Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

This has taken a bit of a weird turn.

I for one am not blaming young lads in this, there are various reasons they would want a Colleges All Star and that's up to them.

Should Ulster Colleges be doing better with this so it doesn't clash with other fixtures, most certainly.

Should Antrim u20s have a better environment where this isn't even a decision, most certainly.

I was merely lamenting the current malaise with the whole county set up top to bottom.

NorthAntrimSaff

Quote from: whereshegoinref on April 09, 2026, 10:04:07 AM"All-stars" should be selected based on performances in competition. If they want to have trials and pick a team don't call it all stars, it's an ulster schools selection.

Nearly as big a joke as these teams of the week that have popped up, one particularly hilarious selection this week based purely on the incoherent (and inaccurate) write up given to the saffron gael by a clown on the ditch.

Are you referring to the 2 lads who post up a team of a week for a bit of craic? Do you want them to attend 16 games all on at the same time to do an accurate version?

Deerstalker

Quote from: johnnycool on April 09, 2026, 08:45:50 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard

He did and is a fantastic keeper.

Nicky Quaid plays outfield for his club as does Eoin Murphy.

In this case you aren't really comparing like for like, they play outfield at a different level & different competitions. 

What happened in the All Star trials is like Nicky Quaid playing outfield all year for Limerick and then getting a goalkeeping all star.

Why didn't his school just nominate him to go and try out as an outfield player ? Maybe they did. But he played outfield in the competition. It's a bit bizarre.

Deerstalker

Quote from: whereshegoinref on April 09, 2026, 10:04:07 AM"All-stars" should be selected based on performances in competition. If they want to have trials and pick a team don't call it all stars, it's an ulster schools selection.

Nearly as big a joke as these teams of the week that have popped up, one particularly hilarious selection this week based purely on the incoherent (and inaccurate) write up given to the saffron gael by a clown on the ditch.

The best solution is picking players from the semi final and final based on actual competitive game conditions.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Again, they aren't Mageean Cup All Stars. There were players at the trials who have never played in the Mageean Cup.

paddyjohn

I only asked a simple question lads.

Apologies for causing all this hassle.

NatSoSaff

Quote from: Dunsilly King on April 08, 2026, 06:09:01 PMUlster college all stars trial 🤣 ffs in the overall scheme of things a fecking joke. Then to choose it over an inter county game. They have lost all perspective. That takes the biscuit. Two clowns that need called out. Own it

You have to either be a young man lacking in maturity yourself, or just a complete balloon for throwing about those kind of insults at kids on a message board.

I have to admit I am perplexed at their decision, and it's a sad indictment of the low esteem the majority seem to carry in representing their County in championship football. But whilst it's confusing it's not surprising.

I've always encouraged players from our club to play for the County if they're lucky enough to be considered. Not everyone shares my view. And that is one of the biggest issues. The culture is not there because by and large, the clubs don't promote the County as the pinnacle. In a Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal or Derry household it is the pinnacle. Counties closer to our own level like Fermanagh and Down would place a lot more value on that honour too I'm sure.

Until we find a solution to that, there's no point singling out 2 young lads in the manner you have. It seems they received the consequences of their decision in not being selected to start against Derry last night. They may feel they dodged a bullet

Deerstalker

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 09, 2026, 12:59:54 PMAgain, they aren't Mageean Cup All Stars. There were players at the trials who have never played in the Mageean Cup.

Yeah I'm aware of that.  Just throw in one or two from secondary competitions as happens every year since it has stopped being just for Mageean players.

The point I am making is judge the players in real life conditions.

BigGreenField

Setting all of the above nonsense aside.

A week and a bit out from the Derry match any hoped for line up'? Or just throw a lucky dip at it and try and compete for 35 minutes.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Deerstalker on April 09, 2026, 01:27:08 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 09, 2026, 12:59:54 PMAgain, they aren't Mageean Cup All Stars. There were players at the trials who have never played in the Mageean Cup.

Yeah I'm aware of that.  Just throw in one or two from secondary competitions as happens every year since it has stopped being just for Mageean players.

The point I am making is judge the players in real life conditions.
The trials are real life and if you're good enough you'll get one.

Quote from: Deerstalker on April 09, 2026, 12:44:15 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard

In this case you aren't really comparing like for like, they play outfield at a different level & different competitions. 

What happened in the All Star trials is like Nicky Quaid playing outfield all year for Limerick and then getting a goalkeeping all star.

Why didn't his school just nominate him to go and try out as an outfield player ? Maybe they did. But he played outfield in the competition. It's a bit bizarre.

So, if you played fullback for your school, you shouldn't be considered for corner back at the trial, is that what you are saying?

Why make this solely about an outfield/goalkeeper difference, it's the same analogy, same transferrable skills.

I know the lad in question that Saffrongael is alluding to and guess where he was playing last night for Down U20's?

He is an out and out goalkeeper, who happened to play outfield as his school team wasn't that strong and he has played outfield for us at juvenile level as well for the very same reason and a younger lad will take less hurt in goals.

Also,
  They seem to be picking these College Allstars on the basis of the trial games, not the actual competitions themselves so why shouldn't a player selected to attend by his school decide which position best gives them a chance of selection?

Sean McLar

Quote from: johnnycool on April 09, 2026, 02:58:30 PM
Quote from: Deerstalker on April 09, 2026, 12:44:15 PM

So, if you played fullback for your school, you shouldn't be considered for corner back at the trial, is that what you are saying?

Why make this solely about an outfield/goalkeeper difference, it's the same analogy, same transferrable skills.

I know the lad in question that Saffrongael is alluding to and guess where he was playing last night for Down U20's?

He is an out and out goalkeeper, who happened to play outfield as his school team wasn't that strong and he has played outfield for us at juvenile level as well for the very same reason and a younger lad will take less hurt in goals.

Also,
  They seem to be picking these College Allstars on the basis of the trial games, not the actual competitions themselves so why shouldn't a player selected to attend by his school decide which position best gives them a chance of selection?
SaffronGael. You are referring to my son. The current u20 Antrim goalkeeper. Who has done goals for Antrim from he was u14. Hiding behind a false name and slabbering about young lads on this platform. What a w**ker.

SaffronSports

When are the All Stars named? I've heard a few ones that have them but nothing official yet.

I dont like the process and think referees and managers voting may help, maybe even some kind of weighted system to account for the fact there's so many tiers.

The lgfa winter league does an all star team where every team nominates one player which probably isnt ideal either. We just held a players vote as i think theres something to be said for being someone your team mates look up to.

Probably is no right answer short of someone watching every match and even then look at the balls up they make at the very top level some times.

whereshegoinref

Quote from: NorthAntrimSaff on April 09, 2026, 11:10:05 AM

Are you referring to the 2 lads who post up a team of a week for a bit of craic? Do you want them to attend 16 games all on at the same time to do an accurate version?

No, I'm referring to Gaelic Life which should have a bit more credibility. Of course Saffron Gael cant be at every game, and in this case a few lines have been lifted from a joke of a report and quoted by GL as justification for a team of the week pick.

HTownlad

All stars
Mouthing off about Kids
Judging other Kids
Giving off about volunteers reporting on games
Team of the week in daft newspaper

Would you ever catch on and wise up?
You should be embarrassed