NFL Division 2 - 2026

Started by SouthOfThe Bann, January 14, 2026, 11:33:10 AM

Was like a home game for Meath today. 90% was easily Meath supporters. Offaly put up token resistance today but were playing like they were already beaten in the second half.

Hopefully we give a better account of ourselves next week vs Cork.

tyroneStatto

Quote from: Jim Bob on March 22, 2026, 03:20:41 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on March 22, 2026, 02:52:49 PM
Quote from: befair on March 22, 2026, 02:48:28 PMWorst Tyrone team I've seen for years; stupid passes, carrying into trouble, constantly giving the ball away

Easily the worst tyrone team in last 15 years

They were never as bad as this 15 years ago !

Been supporting Tyrone since 1984 and the lowest point for me was the Division 3 defeat to Antrim at Coalisland in November 1993. We aren't at that stage yet but worringly we are now closer to that level  than being a decent Division 1 team again.

Mikhailov

Quote from: tyroneStatto on March 22, 2026, 04:53:15 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 22, 2026, 03:20:41 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on March 22, 2026, 02:52:49 PM
Quote from: befair on March 22, 2026, 02:48:28 PMWorst Tyrone team I've seen for years; stupid passes, carrying into trouble, constantly giving the ball away

Easily the worst tyrone team in last 15 years

They were never as bad as this 15 years ago !

Been supporting Tyrone since 1984 and the lowest point for me was the Division 3 defeat to Antrim at Coalisland in November 1993. We aren't at that stage yet but worringly we are now closer to that level  than being a decent Division 1 team again.

Not sure you are correct on that. No way were Tyrone playing Division 3 in 1993 if they were in the national league division 1 final in 1992 v Derry.
Back then was it not 1A & 1B as Division 1 and the top 2 in each section played the NFL semi final. Antrim were possibly in 1B but I stand corrected but definitely sure Tyrone were not in Div 3

Dunneroyal

Well job done. No real surprises apart from it was probably Meaths worst overall performance of the campaign .
And won't be near good enough v cork next week. Now I think there was a lot of nerves , + 10 on handicap. And trying to be too clever and too fancy at times. 
That been said an easy victory and no injuries that I saw .
I do have a few observations on the campaign overall.
1, on what basis was Tyrone and to a lesser degree Derry so prominent in everyone's opinion of running away with the league? Neither team finished in the top 3 never mind get promoted, Derry hadn't won a game in almost a year, Tyrone while getting into semis last year were relegated beforehand and always looked a little suspect. And Tyrone can count themselves lucky that there wasn't a stronger team than Offaly in the division.
2, and this is a general point. The standard of referees in division 2 is abysmal, I mean it's gone beyond a joke , today for instance long ball into Offaly player, clear advance mark if he put his hand up, he didn't, he continues and puts ball wide. Ref calls  advance mark anyway while Meath players try to tell him he didn't call it, eventually linesman informs ref that he is wrong, as Offaly player has ball to kick point he tells player to give him the ball and hands it to sean Brennan.
That is just one of many I could point out.
If we don't have a basic standard of officiating at games it makes a mockery of the games. I pity teams in division 3 and 4 if this is what is best available for div 2.
Anyway that's my ranting over. I've said it a hundred times, these Meath lads need silverware to push them to the next level , so that's what we need next weekend.
Hon the royal

Quote from: Dunneroyal on March 22, 2026, 07:51:10 PMWell job done. No real surprises apart from it was probably Meaths worst overall performance of the campaign .
And won't be near good enough v cork next week. Now I think there was a lot of nerves , + 10 on handicap. And trying to be too clever and too fancy at times. 
1, on what basis was Tyrone and to a lesser degree Derry so prominent in everyone's opinion of running away with the league? Neither team finished in the top 3 never mind get promoted, Derry hadn't won a game in almost a year, Tyrone while getting into semis last year were relegated beforehand and always looked a little suspect. And Tyrone can count themselves lucky that there wasn't a stronger team than Offaly in the division.
2, and this is a general point. The standard of referees in division 2 is abysmal, I mean it's gone beyond a joke , today for instance long ball into Offaly player, clear advance mark if he put his hand up, he didn't, he continues and puts ball wide. Ref calls  advance mark anyway while Meath players try to tell him he didn't call it, eventually linesman informs ref that he is wrong, as Offaly player has ball to kick point he tells player to give him the ball and hands it to sean Brennan.
If we don't have a basic standard of officiating at games it makes a mockery of the games. I pity teams in division 3 and 4 if this is what is best available for div 2.
Anyway that's my ranting over. I've said it a hundred times, these Meath lads need silverware to push them to the next level , so that's what we need next weekend.

I thought you could either claim the mark in which case you got a free or you didn't claim the mark and could play on and the referee would play on to see if an advantage accrued. If it didn't then the referee would award the mark?

square_ball

Quote from: David McKeown on March 22, 2026, 08:44:13 PMI thought you could either claim the mark in which case you got a free or you didn't claim the mark and could play on and the referee would play on to see if an advantage accrued. If it didn't then the referee would award the mark?

Yes this is correct. Sounds like the referee made the right call in the Meath game. The issue is the linesman not knowing the rule if he was trying to overrule the referee. Dunneroyal also need a wee refresher before the championship as well.

Doesn't have to claim advance mark, the ref will allow play to continue, if no advantage then free given at place of catch/mark
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Mario

Quote from: Dunneroyal on March 22, 2026, 07:51:10 PMWell job done. No real surprises apart from it was probably Meaths worst overall performance of the campaign .
Why were Derry and Tyrone favourites? Probably because Meath were beat by 20 points in their last competitive game before the league started and were beat by Louth in a Leinster final. They were an improving team but weren't trusted. Cork have been in division 2 for 10 years so why would you back them. Tyrone were expected to kick on after a decent 2025. Derry didn't win a game but they came close a lot and all their games were against better opposition than you'd face in D2 and they won D1 the year before when they'd less injuries. I don't think having them both as favourites was a ridiculous call in January.

I still think Derry are a better team than Cork, one bad day in Ardee meant Derry went from 1st to 4th.

Bye everyone! Kildare needed that Cavan win but there ya go...

Div 2 is going to be some craic next year with the Dubs, Derry and Tyrone in the mix. Louth have also kept it all going and Down coming up.

A sickener for Derry who probably couldn't see anything but promotion after hammering Cork.  Big and costly slip up against Louth and you can't be left to rely on Tyrone for any favour ever.

Hard to believe a county of Cork's size and tradition needed 11 years to make a return to Division 1, meanwhile Meath look more capable of holding their own in Division 1 this time.

The Dubs for company next year, they are in deep transition and Division 2 could be their home for a few years.

Advance mark- if you get one play on a go for goal as worst case you get brought back for a free if you miss.

GraceO’Malley

Division 2 is never easy, fair play to Meath and Cork on getting promoted. While Derry finished 4th they finished fourth with 10 points. This is only the fourth time a team has not been promoted on 10 points. Ironically, previous to that it was Derry in 2011 and 2022 and Tyrone. Whilst Tyrone only finished 1 league position lower than Derry they finished on 5 points.There is a huge gap between those two teams. Derry had a poor run last year due to injuries and management woes ongoing from 2023 - they never became a bad team overnight.

Dunneroyal

Quote from: Mario on March 22, 2026, 09:15:46 PM
Why were Derry and Tyrone favourites? Probably because Meath were beat by 20 points in their last competitive game before the league started and were beat by Louth in a Leinster final. They were an improving team but weren't trusted. Cork have been in division 2 for 10 years so why would you back them. Tyrone were expected to kick on after a decent 2025. Derry didn't win a game but they came close a lot and all their games were against better opposition than you'd face in D2 and they won D1 the year before when they'd less injuries. I don't think having them both as favourites was a ridiculous call in January.

I still think Derry are a better team than Cork, one bad day in Ardee meant Derry went from 1st to 4th.

I think Meath got very nervous in the game v Donegal. But they had hammered Dublin, and Kerry (only team to beat them last year) Kerry were missing players. So was Meath and beat Galway too. Did they come unstuck v Donegal absolutely. As for loosing to Louth so have Derry and Tyrone. Louth ain't a bad team. And the Leinster final this year will likely be Meath v Louth again. And I'd say Louth will make quarters this year too.
At beginning of year I actually said Meath and one other. For me that was 4 way toss up between cork louth Derry and Tyrone, thought Kildare would stay up and Cavan and Offaly down. But Meath were off form in first game but after 15 minutes had Derry well and truly under control, same with Tyrone (who I'd rate below Derry, actually I think both Louth and Cavan gave us a harder match than either Tyrone or Derry.
But it's over now all apart from winning in croke park next week. The goal has been achieved, and I don't see us returning to div 2 in the near future.
Hon the royal

Dunneroyal,read up on the rules before crying,forward doesnt have to put his hand up anymore.

Very disappointing for Derry to finish 4th. Slipped up badly V Louth in Ardee and it's cost them. Next years Div. 2 will be tougher.

You can lose one but not two games. Just relying on other teams after that is no good.

Although Div. 2 is no bad place. Good teams in it.