GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: orangeman on June 29, 2015, 08:49:50 AM

Title: Tyrone v Meath round 2 qualifiers 11th July 2015
Post by: orangeman on June 29, 2015, 08:49:50 AM
This has to be a 100 pager ! No less. Make it up if you have to.  ;)
Title: Re: Tyrone v Meath round 2 qualifiers 11th July 2015
Post by: sensethetone on June 29, 2015, 08:55:37 AM
Is this to be played in Omagh?
Post by: Under Lights on June 29, 2015, 08:57:39 AM
Is the 11th confirmed?
Post by: topcuppla on June 29, 2015, 09:00:11 AM
All-Ireland SFC Round 2B Qualifiers
Saturday, July 11
(first team has home advantage)
Derry v Wexford
Tyrone v Meath
Tipperary v Louth
Armagh v Galway
Confirmation of home venues, times and all dates for the fixtures will be confirmed by CCCC in due course
Post by: topcuppla on June 29, 2015, 09:02:29 AM
Sorry that is gaa.ie
Post by: Rois on June 29, 2015, 09:08:13 AM
Jeez the southerners will have to travel to the north on the 11th night...
Post by: TheGateKeeper on June 29, 2015, 09:17:30 AM
Tyrone v Meath

More Karmic retribution on the way for the Boyne dwellers!

Post by: Hereiam on June 29, 2015, 09:19:37 AM
This is a tough draw for Tyrone. The will need to up the performance to deal with Meath. Cant wait for it.
Post by: JoG2 on June 29, 2015, 09:20:20 AM
Another home draw for Tyrone...steeped in it !
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 29, 2015, 09:21:04 AM
Jeez, it doesn't get any easier for Meath.

First, beaten by Meath then up to Omagh to meet Tyrone & then a trip home through the heartlands of Ulster on 11th night.

The perfect storm.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 29, 2015, 09:22:39 AM
This draw will focus the minds big time for both teams. Question is has Meath's collapse yesterday psychologically destroyed them or will that be the kick up the arse to ignite a backlash?
Post by: TheGateKeeper on June 29, 2015, 09:37:53 AM
Tyrone did not play exceptionally well yesterday, but still managed to win by 9 points; expect them to raise their game considerably for this one. Nothing like the sight of those h@@rs in green to get the bull up in a Tyrone man!   ;)
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 09:39:49 AM
Wallace and McMahon are the 2 best footballers in the world. Meath by 8.

What do ye call that boy who did Canavan?
Post by: twohands!!! on June 29, 2015, 09:43:20 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 29, 2015, 09:22:39 AM
This draw will focus the minds big time for both teams. Question is has Meath's collapse yesterday psychologically destroyed them or will that be the kick up the arse to ignite a backlash?

I would be very surprised if Tyrone don't get through this - I doubt it will be all that convincing a win by Tyrone but I expect them to just slowly inexorably put Meath away over the 70 minutes.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 09:43:29 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 09:39:49 AM

Peter
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 29, 2015, 09:48:10 AM
Hard to see past a Tyrone win here.
Post by: TheGateKeeper on June 29, 2015, 09:48:35 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 09:39:49 AM

Which one?!     :D

Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 10:19:17 AM
So Mead are responsible for everything (sledging/blankets/pukes):

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/how-meath-taught-tyrone-the-hard-way-to-win-sam-26308686.html
Post by: TheGateKeeper on June 29, 2015, 10:32:37 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 10:19:17 AM
So Mead are responsible for everything (sledging/blankets/pukes):

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/how-meath-taught-tyrone-the-hard-way-to-win-sam-26308686.html

Tyrone learned a lot that day; thanks Meath. 

Not much noise coming from the Boyne valley today! 
Post by: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 10:40:39 AM
On page 2 already.

With all the anti Tyrone chat from Meath assholes on here I'm delighted with this draw though would have nearly preferred it in Navan but there will be some atmosphere in Omagh for this one. A big step up from yesterdays damp squib.

The amount of sh*te talked about us being British and the Queen we'll now see how many of them will have the balls to come to Omagh on the 11th night for some of this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VO0dnkYlL-g (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VO0dnkYlL-g)

Was McCurry injured yesterday or just taken off as Bradley looked very sharp. Even that catch he took in his own left corner back position and showed great composure to calmly pass it out. Am really looking forward to seeing much more of him this summer, should Meath not WALK all over us.

Post by: redhandefender on June 29, 2015, 10:50:00 AM
Mc curry was taken of because he was rubbish. He can't perform when it matters and I would sya that's the end of him starting this year. Mc Caliskey is so frustrating. Moments of absolute genius then moments that are absolutely abysmal like that miss early in the match. If he could get a bit more consistency would be a serious operator.

I liked how cav was left in yesterday. Quiet for large parts of game but when he needed to he pulled it out of the bag.

We need allot of improvement the next day but a wins a wins a win. Would rather have meath than galway, derry or tipp tbh. Roll on the 12th weekend, Tyrone then mc gregor should eb a good night
Post by: TheGateKeeper on June 29, 2015, 10:59:51 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 10:40:39 AM
On page 2 already.

With all the anti Tyrone chat from Meath assholes on here I'm delighted with this draw though would have nearly preferred it in Navan but there will be some atmosphere in Omagh for this one. A big step up from yesterdays damp squib.

The amount of sh*te talked about us being British and the Queen we'll now see how many of them will have the balls to come to Omagh on the 11th night for some of this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VO0dnkYlL-g (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VO0dnkYlL-g)

Not so much slabberin out of them today! 
There gonna need more than a bit of Boyne water to put out the Tyrone fire on the 11th!   8)  ;)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 29, 2015, 11:06:45 AM
Will Meath appeal the red on big oul Paddy ?
Post by: Chimley on June 29, 2015, 11:11:50 AM
Tough away day for Meath fans after the capitulation yesterday combined with the weekend that's in it. A home draw might have lifted morale within the camp a little bit as well.
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 11:28:59 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 29, 2015, 11:06:45 AM
Will Meath appeal the red on big oul Paddy ?

On the grounds that.....it was a fair Meathy challenge?
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 11:36:32 AM
Wow! The July bile in the air up there seems to infect both sides. Fuzzman - cop yourself on. That's beyond bitter. Nasty

ONeill - Paddy was sent off for being bigger than yer man.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:42:36 AM
Hardy, PAddy was sent off because he deliberately charged the man and hit him with his shoulder on the gob. It was an act of a frustrated man, but was dangerous.
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 11:44:38 AM
A frustrated Meath man. A fearsome sight.
Post by: Main Street on June 29, 2015, 11:45:40 AM
Good to see the Tyronies have  rediscovered their dander after beating  ........ Limerick in Omagh.

Is this game and the hype here,  the equivalent of 2 bald teams fighting over a comb?
Post by: Club Rossa on June 29, 2015, 11:54:33 AM
Good draw for both sides.Tyrone would need to show a huge improvement from yesterday as would Meath.Hoping that home advantage will swing it for us.Should be a big crowd and a good atmosphere for this.
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 11:56:46 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:42:36 AM
Hardy, PAddy was sent off because he deliberately charged the man and hit him with his shoulder on the gob. It was an act of a frustrated man, but was dangerous.

I was only messing AZ, but that was the live reaction of Meath people around me (those who could be bothered, at that stage). It seemed like Paddy didn't go out of his way to hit him - he was in possession, clearing the ball. Yer man was in the way. They collided. If Paddy was a small man it wouldn't have worked out so bad for the WH player and there'd have been no red card.

But I haven't seen it on TV, so I take your word.

Anyway, it will serve to activate the Tyrone wing mirrors for the next day, so all good.
Post by: Club Rossa on June 29, 2015, 11:58:15 AM
We'll have the wing mirrors well polished lol
Post by: orangeman on June 29, 2015, 01:56:13 PM
Keep her at it lads. This is going along nicely. Any chance of this game being moved to the Sunday just to create atmosphere ?.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 03:10:03 PM
It's games like this that make the qualifier system so exciting some times.
Should Meath win would ye rather get Armagh or Derry away next?
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 03:21:55 PM
This thread needs some pictures of bandages and blood. Really get things going.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 03:23:09 PM
(http://www.prideinthejersey.com/files/Cork/G2012B.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:31:39 PM
Had to laugh at the draw on the radio this morning.
I knew, I mean I just KNEW, we'd get Tyrone.
Anyway, when the draw was made you could clearly hear Gavin Jennings (presenter & Meathman) at the back of the studio muttering "Ah jaysus!"
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 03:44:45 PM
So it's 2-1 to Meath isn't it.

1. Head kicks in 96
2. Geraghty heaven in 07
3. Cavanagh's toe 2 years ago

Seriously - thon Wallace lad will need watching 
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:47:30 PM
Is there a website that lists the injections I'm going to need before I head up to this.
How do you even get to Omagh anyway, is there a boat?
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 03:51:20 PM
Remember it was all Tayto v Hunky Dory in 2013.

Who are you boys sponsored by now? Navan Abattoirs?
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:53:32 PM
We've Europe's largest wooden rollercoaster pal.
Beat that.
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 03:59:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:53:32 PM
Beat that.

http://www.flavouroftyrone.com/food/specific/lough-neagh-fishermens-co-operative-society-ltd
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:00:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:53:32 PM
Beat that.

They've lads up there that burn big wooden structures like that!
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 04:02:28 PM
I've a load of pallets I need to get rid of.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:04:33 PM
Head off now and they'll take them off your hands no bother

(http://www.lukasvandyke.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/Table_Out_Of_Pallets_0021.jpg)
Post by: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 04:12:16 PM
Hope ye have plenty of head bandages lads
Time for some retribution.

Some wee reminders I just dug up

(http://c1.thejournal.ie/media/2013/07/brian-dooher-and-john-mcdermott-1996-2-630x468.jpg)

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11550.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11550.0)

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2007/0804/221168-meath/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2007/0804/221168-meath/)

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-wJHvQ0y5eVc/UhEaxUce7gI/AAAAAAAADAw/n9bsTKviAFI/s1600/meath-tyrone-1996.jpg)

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/bd/e0/52/3a0ada7bc66547eb57b8cd9f55a94c5e3d1126a087/INPHO_00006230.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 04:15:59 PM
(http://i.guim.co.uk/img/static/sys-images/Books/Pix/pictures/2014/6/2/1401721816415/A-first-world-war-soldier-014.jpg?w=620&q=85&auto=format&sharp=10&s=24c34eeea91c377a4cffbc9aedda4245)

"That's the last of the bandages Brian, make sure it doesn't fall off."
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 29, 2015, 04:22:51 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 03:10:03 PM
It's games like this that make the qualifier system so exciting some times.
Should Meath win would ye rather get Armagh or Derry away next?

It's into the hat for round 2 winners against provincial final losers next day is it not?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:24:12 PM
Nope.

Round 3 of the qualifiers is the 4 winners of Round 2 playing each other. Round 4 is where the provincial losers come into play.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 29, 2015, 04:26:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:24:12 PM
Nope.

Round 3 of the qualifiers is the 4 winners of Round 2 playing each other. Round 4 is where the provincial losers come into play.

Just come back to delete my mistake after reading your clarification on the other thread, but you bate me to it and made me look stupid.

Offaly faker.
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 04:32:57 PM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/McD-Dooher_zpsasyheili.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/McD-Dooher_zpsasyheili.png.html)

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/tiger-hen.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/tiger-hen.png.html)
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 04:34:58 PM
Well, well, well....
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 04:41:16 PM
We be interesting to see how many Meadies make the trip the North. A good opportunity to test out McHugh's theory...
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:42:03 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 04:41:16 PM
We be interesting to see how many Meadies make the trip the North. A good opportunity to test out McHugh's theory...

Are ye threatening their fans? I don't think that's what McHugh was on about.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 05:00:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:42:03 PM

Are ye threatening their fans? I don't think that's what McHugh was on about.

Aaaye! ::)
You seem to have quite an interest in this AZ?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 05:03:46 PM
I have an interest in all big games! I'm confused by your post that's all. Why would the number of Meadies making the trip north be a good opportunity to test out McHugh's theory about Meath football going soft? Or are they completely unconnected sentences?

Don't worry, I don't think the Meath fans are in any danger :)
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 05:09:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 05:03:46 PM
I have an interest in all big games! I'm confused by your post that's all. Why would the number of Meadies making the trip north be a good opportunity to test out McHugh's theory about Meath football going soft? Or are they completely unconnected sentences?

Of course they arent, but sitting in their commuter belt suburban semi they might they may shrink in their shells at the thought of venturing across the border wearing green gold on the 11th night
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 05:10:27 PM
OK, I see what you mean :) I remember being oblivious walking down the streets of Belfast in 1991, as a group, wearing Offaly tracksuits. We got a few odd looks, but were completely ignorant :)
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 05:22:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 05:10:27 PM
OK, I see what you mean :) I remember being oblivious walking down the streets of Belfast in 1991, as a group, wearing Offaly tracksuits. We got a few odd looks, but were completely ignorant :)

Probably from the local spides checking out the new Celtic training gear :)
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 05:24:54 PM
What's all this about Meath ones being secret Dublin wannabes. Any truth in it?
Post by: BennyHarp on June 29, 2015, 05:42:37 PM
I hope the second half Meath turn up. They've conceded 6-31 in two games v Wicklow and Westmeath. What could possibly go wrong?   :-\
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 05:52:11 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 05:09:17 PM

Of course they arent, but sitting in their commuter belt suburban semi they might they may shrink in their shells at the thought of venturing across the border wearing green gold on the 11th night

Meath people don't have shells.
You're thinking of lobsters.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 06:01:28 PM
That's a great picture Hardy of the tiger and the chicken. Well done.
As a matter of interest what's the last champioship game ye came north of the border for?

Would you prefer we moved this to Croker for ye so you wont be so scared?
(http://mnprogressiveproject.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/kitten.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 06:02:37 PM

Which theory is that?
He has so many...
Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 06:03:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 05:52:11 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 05:09:17 PM

Meath people don't have shells.
You're thinking of lobsters.

People generally dont, but inbreeding has unexpected side affects
Post by: armaghniac on June 29, 2015, 06:53:28 PM
Probably Meath people need an introduction to Tyrone culture, they have a thing for blankets.
(http://cdn.discogs.com/xEjU4wZ2fEg657fIiftiDnI7C_A=/fit-in/300x300/filters:strip_icc():format(jpeg):mode_rgb()/discogs-images/R-6096286-1410969185-2026.jpeg.jpg)
Post by: JoG2 on June 29, 2015, 08:14:30 PM
(http://www.davidhullpromotions.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Hugo-Duncan.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 08:45:30 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 29, 2015, 06:53:28 PM
Probably Meath people need an introduction to Tyrone culture, they have a thing for blankets.
(http://cdn.discogs.com/xEjU4wZ2fEg657fIiftiDnI7C_A=/fit-in/300x300/filters:strip_icc():format(jpeg):mode_rgb()/discogs-images/R-6096286-1410969185-2026.jpeg.jpg)

Might bring the steel guitar up with me for an oul session afterwards.
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 08:52:29 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 29, 2015, 06:01:28 PM
That's a great picture Hardy of the tiger and the chicken. Well done.
As a matter of interest what's the last champioship game ye came north of the border for?

Would you prefer we moved this to Croker for ye so you wont be so scared?

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/bandaged_zpsd4e6d414.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/bandaged_zpsd4e6d414.png.html)
Post by: BennyHarp on June 29, 2015, 09:09:25 PM
I met Dinky McBride on his way to work the day after that semi final in 1996. We'll never let this happen again.

(http://previews.123rf.com/images/pzaxe/pzaxe0902/pzaxe090200239/4336621-Man-in-bandage-with-eyeglasses-and-the-cravat-on-black-Stock-Photo.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 09:30:05 PM
(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Mayo-Tyrone-1989.jpg)

Was Mayo that started it.
Post by: orangeman on June 29, 2015, 11:46:05 PM
Willie Joe always wore a bit of a cap.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:02:15 AM
A Tyrone fella was telling me today that Meath lads have awful thick looking heads. I wouldn't take that.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:03:04 AM
A Meath chap was saying to me earlier that Tyrone lads shout God save the queen over Amhrán na bhFiann. Tyrone people wont like that.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 30, 2015, 12:13:35 AM
Stick to winding up the primary school lads on the Dublin threads Teo.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:18:36 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 30, 2015, 12:13:35 AM

This thread needs more action. Go on, stick it to the Meath fellas. Tell them that Tommy Dowd has a knackers head.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 12:26:03 AM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:18:36 AM

This thread needs more action. Go on, stick it to the Meath fellas. Tell them that Tommy Dowd has a knackers head.

As I mentioned before there is a commonality in their reproduction habits that would account for this.
Meath folks appear to be wholly accepting of this and dont see it as any type of shame. In fact they even glorify it, by calling themselves the Royals.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 30, 2015, 12:31:35 AM
Don't worry Benny by the end of the next two weeks the Royals will be glad to meet the Orangemen in Portydown to talk about the he Queen as they'll be fair scunnered getting their arses scalped by a big red hand.

I see Hardy and Co. have backed of the anti Tyrone chat now and want to be friends and bring their guitars & their music to Omagh begging for forgiveness.

What would Big Ian say.
Never, never, never!!!
(http://www.independent.co.uk/incoming/article9729469.ece/alternates/w620/ian-paisley-3.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 12:31:50 AM
The Loyalists won't like the Royals invading the north on the 11th night. There's some kind of a headline there somewhere.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 30, 2015, 12:46:34 AM
Should we bring our Southern brethren on a cultural experience where we take them to a bonfire night that they will never forget.
Where they will understand a little better how the other half live and maybe understand the shite we had to go through to earn the right to play our games in the North.

Maybe when they get a better understanding they will understand how important Gaelic games mean to us and why we put up more of a fight against the big guns rather than the just roll over Leinster shite ye have been playing for the last 10+ years.

PS. Jinxy can you send on a csv file with all wags phone numbers or sheep tag numbers as  our database needs updating.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 30, 2015, 12:47:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 12:31:50 AM
The Loyalists won't like the Royals invading the north on the 11th night. There's some kind of a headline there somewhere.

ROYAL-LOVING LOYALISTS ROYALLY REJECT ROYALS
Post by: Pub Bore on June 30, 2015, 09:41:09 AM
"Confusion Reigns As Royals Tell Nationalists To Stuff Their Queen"
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2015, 09:46:14 AM
Carlsberg don't do 11th July games in west Tyrone, but if they did...

Was this fixture decided by the orange order and the GAA?

Have the Mead lads applied to the parades commission to royally march through the occupied 6?

Are they prepared to be re-routed?

So many questions...

Post by: topcuppla on June 30, 2015, 09:51:31 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:47:30 PM
Is there a website that lists the injections I'm going to need before I head up to this.
How do you even get to Omagh anyway, is there a boat?

You would need a helicopter to get out of it, don't park too close to the ground, the summer will be over before you get home!
Post by: Fuzzman on June 30, 2015, 10:27:12 AM
Was it Meath who started the swarm defending?
(http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inph0005974.jpg)
Post by: DuffleKing on June 30, 2015, 10:50:56 AM

No, Charlie Redmond started the "never pass the ball" attacking
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 11:20:18 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 12:26:03 AM

As I mentioned before there is a commonality in their reproduction habits that would account for this.
Meath folks appear to be wholly accepting of this and dont see it as any type of shame. In fact they even glorify it, by calling themselves the Royals.

Not being from an aristocratic county, I wouldn't expect you to understand how important it is to keep the bloodline pure.
The Down lads get it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2015, 11:32:46 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 29, 2015, 09:30:05 PM
(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Mayo-Tyrone-1989.jpg)

Was Mayo that started it.
Mayo lead, the rest follow
Post by: Hardy on June 30, 2015, 11:55:01 AM
This is a fight for the soul of football. The time has come to take back the beautiful game and restore its manliness.
Post by: redhandefender on June 30, 2015, 11:58:10 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 11:20:18 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 12:26:03 AM

Not being from an aristocratic county, I wouldn't expect you to understand how important it is to keep the bloodline pure.
The Down lads get it.

Well by the look of you and Down this year yous have kept the footballing bloodline pure "shite"

Yous will have plenty of time over the summer to discuss your aristocracy from the stands
Post by: supersarsfields on June 30, 2015, 11:59:53 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 30, 2015, 11:55:01 AM
This is a fight for the soul of football. The time has come to take back the beautiful game and restore its manliness.

Always with the fighting.

This game is about one thing and one thing only. The decline of the Irish crisp market.
Post by: rrhf on June 30, 2015, 12:00:58 PM
Referee (gamekeeper) will be an important choice.
Will Tyrone wait until the expected tiring of Meath in the last quarter, or will 2 week be enough to address this?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2015, 12:04:03 PM

I hope you're planning a better effort than the second 35 mins last Sunday, old chap.
Post by: Hardy on June 30, 2015, 12:06:09 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2015, 12:04:03 PM

I hope your planning a better effort than the second 35 mins last Sunda..

That was only a game of football. (Please see to your syntax and apostrophe use, or do we have to hammer that into you as well?)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2015, 12:13:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 30, 2015, 12:06:09 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2015, 12:04:03 PM

I hope your planning a better effort than the second 35 mins last Sunda..

That was only a game of football. (Please see to your syntax and apostrophe use, or do we have to hammer that into you as well?)

My sincerest apologies; I have corrected my inexcusable grammar mistake. How wholly disrespectful of me not to use royal English.

BTW: last Sunday was 'only a game of football' too..
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 12:15:14 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 30, 2015, 12:00:58 PM
Referee (gamekeeper) will be an important choice.
Will Tyrone wait until the expected tiring of Meath in the last quarter, or will 2 week be enough to address this?

I doubt it.
The last 10 years hasn't been enough to address it.
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 12:20:53 PM
Don't like the omens. Last year the Orangemen turned us over in Omagh the day after the 12th. Now the Royals. Next year it'll be Laois.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 30, 2015, 12:36:39 PM
Naw relax O'Neill.
There was an agreement reached with the orangmen that we would let them pass last year as Ulster feared a backlash in Portydown as Donegal & Monaghan had prevented them from going down their traditional route the last 6 years.

We got a years supply of Orchard Thieves cider I believe

Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:51:57 PM
The anti Northern feeling will become evident from those in the south for this game. They'll hide behind various things but the truth is that many down south can't take it when a Northern team (including Donegal) beats them. It's because of a media campaign that poisoned southerners minds into having a mistrust of northerners.
You see the mindset replicated when it comes to Gaelic Games. Tyrone win a few All Irelands and it's all puke football. Dublin and Kerry win All Irelands in a similar fashion but no word about puke football. When Meath were standing on players heads they were known as a tough, manly team. When any Northern team played physically they were dirty tramps.
Most in the south will want Meath to win this game, the only reason for this is their hatred of northerners. They can't admit to this but it's the truth. Let them hide behind all the excuses they want.
I hope Tyrone batter Meath.
Post by: TheGateKeeper on June 30, 2015, 12:57:54 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:51:57 PM
The anti Northern feeling will become evident from those in the south for this game. They'll hide behind various things but the truth is that many down south can't take it when a Northern team (including Donegal) beats them. It's because of a media campaign that poisoned southerners minds into having a mistrust of northerners.
You see the mindset replicated when it comes to Gaelic Games. Tyrone win a few All Irelands and it's all puke football. Dublin and Kerry win All Irelands in a similar fashion but no word about puke football. When Meath were standing on players heads they were known as a tough, manly team. When any Northern team played physically they were dirty tramps.
Most in the south will want Meath to win this game, the only reason for this is their hatred of northerners. They can't admit to this but it's the truth. Let them hide behind all the excuses they want.

Pretty accurate summation there Leo.
Post by: Pub Bore on June 30, 2015, 01:10:04 PM
Controversial ruling by Parades Commission means Royals will have to go via the Gortin Rd during parade of teams.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2015, 01:20:55 PM

That's an interesting post from a 'Laois' man. Wrong account?
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 01:28:01 PM
Hard to keep track of them all.
He should get some tips off Syferus.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 30, 2015, 01:38:08 PM

You need to get out more lad..
Post by: BennyHarp on June 30, 2015, 01:43:22 PM
Meath played Tyrone early in the National league in Omagh shortly after the 1996 bloodshed. It was pre-christmas in those days if I remember correctly, so things were still a bit raw. Tyrone did the decent thing and applauded Meath onto the pitch with a guard of honour, however an old bloke behind me, full of anger at this, roared - "Don't applaud them f**kers, you should be bating em with big sticks".

We need to find this man and get him in the changing room before the game in the 11th - this is war!!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2015, 01:44:51 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 30, 2015, 01:43:22 PM
Meath played Tyrone early in the National league the year after the 1996 bloodshed. It was pre-christmas in those days if I remember correctly, so things were still a bit raw. Tyrone did the decent thing and applauded Meath onto the pitch with a guard of honour. A old bloke behind me, full of anger at this, roared - "Don't applaud them f**kers, you should be bating em with big sticks".

We need to find this man and get him in the changing room before the game in the 11th - this is war!!

That's more like it :) They respect that sort of stuff :)
Post by: Hardy on June 30, 2015, 02:13:58 PM
Meath played Tyrone early in the National league in Omagh shortly after the 1996 bloodshed. It was pre-christmas in those days if I remember correctly, so things were still a bit raw. Tyrone did the decent thing and applauded Meath onto the pitch with a guard of honour, however an old bloke behind me, full of anger at this, roared - "Don't applaud them f**kers, you should be bating em with big sticks".

Was he wearing a pair of bottle-bottom glasses?
Post by: BennyHarp on June 30, 2015, 02:29:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 30, 2015, 02:13:58 PM

Was he wearing a pair of bottle-bottom glasses?

;D If only he'd thought of it few months earlier!
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 03:21:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 30, 2015, 01:20:55 PM

I just have respect for my fellow Gaels, unlike many, including plenty in Laois and Biffoland.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 30, 2015, 03:43:29 PM
Excluding any "gaels" that might reside in Dublin, of course.

Can we ban the use of the word gaels?

It's like listening to a Tea Party supporter in the US talk about "patriots".
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 30, 2015, 04:17:05 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 30, 2015, 03:43:29 PM

Steady now have you heard Donald Trump speak about Mexicans recently  ;D
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 04:39:16 PM
So, Bradley for McCurry or no changes?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2015, 04:41:11 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 03:21:51 PM

I just have respect for my fellow Gaels, unlike many, including plenty in Laois and Biffoland.

I don't agree there is a lack of respect for the lads up north. In fact I think they have earned huge respect due to the obstacles they had to overcome to even tog out (although Martin McHugh seems to think the troubles were a positive!). I think that respect is fairly widespread, and I know a lot of people celebrated with Tyrone and Armagh back in the noughties.

I think there are disagreements over certain aspects of the game between Ulster counties and the rest, but that's just detail. As far as I'm concerned we're all the one, and there's no difference to me between Sligo and Tyrone.
Post by: Pub Bore on June 30, 2015, 04:46:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 30, 2015, 04:41:11 PM

I don't agree there is a lack of respect for the lads up north. In fact I think they have earned huge respect due to the obstacles they had to overcome to even tog out (although Martin McHugh seems to think the troubles were a positive!). I think that respect is fairly widespread, and I know a lot of people celebrated with Tyrone and Armagh back in the noughties.

I think there are disagreements over certain aspects of the game between Ulster counties and the rest, but that's just detail. As far as I'm concerned we're all the one, and there's no difference to me between Sligo and Tyrone.

Sligo play nice, open attractive football...
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2015, 04:47:38 PM
As a county I mean.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 04:54:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 04:39:16 PM
So, Bradley for McCurry or no changes?

Eh? are we actually gonna discuss football on this thread?
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 04:59:27 PM
Sorry. Went a bit mad there in the sun.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 30, 2015, 05:05:30 PM
i was just thinking this is not the Meath team I'd be sending up to Omagh. In that vein...

The Expendables 4 – The Gang's Back Together....

Meath CLG offices. Shadows lurk outside and in, the pitch black of a dark night of the soul. The only light comes from a desk lamp in the office of the Chairman, moths flit in and out of the blaze of fluorescence , illuminating a rotary phone sitting on the rich, manly, mahogany surface. Outside, wails and lamentations can be heard, the wind sighs "Westmeeeeeaaaadddd".
A hand appears, lifts the old receiver, and a dials 999.
"Hello...Sean? It's time."

A week later, an armoured bus wends its way through the lanes and byways of South Tyrone. Inside the caged windows, an animated figure can be seen bouncing to every pothole on the road.

Sean Boylan speaks. "Well lads, isn't it great, isn't football great altogether, yeah great, positivity, good lads, now will we have a drop of the auld dandelion tea, now lads, get us up for this, yeah? Good lads."

His enthusiasm is infectious. The bus is crowded with gnarled figures, scarred and ugly beyond belief. It looks like a Lord of the Rings extras reunion.

"C'mon now Liam, you have the first drop."

Liam Harnan looks up, angered that he has to stop worrying the raw leg of mutton he has between his jaws. He wipes the juices from his mouth and drinks deep. "AAAGHHH" – the roar is deep and primal, he doubles up as steam billows from his ears, a hump begins to bubble up on his back, horns protrude from his forehead – amazingly though, the effect is actually a bit more pleasant than what was there before.

"It's an improvement anyway" says Graham Geraghty, slugging out of the bottle, spilling some on his Michael Thomas autographed Arsenal jersey. "I coulda played in a World Cup, but I was too fit for the lads in Highbury, made them look bad. Trevor, get stuck in to that."

He throws Giles the bottle, but the centre forward uncharacteristically drops it. "You'd better get yourself together" Geraghty warns. Trevor nods, reaches under the seat and produces a pair of scissors. Slowly, solemnly he cuts his M+S geansai sleeves above the shoulders. A low hum of approval comes from the others.

Sean is bouncing now. "Colm, leave that and have a drink." Colm Coyle lays down the M60 machine gun he has been oiling and takes a gulp. "Tommy, your turn now." Tommy Dowd opens his mouth and a high pitched scream, like a tortured kettle emits. Everyone except Sean holds their ears. "Yes, Tommy we'll be there soon. Mick, have a sup there."

Mick Lyons says "............."

"Ah g'wan Mick, an auld drink before the game, it's all natural."

"Right, ok Mick. Anyway lads, this is going to be some challenge, today, yeah, some challenge, football, it's great isn't it? So let's let it in long to Colm, Brian and Bernard, Gerry break whatever ball you can in midfield, take the frees quick off the ground, let's rip out their eyes and piss on their brains, and whatever else we do, enjoy yourselves. Right?" He rubs his hands together genially.

Colm O'Rourke breaks off from wrapping a lagging jacket around his knee. "Ah Sean, what was the last part?"

"Just enjoy yourselves, lads."

"No, the bit before that..."

On the back seat of the bus, still and grave, immense and foreboding, like a statue on Easter Island, sits Mick Lyons.

In Omagh, Mickey Harte and Sean Cavanagh are taking a turn around the side of the pitch, discussing tactics.
"Well Sean, no need for any last ditch rugby tackles today?"

"Not at all Mickey, we'll burn them off in the final 20, sure they had nothing left against Westmeath.....Sheeeit!"

The armoured bus has just pulled into the car park. Sean Boylan bounces off, followed by the clanking, armoured hordes of Mordor. "Howya lads!" he waves genially.

Mickey Harte chews his gum grimly. "We're gonna need a bigger blanket."

"You're very welcome back to RTE-E's coverage of the All Ireland Qualifiers two thousand fifteen-een, with me-ee, Brian Carthy. Controversy here in Omagh today as a considerably changed Meath team, have tested the very limits of manliness and hardy football here today against a shellshocked Tyrone side.

Right from the start Meath tested the referees patience, as Liam Harnan, having just downed a pint of Ivomec F proceeded to feast on the innards of Peter Harte, and which surely deserved a black card at least. Graham Geraghty has been a constant thorn in the side of the Tyrone defence, at one stage wrapping a Fine Gael poster around Sean Cavanagh before punching him in the face and then scoring a remarkable point off his left. Trevor Giles' radar is on today, as he has been taking the kickouts, scoring three of them, whilst Colm O'Rourke, despite sustaining a concussion after being sandwiched by Joe McMahon and an ice cream van, was told by the selectors that he is Bernard Brogan and has scored two stylish points from play.

The only reason Tyrone are still in this is because Meath are a man down, though interestingly, it was not as a result of the referee. Colm Coyle failed to return to the pitch after half time. I'm told he is out in the car park, tampering with the brakes of the Tyrone bus. It's building up to a pulsating championship finale here in He-ealy Park, with me Brian Carthy..."

Up in the stands, some can take it no more. Brian Dooher leaps up and cries "I still have my boots Mickey!" and dashes down the steps, before tripping over a strategically placed Meath fan's boot. He is last seen being attended to by the St. John's ambulance, a bandage several times bigger than his head being applied.

Squeaky bum time. Mick Lyons grabs the ball and heads out from defence – the teams are all square and Sean Cavanagh is desperate to keep Meath in their half. It is time for cynicism. He launches himself at Mick Lyons....
And slides down his body, like a bug splattered on a windshield.

Mick Lyons says "............." and handpasses to PJ Gillic, who launches a bomb into the atmosphere – it hits a seagull before hurtling back into the square, bouncing back up...and over the bar.

On the way to the dressing room, Mick Lyons wipes the battered remnants of Sean Cavanagh from his legs. Sean Boylan is talking to Marty Morrisey – "Great game Marty, manly, sporting, football, it's great isn't it...."

One last stop on a long, winding road back to the Royal county. At a well-appointed, detached house in the country, Sean Boylan rings a doorbell.

Peter Canavan opens the door. "Ah howya, Sean, ye did well today lads, fair dues to ye. I wasn't able to make it myself."

"Ah yeah, great Peter, it was a great performance. Anyway, just wanted to let someone say hello to you. Martin, come up here Martin...."

Martin O'Connell looms into the the doorway. "Sorry about this Pete."

In Tyrone no one can hear you scream.

On the back of the bus, Mick Lyons sits.

And Mick Lyons says "............."
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 05:15:09 PM
Wow easytiger you could take up Terry Prachett's mantle of fantasy jibberish.

As a constructive criticism I would say you have plenty of substance but lack coherence
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 05:35:44 PM

What you talkin about? Where have I disrespected any Dublin Gaels?
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 05:43:43 PM

You hear anti-northern stuff everywhere, not just in the GAA. It's a common thing. You may not notice it.
In Gaelic games it becomes obvious when a northern team becomes successful, they always have to be dragged down. The Tyrone and Armagh teams of the last decade played some great football, they had some outstanding players but all you heard about down south was that they played puke football, diving, verbals, nasty teams etc.
As I've said, none of those things were mentioned when teams like Dublin or Kerry won in similar fashion. You can even see in this thread. Meath in the 80's and 90's were one of the scumiest teams ever to play Gaelic football but many in the south respect them. You can see the different feeling people have towards Tyrone.
Post by: sligoman on June 30, 2015, 06:06:56 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 05:43:43 PM

You hear anti-northern stuff everywhere, not just in the GAA. It's a common thing. You may not notice it.
In Gaelic games it becomes obvious when a northern team becomes successful, they always have to be dragged down. The Tyrone and Armagh teams of the last decade played some great football, they had some outstanding players but all you heard about down south was that they played puke football, diving, verbals, nasty teams etc.
As I've said, none of those things were mentioned when teams like Dublin or Kerry won in similar fashion. You can even see in this thread. Meath in the 80's and 90's were one of the scumiest teams ever to play Gaelic football but many in the south respect them. You can see the different feeling people have towards Tyrone.

Agree with this, think the Northern sides get a rough deal from the media down here and the public goes along with it. To be successful you need a certain level of nastiness and ruthlessness but I feel these facets are only put under the microscope and made a major issue of when Northern sides are involved.
Post by: royals12 on June 30, 2015, 08:13:58 PM

sorry to burst your bubble there but meath are a lot more hated than Tyrone. were one of the only counties with atleast 4 or 5 neighbours around us who absolutely hate us( Dublin, Louth, Kildare, Westmeath) they would love nothing better than to see meath lose. In Croke park on Sunday Kildare and Dublin fans were cheering for Westmeath nearly as if they were their own, they also didn't hide their delight in slagging the meath supporters after the match and ''id rather be a paki than a royal' was also sang a fair few times by them throughout the day and night. Not only would our lovely neighbours want to see us lose to Tyrone there would be a fair few other counties in the south, Mayo being top of the list that would love to see Tyrone beat meath out the gate.
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 09:29:00 PM
Quote from: sligoman on June 30, 2015, 06:06:56 PM

Agree with this, think the Northern sides get a rough deal from the media down here and the public goes along with it. To be successful you need a certain level of nastiness and ruthlessness but I feel these facets are only put under the microscope and made a major issue of when Northern sides are involved.

Nonsense, there's great respect for Down.
Post by: agorm on June 30, 2015, 10:04:57 PM
On page 2 already.

what assholes and anti Tyrone chat? so you also think that we should be in fear going up to Omagh? It seems that you would nearly relish something to happen to your fellow GAA supporters.

i havent been on here for a while, seems that I didn't miss much.. northern bitterness still alive and well.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 10:10:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 09:29:00 PM

Hmm thats strange logic I would have zero respect for a team that been beaten by a team freshly relegated to Div4
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 30, 2015, 10:10:43 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 05:43:43 PMThe Tyrone and Armagh teams of the last decade played some great football, they had some outstanding players

Not really. Just a team of grafters who were taught to unsettle the opposition by hitting them hard and late. I'll give respect to those Tyrone players for actually having skill, but not Armagh. Ronan Clarke and Oisin McConville were their only legit players.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 10:17:05 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 30, 2015, 10:04:57 PM
On page 2 already.

what assholes and anti Tyrone chat? so you also think that we should be in fear going up to Omagh? It seems that you would nearly relish something to happen to your fellow GAA supporters.

i havent been on here for a while, seems that I didn't miss much.. northern bitterness still alive and well.

Sounds like someone is getting a shudder up their spine at the thought of leaving their  cul de sac in Ratoath.

Martin....I genuinely hate to give it to ye but....
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 10:19:27 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 10:10:16 PM

Hmm thats strange logic I would have zero respect for a team that been beaten by a team freshly relegated to Div4

Form is temporary, class is permanent.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 10:20:34 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 30, 2015, 10:10:43 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 05:43:43 PMThe Tyrone and Armagh teams of the last decade played some great football, they had some outstanding players

Not really. Just a team of grafters who were taught to unsettle the opposition by hitting them hard and late. I'll give respect to those Tyrone players for actually having skill, but not Armagh. Ronan Clarke and Oisin McConville were their only legit players.

If we're given credit where its due you'd have to put McDonnell and McGrane on there as well.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 10:25:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 10:19:27 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 30, 2015, 10:10:16 PM

Form is temporary, class is permanent.

Hmm... no provincial title in over 20 years and only 1 final appearance in the last 10 where they were beat of the park. What would you class that?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2015, 10:30:42 PM
Was it in 1996 this rivalry all kicked off?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 30, 2015, 10:37:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2015, 10:30:42 PM

You could say that! :)
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2015, 10:40:09 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2015, 10:30:42 PM

We were pretty busy that year.
Made a lot of friends.
Post by: laceer on June 30, 2015, 10:41:05 PM
Fair play easytiger-had a good chuckle reading that
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 10:41:32 PM
Goes back 1500 years.

Meath is traditionally said to have been created during the 1st century AD by Tuathal Teachtmhar. The Uí Enechglaiss was an early dynasty who were kings of the region. An ogham stone found south of Slane suggests they originally may have controlled this area in County Meath. They along with the Uí Failge and Uí Bairrche, belonged to the Laigin, but may also be associated with the Érainn.

During the early 500s, they were driven away from their original homeland in Kildare and over the Wicklow Mountains by the Uí Néill, whose sept, the Clann Cholmáin, took their place.
Post by: Sidney on June 30, 2015, 10:59:41 PM

The use of the word "gael" really does conjure up an image of a certain type of dour, humourless, generally conservative Roman Catholic, six counties bigot.

Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 11:04:06 PM
Was trying to remember where I'd seen the Meath Dublin Wannabes - a quick Google and here she was:

Cavan: filthy, ignorant hillbillies, puritanical papists.
Hobbies: discovering IRA ammo dumps and knitting black balaclavas.

Kerry: stupid but loveable.
Hobbies: Gaelic football, scraping pig foetus off their wellies and chain-smoking.

Wicklow North: sports car driving country snobs (Greystones, Enniskerry)
Hobbies: Sticking their noses in the air and referring to themselves as "one".

Wicklow South: sheep shaggers.
Hobbies: Sitting in field with their neighbours and talking about the"banjaxed hydraulics on the JCB", collecting the dole.

Dublin North: criminals, drug dealers and factory workers, easy women, unmarried mothers, skinheads and all-round examples of human waste.
Hobbies: Heroin and watching serial numbers being filed off stolen BMW's, Doing hand-breakers.

Dublin South: west Brits, snobs, rich, easy glamorous women.
Hobbies: colonic irrigation and sleeping with their best friend's spouse.

Limerick: violent, racist scum of the earth, knife-wielding prostitutes.
Hobbies: play rugby while stabbing each other with screwdrivers and then complaining about their city's bad reputation.

Donegal: look down on all-others, aloof.
Hobbies: Turning their noses up at all and sundry

Cork: jealous of Dubliners, highly-sexualized women.
Hobbies: Standing at the side of the Motorway and making smug faces at the cars with Dublin plates.

Tipperary: beautiful pristine girls, hard to get into bed but worth it if you can because that County does not have two different Ridings for nothing!
Hobbies: Getting a flat in Dublin and losing their accents and hoping their parents don't find out.

Meath: Dublin wannabes.
Hobbies: Beating Dublin at GAA and hoping that one day somebody in Dublin will actually notice.

Galway: sophisticated boggers could be mistaken for a South Dubliner, sexually adventurous, cultured and wealthy. Hobbies: Teaching sex acrobatics to foreign tourists, dropping acid, paying a million pounds for a three bedroom suburban house and pretending it was a bargain.

Kildare: alcoholics.
Hobbies: Waking up in barns with a bottle on one side and hatchet-faced Biddy on the other.

Mayo: Depressing, defeatist, negative, misery-laden losers, emigrate as soon as the umbilical cord is cut.
Hobbies: Dropping a lighted cigarette on his mattress and then being burned alive in a Cricklewood boarding house so he can have his remains flown back to Knock Airport for burial.

Louth: IRA supporters, smugglers and bandits, beautiful girls (Dundalk).
Hobbies: Tearing through Cooley at 125MPH trying to stop the boxes of cheap vodka from falling out the WINDOW.

Waterford: decent honest hard-workers generally good folks.
Hobbies: Calling a strike.

Clare: fiddle-playing charming simpletons and, more recently, neo-nazis.
Hobbies: Falling into pot-holes and being never heard from ever again.

Sligo: go-getters, strong sense of free enterprise, likes to MAKE CASH.
Hobbies: get rich and b*llix to everything else.

Kilkenny: harmless innocent alcoholics.
Hobbies: Sending their only son to fashion college in Dublin and then wondering why he never brings girls home and why he is always looking in The Brown Thomas catalogue?

Carlow: who cares?
Hobbies: Move to Dublin and then best forgotten about.

Offaly: mad for playing sports and having fun, generally liked.
Hobbies: TO WIN a pub.

Leitrim: Enigmatic reclusive weirdos.
Hobbies: Being absorbed into surrounding counties, quietly.

Longford: Gombeen men.
Hobbies: Legalizing bestiality.

Laois: the real boggers and proud of it generally held in high esteem by Dubliners.
Hobbies: Living an honest life, collecting EU development grants.

Westmeath: Mysterious boggers, cryptic.
Hobbies: Trying, unsuccessfully, to get noticed.

Wexford: selling their "home-grown" organic fruit (bought at supermarket that morning) at the side of the road in summer and ripping-off gullible Dubliners out for a drive in the country.
Hobbies: Ripping off tourists is more than enough.

Roscommon and Monaghan are missing, but sure did anyone notice
Post by: topcuppla on July 01, 2015, 09:17:06 AM

So Stevie McDonnell, Paul McGrane, Kieran McGeeney, Diarmuid Marsden and the McEntees were just passengers, you obviously know little or nothing about good footballers.
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2015, 09:58:26 AM

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-65O4KCy1RRM/UV1cfQZdGII/AAAAAAAAAHM/QsJ0z7IKUF4/s640/5881861191_90de8b5bc9.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2015, 10:52:31 AM
And Francie FFS. Bellew must've Meath in him somewhere.
Post by: Sidney on July 01, 2015, 11:34:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 30, 2015, 11:04:06 PM
Was trying to remember where I'd seen the Meath Dublin Wannabes - a quick Google and here she was:

Cavan: filthy, ignorant hillbillies, puritanical papists.
Hobbies: discovering IRA ammo dumps and knitting black balaclavas.

Kerry: stupid but loveable.
Hobbies: Gaelic football, scraping pig foetus off their wellies and chain-smoking.

Wicklow North: sports car driving country snobs (Greystones, Enniskerry)
Hobbies: Sticking their noses in the air and referring to themselves as "one".

Wicklow South: sheep shaggers.
Hobbies: Sitting in field with their neighbours and talking about the"banjaxed hydraulics on the JCB", collecting the dole.

Dublin North: criminals, drug dealers and factory workers, easy women, unmarried mothers, skinheads and all-round examples of human waste.
Hobbies: Heroin and watching serial numbers being filed off stolen BMW's, Doing hand-breakers.

Dublin South: west Brits, snobs, rich, easy glamorous women.
Hobbies: colonic irrigation and sleeping with their best friend's spouse.

Limerick: violent, racist scum of the earth, knife-wielding prostitutes.
Hobbies: play rugby while stabbing each other with screwdrivers and then complaining about their city's bad reputation.

Donegal: look down on all-others, aloof.
Hobbies: Turning their noses up at all and sundry

Cork: jealous of Dubliners, highly-sexualized women.
Hobbies: Standing at the side of the Motorway and making smug faces at the cars with Dublin plates.

Tipperary: beautiful pristine girls, hard to get into bed but worth it if you can because that County does not have two different Ridings for nothing!
Hobbies: Getting a flat in Dublin and losing their accents and hoping their parents don't find out.

Meath: Dublin wannabes.
Hobbies: Beating Dublin at GAA and hoping that one day somebody in Dublin will actually notice.

Galway: sophisticated boggers could be mistaken for a South Dubliner, sexually adventurous, cultured and wealthy. Hobbies: Teaching sex acrobatics to foreign tourists, dropping acid, paying a million pounds for a three bedroom suburban house and pretending it was a bargain.

Kildare: alcoholics.
Hobbies: Waking up in barns with a bottle on one side and hatchet-faced Biddy on the other.

Mayo: Depressing, defeatist, negative, misery-laden losers, emigrate as soon as the umbilical cord is cut.
Hobbies: Dropping a lighted cigarette on his mattress and then being burned alive in a Cricklewood boarding house so he can have his remains flown back to Knock Airport for burial.

Louth: IRA supporters, smugglers and bandits, beautiful girls (Dundalk).
Hobbies: Tearing through Cooley at 125MPH trying to stop the boxes of cheap vodka from falling out the WINDOW.

Waterford: decent honest hard-workers generally good folks.
Hobbies: Calling a strike.

Clare: fiddle-playing charming simpletons and, more recently, neo-nazis.
Hobbies: Falling into pot-holes and being never heard from ever again.

Sligo: go-getters, strong sense of free enterprise, likes to MAKE CASH.
Hobbies: get rich and b*llix to everything else.

Kilkenny: harmless innocent alcoholics.
Hobbies: Sending their only son to fashion college in Dublin and then wondering why he never brings girls home and why he is always looking in The Brown Thomas catalogue?

Carlow: who cares?
Hobbies: Move to Dublin and then best forgotten about.

Offaly: mad for playing sports and having fun, generally liked.
Hobbies: TO WIN a pub.

Leitrim: Enigmatic reclusive weirdos.
Hobbies: Being absorbed into surrounding counties, quietly.

Longford: Gombeen men.
Hobbies: Legalizing bestiality.

Laois: the real boggers and proud of it generally held in high esteem by Dubliners.
Hobbies: Living an honest life, collecting EU development grants.

Westmeath: Mysterious boggers, cryptic.
Hobbies: Trying, unsuccessfully, to get noticed.

Wexford: selling their "home-grown" organic fruit (bought at supermarket that morning) at the side of the road in summer and ripping-off gullible Dubliners out for a drive in the country.
Hobbies: Ripping off tourists is more than enough.

Roscommon and Monaghan are missing, but sure did anyone notice
Idea: fair.
Execution: appalling (apart from the Mayo hobbies line, although even that has a grammatical mistake).
Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2015, 12:28:02 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 30, 2015, 05:05:30 PM
i was just thinking this is not the Meath team I'd be sending up to Omagh. In that vein...

Meath CLG offices. Shadows lurk outside and in, the pitch black of a dark night of the soul. The only light comes from a desk lamp in the office of the Chairman, moths flit in and out of the blaze of fluorescence , illuminating a rotary phone sitting on the rich, manly, mahogany surface. Outside, wails and lamentations can be heard, the wind sighs "Westmeeeeeaaaadddd".

A week later, an armoured bus wends its way through the lanes and byways of South Tyrone. Inside the caged windows, an animated figure can be seen bouncing to every pothole on the road.

Sean Boylan speaks. "Well lads, isn't it great, isn't football great altogether, yeah great, positivity, good lads, now will we have a drop of the auld dandelion tea, now lads, get us up for this, yeah? Good lads."

His enthusiasm is infectious. The bus is crowded with gnarled figures, scarred and ugly beyond belief. It looks like a Lord of the Rings extras reunion.

Liam Harnan looks up, angered that he has to stop worrying the raw leg of mutton he has between his jaws. He wipes the juices from his mouth and drinks deep. "AAAGHHH" – the roar is deep and primal, he doubles up as steam billows from his ears, a hump begins to bubble up on his back, horns protrude from his forehead – amazingly though, the effect is actually a bit more pleasant than what was there before.

"It's an improvement anyway" says Graham Geraghty, slugging out of the bottle, spilling some on his Michael Thomas autographed Arsenal jersey. "I coulda played in a World Cup, but I was too fit for the lads in Highbury, made them look bad. Trevor, get stuck in to that."

He throws Giles the bottle, but the centre forward uncharacteristically drops it. "You'd better get yourself together" Geraghty warns. Trevor nods, reaches under the seat and produces a pair of scissors. Slowly, solemnly he cuts his M+S geansai sleeves above the shoulders. A low hum of approval comes from the others.

Sean is bouncing now. "Colm, leave that and have a drink." Colm Coyle lays down the M60 machine gun he has been oiling and takes a gulp. "Tommy, your turn now." Tommy Dowd opens his mouth and a high pitched scream, like a tortured kettle emits. Everyone except Sean holds their ears. "Yes, Tommy we’ll be there soon. Mick, have a sup there."

"Right, ok Mick. Anyway lads, this is going to be some challenge, today, yeah, some challenge, football, it's great isn't it? So let's let it in long to Colm, Brian and Bernard, Gerry break whatever ball you can in midfield, take the frees quick off the ground, let's rip out their eyes and piss on their brains, and whatever else we do, enjoy yourselves. Right?" He rubs his hands together genially.

Colm O'Rourke breaks off from wrapping a lagging jacket around his knee. "Ah Sean, what was the last part?"

On the back seat of the bus, still and grave, immense and foreboding, like a statue on Easter Island, sits Mick Lyons.

In Omagh, Mickey Harte and Sean Cavanagh are taking a turn around the side of the pitch, discussing tactics.

"Not at all Mickey, we'll burn them off in the final 20, sure they had nothing left against Westmeath.....Sheeeit!"

The armoured bus has just pulled into the car park. Sean Boylan bounces off, followed by the clanking, armoured hordes of Mordor. "Howya lads!" he waves genially.

"You're very welcome back to RTE-E's coverage of the All Ireland Qualifiers two thousand fifteen-een, with me-ee, Brian Carthy. Controversy here in Omagh today as a considerably changed Meath team, have tested the very limits of manliness and hardy football here today against a shellshocked Tyrone side.

Right from the start Meath tested the referees patience, as Liam Harnan, having just downed a pint of Ivomec F proceeded to feast on the innards of Peter Harte, and which surely deserved a black card at least. Graham Geraghty has been a constant thorn in the side of the Tyrone defence, at one stage wrapping a Fine Gael poster around Sean Cavanagh before punching him in the face and then scoring a remarkable point off his left. Trevor Giles' radar is on today, as he has been taking the kickouts, scoring three of them, whilst Colm O'Rourke, despite sustaining a concussion after being sandwiched by Joe McMahon and an ice cream van, was told by the selectors that he is Bernard Brogan and has scored two stylish points from play.

The only reason Tyrone are still in this is because Meath are a man down, though interestingly, it was not as a result of the referee. Colm Coyle failed to return to the pitch after half time. I'm told he is out in the car park, tampering with the brakes of the Tyrone bus. It's building up to a pulsating championship finale here in He-ealy Park, with me Brian Carthy..."

Up in the stands, some can take it no more. Brian Dooher leaps up and cries "I still have my boots Mickey!" and dashes down the steps, before tripping over a strategically placed Meath fan's boot. He is last seen being attended to by the St. John's ambulance, a bandage several times bigger than his head being applied.

Squeaky bum time. Mick Lyons grabs the ball and heads out from defence – the teams are all square and Sean Cavanagh is desperate to keep Meath in their half. It is time for cynicism. He launches himself at Mick Lyons....

Mick Lyons says "............." and handpasses to PJ Gillic, who launches a bomb into the atmosphere – it hits a seagull before hurtling back into the square, bouncing back up...and over the bar.

On the way to the dressing room, Mick Lyons wipes the battered remnants of Sean Cavanagh from his legs. Sean Boylan is talking to Marty Morrisey – "Great game Marty, manly, sporting, football, it's great isn't it...."

One last stop on a long, winding road back to the Royal county. At a well-appointed, detached house in the country, Sean Boylan rings a doorbell.

Peter Canavan opens the door. "Ah howya, Sean, ye did well today lads, fair dues to ye. I wasn't able to make it myself."

"Ah yeah, great Peter, it was a great performance. Anyway, just wanted to let someone say hello to you. Martin, come up here Martin...."

That's tremendous.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2015, 10:00:04 PM
Will Dermy Carlin be replaced?
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2015, 09:01:23 AM

Sean is bouncing now. "Colm, leave that and have a drink." Colm Coyle lays down the M60 machine gun he has been oiling and takes a gulp. "Tommy, your turn now." Tommy Dowd opens his mouth and a high pitched scream, like a tortured kettle emits. Everyone except Sean holds their ears. "Yes, Tommy we'll be there soon. Mick, have a sup there."

Only seeing this now. Brilliant stuff, easytiger.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 03, 2015, 09:11:43 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 03, 2015, 09:01:23 AM

Only seeing this now. Brilliant stuff, easytiger.

Good read - Really captured Sean Boylan to a t and now I'm wondering about the size of Brian Dooher's head
Post by: TheGateKeeper on July 03, 2015, 09:54:55 AM
Tyrone are a class above Meath:
When you consider Tyrone's Superior tactics, skill level and general footballing ability; and add to that,Meath's bad Karma and clueless tactics, another Tyrone victory is a certainty!
The Red-hand marches on.
Tir Eoghain abu   :)

Post by: TheGateKeeper on July 03, 2015, 11:19:29 AM
When they stopped 'juicing' the Boyne water;
Meath fell into serious decline!
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2015, 11:22:53 AM
Hoho. Hah. Heee haaaaah Oh God. Stop.

Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2015, 11:38:23 AM
It'll be interesting to see how Meath react to last week. The players will feel humiliated. They'll either crawl into their shell and start again next year or they'll stick the chests out and leather into Tyrone.
Post by: Jinxy on July 03, 2015, 12:49:36 PM
We'll need a strong ref for this.
Preferably one who's familiar with the Tyrone brand of dark arts.
Post by: general_lee on July 03, 2015, 12:53:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 03, 2015, 12:49:36 PM
Can't wait to see big O'Rourke do his party piece on Cavanagh  ;D
Post by: Mikhailov on July 03, 2015, 01:34:59 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 03, 2015, 12:53:11 PM

General, please keep up with the rules - big O'Rourke is suspended. Didn't see too many Armagh men try it on against the Donegal men.....
Post by: Jinxy on July 03, 2015, 02:16:23 PM
Is Donal Smyth still our sub keeper?
Post by: thejuice on July 03, 2015, 04:37:24 PM
Any serious analysis (not the rte variety) of Meath before the start of the championship would have lead anyone to the conclusion that it was highly likely that we would struggle against Wicklow and Westmeath would have their best ever chance of winning.

There has been a repeating pattern for Meath under MO'D of a poor start to the league followed by a strong enough finish. Then follows the gap between the league and championship where about 5 first team players usually get injured. This year has been the same but the injuries just haven't cleared up and the rest of the panel seem underprepared or just not up to the required standard.

Most of the injured players are in the defensive lines so taking a few scores from Wicklow was no surprise. The papers were talking about a lot of debutants on the Meath backline but none of these lads were worthy of starting if all the others were fit. At least our forwards seem to be functioning somewhat as evidenced in the first half against Westmeath. Sadly MO'D switched Rooney for Flanagan which proved to be a negative step. This error was compounded by Graham Reilly's black card and then we were completely overran in midfield. It wasn't so much as a collapse last week as it was more a case of poor judgment and bad luck falling together. For all that is wrong with Meath though had we a fully fit squad we would have won that game by a fair margin.

For this game, Mick only really has the option of putting out the strongest and fittest 15 he has available and just pray he doesn't have to make any subs because there is no depth to the panel right now. Bray, Wallace, McMahon and Newman might be able to cause a few problems for Tyrone but I doubt they will present enough of a threat for the full 70 minutes to win the game as they are likely to not get enough space and possession in a crowded defensive area.

Tyrone simply aren't as talented enough to win silverware bar maybe a division 2 title but they will have enough for this one and organised enough to get to beat an out of sorts under strength Meath team.
Post by: red hander on July 03, 2015, 04:49:52 PM

A Meath man complaining about the dark arts... that's the death of irony right there  ???
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2015, 08:04:29 PM
The mayfly is late this year.
Post by: rrhf on July 03, 2015, 08:44:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2015, 11:38:23 AM
It'll be interesting to see how Meath react to last week. The players will feel humiliated. They'll either crawl into their shell and start again next year or they'll stick the chests out and leather into Tyrone.
Custer's last stand..
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2015, 09:36:52 PM
Surely no one would object to Sludden reffin this.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 03, 2015, 10:13:40 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 03, 2015, 04:49:52 PM

A Meath man complaining about the dark arts... that's the death of irony right there  ???

Well, he did say Tyrone's brand of dark arts: compared to those of Meath I suppose we should really be calling ours the light and fluffy arts. ;)
Post by: rrhf on July 04, 2015, 07:13:03 AM
We'll need a strong ref doctor for this.
Post by: rrhf on July 04, 2015, 07:14:42 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 03, 2015, 02:16:23 PM
Is Donal Smyth still our sub keeper?
Can he hit hard?

He's in!!!
Post by: general_lee on July 04, 2015, 10:35:27 AM
Quote from: Mikhailov on July 03, 2015, 01:34:59 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 03, 2015, 12:53:11 PM

General, please keep up with the rules - big O'Rourke is suspended. Didn't see too many Armagh men try it on against the Donegal men.....
realised my mistake as soon as I posted it.  :'( Armagh men too dizzy from chasing shadows to try any thing that day  >:(
Post by: jodyb on July 04, 2015, 12:36:32 PM

Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2015, 09:36:52 PM
Surely no one would object to Sludden reffin this.
;D ;D
Post by: An Watcher on July 05, 2015, 01:11:52 PM
Has a date and time been sorted for this yet?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 05, 2015, 02:38:06 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on July 05, 2015, 01:11:52 PM
Has a date and time been sorted for this yet?

I believe it's being announced tomorrow.
Post by: Hereiam on July 06, 2015, 02:36:50 PM
Christ we have dropped off page 1. Has all been said that needs to be said.
3:00PM Saturday. Bring it on.
Post by: shawshank on July 06, 2015, 02:45:01 PM

classic gaaboard.com
Post by: Fuzzman on July 06, 2015, 03:59:17 PM
Anyone know is this on TV?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 04:12:19 PM
I don't think so. Both hurling games are live from Thurles, and RTE and SKy are both there, so they probably can't send another OB Unit up to Omagh.
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2015, 04:32:51 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on July 06, 2015, 02:36:50 PM

Home in time for the Angelus.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2015, 04:53:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2015, 04:32:51 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on July 06, 2015, 02:36:50 PM

Home in time for the Angelus.

Never mind the Angelus, I'd say there'll be lads driving up and down Saturday saying the rosary.
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2015, 04:18:57 PM
Morgan in nets?
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2015, 04:41:11 PM
Are Tyrone and Meath still in the Championship??
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2015, 10:50:22 PM
Time to get back on the championship road. A big improvement is needed from the Limerick and a big increase in work rate and desire. A good win and performance could set us up well. There's players on the field that haven't nailed down positions and I'd be very tempted to throw in a few more u21s and hope they can really stand up this week and beyond if we win. I'd go with something like this:

Morgan
Mcrory
Mcnamme
Mcccarron
Mcnabb
Justy
Harte
Colm c
McNulty (need someone big in here and might be worth another look at)
Meyler (hard working half forward that we need but would be big step up and may be injured)
Donnelly
McShane
Bradley
Sean c
Mcaliskey

In reality I'd be surprised if either mcshane or meyler were on.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2015, 11:13:42 PM
McNulty could be a good shout, your young man Rooney (?) won everything in the first half in Westmeath game so we'll need someone in there to disrupt the high fielding.

Bradley has to start for us. I wonder will Mickey drop McCurry or find space for Bradley at 10 or 12?
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2015, 11:38:23 AM
Who do you trust to do a job on Wallace and McMahon? I'd worry about McCrory on McMahon.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 08, 2015, 11:49:52 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2015, 10:50:22 PM
Time to get back on the championship road. A big improvement is needed from the Limerick and a big increase in work rate and desire. A good win and performance could set us up well. There's players on the field that haven't nailed down positions and I'd be very tempted to throw in a few more u21s and hope they can really stand up this week and beyond if we win. I'd go with something like this:

Morgan
Mcrory
Mcnamme
Mcccarron
Mcnabb
Justy
Harte
Colm c
Meyler (hard working half forward that we need but would be big step up and may be injured)
Donnelly
McShane
Bradley
Sean c
Mcaliskey

Meyler & Mickey oneill both injured i believe
Post by: Fuzzman on July 08, 2015, 03:22:27 PM
McAliskey really looks like he's stepping up to the mark the last few games.
His point v Limerick from play where he got in between a few defenders and turned and shot was amazing

McCurry does seem to be too easily marked sometimes but he does seem to come out the field a lot too so I presume its tactical to pull his man out to leave space for Sean and Skit

Our defence and overall team seems to have settled down quite a bit from last year.
I only expect Bradley to be the only change this time

Was a bit disappointed again by Mattie last time out.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 08, 2015, 03:30:40 PM
Will the losing manager of this game be riding off into the sunset I wonder? It's probably a fair bet that Mickey is on the countdown with Tyrone regardless of what happens at the weekend, but I'd have thought O'Dowd would have planned on a longer stay with Meath. Is he in jeopardy if they lose this?
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2015, 03:34:26 PM
He's gone if we lose.
Would need to make a quarter-final to keep the job.
Post by: Hardy on July 08, 2015, 04:16:13 PM
The thing is, I think he has the right philosophy and football vision - a version of football that's in line with my own preferences/prejudices. But whether it can work in today's semi- (or almost fully-) professional environment is questionable. And, as you say, Jinxy, whether he'll get any more time to try to make it work is also questionable. As well as all that, it probably can't work without some changes in the rules that would restore the emphasis on the traditional strengths, skills and virtues of the game and minimise the rewards to be gained from gym-monkeying, running, basketball skills, diving and full time training.

I know others feel differently, but I'd like him to get more time to try. Probably with a good tactician added to the management team.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 08, 2015, 05:07:30 PM
Have ye ever been to Omagh before lads?
Are ye staying overnight?
Any chance of a lift up and down?
Post by: redhandefender on July 08, 2015, 05:13:29 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 08, 2015, 11:49:52 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2015, 10:50:22 PM

Morgan
Mcrory
Mcnamme
Mcccarron
Mcnabb
Justy
Harte
Colm c
Donnelly
McShane
Bradley
Sean c
Mcaliskey

Meyler & Mickey oneill both injured i believe

Meyler is off on his jollys with the omagh lads I believe
Post by: rrhf on July 08, 2015, 05:37:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 08, 2015, 04:16:13 PM
The thing is, I think he has the right philosophy and football vision - a version of football that's in line with my own preferences/prejudices. But whether it can work in today's semi- (or almost fully-) professional environment is questionable. And, as you say, Jinxy, whether he'll get any more time to try to make it work is also questionable. As well as all that, it probably can't work without some changes in the rules that would restore the emphasis on the traditional strengths, skills and virtues of the game and minimise the rewards to be gained from gym-monkeying, running, basketball skills, diving and full time training.
I know others feel differently, but I'd like him to get more time to try. Probably with a good tactician added to the management team.
I agree with you -  we are a long way away from seeing that type of abject knavery that snaffled a Leinster title against Louth and I must admit it is to be admired that they have changed their ways.  Whilst I wouldnt considered myself a major fan of Meath football I have to admit I enjoyed their performance against Westmeath..   
Post by: Hardy on July 08, 2015, 06:59:04 PM
That's a poor attempt at trash talking. Would it help if I gave you the the names of my dead relations?
Post by: rrhf on July 08, 2015, 07:35:39 PM
Agh surely you are not into that?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2015, 07:40:12 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 08, 2015, 06:59:04 PM
That's a poor attempt at trash talking. Would it help if I gave you the the names of my dead relations?

Typical Meath response. They taught us well!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 08, 2015, 10:01:03 PM
Based on Tyrone's underwhelming performance v Limerick, I have bet 20 on Meath to win 50 extra.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 08, 2015, 10:44:01 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 08, 2015, 10:01:03 PM
Based on Tyrone's underwhelming performance v Limerick, I have bet 20 on Meath to win 50 extra.

You've lost your money then. Just look at the shape of the Tyrone players and the shape of the Meath lads. Men against boys in a lot of cases, just like Armagh last year. Mick O'Dowd hasn't won a qualifier game with Meath & I don't believe he will. The writing is on the wall for him after three years and no significant success (unless you count losing Div 3 final) and the players know that too. In fact, other than beating Kildare, this Meath team has done nothing in the championship of any note whatsoever. In many ways he has been unlucky, especially with injuries. But in other ways, like his tactical awareness and game management he has been woefully inept. There is no plausible version of this year's All-Ireland series that saves Mick O'Dowd's job. 2013 will likely be looked at as his best year, running the Dubs reasonably close for 40 minutes and then losing to Tyrone Seán Cavanagh in R4 Qualifier.
Post by: rrhf on July 08, 2015, 10:53:16 PM
I disagree.  I think it's a catapult game. The winner will push on significantly.  The loser will have to make changes in players and management.  It will come down to fine margin.s
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2015, 11:25:03 PM
Is Harte definitely gone at the end of this campaign? Is that the thinking?
Post by: trileacman on July 09, 2015, 12:20:18 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 08, 2015, 11:25:03 PM

Well that's his thinking so I suppose he is gone. Short of an All-Ireland title or final appearance I don't see the necessary support to carry him through again. Also by the sounds of things he's said of late/changes he made at the end of last season I think he realises this is the end too.
Post by: loughshore lad on July 09, 2015, 08:18:28 AM
Quote from: trileacman on July 09, 2015, 12:20:18 AM

Well that's his thinking so I suppose he is gone. Short of an All-Ireland title or final appearance I don't see the necessary support to carry him through again. Also by the sounds of things he's said of late/changes he made at the end of last season I think he realises this is the end too.

What has Mickey said or done to indicate this is the end for him?
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2015, 09:57:27 AM
If our lads were actually just fit we would be a top 8 team.
There's a big drop-off after the big three.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 09, 2015, 10:07:49 AM
^ Not the first time a Meath man landed a good dig against Mayo!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 09, 2015, 10:12:22 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 08, 2015, 04:16:13 PM
I know others feel differently, but I'd like him to get more time to try.

I'd say there's not too many outside Meath who'd mind him getting more time in the job  ;D
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 09, 2015, 12:53:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 09, 2015, 09:57:27 AM
If our lads were actually just fit we would be a top 8 team.
There's a big drop-off after the big three.

Who are the big three in your opinion, Dublin, Kerry and Donegal/Mayo?
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2015, 01:11:00 PM
Dublin, Monaghan and Roscommon.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 09, 2015, 08:30:04 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on July 09, 2015, 08:18:28 AM
Quote from: trileacman on July 09, 2015, 12:20:18 AM

What has Mickey said or done to indicate this is the end for him?

His term is up at the end of this year and there's seems to be very little in the way of appetite for him to stay on.

Bar winning the All-Ireland it looks likes its time for a new broom.

I'd imagine that both the winning and losing managers in this game are pretty much dead men walking in terms of surviving the winter as manager.

The U21 winning management team would look odds on to take over in Tyrone. Meath I'd imagine is a far more open situation in terms of possible successors.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 09, 2015, 09:41:45 PM
Tyrone v Meath
Saturday 11th July
Healy Park, Omagh @ 3.00pm

Championship appearances in brackets.

1 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc - Total Senior Appearances 37 (6)
2 - Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin - Total Senior Appearances 64 (13)
3 - Ronan McNamee - Achadh Uí Aráin - Total Senior Appearances 39 (7)
4 - Cathal McCarron - An Droim Mór - Total Senior Appearances 66 (16)
5 - Ronan McNabb - An Droim Mór - Total Senior Appearances 40 (10)
6 - Joe McMahon - An Omaigh - Total Senior Appearances 118 (57)
7 - Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin - Total Senior Appearances 85 (27)
8 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh - Total Senior Appearances 103 (38)
9 - Mattie Donnelly - Trí Leac - Total Senior Appearances 60 (18)
10 - Tiernan McCann - Coill an Chlochair - Total Senior Appearances 25 (3)
11 - Ronan O Neill - An Omaigh - Total Senior Appearances 34 (8 )
12 - Rory Brennan - Trí Leac - Total Senior Appearances 5 (2)
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadan na dTorc - Total Senior Appearances 41 (15)
14 - Sean Cavanagh (c) - An Mhaigh - Total Senior Appearances 204 (74)
15 - Connor McAliskey - Cluain Eo - Total Senior Appearances 38 (11)

16 - Sean Fox - Coill an Chochair - Total Senior Appearances 1 (0)
17 - Mark Bradley - Coill an Chlochair - Total Senior Appearances 3 (2)
18 - Conor Clarke - An Omaigh - Total Senior Appearances 38 (13)
19 - Richie Donnelly - Trí Leac - Total Senior Appearances 1 (1)
20 - Peter Hughes - Eiscreach - Total Senior Appearances 17 (0)
21 - Danny McBride - An Srath Bán - Total Senior Appearances 19 (4)
22 - Conall McCann - Coill an Chochair - Total Senior Appearances 9 (0)
23 - Padraig McNulty - Dún Geanainn - Total Senior Appearances 13 (1)
24 - Cathal McShane - E. R. Uí Néill - Total Senior Appearances 7 (1)
25 - Patrick Quinn - Dún Geanainn - Total Senior Appearances 3 (0)
26 - Barry Tierney - An Omaigh - Total Senior Appearances 20 (3)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2015, 10:07:20 PM
Same team bar Joe swapping with Justin. Can see Bradley starting ahead of McCurry on Saturday.
Post by: redzone on July 09, 2015, 10:14:04 PM
Justy injured?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 09, 2015, 11:37:19 PM
Quote from: redzone on July 09, 2015, 10:14:04 PM
Justy injured?

According to Hoganstand.com, he is, as is Mickey O'Neill (knee).
Post by: An Watcher on July 10, 2015, 07:50:18 AM
Should I be able to pick up tickets in omagh on Saturday or can I pay at the gate?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 10, 2015, 09:39:21 AM
Buy tickets st the gate, they were £13 for adult kids under 16 go free. The whole ground was open against Limerick for the same price, is it my imagination or is the stand and terrace not usually separated with a lower price option for terrace?
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2015, 09:47:08 AM
What's the weather for tomorrow?

Hopefully rain to give the Meath wans a good oul wash.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2015, 10:12:08 AM
Good going suits us.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 10, 2015, 10:16:38 AM
Bandages get heavy in the rain. Maybe waterproof sticky plasters are the way forward.
Post by: orangeman on July 10, 2015, 11:58:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 10, 2015, 09:47:08 AM
What's the weather for tomorrow?

Hopefully rain to give the Meath wans a good oul wash.

Forecast is for stormy weather around 5pm.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 10, 2015, 12:32:05 PM
I've a feeling bandages will be of no use tomorrow as the men from the Boyne land in Ulster for a fight with the red hand army.

(http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3277/3109026864_439580b13c.jpg)

How will Meath handle our 13 man red hand defenders I wonder from Newtownstewart.
(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/81/Red_Hand_Defenders_flute_band_parade_in_Newtownstewart_-_12_July_2010_-_geograph_-_1963520.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2015, 09:37:49 PM
Was down at the homestead today and it was tara quiet regarding the game. No buzz at all and zero expectation. Twas like 1999.
Post by: Gaffer on July 10, 2015, 10:54:31 PM
What game?
Post by: Rois on July 10, 2015, 11:09:54 PM
Got a text asking me if I was going but I'm in France - wouldn't have done that in the 2000s.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 10, 2015, 11:58:42 PM
This time tomorrow Tyrone could be out and it wouldn't be a major shock.
Post by: Bo Man on July 11, 2015, 12:01:24 AM
Away for a few days. Think we will get our fill of it again will have to make do with twitter updates.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 11, 2015, 12:10:54 AM
Big game for Harte and the team after a very subdued performance the last day and a strange season generally. We have to push on more and move the ball directly. A good win sets us up nicely for a shot at a good run, a loss would be a disaster for Harte and not good for many of the current team who haven't done it often enough in championship football.

I really hope there's a few changes. We got beat by Armagh last year and our half forward line was very weak. I'm not convinced tomorrow's is much stronger. Ronan oneill should be corner forward or not on in my opinion.  I also don't think we can play Harte around the middle against decent teams, maybe joe will play there tomorrow.

A very low key build up with little pressure on the players combined with the sight of Meath jerseys will hopefully bring out a good performance, we owe them a hammering! Would not be surprised after Westmeath result if Meath set up very defensively which could be hard to play against.

Post by: BennyHarp on July 11, 2015, 07:52:57 AM
Easy win for Tyrone today! Building up to August and another rattle at Donegal! Who are we playing today anyway?
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 11, 2015, 09:20:22 AM
Meaths first championship game in Tyrone after what they did in 96. I'd imagine they'll be better behaved today. Want to see a bit of fire in out players today and a big performance from mattie Donnelly. He's potentially Our best player but too many games have passed him by.

Have no idea what to expect from us today. If we turn up should have enough to do it .
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2015, 02:54:18 PM
Is it on the wireless lads?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 11, 2015, 02:55:25 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2015, 02:54:18 PM
Is it on the wireless lads?

It's on RTE radio 1
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2015, 03:01:02 PM
sounds like a lot of changes in the Tyrone forwards than what was named
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2015, 03:04:15 PM
Also on LMFM.ie
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2015, 03:17:59 PM
Eamonn Wallace off injured.

Clearly they're targeting our key men.

Sounds like an awful game so far with all Tyrone players in their own half.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 03:26:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 11, 2015, 03:17:59 PM
Eamonn Wallace off injured.

Clearly they're targeting our key men.

Sounds like an awful game so far with all Tyrone players in their own half.

Are u serious?
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2015, 03:28:06 PM
I'm not too bad, thanks.
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2015, 03:30:13 PM
Two points in 25 minutes!
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2015, 03:38:58 PM
Can't belive we're actually in front in this dire dire game
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2015, 03:43:45 PM
4-3 at half time. It's hard to listen to. I don't know what it must be like to watch.
Post by: yellowcard on July 11, 2015, 03:47:09 PM
Harte's reign as Tyrone manager could be over in three quarters of an hour. Three points at home to an average side tells its own story. 
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2015, 03:49:52 PM
Please God let the 2nd half be better, it can't be much worse!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 11, 2015, 03:54:06 PM
Did it say on the radio Tyrone were playing with the wind that half? Makes the score look worse
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 03:55:22 PM
Don't know where you're getting your info re targetting players as there is Feck all intensity here, you'd see worse challenges in an u-10 blitz.

Anyway Tyrone Feckin dung, Meath scored 4 in about 7 mins to lead 4 points to three at half time. Very slippy wet day although no excuse for the crap standard of football.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 11, 2015, 03:57:29 PM
This sounds awful. And to make things worse I'm forced to listen to Tommy Carr's analysis.
Post by: Rossfan on July 11, 2015, 04:00:17 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 11, 2015, 03:57:29 PM
This sounds awful. And to make things worse I'm forced to listen to Tommy Carr's analysis.
That's too much cruelty to inflict on anyone :(
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2015, 04:13:30 PM
Tyrone's discomfort has its charm.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 11, 2015, 04:40:30 PM
A wins a win I suppose!
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2015, 04:44:24 PM
Another crappy season over, better now I reckon
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2015, 04:48:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 11, 2015, 04:00:17 PM
That's too much cruelty to inflict on anyone :(

I texted him last week to get him to give Cregger MotM btw.
Post by: Throw ball on July 11, 2015, 05:06:23 PM
A win for Tyrone and they may get a few more but is this to their benefit in the long term. More and more forwards seem to be reluctant to commit.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2015, 05:28:31 PM
I'm fecking gutted, that it wasn't a disputed one measly point win!   ;D

Seriously, what the fook did we do wrong like? ;)
Post by: mcslaggart on July 11, 2015, 05:29:38 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 11, 2015, 04:40:30 PM
A wins a win I suppose!

I was at the match and I found it very exciting at the end.  The first half was truly awful.  ( the pitch was very very slippy)

A few more players like Bradley from the U21 would make a big difference.

Post by: TF15 on July 11, 2015, 05:43:46 PM
Bradley a breath of fresh air! Great wee player. Tierney McCann did really well off the bench. Thought Cavanagh and Harte battled well second half in the middle. First half brutal, second very good to watch. Reilly of Meath was really good also. Here's to a good draw in the next round!
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 05:49:11 PM
More on match later but Graham Reilly has a fierce good tan on him for the weather we've been having!
Post by: Mikhailov on July 11, 2015, 06:02:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 10, 2015, 11:09:54 PM
Got a text asking me if I was going but I'm in France - wouldn't have done that in the 2000s.

Sunshine supporter - only follow us in the good times !!
Post by: An Watcher on July 11, 2015, 06:03:13 PM
Credit were credit is due as we were in trouble five minutes into the second half. Two points down and playing into the wind they stood up. Probably learnt more from that game than a handy ten point win. I'm encouraged by some of the young players. Love another crack at Donegal
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 11, 2015, 06:05:39 PM
Seriously whats makes you think you are fit for Donegal, they have turned over Tyrone past 4 times and the Tyrone team weaker now that the previous ones!A reality check is needed
Post by: Club Rossa on July 11, 2015, 06:27:31 PM
Christ,that first half was brutal altogether,as bad as I've seen in a long time.Picked up slightly after the break.Tiernan McCann played very well and Mark Bradley was excellent.I don't know if we'll get much further but It's a huge relief to be in the next round.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 07:06:43 PM
First half plus 5/10 minutes at start of second was absolutely shockingly, it appeared that the team had more or less consigned themselves to defeat early in second half. One instance summed it up for me when Colm Cavanagh intercepted a ball on our 40 and released Petey Harte, he had two support runners who more or less left him to his own devices and Harte got turned over allowing Meath to tag on a point.

Shortly after this Tiernan McCann came thundering into the game and had his best game for us, IMO. Ran straight at the heart of Meath's defence and they couldn't stop it, as far as I make it he scored 1 point himself and had a direct input into at least 1-03 of our second half scores. One in particular would have pleased the Cappagh gaels when Tiernan combined with the younger brother and fed it out to Bradley on the left to fire over a beauty.

Overall, I'm pleased with the performance, especially considering the outlook at 40 mins. Who do we want next? Most favourable draw would be Tipp although an Armagh or Derry game would focus the minds bigtime.
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2015, 07:09:32 PM
I suppose Mickey can remove all the daggers from his back and have some respite for a week or so from the tyrone klan.
Post by: thejuice on July 11, 2015, 07:15:22 PM
You can get a tan footing turf.

Not too bothered at least we weren't hammered. Hopefully we'll come back with a new set up next year whether with Mick O'Dowd at the helm or not I don't mind. Hopefully we'll be more match fit and with less injuries. If any good came from today it shows we can play defensive football if need be even without our full strength squad.
Post by: larryin89 on July 11, 2015, 07:22:07 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 07:06:43 PM
First half plus 5/10 minutes at start of second was absolutely shockingly, it appeared that the team had more or less consigned themselves to defeat early in second half. One instance summed it up for me when Colm Cavanagh intercepted a ball on our 40 and released Petey Harte, he had two support runners who more or less left him to his own devices and Harte got turned over allowing Meath to tag on a point.

Shortly after this Tiernan McCann came thundering into the game and had his best game for us, IMO. Ran straight at the heart of Meath's defence and they couldn't stop it, as far as I make it he scored 1 point himself and had a direct input into at least 1-03 of our second half scores. One in particular would have pleased the Cappagh gaels when Tiernan combined with the younger brother and fed it out to Bradley on the left to fire over a beauty.

Overall, I'm pleased with the performance, especially considering the outlook at 40 mins. Who do we want next? Most favourable draw would be Tipp although an Armagh or Derry game would focus the minds bigtime.

Galway might have a say in that yet.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 07:40:12 PM
Oops, we owe them after last year so I hope to get another crack at them!
Post by: reddgnhand on July 11, 2015, 07:53:42 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 11, 2015, 07:09:32 PM
I suppose Mickey can remove all the daggers from his back and have some respite for a week or so from the tyrone klan.

You're totally obsessed about Tyrone.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 11, 2015, 07:59:55 PM

Analysis is a very strong word for what Tommy Carr does. He's unbelievably useless. Whatever the ref does is correct and he just won't shut up. He should sit at home talking non-stop through matches, so we don't have to listen to him and stop his "analysing"/see-and-say shite he carries on with on RTE.
Post by: agorm on July 11, 2015, 08:23:54 PM
Well done Tyrone. A draw would have been a fair result but an incredibly soft penalty after McCann was taken down, complete overcarrying in the lead up to the penalty which was a complete game changer. Two games in a row in which an incorrect referee decision was a game changer  but it shouldnt have mattered against Westmeath and if we had beaten them then we wouldnt have been in Omagh today.

At this stage I dont know what to say about the management of the team. There has been good characteristics shown and finally finally he is starting to play players in their natural positions. But he continues to persevere with bringing on young Joey Wallace. He hasnt freshened up the squad at all since the league when there are players on the panel he has patently no faith in.

However Meath in recent years have ran out the last two management teams with no idea of how to replace them . In hindsight getting rid of Eamonn OBrien was a mistake and Banty was not popular with many in the county. If MOD wants to stay on he needs to prove hat he has addressed some of the issues that were persistently evident this year. I would prefer to see an experienced / proven manager take over but we such a person that is a better option may not be available. Perhaps MOD with GG, Darren Fay or similar.
Post by: Throw ball on July 11, 2015, 08:49:03 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 07:06:43 PM

Tipp would be no pushover for Tyrone. Think it will be Derry v Tyrone and Tipp v Galway although hope Armagh win tomorrow obviously.
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2015, 09:24:10 PM
Those first 45 mins were hard going. Conditions were not ideal and a wet slippery surface didn't help but some of the shot selection was inexcusable. At the time it was baffling to watch Tyrone play a rugby-league style approach with a decent wind at their back. It really was turgid stuff with both sides leaving 1 forward up on his own and little in the way of adventure.

Afterwards I heard Mickey say that the plan was to do exactly that - suffocate Meath in the first half and avoid a repeat of the way they blitzed Westmeath - then hit them with pace in the second half hence the introductions of McCann and McCurry at half time. It's that's accurate well then, yeah, it worked perfectly.

But Jesus, that was horrible to watch and only for Sean's experience we could have been trailing 4-1 at HT. Who on earth would want to be a forward? Bradley was everywhere. If he wasn't tapping over frees or running at their half back blanket, he was chasing back at full pelt to mark their no 10. Penrose and Dooher used to do the same in their prime but these days all forwards, bar one, are expected to do that. That left the long ball redundant as McAliskey was often surrounded by three Meath men having a picnic. When McCurry appeared and Tyrone reverted to a 2-man FF line it gave Meath something to think about and opened up space for McCann and Harte to exploit.

But going back to Mickey's interview again - if that was the plan it worked (just about - the pen was the difference). But Meath were there to be destroyed in that first half and Tyrone offered them far too much respect. That killer instinct doesn't exist. The confidence isn't there to leave the defence man-on-man and blitz the opposition.

As an aside, when was the last time a Tyrone player emptied someone like Bellew or Gormley would have, with a clumsy legit tackle? Dubs, Donegal and Kerry can all write-off players within the rules.

Tyrone are good enough to beat Derry, Armagh, Tipp or Galway and might even be considered underdog for some of those. To go beyond that is bonus territory and that's when it gets exciting.

Are we down to the last 16 now?
Post by: redzone on July 11, 2015, 09:44:24 PM
Your right on the consistent hand passing sideways. When Tyrone did run direct  down  the middle they caused all sorts of bother. Likewise Meath done the same near the end and Tyrone couldn't handle it. Harte is definitely a relived man tonight. He lives to fight another day. Only a semi final at least will safe him I'd imagine at this stage
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2015, 09:45:22 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 11, 2015, 07:15:22 PM
You can get a tan footing turf.

Not too bothered at least we weren't hammered. Hopefully we'll come back with a new set up next year whether with Mick O'Dowd at the helm or not I don't mind. Hopefully we'll be more match fit and with less injuries. If any good came from today it shows we can play defensive football if need be even without our full strength squad.
Thank God Galway didn't lose to Meath again this year
Post by: smelmoth on July 11, 2015, 09:47:48 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 11, 2015, 08:49:03 PM
Think it will be Derry v Tyrone and Tipp v Galway
Based on what exactly?
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2015, 10:02:19 PM
What did yez think of Morgan today?

A mixed bag but mostly good I thought. One head stagger of a short kick out that led to a Meath pointed free but besides that some brave fielding and a clinker of a long kick out to McMahon first half.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2015, 10:07:16 PM
Morgan was steady today, nothing spectacular but caught a few dicey ones and kick outs were, on the whole, spot on.

What's the craic with McShane? Is he injured?
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2015, 10:12:16 PM
Not jumping on their grave but the traditional Meathian qualities were not evident and it was strange to see the green jersey and not have that feeling that someone is going to get milled here. Soft centre.
Post by: tyroneman on July 11, 2015, 10:22:10 PM
I think based on the last 2 games we will struggle to beat Derry, Tip, Galway or Armagh to be honest.
Post by: Goals_Will_Come on July 11, 2015, 10:27:06 PM
I was at the last two games and I must say Tyrone were shocking in both.
May get lucky next time and possibly the time after if they get Sligo but once they get to croke park, I fear a repeat of 2011 against Dublin.
To many overhyped players that simply don't produce enough. Compared to the big teams we think we can compete with, not many of our players would make their teams.
We need a reality check, no more than a team that can compete on one given day, nowhere anywhere near winning anything.
Post by: Rodman on July 11, 2015, 10:28:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 11, 2015, 10:02:19 PM
What did yez think of Morgan today?

A mixed bag but mostly good I thought. One head stagger of a short kick out that led to a Meath pointed free but besides that some brave fielding and a clinker of a long kick out to McMahon first half.

I think overall he is a liability.  Likely to do anything and hold my breath everytime he comes to claim a high ball outside the square. 1 free kick from 45m and he hit it wide. He would have kicked that over in his sleep 2 years ago.  His kicking has gone to pot.  Mcaliskey's free kicking was awful as well, hit 3 off the ground, didn't connect well with any of them, missed 2 and just about converted the other one from 21 yards. 

Post by: clarshack on July 11, 2015, 11:56:49 PM
Tyrone made hard work of it today. Morgan and mcaliskey were liabilities tbh. Morgans decision making was poor and the sooner Mickey O'Neill is back the better. Mcaliskey was having a shocker and was even lucky to put one over from 21 yards Off the ground. In the warmup he was banging 45's over no probs. Also Peter Harte was poor up until he scored 1-1. Sorry but not sure if Richie donnelly is up to county level. Positives were that Mark bradley was superb and tiernan McCann made a big difference when he came on. Tyrone have still enough to get through next round but that is as good as it will get.
Post by: tyroneman on July 12, 2015, 12:09:03 AM
Richie Donnelly had a complete mare but it could well have been nerves. Def worth another few runs. We write players off far too handy.

The key issues today were:

Running into group tackles and getting turned over
A lack of a of free taker (been an issue since PtG retired)
Not releasing the ball quick enough when forwards make the runs
Most of the non forwards being terrified to shoot - in the 2003-8 set up everyone could take a point (bar Hub usually , but he made up for that elsewhere on the pitch)
Poor kick passing (when we did try it)
Lack of reliable 3-4 points a game forward.

All these have been issues for a good while now.

None seem to be being corrected.
Post by: Throw ball on July 12, 2015, 01:23:01 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 11, 2015, 09:47:48 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 11, 2015, 08:49:03 PM
Think it will be Derry v Tyrone and Tipp v Galway
Based on what exactly?

Nothing.
Post by: Old yeller on July 12, 2015, 03:20:18 AM
Quote from: clarshack on July 11, 2015, 11:56:49 PM
Tyrone made hard work of it today. Morgan and mcaliskey were liabilities tbh. Morgans decision making was poor and the sooner Mickey O'Neill is back the better. Mcaliskey was having a shocker and was even lucky to put one over from 21 yards Off the ground. In the warmup he was banging 45's over no probs. Also Peter Harte was poor up until he scored 1-1. Sorry but not sure if Richie donnelly is up to county level. Positives were that Mark bradley was superb and tiernan McCann made a big difference when he came on. Tyrone have still enough to get through next round but that is as good as it will get.
Funny statement that!  He was poor up until he was brilliant?
Post by: tyroneman on July 12, 2015, 08:18:31 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tyrone-take-split-decision-after-toe-to-toe-cracker-with-meath-1.2282033

Feck, this is the best case of ...if a game gives you lemons, make lemonade .......I've seen yet.

A 'toe to toe' cracker apparently.

I must have been at a different match
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 12, 2015, 08:46:24 AM
Is there anywhere to re-watch the game in full? I'd be very curious to see what led to Eamonn Wallace going off.

Post by: clarshack on July 12, 2015, 09:36:21 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on July 12, 2015, 03:20:18 AM

mate, he was having a mare and would probably have been hooked by most managers, but then somehow he turned it around and scored 1-1. is that difficult to understand?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 12, 2015, 09:47:33 AM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on July 12, 2015, 08:46:24 AM
Is there anywhere to re-watch the game in full? I'd be very curious to see what led to Eamonn Wallace going off.

Hardy was hinting at this yesterday, what is the rationale behind this crap? Completely innocuous and there wasn't a murmur of discontent from any Meath fans around me, it couldn't have been more than 20 yards away from us.
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2015, 12:08:32 PM
Tyrone have been targeting our best players for 20 years. It was obvious yesterday what happened. I was listening to it on the radio, sure.
Post by: Teo Lurley on July 12, 2015, 12:34:24 PM
The anti Northern free staters wont like this result. It's just a pity Tyrone didn't batter them.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 12, 2015, 12:56:12 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 12, 2015, 09:36:21 AM

mate, he was having a mare and would probably have been hooked by most managers, but then somehow he turned it around and scored 1-1. is that difficult to understand?

Old yeller have you never seen a player play poorly them turn it around with a few scores? You mustn't have seen much football if you haven't. You'd see it any club game in the country!
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 12, 2015, 01:17:09 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 12, 2015, 08:18:31 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tyrone-take-split-decision-after-toe-to-toe-cracker-with-meath-1.2282033

Feck, this is the best case of ...if a game gives you lemons, make lemonade .......I've seen yet.

A 'toe to toe' cracker apparently.

I must have been at a different match

Was his tongue in his cheek when he wrote that match report?
Post by: Old yeller on July 12, 2015, 06:30:05 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on July 12, 2015, 12:56:12 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 12, 2015, 09:36:21 AM

Old yeller have you never seen a player play poorly them turn it around with a few scores? You mustn't have seen much football if you haven't. You'd see it any club game in the country!
That was exactly my point
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2015, 09:20:24 PM
I've actually come full circle on this and I'd prefer if Mick O'Dowd stayed to be honest.
We do need a good S&C coach though, and maybe shake up the backroom team.
Regrettably, I think we have to adopt the Pat Gilroy approach for the next 2 years.
Get the defence right and make ourselves hard to beat.
We have decent options at midfield and we have a bit of pace up front.
We need a run without any major injuries though.
E. Wallace in particular will be a vital part of the gameplan.
Well done to Tyrone on a hard fought win and best of luck for the rest of the campaign.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2015, 10:02:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2015, 09:20:24 PM
Well done to Tyrone on a hard fought win and best of luck for the rest of the campaign.

Fcuk off Jinxy, I've just puked! :P

GRMA a chara ;)
Post by: rrhf on July 12, 2015, 10:39:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2015, 09:20:24 PM
I've actually come full circle on this and I'd prefer if Mick O'Dowd stayed to be honest.
We do need a good S&C coach though, and maybe shake up the backroom team.

Regrettably, I think we have to adopt the Pat Gilroy approach for the next 2 years.
Get the defence right and make ourselves hard to beat.
We have decent options at midfield and we have a bit of pace up front.
We need a run without any major injuries though.
E. Wallace in particular will be a vital part of the gameplan.

Fair play to  ye and hard luck!
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 06:06:59 AM
Quote from: agorm on July 11, 2015, 08:23:54 PM
Well done Tyrone. A draw would have been a fair result but an incredibly soft penalty after McCann was taken down, complete overcarrying in the lead up to the penalty which was a complete game changer. Two games in a row in which an incorrect referee decision was a game changer  but it shouldnt have mattered against Westmeath and if we had beaten them then we wouldnt have been in Omagh today.

However Meath in recent years have ran out the last two management teams with no idea of how to replace them . In hindsight getting rid of Eamonn OBrien was a mistake and Banty was not popular with many in the county. If MOD wants to stay on he needs to prove hat he has addressed some of the issues that were persistently evident this year. I would prefer to see an experienced / proven manager take over but we such a person that is a better option may not be available. Perhaps MOD with GG, Darren Fay or similar.

There was no overcarrying.