Rugby World Cup 2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 04, 2011, 11:39:16 AM

Agent Orange

Every cloud has a silver lining.

At least they beat a tri nations team at the WC. A bit like Mayo beating Cork in the AIQF.
Something to build on.     

Thank feck that's all over!

Now I can get a bit of pace.

The bandwagon posters on here are f**king head wreckers. Turns out Ireland lost today because Strongbow landed in Wexford.  ::)

Armaghgeddon

Quote from: J OGorman on October 08, 2011, 07:41:16 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on October 08, 2011, 07:33:10 AM
A bit late to bring Trimble on. Wales have conceeded 5 tries all tournament, Ireland missed the boat. Brian O'Driscoll's piss poor decision making in first half cost us.

thats dung..we're on the front foot,  ball is at the touchline, wind is swirling...course you go for the corner, put the Welsh on the back foot. This defeat is NOT BOD's, its a collective defeat

Ireland dominated the entire first half and were then knackered in the second because they kept taking the difficult option. This game should have been treated similiar to the Australia game and should have kicked the points, not continually running at the Wales defence....yes it worked eventually but it was also our last score of the game and Wales were handed the perfect opportunity to run away with it which they did.  Wales were always going to be fitter than Ireland, and Wales' record of only conceeding a few tries in the pool stages was evident and they were use to playing teams like Ireland.

Capt Pat

Quote from: trileacman on October 08, 2011, 01:32:33 PM
The bandwagon posters on here are f**king head wreckers. Turns out Ireland lost today because Strongbow landed in Wexford.  ::)

No we lost today because we are not a rugby coubtry like Wales and NZ Gatland etc. We were completely outgeplanned and complacency contributed to the defensive lapses.

Dubh driocht

Quote from: AQMP on October 08, 2011, 12:39:24 PM
Bate by a better team :(

In a nutshell.
Can't be too critical of Kidney or the team as the Australian game and second half against Italy were excellent. Only bad calls for me were Reddan coming on and leaving Earls on after that clash of heads- Williams wouldn't have got past Trimble so handy for the killer try. Front row met their match and Warburton was outstanding .

Not at all, it was clearly down to Brian Boru getting killed at Clontarf in 1014 therefore Ireland not being able to build on the success of the group stages and falling victim to the Anglo-Welsh challenge in 1169.

sans pessimism

Hindsight....It's a lovely word
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

CiKe

better team won and wales didn't allow us to any space at all, but we didn't help our cause with some curious decisions (think first half penalty decisions) / poor execution.

On the England game laughed a couple of times at Vickery, "Ben Foden, what are you doing soon?" for Vincent Clerc's try and then "he's got some of his make-up in his eye"

Quote from: Capt Pat on October 08, 2011, 02:18:25 PM

No we lost today because we are not a rugby coubtry like Wales and NZ Gatland etc. We were completely outgeplanned and complacency contributed to the defensive lapses.
We are as much a rugby country as Wales. 4 HC and a grandslam by far surpasses England's record for the decade and they have the largest player pools. Welsh club sides are cack and the majority of their good players remain with their no-hopers. As for the complacency issue you and Dinny fell foul of it as much as anyone. Ireland are as good an International side as Wales. The meeting today was between two evenly matched sides and there is all this shite now about not being good enough. We had the players today but not the gameplan/ tactics.

comethekingdom

Quote from: BennyCake on October 08, 2011, 01:30:45 PM
Thank feck that's all over!

Now I can get a bit of pace.

Had you slowed down for the WC??

screenmachine

That Dinny hoor has a lot to answer for. He was pitching himself as an Irish William Wallace during the week, it was only a matter of turning up. Turns out we weren't really as good as he thought and Wales were much, much better.
I'm gonna punch you in the ovary, that's what I'm gonna do. A straight shot. Right to the babymaker.

Wales were better ON THE DAY.