Armagh v Tyrone USFC - BOX IT Athletic Grounds, Sunday 12th April, 16:15

Started by balladmaker, March 31, 2026, 02:28:31 PM

Quote from: Solo_run on April 13, 2026, 02:06:26 PM
Quote from: 2ndstringsub on April 13, 2026, 01:52:29 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on April 13, 2026, 12:32:38 PMJesus Christ, let's start taking swipes at fans now; talk about school playground stuff.

I said not all but far more than I've come across elsewhere travelling for 20 years to Tyrone games regardless of competition or location..

The stuff I heard at the weekend you wouldn't hear in a playground from any cub that was even half reared. disgraceful.

Not disagreeing it is disgraceful but unfortunately it is the times we live in. You are going to get Armagh fans that have the same experience as you with Tyrone fans. It is like what people have said it is everywhere and in every county.
Yep do get it regular. Have to say I didn't hear anything out of the ordinary yesterday, odd bit of shouting and roaring but all grand

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 13, 2026, 02:17:03 PMYep do get it regular. Have to say I didn't hear anything out of the ordinary yesterday, odd bit of shouting and roaring but all grand

Clones seems to major in a certain class of "fan", There is not the same scope for a road trip to Armagh, it is too near Lurgan. Given the attendances at Armagh league games this year, it was not the first time to go to a game for almost all present and they were regular football people. There had been almost as many Galway and Kerry people at game in Armagh this year as Tyrone people yesterday, Tyronies need to get behind their team.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Reading some of the Tyronies on this thread just makes our victory all the sweeter

tiempo

Armagh won with 47% shooting accuracy, that shouldn't be enough to win a game at that level, but when the opposition insist on pot shotting their way to 38% conversion the door was left open and Armagh walked through it

As a casual observer of yesterday's game, what was the craic with the subs from Armagh?

Did they not have a full panel?

Quote from: 2ndstringsub on April 13, 2026, 11:47:37 AMHard to know where to start. Armagh finish with 14 however Tyrone finish with a team that was cobbled together through the misfortunate injuries of some of our most influential players.

The lads that were called upon put in a serious shift maybe not perfect in a football sense but all involved will be getting some much needed recovery today.

Outside the game however. call it passion or whatever you want is there a bigger shower of shitebags following Gaelic football at the moment than some sections of Armagh support. some of the things roared around us would see you leave any bar or nightclub in the country battered.. the more level headed Armagh supporters around in the stand also appalled by what was being said.

The sooner the flash in the pan Armagh team have here fizzle out and back to mediocrity the better. Unbearable Support.

I was in Nialls Cresant Terrace and never heard anything untoward. There was a big laugh when someone in the seated stand shouted at the ref to get a hold of the game.

tyrone08

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 13, 2026, 02:55:17 PMReading some of the Tyronies on this thread just makes our victory all the sweeter

Dont see too many tyrone ones complaining. Ironically i think tyrone ones are actually happy enough with how the team played given this years performances.

Would imagine geezer isn't too happy that it took extra time to beat a tyrone side with more losses than wins in Division 2.

Either way no one is coming close to Kerry or Donegal this year anyway.

An Watcher

Armagh just need to get their All Ireland winning team back and they'll be fine

TyroneTam

Quote from: Orior on April 13, 2026, 05:57:57 PM
Quote from: 2ndstringsub on April 13, 2026, 11:47:37 AMHard to know where to start. Armagh finish with 14 however Tyrone finish with a team that was cobbled together through the misfortunate injuries of some of our most influential players.

The lads that were called upon put in a serious shift maybe not perfect in a football sense but all involved will be getting some much needed recovery today.

Outside the game however. call it passion or whatever you want is there a bigger shower of shitebags following Gaelic football at the moment than some sections of Armagh support. some of the things roared around us would see you leave any bar or nightclub in the country battered.. the more level headed Armagh supporters around in the stand also appalled by what was being said.

The sooner the flash in the pan Armagh team have here fizzle out and back to mediocrity the better. Unbearable Support.

I was in Nialls Cresant Terrace and never heard anything untoward. There was a big laugh when someone in the seated stand shouted at the ref to get a hold of the game.

I was in the same terrace and can confirm this was hilarious... absolutely no reason for it at all.

I came outta Armagh on Sunday feeling much happier than when I went in.
With a Donegal partner and loads of her family so anti Tyrone, they would be loving a chance for revenge for last years defeat.:-)
I thought there was a good atmosphere where we were standing along the side where O'Neill stole his yards and Morgan hurt his calves when he landed. Bit of healthy banter but nothing too bad.

Of course you don't like losing any game but with so many new players brought in and Darragh off so early and McCurry not at the races at all, I think we did very well to get so close to a surprise win over one of the top 3 teams in the country.
Yes Armagh were missing some of their best men too but we stood up and showed character to come back from what looked like a hammering at 6-1 down.

Jordan had an off day with some tough far out frees which probably drained his confidence and Mattie showed us yet again he's not just there to make up the numbers and adds a bit of muscle and strenth that so many of our forwards lack.

Ulster as we all know is a minefield and with Fermanagh, Donegal/Down and probably Derry in the final I'm happy enuf to be out of it with injuries and suspensions all possible. We all end up at the same stage anyway but the only down side is we have an away game in round 1 of the All Ireland but you'd be hoping of still making the latter stages. I dont think we or many can match Donegal or Kerry but I think we can give any of the others a good game if we can get our full team fully fit and firing.

On another note, I'm really fed up watching so many of our forwards not making incisive runs into the arc area but rather skirt around the edge of it waiting for the perfect moment. It's all totally off the training ground and nobody thinks for themselves. You can see times when Darragh, McCurry, McElholm and Jordan had chances to shoot but chose (or were told) to turn back and recycle. OMG it's so frustrating to watch good players not having a go from often 20-30 yards

DaleCooper

Yep the forward play is annoying to watch. The arc might be to close to goal.

Quote from: Fuzzman on Today at 12:01:00 PMI came outta Armagh on Sunday feeling much happier than when I went in.
With a Donegal partner and loads of her family so anti Tyrone, they would be loving a chance for revenge for last years defeat.:-)
I thought there was a good atmosphere where we were standing along the side where O'Neill stole his yards and Morgan hurt his calves when he landed. Bit of healthy banter but nothing too bad.

Of course you don't like losing any game but with so many new players brought in and Darragh off so early and McCurry not at the races at all, I think we did very well to get so close to a surprise win over one of the top 3 teams in the country.
Yes Armagh were missing some of their best men too but we stood up and showed character to come back from what looked like a hammering at 6-1 down.

Jordan had an off day with some tough far out frees which probably drained his confidence and Mattie showed us yet again he's not just there to make up the numbers and adds a bit of muscle and strenth that so many of our forwards lack.

Ulster as we all know is a minefield and with Fermanagh, Donegal/Down and probably Derry in the final I'm happy enuf to be out of it with injuries and suspensions all possible. We all end up at the same stage anyway but the only down side is we have an away game in round 1 of the All Ireland but you'd be hoping of still making the latter stages. I dont think we or many can match Donegal or Kerry but I think we can give any of the others a good game if we can get our full team fully fit and firing.

On another note, I'm really fed up watching so many of our forwards not making incisive runs into the arc area but rather skirt around the edge of it waiting for the perfect moment. It's all totally off the training ground and nobody thinks for themselves. You can see times when Darragh, McCurry, McElholm and Jordan had chances to shoot but chose (or were told) to turn back and recycle. OMG it's so frustrating to watch good players not having a go from often 20-30 yards

Donnelly still a class act. A joy to watch, albeit, not so much on Sunday......