Rugby World Cup 2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 04, 2011, 11:39:16 AM

Quote from: screenmachine on October 08, 2011, 07:14:48 PM
That Dinny hoor has a lot to answer for. He was pitching himself as an Irish William Wallace during the week, it was only a matter of turning up. Turns out we weren't really as good as he thought and Wales were much, much better.

Mea culpa

Wales were just better on the day, Ireland had the possession and the territory just didn't have the control one would have expected their experience to bring.

I'm a positive person but as a Kildare, Arsenal and Ireland rugby fan I can't take anymore  :'(

cicfada

There was f**k all respect shown for the Welsh all week long, all talk about meeting England in the semifinal! Wales were so superior to Ireland . You could see how much they were up for it when the centre smashed  O Callaghan over with ease in the first few minutes!!!So much for the golden generation though! still can't get further than the world cup quarter final so what more have they achieved than the other Irish rugby teams in all fairness! 1 grand slam in other words they one more match that other teams that had won the 5 or 6 nations championship! And they beat Australia but could still not advance  further than that!  If that's the best that  the golden generation can do then it's downhill for Irish rugby especially when you consider the decline of Munster and Leinster once the older lads retire! At least it will put an end to those retarded " this is rugby country"  ads!!  I was very disappointed to watch the match but when I saw how much the Welsh were dominant after Earls scored his try then teh writing was on the wall! Thanks for the memories and now the semifinal will be a classic between the welsh and French!

Quote from: cicfada on October 08, 2011, 08:19:09 PM
You could see how much they were up for it when the centre smashed  O Callaghan over with ease in the first few minutes!!!
I thought that smash bordered somewhere between the edge of legally acceptable rugby and a deliberate brutal assault.
I think that same Welsh guy did it again in the 2nd half, used his skull as a battering ram into the face of an Irish player. The All Blacks are the masters of that, but they use their elbows instead of their skull.
Pity that type of stuff is allowed in Rugby and even applauded by some.

anglocelt39

There was f**k all respect shown for the Welsh all week long, all talk about meeting England in the semifinal! Wales were so superior to Ireland . You could see how much they were up for it when the centre smashed  O Callaghan over with ease in the first few minutes!!!So much for the golden generation though! still can't get further than the world cup quarter final so what more have they achieved than the other Irish rugby teams in all fairness! 1 grand slam in other words they one more match that other teams that had won the 5 or 6 nations championship! And they beat Australia but could still not advance  further than that!  If that's the best that  the golden generation can do then it's downhill for Irish rugby especially when you consider the decline of Munster and Leinster once the older lads retire! At least it will put an end to those retarded " this is rugby country"  ads!!  I was very disappointed to watch the match but when I saw how much the Welsh were dominant after Earls scored his try then teh writing was on the wall! Thanks for the memories and now the semifinal will be a classic between the welsh and French!

Some good points in there. the amount of comment/gloating about, among other things, Aussie arrogance, over the past few weeks has been interesting. I suppose when you've appeared in three RWC finals and have won two you can be excused the odd bit of arrogance/cockiness/over confidence/taking the opposition slightly for granted in a pool game. Considering some of the comments on here in advance of the Welsh game makes you wonder what sort of attitude we would display if we won something at this  caper, sometime.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Right, lets get real here. This the best Irish team there has been. The results v SA, Aus, 6 nations, reg beating England home and away. POC, Darsy, BOD (3 times) player of the 6 nations tournament. O'Connell / BOD coming 2nd in the world player of the year accolade. Rog one of the top test points scorers ever. So yes, in Irish rugby, this is indeed the golden generation. No question.

You are predicting a Leinster team who have been rampant in the HEC these last 2 years, are about to go into decline. How do you know?

One final point..you talk of the welsh centre smashing DOC with ease to try and prove a point, which is nothing but sensationalist poop. A Welsh back smashing an irish lock. Thon welsh centre is 6' 4" and well over 16 stone (just to let you know, but Im sure with your knowledge of the game, that would be akin to telling your granda how to suck eggs)

Quote from: J OGorman on October 08, 2011, 09:41:23 PM

You are predicting a Leinster team who have been rampant in the HEC these last 2 years, are about to go into decline. How do you know?

One final point..you talk of the welsh centre smashing DOC with ease to try and prove a point, which is nothing but sensationalist poop. A Welsh back smashing an irish lock. Thon welsh centre is 6' 4" and well over 16 stone (just to let you know, but Im sure with your knowledge of the game, that would be akin to telling your granda how to suck eggs)

:D :D Thats class.  :D :D

Long and short of it. Over the last few weeks rugby has united the country. There's guys calling it a disgraceful performance in both the falls and shankill. Irelands call me hole

redhandloo

Quote from: rrhf on October 08, 2011, 09:53:34 PM
Long and short of it. Over the last few weeks rugby has united the country. There's guys calling it a disgraceful performance in both the falls and shankill. Irelands call me hole
Love this post
Tough times don't last, tough people do!

cicfada

Quote from: J OGorman on October 08, 2011, 09:41:23 PM

Right, lets get real here. This the best Irish team there has been. The results v SA, Aus, 6 nations, reg beating England home and away. POC, Darsy, BOD (3 times) player of the 6 nations tournament. O'Connell / BOD coming 2nd in the world player of the year accolade. Rog one of the top test points scorers ever. So yes, in Irish rugby, this is indeed the golden generation. No question.

The way that the centre ( doesn't matter how big he is btw) smashed into O Callaghan ( be it illegal or not) was a statement of intent and showed  us all who watched  the match that they were really up for this one!  Anyone that coudn't  see that is blind! I am no rugby expert    but you don't need to be one    to come to   my conclusion about that hit!! It is to O callaghan's credit  that he carried on well after it!!
As for the Golden Generation, well in world Cup terms and that is the ultimate litmus test of an international teams progress, they have not made it past the quarter final stage! That is not progress for me for a team the likes of which may be not seen again for some time  on this island! Maybe winning 6 nations championships and beating southern hemisphere teams iin Winter is enough for you  but not for me to be honest!   I mean this team has beaten England and wales a lot but still had to watch England go the World Cup Final in 2007 and now will probably watch Wales make it to this years one!!!  The fact that they had  a world class player like  O 'Driscoll playing for them and still ended going home at this stage is so disappointing! I feel so sorry for him and POC and ROG!!  If O'Driscoll was our stand out World Class player and  his loss  will be a massive blow for Ireland then how big would the blow be for leinster?? every time he got an injury for Ireland  all the pundits would be saying how weakened the team would be ! well magnify that a few times for Leinster! Yes Leinster have a younger team with less seasoned internationals than Munster   but it will  be interesting to see how they prepare for the great man's departure! obviously he won't be gone provincially for a few years yet!! All in all disappointing but I suppose we can rewind the Australia match and yearn!!

The best manager and players ireland will ever have, perhaps messed up or perhaps got to their level.  Next up can they take 1 more slam 

Capt Pat

South Africa start strongly but tye Aussies pick off tge scores on the counter and tunovers.

8-0

Capt Pat

Everything going Australias way.Broussow is off injured hgiving the Aussies a key advantage at the breakdown. SA have a penalty in front of the posts advantage is played and they make yards only to concede a penalty to Pocock at the break down the story of the game.

8-3

Capt Pat

The ref takes a try off SA for a forward pass. Makes up for a had decision he gave against the Aussies a minute earlier.

Rossie11

Daylight robbery if Aussies hang on here. SA should be 20 pts up.

jasus that ref needs glasses. how the aussies won that beats me