Hurling 2026

Started by seafoid, January 04, 2026, 04:15:24 PM

Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2026, 12:12:18 PMI think it is pretty simple, if Limerick play to their potential there isn't a team to touch them. If they have the hunger back which it appears they do, then I can't see anyone getting close.

Clare will be glad to be out of that division, the level difference in the two games was huge. Hoping that Tipp can bounce back and get the form back from late last season.

yes,
  they are a formidable outfit and Cork weren't great yet go to within 2 points of Limerick with 10 minutes to go.

Limerick saw them off well in the end, but their dominance wasn't reflected in the scoreboard in the second half.

They'll need to put teams away much more clinically come championship or they could get caught with a sucker punch.

The first game was very cagey and TBH Dublin do my head in with the way they approach these games.

In the Leinster RR v Kilkenny and again on Sunday they seemed to have this thing about playing defensively and "keeping in the game" for as long as possible and only put on a bit of a spurt late on only to come up short.

They tried something similar v Cork in the AI semi and were blown away.

How about going at it full bore from the get go rather than trying to chase down 8 and 9 point leads with 10 minutes to go?

They also have a great target man in Hetherington, yet against Cork and again on Sunday starved him of the ball down on top of him he thrives on. He's no Guillane to be running out to the wings for a low ball into space, it's not his game, so why feckin do it?

For me the Dubs should be coming out of Leinster well, but you can't be sure of them at all.

Clare will be disappointed with their performance in general no matter what Lohan says, some big players are still a bit off their best, David Fitzgerald and Duggan in particular. Both will be needing better games in the coming weeks to take the pressure of Kelly and O'Donnell. Meehan does seem to have stepped up though and that's a bonus.

EoinW

I agree, Limerick are back.  I'm not sure they are untouchable because Cork have as much, if not more talent.  Unfortunately Cork continues to add to the mental baggage they are carrying.  I'd be truly shocked if any other county can threaten Limerick this year.  Yes, I know one should never discount KK, with their winner's pedigree.  I'm also hopeful Galway could be a big surprise, the way Limerick surprised back in 2018.  That, however, is wishful thinking.

I do have to disagree with the idea Limerick must put away teams.  They're very different from the KK dynasty two decades ago, which won games with an opening blitzkrieg.  Even the KK teams of a decade ago could be kept in check for a half but would always up things a gear to begin the second half and leave their opponents behind.

Limerick win through attrition.  They've a mental toughness which defies being sucker punched.  Case in point being the two AI finals against KK when they got suckered punched more than once, yet the green wave kept on coming relentlessly.  At the end of the day, it was Seabiscuit running away from War Admiral.  They break their opponents confidence the final 20 minutes.

When Limerick have lost the past two seasons it's been when they don't show up at all.  Lack of hunger, which can be forgiven after winning 5 AIs.  The exception is Cork, which has had the talent to go toe to toe with Limerick.  Most of us would still bet on Limerick.

Quote from: EoinW on April 09, 2026, 11:30:11 AMI agree, Limerick are back.  I'm not sure they are untouchable because Cork have as much, if not more talent.  Unfortunately Cork continues to add to the mental baggage they are carrying.  I'd be truly shocked if any other county can threaten Limerick this year.  Yes, I know one should never discount KK, with their winner's pedigree.  I'm also hopeful Galway could be a big surprise, the way Limerick surprised back in 2018.  That, however, is wishful thinking.

I do have to disagree with the idea Limerick must put away teams.  They're very different from the KK dynasty two decades ago, which won games with an opening blitzkrieg.  Even the KK teams of a decade ago could be kept in check for a half but would always up things a gear to begin the second half and leave their opponents behind.

Limerick win through attrition.  They've a mental toughness which defies being sucker punched.  Case in point being the two AI finals against KK when they got suckered punched more than once, yet the green wave kept on coming relentlessly.  At the end of the day, it was Seabiscuit running away from War Admiral.  They break their opponents confidence the final 20 minutes.

When Limerick have lost the past two seasons it's been when they don't show up at all.  Lack of hunger, which can be forgiven after winning 5 AIs.  The exception is Cork, which has had the talent to go toe to toe with Limerick.  Most of us would still bet on Limerick.

I think the KK pedigree is in the past, I think they are closer to Dublin Wexford & Waterford now than they are to Limerick Cork Tipp and Clare even (on their day).

Agreed Cork's issue is more of a mental one at this point, physically they are behind Limerick but they do have the hurlers to make up for this part, they just can't seem to hold it together when they need too.

They were very close to beating Tipp last year though. Unless Tipp push on, which I have my doubts about, I don't think they're far from them.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 15, 2026, 07:08:53 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2026/0415/1568400-gaa-exploring-league-final-to-coincide-with-ryder-cup/

Not sure about this one.

Don't agree with it at all.

If GAA want to promote hurling, promote hurling properly in the Tier 2 and Tier 3 counties etc. Not promote it for Trump golf supporters.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: marty34 on April 16, 2026, 08:33:53 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 15, 2026, 07:08:53 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2026/0415/1568400-gaa-exploring-league-final-to-coincide-with-ryder-cup/

Not sure about this one.

Don't agree with it at all.

If GAA want to promote hurling, promote hurling properly in the Tier 2 and Tier 3 counties etc. Not promote it for Trump golf supporters.

I see the logic. If 10,000 rich yanks show up etc. But throw on a Limerick v whoever friendly and a gig afterwards. Absolutely no need to extend the season for that long.

Munster Championship 2026

Starts at the week-end with Clare V Waterford and Tipperary V Cork. Both on Sunday. The second game will take the top billing obviously.

I think it's a case, in Munster, of not looking back to results in previous years. Main thing is to take it each game at a time. It's a ruthless competition and everybody can tke points off everybody else. 

As a comparsion between Munster and Leinster, I would say Leinster is the Div. 1B to Munster as the Div. 1A. A good difference between them in terms of skill, physicality and tactics.

Only thing is that 3 teams now come out of each provincial championship. I agree that the format has changed and no Joe Mc D will enter the prelim quarter-finals. Only time it worked was when Brennan's Laois beat Dublin in '19 - in reality a one-off. Every other time was a beating and that was no good to anyone. Win Joe Mc Donagh, be happy and step up the following year.

When Leinster and Munster teams meet now, it'll be knock-out and that'll be all about how well you play on the day.

Clare V Waterford

Clare, being at home, will be favourites for this game I think. They did what they had to do in Div. 1B i.e. win promotion and win the league title. They'll be happy with their  year so far. Mission acomplished! Next target for Lohan is to get out of Munster.

Clare still have a strong cohort of their 2013 panel going strong. The likes of Conlon, Cleary, O'Donnell and TK. The spine of their team basically. What Clare have in this game is their full-forward line. O'Donnell, Rogers and Meehan, when on fire, will destroy a team. On the other hand, if they are held relatively quiet, then Waterford have a chance.

Waterford, on the other hand, are heading the other way. Relegated to Div. 1B. I think they'll be disappointed with that. To me, there's no doubt they should have got at least a draw out of the KK game in Nowlan Park. That would have left them on 5pts....an in Div. 1A again next year. Small margins.

Be interesting to see what team lines out. No Prunty is what I'm hearing and that's a big blow for them. Fitzgerald may have to go to No. 3 but not ideal as he's a super No. 6.

Could we see Aussie at No. 6? That would be interesting. Imagine him at No. 6, flanked by Fitzgerald and Lyons! Commanding half-back line there. Or will Aussie be up the field as a half-forward. Be some lad under Nolan's puck-outs.

Not sure if Jamie Barron will play. A key man for Waterford this past decade. He drives Waterford on and makes them tick. Will Bennett or Halloran be on the frees? I always think there's a big game in Waterford and they're hard to beat in Walsh Park. They have 2 home games in a row after their visit to Ennis, so after the 3rd game, we'll know where they stand.

I'm going for Clare. I just think Waterford's full back line will need a huge day if Waterford are to survive. Conversely, if the 3 Clare lads don't do the business on the inside line, then Waterford will hang in there.

Tipperary V Clare

I've the popcorn in...and the front door will be locked.

Looking forward to this one immensely. Donal Óg, a few weeks ago, was talking on TSG about Tipp people talking about back-to-back All-Irelands etc. I, from talking to a few Tipp people, don't get that sense of chat. I think he's being cute and trying to talk Tipp up...and therefore then, trying to talk Cork down. I think hurling people can see this. He'd be safer saying nothing in my opinion.

This is a huge game for Cork. Have they been focussing on this date all along? Time will tell. If they lose this, they have Limerick in the Park the following week. Lose that - 0pts from 2 games and they'll be melted. A win on Sunday will set them up for the visit of Limerick. So, so much at stake on this game.

I'm interested in seeing what Tipp team lines out. Will Ronan Maher be at full back? I think that's his best position. Great in the aerial battle on the edge of the square. Will Cork throw Brian Hayes in on top of him - that will probably suit Tipperary. Maybe they should put a speedster in there and try and drag Maher out to leave space in behind.

Who'll be at full back for Cork? That's an essay in itself!

I presume Cork have learned from the second half of last years All-Ireland Final when Cahill done a tactical job on them? - planting a plus 1 on 1 side of Cork's attack and getting bodies to the breakdown on the other side.

Tipperary have had a few extra weeks to prepare. Debatable if that's a good thing or a bad thing. They'll have that confidence of winning an All-Ireland and of being at home. With both them things, they'll have huge support behind them. Not like a few years ago, when Cork supporters outnumbered them by about 7 to 1. There'll be plenty of 'Tipp, Tipp, Tipp' chants emanting from the Ó Riain Stand on Sunday afternoon.

I'm going to stick my neck out on this game....and go for a draw! Very diplomatic of me I know. It would actually suit both teams.

As before, I'll probably be wrong on both counts but just looking forward to it so much. The Munster Hurling Championship is the jewel in the GAA's crown. Now some people will argue with me on this but I don't think it is even comparable with the Ulster Football Championship. It's because, in Munster, 2 very good teams will lose out.. and their season will be over early enough.

Let's enjoy it!

Clare v Waterford.

Clare will probably go in as favourites based on previous conquests and the game being in Ennis, but I do give Waterford a sniff of a chance.
They never took any big beatings in the NHL, and were unlucky with a few point losses along the way but for me they do need to go more direct and not get caught up in trying the run the ball through the lines as they're not as slick at it as others.
I'm not so sure about the Clare defence as in the league final Dublin caused them issues when Dublin decided belatedly to go full on attack. John Conlon to me is the modern version of Seany McMahon, but his best days are behind him and it doesn't look like Clare have anyone ready to fill that void, including in leadership in particular. They'll need DAvid McInerney back as well too.
Their forwards can be unplayable in their pomp and that may just get them over the line.

Tipp V Cork

Now we will see what kick there is in the one in a row champions.
After a less than impressive league we will need to see what fire is in the bellies of the Tipp lads and if the visit of Cork doesn't fuel that then nothing will.
Some of the experimenting in the league with the young lads, especially in defence may not pay off for another year or two so I'd be expecting Cahill to go with the tried and tested.
Much was made of the melee in the league encounter, all a bit of handbags, but on the second half resumption it was a few Cork lads who hit the deck from big and fair hits from Tipp lads, Eoin Connolly in particular felling a few lads.
Tipp will need him and Maher manning the two central positions in defence.
Much is being made of Alan Connollys remarks during the week about if Cork hit their peak then no team could live with them. I don't mind that so much as it's better than the normal inane drivel players come out with, but then you have to deliver on that.
For some reason the Downey brothers have swapped positions and for me Eoin is the better centre back of the two and they are sticking with Joyce at No3 which is understandable to a point but is also a weakness Tipp will try to exploit and drop high balls in on top of him. How he copes with that and how Tipp handle the Cork pace at the other end will decide this game.
I'm going with Cork just on the fact there's a few more unknowns about Tipps form than Corks for now, but if both progress and meet again Tipp are the most likely to show improvements.

Galway v Kilkenny
Kilkenny will be killing dead things to make up for their tepid performance a few weeks back up in Salthill and will come at this young Galway outfit with all they've got in physicality and it could boil over.
How Galway respond will maybe tell us where they really are at in their development.
I'm going with Kilkenny to bludgeon Galway into submission this time out.

Kildare v Wexford.
Expecting Kildare to put on a decent performance but there will be 10+ points in this one.
Wexford need to kick on from the league and this is the ideal first game out for them.

Offaly v Dublin
Much like the game above, Offaly are a level below Dublin at the minute and won't give in easily but will also be a 10+ point victory for the Dubs, who for me are the most frustrating team out there.
They could be so much better if they took the handbrake off earlier in games, especially the key games they need to go after to win against the top level teams.

Antrim v Down.
Eoghan Sands will be a big loss for Down, who every once in a while show flashes of decent hurling only to follow up with poor wides or poor decision making.
Wee Davy will be wanting to show his paymasters that they getting value for their money up in Dunloy and Antrim will be primed up for this, but the Down lads I know won't be phased in this game and they believe their forwards had the better all round pace to bother the Antrim defence.
Whether they can pull off that trick two games on the bounce I'm not so sure.
Antrim to prevail.

EoinW

Nice predictions.  Great reading.  Thanks for the updates.

Two years ago I would have agreed that 0-2 was "melted".  A team has to win their final two and hope to qualify.  Not very promising.

That was just before Clare@Cork with Cork suffering their second loss.  That Cork team went on to end Limerick's dynasty and lose the AI final by a point.  Just shows you can't write Cork off until after the 3rd game.

Nevertheless I agree with the sentiment.  In 2024 Waterford drew with Tipp, the latter scoring at the end of the game to tie it, and lost to Clare by a point scored immediately before the final whistle.  Waterford was a single point away from shutting Cork out of qualification.

I've had the impression that GAA county managers were paid.  That's never seemed correct to me when the players must abide by strict amateur rules.  I'm not like my free market friend who would see 80,000 paid spectators at Croke Park and demand to know why the players - who the fans are paying to see - never get a penny.  I love the strict amateur idea.

When did managers start getting paid?  Or has it always been that way?  The contradiction bothers me.

Quote from: EoinW on April 17, 2026, 11:39:41 AMNice predictions.  Great reading.  Thanks for the updates.

Two years ago I would have agreed that 0-2 was "melted".  A team has to win their final two and hope to qualify.  Not very promising.

That was just before Clare@Cork with Cork suffering their second loss.  That Cork team went on to end Limerick's dynasty and lose the AI final by a point.  Just shows you can't write Cork off until after the 3rd game.

Nevertheless I agree with the sentiment.  In 2024 Waterford drew with Tipp, the latter scoring at the end of the game to tie it, and lost to Clare by a point scored immediately before the final whistle.  Waterford was a single point away from shutting Cork out of qualification.

I've had the impression that GAA county managers were paid.  That's never seemed correct to me when the players must abide by strict amateur rules.  I'm not like my free market friend who would see 80,000 paid spectators at Croke Park and demand to know why the players - who the fans are paying to see - never get a penny.  I love the strict amateur idea.

When did managers start getting paid?  Or has it always been that way?  The contradiction bothers me.

Managers aren't paid directly by the GAA, it's all a bit underhand, sponsors etc funding directly to management teams etc, hard for the GAA to control or have any say in it, but as much as the last 2 GAA presidents made a thing of it neither have done anything about it.

EoinW

Quote from: johnnycool on April 17, 2026, 12:12:47 PM
Quote from: EoinW on April 17, 2026, 11:39:41 AMNice predictions.  Great reading.  Thanks for the updates.

Managers aren't paid directly by the GAA, it's all a bit underhand, sponsors etc funding directly to management teams etc, hard for the GAA to control or have any say in it, but as much as the last 2 GAA presidents made a thing of it neither have done anything about it.

Interesting.  Thanks for explaining.  Lacrosse in Canada had this battle over a century ago and lost it.  I believe the NCAA, which used to be very strict about scholarship athletes getting "perks", now allows athletes to earn money through sponsorship deals(which can mean millions of dollars for some).

Credit to the GAA for continuing to "swim against the tide" of professionalism.  Hopefully one good thing will come from the economic depression about to hit: that it will beat down this professionalism.  Hard for a society to be obsessed with money when there is none.

Pleased that one of my predictions was wrong..
Well done the lads and I'm sure deep down they were doing it for Stephen Keith who had a very serious heart attack during the week.

Leinster Championship 2026

Obviously not as high profile as their Munster counterpart but intriguing all the same. With Dublin on the up under N O'C and Wexford, in my opinion, slipping alightly, 3rd place will be hard fought for.

Galway V Kilkenny

Galway were a puck of a ball away from the league final recently. Now, how much of that was to Limerick taking their foot off the gas or Galway upping their energy levels is debateable. One thing for sure after the league is that it leaves Galway strong favourites for Leinster.

Rumours that KK had a team meeting the next day after the Salthill trimming and the discussion was honest. We'll know this evening from their kickback from that game. Their performance was the most unKilkenny like. Beatbadly by 35pts to 17pts. Worst defeat since the early 50's. They'll not need any motivation tonight.

This is a big year for Galway and especially MO'D. Progress needs to be made - is a Leinster title enough? They're brought in a few lads and freshened things up a bit. Rabbitte and Evan Niland's younger brother, Aaron, looked good in the league so they earned their right in championship. Cathal Mannion is still their key man. Picking up nice pockets of space and tipping a few points. On a good day, he could hit 7pts from play. For me he outside of Cathal O'Neill, was one of the players in the NHL. This game will not beak Galway this year but I'm interested in how they go today.

Kilkenny will bring the war today. They need to! Nothing as bad as being dished by your own people. There will be a reaction in Pearse Stadium.

TJ will be on the edge of square. He had a huge impact V Tipperary and still makes a huge impact on games. Like Clare in a way, defence could be their undoing. Be interesting to see who goes to No. 6. Richie Reid nmed on wing but a I think he's suited to being in hat pocket reading and delivering ball. Corcoran and Blanchfield on the wings will give them strength and should lord to skies in the aerial battles. Will Butler pick up Whelan and follow him everywhere.

Rory Burke has been good for Galway and Tiernan Killeen is carrying his club form into the inter-county game. Galway seem to have a settled team. I think Galway's bench is a lot stronger than KK's. That could be the difference.

Wind always seems to be issue weatherwise in Salthill. But it's a game of 2 halves. We'll know from KK's attitude in first 10 mins. If it's there, we're in for a game and the game will not be over with 25mins to go this time.

I slightly fancy Galway but wouldn't rule out a draw.

Offaly V Dublin

Offaly have had a tough year with injuries. C. Mitchell is a big miss for them. Young captain and Offaly hurler of the year. They'll hope Screeny and Duignam will get the scores from play to keep them in it.

For Dublin, they need to set their stall out early. This need a win and a good performance V Offaly. Nothing less will do if they have thoughts of pushing on in Leinster this year. I expect them to be business lik in their approach and attitude.

Thwy'll be hoping for scores from Cian O'Sullivan and Whitely. Purcell shoyld add a few points from play also. The 2 aConors, Burke and Donohue should continue their good recent league form.

Be interesting to see if Liam Rush gets any game time. Dublin have a good run of fixtures early in championship so 2pts are vital for them in the midlands this week-end. 

Tullamore will suit Offaly obviously, but I think Dublin will win.

Kildare V Wexford

Great to see Kildare back in 'the big time'. Their hard work has paid off and in Dowling, they've got a highly sought after young manager. But the woek at underage ckub level can't be understated. Naas are a prime example. Now Kildare have added more clubs to their structures. I remember them V Derry in a CR final not that long ago. I just hope they don't get bad beatings in Leinster this year - they need to survive. Key game for them will be against Offaly.

Wexford - I'm not xonvinced by them. Still overly dependent on Lee Chin. S Roche chipping in with frees and Mark Fanning still a decent custodian. Antrim ahould have beat them. Down not far away either so, as I say, I'm unconvinced by them. Liam Ryan is back which is a boost. 

The recent league match was a 21pt qin for Wexford. I wouldn't be reading too much into it. Kildare are better than that.

I atill think Wexford will win but it'll not be by 21pts. Kildare have bigger battles down the line.

Fair play Down and Ronan S.

Ulster Championship needs to be brought back.