Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Goals_Will_Come

I still don't see how this team, if it lined out somewhere close to this, isn't in the mix against Armagh.

1. Morgan/O'Kane
2. Joey Clarke/Aidan Clarke
3. Paudie Hampsey
4. Niall Devlin
5. Michael McKernan
6. Peter Teague
7. Seanie O'Donnell
8. Brian Kennedy
9. Conn Kilpatrick
10. Ben McDonnell/Joe Oguz
11. Eoin McElholm
12. Ethan Jordan/Ciaran Daly/Conor O'Neill
13. Darren McCurry
14. Darragh Canavan
15. Mattie Donnelly

That is a seriously strong team that can beat Armagh and win an Ulster title and no one can tell me otherwise.

Onthe40

decent team on paper, but how in 2 weeks can you go from the malaise that they've been showing to date to turn over turning a team who've been consistenly performing in div1 (despite loosing a few games narrowly)
they have good men to return as well

the running power of Armagh from deep is worrying

square_ball

Any word on Hampsey? Was he with the squad on Sunday?

I can see McGeary starting come championship. Defenders lining up something like

Quinn - A Clarke - Devlin

McKernan - Teague - McGeary

Whoever our 2 wing half forwards are they will basically have to do a man marking job on McQuillan and Burns as that's where so much of Armaghs play comes from. Likely O'Donnell and Daly will be given those jobs.

tyrone08

Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on March 24, 2026, 10:02:28 AMI still don't see how this team, if it lined out somewhere close to this, isn't in the mix against Armagh.

1. Morgan/O'Kane
3. Paudie Hampsey
4. Niall Devlin
5. Michael McKernan
6. Peter Teague
7. Seanie O'Donnell
8. Brian Kennedy
9. Conn Kilpatrick
11. Eoin McElholm
13. Darren McCurry
14. Darragh Canavan
15. Mattie Donnelly

That is a seriously strong team that can beat Armagh and win an Ulster title and no one can tell me otherwise.

Its the attitude and determination of the players that is part of the issue at the minute. Apart from Mattie and Conn bursting themselves no one else showed any real determination against Cork. We are half tracking men and half heartly tackling them. I think the Cork game was the only game this year were we haven't conceded a goal, Cork should have scored at least 1.

Armagh will cause us serious bother and I can see us conceding a few goals at least.

In addition we have no set style of play no matter how talented our players might be. We seem to live on the 45 line and hope for a bit of magic to get us a score.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on March 24, 2026, 10:02:28 AMI still don't see how this team, if it lined out somewhere close to this, isn't in the mix against Armagh.

1. Morgan/O'Kane
3. Paudie Hampsey
4. Niall Devlin
5. Michael McKernan
6. Peter Teague
7. Seanie O'Donnell
8. Brian Kennedy
9. Conn Kilpatrick
11. Eoin McElholm
13. Darren McCurry
14. Darragh Canavan
15. Mattie Donnelly

We've seen all these players this year and very few of them have been good enough. And if they did have good individual performances it obviously hasn't done much for the team performances

NotedObserver

Quote from: square_ball on March 24, 2026, 10:47:05 AMAny word on Hampsey? Was he with the squad on Sunday?

I can see McGeary starting come championship. Defenders lining up something like

Whoever our 2 wing half forwards are they will basically have to do a man marking job on McQuillan and Burns as that's where so much of Armaghs play comes from. Likely O'Donnell and Daly will be given those jobs.

Armagh have plenty of Danger but cant be all man marked. Turbitt, oisin oneill and conaty in the forwards possibly the stand out but they have Darragh McMullan also who is excellent. Conaty is very hard to handle and not sure who would be best. Looking at Quinn or Seanie ODonnell who are probably the 2 quickest.

Defensively we have to improve as a team or else we will be shipping goals

square_ball

Quote from: NotedObserver on March 24, 2026, 11:41:34 AM
Quote from: square_ball on March 24, 2026, 10:47:05 AMAny word on Hampsey? Was he with the squad on Sunday?

Armagh have plenty of Danger but cant be all man marked. Turbitt, oisin oneill and conaty in the forwards possibly the stand out but they have Darragh McMullan also who is excellent. Conaty is very hard to handle and not sure who would be best. Looking at Quinn or Seanie ODonnell who are probably the 2 quickest.

Defensively we have to improve as a team or else we will be shipping goals

Niall Devlin is the go to man marker at the minute so I'd expect him to start on Conaty.

But you are correct in saying that as a team there has to be serious improvements in our defending. The last 2 matches against decent opposition has been particularly bad from a defensive point of view. You'd wonder what they work on at training.

the goal was on

All teams are conceding big totals. Donegal 3.16 at weekend 2.20 the week before in brutal conditions. Its the new norm. Defend the 2 pointer you leave yourself open inside. Stay deep , you can get beat by a few long range shots. The wind plays a major role in gaelic now and im not sure thats a good thing but aint gonna change.

Mikhailov

Tyrone are capable of scoring heavily in AG and possibly getting around 24/25 points but can our leaky defence keep Armagh below that.

Doubtful if we go on current form as Armagh scored heavily in most games against better defensive set ups than Tyrone at the moment

tiempo

Tyrone bingo card USFC vs Armagh

1. Aidy Clarke to be named in starting team but doesn't start

Sean Og Patriots

Quote from: tiempo on March 24, 2026, 01:29:34 PMTyrone bingo card USFC vs Armagh

2. Ethan Jordan (our top scorer) to be on the bench.
I have always depended on the kindness of strangers. All Ireland Club - 2030.

Squareball71

At times I see so many similarities to the issues in Derry the last number of years. Really good underage teams with an expectation of more quickly, internal issues, good individuals but lack of cohesion as a team.
Whatever you guys think the championship and a rattle at Armagh should bring the best out of them. If it doesn't then nothing will and it may be a back to the drawing board job.
Derry and Tyrone both taking a bit of stick after the league campaign. Would be nice to see a Derry  v Tyrone Ulster final to shut a lot of people up across the country.
One thing lads. If you get a rattle at Donegal beat the lining out of them in all aspects.

Good luck in Armagh.

Sean Og Patriots

Quote from: Squareball71 on March 24, 2026, 02:52:03 PMAt times I see so many similarities to the issues in Derry the last number of years. Really good underage teams with an expectation of more quickly, internal issues, good individuals but lack of cohesion as a team.
Whatever you guys think the championship and a rattle at Armagh should bring the best out of them. If it doesn't then nothing will and it may be a back to the drawing board job.
Derry and Tyrone both taking a bit of stick after the league campaign. Would be nice to see a Derry  v Tyrone Ulster final to shut a lot of people up across the country.
One thing lads. If you get a rattle at Donegal beat the lining out of them in all aspects.

Good luck in Armagh.

At last!!!!! one decent message on this board that wasn't hitting on the players/management. Someone with a bit of an idea and some respect.

Typical of it to come from someone outside the county. Fair play Squareball71 you have give me some hope for this board.

Tyrone will give Armagh all they want and I don't think 70 minutes will be enough time for either team. Right to the wire! Like it always is. Who gives two fucks about the 7 friendlies we played this year, last year or the last 5 year??? Tyrone get this thing nailed on for championship. Full 15 and stuck into Armagh. See yous in the athletic grounds and for the rest of yous gimps who give off yet never attend a game enjoy the game in your miserable home with yourself. Hope your dodgy stick glitches the entire game.

UP Tyrone.
I have always depended on the kindness of strangers. All Ireland Club - 2030.

NotedObserver

Anyone an update on Michael mcglennon? Did he ever recover from injury? Was just flicking through the recent under 20 winning sides and his name stuck out. Another is Gavin potter who brought another dimension to the underage sides

Quote from: Sean Og Patriots on March 24, 2026, 02:06:12 PM
Quote from: tiempo on March 24, 2026, 01:29:34 PMTyrone bingo card USFC vs Armagh

2. Ethan Jordan (our top scorer) to be on the bench.

3. Tyrone to not register a 2 pointer until the 50th minute.