks knackered after playing so much football To be fair though young gormley looks a find. I'm not seeing anything for other teams to be afraid of in relation to tyrone.

Dont think things are anywhere near as negative for Tyrone as you suggest. A point in Tralee when we were missing the likes of Jordan, Cavanagh, McGinley, McGuigan and O' Neill is a decent enough result, even without a couple of their own key men Kerry would have been pretty hopeful of winning that game. Also leaves Tyrone in with every chance of at least securing a top 4 finish and Division 1 football next season which had to be the minimum target after the Donegal game.
Big improvement still required but with a number of men still to come back Tyrone will without doubt get better.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 01, 2007, 11:46:13 AM
So which is the team that is supposed to be the experts in "puke" football ???. It is sad to see Kerry bring so many men behind the ball, especially after moaning about others doing it for so long.
Post by: glens73 on April 01, 2007, 11:58:06 AM
Stalemate after a thriller

KERRY 0-9

TYRONE 0-9

MURT MURPHY

KERRY and Tyrone served up a thrilling encounter, as they strove to avoid the lower divisions next season, before a vociferous home crowd at the Austin Stack Park last evening. It was a game that was open in the first half, with Tyrone on top, but dour and over-physical in the second as the referee struggled to keep control.

The draw was probably the result neither manager wanted as it probably rules them out of the league semi-final. Kerry could have snatched victory late on though Tyrone deserved something.

Niall Gormley opened the scoring for Tyrone in the second minute. Tommy Griffin picked up an early yellow card after a harsh call for a foul on Mulligan and Daniel Bohane became the second Kerry player to be yellow carded as Declan Quill punched the equaliser in the 10th minute. Colm McCullagh and Raymond Mulgrew restored Tyrone's lead.

Bryan Sheehan closed the gap with a long range free, but Joe McMahon doubled Tyrone's lead to 0-4 to 0-2 midway through the first half. Darragh Ó Sé and Donnacha Walsh set up Scanlon whose punched effort hit the cross bar on the way over before Sheehan leveled in the 21st minute with another free.

Niall Gormley then scored his second point, but Quill leveled again from a free in the 25th minute.

Points from Gormley and McCullagh pushed Tyrone three points clear.

Darren O'Sullivan then replaced Tommy Griffin but Diarmuid Murphy had to produce a stunning save to deny Niall Gormley a certain goal, approaching half-time.

Bryan Sheehan closed the gap with a free but Mikey Harte was the happier manager at the interval as Tyrone enjoyed a 0-8 to 0-6 lead.

Paul Galvin replaced Walsh with Fitzmaurice moving to the edge of the square, as exchanges became tense with battles fought all over the pitch. Galvin became Kerry's sixth yellow card and the attrition continued as there was no score in the opening 19 minutes.

In the 55th minute Quill got the first score of the half and he leveled after a great Darragh Ó Sé pass with ten minutes remaining. Then came the score of the game as Marc Ó Sé surged up field and fired Kerry into the lead for the first time but Colm Cavanagh equalised again.

Colm McCullagh was red carded in the final seconds following an altercation with Galvin.

SCORERS - Kerry: D Quill 0-4 (0-1f), B Sheehan 0-3 (3f), M Ó Sé and S Scanlon 0-1. Tyrone: N Gormley 0-2, C McCullagh 0-2 (2f), Joe McMahon, M Penrose, R Mulgrew, C Kavanagh and E Mulligan 0-1.

Kerry: D Murphy, M Ó Sé, T O'Sullivan, P Reidy, T Ó Sé, A O'Mahony, D Bohane, D Ó Sé, T Griffin, B Sheehan, E Fitzmaurice, D Galvin, D Quill, S Scanlon, M F Russell. Subs: D O'Sullivan for T Griffin, P Galvin for D Walsh, S O'Sullivan for M F Russell, P O'Connor for M F Russell, M Lyons for P Reidy

Tyrone: P McConnell, R McMenamin, P Donnelly, C Gourley, D Harte, C Gormley, Justin McMahon, Joe McMahon, R Mellon, B Dooher, M Penrose, Ray Mulgrew, N Gormley, C McCullagh, E Mulligan. Subs: C Kavanagh for M Penrose, D McCaul for C Gourley, T McGuigan for E Mulligan, C Holmes for Joe McMahon

Referee: P McGovern (Galway)

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=37&si=1804643&issue_id=15447

Thriller, my ar5e, it was one of the worst games I've seen between two of the top teams in years.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 12:06:59 PM

See that button on the bottom of your TV... that's an off button! Seriously, you really don't have to put yourself through such torture if you don't want to. I'm happy enough that we secured a point in Kerry at this time of the year, especially with so many absentees, though that's not to be confused with being happy with the performance.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 12:48:32 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 01, 2007, 05:07:55 AM

Any idea what happened to O'Neill, is he injured?

He has the flu, apparently.
Post by: Bensars on April 01, 2007, 12:52:24 PM
Maybe not a great game, but i was was happy enough of tyrones performance. Build up play seems to be improving and was impressed with young Gormley from Trillick. In the final scheme of things this is another build up match to the championship. Tyrone kept Kerry to 4 points 47 minutes into the game and any team that does that isnt doing too bad. There are players to come back into the team, we all know that. Given Tyrones Hoodoo over Kerry and especially the manner of the victories in the championship over the last few years, it was totally expected that Kerry would perform in the manner that they did. This was a case of setting a marker for later in the year. All in all, ignoring the complexities of the final stage of the National league, i thought it was a satisfactory run out
Post by: Over the Bar on April 01, 2007, 01:09:07 PM
QuoteDirty rabbit punching by Galvin, Dropping a knee like Gormley into a player on the ground....

Unlike the knackers who pull on the arnotts jersey.....  ::)
Post by: Over the Bar on April 01, 2007, 01:15:02 PM
Another subtle early-season psychological master-stroke by Mickey.  Sends out the cubs to show Kerry that we easily have the measure of them in their own back yard without getting out of 2nd gear.   O'Shea will be scratching his head wondering how his boys will stay in touch with a Tyrone team that has 4 of the best footballers in Ireland still to some back into the ranks.
Post by: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 01:21:08 PM
How does anyone know Mc Guigan will be anything like he was?- he's getting more surgery on the same leg- you're really assuming a lot there- because i think it will take him at least 12 months to get back.True cavanagh and jordan will be back and o neill- but mc mahon went off injured again last night. I don't think you're a strong as you were and i don't believe tyrone are that good that they can simply play well when they feel like it.
I do like the look of kerry i have to say- i think they'll be hard beaten this year. Other than that there isn't much between tyrone-dublin-mayo and donegal- i can't see armgah being in the shake up this year. one of the most open races in years.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 01:24:15 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 01:21:08 PM
How does anyone know Mc Guigan will be anything like he was?

He did play at least one game before his most recent op and, apparently, he wasn't far off his usual self in every respect.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:36:34 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 12:06:59 PM

See that button on the bottom of your TV... that's an off button! Seriously, you really don't have to put yourself through such torture if you don't want to. I'm happy enough that we secured a point in Kerry at this time of the year, especially with so many absentees, though that's not to be confused with being happy with the performance.

Fear and Srath Ban

Do you approve of the tactics and the style of football being employed last night?????

Just cause I have the opinion that football should be about kicking and catching and trying to beat the opposition by scoring more and playing better football maybe I am a romantic but surely it is harder to do that then to just create really fit players who are more interested in fouling and defending than trying to play football?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 01, 2007, 03:38:34 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 01:21:08 PM
How does anyone know Mc Guigan will be anything like he was?- he's getting more surgery on the same leg- you're really assuming a lot there- because i think it will take him at least 12 months to get back.True cavanagh and jordan will be back and o neill- but mc mahon went off injured again last night. I don't think you're a strong as you were and i don't believe tyrone are that good that they can simply play well when they feel like it.

Who suggested Tyrone "can simply play well when they feel like it"? ??? Or that McGuigan is going to go straight in at no.11 and be the same player? Of course he will need time and there's no guarentee he will regain his own form but he is a determind character and if anyone can get over it he can, if Tyrone are still involved at the business end of the championship I wouldnt be surprised to see him back having an influence.
As for Tyrone "not being the team they were" well they were in a worse state in May 2005 than they currently are and indeed didnt convince at all in the early games of that championship either yet went on to play some outstanding football and win Sam. No point in reading too much into the way things are at the minute. A point in Tralee without several key players is an acceptable result. Need to now get something from the Mayo game to secure top 4 place then look to get through early championship games whilst bringing back injured players and look to gather some momentum.
Dangerous enough game to be writing off Armagh as well.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 03:46:51 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:36:34 PM
Fear and Srath Ban

Do you approve of the tactics and the style of football being employed last night?????

Just cause I have the opinion that football should be about kicking and catching and trying to beat the opposition by scoring more and playing better football maybe I am a romantic but surely it is harder to do that then to just create really fit players who are more interested in fouling and defending than trying to play football?

Ideally DUBSFORSAM1, of course I would have preferred more attractive fare, and the 2nd half in particular wasn't pretty.  But, needs must, i.e., when embroiled in a dogfight like that a team will do its best to maximise whatever advantage they hold. Yes, our midfield struggled badly, but this pairing was probably our 4th choice, so it's hardly surprising that they won't shine against someone of Dara Ó'Sé's calibre. 

Overall, I'm happy that we showed enough bottle for that battle, which is a major improvement on our recent form, and yes, given the choice, I'll take that 1 point as opposed to attempting to play purer football and losing.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:53:24 PM
Fear an Srath Ban

But surely I don't see how someone can advocate being happy with deliberate cynical fouling, no attempt to actually kick the ball etc...you can show a hunger for battle without resorting to cynical play...or running to the ref demanding cards or throwing yourself to the ground theatrically looking for frees/cards...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 04:01:59 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:53:24 PM
Fear an Srath Ban

But surely I don't see how someone can advocate being happy with deliberate cynical fouling, no attempt to actually kick the ball etc...you can show a hunger for battle without resorting to cynical play...or running to the ref demanding cards or throwing yourself to the ground theatrically looking for frees/cards...

No, I wouldn't advocate that DUBSFORSAM1, but I think we were more sinned against than sinners last night (going by the card count, for example), though not saying we were without sin either, but I probably didn't see quite the amount of cynicism that you did.
Post by: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 04:28:51 PM
Dangerous enough game to be writing off Armagh as well.

with a diffrent manager maybe- joe is there far too long.
Post by: magickingdom on April 01, 2007, 05:55:25 PM
so tyrone are not dead and buried after all.... didnt think it was that bad a game, it was definately tense and exiting to the end. one of the biggest crowds i'd seen in tralee for a long time (perfect night for it). thought daragh o se was immense with paul galvin looking good when he came on.... roll on the summer
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 06:03:31 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on April 01, 2007, 05:55:25 PM
so tyrone are not dead and buried after all.... didnt think it was that bad a game, it was definately tense and exiting to the end. one of the biggest crowds i'd seen in tralee for a long time (perfect night for it). thought daragh o se was immense with paul galvin looking good when he came on.... roll on the summer

Indeed magickingdom, Dara Ó'Sé was immense, if his distribution was somewhat suspect. But, Galvin is potentially becoming more and more of a liability for you -- he would do better to contain the fire I'd say.
Post by: ONeill on April 01, 2007, 09:01:45 PM
First things first - Eugene McGee is a complete arse. He remarkably misread the game in terms of intensity and quality - especially that first half.

Tyrone showed a marked improvement in that first half. Their passing was crisp and in Mulligan, McCullagh and Gormley they had plenty of movement/options. Mulgrew was probing a la McGuigan and some of his deliveries were sublime. Gormley and McMahon hit wonderful points. Defensively they were nearing their best. Quill was the main threat and Gourley suffered although not many will get the better of Quill at the minute. After a shaky start, McMenamin neutralised any threat MFR had. Donnelly had a couple of scary moments though but he's a tough competitor. Harte and Justin McMahon showed some of their best at times. Mellon and McMahon in the middle seemed to accept they wouldn't outfield Dara and just decided to punch for Penrose and Dooher to collect. In all honesty is was the best policy because on the odd occasion they did attempt to field the ball, Dara bettered.

Tyrone hit 0-8 in the first half and for this time of the year, down in Kerry, with most of those scores from play, it represented a fine half from the Red Hands. Most of Kerry's points seemed to come from frees, results from indiscipline in the Tyrone defence, especially from Gourley and Gormley.

Kerry came out in the second half with one objective in mind - up the physical stakes. Kerry are not a dirty team but they know when they're losing a football match. Kidney punches, elbows, 3rd man tackles, we saw the lot from Kerry, mostly unpunished. The circus act from the referee when McMahon was kicked in the chest doesn't deserve mention it was that farcical. To Tyrone's credit, unlike the Dublin match in Omagh last year, they didn't respond although frustration at the referee's inability to show red did raise its head once or twice with the repeatedly fouled Dooher. Kerry cutely dragged Tyrone into a slamming match and the spectacle suffered. It almost worked for them, although they were lucky to get away with a draw when the ref blew for a challenge off the ball when Tyrone were virtually guaranteed the winning score.

For Tyrone it was heartening to see Mulligan's performance in the first half. He has still a bit to go but that was promising. He was badly out of puff in the second. Penrose covered some ground in the first half, scored a lovely point and was my man of the half. Gormley continues to impressive with some beauties at full tilt. Donnelly? Didn't see enough of him as almost all balls were going through Quill. McCaul who came on for Gourley found him tough going as well. Colm Cavanagh was impressive for the short time he was on the pitch.

For Kerry, Dara and Tomas were superb. We had a trademark Tomas O'Se run in the first half, soloing from both feet half the length of the pitch. (was an easy free though). Quill and Cooper will form some double act either side of Donaghy.

Worryingly, many of the Kerry players looked overweight. Worrying from a non-Kerry perspective that is. They'll get better!

Post by: INDIANA on April 01, 2007, 09:25:13 PM
"Kerry came out in the second half with one objective in mind - up the physical stakes. Kerry are not a dirty team but they know when they're losing a football match. Kidney punches, elbows, 3rd man tackles, we saw the lot from Kerry, mostly unpunished. The circus act from the referee when McMahon was kicked in the chest doesn't deserve mention it was that farcical. To Tyrone's credit, unlike the Dublin match in Omagh last year, they didn't respond although frustration at the referee's inability to show red did raise its head once or twice with the repeatedly fouled Dooher. Kerry cutely dragged Tyrone into a slamming match and the spectacle suffered. It almost worked for them, although they were lucky to get away with a draw when the ref blew for a challenge off the ball when Tyrone were virtually guaranteed the winning score. "

bit rich coming froma tyrone fan- some of the more cynical of us could just simply say - they've learnt a few lessons playing ulster opposition since 2002
Post by: Mr. Nakata on April 01, 2007, 10:05:21 PM
I enjoyed this game. Excellent first half. Hard hitting fayre. Setanta commentator awful. It got a bit niggly later in the game, but I thought it was exciting right to the death. Penrose picked the ball clean off the ground twice early on and I was hurling all kinds of abuse at him, which clearly had the desired effect as he really warmed to the task, seeing alot of ball and scoring a peach from McMahon's quality pass. Some guys at the other end of the bar thought Joey had a nightmare. I thought he was brilliant in the first half. Gourley was roasted. Our defenders continued to give away silly frees throughout which were punished by an excellent, overweight, dead ball kicker.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 02, 2007, 12:16:02 AM
QuoteI missed a bit of it but i think Mulligan, Penrose, Gormley and Mulgrew are fairly dangerous,
Kerry are getting dirty by the sounds of it, yellow cards Gallore.
Is Mikey Sheehy around i wonder, kerry don't seem to be interested in playing football at all!
"Kerry are swarming now" and thats on Kerry radio, tut tut

Go on, admit it, depite beating us in recent years it kills you lads that we are still perceived as the golden boys whereas you have never really been given the credit you feel you deserve.

Even when we lose, we win !  Brilliant.

Post by: Tyrones own on April 02, 2007, 04:18:31 AM

"Go on, admit it, depite beating us in recent years it kills you lads that we are still perceived as the golden boys whereas you have never really been given the credit you feel you deserve."

Yerra i should meet you for a pint sometime Mikey, you're some craic :D
Oh and one other thing, ye didn't lose it was a draw. maybe over that pint i'll explain how
the scoring system works in Gaelic football. ;)

Title: Dubsforsam
Post by: supersarsfields on April 02, 2007, 09:28:55 AM
But surely I don't see how someone can advocate being happy with deliberate cynical fouling, no attempt to actually kick the ball etc...

No harm DFS this "cynical fouling happens in most games I see now. But you've always had a wee bee in your bonnet when it comes to Tyrone and always feel the need to draw attention to their Fouls and style of play. And just because you like a basketball type of football with constant long kick passes in on top of players doesn't mean everyone does. 
just create really fit players who are more interested in fouling and defending than trying to play football?

So now Tyrone are at fault for having fit players??? God you couldn't make it up!!
Post by: Over the Bar on April 02, 2007, 12:02:26 PM
I note that Dubs4Sam has been unusually quiet re: the disgraceful actions of the dublin fans in Mayo.   :-\
Post by: dubnut on April 02, 2007, 12:11:07 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on April 02, 2007, 12:02:26 PM
I not that Dubs4Sam has been unusually quiet re: the disgraceful actions of the dublin fans in Mayo.

The opposite could be said for yourself Over the Bar  ::)

Why not come over to the Dublin / Mayo thread to discuss rather than waste the Tyrone v Kerrys guys space?
Post by: blanketattack on April 02, 2007, 12:16:36 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on April 01, 2007, 01:15:02 PM
Another subtle early-season psychological master-stroke by Mickey.  Sends out the cubs to show Kerry that we easily have the measure of them in their own back yard without getting out of 2nd gear.   O'Shea will be scratching his head wondering how his boys will stay in touch with a Tyrone team that has 4 of the best footballers in Ireland still to some back into the ranks.

Harte will be scratching his monobrow wondering how his team will have any chance against a team with 5 first choice starting forwards to come into the side. The silver lining to Kieran Donaghy's injury is that Tyrone still haven't got a bit of experience in learning how to cope with him. Hopefully they'll learn the hard way.
Title: Re: Dubsforsam
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 02, 2007, 01:33:39 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on April 02, 2007, 09:28:55 AM
But surely I don't see how someone can advocate being happy with deliberate cynical fouling, no attempt to actually kick the ball etc...

No harm DFS this "cynical fouling happens in most games I see now. But you've always had a wee bee in your bonnet when it comes to Tyrone and always feel the need to draw attention to their Fouls and style of play. And just because you like a basketball type of football with constant long kick passes in on top of players doesn't mean everyone does. 
just create really fit players who are more interested in fouling and defending than trying to play football?

So now Tyrone are at fault for having fit players??? God you couldn't make it up!!

Supersarsfields - just because the cynical fouling happens in most games doesn't mean its right or should be acceptable - there was practically none in the Dublin Mayo game for example....and yes I did say that Keaney's 2nd yellow card was deserved and have said on more than one occasion I don't like it when Dublin do it either....if you also read what I said I made no mention of Tyrone specifically apart from Doohers running to the ref looking for a card....are you saying that that is acceptable behaviour?????

The game is called GAELIC FOOTBALL - is the main aim should be to kick the ball and as for calling a kicking style basketball is hilarious....

I didn't have a problem with fit players - I have a problem with players being picked who can't kick a ball properly or catch it properly but can run for 70 mins and handpass and foul.....

Maybe I am a romantic but I certainly believe Gaelic Football would be far better off if there was more emphasis on skill, scoring, attacking football rather than taking the easy way out and concentrating on stopping the opposition at all costs....
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2007, 01:50:00 PM
Here you go DUBSFORSAM1, something to get you really going: an extract from a Mickey Harte interview just after the game (in today's Irish Times):

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte was happier with his team's display. "I have to say that we hit the ground running as playing Kerry is difficult at any time. I would have to say that it was probably our best league display to date, but we left it slip in the second half. The draw suits us less than Kerry because we have an inferior points difference, but I was proud of the lads.

"Kerry had a few chances that hit the bar, so it could have gone either way. The second half was a war of attrition and the crowd seemed to love it. There is nothing wrong with football and that was a great advertisment for the game."

I can feel the righteous indignation on the rise from here!  ;)
Title: Re: Dubsforsam
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 02, 2007, 02:01:39 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 02, 2007, 01:33:39 PM
if you also read what I said I made no mention of Tyrone specifically apart from Doohers running to the ref looking for a card....are you saying that that is acceptable behaviour?????

The game is called GAELIC FOOTBALL - is the main aim should be to kick the ball and as for calling a kicking style basketball is hilarious....
Maybe I am a romantic but I certainly believe Gaelic Football would be far better off if there was more emphasis on skill, scoring, attacking football rather than taking the easy way out and concentrating on stopping the opposition at all costs....

Like I said on the Dublin - Mayo thread my friend you had a go at Kerry and Tyrone for managing only 18 points between them yet made no mention of the fact that Dublin and Mayo only managed a point more :D You also said it was poor there were only 4 points in the second half buts that 4 more than the Dubs managed in the second period in Mayo ;) Total hypocrisy.

As for believing the game would be better off "if there was more emphasis on skill, scoring, attacking football rather than taking the easy way out and concentrating on stopping the opposition at all costs" go and watch the two Tyrone Dublin games from 2005 where Tyrone ran up 3-32 over the 2 games doing just that.

And the idea that there is only one true form of Gaelic Football (ie nothing but long punts and catches) is clearly nonsensical.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 02, 2007, 02:57:22 PM
As for believing the game would be better off "if there was more emphasis on skill, scoring, attacking football rather than taking the easy way out and concentrating on stopping the opposition at all costs" go and watch the two Tyrone Dublin games from 2005 where Tyrone ran up 3-32 over the 2 games doing just that.

And the idea that there is only one true form of Gaelic Football (ie nothing but long punts and catches) is clearly nonsensical.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes I was at both of them Tyrone games and said they were exceptional games of football.....thats why when it is seen that they can play such good football why do they have to resort to other methods instead of playing good football...

Well if Mickey Harte like off the ball kicking, punching, kneeing, 3rd man tackles, shirt pulling, diving and running to the ref demanding yellow cards like a soccer player well fair play to  him...he whinged when Dublin did the same in Omagh last year cause they lost....
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2007, 03:50:28 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 02, 2007, 02:57:22 PM
Well if Mickey Harte like off the ball kicking, punching, kneeing, 3rd man tackles, shirt pulling, diving and running to the ref demanding yellow cards like a soccer player well fair play to  him...he whinged when Dublin did the same in Omagh last year cause they lost....

He was talking about the atmosphere in Austin Stack's DFS, and how the crowd appeared to revel in the fare, though I doubt very much that he viewed it as darkly as you are doing, and I have seen wildy variant reviews on that game. No one really can say for sure whether that glass was half-full or half-empty.

Sometimes, no matter how much we might wish things to be otherwise, we have no choice but to deal with what's in front of us.
Post by: supersarsfields on April 02, 2007, 05:58:47 PM

What the feck has the name got to do with it? Forgive for for thinking Gaelic football was about scoring points and defending well!! You like a long kicked game, I don't but each to their own that way.

Would you like to name the Tyrone players who are fit but cant kick a ball properly?? 

dublin can be as negative and cynical as any team. But you seem to have a real soft spot for Tyrone and needing to point out their faults all the time. I wonder why??
Post by: uptyrone on April 02, 2007, 07:11:32 PM
Maybe im wrong and I have missed it earlier but im suprised no one has mentioned O'Sullivans disgracefull kick to Ryan Mellons face/neck/chest area when they were involved in a tussle on the ground in the second half. The referee was running around like a headless chicken going back and forth between the umpires and linesmen and then eventually decided to talk to the wrong man.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 02, 2007, 08:21:55 PM
QuoteOh and one other thing, ye didn't lose it was a draw. maybe over that pint i'll explain how
the scoring system works in Gaelic football.

Thanks. I would appreciate that. In return I will patiently explain to you how "in recent years" doesn't include saturdays game.

I will, no doubt, have to buy the round as well given how stingy you lot are.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2007, 08:26:17 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 02, 2007, 08:21:55 PM
QuoteOh and one other thing, ye didn't lose it was a draw. maybe over that pint i'll explain how
the scoring system works in Gaelic football.

Thanks. I would appreciate that. In return I will patiently explain to you how "in recent years" doesn't include saturdays game.

I will, no doubt, have to buy the round as well given how stingy you lot are.

I'll buy you one too just so as you don't have to dig too deep!  :)
Post by: tyroneman on April 02, 2007, 08:34:26 PM
TOS was well out of order and only for a complete bottler / bollix of a ref he would be serving a ban right now.

Still if he does get done on video I'm sure he can use the Gooch 'but I play for Kerry' defence and get off scott free.
Post by: tyroneboi on April 02, 2007, 11:42:41 PM
that o'sullivan character has always been a dirty fecker never liked him!! was a disgraceful act by a thug of a player. by rights he should be brought before the video disciplinary people - no doubt if it was ricey then he would have got his 3 month suspension this morning!
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on April 03, 2007, 12:35:37 AM
No harm DUBSFORSAM1, but the cynical approach Dublin took to Omagh for last year's League game was a lot worse than anything I've seen from Tyrone in recent years.
After a good enough 1st half, the 2nd half of Sat night's game wasn't pretty but the football we see at this time of the year is different to what we get in the summer.
BTW Galvin is turning out to be the most unlikeable Kerry player I can remember - and that kick on Mellon's face off the ball by another Kerry player was a nasty one. The ref was hilarious running around looking for the guilty party until he had to let it go.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 03, 2007, 11:03:51 AM
ClosetotheHarte

If you had read any of my posts after the Omagh game last year you would have seen I didn't condone it, you would also have seen that I supported players being banned for it and wasn't happy with the appeals being made...anyway the first punch in Omagh was thrown by a Tyrone player!!

I didn't just complain about Tyrone I also mentioned Kerrry incidents as well....same as I said in the Dublin Mayo match that while Keaney was unlucky Cahill could and probably should have gone....

Notice your not condemning Gormley dropping the knees into O'Sullivan on the ground...:-)
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on April 03, 2007, 11:29:53 AM
That's fair enough if you recognised Dublin's poor behaviour in Omagh last year at the time. Don't know about the first punch (and I agree Tyrone got stuck in too) but it was clear right from the start of that game what Dublin's intentions were. Tyrone stupidly got sucked into it and then had to share some of the blame.
I agree that the 2nd half of the Tyrone / Kerry game wasn't very good to watch and Gormley was wrong to stick his knee in. We'd all prefer to watch flowing football all the time but from as far back as I can remember games like Saturday night's occur every year, particularly during the League.
What annoys me most is how Tyrone are somehow blamed by so many people for cynical behaviour while others get a far easier time for the same, or worse, behaviour. Tyrone, along with Kerry, have produced some of the most brilliant attacking football there has been in this decade but people ignore that too often and choose to notice only their (Tyrone's) occasional misdeamours.
The Meath team of the 90's are still the masters of cynicism but the Kerry team of today are maybe starting to catch up! But sure just blame Armagh and Tyrone for introducing all this negative football in 02/03!
BTW I thought Keaney was a little unlucky to get sent off on Sunday!

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 03, 2007, 12:49:40 PM
ClosetotheHarte

I am not saying that games like that don't occur but if they do I don't see why people are so afraid to accept critiscism about them - I would critiscise Dublin if they did the same...(An article in one of the papers last weekend said that what cost them last year against Mayo was a refusal to drag Mayo defenders down to stop them attacking at speed and to not defend in depth themselves)...as much as I want Dublin to win I would sooner they won playing well than playing badly...

With Tyrone it seems that they choose to play good football occasionaly but are happier in big games not to......I think they would be far better if they concentrated on the football cause they have the players to do it...

With the Meath team though while they were cynical and tough/rough they didn't "dive" or collapse in a heap or ask the ref to book players....no matter who you are or what team you play for I find that totally unacceptable.......and there are more than enough Ulster fans who would say Tyrone dive so its not just us Mexicans... ;D
Post by: David McKeown on April 03, 2007, 01:33:07 PM
Just as a matter of interest does anyone have the figures for the number of players sent off in competitive games for counties this year?  Also I would imagine it unlikely but would anyone also have the figures for the numbers booked?
Post by: tyroneman on April 03, 2007, 01:34:50 PM
QuoteWith Tyrone it seems that they choose to play good football occasionaly but are happier in big games not to

Bit unfair that to be honest. Of the last 'big' games Tyrone have had...

v Dublin (twice) were footballing thrillers
v Kerry in AIF 2005 was an exhibition of flowing football
even v Armagh in the UF (twice) the football played was excellent.
Post by: realredhandfan on April 03, 2007, 01:48:13 PM
I genuinely didnt think the game was bad on Saturday night.  How many classics did we have over the weekend anyway and what pure football teams played in them? 
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 03, 2007, 02:18:31 PM
Realredhandfan

So what about:
1 - Galvins kidney punch
2 - McCulloghs kick
3 - Gormleys knee drop
4 - Mellon holding onto O'Sullivan off the ball
5 - O'Sullivan kicking Mellon to be freed
6 - O'Se's elbow??
7 - Dooher running to the ref looking for cards
8 - The jersey pulling off the ball
Post by: realredhandfan on April 03, 2007, 02:53:34 PM
The jersey pulling off the ball
Aye right enough, I might never go to another match again if that new  Mickey Harte / Pat O Se tactic was to continue. 
Mc Culloughs kick - had to go, but the Kerry man had his hand in his mouth, the blood was pouring from him leaving the field.   id personally have kicked out also. 
Galvin - well we know about Mr Galvin
Gormleys -knee drop didnt see it.
O Sullivan kick straight red.
O Se elbow - didnt see it
Dooher - running to ref - hes trying to get the game cleaned up ffs - you cant have it both ways. 
Now f**k up.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 03, 2007, 03:25:26 PM
Quote4 - Mellon holding onto O'Sullivan off the ball

Well there you go! What a disgrace that anything such as this might happen in an inter-county game!  Mellon should get a 12 week ban!   ::)

Dubsforsam, it would be fair to assume that you obviously have never played gaelic at club level and the closest you've got is TV replays.  The crap you are citing typically happens in every game.  Dublin's soccer-style supporters just don't see it cos they are too busy clapping tackles & line-balls.   
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 03, 2007, 04:26:08 PM
Over the bar

Never said there should be a ban or anything but if your lying on the ground and you grab your opponents legs to stop him getting away are you not creating a situation where your going to get a kicking???

I have played schools and club Gaelic and hurling both  in Ireland and abroad...and have travelled all over the country going to matches.....so there is no need for the patronising tone....

So your arguement is that if something happens all the time it should continue happening???? So kicking, punching, kneeing and fouling off the ball are totally legitimate tactics in a match???
Post by: Tyrones own on April 03, 2007, 04:35:02 PM

Yes DFS1, in the 31 other counties as well as Tyrone this seems to be common practice :o
Post by: johnpower on April 03, 2007, 10:45:49 PM
My Tyrone buddies no excuse for Tom O S actions as it could have caused damage . Maybe the young man at the end of it will leave the leg pulling to the commedians . anyway the result was a better one for you guys as away results in the league are harded to get . You also have the better forwards .Keep  thoes Haloa lit we might meet in the qualifiers
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 04, 2007, 12:22:44 AM
Well glad to see I know where Tyrone fans stand -

Cheating is acceptable if other teams do it...
Cynical fouling is acceptable....unless its Derry in the Ulster championship or Dublin in Omagh.....

If anyone critiscise or comments we shall tell him to f**k up etc.....even though they critiscise both teams equally....

Obviously the idea of trying to win a game without having to resort to off the ball fouling etc wouldn't be considered....maybe training defenders how to defend legally without having to resort to jersey pulling off the ball would be useful....

And as for running to the ref brandishing a card - that is a soccer trait I never thought i would see in Gaelic Football..
Post by: Tyrones own on April 04, 2007, 03:50:30 AM

Where in my post did i use the word accepted.?
Post by: Bensars on April 04, 2007, 09:19:16 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 04, 2007, 12:22:44 AM
Well glad to see I know where Tyrone fans stand -

Cynical fouling is acceptable....unless its Derry in the Ulster championship or Dublin in Omagh.....

If anyone critiscise or comments we shall tell him to f**k up etc.....even though they critiscise both teams equally....

Obviously the idea of trying to win a game without having to resort to off the ball fouling etc wouldn't be considered....maybe training defenders how to defend legally without having to resort to jersey pulling off the ball would be useful....

And as for running to the ref brandishing a card - that is a soccer trait I never thought i would see in Gaelic Football..

The legality of defending will be determined by the referee. If it is illegal ,Tyrone and many other teams, will pay the price by conceding a large number of free kicks in scorable areas.

You are becoming obcessional in your jibes. If you dont like it, dont watch it, dont go to any of the games.

However if you think this doesnt happen in club football, let alone senior inter county , you are highly deluded and obviously never played the game.

You are becoming like TUG, whereby your posts are laughable
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 04, 2007, 10:02:01 AM
Bensar

What tends to happen is that players are fouled before they get near the scoring zone in order to allow defences to set again..

Just cause something happens doesn't mean we have to condone it or accept it....Clubs poach players all the time so should that be condoned - counties poach players so should that be condoned....managers get paid so that should be acceptable???

Its like diving in soccer - ah sure other people are doing it so we should etc...
Post by: supersarsfields on April 04, 2007, 11:44:49 AM
DFS
I enjoy a game were there is close marking, we're often told when playing to "keep a hand on your man". Most forwards know that a good defender will try to stay in contact with the forward when going for a ball. You seem to see this as cynical and negative. I don't, a good forward will either be quick enough to get away from the defender a la Gooch or big enough and strong enough to hold of their marker like SON or Stevie McDonald. You seem to quick to glorify attacking fotball without seeing the importance of close defending. And yes some times this close marking can spill over into a free, but I wouldn't want the game to get any less phyiscal. And sure if the free is given aren't the team being punished anyway.
Fouls will happen in a game. And if the only alternative to stop that happening is to tone down the physicality of the game, then I'd rather stick to the way it's played at the minute, warts and all.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 04, 2007, 01:23:41 PM
SuperSarsfields

As a former defender also I like good tight marking - but there is a difference between spending the game trying to exchange jerseys and trying to mark your man....Most defenders don't pull jerseys etc close to their own goal........what I was talking about is when a team is on the break from defence and forwards for example deliberately pull them down to slow the break and give the defence time to reorganise without conceeding a scoreable free.....

Would you not agree that in terms of physicallity ie with heavy shoulders and big hits are going out of the game due to a change in reffing emphasis and a more pronounced tendancy to go to ground and look for frees and cards etc....and there is far more sneaky fouling going on....
Post by: supersarsfields on April 04, 2007, 01:42:12 PM
what I was talking about is when a team is on the break from defence and forwards for example deliberately pull them down to slow the break and give the defence time to reorganise without conceeding a scoreable free.....

I can kinda understand were your coming from, but to be honest, I don't see this as a big a crime as you do. And there are ways for the attacking team to get round this. After the foul get up and hit a quick free, before the other team gets organised.
And sneaky fouling is always going to happen in a game were there is so much contact as football. But as long as it's punished at the time I don't see a problem. Maybe they could bring in a yellow for persistant fouling ( as far as I know I don't think there is a rule on this at the minute, but I could be wrong). But I have to say I enjoy most games of football at the minte, be it free flowing, high scoring or a tense battle of attriction. that's more than  I can say for soccer or other sports.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 04, 2007, 02:42:27 PM
QuoteWell glad to see I know where Tyrone fans stand -

Where have I said that it is acceptable??  I have not said any such thing.   All I have said is that to an extent this happens in EVERY club or inter-county game.  We also have referees, linesmen and umpires to deal with/report it.   If you disagree then I find it hard to believe that you have played senior club football.   I am not being patronising btw.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 04, 2007, 07:41:06 PM
Well, at least its Dublin up next. A proper rivalry against and a county that plays the game in the right spirit. If both of us had been more cynical against Tyrone in 2005 we might have prevailed but, thankfully, we have certain standards. Here is to a another classic in the grand Kerry v Dublin tradition. 
Post by: Tyrones own on April 04, 2007, 08:04:09 PM
  If you're Granny had Balls she'd be you're Granda,
It didn't work last weekend, what makes you think it would have worked 2 yr's ago?
Fact is, neither one of ye were good enough in '05 against a far superior
Football team :'(
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 04, 2007, 08:56:45 PM
 tsk... I suppose I should expect you to try and get as much mileage as possible out of 03 and 05 but, in all seriousness,  2 AI isnt much to boast about after 130 years of effort.
Post by: blasmere on April 04, 2007, 09:04:15 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 04, 2007, 07:41:06 PM
Well, at least its Dublin up next. A proper rivalry against and a county that plays the game in the right spirit. If both of us had been more cynical against Tyrone in 2005 we might have prevailed but, thankfully, we have certain standards. Here is to a another classic in the grand Kerry v Dublin tradition. 

You're telling me that Paul Galvin and Dara O'Se aren't cynical.

Tyrone were the best team in 2005, surprised you're so bitter with 34 All-Irealnds.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2007, 09:33:19 PM
Quote from: blasmere on April 04, 2007, 09:04:15 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 04, 2007, 07:41:06 PM

You're telling me that Paul Galvin and Dara O'Se aren't cynical.

Tyrone were the best team in 2005, surprised you're so bitter with 34 All-Irealnds.

Thanks, this guy Sheehy is just below my level to correspond with directly now  ;)
Post by: tyroneboi on April 04, 2007, 10:31:12 PM
why has there been so much bloody talkin bout a shitty league match. everyone just get over it!!
Post by: Tyrones own on April 05, 2007, 02:07:06 AM

Because it involved Tyrone who obviously remain the most feared team in Ireland, Sheehy, DFS1 and co watch
  every move we make with abated breath in the hopes of learning something, poor bastards can't help themselves :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 05, 2007, 02:30:10 AM
Most feared ? get past the qualifiers before you claim that distinction 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 05, 2007, 02:31:38 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 05, 2007, 02:30:10 AM
Thanks, this guy Sheehy is just below my level to correspond with directly now 

now, now..just becasue I pointed out what a precious prat you were...no need to get snooty
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 05, 2007, 08:26:25 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 05, 2007, 02:31:38 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 05, 2007, 02:30:10 AM
Thanks, this guy Sheehy is just below my level to correspond with directly now 

now, now..just becasue I pointed out what a precious prat you were...no need to get snooty

Did someone speak?  Sounds like someone let the kids at the keyboard again!  :o
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 05, 2007, 10:04:51 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 05, 2007, 02:07:06 AM

Because it involved Tyrone who obviously remain the most feared team in Ireland, Sheehy, DFS1 and co watch
  every move we make with abated breath in the hopes of learning something, poor bastards can't help themselves :D

Its amazing that comments made about a match which involve critiscising actions by both teams suddenly become a vendetta against 1 team on teh pitch....talk about having a high opinion of yourself!!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 05, 2007, 10:11:40 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 05, 2007, 10:04:51 AM

Its amazing that comments made about a match which involve critiscising actions by both teams suddenly become a vendetta against 1 team on teh pitch....talk about having a high opinion of yourself!!!

In fairness, DUBSFORSAM1, when you put Ryan Mellon's shirt pulling in the same bracket as TOS's kick to the torso/head of the same player, you blew any pretence to objectivity you might have dubiously claimed to that point.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 05, 2007, 02:40:44 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 05, 2007, 10:11:40 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 05, 2007, 10:04:51 AM

In fairness, DUBSFORSAM1, when you put Ryan Mellon's shirt pulling in the same bracket as TOS's kick to the torso/head of the same player, you blew any pretence to objectivity you might have dubiously claimed to that point.

Mellon wasn't shirt pulling to the best of my memory - he was lying on the ground grabbing onto TOS to stop him getting clear....that is why the kick took place.....yellow card to Mellon, red card to TOS.