Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

SlemishSoldier31

There's a young fella in work telling me here that the talks are that your young fella McCann who initiated the bust up with McCloskey, there's talks of young McCann apparently being sent away to Dagestan for a retreat?

I know what these young fellas are like these days love a rumour and believe everything they see online but surely there can't be any truth behind that? I understand young fellas need to learn their trade or discipline or whatever but surely that's too extreme, but again who am I to give advice and it's all just talk at the minute likely no truth to the story but I'd appreciate if anyone from around the area could shed some light on it

YoungSaff

Quote from: SlemishSoldier31 on February 20, 2025, 09:11:22 AM
Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 08:58:25 AMI was chatting to a friend from St Ergnants last night he said rumours circulating that Moneyglass have denied young McCloskeys transfer request.

Not surprising if I was the person in charge I would not just be letting players go as the season is to start especially a player of his calibre , he had played a friendly for moneyglass a few weesk ago and scored 1-5

Does anyone on the board know where we can see transfers between clubs or know if this is true ?

Well isn't that a let off for Moneyglass panic over. I was lucky enough to get to watch the young fella live in the league against us last year and he tore one of our better man markers to pieces that day, he was unplayable left or right foot. Was always a mystery to me why this young McCloskey fella never seen minutes come championship, possibly a reason why he tried to initiate the transfer?

It would make sense if that was why he initiated the transfer , has he problems with injuries maybe is why his championship time is limited. I had heard McEntee had been in contact with him before but he had other commitments which I am assuming is the hurling.

Who was marking him when they played yourselves Slemish solider what club are you? I am a St Comgalls man thankfully we are yet to face him!!

YoungSaff

Quote from: SlemishSoldier31 on February 20, 2025, 09:38:28 AMThere's a young fella in work telling me here that the talks are that your young fella McCann who initiated the bust up with McCloskey, there's talks of young McCann apparently being sent away to Dagestan for a retreat?

I know what these young fellas are like these days love a rumour and believe everything they see online but surely there can't be any truth behind that? I understand young fellas need to learn their trade or discipline or whatever but surely that's too extreme, but again who am I to give advice and it's all just talk at the minute likely no truth to the story but I'd appreciate if anyone from around the area could shed some light on it

I think the young lads might be having you on there Slemish , I am not sure the club could afford that ! Changing times nowadays if two lads had a bust up in our training it would have been forgotten about and out for a few pints afterward  ;D , maybe those days are long gone !! I am sure it would teach young McCann a lesson all the same , hardy boys out there !! Would he be any relation to Mark McCann I know from down that direction ?

Spike

Surely in this day and age we have moved on from a club having any say if a member wants to leave?

Full veto over anyone who wants to join a club is of course a necessity and a right.

Blocking someone who wants to go sounds petty

The_Saffron_serpent69

Ah lads I've heard it all now, young lads now a days kidding on like the saft heures over the water talking about transferring clubs. In my opinion this young lad is taking the perverbial. What ever happened to playing for the pride of the jersey !!

SlemishSoldier31

Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:20:01 AMAh lads I've heard it all now, young lads now a days kidding on like the saft heures over the water talking about transferring clubs. In my opinion this young lad is taking the perverbial. What ever happened to playing for the pride of the jersey !!

A very outdated and naive way to look at this situation. We have absolutely no idea what goes on behind closed doors or the reasons the young fella has to feel the need to transfer. Unless you know anything refrain from judging on situations like these and let the clubs deal with them internally. The young fella doesn't need to be reading some of the things that have been said about him on here.

The_Saffron_serpent69

Quote from: SlemishSoldier31 on February 20, 2025, 10:27:24 AM
Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:20:01 AMAh lads I've heard it all now, young lads now a days kidding on like the saft heures over the water talking about transferring clubs. In my opinion this young lad is taking the perverbial. What ever happened to playing for the pride of the jersey !!

A very outdated and naive way to look at this situation. We have absolutely no idea what goes on behind closed doors or the reasons the young fella has to feel the need to transfer. Unless you know anything refrain from judging on situations like these and let the clubs deal with them internally. The young fella doesn't need to be reading some of the things that have been said about him on here.

Call it what you wish slemish. I would call it as the young bucks would say, utter woke nonsense. Although I do agree with the points you have presented and by no means did I mean my post as a personal attack on the young lad. It just baffles me that young lads would quicker apply for a transfer to a new club rather than sort out the issue at hand and make amends. As you say though we do not know the full story and I just hope that this young talented lad makes the right decision for himself and continues to have a long and prosperous career. #giverespectgetrespect

YoungSaff

Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:59:56 AM

Call it what you wish slemish. I would call it as the young bucks would say, utter woke nonsense. Although I do agree with the points you have presented and by no means did I mean my post as a personal attack on the young lad. It just baffles me that young lads would quicker apply for a transfer to a new club rather than sort out the issue at hand and make amends. As you say though we do not know the full story and I just hope that this young talented lad makes the right decision for himself and continues to have a long and prosperous career. #giverespectgetrespect

Serpent I have to say I agree with yourself here , this is not the Premier League you cant just jump ships when times get hard in the club that is where you are born and reared. We are starting to see more of this creep in I know a lad left our club to join Randalstown as he thought he would have a better chance of winning something which caused uproar amongst the club. I hope young McCloskey can sort the issue out with McCann and hopefully he will come to his senses. The young bucks need to learn that it is not all sunshine and rainbows the way you think it is slemish if we had of fell out back in the day it was sorted there and then whether it be with fists or words after that it was forgotten! Hopefully the rumours are not true and we can see McCloskey causing some damage alongside McCann for St Ergnants this year. If the young lad decides to jump ship I wouldn't be too quick to accommodate him , hopefully he gets well softened and realise the grass isn't always greener !!

Gaels1789

Quote from: YoungSaff on February 20, 2025, 11:25:20 AM
Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 10:59:56 AM

Serpent I have to say I agree with yourself here , this is not the Premier League you cant just jump ships when times get hard in the club that is where you are born and reared. We are starting to see more of this creep in I know a lad left our club to join Randalstown as he thought he would have a better chance of winning something which caused uproar amongst the club. I hope young McCloskey can sort the issue out with McCann and hopefully he will come to his senses. The young bucks need to learn that it is not all sunshine and rainbows the way you think it is slemish if we had of fell out back in the day it was sorted there and then whether it be with fists or words after that it was forgotten! Hopefully the rumours are not true and we can see McCloskey causing some damage alongside McCann for St Ergnants this year. If the young lad decides to jump ship I wouldn't be too quick to accommodate him , hopefully he gets well softened and realise the grass isn't always greener !!

RIP delta work

Níl a fhios agam

This Moneyglass/Clooney crew who have gate crashed the forum... 2 things. No one seems to give a f##k about the absolute crap you are talking and secondly, you must sit in your rooms with nothing else to be at, other than trying to take the piss out of one of your own players. I presume you all are from that neck of the woods, because i never hear anything mentioned about either club on here.

away back and play your fortnite or minecraft whatever you clowns be at and stop polluting the discussion board. You make MR2's comments sound credible in comparison with the crap you are writing on here

SlemishSoldier31

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on February 20, 2025, 12:41:06 PMThis Moneyglass/Clooney crew who have gate crashed the forum... 2 things. No one seems to give a f##k about the absolute crap you are talking and secondly, you must sit in your rooms with nothing else to be at, other than trying to take the piss out of one of your own players. I presume you all are from that neck of the woods, because i never hear anything mentioned about either club on here.

away back and play your fortnite or minecraft whatever you clowns be at and stop polluting the discussion board. You make MR2's comments sound credible in comparison with the crap you are writing on here

Agreed have been waiting on someone to finally speak up on this ruining what was once a credible forum for us true Gaels/Saffs to have reasonable conversations.

If any admins are active on this or reading any of this please take the necessary actions and revoke these memberships of these clowns who think this is a joke on here.

RIP Delta Work

Gaels1789

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on February 20, 2025, 12:41:06 PMThis Moneyglass/Clooney crew who have gate crashed the forum... 2 things. No one seems to give a f##k about the absolute crap you are talking and secondly, you must sit in your rooms with nothing else to be at, other than trying to take the piss out of one of your own players. I presume you all are from that neck of the woods, because i never hear anything mentioned about either club on here.

f**k me it's the discussion board police

Away on to f**k would u

paddyjohn

Worst thing ever to happen was unlimited data on phones.

The_Saffron_serpent69

And who are you to decide what gets discussed and what doesn't in this forumn ye blackgard?? Clearly a valid discussion on the on goings through out Antrim gaa. I think you've made a real fool of yourself here níl and would encourage you to remember that sometimes thoughts are best left in your head. You ignorant pig!

SlemishSoldier31

Quote from: The_Saffron_serpent69 on February 20, 2025, 01:09:30 PM

And who are you to decide what gets discussed and what doesn't in this forumn ye blackgard?? Clearly a valid discussion on the on goings through out Antrim gaa. I think you've made a real fool of yourself here níl and would encourage you to remember that sometimes thoughts are best left in your head. You ignorant pig!

I have absolutely no idea who you lads are but be aware your identity can be found on this discussion board and that is absolutely no way to speak to a fellow Gael. Seriously have a long hard look at the message you have just posted. That's the problem we have now with this crisis of unlimited mobile data the kids think they can post anything and have no consequences.

And as Níl previously stated have you nothing better to do than be on here? Go back and play your Minenite or Fortcraft whatever you young folk be at nowadays and leave this platform to the true gaels.

RIP Delta Work