Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Would ye whist

Considering the leagues were all messed up to accommodate you boys to start with I am sure they could find a way to keep you happy

Quote from: HTownlad on April 05, 2026, 05:42:07 PMConsidering this now as we have started the league well, and without getting ahead of ourselves

If the structures change this year, will teams promoted and relegated still follow those paths?
I can't see them reducing Div 1 from 16 but it would be unfair should they reduce it to 14 or even 12.

Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2026, 11:43:42 AM
Quote from: BigGreenField on April 08, 2026, 11:37:47 AM
Quote from: YoungSaff on April 08, 2026, 09:23:10 AM
Quote from: Saffsof82 on April 08, 2026, 03:16:06 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on April 01, 2026, 10:22:23 PMWhere was young JJ Higgins tonight? Hurt?

Jj and Liam had all star trials the next day so opted out for the u20 game

Surely that's a joke ? If true shows how little it means playing for Antrim to them.

Perhaps blame could be cast upon the governing bodies for scheduling games so close together rather than having a pop at a couple of young lads.

It's embarrassing all round tbh

No way a trial should be coming before a competitive inter county game in any shape or form.

Yes Ulster Colleges should be aware of this clash and have done better but from an Antrim perspective this should be a no brainer of a decision.

Would love to know what the likes of the Tyrone and Derry lads would have done if faced with the same problem. An all star trial ahead of a county match is ridiculous imo. A lot of the all stars are picked on reputation anyway.

While not giving verdict on those picked I've done some of the trail games over the years, it's full on games with lads busting their guts to stand out, yes there will be those with reputations but if you ain't there you can't be picked I think.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Dunsilly King

Ulster college all stars trial 🤣 ffs in the overall scheme of things a fecking joke. Then to choose it over an inter county game. They have lost all perspective. That takes the biscuit. Two clowns that need called out. Own it

Some clowns calling out kids behind the keyboard
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Saffrongael

I will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Outfield players playing nets! Wow that never happens  ;D

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard
Was he the best goalie at the trials?

There were people at the trials who didn't even play in the Mageean Cup so it's a tad harsh to be yapping about someone going for a different position than they played in the Mageean Cup.

HTownlad

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2026, 08:13:08 PMSome clowns calling out kids behind the keyboard

Ridiculous to be calling out anyone from behind a keyboard let alone a kid.
Anyone with a set of balls would put their name to it. Same folks doing so behind a code name would be the first to duck their head in public

SaffronSports

Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard

I hate the format tbh.

A soccer league i used to be involved in would do a player of the month thing and they would get refs and possibly each manager to nominate players and the one whose name popped up most won it.

Something like that would be better imo.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: SaffronSports on April 08, 2026, 10:13:19 PM

I hate the format tbh.

A soccer league i used to be involved in would do a player of the month thing and they would get refs and possibly each manager to nominate players and the one whose name popped up most won it.

Something like that would be better imo.
Ulster Colleges do that as well. Although it is entirely separate to the All Stars and runs across different age groups.

As has been mentioned, the all stars carry some weight towards university entrance and therefore require a fair system of selection. They are not Mageean & MacRory all stars but are open to players across all divisions. Getting them together for trials mightn't be ideal but is it the only way to compare like for like? Big John running amok in the D competition getting an all star off the back of it might not be very fair either. Similarly, big John should not be discounted because he attends his local school that happens to be shite.

Is it not too late for university entrance as offers are out? I have never heard of these having any weight at all...

He did and is a fantastic keeper.

Nicky Quaid plays outfield for his club as does Eoin Murphy.

Duine Inteacht Eile

They used to be worth UCAS points so you could be accepted to a course with reduced grades. I'm not sure that is how it still works but it is certainly beneficial to have for scholarships etc.

whereshegoinref

"All-stars" should be selected based on performances in competition. If they want to have trials and pick a team don't call it all stars, it's an ulster schools selection.

Nearly as big a joke as these teams of the week that have popped up, one particularly hilarious selection this week based purely on the incoherent (and inaccurate) write up given to the saffron gael by a clown on the ditch.