Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

bannside

If you were at a school that had maybe never won a college allstar in its history, or your club had never won one, maybe to receive something like that would be massive. Also most likely to be a massive thing for your parents, your club and school coaches who were part of that journey.

The hysteria putting this first over playing for your county team (two or three years early it should be noted) that will heavily lose whether you are playing or not, is unfair.

I see both sides, but a county under 20 team should have adequate cover for every position, or if not, thats where the true problem lies!!

And what players incorrectly got a GL player of the week that has got another poster all properly riled up?? Poor Thing!

Quote from: Sean McLar on April 09, 2026, 03:22:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 09, 2026, 02:58:30 PM
Quote from: Deerstalker on April 09, 2026, 12:44:15 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 09, 2026, 08:45:50 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on April 08, 2026, 08:20:25 PMI will tell you how mush of a farce the all star trials are, a player who played outfield all year in the Mageean Cup for his school went to the trials as a goalie & may have got one. Haven't heard

He did and is a fantastic keeper.

Nicky Quaid plays outfield for his club as does Eoin Murphy.

In this case you aren't really comparing like for like, they play outfield at a different level & different competitions. 

What happened in the All Star trials is like Nicky Quaid playing outfield all year for Limerick and then getting a goalkeeping all star.

Why didn't his school just nominate him to go and try out as an outfield player ? Maybe they did. But he played outfield in the competition. It's a bit bizarre.

So, if you played fullback for your school, you shouldn't be considered for corner back at the trial, is that what you are saying?

Why make this solely about an outfield/goalkeeper difference, it's the same analogy, same transferrable skills.

I know the lad in question that Saffrongael is alluding to and guess where he was playing last night for Down U20's?

He is an out and out goalkeeper, who happened to play outfield as his school team wasn't that strong and he has played outfield for us at juvenile level as well for the very same reason and a younger lad will take less hurt in goals.

Also,
  They seem to be picking these College Allstars on the basis of the trial games, not the actual competitions themselves so why shouldn't a player selected to attend by his school decide which position best gives them a chance of selection?
SaffronGael. You are referring to my son. The current u20 Antrim goalkeeper. Who has done goals for Antrim from he was u14. Hiding behind a false name and slabbering about young lads on this platform. What a w**ker.

There must have been two lads who've played outfield for their schools and then trialled for the goalkeepers position as the Down U20 keeper got a Colleges All Star for 2025

Is that another generation of Clarke goalie for Down u20s JC?

toby47

Quote from: bannside on April 10, 2026, 08:24:47 AMIf you were at a school that had maybe never won a college allstar in its history, or your club had never won one, maybe to receive something like that would be massive. Also most likely to be a massive thing for your parents, your club and school coaches who were part of that journey.

The hysteria putting this first over playing for your county team
(two or three years early it should be noted) that will heavily lose whether you are playing or not, is unfair.

I see both sides, but a county under 20 team should have adequate cover for every position, or if not, thats where the true problem lies!!

And what players incorrectly got a GL player of the week that has got another poster all properly riled up?? Poor Thing!

Absolute garbage. A team sport, team ethos. Team mates trusting and respecting you is more important than heading off to a trial to try win a colleges All-Star that means very little. I disagree that it's 'massive.' What does a college All Star mean to a club, realistically, or your school coaches? Even your parents, fair play winning one, a nice night out of it collecting the award.....but after that?

SaffronSports

What is the difference in all these all stars?

Am i right in saying there's all stars, future stars and is there soaring stars? Are some of those maybe the same thing.

Quote from: imtommygunn on April 10, 2026, 11:25:53 AMIs that another generation of Clarke goalie for Down u20s JC?

yes indeed, it is. Grahams son.

bannside

Quote from: toby47 on April 10, 2026, 11:32:30 AM
Quote from: bannside on April 10, 2026, 08:24:47 AMIf you were at a school that had maybe never won a college allstar in its history, or your club had never won one, maybe to receive something like that would be massive. Also most likely to be a massive thing for your parents, your club and school coaches who were part of that journey.

(two or three years early it should be noted) that will heavily lose whether you are playing or not, is unfair.

Absolute garbage. A team sport, team ethos. Team mates trusting and respecting you is more important than heading off to a trial to try win a colleges All-Star that means very little. I disagree that it's 'massive.' What does a college All Star mean to a club, realistically, or your school coaches? Even your parents, fair play winning one, a nice night out of it collecting the award.....but after that?

Well thats fine Toby, disagree all you want. I happen to know of a fella in the mix to whom it would be a massive honour. First time his school was ever considered for example.

You play sport you set your own ambitions. Want to play club seniors, want to play county minors, under 20 and seniors, want to be first in my school to ever win an award of this type....

Thats not for you to set Tiby, is it?

How do you know these lads didnt ask the manager?

Would it make a difference if the match was an important one or whether it was lining up for another hammering...where your presence or absence wouldnt make a difference!

You havent it thought through at all, just a generic standard knee jerk reaction.

If it was your son saying to you that he would dearly cherish an All Star...would you have such a closed mind?

My view is that if you go to three trials you might as well go to the fourth...unless the county match was a much bigger event than a potential 29 point hammering.

Yes/No...

toby47

Quote from: bannside on April 10, 2026, 12:28:09 PM

Well thats fine Toby, disagree all you want. I happen to know of a fella in the mix to whom it would be a massive honour. First time his school was ever considered for example.

You play sport you set your own ambitions. Want to play club seniors, want to play county minors, under 20 and seniors, want to be first in my school to ever win an award of this type....

Would it make a difference if the match was an important one or whether it was lining up for another hammering...where your presence or absence wouldnt make a difference!

You havent it thought through at all, just a generic standard knee jerk reaction.

If it was your son saying to you that he would dearly cherish an All Star...would you have such a closed mind?

My view is that if you go to three trials you might as well go to the fourth...unless the county match was a much bigger event than a potential 29 point hammering.

Yes/No...

And there in your answer lies a part of the overarching problem. Don't expect for things to ever get better if your opinion is fairly standard throughout the county.

Points a Good Score

Yes/No...

Trial was the day after the Monaghan game which Antrim where extremely competitive in right up to the 55th minute mark a 29 point hammering against Derry has no bearing on it, the sad reality is players have a greater chance of individual success through an all star trial than collective success with an Antrim team currently.

Roll on the complaints about the best players in Antrim opting out of the county team.. Oh we do that also lol

Some amount of whingebags on here
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

NatSoSaff

They do opt out! Often! How many have walked away again this year and particularly the last couple of weeks?

We excuse and rationalise these behaviours and decisions as no big deal. And in the grand scheme of life, none of it is, but don't go and be the same couple of posters crying in a few weeks time that we 'aren't at an acceptable standard' and "things have to change"!

Your attitudes magnify the problem. People don't care enough about playing for antrim. They don't place enough value in it. That's the truth.

HTownlad

Who's walked away the last few weeks or is that just more nonsense?

NatSoSaff

James McAuley, Ryan Murray, Jamie Gribben, Tom Mcferran (maybe more?)

So no, not nonsense

HTownlad

Anyone who was actually involved and not suffering from injury?

James was the only one fell out of favour the rest have been injured

Cnoc Bán

Yes/No...

Well said bannside.

An 18 year old having the chance to get an honour such as a colleges all star isn't to be sniffed at.

And bearing in mind they will have another year or two at u20 then the team shouldn't be so heavily reliant on them being there.

They will have many years ahead to represent the county.

This is their last ever chance at an honour for their school.

As you say, if those whinging about it were to have one of their own children in the same position, I would say they wouldn't be as vocal.