Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Saffrongael

I will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Outfield players playing nets! Wow that never happens  ;D
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard
Was he the best goalie at the trials?

There were people at the trials who didn't even play in the Mageean Cup so it's a tad harsh to be yapping about someone going for a different position than they played in the Mageean Cup.

HTownlad

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2026, 08:13:08 PMSome clowns calling out kids behind the keyboard

Ridiculous to be calling out anyone from behind a keyboard let alone a kid.
Anyone with a set of balls would put their name to it. Same folks doing so behind a code name would be the first to duck their head in public

SaffronSports

Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard

I hate the format tbh.

A soccer league i used to be involved in would do a player of the month thing and they would get refs and possibly each manager to nominate players and the one whose name popped up most won it.

Something like that would be better imo.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: SaffronSports on April 08, 2026, 10:13:19 PM

I hate the format tbh.

A soccer league i used to be involved in would do a player of the month thing and they would get refs and possibly each manager to nominate players and the one whose name popped up most won it.

Something like that would be better imo.
Ulster Colleges do that as well. Although it is entirely separate to the All Stars and runs across different age groups.

As has been mentioned, the all stars carry some weight towards university entrance and therefore require a fair system of selection. They are not Mageean & MacRory all stars but are open to players across all divisions. Getting them together for trials mightn't be ideal but is it the only way to compare like for like? Big John running amok in the D competition getting an all star off the back of it might not be very fair either. Similarly, big John should not be discounted because he attends his local school that happens to be shite.

Is it not too late for university entrance as offers are out? I have never heard of these having any weight at all...

He did and is a fantastic keeper.

Nicky Quaid plays outfield for his club as does Eoin Murphy.

Duine Inteacht Eile

They used to be worth UCAS points so you could be accepted to a course with reduced grades. I'm not sure that is how it still works but it is certainly beneficial to have for scholarships etc.

whereshegoinref

"All-stars" should be selected based on performances in competition. If they want to have trials and pick a team don't call it all stars, it's an ulster schools selection.

Nearly as big a joke as these teams of the week that have popped up, one particularly hilarious selection this week based purely on the incoherent (and inaccurate) write up given to the saffron gael by a clown on the ditch.

This has taken a bit of a weird turn.

I for one am not blaming young lads in this, there are various reasons they would want a Colleges All Star and that's up to them.

Should Ulster Colleges be doing better with this so it doesn't clash with other fixtures, most certainly.

Should Antrim u20s have a better environment where this isn't even a decision, most certainly.

I was merely lamenting the current malaise with the whole county set up top to bottom.

NorthAntrimSaff

Quote from: whereshegoinref on April 09, 2026, 10:04:07 AM"All-stars" should be selected based on performances in competition. If they want to have trials and pick a team don't call it all stars, it's an ulster schools selection.

Nearly as big a joke as these teams of the week that have popped up, one particularly hilarious selection this week based purely on the incoherent (and inaccurate) write up given to the saffron gael by a clown on the ditch.

Are you referring to the 2 lads who post up a team of a week for a bit of craic? Do you want them to attend 16 games all on at the same time to do an accurate version?

Deerstalker

Quote from: johnnycool on April 09, 2026, 08:45:50 AM

He did and is a fantastic keeper.

Nicky Quaid plays outfield for his club as does Eoin Murphy.

In this case you aren't really comparing like for like, they play outfield at a different level & different competitions. 

What happened in the All Star trials is like Nicky Quaid playing outfield all year for Limerick and then getting a goalkeeping all star.

Why didn't his school just nominate him to go and try out as an outfield player ? Maybe they did. But he played outfield in the competition. It's a bit bizarre.

Deerstalker

Quote from: whereshegoinref on April 09, 2026, 10:04:07 AM"All-stars" should be selected based on performances in competition. If they want to have trials and pick a team don't call it all stars, it's an ulster schools selection.

The best solution is picking players from the semi final and final based on actual competitive game conditions.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Again, they aren't Mageean Cup All Stars. There were players at the trials who have never played in the Mageean Cup.