GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2008, 10:12:44 PM

Title: Kerry v Monaghan part 2
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2008, 10:12:44 PM
Revenge for Monaghan or will the shaky Kerry machine survive for another day. Tough draw for us, not to mention the domestic situation in my house !!

Without Galvin and possibly Declan O'Sullivan we will have our work cut out. We were very lucky to get over Monaghan last year and without the above 2 and a very underperforming Cooper, Donaghy and Dara O'Se we are there for the taking.

Will need a day to get my thought on this going right.

Title: Re: Kerry v Monaghan part 2
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 27, 2008, 10:25:23 PM
We've a wedding in Sneem next weekend so it'll be interesting alright... We have two tight games under our belt in as many weekends but managed to come through them injury-free. I kinda figured we'd get Kerry as our 'luck of the draw' has been limited this year.. Should be a good game though and our lads'll not need much motivating after last year..

Is there any truth in the rumours that things aren't good in Kerry camp (excusing the Paul Galvin soap opera)? I heard something about Dara O Se falling out with a team mate??

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2008, 10:29:22 PM
Bit of skelping in training, nothing much to it, one of the old dogs and a young pup throwing shapes.

Always like to see a bit of that in the panel as long as its not OTT. I am sure you would get the same at any training session.

Some craic in Sneem for ye I'd say.

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2008, 10:31:26 PM
Twas Clare , keep up for fecks sake
Post by: fred the red on July 27, 2008, 10:34:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 27, 2008, 10:30:22 PM
I feel a bit sorry for Kerry. 2008 - one win in the championship and it against Waterford.
That'll look bad on the record books.

One more than antrim anyway :D
Post by: magickingdom on July 27, 2008, 10:42:48 PM
think its a tough draw for kerry, having said that they need a tough game that they can actually win and with monaghan there wont be any complacency. it was the making of kerry 2 years ago so more of the same would do nicely!!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on July 27, 2008, 10:54:36 PM
Monaghan to gain revenge for last year and beat them by 2.  Set your DVD recorders for the final minutes to watch Kerry men cry like new born babies.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 27, 2008, 11:22:10 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2008, 10:29:22 PM
Some craic in Sneem for ye I'd say.

You better believe it KM, a Monaghan lad marryin a Kerry lass... Jersey on under the suit I'm thinkin...

Tommy Lyons was saying he'd like to see all four games played in Croker next weeked. That'd be the job..

Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2008, 11:26:09 PM
For a change lyons is right - fill the place next week - let all teams have their day in Croker !

Kerry to take this one.
Post by: Main Street on July 28, 2008, 01:53:31 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2008, 10:12:44 PM
Without Galvin and possibly Declan O'Sullivan we will have our work cut out.
Anyway if Galvin was available he would have been rested for his own safety. I don't think the the poor lad has been the same, in mind and body, since the AI QF last year.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 03:01:07 AM
He seemed fine when we beat Dublin and Cork to win the AI
Post by: Over the Bar on July 28, 2008, 10:52:48 AM
No team can complain about the draw they get in the back door.  You have already fecked up once, so to be there at all is a blessing.
Post by: Main Street on July 28, 2008, 11:07:57 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 03:01:07 AM
He seemed fine when we beat Dublin and Cork to win the AI
Wasn't he a serious injury doubt for that Dublin game and wasn't he replaced on the hour when the game was still in the balance and afair he was replaced in the final.
That doesn't sound like a 100% to me, for such a vital player.

Post by: thebandit on July 28, 2008, 11:28:48 AM
If Lennon and Clerkin (with Jap helping out) repea the form of the last 2 games, you'd have to fancy their chances of getting the better of O'Sé and Scanlon
Post by: bingobus on July 28, 2008, 11:52:25 AM
Big, nig game for Monaghan and a real chance to lay down a serious marker after what has been a disappointing year i.e no serious challenge on a Ulster title.

While Monaghan may catch Kerry cold ( two games to date but only one half of football where it was put up to them and they lost), they wouldn;t have any element of surprise like last year. Saying that, Monaghan coming off the back of two tough games that went to the wire. Banty will need to use to bench more (and earlier) than last Saturday. Hughes to come in for McQuaid, looks totally off the pace and may be more effecive from bench when the game is stretched.

Should be a right battle, Monaghan will need to create and take a few goal chances that have been lacking last two games.

Post by: Mid Mon on July 28, 2008, 01:48:36 PM
You heard it here first 16:00 Sunday Croke Park
Post by: feetofflames on July 28, 2008, 01:49:54 PM
If Monaghan win this game they'll win the all Ireland.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 28, 2008, 03:27:59 PM
After a few week of playing back and forward we finally have an opposition to play.......
I would have preferred Tyrone but Monaghan as Tomas O'Se said will give us one hell of a battle.
We have played Monaghan twice in recent years and escaped (rather luckily) with one-point wins on both days.
I suspect it will be another close game this weekend; personally, I am glad it is in Croker (No better place to play or watch a match).
I suspect Kerry will be the same from 1-9, although Seamus Scanlon is suffering a niggling back injury.
I am prepared to write Darragh's non-performance against Cork to the injury he suffered on the run up to that game.
The half-forward line is anyone's guess; I would go with Sean Sullivan, Declan O'Sullivan and Eoin Brosnan.
However, Bryan Sheenan may be deployed there also with Brozie the man to lose out.
The half forward line has been poor (especially Derry and Cork), to beat Monaghan they will need to hoover breaking ball......
The shape of the full forward line will be determined by the half forward line, If Sheehan is outside then expect Tommy Walsh to be the new forward otherwise it will be Sheehan.
The X factor in this match is Kerry inactivity (4 weeks) v Monaghan Fatigue (three tough physical matches in a row).
The other factor is Kerry hunger and Kerry legs, we have contested the last four all-Ireland and been in 6 out of the last 8 - this has to take a toll.
Kerry by 1.
Post by: donelli on July 28, 2008, 03:33:57 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on July 28, 2008, 01:48:36 PM

source??
Post by: farniel on July 28, 2008, 03:43:54 PM
Quote from: donelli on July 28, 2008, 03:33:57 PM

source??
A mate of mine works in Croker and this is confirmed. A double header with the Kildare v Fermanagh game.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 28, 2008, 05:01:42 PM
From the Kerry Gaa website:
Kerry v Monaghan Ticket Arrangements 
Monday, 28 July 2008 
Kerry v Monaghan

Sunday 3rd July Croke Park @ 4.00pm
Because of time scale involved tickets for Kerry County Board Scheme holders are available for collection only from Kerry County Board office at following hours:
Tue and Wed 2.00-5.30pm and 7.30-9.00pm
Public Sale of tickets on Wed @ 7.30pm in Tralee and Killarney and on Thur in Tralee 2.00-5.30pm and Killarney 7.30-9.00pm

Stand Tickets 30 euro
Terrace 20 euro
Family tickets are available from Tralee office only. 
=======================================================
I would have prefered a Saturday game but such is life.....
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2008, 06:15:46 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 28, 2008, 03:27:59 PM
The X factor in this match is Kerry inactivity (4 weeks) v Monaghan Fatigue (three tough physical matches in a row).
Last year the excuse for the close shave was a 6-week layoff. I'd say 4 weeks is a decent amount of time to recuperate. Monaghan would probably have liked an extra week, especially given the heat on Saturday and the pace of that match.

Either way, this has the makings of a great tie and the highest risks potentially bring the highest rewards. If Woods, Clerkin and Finlay play like they did on Saturday, and Tommy gets on the ball a bit more, i don't doubt it will go to the wire.
Post by: magickingdom on July 28, 2008, 06:57:47 PM
Quote from: farniel on July 28, 2008, 03:43:54 PM
Quote from: donelli on July 28, 2008, 03:33:57 PM

source??
A mate of mine works in Croker and this is confirmed. A double header with the Kildare v Fermanagh game.

keep in with that mate!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 28, 2008, 09:10:49 PM
I fail to see how rumours of rows in the Kerry camp are somehow seen as some sort of team-bonding exercise. Yes it happened two years ago but the next match to test the mettle then was Longford in Killarney. This one in Croker is infinitely tougher.
Imagine how Ogie senior feel about his cub in the middle of it?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 28, 2008, 10:07:26 PM
With Graham Geraghty it's a disgrace and an assault, down in the Kingdom it's healthy skelping.
Sounded pretty serious, not just a bit of a scuffle, and I'd say in any other county it would be a national talking point and the scandal of the year. Can't argue with their record, maybe it's the rest of us with the problem.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 10:19:18 PM
QuoteSounded pretty serious, not just a bit of a scuffle, and I'd say in any other county it would be a national talking point and the scandal of the year

There must be feck all going on in other counties so if this kind of thing is such a big deal for ye. 
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2008, 10:22:00 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 10:19:18 PM
QuoteSounded pretty serious, not just a bit of a scuffle, and I'd say in any other county it would be a national talking point and the scandal of the year

There must be feck all going on in other counties so if this kind of thing is such a big deal for ye. 
Who mentioned 'big deal'?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 28, 2008, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 10:19:18 PM

That's what I say, maybe it's us that has the problem having feck all going on.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 11:02:04 PM
QuoteWho mentioned 'big deal'?

He (ExiledGael) said it would be a "national talking point" and the "scandal of the year"

..I'd call that making a big deal of it wouldn't you ?
Post by: ExiledGael on July 28, 2008, 11:23:51 PM
I said in other counties they could make a huge national story out of it, like Geraghty and the young Sheppard last year or the year before in Meath.
Didn't say I thought it was that big a big deal. Just don't agree that it's a sign of a healthy dressing-room.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2008, 08:06:57 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 28, 2008, 11:02:04 PM
QuoteWho mentioned 'big deal'?

He (ExiledGael) said it would be a "national talking point" and the "scandal of the year"

..I'd call that making a big deal of it wouldn't you ?
Clearly not! See ExiledGael's clarification.
Post by: Main Street on July 29, 2008, 10:16:15 AM
It was even clarified in EG's original post.
"maybe it's the rest of us with the problem"

Mike doesn't read in the same way other people read, it's something to do with emotional maturity.
When do they do reading and comprehension in school these days?

Back to the game.
Kerry at 1/4 are hot favourites according to a bookie, with Monagahan@ 7/2 
It would be ignominious for a 1/4 favourite, the champions of Ireland, to win by less than 10 points against the 4th ranked team in Ulster.

Post by: the Deel Rover on July 29, 2008, 10:19:19 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 29, 2008, 10:16:15 AM
It was even clarified in EG's original post.

Jesus lads nealy spilled hot coffee all over meself for a second there i thought evil genius was talking about the kerry monaghan game :D
Post by: Roy on July 29, 2008, 11:11:41 AM
Take 1 stuttering Kerry team whose @@@@s are being questioned
Take 1 Monaghan team with momentum and agression
This is fascinating.  You have to tip Kerry simply because Monaghan in their history have never beaten a team as good as Kerry.  If Kerry can take this Monaghan team then they are a 3 in a row team. Similarly if Monaghan win this I believe they are good enough to win Sam.   
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 29, 2008, 11:36:58 AM
I'm not trying to be overly pessimistic here but if if if Monaghan did beat Kerry they'd have as tough of games ahead with Armagh or Dublin.. I think it's a huge ovesight to even suggest that we are SAM contenders with succees on Sunday.. Enough of that oul chat already, one game at a time please!!!

Post by: Mid Mon on July 29, 2008, 11:43:42 AM
Bring it on! this is a dream draw for us. If you cant beat the big teams in the qualifers your not gonna beat them in the quaters or semis. Can't wait for Sunday to come to let tommy hanners and co loose,
Post by: donelli on July 29, 2008, 01:52:30 PM
Would rather have got an easier draw this weekend.

1st round...beat the national league champions 2008
2nd round...beat the national league champions 2007
3rd round.... Play the All-Ireland champions 2006-2007

and even if we win, we'll still only be in the quarter finals  :o

Full credit to the team for giving us another summer. Just a pity we couldnt have got an 'easier' test for the 3rd round to get us into the quarters....

Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2008, 01:56:06 PM
Bring on the big guns i say!

Kildare are in round 3, yet they've lost to Wicklow and narrowly beat Cavan and Limerick. I don't think Monaghan would be happy with that, or would call it a successful season. Better to go out a stage earlier but to have beaten decent opposition.
Post by: farniel on July 29, 2008, 03:13:09 PM
Banty has described it as the 'draw from hell' A wee bit of reverse psychology maybe??!

On a different note all the Dubs that I work with are saying that if Monaghan beat Kerry then it's their All Ireland. Talk about counting their chickens...
Post by: Mid Mon on July 29, 2008, 03:21:18 PM
I'd love a go at the Dubs
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 29, 2008, 03:51:00 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on July 29, 2008, 11:43:42 AM
Bring it on! this is a dream draw for us. If you cant beat the big teams in the qualifers your not gonna beat them in the quaters or semis. Can't wait for Sunday to come to let tommy hanners and co loose,

I think I point is being missed here. I'm not saying we can't beat Kerry on Sunda, I reckon we've a good chance in fact! What I am saying is lets keep the focus for this Sunda and this Sunda alone and not be chattin about winning Sam etc. etc.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 29, 2008, 08:15:22 PM
QuoteWhen do they do reading and comprehension in school these days?

junior infants I think.....or, in your case, when you were 23 years old

QuoteIt would be ignominious for a 1/4 favourite, the champions of Ireland, to win by less than 10 points against the 4th ranked team in Ulster.

No, what would be ignominious would be for Monaghan to come up short again after all ye're brave talk last year and again this year.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 08:24:14 PM
KERRY v MONAGHAN

They meet for the second successive year, having clashed in last year's All-Ireland quarter-final which Kerry won by a point after a great contest in Croke Park. Monaghan dominated for long periods but Kerry finished in style to edge to victory on a day when their top scorers were Mike Frank Russell (0-4), Colm Cooper (0-3) and Declan O'Sullivan (1-0). Tommy Freeman landed 1-3 for Monaghan while Rory Woods scored 0-3. Kerry, who are hoping to stay in line for the All-Ireland treble, haven't had a game since losing the Munster final to Cork on July 6 while Monaghan have had two tough qualifier ties over the last two weekends, beating Derry and Donegal by a point each.

Next Sunday's tie will be the sixth championship meeting between Kerry and Monaghan with Kerry having won four and drawn one of the previous five. The full list of previous meetings is as follows:
2007: Kerry 1-12 Monaghan 1-11 (2007 All-Ireland quarter-final
1985: Kerry 2-9 Monaghan 0-10 (All-Ireland semi-final replay)
1985: Kerry 1-12 Monaghan 2-9 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1979: Kerry 5-14 Monaghan 0-7 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1930: Kerry 3-11 Monaghan 0-2 (All-Ireland final)

Kerry have qualified for every All-Ireland quarter-final since the introduction of the new championship system in 2001 while Monaghan qualified for their first quarter-final last year. Kerry have also never lost a qualifier game since their introduction.

Last Championship clash: Kerry 1-12 Monaghan 1-11 (2007 All-Ireland quarter-final)
2008 Provincial Championships: Kerry 1-14 Clare 0-5; Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11; Fermanagh 2-8 Monaghan 0-10.
2008 Qualifiers: Monaghan 1-13 Derry 1-12; Monaghan 0-16 Donegal 0-15.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 29, 2008, 09:04:58 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 08:24:14 PM

The men of 1930 have bided their time.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 29, 2008, 09:19:46 PM
Get a feeling that Monaghan are not quite at last years level and therefore Kerry will get away with being slightly off their best too. There's no doubt they are vulnerable though. I'm really looking forward to seeing it.
Post by: magickingdom on July 29, 2008, 09:21:21 PM
hope galvin has a good game on sunday and the monaghan boys let him alone  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 09:23:52 PM
Was watching the Monaghan game last weekend and was wondering what the Red Arrow symbol over their county crest stood for, also did anyone notice the Monaghan players would not swap their jerseys with the Donegal players after the game, seems Banty is trying to instill some kind of siege mentality in the players about their pride in the jersey, nothing wrong with that, just wondering about the use of symbols, last year thay had things like "Pressure" written on their arms.

Paul Finlay last weekend.

(http://dynimg.rte.ie/00018350189r.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2008, 09:28:41 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 09:23:52 PM
Was watching the Monaghan game last weekend and was wondering what the Red Arrow symbol over their county crest stood for
I asked the same question on this board in the last week and got no answer.
Post by: Main Street on July 29, 2008, 09:33:15 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 29, 2008, 09:04:58 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 08:24:14 PM

The men of 1930 have bided their time.
The story I heard while growing up was that there were only 2 Monaghan players left standing at end of that game - both Ballybay men.

It's all done and dusted according to the history books.
A 100% record for Kerry at this stage of the proceedings.
No wonder Kerry are at 2/9 to win over 70 minutes.
It's likely to be a very easy win for Kerry, 5 or 6 points at least.

Especially when Monaghan are well known as spoofers, spoilers, chokers, a one season half wonder with an appropriately named abusive sponsor .

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 09:45:57 PM
Still some tough men about Ballybay !

Yerra am off to the game and will be surrounded by 7 of me outlaws from Monaghan, am a sucker for punishment.
Its spoiling the long weekend having the game this weekend , but them are the joys of it.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 29, 2008, 09:52:28 PM
The poor Fermanagh guys in the crowd on Sunday don't even have a bank holiday this weekend.

Any Ballybay men to watch out for on Sunday? And what happened to the 13 who didn't make it to the end in 1930 :)?
Cavan made up for it in 1933.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 09:53:41 PM
Paul Finlay's from Ballybay

QuoteAnd what happened to the 13 who didn't make it to the end in 1930

Devoured by some of the legends of Kerry football: Joe Barrett, Paul Russell, Tim O'Donnell, Con Brosnan, Bob Stack, Eamon Fitzgerald, John Joe Landers and John Joe Sheehy amoung others.
You'd nearly feel sorry for any team that had to come up against those calibre of players.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 29, 2008, 10:19:33 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 09:45:57 PM
Still some tough men about Ballybay !

Yerra am off to the game and will be surrounded by 7 of me outlaws from Monaghan, am a sucker for punishment.
Its spoiling the long weekend having the game this weekend , but them are the joys of it.

I suppose you're on rations at the minute?
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 10:44:30 PM
Makin' me own tae as well.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 29, 2008, 10:51:32 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 10:44:30 PM
Makin' me own tae as well.

Is she even boiling the duck egg for you?
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2008, 10:56:50 PM
No I have to do that as well. It will be a long hungry week.
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2008, 12:05:01 AM
KM, i think it's a foolish thing to chose to watch the game in the company of your Monaghan better half.

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 12:17:47 AM
Monaghan are a team I have been watching closely over the last few years and have seen a good few clubs games to understand a small bit of the make up of the team.

Monaghan will probably have the same starting 15 this weekend, there will be the obligatory few players named out of position which is what Banty does in most games like Finlay in Midfield or Corey at Full back but once the teams line up on the field I'd expect to see a familiar look which will have Padraig McBennett in goals where he is developing into a very good shot stopper. His kickouts are good and has taken over as a Number 1 from Shane Duffy.

The Full back line will be the 2 Mone brothers and Dermot McArdle. Keeping Donegal's full forward line scoreless from play last weekend was no mean feat and even though Colm McFadden scored 3 frees and Mike Murphy got 5 it was still a fine result. If it showed one flaw it was the case of fouling and I think McArdle may be weak link here, though I do think he is a better option than Colm Flanagan from last year.

We know all about how well JP coped with Donaghy last year and it must be said not helped by the Kerry supply to their main target man, most of the ball sent in were Hail Mary's which made Mone's job a bit easier, but that was a result of Monaghan pressure from out the field on the Kerry playmakers. Monaghan did their job well. I'd hope for a better quality of ball on Sunday where Donaghy can attack the ball.

Dessie Mone did well on Gooch last year if memory serves me well , but with the poor supply to Donaghy and nearly everything going that route made Coopers involvement limited. Mone has pace to burn and is a good man marker but again inclined to foul. Is one of those niggly players who will get under the skin of a corner forward and Cooper will have to keep his head if this happens.

In the Half line Damien Freeman will again lead his team at wing back, a solid player who will sweep up alot of attacks, I can see him playing in front of his full back to try and clean up breaks. Gary McQuaid was poor enough against Donegal after his few weeks off, he seemed off the pace and it will be interesting to see if he is retained for Sunday and a potential clash with Eoin Brosnan or hopefully Declan O'Sullivan if fit.

I think it was Conor McManus played wing back the last day and he seemed to struggle with Brian Roper at times, Dessie Hughes is a possible option against Kerry. But maybe the Monaghan lads can correct me as to who is their best choice No 7.

At midfield it will take some convincing that it wont be Dick Clerkin and Eoin Lennon, Clerkin may wear 10 but midfield will be his role. Both put in great shows over the last 2 games and work tirelessly for the team, Both win primary ball and can distribute and score too. They gave Kerry their fill of it last year and Clerkin will want to avenge his late red card.

Lennon has really come on and for a man in need of a knee operation he has done well, his early season form for both Latton and Monaghan was poor but he seems to rise to the occasion. Kerry midfield will have a busy afternoon.

The half forward line will probably be made up of Finlay, Woods and Gollogly though again jersey numbers may mean nothing. Finlay has returned well from his suspension and continued his good form of early this year, one thing I notice is he is kicking frees from his hands instead of off the ground last year, he missed a few costly 45's against Tyrone and Kerry last year off the ground. A fine player and will take alot of man marking next weekend. Rory Woods get through a pile of ball and he will float around midfield and the whole forward line, very good ball winner and is a very good distributor and his point taking has really come on, a real chip of Nudie's block. If he plays in the centre I'd expect Aidan O'Mahony to be close by. Stephen Gollogly though small in stature is hardy and again well able to kick a point and win the scrappy ball. In fact it is something I have noticed more this year, all the Monaghan forwards are willing to chip in, whereas before it was being left to Freeman and Finlay for the scoring.

The full forwards line will be led by Tommy Freeman who though having a quiter year than last year is still a major threat, he seems to be more man marked this year and is working harder for the team by creating space for the likes of Woods and Hantratty to have a shot. Hanratty is a great wee player, light but quick and will score if given the chance, gave Padraig Reidy the run around last year and will need special attention this time around. Vincent Corey though probaby being named as a No 3 or at 6 will be at Full forward where he will expect to cause havoc on Tom O'Sullivan again. Corey is a good target man and well able to help out in winning breaking ball around the middle, has power and pace to threaten any defence but sometimes feel his scoring threat is not so great.

Sin e that my view on Monaghan, some of it very predictable but nonetheless we will give Monaghan the fullest respect , they will be a very hard team to break down and score against.

Will write a bit about Kerry tomorrow when hopefully we will have news on a certain Mr Other.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 30, 2008, 08:12:20 AM
Good assessment KM - you have a better knowledge of the opposiion than most! One correction - it's Darren Hughes and not Dessie Hughes as a potential half-back sub.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 30, 2008, 08:46:11 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 12:17:47 AM
but nonetheless we will give Monaghan the fullest respect , they will be a very hard team to break down and score against.

You'd better give Monaghan the fullest respect or you'll not even be able to make your own tay KM when her indoors is done with ya..  :D

On the number 7 front. Our current best option would be Paul McGuigan from Clontibret. He was off the pace a bit again(st) Derry (seem to be carrying a bit of a leg injury) but done well when we came on again(st) Donegal. He's a very clever player and is a great attacking option to have in the HB line.

Post by: thebandit on July 30, 2008, 10:25:07 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 30, 2008, 08:46:11 AM
but nonetheless we will give Monaghan the fullest respect , they will be a very hard team to break down and score against.

You'd better give Monaghan the fullest respect or you'll not even be able to make your own tay KM when her indoors is done with ya..  :D

On the number 7 front. Our current best option would be Paul McGuigan from Clontibret. He was off the pace a bit again(st) Derry (seem to be carrying a bit of a leg injury) but done well when we came on again(st) Donegal. He's a very clever player and is a great attacking option to have in the HB line.

His man marking can be poor at times though.

Is there any truth in the craic that Kerry have been trying the Gooch on the 40 with Donaghy and Sheehan inside?
Post by: bingobus on July 30, 2008, 10:55:05 AM
I've watched McGuigan plenty at club and county level and the one concern I'd have about him, is that when a ball has to be won and won hard, he goes missing. Derry this year and Crossmaglen last year are prime examples. A fine footballer on the ball and a good marker but playing win back at intercounty level you need to win the dirty ball and this lets him down.

Would love to see cooper on the 40 line, further away from goals the better and if Dessie follows him out, then Dessie can drive forward and play his more natural game.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on July 30, 2008, 11:34:36 AM
Monaghan are a team I have been watching closely over the last few years and have seen a good few clubs games to understand a small bit of the make up of the team.

Monaghan will probably have the same starting 15 this weekend, there will be the obligatory few players named out of position which is what Banty does in most games like Finlay in Midfield or Corey at Full back but once the teams line up on the field I'd expect to see a familiar look which will have Padraig McBennett in goals where he is developing into a very good shot stopper. His kickouts are good and has taken over as a Number 1 from Shane Duffy.

The Full back line will be the 2 Mone brothers and Dermot McArdle. Keeping Donegal's full forward line scoreless from play last weekend was no mean feat and even though Colm McFadden scored 3 frees and Mike Murphy got 5 it was still a fine result. If it showed one flaw it was the case of fouling and I think McArdle may be weak link here, though I do think he is a better option than Colm Flanagan from last year.

We know all about how well JP coped with Donaghy last year and it must be said not helped by the Kerry supply to their main target man, most of the ball sent in were Hail Mary's which made Mone's job a bit easier, but that was a result of Monaghan pressure from out the field on the Kerry playmakers. Monaghan did their job well. I'd hope for a better quality of ball on Sunday where Donaghy can attack the ball.

Dessie Mone did well on Gooch last year if memory serves me well , but with the poor supply to Donaghy and nearly everything going that route made Coopers involvement limited. Mone has pace to burn and is a good man marker but again inclined to foul. Is one of those niggly players who will get under the skin of a corner forward and Cooper will have to keep his head if this happens.

In the Half line Damien Freeman will again lead his team at wing back, a solid player who will sweep up alot of attacks, I can see him playing in front of his full back to try and clean up breaks. Gary McQuaid was poor enough against Donegal after his few weeks off, he seemed off the pace and it will be interesting to see if he is retained for Sunday and a potential clash with Eoin Brosnan or hopefully Declan O'Sullivan if fit.

I think it was Conor McManus played wing back the last day and he seemed to struggle with Brian Roper at times, Dessie Hughes is a possible option against Kerry. But maybe the Monaghan lads can correct me as to who is their best choice No 7.

At midfield it will take some convincing that it wont be Dick Clerkin and Eoin Lennon, Clerkin may wear 10 but midfield will be his role. Both put in great shows over the last 2 games and work tirelessly for the team, Both win primary ball and can distribute and score too. They gave Kerry their fill of it last year and Clerkin will want to avenge his late red card.

Lennon has really come on and for a man in need of a knee operation he has done well, his early season form for both Latton and Monaghan was poor but he seems to rise to the occasion. Kerry midfield will have a busy afternoon.

The half forward line will probably be made up of Finlay, Woods and Gollogly though again jersey numbers may mean nothing. Finlay has returned well from his suspension and continued his good form of early this year, one thing I notice is he is kicking frees from his hands instead of off the ground last year, he missed a few costly 45's against Tyrone and Kerry last year off the ground. A fine player and will take alot of man marking next weekend. Rory Woods get through a pile of ball and he will float around midfield and the whole forward line, very good ball winner and is a very good distributor and his point taking has really come on, a real chip of Nudie's block. If he plays in the centre I'd expect Aidan O'Mahony to be close by. Stephen Gollogly though small in stature is hardy and again well able to kick a point and win the scrappy ball. In fact it is something I have noticed more this year, all the Monaghan forwards are willing to chip in, whereas before it was being left to Freeman and Finlay for the scoring.

The full forwards line will be led by Tommy Freeman who though having a quiter year than last year is still a major threat, he seems to be more man marked this year and is working harder for the team by creating space for the likes of Woods and Hantratty to have a shot. Hanratty is a great wee player, light but quick and will score if given the chance, gave Padraig Reidy the run around last year and will need special attention this time around. Vincent Corey though probaby being named as a No 3 or at 6 will be at Full forward where he will expect to cause havoc on Tom O'Sullivan again. Corey is a good target man and well able to help out in winning breaking ball around the middle, has power and pace to threaten any defence but sometimes feel his scoring threat is not so great.

Sin e that my view on Monaghan, some of it very predictable but nonetheless we will give Monaghan the fullest respect , they will be a very hard team to break down and score against.

Will write a bit about Kerry tomorrow when hopefully we will have news on a certain Mr Other.

Mike you have impressed me!!
Post by: thebandit on July 30, 2008, 11:44:56 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 30, 2008, 10:55:05 AM
I've watched McGuigan plenty at club and county level and the one concern I'd have about him, is that when a ball has to be won and won hard, he goes missing. Derry this year and Crossmaglen last year are prime examples. A fine footballer on the ball and a good marker but playing win back at intercounty level you need to win the dirty ball and this lets him down.

Would love to see cooper on the 40 line, further away from goals the better and if Dessie follows him out, then Dessie can drive forward and play his more natural game.

I would agree with all that except my one concern about Dessie is that when he is in the half back line he drives forward to the detriment of his defensive duities, i.e. in the Derry game, made a 40 yard run up the field, didnt release the ball quickly enough, got turned over and Derry came down the field and scored a point.
Post by: bingobus on July 30, 2008, 12:04:42 PM
Quote from: thebandit on July 30, 2008, 11:44:56 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 30, 2008, 10:55:05 AM

I would agree with all that except my one concern about Dessie is that when he is in the half back line he drives forward to the detriment of his defensive duities, i.e. in the Derry game, made a 40 yard run up the field, didnt release the ball quickly enough, got turned over and Derry came down the field and scored a point.

Thats true but plenty of times he has drove forward and won frees/taken scores. Rarely does it at IC level but has the ability to do it. But as you say, if he was marking Cooper and lost the ball up front he would be punished. That is where Damien Freeman's free role should come into effect and pick up the free man  but at times he plays so deep that he seems happy to prevent goals rather than points. As in the Derry game when he backed off the attacker in the second half and he slotted over a point without any kind of tackle going in.
Post by: Mid Mon on July 30, 2008, 12:57:59 PM
any news on Declan O'Sullivan.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2008, 02:19:27 PM
Declan has been back in training with Kerry, and played 35 minutes last weekend of a 'trial' game. Personally I think it's too soon, and he won't be right until the semi final if Kerry make it that far, but with their problems in the half forward line, I'll be surprised if he doesn't play at least some part on Sunday.
Post by: thebandit on July 30, 2008, 03:28:57 PM
The indications are that he will start
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2008, 03:44:16 PM
Quote from: thebandit on July 30, 2008, 03:28:57 PM
The indications are that he will start

I wouldn't be surprised. Hopefully he'll be alright, but it's a gamble.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 30, 2008, 05:03:22 PM
Would be amazed if he started with apparently just half a club game under his belt.
At the same time I'd be surprised not to see him at some stage. Should be a fascinating game.
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2008, 05:53:08 PM
The Irish Times thinks he will be ready to start.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0730/1217279170021.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0730/1217279170021.html)

We have heard about the  6 weeks being too long last year,
will 4 weeks be too short this year?
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 06:11:15 PM
Quoteit's Darren Hughes and not Dessie Hughes as a potential half-back sub.

Slip of the old keyboard there.

QuoteOur current best option would be Paul McGuigan from Clontibret

Agreed forgot about him in my rundown last night, have seen him play a few times with Clontibret,

QuoteIs there any truth in the craic that Kerry have been trying the Gooch on the 40 with Donaghy and Sheehan inside?

You have the partial truth to the rumour, it may be Donaghy and someone else besides Sheehan inside (but its a big secret), dont think Gooch will go out as far as the forty, we dont want him getting too tired running back in!!! Team named later this evening and all will be revealed.

I think Declan will start the game if he is close to full fitness , we really need him

Post by: The Subbie on July 30, 2008, 08:43:51 PM
From reading the papers and the queendom of Kerry website it would appear that O'Sullivan will play next Sunday, some recovery but you'd have to wonder if ,as Darragh O'Se said earlier in the year, would there be a bit of dirty petrol in the tank after a long lay off, O'Sullivan was the game breaker last year and if there is a full 70 mins in him we are in trouble.
As regards the gooch playing on the 40 i don't think Kerry will do this for a number of reasons, 1 as previously posted Dessie will have licience to roam up field and join in with attack and 2 cooper won't thrive in the white hot battle zone that it will be between both 45 metre lines, space at a premium,  no time to look up, bang bang bang not gooch territory @ all.
According to the Queendom boys big walsh and donaghy will provide the threat in the full forward line, i suppose they threw all they could at us last year down the hail mary route with one big man up there i suppose you might as well fire two up there and keep trying it.
Kerry's full back line go into this game with a big question mark hanging over them after thier capitulation against the langers with corey rampent and tommy being more than likely double marked spaces will appear in this sector of the field and the 1/2 forward line will have to exploit these if we are to have any cgance.
Mid field is as usual gonna be cruical as i don't for one minute believe that darragh o'se is finished i would expect Dick to throw all he can at him as if memory serves me right there is unfinished business from the railway cup final, if lennon can repeat his form from the last two days out Scanlon will have his hands full.

The weather looks like it will stay ok so heres hoping for a cracker like last year

http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/FREE/dayforecast.asp?day=4&zipcode=Dublin  (http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/FREE/dayforecast.asp?day=4&zipcode=Dublin)

By the way due to an unfortunate previous commitment i shall be unable to attend the match of the weekend and will be exiled to the dreary confines of Amsterdam city for the bank holiday weekend with 22 other diplomats from Monaghan :o :o ;) ;),a stag party is the event in question anyone know what the crack is with seeing the game on tv over there? Any good Irish bars that will definatley show it??
Post by: The Subbie on July 30, 2008, 09:00:33 PM
http://kerrygaa.proboards14.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=957&page=5 (http://kerrygaa.proboards14.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=957&page=5)

interesting post by Kingdom35 re possible team for sunday, even better post by donegal guy regarding the Queendoms hardcore travelling support!!!!!!!!
Post by: johnpower on July 30, 2008, 09:08:35 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 30, 2008, 08:43:51 PM
From reading the papers and the queendom of Kerry website it would appear that O'Sullivan will play next Sunday, some recovery but you'd have to wonder if ,as Darragh O'Se said earlier in the year, would there be a bit of dirty petrol in the tank after a long lay off, O'Sullivan was the game breaker last year and if there is a full 70 mins in him we are in trouble.
As regards the gooch playing on the 40 i don't think Kerry will do this for a number of reasons, 1 as previously posted Dessie will have licience to roam up field and join in with attack and 2 cooper won't thrive in the white hot battle zone that it will be between both 45 metre lines, space at a premium,  no time to look up, bang bang bang not gooch territory @ all.
According to the Queendom boys big walsh and donaghy will provide the threat in the full forward line, i suppose they threw all they could at us last year down the hail mary route with one big man up there i suppose you might as well fire two up there and keep trying it.
Kerry's full back line go into this game with a big question mark hanging over them after thier capitulation against the langers with corey rampent and tommy being more than likely double marked spaces will appear in this sector of the field and the 1/2 forward line will have to exploit these if we are to have any cgance.
Mid field is as usual gonna be cruical as i don't for one minute believe that darragh o'se is finished i would expect Dick to throw all he can at him as if memory serves me right there is unfinished business from the railway cup final, if lennon can repeat his form from the last two days out Scanlon will have his hands full.

The weather looks like it will stay ok so heres hoping for a cracker like last year

http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/FREE/dayforecast.asp?day=4&zipcode=Dublin  (http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/FREE/dayforecast.asp?day=4&zipcode=Dublin)

By the way due to an unfortunate previous commitment i shall be unable to attend the match of the weekend and will be exiled to the dreary confines of Amsterdam city for the bank holiday weekend with 22 other diplomats from Monaghan :o :o ;) ;),a stag party is the event in question anyone know what the crack is with seeing the game on tv over there? Any good Irish bars that will definatley show it??

I assume you are waiting for the Quarter Final ?.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 09:12:11 PM
And so on to the Kingdom, still smarting from the loss to Cork in the Munster final and to Derry in the League final they have a lot of ground to make up to recapture the glory days of the last 2 years. The performance against Clare was very lack lustre and poor but was completely over shadowed by Galvingate and also falling under the radar was the serious injury to Declan.

They started against Cork very well but faded in the second half (similar to Derry game) and had no answers or plan B to the introduction of big Mike Cussen at full forward and also the dominance of the Cork midfield. Cork lost Graham Canty through injury and Nicholas Murphy through a red card and still Pierce O'Neill bossed matters around the middle. Kerry's cause was not helped by an unfair red card to Marc O'Se and then the red card to brother Darragh but still it was disappointing to give up a big lead like they did and lose to their old rivals. The bad weather in Cork was also a factor with a gale blowing down the field but it was the same for both teams, and I wonder was Kerry's heart really in it at the end given all the furore about Galvin. That is a hard thing to take as Kerry traditionally hate to lose to Cork so hopefully that hurt will have been put to good use since.

They have had a few weeks to get right for next weekend but most of that time has been taken up with the ongoing trials of Galvin, hopefully the distractions won't impinge on the team and thankfully it ant an end now and the minds can hopefully fully focus on football. There has also been a few bits of skelping in training, sometimes a good sign of the Kerry setup as long as it does not go overboard. Young Ogie was at the end of some O'Se rough treatment but I am sure it was nothing that Ogie Senior and Paidi did not go through in their day. Yerra its part of the learning curve for any Kerry footballer. The old dog is always likely to give one last kick and will fight for his place and make any newcomer fight for the right to wear the famed green and gold jersey.

Injuries seem to be clearing up with Declan O'Sullivan the only main worry since his knee operation, he has been back training and played a bitteen of a club game last weekend according to reports, his match fitness will be the issue, doubt if he can last 70 minutes of hectic action on the energy draining Croke Park pitch.

Diarmuid Murphy will be the keeper, needs to find his men with kick outs and to re-arrange his full back line when threats arise.

The full back line should be Marc O'Se in the corner who will be driven to prove a point after his harsh red card. Will have a great tussle with Tommy Freeman. Marc needs to recapture the form of 07. Freeman never really broke free of him last year and Marc made one great intervention near the end that saved a possible winning score.

Tom O'Sullivan should be at full back, he got a torrid time of it from Cussen and before that Paddy Bradley and the lack of any credible competition for the full back spot is a worry. Struggled last year against Vinny Corey and Tom will need to use all his experience to gain an upper hand here, though if there is a man to step up it will be Tom.

The number 4 jersey is possibly up for grabs. Padraig Reidy is the holder but he got a bit of a run around from Ciaran Hanratty last year, and it may be an option of playing Killian Young in the corner. Young has the speed and skill, to slot in the corner but his distribution may be missed from around the midfield.

At wing back should be Tomas O'Se one of the few Kerry players to carry over their form of last year. Will be probably detailed on Paul Finlay and that should be a good joust, O'Se likes to drive out from the backs to support his attack and hopefully he can keep Finlay occupied in that role. Should continue to be captain in Galvin's absence.

Aidan O'Mahony will man the centre and his heavyweight clash with Rory Woods will be bone shuddering, 2 strong men. Aidan has also not reclaimed the form of last year and will need a big game to rule the roost in one of the games key clashes.

On the other wing should be Killian Young, if he is not in the corner, had a great first season and played a great captain's part in leading us to the U21 title in the spring but injury since has robbed him of some of his fitness and will need to produce the goods against a possibly speedy opponent in Stephen Gollogly. If Young is in the corner expect Tommy Griffin on the wing, this would be no bad move as Griffin's midfield experience would also be vital. Our half backs need to work very hard around the middle to pick up breaking ball.

Again the lack of cover for most of the 6 backs is a major worry and is something I have harped on about for a few years now, hopefully we will not need any replacements. Our discipline will be vital in the backs we do not want to be giving Finlay or Freeman any frees within 50m. Monaghan will run at us with power and speed to hopefully create the gaps for Freeman, Hanratty, Woods and Finlay to have a shot. Our backs and more importantly half forwards will have a busy day in the office to snuff out those threats early.

In midfield I'd expect to see Darragh O'Se and Seamus Scanlon, Darragh after a red card on Leeside will be keen to get back in the groove, he loves playing in Croke Park and it brings out the best in him. Has lost some of his pace of old and will need to watch his discipline and ensure that Scanlon and himself win their individual battles, but O'Se is still driven by success and nothing means more to him than playing for Kerry and if training rumours are to be believed he is flying.  Last year against Monaghan they were under a lot of pressure from Clerkin and Lennon and this pressure disrupted and rushed the supply of ball into our forwards and in particular Donaghy. If anything the Monaghan duo look better this year so we will need a huge game from Darragh and Seamus.

Scanlon is another who has lost some of the form from last year and hopefully the few weeks in training will have got rid of some of the rustiness. Other options in the middle would be Eoin Brosnan, Tommy Griffin, Kieran Donaghy, Tommy Walsh or Mike Quirke, but I'd expect a starting combination of O'Se and Scanlon. Whatever happens the Kerry sideline will need to spot the threats and make changes quicker than in the Cork game, if we are losing midfield we are going to struggle to win this game and its no time for sentiment if changes are to be made early.

The half line is interesting in that there are so many combinations that could be used but what's the right one? We can safely assume that PG will not be involved in any way. Donnacha Walsh may get another opportunity in the No 10 jersey, was doing well against Cork but was taken off in what looked like a strange move. If playing he will have to get stuck in in a Galvinesque type role but not sure if he is that type of player. Others up for contention for the wing spot would be Sean or Darren O'Sullivan, both have the speed and attacking flair but may not be the players you need to grind out the ball in midfield and I think they may be held back as impact subs, which is not a bad thing as those two can cause a lot of damage when opposition legs are tiring.

Declan O'Sullivan's full recovery from injury will be the hottest news in Kerry this week, the novenas and rosary beads will be out all week. Its vital for us that we have Declan at near full fitness, as without himself and Galvin we are bereft of the 2 players who drive us on up front, we were like headless chickens against cork , no leaders up front. If he is fit he will possibly be played on the forty but there is the opportunity that he may also play in the corner where he has played before and close to goal he is a good threat as he proved last year against Monaghan and Dublin.

In the other wing position I'd say Eoin Brosnan may be given the nod, his midfield experience may again be needed but he is a player who has not produced the goods this year and he needs a huge improvement from the Cork game. His position is under serious threat from David Ogie Moran who has done very well in training and possibly moving Bryan Sheehan out of the corner. I would nearly try Moran if I had a choice. He is a raw upcoming lad with bundles of potential and may be the unknown quantity for Monaghan to plan and deal with.
At 13 will be Gooch Cooper, again he has not sparkled in the few games he has played this year but the supply to him has been poor, but he will be determined to put in a performance in Croke Park where he has done well in the past. After missing the spring with his US travels we hope he has been rejuvenated in recent weeks and will come out and lay down a marker against Monaghan with a performance we know he is capable of.

Kieran Donaghy should be named at full forward, again he needs the right type of ball that he can attack, just kicking in hail Mary balls to him will not always work, if he can get high ball he can run onto he will be a threat to JP Mone or anyone and hopefully Gooch can feed off him, but he will be reminded of Mone's dominance of him last year. In the other corner you would expect Bryan Sheehan and his free taking will as ever be vital, Monaghan conceded 8 points to frees last week to Donegal and we will have to take all those chances that arise should Monaghan foul.

Rumours have it that Tommy Walsh has been in great form in training and may be played as an additional target man in the corner or full forward, Himself and Donaghy with Cooper playing off the front of them, will be interesting to see if it happens and how Monaghan deal with it, two big men of about 6'5" may be hard to handle if they take a corner each and it may mean bringing Corey back to cover one of them as the Monaghan backs are not the tallest. Also it may take away the possibility of double teaming Donaghy with Mone and McQuaid as happened last year, but like anything it will be down to the quality of ball into them.

Walsh is raw but is a big strong player who has plenty of skill and can take a score like his father Seanie did when he started out as a super sub in the 1970's before making a name for himself as a great in midfield and later on at full back. Tommy did very well in our successful U21 run earlier in the year. If Walsh starts it would mean the movement of Bryan Sheehan to the half line and you would wonder how that would effect the line up. Will be an interesting few days before the teams are named.

When we played Longford in the qualifiers a few years ago Donaghy was tried at full forward to devastating effect and one that a few counties have tried to copy, maybe the release of 2 big men may be the trend of 2008. Who knows? I wil lprobablt be eating my hat lateron with the release of the team.

Simon Deignan the referee will be a vital cog in how the game pans out for both teams. And lets hope the recent wet weather clears up, as the last game of the 6 in Croker this weekend it will be interesting to see the state of the pitch, if its wet will we see as much slippage as in recent years?

Monaghan were riding in on the hype of getting to and almost winning the Ulster title last year and then a good win over Donegal in the qualifiers and maybe the Croke park experience was just a bit too much for them on the day against Kerry, they had great chances to win that game, and who knows maybe that defeat may be the makings of them, the people in Monaghan are more realistic about their chances this year, the hype is less even though they have taken 2 major scalps over the last 2 games, they will be coming to Croker on Sunday in a serious frame of mind, Banty will have them very focussed on correcting what he perceives as a missed opportunity last year, one thing Banty will have to mind, he does not want them too pumped up for the day. There are no songs this year but The Mighty Men of Monaghan are still there, but time will tell if their search for Sam Maguire is a fruitful one. Kerry beware.

Kerry rejoin the bumpy and seldom travelled road to 3-in-a-row again this weekend and lets hope it is the start of a hectic but successful August where we could face a potential pocket bursting 3 trips to Croke Park. Not easy but would you want it any other way? .

Ciarrai Abu.
Post by: johnpower on July 30, 2008, 09:19:29 PM
Well kerry team expected to be named tonight . A lot of speculation on what 6 forwards will line up .I wonder is the 4 weeks long enough to get to back on track or will the mileage in the legs catch up with them .Can the fade outs against Derry and Cork be put down to fitness or just complacency I think fitness is only part of it .

As regards Monaghan the 2 wins over the past 2 weekends must give them a huge boost . I think in looking at the possible outcome of Sundays clash we should look at this years form and forget about last year .Monaghan and Tyrone are the two teams I did not want to get .It will be some tough battle with of course Mid field been vital
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 30, 2008, 09:24:06 PM
QuoteKerry's cause was not helped by an unfair red card to Marc O'Se and then the red card to brother Darragh

Dara's red card was in the final minute and had no bearing on the result. While Marc's red card may have been harsh it was still a 14  side game then. Surely you are not suggesting that ye needed an extra player to beat Cork!!

Overall I thought Kerry were very sluggish against Cork even in the first half when they led by 8 - a lead due more to Cork misses and errors than anything Kerry were doing. When Cork got the upperhand at midfield early in the second half Kerry had no answer and a lot of the players looked disinterested. I expect a much more focused Kery performance on Sunday and big step up in tempo. Not sure Monaghan have the ammunition to up their performace much more and if Kerry make an explosive start, put some early scores on the board then I feel they will win confortably. Its a good draw for Kerry as they will not under estimate Monaghan after last year and there will be no complacency.
Post by: johnpower on July 30, 2008, 09:29:28 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 30, 2008, 09:24:06 PM
QuoteKerry's cause was not helped by an unfair red card to Marc O'Se and then the red card to brother Darragh

Dara's red card was in the final minute and had no bearing on the result. While Marc's red card may have been harsh it was still a 14  side game then. Surely you are not suggesting that ye needed an extra player to beat Cork!!

Overall I thought Kerry were very sluggish against Cork even in the first half when they led by 8 - a lead due more to Cork misses and errors than anything Kerry were doing. When Cork got the upperhand at midfield early in the second half Kerry had no answer and a lot of the players looked disinterested. I expect a much more focused Kery performance on Sunday and big step up in tempo. Not sure Monaghan have the ammunition to up their performace much more and if Kerry make an explosive start, put some early scores on the board then I feel they will win confortably. Its a good draw for Kerry as they will not under estimate Monaghan after last year and there will be no complacency.

I hope the Sluggishness against Cork was down to lack of fitness or disinterest but the worry is that it was the second big game in a row there was a big fade out .Pierce O Neill was immense that day and Monaghan have 3 midfielder just as good
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 30, 2008, 09:38:09 PM
Kerry did not look very fit against Cork John and has the game went on a lot of the players seemed to struggle on the heavy pitch. Certainly I expect Kerry to be a lot fitter on Sunday. As I said I do not think it was so much a Kerry fade out against Cork as Cork upping their performace and Kerry not responding. Same v Derry and in that game Kerry's early lead was a bit flattering1
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 10:09:39 PM
Mon v Don on Setanta now, good to have another look at Monaghan
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 10:22:57 PM
Kerry team for Sunday, Some major talking points.

1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
(2) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) (3) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (4) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore)
(5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Captain (6) Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) (7) Killian Young (Renard)
(8) Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (9) Seamus Scanlon (Currow)
(10) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahillys) (11) Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes) (12) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane)
(13) Declan O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) (14) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) (15) Brian Sheehan (St Mary's)

Fir Ionad: 16) Kieran Cremin (Dr. Crokes) (17) Eoin Brosnan (Dr. Crokes) (18) Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane) (19) Darren O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (20) Michéal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys) (21) Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (22) Daniel Bohane (Austin Stacks) (23) Mike Frank Russell (Laune Rangers) (24) Rónán Ó Flatharta (An Ghaeltacht) (25) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare) (26) Kieran O'Leary (Dr. Crokes) (27) David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (28) Anthony Maher (Duagh) (29) Mike Moloney (Dr Crokes) (30) Pat Corridan (Finuge) Bainsteoir: Pat O'Shea Dr. Crokes Traenálaí: John Sugrue Renard Roghnóirí: Dr. Dave Geaney Castleisland Desmonds and Seán Geaney Dingle
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 10:27:36 PM
- Full back line swapped about with Marc at fullback and Reidy and Tom Sullivan swapping corners.
- Gooch on the forty is a bold move and Tommy Walsh starts on the wing with his name sake Donnacha on the other wing with Declan is named in the corner the rest of the team as perdicted. 

Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 30, 2008, 10:47:59 PM
I will be amazed if the forwards start in those positions......
Pretty radical shake up of a misfiring half forward line if it happens.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2008, 10:48:17 PM
The obvious and logical switch is Declan with Gooch. If Declan gets a good blow out after 5 minutes, that will be the switch, if they even line out that way.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 30, 2008, 10:57:41 PM
I think they will try Gooch there for a while with Tommy Walsh moving into the corner instead of Declan.
Should be an interesting start to the game with the kerry lads taking up their positions and it will be interesting if Banty will go man for man to them at the start nd bring Corey babkk.

In the full back line I see Marc being tagged to Freeman and Tom Sullivan on Corey if he play in the full forward line. Interesting times ahead.

Post by: The Subbie on July 31, 2008, 09:37:52 AM
Quote from: johnpower on July 30, 2008, 09:08:35 PM

No John , i have not been eating any Kerry produce that may have infected me with the necessary cockiness to be having a thought process like a prince of yerra, its a rather unfortunate double booking in a hectic schedule, so John are you and 20,000 others going to wait for the quater final?  ;) ;)

All messing aside the Kerry fans have no excuse this weekend with it been a bank holiday and all that, thier team needs support after the Munster final capitulation so with Monaghan expected to bring a good crowd will we see a sea of green and gold on Sunday?
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 31, 2008, 04:22:40 PM
I expected great things of Monaghan before the championship started but the display against Fermanagh resulted in a very quick reassessment. I was beginning to think that the thread that appeared here over the winter about Monaghan sinking without trace come summer, was actually correct.

I think they've rediscovered their zeal now though, Fermanagh was some sort of blip it appears and besides, Fermanagh's progress since has placed Monaghan in a somewhat kinder light.

I think the appointment of a new manager and a fresh voice (I think Jack O'Connor more or less said as much himself) postponed the tapering off of this Kerry team for another year - I'm talking purely in terms of hunger here, not ability - and I haven't been too surprised to see them at less than full capacity this year. Now Kerry in Croke Park in August are always Kerry in Croke Park in August, but if Monaghan leave this one behind them they'll have nobody to blame but themselves because I don't think they'll ever have a better chance to take a big scalp on Jones Road as they do this weekend.

The snarl and snap is back and you can see Banty and the team are well up for it, despite their proximity and lack of fondess between our two counties I have alot of admiration for the work and commitment there in the last five years, hats off. It's going to be another gripping encounter but Monaghan have the motivation after last year, the momentum after two tight morale-boosting wins, the supreme fitness that any dedicated bunch of players will have under Martin McElkennon and the advantage in that Kerry are off the back of two Sams, somewhat experimental and struggling for fitness, and not sound at full back under high ball.

Monaghan by one score is my tuppence worth. And like a true Cavan man, I want that money back if I'm wrong.
Post by: bingobus on July 31, 2008, 04:32:43 PM
Good review Cavanmaniac but I would thought that a 3-in-a-row would be a big motivation for kerry rather than a negative. One thing we have to our benefit is match sharpness in a tight match, no level of training will get you ready for that. But Kerry have such natural footballers that if they are in touch at half time, the rustiness will be gone and they'll home in on the finishing line.

After the Cork match I wonder if Banty has considered big Benny at FF, if things are tight and Vinny isn't working. In the last two games Vinny has looked better out the field. Benny has good hands but quick distribution may devalue his effectiveness at FF.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 31, 2008, 04:54:58 PM
You're right there about the three in a row and if you ask any Kerry player his eyes will bulge with enthusiasm, but football is played with the legs and there's a reason why back-to-backs are so rare; it's because the achievement generally always, at some level, satisfies a group of players until they go out of the competition the following year and spend the rest of the season looking at someone else winning it, to recover their appetite for the summer after. I think Pat O'Shea's freshness and novelty was a key factor in staving that off last year but it seems to be a factor this time around. Only Sunday will tell but it'd be an unreal achievement for Kerry to win Sam this year, even allowing for the fact that it's Kerry we're talking about here. Monaghan will smell blood here for sure.

Best of luck anyway, it'll be hard listening if ye do it but fair play if ye manage it.

(I feel all dirty now).
Post by: Oriel Man on July 31, 2008, 05:11:20 PM

I always did love Cavan People...... so wise  :)

Good assessment cavanmaniac, hope you're right!!!
Post by: bingobus on July 31, 2008, 05:23:15 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on July 31, 2008, 04:54:58 PM
You're right there about the three in a row and if you ask any Kerry player his eyes will bulge with enthusiasm, but football is played with the legs and there's a reason why back-to-backs are so rare; it's because the achievement generally always, at some level, satisfies a group of players until they go out of the competition the following year and spend the rest of the season looking at someone else winning it, to recover their appetite for the summer after. I think Pat O'Shea's freshness and novelty was a key factor in staving that off last year but it seems to be a factor this time around. Only Sunday will tell but it'd be an unreal achievement for Kerry to win Sam this year, even allowing for the fact that it's Kerry we're talking about here. Monaghan will smell blood here for sure.

Best of luck anyway, it'll be hard listening if ye do it but fair play if ye manage it.

(I feel all dirty now).

Away and wash yourself, ya dirty turncoat.  ;)  ;)

I have no problem with Cavan folk, prob to do with location and had many a good session with Cavan folk in Dublin. Its them Orange ones from cross border that sicken me!!!

I don't share your optism though.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 31, 2008, 05:27:37 PM
Good assessment surely CM. I'd say it hurt a lot...  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2008, 07:09:06 PM
Monaghan have a song out for the Kerry game.

(http://www.castlewebdesigns.com/images/smurfland.jpg)
Post by: The Subbie on August 01, 2008, 09:16:31 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 31, 2008, 04:32:43 PM
Good review Cavanmaniac but I would thought that a 3-in-a-row would be a big motivation for kerry rather than a negative. One thing we have to our benefit is match sharpness in a tight match, no level of training will get you ready for that. But Kerry have such natural footballers that if they are in touch at half time, the rustiness will be gone and they'll home in on the finishing line.

After the Cork match I wonder if Banty has considered big Benny at FF, if things are tight and Vinny isn't working. In the last two games Vinny has looked better out the field. Benny has good hands but quick distribution may devalue his effectiveness at FF.

If big benny does go into the edge of the small square he would'nt be the first Emyvale man to fill that role and if he's half as effective as big Eamon, christ that would be something to spring from the bench :o

Am starting to get nervous now :o :o
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2008, 04:05:37 PM
Kerry 1/3 - Monaghan 3/1

3/1 is too big so GET ON !!!!!!!
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 04:08:51 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 01, 2008, 04:05:37 PM
Kerry 1/3 - Monaghan 3/1

Any odds for the tyrone mayo match Om
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2008, 04:27:09 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 04:08:51 PM
Kerry 1/3 - Monaghan 3/1

Any odds for the tyrone mayo match Om

Tyrone 4/6 Mayo 6/4
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 04:38:43 PM
thanks for the Om a monaghan&mayo double would be a nice bet if it came off , stranger thing have happened remember 2004 Armagh and Tryone were heavy favourites
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2008, 04:41:07 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 04:38:43 PM
thanks for the Om a monaghan&mayo double would be a nice bet if it came off , stranger thing have happened remember 2004 Armagh and Tryone were heavy favourites

Would pay nice odds ! Get on !!!!!!!  ;)
Post by: tyssam5 on August 01, 2008, 08:55:48 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 31, 2008, 09:37:52 AM

No John , i have not been eating any Kerry produce that may have infected me with the necessary cockiness to be having a thought process like a prince of yerra, its a rather unfortunate double booking in a hectic schedule, so John are you and 20,000 others going to wait for the quater final?  ;) ;)

All messing aside the Kerry fans have no excuse this weekend with it been a bank holiday and all that, thier team needs support after the Munster final capitulation so with Monaghan expected to bring a good crowd will we see a sea of green and gold on Sunday?

Tara should be showing the game.
Post by: magickingdom on August 01, 2008, 09:11:55 PM
Kerry 1/3 - Monaghan 3/1

good odds on monaghan that, did i see 16/1 for a mayo/monaghan double this w/e. quite simply i think if dara doesnt have one of his better games kerry are in trouble. mayo have pulled one over on tyrone before..
Post by: johnpower on August 01, 2008, 09:57:52 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 31, 2008, 09:37:52 AM

Cant speak for the other 20 thousand but I am not waiting for the quarter final .I have cancelled the holidays and booked my tickets for Croker and am now getting very nervous after watching the  Donegal game again on Setanta ,The thing that impressed me about Monaghan was the lack of panic when the game got tight,their abilility to kick simple scores ,their spread of scorers and of course their mid field .

It will be a hell of a battle .I have not seen Kerry train since the Cork game but would hope that their fitness and sharpness have improved . No Kerry player played well against Cork so they all have room for improvement . This may well come down to who makes the right changes as the game develops .
Post by: Tyrones own on August 01, 2008, 10:57:19 PM
QuoteThis may well come down to who makes the right changes as the game develops .

On those grounds I think McAnaney might have the edge, O'Shea didn't impress in the Cork game.
Post by: johnpower on August 01, 2008, 11:02:08 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 01, 2008, 10:57:19 PM
QuoteThis may well come down to who makes the right changes as the game develops .

On those grounds I think McAnaney might have the edge, O'Shea didn't impress in the Cork game.

Dead right you are .He had a zen like calm or maybe he had no faith in his bench
Post by: comethekingdom on August 02, 2008, 12:32:31 PM
Must say I am nervous about this game - Monaghan quietly confident but would you blame them? However Kerry know what to expect this year and have no excuse to be caught cold. We need a  big performance from Dara and our midfield otherwise Clerkin, Lennon and co will clean us out and the Twin tower threat will be all folly.
Fingers crossed for Sunday!
Post by: donelli on August 02, 2008, 03:49:56 PM
Nerves are starting, especially after watching the start of the 4 games on tv there. This time tomarrow will be in my seat (or take someone else's!) in the cusack getting ready to support the oriel men.

hope monaghan do it, but i dont know. i fear the kerry backlash from the munster final. think monaghan could win by 1- pts, but with the calibre of the kerry forwards there's always the dirty possibility of losing by 10

we also have to now consider how good/bad ulster is after that down performance...is that just down as we have known them in the qualifiers to date or a truer portrayal of the level football is at in ulster..??/

COME ON MONAGHAN

Post by: Main Street on August 02, 2008, 03:53:28 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 02, 2008, 12:32:31 PM
Twin tower threat will be all folly.
The Twin Tower analogy doesn't look to be the most auspicious, has a portent of inevitable doom written all over it.

Gary McQuaid not fit enough to start,
the Monaghan team has been announced, the continuity team.

P McBennett, D Mone, JP Mone, D McArdle, D Freeman, V Corey, D Hughes, E Lennon, P Finlay, D Clerkin, S Gollogly, C McManus, C Hanratty, R Woods, T Freeman.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0802/monaghan.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0802/monaghan.html)

Post by: donelli on August 02, 2008, 04:02:37 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 02, 2008, 03:53:28 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 02, 2008, 12:32:31 PM
Twin tower threat will be all folly.
The Twin Tower analogy doesn't look to be the most auspicious, has a portent of inevitable doom written all over it.

Gary McQuaid not fit enough to start,
the Monaghan team has been announced, the continuity team.

P McBennett, D Mone, JP Mone, D McArdle, D Freeman, V Corey, D Hughes, E Lennon, P Finlay, D Clerkin, S Gollogly, C McManus, C Hanratty, R Woods, T Freeman.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0802/monaghan.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0802/monaghan.html)

Banty will never start with that line up. He always makes a change somewhere before throw-in. McQuaid will probably get the nod.I hope he regains his form.

i am led to believe that ronaghan is once again available after his injury.
Post by: Oriel Man on August 02, 2008, 05:26:15 PM
Quote from: donelli on August 02, 2008, 03:49:56 PM
.......we also have to now consider how good/bad ulster is after that down performance...is that just down as we have known them in the qualifiers to date or a truer portrayal of the level football is at in ulster..??/...
I don't know what it can tell us about Ulster football..... we know Wexford is good, they beat Fermanagh to Div 3 title.
I think the big thing it does tell us is how Good Dublin is this year..... At the moment my €€€ is on them for Sam.
(also have a few bob on Monaghan of course - one of theses years I'll recoup all the money i have lost over the years  :) )
Post by: magickingdom on August 02, 2008, 10:05:48 PM
Quote from: Oriel Man on August 02, 2008, 05:26:15 PM
.......we also have to now consider how good/bad ulster is after that down performance...is that just down as we have known them in the qualifiers to date or a truer portrayal of the level football is at in ulster..??/...
I don't know what it can tell us about Ulster football..... we know Wexford is good, they beat Fermanagh to Div 3 title.
I think the big thing it does tell us is how Good Dublin is this year..... At the moment my €€€ is on them for Sam.
(also have a few bob on Monaghan of course - one of theses years I'll recoup all the money i have lost over the years  :) )

you really should put some of your money on kerry, they have a long history of winning the thing. dublin and monaghan have a lot of memories of losing to get over  ;)
Post by: orangeman on August 02, 2008, 10:19:29 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 01, 2008, 09:11:55 PM
Kerry 1/3 - Monaghan 3/1

good odds on monaghan that, did i see 16/1 for a mayo/monaghan double this w/e. quite simply i think if dara doesnt have one of his better games kerry are in trouble. mayo have pulled one over on tyrone before..

It could have happened today but again Mayo fell short.  ;)
Post by: Oriel Man on August 03, 2008, 08:20:49 AM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 02, 2008, 10:05:48 PM
Quote from: Oriel Man on August 02, 2008, 05:26:15 PM

you really should put some of your money on kerry, they have a long history of winning the thing. dublin and monaghan have a lot of memories of losing to get over  ;)
True, but that wouldn't be any fun!!!
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 09:27:38 AM
I can't wait for this one. Today we (and he) will find out if the greatest midfielder of his generation can drive his team to one more All-Ireland or whether he has reached the end of the road. It's a fascinating prospect that will keep us glued to our chairs for a couple of hours. The essence of sport.
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 03:12:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 09:27:38 AM
I can't wait for this one. Today we (and he) will find out if the greatest midfielder of his generation can drive his team to one more All-Ireland or whether he has reached the end of the road. It's a fascinating prospect that will keep us glued to our chairs for a couple of hours. The essence of sport.

Eh McGrane doesnt play for a while yet. ;)

C'mon Monaghan. I think this game will be a cracker, it would nearly need to be given the dirge served up so far this weekend.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 03:21:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2008, 09:27:38 AM

This one's a sumptuous prospect indeed, after the damp squib of a 'curtain-raiser'. Only a fool would write off Kerry, but I still feel there's the marking of an epoch in this game.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 03:27:28 PM
Based on the Down/Fermanagh performances it is a worry that Monaghan might be nowhere near as good as their victories over Derry/Donegal seem especially as both have been due to being dominated totally in midfield...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 03:31:20 PM
Down produced their worst performance of the year yesterday, eclipsing that of theirs against Armagh. But maybe Fermanagh's wretchedness just exposes how poor Armagh really are, in having to take them to a replay to dispose of them  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2008, 03:41:24 PM
Fermanagh came back in the first Ulster final by playing out of their skins against an Armagh that had eased up somewhat. It is not easy to maintain that workrate, Fermanagh didn't reach that hell for leather pace today.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 03:43:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 03, 2008, 03:41:24 PM
Fermanagh came back in the first Ulster final by playing out of their skins against an Armagh that had eased up somewhat. It is not easy to maintain that workrate, Fermanagh didn't reach that hell for leather pace today.

Hook, line, and...                                                     sinker!  ;)
Post by: Gold on August 03, 2008, 04:19:11 PM
can u watch this online anywhere??
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 04:23:41 PM
Cooper missed a penalty...

tv3.ie I think
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 04:24:05 PM
Not sure Gold, Kerry just took possibly the second worst penalty in history. Currently Monaghan 0-2, Kerry 0-3.
Post by: dodo on August 03, 2008, 04:24:19 PM
Real irritating commentry on TV3, Paul Earley as co-commentator stating the obvious and waffling away. The other guy doing his best to bore, doesn't seem to be too familiar with the players either.
Monaghan after kicking 6 wides already.....Gooch just put the penalty wide too !
Post by: Puckoon on August 03, 2008, 04:24:46 PM
Did they move the goalposts a little in croker this week?
Post by: dodo on August 03, 2008, 04:27:36 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 03, 2008, 04:24:46 PM

They seem to be moving them constantly !
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 04:28:33 PM
Quote from: dodo on August 03, 2008, 04:27:36 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 03, 2008, 04:24:46 PM

They seem to be moving them constantly !

Indeed  :D
Post by: gerry on August 03, 2008, 04:35:17 PM
Quote from: Gold on August 03, 2008, 04:19:11 PM
can u watch this online anywhere??

tv3 have it online for ROI only, radio your best option with kerry fm

http://www.radiokerry.ie/live.php (http://www.radiokerry.ie/live.php)
Post by: slow corner back on August 03, 2008, 04:38:30 PM
35 mins gone Kerry 0-5 Monaghan 0-3 sounds like dire stuff
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 04:53:02 PM
The Kildare Fermanagh game was bad - this isn't much better.

Monaghan are very physical - they're sailing very close to the wind and seem intent on roughing up Kerry. Tactics ?
Post by: bridgegael on August 03, 2008, 04:54:43 PM
game hasn't really got going yet.  seems to be a lot of cynical fouling by both teams.  somebody will get the line in secnd half.  i fully expect the gooch to be reprimanded for his punch on monaghan no4 on the sunday game tonight
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:03:46 PM
Kerry 0-08 Mon 0-05
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:05:22 PM
Kerry 0-09 Mon 0-06 Scanlon
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:06:10 PM
Kerry 0-09 Mon 0-07 Finley
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2008, 05:07:03 PM
Woods...one in it
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2008, 05:07:43 PM
Donaghey...back to two again.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:08:55 PM
Kerry 0-10 Mon 0-09 Freeman
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 05:09:29 PM
i believe we now have a game of  football, hurray.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:09:48 PM
About time
Post by: gerry on August 03, 2008, 05:12:13 PM
kerry players looking rattled
Post by: Ball Hopper on August 03, 2008, 05:12:59 PM
Weeshie on Radio Kerry says:  Some call them streakers, I call them Freakers>

Class.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:13:20 PM
Kerry 0-10 Mon 0-10 Finley
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:16:13 PM
Kerry 0-11 Mon 0-10 Donaghy
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:17:57 PM
Kerry 0-12 Mon 0-10 Sheehan
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:19:35 PM
Kerry 1-12 Mon 0-10 Donaghy
Post by: Puckoon on August 03, 2008, 05:19:53 PM
Sheehan hits a big dead ball. Great strike to watch.
Post by: gerry on August 03, 2008, 05:21:46 PM
is it just me, or is some of tv3 camera coverage poor with closeups of the players its hard to see to see the flow of play
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:27:40 PM
Kerry 1-12 Mon 0-11 T.Freeman
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:28:40 PM
Kerry 1-12 Mon 0-12  McQuaid
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 05:29:33 PM
Dara Ó fecking Sé, what a player.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:31:14 PM
Kerry 1-13 Mon 0-12 Sheehan   4 minutes added on
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 05:32:02 PM
rumours of kerrys demise have been exaggerated.
Post by: HowdyDoody on August 03, 2008, 05:33:00 PM
Kerry 1-13 Mon 0-13 T.Freeman

Full Time
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 05:40:21 PM
There was an article in yesterday's Independent headlined - "is this the end of Dara O'Se ?"

I think he gave the answer to that today. When the chips were down and the heat was on, Dara stood taller than the rest.

Kerry are a good side - I thought Monaghan tired to out muscle them in order to counteract Kerry's better footballers - but Mionaghan have good footballers too who can't express themselves when employing these tactics.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 05:41:39 PM
OK, I'm a fool (and 10 out of 10 for humour for anyone who quotes that). Well done Kerry.

Anyway, hardly epoch-marking, but Kerry are nothing to fear particularly either; no denying that pure class told in the end, and Tommy Walsh is a very promising addition, and Dara Ó'Sé just did what he does best and he's still a very formidable force, but the Kingdom are not the team they were this time last year, though overall I'm not particularly impressed. And I think most Kerry folk are of a similar mindset.
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 05:43:18 PM
bit harsh monaghan played bloody well and surprised me with their quality today, kerry were just a little better. kerry's performance today mate was very good and the game will improve them
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 05:46:06 PM
Kerry have a lot left - Gooch wasn't good today - Monaghan really harried them and Kerry's forwards didn't step up at all -

Why did Kerry take off Big Walsh ?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 05:49:29 PM
Tommy Walsh had that swagger,hes going to be a good one alright, i Thought he gave Dessie Mone real problems,And only for being a touch casual would have kicked over another few from play.
Post by: FL/MAYO on August 03, 2008, 05:53:04 PM
Similar to last years game, Kerry's class forwards were the difference, they just  make scoring look simple. Monaghan hit Kerry hard, close to the edge stuff but they gave an example on how to go about beating this Kerry team.   
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 05:56:32 PM
Was it more poor Monaghan forward shooting which cost them...
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 05:58:27 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 05:56:32 PM

Had Monaghan taken the goal chance things would have been different.
Post by: MacCruiskeen on August 03, 2008, 06:23:37 PM
Aidan O'Mahoney is a truly great footballer. Small dive in first half, no doubt, but my vote for best player in the country.
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:21:39 PM
thought ruairi woods roasted him to be honest. I apologise to monaghan fans for saying they were shite earlier in the season. they are a fraction away from the bigtime and still a work in progress. really its a disgrace they haven't won Ulster yet, surely that should be the goal rather than leaving themselves to the draw from hell this year. cracking game of football, real championship stuff not like the sort of rubbish we witnessed in the other 3 games. If Mongahan in future can leave Corey at Full back and perhaps be more clinical in Croke Park they could seriously contend for an -ireland . in my view they are the best poised to challenge the big guns. a lot of players now around the age for a real tilt for trophies.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 03, 2008, 08:30:05 PM
Quote from: MacCruiskeen on August 03, 2008, 06:23:37 PM
Aidan O'Mahoney is a truly great footballer. Small dive in first half, no doubt, but my vote for best player in the country.

Very very cynical in my eyes TBH but like the rest of the team he seems to get away with it,
BTW how did O'Sullivan get away with relentlessly abusing Deegan like that ??? ....Maybe it's a Kerry thing :-\
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 08:43:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 05:41:39 PM
OK, I'm a fool (and 10 out of 10 for humour for anyone who quotes that). Well done Kerry.

Anyway, hardly epoch-marking, but Kerry are nothing to fear particularly either; no denying that pure class told in the end, and Tommy Walsh is a very promising addition, and Dara Ó'Sé just did what he does best and he's still a very formidable force, but the Kingdom are not the team they were this time last year, though overall I'm not particularly impressed. And I think most Kerry folk are of a similar mindset.

fear you miss the point with kerry, all they had to do today was win which they did..

Quote from: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 05:58:27 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 05:56:32 PM

Had Monaghan taken the goal chance things would have been different.

how? kerry getting another goal? they scored 1-2 in a five minute period when they needed to and the game was over

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 03, 2008, 08:30:05 PM

Very very cynical in my eyes TBH but like the rest of the team he seems to get away with it,
BTW how did O'Sullivan get away with relentlessly abusing Deegan like that ??? ....Maybe it's a Kerry thing :-\

what game were you watching? did monaghan not get physical at all ffs
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 08:44:32 PM

Listened to the radio after the game and the kerry fans are some craic, they seem to believe that monaghan were the dirtiest hewers of all time whie their boys were as pure as the driven snow, apparently Kerry are the only county in Ireland who play the game clean.
Post by: Main Street on August 03, 2008, 08:46:15 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:21:39 PM
I apologise to monaghan fans for saying they were shite earlier in the season. they are a fraction away from the bigtime and still a work in progress.
Apology accepted Indiana  :)
it was a real championship game when the the other 3 games were damp squibs.
Even when the quality was lacking in the game, the intensity more than made up for up it.
2 teams who went hell for leather for victory with an almost controlled ferocity.
Donaghy's class on the day was the biggest difference but Kerry were just not going to lose that game under any circumstances.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2008, 08:53:09 PM

I'd say he'd start a fight at a funeral. Every break in play he seemed to be swinging at someone or wrestling with them.
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:10:04 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 03, 2008, 08:46:15 PM
I apologise to monaghan fans for saying they were shite earlier in the season. they are a fraction away from the bigtime and still a work in progress.
Even when the quality was lacking in the game, the intensity more than made up for up it.
2 teams who went hell for leather for victory with an almost controlled ferocity.
Donaghy's class on the day was the biggest difference but Kerry were just not going to lose that game under any circumstances.

i've no doubt monaghan would have beaten any other team on show this weekend main st. yet kerry get very little credit on this board for their achievements..
Post by: Tyrones own on August 03, 2008, 09:11:19 PM

Quotewhat game were you watching? did monaghan not get physical at all ffs

There's a vast contrast between cynicism and physicality, and I was after all responding to
your mans post regarding O'Mahony, Monaghan weren't mentioned. ::)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 09:16:30 PM
QuoteThere's a vast contrast between cynicism and physicality

I suppose we will have to defer to your superior knowledge on the subject. Nobody knows more about cynicism than Tyrone. Dooher could write the book on the subject.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 09:18:40 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 08:43:47 PM

fear you miss the point with kerry, all they had to do today was win which they did..

Hats off mk, and you have a fair point there. Yes, you're doing just enough, and by God how that has served you over the decades (almost centuries now).I remain, however, sceptical, in that had you faced a more clinically scoring opposition today you were history -- the consecutive weekends told on Monaghan. As I've said continually, however, many a ship has foundered on the rocks of predicting Kerry's demise, and I'm not about to do it now. You'll be gone when you're gone, and I'm not about to venture that's going to be any time before the 3rd Sunday in September '08.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 09:20:46 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:10:04 PM

i've no doubt monaghan would have beaten any other team on show this weekend main st. yet kerry get very little credit on this board for their achievements..
Monaghan would most likely have beaten any of the other teams this weekend, they are however missing a bit of class up front imo.  That is a phenomenal bench Kerry have, nearly every man who came on would be a starter on every other team in the country.
Now, the other point is that today's game showed up, once again, how stupid the current system is, imo if Kerry were playing in Ulster and had been coming up against teams like Monaghan etc throughout the last 3 years they wouldn't be going for 3 in a row, I don't mean this as a slight on Kerry, it's not their fault.
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:40:40 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 09:20:46 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:10:04 PM

Monaghan would most likely have beaten any of the other teams this weekend, they are however missing a bit of class up front imo.  That is a phenomenal bench Kerry have, nearly every man who came on would be a starter on every other team in the country.
Now, the other point is that today's game showed up, once again, how stupid the current system is, imo if Kerry were playing in Ulster and had been coming up against teams like Monaghan etc throughout the last 3 years they wouldn't be going for 3 in a row, I don't mean this as a slight on Kerry, it's not their fault.

ever hear of cork? over the decades often the second best team in the country but the rest of the country didnt have to worry too much about them. and how did ulster teams do this weekend? 1 out of 4 survived
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:46:56 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 09:18:40 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 08:43:47 PM

Hats off mk, and you have a fair point there. Yes, you're doing just enough, and by God how that has served you over the decades (almost centuries now).I remain, however, sceptical, in that had you faced a more clinically scoring opposition today you were history -- the consecutive weekends told on Monaghan. As I've said continually, however, many a ship has foundered on the rocks of predicting Kerry's demise, and I'm not about to do it now. You'll be gone when you're gone, and I'm not about to venture that's going to be any time before the 3rd Sunday in September '08.

we'll never be gone!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 09:47:44 PM
Kerry are always slow out of the blocks. If the games in Ulster are as "hard" as ye keep saying then those games would, no doubt, improve us with each one, safe in the knowledge that there is a second chance through the back door. Having more games has been a distinct advantage which has helped Northern teams in recent years.

...and as for before the qualifiers...well Ulsters 14 AI  out of 120 wouldnt inspire much fear. Sure Cork, the second best team in Ireland for many years, nearly have half that total themselves.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 09:58:08 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:40:40 PM
ever hear of cork? over the decades often the second best team in the country but the rest of the country didnt have to worry too much about them. and how did ulster teams do this weekend? 1 out of 4 survived
Jeez you lads are fierce touchy, I was simply pointing out that Kerry arrived at the 3rd round of the qualifiers by virtue of beating clare by 15 points, whilst Monaghan had to play Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry to reach this stage, hardly very fair is it?
You constantly stream out this bollox about how tough games can improve a team, indeed they can, to an extent, however by the law of averages you'll lose a fair percentage of tough games, if Kerry had to play teams of Monaghan's standard throughout a 3 game provincial campaign, they would be unlikely to be going for 3 in a row.  No, if you still don't agree with me, would you at least agree that the current system based on provinces is a pile of shite?
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:03:10 PM
the point you're missing is that donegal/derry/fermanagh aren't at monaghan's standard. i know fermanagh beat monaghan but their is no comparison between the teams and its not inconceivable that monaghan are the best team in ulster. why they haven't won at least won 2 ulster championships is down to them rather than the standard up north which i happily concede now is no better than anywhere else. up until this weekend i considered it better than the rest, but it isn't and there isn't any point in saying it is. the standard is mediocre across the board.
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 10:05:20 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 09:58:08 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:40:40 PM
Jeez you lads are fierce touchy, I was simply pointing out that Kerry arrived at the 3rd round of the qualifiers by virtue of beating clare by 15 points, whilst Monaghan had to play Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry to reach this stage, hardly very fair is it?
You constantly stream out this bollox about how tough games can improve a team, indeed they can, to an extent, however by the law of averages you'll lose a fair percentage of tough games, if Kerry had to play teams of Monaghan's standard throughout a 3 game provincial campaign, they would be unlikely to be going for 3 in a row.  No, if you still don't agree with me, would you at least agree that the current system based on provinces is a pile of shite?

Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry? your taking the piss bogball. in the long term the provincial championships should even themselves out
Post by: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 10:11:35 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 10:05:20 PM

Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry? your taking the piss bogball. in the long term the provincial championships should even themselves out
Tbh I rate Derry higher than Monaghan and possibly Donegal too, Monaghan have done as well as can be expected with the players they have, but ultimately they lack class in attack (well it's a bank holiday weekend and a can of worms is very welcome).
I don't understand your point about provincial championships evening themselves out.
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:16:29 PM
you are having a laugh? freeman , woods ,hanratty,finlay all have far more to offer than derry who have paddy bradley and to some extent his brother and that is it. derry are behind monaghan.  if derry got organised than maybe, but until then they are behind.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 10:20:15 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:16:29 PM
you are having a laugh? freeman , woods ,hanratty,finlay all have far more to offer than derry who have paddy bradley and to some extent his brother and that is it. derry are behind monaghan.  if derry got organised than maybe, but until then they are behind.
finlay? hanratty???
Whose having a laugh now?  I know what you mean about derry getting organised, but even as was, a derry team beset by in team fighting and with a litany of injuries should have dumped Monaghan out 2 weeks ago.
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 10:23:43 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 10:11:35 PM
I don't understand your point about provincial championships evening themselves out.

there will be times when ulster football is considered the best, likewise with leinster/munster/conaught
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 10:25:12 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 10:20:15 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:16:29 PM
finlay? hanratty???
Whose having a laugh now?  I know what you mean about derry getting organised, but even as was, a derry team beset by in team fighting and with a litany of injuries should have dumped Monaghan out 2 weeks ago.

paddy bradley is one amazing player
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 10:50:11 PM
Quotehowever by the law of averages you'll lose a fair percentage of tough games,

Look, the only question you have to ask yourself about the modern period is, since the qualifiers started do you honestly think that kerry would have failed to reach the quarter finals if they were in Ulster ? Its purely speculation, I know, but I think we would have, whether through the back door or front door.

And, as for the entire history of the association, think about it this way, if Cavan can amass 40(?) Ulster titles is it so hard to imagine Kerry amassing 60-70 odd Ulster titles ?

Quoteconstantly stream out this bollox

you lads constantly stream out bollox about the quality of your province yet the performance of Down and Fermanagh were, possibly, the two worst performances we have ever seen in the qualifiers. The absolute quality of their football was abysmal. Note my use of "absolute quality" versus their quality relative to other teams in Ulster. There is a big difference as you lads are finding out.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2008, 10:51:16 PM
Entertaining game, although disappointing to lose, we put in a good performance. We lost it at midfield in my opinion - O'Sé cleaned up, but at times he was totally unchallenged.

At the end of the day, we're out, but with a good run after a terrible opening day in Enniskillen. Watching Fermanagh last Sunday and today, it's difficult to understand how we threw that first game, and a real chance at Ulster, away.
Post by: johnpower on August 03, 2008, 11:23:10 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 03, 2008, 10:51:16 PM
Entertaining game, although disappointing to lose, we put in a good performance. We lost it at midfield in my opinion - O'Sé cleaned up, but at times he was totally unchallenged.

At the end of the day, we're out, but with a good run after a terrible opening day in Enniskillen. Watching Fermanagh last Sunday and today, it's difficult to understand how we threw that first game, and a real chance at Ulster, away.

What a day . I have never been as nervous about a game in all my time watching football . Monaghan are some team and Kerry were lucky that we won the midfield battle . The differences between the first and second games was huge . Key players  stood out for kerry today especially at key times .I need to see the vidoe to fully analyise the match but Star ,Dara ,Tommy Walsh really stood out
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 11:28:02 PM
Kerry won this game without all their big names playing well - Gooch looks a pale shadow of the player he was last year. I think an average corner back would mark him at the minute.
Post by: johnpower on August 03, 2008, 11:38:11 PM

Yes we all get thought it at the age of 10 . So sorry you were offended .Maurice looked most upset
Post by: erne bhoy on August 04, 2008, 01:15:40 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 10:50:11 PM
Quotehowever by the law of averages you'll lose a fair percentage of tough games,

Look, the only question you have to ask yourself about the modern period is, since the qualifiers started do you honestly think that kerry would have failed to reach the quarter finals if they were in Ulster ? Its purely speculation, I know, but I think we would have, whether through the back door or front door.

And, as for the entire history of the association, think about it this way, if Cavan can amass 40(?) Ulster titles is it so hard to imagine Kerry amassing 60-70 odd Ulster titles ?

Quoteconstantly stream out this bollox

you lads constantly stream out bollox about the quality of your province yet the performance of Down and Fermanagh were, possibly, the two worst performances we have ever seen in the qualifiers. The absolute quality of their football was abysmal. Note my use of "absolute quality" versus their quality relative to other teams in Ulster. There is a big difference as you lads are finding out.

I would not consider myself an expert on the standard of the southern education system but by any chance have you ever heard of "the troubles". Strange how a team outside the six counties can amass such a huge total and then win diddly squat in the modern era. Cavan have barely been competitive for the majority of the last 10 years but seem to have a provincial trophy list which signils a football aristocracy akin to kerrys. It would be a great experiment to send 750,000 prods, the orange order and the british army down to cork and kerry for about 80 years and see what happens there.

BTW kerry must have the highest percentage of snobbish old farmer looking supporters in the country There were more kerry stereotypes than you could shake a stick at in croker today
Post by: Zulu on August 04, 2008, 01:25:18 AM
I think Cavan won most of their titles before the troubles began so I'm not sure you have much of a point.
Post by: unforgiven on August 04, 2008, 01:30:06 AM
The class and skill of Kerry shone through in the game against a workmanlike Monaghan team.  Thankfully the team with the ability to play a bit of football came through with the result.

Don't think Monaghan are any great shakes (apart from T. Freeman) and I can't see them winning any titles in the near future.  Simply not enough true footballers
Post by: Tyrones own on August 04, 2008, 01:35:49 AM
QuoteYes we all get thought it at the age of 10 . So sorry you were offended .Maurice looked most upset

Eh.... want a try that again there John, somebody buy ye a few too many pints today or what? :P
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 04:38:28 AM
QuoteI would not consider myself an expert on the standard of the southern education system but by any chance have you ever heard of "the troubles". Strange how a team outside the six counties can amass such a huge total and then win diddly squat in the modern era. Cavan have barely been competitive for the majority of the last 10 years but seem to have a provincial trophy list which signils a football aristocracy akin to kerrys. It would be a great experiment to send 750,000 prods, the orange order and the british army down to cork and kerry for about 80 years and see what happens there.

Yes it is very strange isnt it. When you lads can answer why Cavan have 6 AI from ~40 Ulsters then we might listen to ye. Also, are you blaming the troubles for the fact that Fermanagh couldn't score for 25 minutes today ?

QuoteBTW kerry must have the highest percentage of snobbish old farmer looking supporters in the country There were more kerry stereotypes than you could shake a stick at in croker today

Well, I never see enough of Fermanagh folk to know of any "sterotypes" asssociated with them...apart from getting their arses handed to them in Croke park.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 05:01:01 AM
QuoteIt would be a great experiment to send 750,000 prods, the orange order and the british army down to cork and kerry for about 80 years and see what happens there.

As you know, we have produced many footballers that kick with both feet. I'm sure we could work with that 750000 and work something out.

Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 11:26:27 AM
Unfortunately (and I do mean that) Monaghan proved yesterday what I have suspected for some time....they are an average team. They have IMO 3 excellent players in the Freemans (Damien being my pick of the two) and Paul Finlay...outside of that there are just a set of average players. What they do have going for them is their determination, fitness and organisation. these things only get you so far but without the talented players Monaghan will always be also-rans.

Kerry won yesterday without every really getting out of second gear IMO and I think they'll step it up again.

It is unfair however to judge the current quality of Ulster football based on this match. IMO the top teams in Ulster at the minute are Armagh and Derry (I'll explain Derry in a minute) and I think realisitically the only team in Ulster that ever had any chance of pushing for All-Ireland honours thiss year was and is Armagh (though to be honest I think it will be either Kerry or Dublin).
Derry have arguably one of the strongest panels in the country....the problem in Derry is organisation from County board level down to managament level. If Derry can get this right you will see why I think they are one of the top 2 in Ulster. Derry beat an near full strength Kerry team in the NFL final as evidence of my argument (and I know the league is the league and not championship but the players were the same players).

Fermanagh played above themselves and again their organisation could have won them an Ulster, but ultimately they are lacking in talent as with Monaghan. Tyron are in the early days of rebuiling and until they get their forward line sorted I cant see them contending for AI's but they would still be there or thereabouts in Ulster. So the quality teams in Ulster, Armagh, Derry and Tyrone...no an honest question for the Kerry posters (and not meant to be an arrogant question and purely hypothetical)....do you think Kerry would have beaten Armagh/Tyrone/Derry had you been playing them yesterday? the answer to that might be a better indication of the strength of Ulster football.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 11:40:05 AM
kerry were not in second gear yesterday. They are a very good side, but they are not unbeatable this year in comparison to other years . With a bit more savvy Monaghan coulld have won. If Corey had played at 3 , they may well have won. You have to match Donaghy for size before anything else. By playing Cooper at 11 , kerry are really giving teams a chance.because they have no pace in the FF line. The right team like Armagh would make hay under the high ball that kerry religiously pump in all the time. It's so predicatble, but monaghan made the stupid mistake of having 2 defenders that were  a foot smaller than their direct opponents. Crazy stuff.
They also weren't clinical enough. Monaghan don't seem to get any credit from their ulster counterparts. The reality is bar Armagh they are better than all the rest of them. With the right defence and a little bit more of a clinical edge up front they can get damn close in the next few years.
Kerry are a good side as ever, but I think they are more beatable this year. They have problems at the back and Dara is on his own at midfield. but they do and always will have class forwards.
Post by: full back on August 04, 2008, 11:43:33 AM
Kerry proved yesterday that they are a step up from the majority of teams in the country. Cant see any team being able to handle Donaghy.
IMHO the only way to stop Kerry is ensure the ball doesnt go in to him.
Easier said than done when O'Se is doing his job so well. He may not be making as many forward runs - but he is making enough catches, breaks, spoils & in general being a cnut around the middle (no bad thing)
The Gooch had an off day in comparison to his normal performance yet Kerry closed the game out at a canter
It's Kerry's to lose again
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 11:49:22 AM
kerry are still the best team around but not sure its theirs to lose. but they have a nice draw, they will love playing galway because galway will play football with them. and cork can't beat kerry in croke park. so its  a handy run to the final.
Post by: Main Street on August 04, 2008, 11:52:05 AM
Q/F for the winners after a rest of 6 days :o
It would have been a hard ask for Monaghan if they had won.

Quote from: unforgiven on August 04, 2008, 01:30:06 AM
The class and skill of Kerry shone through in the game against a workmanlike Monaghan team.  Thankfully the team with the ability to play a bit of football came through with the result.
Don't think Monaghan are any great shakes (apart from T. Freeman) and I can't see them winning any titles in the near future.  Simply not enough true footballers
Another bitter Derry graceless post which can't get over his beautifull team being beaten twice in a row by a better football team.
Now the bitterness is attempted to be guised by this so called objective analysis.

Post by: full back on August 04, 2008, 11:56:18 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2008, 11:52:05 AM
Q/F for the winners after a rest of 6 days :o

If they wanted a bigger break they should have won their Provincial title ::)
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 11:56:38 AM
I don't think there are many teams better in Ulster than Monaghan - if any. To question if Kerry would have fared worse against a Derry team they'vre beaten twice in 2 years is a bit misguided IMO. Kerry yesterday would have done Derry and Tyrone and to be honest probably Armagh too.

Personally I thought Monaghan tactically made two big mistakes. Tommy Walsh is a big man and needed a big man marking him as stated. Also Darren Hughes should not have been put on at midfield. First ball that came towards him Griffin won and Kerry got a goal. The guy is way too small to be competing in there.

Aside from the 3 players stated Vinny Corey is also an excellent player and Woods is no slouch. Hanratty is a bit raw but could be excellent too. Eoin Lennon can hold his own too. McArdle sollid at the back too and McQuaid isn't bad.

Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 11:56:56 AM
When derry played Kerry in the league final donaghy was marked by Nial McCusker, a good foot shorter than Donaghy. Kerry used the same tactics and Donaghy didnt score from play (I think). So I dont necessarily agree with the idea that he is unmarkable. Again only the league but is showed you dont need a 6'5" player to mark him.

I dont agree that Monaghan are better than all in Ulster bar Armagh...but se'll just have to disagree on that one. I personally cant see Monaghan, Fermanagh, Down (all on a par IMO), Cavan, Antrim winning Ulster with the current players they posess....I could see any of Armagh/Tyrone/Derry and to a lesser extent Donegal winning an ulster in the near future...with the implication that only Armagh/Tyron/Derry would be serious contenders outisde of Ulster in the coming years.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 11:57:50 AM
i agree , i can't understand the negativity towards monaghan here, in the last 2 years only 3 teams have beaten or got close to kerry in the championship. cork,dublin and monaghan.  
and lads forget league, this is championship, kerry don't train for the league.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 12:14:56 PM
I would agree with regards to current players and capabilities to win ulster brick.

However in current state Derry , as proven, are not in a fit state to win Ulster.

Niall McCusker is well suited to mark Donaghy. Not many physically could better him. Not many teams have a FB like that though. Francie v Donaghy would make interesting viewing. Dublin haven't a FB capable of it.

Monaghan are a very good team. I've a funny feeling Dublin and Kerry and just a step ahead of the rest. Where Armagh are currently at - time will tell. Them and Monaghan would be a good close game IMO.

I've a funny feeling Monaghan are a wee bit short tactically and while Banty has done a good job if you had a scenario like Kernan / Harte coming into the Armagh / Tyrone setups if they had someone to give them that extra edge they could win ulster and seriously challenge for sam.
Post by: magickingdom on August 04, 2008, 12:44:40 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 11:49:22 AM
kerry are still the best team around but not sure its theirs to lose. but they have a nice draw, they will love playing galway because galway will play football with them. and cork can't beat kerry in croke park. so its  a handy run to the final.

oh here we go again, its all luck is it?

Quote from: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 11:56:56 AM
When derry played Kerry in the league final donaghy was marked by Nial McCusker, a good foot shorter than Donaghy. Kerry used the same tactics and Donaghy didnt score from play (I think). So I dont necessarily agree with the idea that he is unmarkable. Again only the league but is showed you dont need a 6'5" player to mark him.

I dont agree that Monaghan are better than all in Ulster bar Armagh...but se'll just have to disagree on that one. I personally cant see Monaghan, Fermanagh, Down (all on a par IMO), Cavan, Antrim winning Ulster with the current players they posess....I could see any of Armagh/Tyrone/Derry and to a lesser extent Donegal winning an ulster in the near future...with the implication that only Armagh/Tyron/Derry would be serious contenders outisde of Ulster in the coming years.

think golf and the majors, the league final was forgotton about at 5pm that sunday

Quote from: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 11:26:27 AM
Unfortunately (and I do mean that) Monaghan proved yesterday what I have suspected for some time....they are an average team. They have IMO 3 excellent players in the Freemans (Damien being my pick of the two) and Paul Finlay...outside of that there are just a set of average players. What they do have going for them is their determination, fitness and organisation. these things only get you so far but without the talented players Monaghan will always be also-rans.

imo monaghan are one of the top 5 teams in the country well capable of winning an all ireland if the chips fall right. i know most kerry fans feared them yesterday
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2008, 01:12:58 PM
It really is sour grapes, and a great disservice to both Monaghan and Kerry to suggest that Kerry never moved out of second gear yesterday. It was a hard fought game and both teams gave it loads in what was a close contest to the end.

And as for the Freemans and Finlay being the only above average players - i'd like to add McQuaid, Woods and D Mone that list, and give it another few years and i could see Hanratty and McManus stepping up to the next level.

Yes, you can write off Monaghan if you want, and you could have said that 2007 was a fluke, but Monaghan beat Down, Derry and Donegal in the 2007 Championship and really should have taken Tyrone in the Ulster Final. Again this year, after a blip against Fermanagh, Monaghan beat Derry and Donegal again - no fluke. Monaghan should be aiming for an Ulster title next year and it is well within their ability.

2008 was a good year for Monaghan. We arguably got the toughest route of any team in the qualifiers (take Kildare - Cavan, Limerick and Fermanagh as a comparison - no offence to Kildare), but that's the way you want it to be. Roll on 2009 and a big thanks to Banty and all the lads for another good summer.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 04, 2008, 02:11:32 PM
I know I started most of this, but it wasn't meant to pan out this way, imo Kerry didn't play particularly well yesterday and I think other teams with a bit more to offer up front would have beaten them.  I think the winning of the match was the unbelievable bench that Kerry have, there was some quality on there as opposed to the Monaghan bench.  I have the greatest respect for Kerry football and think their dominance is largely to do with the superb club scene they have (although this doesn't manifest itself in terms of All Ireland clubs, but they're not particularly bothered by that), the current side has many players the equal of any of the immortals of the 70's/80's and is undoubtedly far and away the best team of this millenium, but, I don't think they get tested enough and i want to see good football games, their games with Monaghan and Dublin last year and Monaghan again this year are the challenges I want to see being put down to them, my point was that if this happened them regularly, i feel they would lose a few of those games, but so what, it'd be so much better for football.
Monaghan are most probably in the top eight in the country, and my point was that there is little between them and probably 4 other Ulster teams, I don't think that any of Donegal, Derry, Armagh or maybe Tyrone would have put up a worse performance yesterday. 
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 02:53:45 PM
thats the best kerry ve played all year mate, you're floundering at this stage mate. might be best to quit . Monaghan are a top 5 team, and last year was no flash in the pan. That appears to annoy a lot of people in Ulster , but thats the reality. the rest is just sour grapes.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 04, 2008, 03:13:35 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 02:53:45 PM
thats the best kerry ve played all year mate, you're floundering at this stage mate. might be best to quit . Monaghan are a top 5 team, and last year was no flash in the pan. That appears to annoy a lot of people in Ulster , but thats the reality. the rest is just sour grapes.
It may be the best Kerry have played all year, but it was still a below par performance from them, very possibly they're really on the way out this time, we had already seen them ship bad defeats in 2 of their last 3 competitive games, so who knows, but Galway certainly should not be without hope next weekend.
I think Monaghan have a terrific manager who has got the most out of a solid, but ultimately limited squad of players.  I don't think they're top 5, but you're welcome to your opinion, if they're really top 5 though it says a lot for the overall strength of ulster football ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 03:17:33 PM
In all honesty though, and this is not a dig, I do think this post shows up that Derry supporters seem to perceive themselves to be a lot better than they really are. You seem to be of the opinion that Derry would have gave Kerry a game. I find that hard to believe.

Also I do believe that a lack-lustre, but talented, Donegal team would have been demolished by Kerry.
Post by: loughshore lad on August 04, 2008, 04:12:23 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 03:17:33 PM
In all honesty though, and this is not a dig, I do think this post shows up that Derry supporters seem to perceive themselves to be a lot better than they really are. You seem to be of the opinion that Derry would have gave Kerry a game. I find that hard to believe.

You hit the nail right on the head there tommygun.  How many times are Derry posters on this board going to trundle out the usual crap - we have one of the best squads in the country, a number of the best players in the country etc etc.  Face reality lads yous are no where near as good as you think you are, too many players have neither the stomach for the battle or that wee bit extra quality that sets aside the good intercounty footballers from the rest.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 04:17:35 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 04, 2008, 12:44:40 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 11:49:22 AM

oh here we go again, its all luck is it?

Quote from: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 11:56:56 AM

think golf and the majors, the league final was forgotton about at 5pm that sunday

Quote from: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 11:26:27 AM

imo monaghan are one of the top 5 teams in the country well capable of winning an all ireland if the chips fall right. i know most kerry fans feared them yesterday

Accroding to Donaghy after the match yesterady the defeat against Derry hurt them a lot...doesnt sound like he's forgotten about it anyway.
Of course you are entitled to your opinion, but in no way do I see monaghan a top 5 team....Kerry, Dublin, Galway, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone all better teams than Monaghan IMO.
As for Derry giving Kerry a better game, I honestly dont know....as I've said there are serious problems in Derry from County board level down to management level and unless these are sorted out Derry will not achieve as much as they should....whereas it seems the likes of Monaghan and Fermanagh have very good county board support and a good management set up. What I have been attempting to say is that Derry have better players than Monaghan/Fermanagh, but Monaghan/Fermanagh have the better set-up, so Derry are restricted by their county board and management whereas Monaghan/Fermanagh are restricted by their lack of quality players.

I still maintain Kerry were only in 2nd gear yesterday....missed a penalty and quite a few scores you would normally see them taking....I thought thery were at least 6 points the better team.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2008, 04:29:47 PM
I think Monaghan need to win a few ulster championships to shut a few people up. I've never seen such begrudgery. I thought they were shite against us in the league, but they are a different side in Croker and good to watch. They have a lot of players at the right age, something a lot of people from Ulster have missed and with the right direction and a bit of fine tuning could have a serious tilt at an -ireland in the next couple of seasons. But they need to target an ulster championship and stop leaving themselves minefields in the qualifiers.Ask Pat o shea in the 53rd minute yesterday whetehr he felt they were 6 points a better team. monghan missed 4 good scoring chances in the first half and finlay missed a couple of frees he'd normally expect to get.
Had Hanratty scored the goal or squared it to woods, things could have been very interesting.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 04:59:40 PM
Brick Derry have played Monaghan in the championship the last two years running.

Monaghan have won both games.

How you perceive Derry to be better than Monaghan having been beat twice in two years I don't know.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 05:05:59 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 04:59:40 PM
Brick Derry have played Monaghan in the championship the last two years running.

Monaghan have won both games.

How you perceive Derry to be better than Monaghan having been beat twice in two years I don't know.

Regardless of these results Derry have better players. The problem in Derry is that the county board tied the hands of an already limited manager....I could go into a hundred and one things that happened within the derry setup between the fermanagh and monaghan game but on hear is not the place. If I was to pick a team from both sets of players I reckon I would only have 3-4 monaghan players starting above Derry players and I dont think there'd be too many people out there who would argue with that.
Post by: Bensars on August 04, 2008, 05:19:21 PM
Theres your answer.

Derry depend on individuals  whilst monaghan have a much better all round team ethos IMHO.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 05:20:19 PM
In all honesty I think you're way off the mark there.

Dessie Mone, Lennon, Woods, McQuaid, two Freemans, Woods, who's to say about the keeper.I'd have Gollogly on in front of your wing forwards, Hanratty to challenge etc.. You have two top players in Doherty and Bradley - the rest are very over-rated.

If you boys get a good manager in and you don't do anything I don't know where you're going to go...

Anyway Monaghan are a good team. Two people on here haven't given them the credit they deserve. Both Derry people.

Kerry, Armagh, Dublin and maybe Cork are IMO the only teams better than Monaghan.(Not Galway, Tyrone or Mayo) That's an objective viewpoint too as I would prefer to see Derry winning things.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on August 04, 2008, 05:51:58 PM
Good game overall yesterday, slow first half and a good second half. Better game than last year I feel.
Monaghan gave us one hell of a test physically and hopefully this will bring us on.
Darragh looked in the best shape of the summer yesterday and it was great to see him take control when it was in the melting pot - vintage Darragh.
The full back line was run ragged, Reidy and Marc in trouble all day while Tom didn't fare that well either.
Half back were good, Killian Young looking like the young player of the year again, Tomas is Tomas and I though Mahony came back well from the nasty leg injury early on.
That said Woods won their battle, I must say really impressed by Woods,he doesn't look fit but what a player.
The twin tower approach won ball all day, conversion rate must be upped the next day as we didn't score enough for the possession we had.
We need to get Gooch more involved. The good news is that we are still hanging around for another week at least.........
Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 06:04:11 PM
Quote from: Bensars on August 04, 2008, 05:19:21 PM
Theres your answer.

Derry depend on individuals  whilst monaghan have a much better all round team ethos IMHO.

You make it sound like the Derry players deliberately set out to play as individuals and not as a team....this simply is not the case.
Any team that plays like a team...i.e. Armagh, Monaghan, Tyrone, Kerry, play that way as it is the way they have been coached to play. Derry have not had that luxury....they dont have a game plan and yet in the past few years have beaten some of the biggest names in chamionship football by pure individual talent alone. this is not the fauld of players. I dont think there are many teams out there that could have won some the matches that Derry did win without a gameplan.
I wouldnt say that Monaghan have a better all round team ethos, I would say that they are better managed and prepared.

I stick to it, Derry have better players.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 06:11:02 PM
When have they beaten some of the biggest names in championship football in the last few years - league aside?

You beat Tyrone the other year by a gameplan by the way so I wouldn't count that. 15 behind the ball but gameplan none the less.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 06:12:32 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 05:20:19 PM
In all honesty I think you're way off the mark there.

Dessie Mone, Lennon, Woods, McQuaid, two Freemans, Woods, who's to say about the keeper.I'd have Gollogly on in front of your wing forwards, Hanratty to challenge etc.. You have two top players in Doherty and Bradley - the rest are very over-rated.

If you boys get a good manager in and you don't do anything I don't know where you're going to go...

Anyway Monaghan are a good team. Two people on here haven't given them the credit they deserve. Both Derry people.

Kerry, Armagh, Dublin and maybe Cork are IMO the only teams better than Monaghan.(Not Galway, Tyrone or Mayo) That's an objective viewpoint too as I would prefer to see Derry winning things.

Yes sorry, I forgot about McQuaid, but not any of the others.
Look, I dont begrudge Monaghan some success, I'd rather see them win than the likes of Tyron or Armagh but in the same way I would have liked to see Fermanagh win the Ulster after beating us. And when I say I dont see them winning anything that is not meant as a dig or that I dont want them to win (after us that is), I just dont think they have the players....was it the fermanagh gaem Woods was taken off then put back on? Any team that resorts to doing that surely has a weak bench.
I think we'll just have to agree to disagree on the top 5 thing but I stick by what I said.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 06:14:49 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 06:11:02 PM
When have they beaten some of the biggest names in championship football in the last few years - league aside?

You beat Tyrone the other year by a gameplan by the way so I wouldn't count that. 15 behind the ball but gameplan none the less.

Last year....Mayo, Armagh, Laois....all championship matches. All 3 have either won provincials or all-irelands or appeared in all-ireland finals in the last few years, so they are some of the biggest names in championship football.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 06:18:37 PM
Sorry I did forget about Armagh.

Personally I wouldn't count Mayo as some of the best talent in championship football. Definitely not under O'Mahoney.

Laois got beat by Down this year which based on Down's subsequent performance doesn't say much for Laois either.
Post by: johnpower on August 04, 2008, 06:25:44 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 04, 2008, 01:35:49 AM
QuoteYes we all get thought it at the age of 10 . So sorry you were offended .Maurice looked most upset

Eh.... want a try that again there John, somebody buy ye a few too many pints today or what? :P

No i had no points but am concerned that you are upset that a kerry player questioned a decission
Post by: Tyrones own on August 04, 2008, 06:39:13 PM
Quotequestioned a decission

Surely that's a bit of an understatement by any mans standards John?
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2008, 06:42:16 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 06:12:32 PM
....was it the fermanagh gaem Woods was taken off then put back on? Any team that resorts to doing that surely has a weak bench.
Did Walsh not go off and come back on yesterday? Do Kerry therefore have a weak bench?
(btw, i didn't agree with Woods coming back on in the Fermanagh game)
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2008, 06:45:03 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2008, 03:17:33 PM

Also I do believe that a lack-lustre, but talented, Donegal team would have been demolished by Kerry.

We would have given it a right go, but I think sooner or later Donaghy would have wreaked enough havoc on the edge of the square to let Kerry in for a couple of goals. I couldn't see us finishing within 4 or 5 points of them, to be honest.
Post by: johnpower on August 04, 2008, 06:46:12 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 04, 2008, 06:39:13 PM
Quotequestioned a decission

Surely that's a bit of an understatement by any mans standards John?

My point is that Maurice Deegan allowed him to complain and just got on with it .What do want ? players to ape rugby and call the ref sir . If the ref had an issue he would have warned him .
Post by: johnpower on August 04, 2008, 06:48:12 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 04, 2008, 06:42:16 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 04, 2008, 06:12:32 PM
....was it the fermanagh gaem Woods was taken off then put back on? Any team that resorts to doing that surely has a weak bench.
Did Walsh not go off and come back on yesterday? Do Kerry therefore have a weak bench?
(btw, i didn't agree with Woods coming back on in the Fermanagh game)

Walsh did come back on but time was up . The kerry bench did well yesterday but I am not convinced it is as strong as some people make out .
Post by: Main Street on August 04, 2008, 07:41:29 PM
Didn't Walsh just come back on for Donaghy?

Banty says he is going off for a holiday to muse over future.

'After four years of "giving everything" McEnaney said he would take time before deciding if he would make himself available to continue.'

"I've given this job four years of my life. I have a young family and I have a lots of businesses in Monaghan. I'll take two weeks and go away with the family and I'll decide in five or six weeks."

However Colm Keyes thinks
'McEnaney is bound to return however and continue the pursuit of silverware, particularly a much coveted Ulster title.'

This 2nd gear Kerry jibe is a joke of an opinion.
I would put the Monaghan performance into another perspective.
I think we all witnessed a supreme football character performance from Kerry. One that no other team has sustained in this Championship over the 70 minutes against an opposition that did not lie down.

Post by: johnpower on August 04, 2008, 08:10:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2008, 07:41:29 PM
Didn't Walsh just come back on for Donaghy?

Banty says he is going off for a holiday to muse over future.

'After four years of "giving everything" McEnaney said he would take time before deciding if he would make himself available to continue.'

"I've given this job four years of my life. I have a young family and I have a lots of businesses in Monaghan. I'll take two weeks and go away with the family and I'll decide in five or six weeks."

However Colm Keyes thinks
'McEnaney is bound to return however and continue the pursuit of silverware, particularly a much coveted Ulster title.'

This 2nd gear Kerry jibe is a joke of an opinion.
I would put the Monaghan performance into another perspective.
I think we all witnessed a supreme football character performance from Kerry. One that no other team has sustained in this Championship over the 70 minutes against an opposition that did not lie down.

Definitely not second gear . Lucky to get through .Monaghan have quality players  . I thought the game was played at full championship pace . For me the key was the Goal while well taken had a bit of good fortune as Eoin Brosnan nearly lost possession .

Post by: comethekingdom on August 04, 2008, 08:47:18 PM
Have to say I was very pleased with the Kerry performance. Great preparation work done. 1st half was a dog fight but it was great to see Dara on form again. Clerkin was really bouncing off him and should have accecpted Daras request for a handshake at one stage when the ref was throwing the ball in! ;) ;)
People must give credit to Monaghan for theit work rate and intensty and I do believe they have let 2 ulster titles slip by this year and last yr. However this carry on about ulster being terribly competitive is rubbish - Only 2 teams - Armagh and Tyrone have won the last 10 ulster titles and 3 all irelands between them altogether! Leinster and connaught  have had more provincal winners each.
Hope we can put Galway away next weekend in a match that will not be as physical as yesterdays but its good to see that the hunger is still there.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 04, 2008, 10:49:42 PM
For a short while yesterday, Monaghan looked like they could deliver the knockout to Kerry. When they drew level with Kerry in the second half, there was a hint that Kerry were in bother. They were an element of desperation in the Kerry tackling; hauling back and dragging down and the Kerry back line was starting to creak.
Once Hanratty missed the goal chance and Kerry went up the other end of the field and scored, the danger had passed and Kerry managed to put a bit of daylight between the sides.

A few basic things Monaghan didn't do. Marking for kickouts, sidelines and frees. Kerry took a few short kickouts and worked the ball upfield too easily. Monaghan won a lot of the early kickouts that went to midfield. It wasn't until later in the game that Darragh O'Sé came into it. Too often after a Monaghan score, they allowed Kerry to instantly come down the field and reply.

Monaghan also didn't do enough to crowd the middle of their defence.
A lot of Kerry scores came from managing to break one tackle around the 45 and having empty space behind it to exploit.
The ball was too easily transferred between their attackers in the Monaghan half.

Monaghan did have the right approach, match Kerry's physicality, rattle them hard and see how they handle it. They didn't get the whirlwind start of last year, but they may have had a better chance of winning by getting the run on Kerry in the second half as they almost did yesterday. McEneaney did a good job in getting the players prepared again for this year. A lot of counties lose momentum after one vintage campaign. If he stays on next year, he could well bring them on further. It all depends on the players and how hungry they are.

Kerry have a few things to sort out.
Their defence wasn't all that great. They did a lot of dragging back and holding that wasn't spotted by the ref.
In a second half that had a lot of stoppages and substitutions, Monaghan still scored 10 points.
When Monaghan did get any decent possession, they looked like they could open up the Kerry defence.

Galway won't be as physical the next day, but they do have seriously skilful forwards. A good supply of ball to them and a stringent ref could see Kerry conceding a fair amount of scores.
Post by: johnpower on August 04, 2008, 11:25:28 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 04, 2008, 10:49:42 PM
For a short while yesterday, Monaghan looked like they could deliver the knockout to Kerry. When they drew level with Kerry in the second half, there was a hint that Kerry were in bother. They were an element of desperation in the Kerry tackling; hauling back and dragging down and the Kerry back line was starting to creak.
Once Hanratty missed the goal chance and Kerry went up the other end of the field and scored, the danger had passed and Kerry managed to put a bit of daylight between the sides.

A few basic things Monaghan didn't do. Marking for kickouts, sidelines and frees. Kerry took a few short kickouts and worked the ball upfield too easily. Monaghan won a lot of the early kickouts that went to midfield. It wasn't until later in the game that Darragh O'Sé came into it. Too often after a Monaghan score, they allowed Kerry to instantly come down the field and reply.

Monaghan also didn't do enough to crowd the middle of their defence.
A lot of Kerry scores came from managing to break one tackle around the 45 and having empty space behind it to exploit.
The ball was too easily transferred between their attackers in the Monaghan half.

Monaghan did have the right approach, match Kerry's physicality, rattle them hard and see how they handle it. They didn't get the whirlwind start of last year, but they may have had a better chance of winning by getting the run on Kerry in the second half as they almost did yesterday. McEneaney did a good job in getting the players prepared again for this year. A lot of counties lose momentum after one vintage campaign. If he stays on next year, he could well bring them on further. It all depends on the players and how hungry they are.

Kerry have a few things to sort out.
Their defence wasn't all that great. They did a lot of dragging back and holding that wasn't spotted by the ref.
In a second half that had a lot of stoppages and substitutions, Monaghan still scored 10 points.
When Monaghan did get any decent possession, they looked like they could open up the Kerry defence.

Galway won't be as physical the next day, but they do have seriously skilful forwards. A good supply of ball to them and a stringent ref could see Kerry conceding a fair amount of scores.

Good analysis .Now that I have seen it again .Kerrys defence will have to improve . Hard to know how Galway are shaping up .I am not taking this one for granted
Post by: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 07:35:23 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 04, 2008, 08:47:18 PM
Have to say I was very pleased with the Kerry performance. Great preparation work done. 1st half was a dog fight but it was great to see Dara on form again. Clerkin was really bouncing off him and should have accecpted Daras request for a handshake at one stage when the ref was throwing the ball in! ;) ;)

Yes, second game in a row for O'Sé's handshake. How very genuine and sporting of him.  ::)
Post by: donelli on August 05, 2008, 10:35:24 AM
Very dissapointed with the outcome of the game. Heartbreak against kerry in croker ....again.

No gripes about the victory, but did anyone else think that some of the kerry handpassing were fouls??
the donaghy fisted point in the 2nd half, the pass that led to the penalty are two that stick in my mind (havn't seen any of the action on tv yet). There were a number of others were the balls looked to be thrown as opposed to correctely handpassed.

The hanratty miss was the losing of the game for monaghan. I thought he was right to go for it. the day earlier in Croker, mortimer choose to take a point when a goal was on which probably would have given mayo victory. when the opportunity is there, you take your chance. Goals wins matches, which was what donaghys effectively done.

Our shooting in the 1st half was disappointing. I think we had about 7 wides (from 5 men), where most chances were scorable.

An ulster title was the one that got away for Monaghan this year. I hope Monaghan can re-group next year and deliver an anglo celt for the first time in 21 years. Given the effort and summers they have given the supporters in the last few years, they would deserve it.
Post by: rrhf on August 05, 2008, 10:41:48 AM
After the teams were drawn level Rory Woods was denied a 14 yard free after being pulled down.  Just after the goal chance came.  Had Monaghan been a point up surely the cub would have taken his point to put Monaghan 2 up.  Donaghy had as much of a goal chance at the far end when he boxed it over the bar.  Experience eh.  Monaghan emptied the tanks, left no stone unturned but again came up short.  I dont think theres an all Ireland in them, and would expect that their high expectations might break up their management team after an amazing couple of years.   
Post by: Hollow Man on August 05, 2008, 11:07:56 AM
QuoteOnly 2 teams - Armagh and Tyrone have won the last 10 ulster titles and 3 all irelands between them altogether! Leinster and connaught  have had more provincal winners each.

True, but you have to remember that in the same period

- Donegal, Derry and Fermanagh have reached All Ireland semi-finals
- Armagh and Tyrone have won three All Irelands between them
- Donegal, Armagh and Derry have won the NFL
- Cavan reached the NFL Division One final
- Monaghan reached the All Ireland quarter-final and ran the eventual winners to a point

You won't see that sort of depth in Connacht (Leitrim are terrible, Sligo just lost to London, Roscommon are bottom three in the country on form and Londonand New York are pathetic) or Leinster (only two counties more then Ulster enter, yet their championship includes no-hopers like Offaly, Carlow, Wicklow and Louth, while the top teams are noweher near the level of Armagh or Tyrone).

I know Louth drew with Tyrone but we all know they are not half the team.
Post by: thebandit on August 05, 2008, 11:37:11 AM
If only......

Still not ready to talk about it!!!
Post by: bingobus on August 05, 2008, 11:45:24 AM
Disappointing to say the least but its more disappointing not to have an Ulster in the pocket after seeing that display and comparing it to the Fermanagh game.

No point going into depth, as its all been said. Main points:

- We still need a second midfielder.
- Our bench is a major weakness and needs to be addressed in the NFL
- That missed chance proved very costly
- Kerry had that bit extra and got scores when they needed them.

Donaghy had a great second half and is hard to handle. On that form he will be hard to stop and if Cooper can find some form, then they'll be hard to beat. As like last year, you imagine that the physical nature of the game will bring them on but they need to strengthen midfield and the full-back line.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 05, 2008, 12:14:47 PM
Actually why was there only 4 minutes extra time in this game, the injury near the end was nearly a five minute stoppage, I actually timed it. By my calculations there should have been at least 8 minutes.
Post by: Main Street on August 05, 2008, 12:28:40 PM
If you count the  bould Daragh O'Se hitting the ground in "agony" or was he laughing his head off, should have been 10 minutes.

There must be some psychological hangover thing since the GAA added the extra 10 minutes of play to games, the idea that that takes care of most of the stoppages.

Post by: Bogball XV on August 05, 2008, 01:26:54 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 05, 2008, 12:14:47 PM
Actually why was there only 4 minutes extra time in this game, the injury near the end was nearly a five minute stoppage, I actually timed it. By my calculations there should have been at least 8 minutes.
At the start of tv3's coverage they were doing a 'ball in play' stat, they were regularly coming up with 32/33 mins come the end of the game.  Overall though injury time is a joke, in hurling it's normally 2 minutes, no matter what has happened, in football 3 mins.  Then they rarely add on extra for the time wasted between 68 and 73mins, when normally the ball is in play for max a minute.  The Tyrone v Mayo game was terrible for this, Tyrone and Kerry both wasted the injury time very efficiently.
The best solution would be taking the time out of the referee's hands of course, but will they do that? 
Quote from: donelli on August 05, 2008, 10:35:24 AM

The hanratty miss was the losing of the game for monaghan. I thought he was right to go for it. the day earlier in Croker, mortimer choose to take a point when a goal was on which probably would have given mayo victory. when the opportunity is there, you take your chance. Goals wins matches, which was what donaghys effectively done.

Mortimer had a relatively easy goal chance, Hanratty's was very difficult, the point would have been a far better option, as rhhf pointed out Woods was denied what seemed to be a certain free minutes before that, either of those events taking place could easily have turned that game around.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 01:28:14 PM
Quote from: bingobus on August 05, 2008, 11:45:24 AM

- Our bench is a major weakness and needs to be addressed in the NFL

Agreed. A bit oversight by management in this year's league not to experiment. B McKenna should be given some time in midfield during the league to see how he measures up. What about Duffy, Smyth or Ronaghan? We need more options for next year.
Post by: Armamike on August 05, 2008, 05:12:29 PM
Quote from: full back on August 04, 2008, 11:43:33 AM
Kerry proved yesterday that they are a step up from the majority of teams in the country. Cant see any team being able to handle Donaghy.
IMHO the only way to stop Kerry is ensure the ball doesnt go in to him.
Easier said than done when O'Se is doing his job so well. He may not be making as many forward runs - but he is making enough catches, breaks, spoils & in general being a cnut around the middle (no bad thing)
The Gooch had an off day in comparison to his normal performance yet Kerry closed the game out at a canter
It's Kerry's to lose again

Agree totally. It's hard to imagine any team being able to handle Donaghy with any decent amount of ball going into him. The hoor's just too big and useful on the ball!  Kerry teams will always concede a few scores at the back but they can pretty much outscore most, with the overall quality from midfield onwards. Any team looking to beat Kerry will have to outfield O'Se for pretty much 70 mins or crowd them out around the middle, and not let them get any decent ball in.  You have to admire Dara O'Se and Kerry - he gets his hands on the ball at key stages in the match and Kerry in general get the big scores at the right time - they know when to sprint for the finishing line.  They went for the jugular against Monaghan around the 50-55 minute mark and the game was basically over with 10 minutes remaining. 
Post by: charlie linkbox on August 05, 2008, 05:41:50 PM
On a separate issue.......

I'd just like to say how disgusted I was with the Monaghan "fans" on the Hill. They were nothing short of an embarrassment and a disgrace. And I'm from Monaghan.

They arrived in full to the throat singing "I hope you die in your sleep Colm Cooper", "you can shove your f**king Kingdom up your ass", and such like. One fat ba$tard was hardly in the gate before he was sticking his two fingers in some Kerry lads' faces and roaring at them to f*ck off. Another wee sh!t stole yer man's John 3:7 sign and legged it up the Hill. In fairness to them, a couple of Kerry lads went after him and got it back.

If I was in charge of the whole thing I'd round up them louts and cull every single one of them. It would be society's gain.

I suppose the silver lining to Sunday's defeat is that it'll be at least 12 months before we see any of them at a Monaghan match again. No fear of them annoying me at a McKenna Cup match next January.

I also have to say I won't be criticizing Dublin's bandwagon jumpers again after last Sunday. It turns out we have w@nkers just as bad.

Rant over.  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: comethekingdom on August 05, 2008, 09:11:26 PM
Quote from: charlie linkbox on August 05, 2008, 05:41:50 PM
On a separate issue…….

I’d just like to say how disgusted I was with the Monaghan “fans” on the Hill. They were nothing short of an embarrassment and a disgrace. And I’m from Monaghan.

They arrived in full to the throat singing “I hope you die in your sleep Colm Cooper”, “you can shove your f**king Kingdom up your ass”, and such like. One fat ba$tard was hardly in the gate before he was sticking his two fingers in some Kerry lads’ faces and roaring at them to f*ck off. Another wee sh!t stole yer man’s John 3:7 sign and legged it up the Hill. In fairness to them, a couple of Kerry lads went after him and got it back.

If I was in charge of the whole thing I’d round up them louts and cull every single one of them. It would be society’s gain.

I suppose the silver lining to Sunday’s defeat is that it’ll be at least 12 months before we see any of them at a Monaghan match again. No fear of them annoying me at a McKenna Cup match next January.

I also have to say I won’t be criticizing Dublin’s bandwagon jumpers again after last Sunday. It turns out we have w@nkers just as bad.

Rant over.  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Have to say I have seen an awful lot of bad manners from some of the Ulster teams fans in croker and its environs over the years - very sad to see that a handful of Monaghan clowns have let their great county down and joined them.
Post by: Yes I Would on August 05, 2008, 09:18:46 PM

Have to say I have seen an awful lot of bad manners from some of the Ulster teams fans in croker and its environs over the years - very sad to see that a handful of Monaghan clowns have let their great county down and joined them.

Where were the stewards?? Dont think its fair to classify some of these shitheads as fans. Its just an excuse for them to get lamped on booze and just cause a general annoyance for anyone that is near their vicinity.  They arent really there for the football.
Post by: haranguerer on August 05, 2008, 10:07:22 PM
Lad from Monaghan told me that there was some vote (after last years run) on who had the worst fans. Monaghan won it apparently. Dunno what the vote is/was (can anyone enlighten me?) but much weight was added to his claim by the fact he seemed proud of it.

And comethekingdom, can I assume so that you haven't had the pleasure of meeting fermangh fans there yet?  :P