34 (42.5%)
Dump the lot
7 (8.8%)

Total Members Voted: 80

Voting closed: August 28, 2025, 09:03:10 PM

Brendan

Quote from: thebigfullforward on August 31, 2025, 07:13:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2025, 06:01:02 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on August 31, 2025, 01:00:02 PMWent to a game yesterday and there was a 3 uo breach. One team only had 2 forwards up, linesman was notified and looked right at it and it took him a good 15/20 seconds to call it. Why did it take so long to notify the ref? There wasn't another player within 15 metres of the halfway line so it's not like he was giving them a chance to get back. Surely call it straight away once you've seen it?

Come and try it.. there's usually new ref's training every January.
It's a genuine question mate. If no-one can answer it's grand. I'd just like to know the reason. No need to be snarky about it

It keeps being called wrongly with a man standing hiding behind the keeper or in the corner etc so maybe the Lino just double and triple checked before embarrassing him/herself

Quote from: thebigfullforward on August 31, 2025, 01:00:02 PMWent to a game yesterday and there was a 3 uo breach. One team only had 2 forwards up, linesman was notified and looked right at it and it took him a good 15/20 seconds to call it. Why did it take so long to notify the ref? There wasn't another player within 15 metres of the halfway line so it's not like he was giving them a chance to get back. Surely call it straight away once you've seen it?

It's a genuine question mate. If no-one can answer it's grand. I'd just like to know the reason. No need to be snarky about it

You were the one being snarky, do you genuinely think they did it on purpose?

I've done countless Linesman jobs since this has come in, the amount of times people are calling for that rule is unbearable, it's not as clear cut as you think otherwise it would be easy!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2025, 08:18:41 PM

I've done countless Linesman jobs since this has come in, the amount of times people are calling for that rule is unbearable, it's not as clear cut as you think otherwise it would be easy!
Where was I being snarky? I asked a genuine question.

I've done umpire a good bit this year and have been able to spot it. Granted easier to spot as umpire maybe but christ, if you have 2 neutral umpires, 2 neutral linesmen and a neutral ref how could it take 15 seconds to call it? At least it was able to be called unlike in the league when it was just let go (again not blaming the ref since you'll probably take that as an attack on a ref even though it's a disagreement with the rules in club league football). I just can't see how it would take so long to call and wonder what would it look like if it was the other way and the team had an extra attacker and got a score from it during those 15 seconds it wasn't called. Would it be ruled out or would they just let it go ahead?

Quote from: thebigfullforward on August 31, 2025, 09:15:59 PM

I've done umpire a good bit this year and have been able to spot it. Granted easier to spot as umpire maybe but christ, if you have 2 neutral umpires, 2 neutral linesmen and a neutral ref how could it take 15 seconds to call it? At least it was able to be called unlike in the league when it was just let go (again not blaming the ref since you'll probably take that as an attack on a ref even though it's a disagreement with the rules in club league football). I just can't see how it would take so long to call and wonder what would it look like if it was the other way and the team had an extra attacker and got a score from it during those 15 seconds it wasn't called. Would it be ruled out or would they just let it go ahead?

I think you are exaggerating the 15 seconds as that's really long for starters, also umpires are not instructed to deal with the 3 4 rule either, they have enough to deal with, if the linesman isn't sure he'll take his time to get it right.

If it was so easy, we would not have any problems, but hey hoy every week it happens
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 31, 2025, 09:26:31 PM

I think you are exaggerating the 15 seconds as that's really long for starters, also umpires are not instructed to deal with the 3 4 rule either, they have enough to deal with, if the linesman isn't sure he'll take his time to get it right.

If it was so easy, we would not have any problems, but hey hoy every week it happens

The attacking teams umpires are doing f**k all when the ball is 60-70m away. They could easily call a 3 up rule breach.

Brendan

Quote from: trileacman on August 31, 2025, 09:29:31 PM

The attacking teams umpires are doing f**k all when the ball is 60-70m away. They could easily call a 3 up rule breach.

They really couldnt, plenty of pitches as an umpire youd struggle to see the Big D never mind the half way line to make that call

Quote from: trileacman on August 31, 2025, 09:29:31 PM

So, they just shout in the mire of other shouts that are being called and the ref will distinguish that from the other shite?

Wise up.

Go out, try it, then come back to me

Fair play to an umpire that can see clearly the midfield line and call it confidently..

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 31, 2025, 09:57:03 PM

Fair play to an umpire that can see clearly the midfield line and call it confidently..

He doesn't have to see the midfield line clearly to call it. If he has any sense of depth perception (and as a f**king umpire I should hope he has) he'll be able to look out the field, recognise that 5 players and maybe the keeper are standing around the 45m to halfway line and that another 30m further on is the next defending player. Quite clearly a considerable distance away from the players who are standing close to the limit of where they should be.

He doesn't need to know that a player has made a marginal breach of the rule (because they're not to be punished anyway) but in those really clear examples where a player has forgotten that he is meant to be one of 3 up or 3 back and is miles into his own half then of the officiating team the umpires is one of the best placed to call it. Both linesmen and refs often have to turn away from the play, face the opposite direction to where the ball is and try and account for 4 defenders and 3 attackers. The umpire doesn't have to do that. We've invented a rule which requires the officiating team to have eyes in the back of their heads. 🙄

Look I think the 3v3 rule is a load of bollocks anyway so I don't know why I'm bothered but to say Umpires are too busy to call a 3v3 breach is just complete bullshit.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: trileacman on September 01, 2025, 12:34:36 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 31, 2025, 09:57:03 PM

He doesn't have to see the midfield line clearly to call it. If he has any sense of depth perception (and as a f**king umpire I should hope he has) he'll be able to look out the field, recognise that 5 players and maybe the keeper are standing around the 45m to halfway line and that another 30m further on is the next defending player. Quite clearly a considerable distance away from the players who are standing close to the limit of where they should be.

He doesn't need to know that a player has made a marginal breach of the rule (because they're not to be punished anyway) but in those really clear examples where a player has forgotten that he is meant to be one of 3 up or 3 back and is miles into his own half then of the officiating team the umpires is one of the best placed to call it. Both linesmen and refs often have to turn away from the play, face the opposite direction to where the ball is and try and account for 4 defenders and 3 attackers. The umpire doesn't have to do that. We've invented a rule which requires the officiating team to have eyes in the back of their heads. 🙄

Look I think the 3v3 rule is a load of bollocks anyway so I don't know why I'm bothered but to say Umpires are too busy to call a 3v3 breach is just complete bullshit.
Yeah not sure how umpires are too busy to spot a 3 up breach. As said you aren't really doing much for the majority of the game and if it's an obvious case like the one I am referring too they could at least notify the linesman to check. It took 5 seconds for the player to notice the man he was marking was away up the pitch and from that point to when it was called I'd say another 10 seconds. It shouldn't even take the umpires, as I said the linesman was looking right at it for long enough. I'm not too fussed about it but it was just a genuine question why it took so long and it seems to have upset some people for some reason

It's upset you enough to post about

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 01, 2025, 08:42:03 AMIt's upset you enough to post about
I asked a genuine question. The only thing I asked was how did it take so long to call it or what reason would there be and suddenly people are getting upset over it. It was an obvious breach and I still haven't been given an answer. If you can't answer that's fine. No need to attack people over a question mate

Cavan19

Quote from: thebigfullforward on September 01, 2025, 08:48:28 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 01, 2025, 08:42:03 AMIt's upset you enough to post about
I asked a genuine question. The only thing I asked was how did it take so long to call it or what reason would there be and suddenly people are getting upset over it. It was an obvious breach and I still haven't been given an answer. If you can't answer that's fine. No need to attack people over a question mate

You wont get a answer here the only people who can tell you are the officals that were involved.

Quote from: thebigfullforward on September 01, 2025, 08:48:28 AM

I'm not attacking, you keep saying it was obvious, obvious to you but not those that make the call, otherwise they'd have called it straight away. Management/subs/players and supporters call these things all game, and the vast majority of them are incorrect, its ok to take time and get it correct rather than get it wrong.

First game I did I called it wrong based on people 'notifying' me, ended up the player was getting some water at the sub bench!

Mountain out of a mole hill