Armagh v Tyrone USFC - BOX IT Athletic Grounds, Sunday 12th April, 16:15

Started by balladmaker, March 31, 2026, 02:28:31 PM

RedhandEastie

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 13, 2026, 09:16:45 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on April 13, 2026, 09:11:52 AMRough play. Also thought the tackle on Kennedy verged on dangerous play.
Haven't seen it. Was it worse than the one on Jarly Og?
He jumped to avoid contact and got spun around. Looks worse than it was.
McGeary got took out from behind, Armagh defender made sure to leave plenty in the tackle and he had to go off injured. Don't know where the victimhood of the Armagh supporters is coming from, they clearly benefited from vast majority of refereeing decisions, frees in the wrong place, advantages for the slightest tackle whilst ignored several times on the opposing side. No.11 got into a shoving match and got yellowed along with Tyrone man, then fouled neck high from behind with 3 minutes to go thinking it was a good foul and worth the second yellow card.
Scoreable free count for both teams highlights the disparity, Canavan, McKernan and McElholm all fouled in attacking zone but none given. On the flip side Jarly og was given 3 soft frees for minimal contact and absolutely no idea what McCormack was given the free for when he caught the garryowen.

statto

Quote from: tbrick18 on April 12, 2026, 11:46:14 PMHigh tackle is a yellow card. There wasn't a huge amount of force behind it, but I think a yellow is the right call in accordance with the rules.

If mckernan hadn't mouthed off to the ref, armagh dont get a tap over free.
If mcelhome had taken the easy point rather than go for goal.
Tyrone made enough mistakes of their own to lose the game.... one Incident where the ref issued a yellow is not an excuse.

Tyrone were better than expected, armagh worse than expected.
And to be honest, I'd think Tyrone maybe come away from that game happier than armagh did.
Tyrone have 6 weeks now to build on that and try to improve. But in my opinion, the quality isn't there for them to be challengers. Feels like they are in a transition period and need 2 or 3 years to develop.

Armagh I think could be on a slow downwards burn. They were not great today but had a bit more quality than Tyrone, have more matured players taking the right decisions. But definitely dont have the same depth they had. They could give anyone a game, but there wasn't much there today that would make you think they are in a position to win ulster or the AI this year. Donegal will be pleased at that game today.

Extra time was exciting, I was hoping for pens for the craic.
But on the whole, it was a hard watch.
New rules didn't contribute to a spectacle anyway.
Tyrone will be happier losing to their big rivals with 14 men? If that's the case they have fallen further than I thought. Anyone that has watched Armagh or thought this was a given pre match need their head looked at. I said to a friend at game way it started had alot of similarity to Galway game in league where Armagh appeared much better side early on but wasn't reflected on scoreboard. Armagh will be delighted to win and in the manner they did with all the talk being that Donegal will beat them handy.

Quote from: statto on April 13, 2026, 09:30:27 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on April 12, 2026, 11:46:14 PMHigh tackle is a yellow card. There wasn't a huge amount of force behind it, but I think a yellow is the right call in accordance with the rules.

Tyrone made enough mistakes of their own to lose the game.... one Incident where the ref issued a yellow is not an excuse.

And to be honest, I'd think Tyrone maybe come away from that game happier than armagh did.
Tyrone have 6 weeks now to build on that and try to improve. But in my opinion, the quality isn't there for them to be challengers. Feels like they are in a transition period and need 2 or 3 years to develop.

Armagh I think could be on a slow downwards burn. They were not great today but had a bit more quality than Tyrone, have more matured players taking the right decisions. But definitely dont have the same depth they had. They could give anyone a game, but there wasn't much there today that would make you think they are in a position to win ulster or the AI this year. Donegal will be pleased at that game today.

Tyrone will be happier losing to their big rivals with 14 men? If that's the case they have fallen further than I thought. Anyone that has watched Armagh or thought this was a given pre match need their head looked at. I said to a friend at game way it started had alot of similarity to Galway game in league where Armagh appeared much better side early on but wasn't reflected on scoreboard. Armagh will be delighted to win and in the manner they did with all the talk being that Donegal will beat them handy.
With 14 men? 67 mins were played 15 v 15. Bit of spin there. Plus you're ignoring the two key men off in the early stages of the game. Tyrone have absolutely fallen away, think everyone in Tyrone knows that. We are under no illusion on that unfortunately. Armagh on the other hand are meant to be one of the top teams who can challenge Kerry. There are serious question marks on that imo.

statto

Quote from: Grace Murphy on April 12, 2026, 07:49:14 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on April 12, 2026, 07:38:42 PM
Quote from: Grace Murphy on April 12, 2026, 07:18:39 PMSaid that performance won't beat anyone else.

Tyrone are a good side and maybe he should check himself and realise that Armagh aren't that big a shake and that there performance was in line with there oppositions hunger and ability!

So he didn't say anything that wasn't true

Must be on the stuff the other lad on if he think they can't beat Fermanagh playing like that!
no need for that comment. You must also have missed the part where he said that Tyrone have serious quality and dismissed what was being said about Tyrone in the media.

statto

Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2026, 09:35:34 AM

With 14 men? 67 mins were played 15 v 15. Bit of spin there. Plus you're ignoring the two key men off in the early stages of the game. Tyrone have absolutely fallen away, think everyone in Tyrone knows that. We are under no illusion on that unfortunately. Armagh on the other hand are meant to be one of the top teams who can challenge Kerry. There are serious question marks on that imo.
Yes 14 men when game was in melting pot and there for the winning. There was also serious questions asked when beat Down by a point two years ago. Armagh as others have said don't tend to do things easy but it's a results business in championship. Murnin and McCambridge are massive players for Armagh not involved and limited minutes for grugan and Joe McElroy if you want go down that road.

Quote from: RedhandEastie on April 13, 2026, 09:24:00 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 13, 2026, 09:16:45 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on April 13, 2026, 09:11:52 AMRough play. Also thought the tackle on Kennedy verged on dangerous play.
Haven't seen it. Was it worse than the one on Jarly Og?
He jumped to avoid contact and got spun around. Looks worse than it was.
McGeary got took out from behind, Armagh defender made sure to leave plenty in the tackle and he had to go off injured. Don't know where the victimhood of the Armagh supporters is coming from, they clearly benefited from vast majority of refereeing decisions, frees in the wrong place, advantages for the slightest tackle whilst ignored several times on the opposing side. No.11 got into a shoving match and got yellowed along with Tyrone man, then fouled neck high from behind with 3 minutes to go thinking it was a good foul and worth the second yellow card.
Scoreable free count for both teams highlights the disparity, Canavan, McKernan and McElholm all fouled in attacking zone but none given. On the flip side Jarly og was given 3 soft frees for minimal contact and absolutely no idea what McCormack was given the free for when he caught the garryowen.

LOL

Quote from: statto on April 13, 2026, 09:45:35 AM
Quote from: Grace Murphy on April 12, 2026, 07:18:39 PMSaid that performance won't beat anyone else.

Tyrone are a good side and maybe he should check himself and realise that Armagh aren't that big a shake and that there performance was in line with there oppositions hunger and ability!

Must be on the stuff the other lad on if he think they can't beat Fermanagh playing like that!
no need for that comment. You must also have missed the part where he said that Tyrone have serious quality and dismissed what was being said about Tyrone in the media.

doesnt suit the agenda you see

if yesterday showed anything it showed there is life in Tyrone yet. Disappointing to lose but definitely showed you can have a decent summer. Draw dependent of course

Quote from: statto on April 13, 2026, 09:52:51 AM

Yes 14 men when game was in melting pot and there for the winning. There was also serious questions asked when beat Down by a point two years ago. Armagh as others have said don't tend to do things easy but it's a results business in championship. Murnin and McCambridge are massive players for Armagh not involved and limited minutes for grugan and Joe McElroy if you want go down that road.
Yeah I said that yesterday, thankfully were fit to get over the line without being great. If the rest of the year plays out the same as '24 we'd be happy enough!

Dug deep without playing well which will stand us better in the long run than if we'd turned up and hammered them, another positive is we did it without any of that older cohort apart from a few minutes of Paddy Burns and Grugan. Definitely not a gimme in Brewster but barring a big shock in one of the games we've a showdown with Donegal coming up in Clones and will need to improve big time.

Quote from: statto on April 13, 2026, 09:45:35 AM

Glass houses and all that...

Quote from: statto on April 13, 2026, 09:52:51 AM

So your still want to ignore the 67 mins when it was all level on numbers? Knock yourself out. Tyrone were missing players too. The reality was there was nothing between them for 70 mins. And that should concern Armagh more than Tyrone given their current aspirations.

Solo_run

Of course there will be concern but still in the Ulster championship to rectify it. As said in previous post, leaving key players on the bench could have been costly. However, some of these players haven't played this year.

Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2026, 03:14:21 PMI agree, Tyrone are absolutely sitting in the long grass, can you imagine the team talks after training getting ready for this match. Tyrone will be loving this as underdogs and will not be easily beaten. I do expect Armagh to win but wouldn't rule out a draw or wouldn't be shocked if we are beat. This is not Antrim or Fermanagh, this is Tyrone and they should be rightly feared.

Sorry to blow but i did call it...

My take on it with the Orange tinted glasses off are as follows...

Tyrone could easily have won that game yesterday, they had bad luck with injuries to key players and really did kick themselves out of it missing awful chances, I know Armagh ended up with similar wides in the end but Tyrone's shots looked easier to score than some of Armagh's chances. I got what i expected from Tyrone yesterday and TBh have a really good midfield but if they have a good day infront of goal they can beat majority of teams on their day.
As for the Ref...Jasus lads, C'mon. He was fussy and blew a lot for both teams, Tyrone got done a few time for soft ones and so did Armagh. When you had the chances you created yesterday and missed so many you can't blame the Ref for that, you got Armagh on a bad day and unfortunately you didn't have your shooting boots on either.

As for Armagh...well below par performance and it's clear that Grugan, McCambridge and Murnin are not ready yet and I'm glad they were not risked yesterday although that Grugan move was a bit bizzare at the end of normal time on and off. I thought the sending off was very harsh and I agree with wee Pete on that, McMullan was probably or most consistant player yesterday and he was really missed. He glides over the grass and has great ball carrying skills, he is a quality footballer. Armagh got away with one yesterday and they will know that but it's great to come out of a game like that on the right side for a change and it will def sharpen their focus going forward. Armagh's injured players now have a chance to get another few weeks trainig into the legs and without disrespecting Fermanagh I would be targeting the semi final with them lads (if we get there).

Strange one naming Murnin and McCambridge and not using them, why not name even a young lad who could have came in and at least be fresh legs late on. Job done and on to the next. Agree on McMullen, such a classy player. Worrying amount of balls dropped etc which isn't good enough for this level although conditions didn't help.