Diesel, petrol, oil price watch

Started by Dire Ear, March 08, 2022, 10:00:40 AM

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 05:53:52 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2026, 05:41:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 05:25:46 PMThis is 100% on the government. Could end it tonight. Haven't even the brains to engage with protest leaders which will do nothing only play into the hands of the extreme elements.

Never seen a government politician worried about ambulances or hospitals before this tbh.
What protest leaders? Name 3 please and what organisations they represent. I will need you to be specific
Genuinely whoever is put forward. Purely for the image that they are at least pretending to listen. The narrative now is the government won't engage.

The government will blink soon I hope or this will get very messy. One thing for sure is those men aren't going home without fuel prices coming down.

So they get their fuel price, and then some other set of thugs come out wanting something else, we would live in complete anarchy.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

What do yous boys suggest we do? wait til it hits a fiver a litre?

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 06:00:18 PMWhat do yous boys suggest we do? wait til it hits a fiver a litre?

The government has reduced duty and have said that they can do more if they prices go up.
But this has a price, and they should decide on the balance of doing this and not give in to coercion.
Oil has come down, the prices might be down in week or two anyway.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 05:53:52 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2026, 05:41:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 05:25:46 PMThis is 100% on the government. Could end it tonight. Haven't even the brains to engage with protest leaders which will do nothing only play into the hands of the extreme elements.

Never seen a government politician worried about ambulances or hospitals before this tbh.
What protest leaders? Name 3 please and what organisations they represent. I will need you to be specific
Genuinely whoever is put forward. Purely for the image that they are at least pretending to listen. The narrative now is the government won't engage.

The government will blink soon I hope or this will get very messy. One thing for sure is those men aren't going home without fuel prices coming down.
So you have no idea who is behind this...

Blink on what? Trans rights? Immigration?

Is there a more punchable person in the country than Harris? Vile man

I wonder how the truck drivers and farm contractors would feel if the teachers blocked the roads and fuel depots in the middle of the summer for 2 weeks? Or hospital consultants. If those groups decided to hold everyone to ransom the way these lads have now I'm sure they'd feel very different about blocking off the country's oil supply.

The greatest laugh is that the South have actually cut duties and this is their reward. In NI they've done f**k all and work is going on as usual.

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 06:35:06 PMIs there a more punchable person in the country than Harris? Vile man

I mean you're a strong supporter of sectarian murderers and alleged rapists, so...

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 10, 2026, 06:00:18 PMWhat do yous boys suggest we do? wait til it hits a fiver a litre?

Oil trades with one global rate, no matter where you source it. So its very much out of Ireland's hands, as this was caused by Trump and Netanyahu. But some of the eejits think the strait of hormuz is not the problem, carbon tax is. The attack on EU and carbon tax is right wing rhetoric, as god forbid any leaders do anything to be less dependent on fossil fuels. So you have Tommy Robinson and his ilk cheering this on. If war does not end after temporary ceasefire, lots of us are in for a very rough time of it economically. On the optimistic side if trump retreats and sanctions are lifted off Iran as part of deal, they will be able to buy our beef again. Every cloud.

Average Irish motorist spent €39.90 a week on fuel before this. Going by forecourt figures, the same amount of fuel would cost €49.28 today, an increase of just €9.38 per week, and it's almost certainly temporary at it is caused by geopolitical factors.

€9.38 wouldn't buy you a fish supper. Is this really worth stopping women in labour from getting to hospital?

Dont see them protesting about Americans actions who caused the whole thing!

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 10, 2026, 07:10:43 PMDont see them protesting about Americans actions who caused the whole thing!
Would love to see a blockade at Trumps spot in Clare. But doubt it would get much attention.

Deerstalker

You just knew edgy disruptor Armagh18 would be in favour of it

https://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-protests-7008346-Apr2026/

Quote'Another few days will have things crippled': Inside the protest WhatsApp groups

QuoteOne person in one group asked if protesters should blockade Donald Trump's Doonbeg hotel, to which someone replied: "He's got nothing to do with it so no".

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2026/04/10/european-airports-warn-of-jet-fuel-shortages/
Jet fuel prices remain at double the level before the war, reflecting its relative scarcity.

Michael O'Leary, chief executive of Ryanair, said earlier this month that if the war continues, then there was a risk of "disruptions in Europe in May and June", adding that "maybe 10pc, 20pc, 25pc of our supplies might be at risk".If

Quote from: trileacman on April 10, 2026, 06:38:01 PMI wonder how the truck drivers and farm contractors would feel if the teachers blocked the roads and fuel depots in the middle of the summer for 2 weeks? Or hospital consultants. If those groups decided to hold everyone to ransom the way these lads have now I'm sure they'd feel very different about blocking off the country's oil supply.

The greatest laugh is that the South have actually cut duties and this is their reward. In NI they've done f**k all and work is going on as usual.

There was a guy on the radio there who said that they'd win on Monday when the school buses would not be out and the children would have to stay at home. So diesel went up 15% and we are going to close the schools! Do these people ever look at themselves?