Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Níl a fhios agam

ah boys iv looked back over the 5 or 6 comments you boys have wrote and to be honest its funny as f**k to see young lads pretending to be 50 odd y.o men to try and deflect you are a group of young lads from Moneyglass/ Ahogill taking the piss on the forum. Really quite funny when you sit back and think about it so hats off for totally engrossing yourselves in them characters.  ;D  Would like to see if you were as good as sport as you are acting and talking through your holes

YoungSaff

Quote from: FactCheck on February 20, 2025, 03:25:43 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on February 20, 2025, 03:00:53 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 02:53:50 PM
Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on February 20, 2025, 02:44:56 PMYoung saff every bit apart of the delinquents as you are full of shit.

MR2 is always good for a poke, best character on this form along with Bumpkin, Bannside and the old guard. Thats only reason im on here, the value of conversation they provide is brilliant.

You boys were like the saffron voice lads, just get your kicks out of talking complete and utter shite thinking everyones bought into it.

Very good Nil , resulting to insults and questioning my character ?? How would I a 52 year old St Comgalls man be in the link with these young lads? If it is a poke you are after why not take it elsewhere like Facebook , we are chatting about Antrim Football hence the name of the board , all you have done is insult me or fellow members and contributed nothing to the conversation bar questioning it.

Is it the Saffron Gael you mean ? I find their match reports very informative and they always do a great job providing atricles for teams throughout the championship , you should not be slandering the voluntary work many do for the Saffron Gael and to call what they write "utter shite"

I have said it once I'll say it again , a bit of respect goes a long way you are one of the reasons Antrim GAA is in the place it is in objectifying and resorting to insults as soon as someone has an opinion which is different to your own. A disgrace of a Gael

If he meant Saffron Gael he would have said that.

Are those two pricks still at the Saffron Voice?? Thought the learnt their lessons after speaking ill of a young lad from our club and they got their collar felt!

Sorry if this is a stupid question , what is "the saffron voice" I have looked them up and seen an awful lot about them on the board but I cannot find them on Facebook or a description about them.

TIO

Níl a fhios agam

Again... fair play to you keeping up the 'old. not ith the times' character. U are like the black guy from The Tropic Thunder Film who totally engross' himself in his character.

Hope you walk around your house with a walking stick and flat cap with a paper under your arm.

And fair play for being successful with Comgalls. Maybe you could be more sepcific on years and dates and who you were involved with if u dont mind

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 11:25:20 AM
Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:59:56 AM
Quote from: SlemishSoldier31 on February 20, 2025, 10:27:24 AM
Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:20:01 AMAh lads I've heard it all now, young lads now a days kidding on like the saft heures over the water talking about transferring clubs. In my opinion this young lad is taking the perverbial. What ever happened to playing for the pride of the jersey !!

A very outdated and naive way to look at this situation. We have absolutely no idea what goes on behind closed doors or the reasons the young fella has to feel the need to transfer. Unless you know anything refrain from judging on situations like these and let the clubs deal with them internally. The young fella doesn't need to be reading some of the things that have been said about him on here.

Call it what you wish slemish. I would call it as the young bucks would say, utter woke nonsense. Although I do agree with the points you have presented and by no means did I mean my post as a personal attack on the young lad. It just baffles me that young lads would quicker apply for a transfer to a new club rather than sort out the issue at hand and make amends. As you say though we do not know the full story and I just hope that this young talented lad makes the right decision for himself and continues to have a long and prosperous career. #giverespectgetrespect

Serpent I have to say I agree with yourself here , this is not the Premier League you cant just jump ships when times get hard in the club that is where you are born and reared. We are starting to see more of this creep in I know a lad left our club to join Randalstown as he thought he would have a better chance of winning something which caused uproar amongst the club. I hope young McCloskey can sort the issue out with McCann and hopefully he will come to his senses. The young bucks need to learn that it is not all sunshine and rainbows the way you think it is slemish if we had of fell out back in the day it was sorted there and then whether it be with fists or words after that it was forgotten! Hopefully the rumours are not true and we can see McCloskey causing some damage alongside McCann for St Ergnants this year. If the young lad decides to jump ship I wouldn't be too quick to accommodate him , hopefully he gets well softened and realise the grass isn't always greener !!

If that is who I think you are talking about, and if you are really a true St Comgall's man, you know rightly there was more to it than that.

YoungSaff

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on February 20, 2025, 03:39:50 PMAgain... fair play to you keeping up the 'old. not ith the times' character. U are like the black guy from The Tropic Thunder Film who totally engross' himself in his character.

Hope you walk around your house with a walking stick and flat cap with a paper under your arm.

And fair play for being successful with Comgalls. Maybe you could be more sepcific on years and dates and who you were involved with if u dont mind

Nil

I am quite confused at to what you mean ? Do you think I am pretending to be someone I'm not , I have said since my first posts on here that I was a St Comgalls man I have said I am not the most up to date technically but I feel I have a good understanding of todays game.

I took st Comgalls u14-16s for about 6 years from 2013-2018-19 we weren't overly successful due to limited numbers and maybe my style of coaching who knows !!

I worked with a lot of the lads who are now playing for our seniors e.g Tom Patchett , Ryan Clarke etc

I was most recently involved with the senior management as I had not been involved in the club for a few years and the seniors had asked for a stats/kit man.

Barry Burns from St Pauls was the Manager and a pleasure to work with a real whitty guy how knew how to get the best out of the lads , which was evident in our junior championship run and hopefully we can progress further this year. Regarding the Ulster championship we worked hard but I think we showed a little too much respect and lost out on a narrow margain with our 11 unforced turnovers.

I can continue on Nil if you wish ??? I may have joined this forum at a bad time but I feel I made myself clear I am not part of these young lads nor am I this character you believe I am portraying.

what club are you yourself I should be present at St Comgalls games this year if you would like to see me in the flesh !!

Hectic

Quote from: Cnoc Bán on February 20, 2025, 03:46:36 PM
Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:20:01 AMAh lads I've heard it all now, young lads now a days kidding on like the saft heures over the water talking about transferring clubs. In my opinion this young lad is taking the perverbial. What ever happened to playing for the pride of the jersey !!

A very outdated and naive way to look at this situation. We have absolutely no idea what goes on behind closed doors or the reasons the young fella has to feel the need to transfer. Unless you know anything refrain from judging on situations like these and let the clubs deal with them internally. The young fella doesn't need to be reading some of the things that have been said about him on here.

Call it what you wish slemish. I would call it as the young bucks would say, utter woke nonsense. Although I do agree with the points you have presented and by no means did I mean my post as a personal attack on the young lad. It just baffles me that young lads would quicker apply for a transfer to a new club rather than sort out the issue at hand and make amends. As you say though we do not know the full story and I just hope that this young talented lad makes the right decision for himself and continues to have a long and prosperous career. #giverespectgetrespect

Serpent I have to say I agree with yourself here , this is not the Premier League you cant just jump ships when times get hard in the club that is where you are born and reared. We are starting to see more of this creep in I know a lad left our club to join Randalstown as he thought he would have a better chance of winning something which caused uproar amongst the club. I hope young McCloskey can sort the issue out with McCann and hopefully he will come to his senses. The young bucks need to learn that it is not all sunshine and rainbows the way you think it is slemish if we had of fell out back in the day it was sorted there and then whether it be with fists or words after that it was forgotten! Hopefully the rumours are not true and we can see McCloskey causing some damage alongside McCann for St Ergnants this year. If the young lad decides to jump ship I wouldn't be too quick to accommodate him , hopefully he gets well softened and realise the grass isn't always greener !!

If that is who I think you are talking about, and if you are really a true St Comgall's man, you know rightly there was more to it than that.

Don't worry, we all got that as soon he said it was to win things.

The_Saffron_serpent69

To spin off from the recurring theme of young boys that have has been ever so prevalent in the past few days. It begs the question. Has there been any younger lads given more opportunity this season at bursting onto the senior team. Or are they to busy in here :) I find myself working away quite frequently and struggle to find the time to sit down and watch the games nowadays, but try my best to keep in the loop.

SaffronSports

Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 03:05:37 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on February 20, 2025, 03:00:53 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 02:53:50 PM
Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on February 20, 2025, 02:44:56 PMYoung saff every bit apart of the delinquents as you are full of shit.

MR2 is always good for a poke, best character on this form along with Bumpkin, Bannside and the old guard. Thats only reason im on here, the value of conversation they provide is brilliant.

You boys were like the saffron voice lads, just get your kicks out of talking complete and utter shite thinking everyones bought into it.

Very good Nil , resulting to insults and questioning my character ?? How would I a 52 year old St Comgalls man be in the link with these young lads? If it is a poke you are after why not take it elsewhere like Facebook , we are chatting about Antrim Football hence the name of the board , all you have done is insult me or fellow members and contributed nothing to the conversation bar questioning it.

Is it the Saffron Gael you mean ? I find their match reports very informative and they always do a great job providing atricles for teams throughout the championship , you should not be slandering the voluntary work many do for the Saffron Gael and to call what they write "utter shite"

I have said it once I'll say it again , a bit of respect goes a long way you are one of the reasons Antrim GAA is in the place it is in objectifying and resorting to insults as soon as someone has an opinion which is different to your own. A disgrace of a Gael

If he meant Saffron Gael he would have said that.

SaffronSports , I am not sure what he is referring to "the saffron voice"??? I have never heard of this I presumed he had mistyped or spelt The Saffron Gael , if this is a seperate entity it would make sense as the Saffron Gael's work is great , I have done a few match reports in my time myself for Curly McIlwaine

Totally different people. One is a website and one is a podcast.

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: Hectic on February 20, 2025, 04:06:11 PM

Don't worry, we all got that as soon he said it was to win things.

I did laugh at that to be fair.

Wouldn't be a good reason to move if you were looking for senior football success!

Although if it is who I am thinking of, success in underage hurling for club and county was a valid point for them to play for us, not something you would be familiar with.

bannside

To be fair, Tom Patchett a super player, would definitely grace any of top club teams and wouldn't be out of place on county panel.

Imo...

paddyjohn

Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 02:16:54 PM
Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on February 20, 2025, 12:41:06 PMThis Moneyglass/Clooney crew who have gate crashed the forum... 2 things. No one seems to give a f##k about the absolute crap you are talking and secondly, you must sit in your rooms with nothing else to be at, other than trying to take the piss out of one of your own players. I presume you all are from that neck of the woods, because i never hear anything mentioned about either club on here.

away back and play your fortnite or minecraft whatever you clowns be at and stop polluting the discussion board. You make MR2's comments sound credible in comparison with the crap you are writing on here

Nil , I don't presume I was included in this for responding to the other guys ?? If you had read my post previously you would understand I am a St Comgalls man since the day I first kicked a ball and I still coach a few of our teams.

As for your comments on the topics being discussed I don't really understand the issue with discussing rumours heard from clubs around the county , it is a discussion board after all ??? I dont believe you are in a position of power to call the shots so in future maybe understand that there are other genuine who Gaels who will enjoy reading this and hearing about stories around the country.

i had read that you and the Slemish guy are friends and this is some sort of joke?? I fail to see the comedy behind joking about young McCloskey transferring after a feud but each to their own ! But please keep you Bullsh1t to a minimum

Is everything ok? Maybe a pint in Dunsilly hotel to calm down?

Hectic

lol CB - you are correct, I know little about underage hurling and even less about success in it - though if TNN are pushing the traditional powerhouses of North Antrim fair play to them.

Gaels1789

I wonder who is gonna replace the 2 connors in the middle of the park,

Eunan Quinn??
Jack lenehan??

Personally I'd stick Eunan Walsh in the middle our best all rounder in my opinion wasted in full back

Spike

Is players leaving for greater prizes a common problem for St Comgalls?  i had heard of a couple over the years and a number from their ladies teams as well. Any club would struggle with that type of loss but is this less of an issue now the Junior team went on a championship run?

Take the Mark

I recall a couple of girls being shipped from St Comgalls to Moneyglass 2 or 3 years ago basically to serve the ego's of their parents more than anything.