Olympic boxing

Started by winghalfback, August 02, 2016, 01:54:24 PM

Quote from: lurganblue on August 11, 2016, 10:11:20 AM
terrible fight. ward allowed himself to be brought down to that level. awkward opponent but at times it resembled a street brawl fs.

Ward has to feel slightly aggrieved though having been deducted 2 points because of the warnings from the Ref and no points deducted from his opponent.  They were both equally as bad.

I don't think so it looked to me that your man's style made Ward uncomfortable and he was holding him as much as possible. He definitely seemed out of puff halfway through the 3rd as well.

Your man was all over the place but he kept steaming forward, I thought it was just a matter of Ward staying covered up and waiting for an opportunity because the other fighter was wide open on a lot of occasions but it never happened.

Ward was shite from what I was watching. He was doing a lot of holding if not more than the other fella and let himself get into a brawl. Towards the end of the fight he was swinging wildly and looked completely fucked. Didn't perform at all. Olympics has been a disaster for the boxing team. Maybe we aren't as good as we think we are. A lot of pressure on Taylor and Conlon now.

Fairly even Donnelly a bit wild at times!!

Good scrap this neither lad afraid to get stuck in... can't see either of them troubling the gold though!

Think he's just about done enough hopefully!

Phew! He was just that bit more disciplined. Yer man wanted a war.

Has the change in the scoring system affected how we are getting on?

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 11, 2016, 05:34:41 PM
Has the change in the scoring system affected how we are getting on?

Surely they would have adapted to the scoring system, was it the same system used for qualifying??
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

That british guy fairly nailed the uzbekastanian guy. Actually one of those knockouts that was uncomfortable to watch with about 3 blows landing perfectly.

Good to see donnelly through. Be great to see him medal. Lot of pressure on conlan now too.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 11, 2016, 09:57:09 PM
That british guy fairly nailed the uzbekastanian guy. Actually one of those knockouts that was uncomfortable to watch with about 3 blows landing perfectly.

Good to see donnelly through. Be great to see him medal. Lot of pressure on conlan now too.

Hit him some slap alright. Cut above his eye as well.

When does Mick conlon Fight?

I think it's sunday - not sure on time. He got a bye I think hence the delay.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 12, 2016, 08:54:55 AM
I think it's sunday - not sure on time. He got a bye I think hence the delay.

Half 3 Sunday