Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Stalin on October 14, 2008, 07:47:25 PM

Title: AC/DC in Dublin
Post by: Stalin on October 14, 2008, 07:47:25 PM
Anyone got the presale code for tomorrow?  :o
Title: Re: AC/DC in Dublin
Post by: Chrisowc on October 14, 2008, 07:50:13 PM
was wondering that myself.
Post by: thejuice on October 14, 2008, 08:29:13 PM
If I dont get a fuckin ticket for this I'll break into the f**king Point/O2.

European dates sold out in under 10 mins, might try the 2nd Paris show, and London and Birmingham. At least one of them any way.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 14, 2008, 09:14:11 PM
On a related note, Co.Down band The Answer landed the support slot for the American leg of the tour!

I thought they would have done an outdoor show. I'll be looking for tickets to this. Anybody finding out the presale info, please PM me!
Post by: thejuice on October 14, 2008, 09:25:36 PM
Aye the Answer are deadly.

Fair play to em getting that gig.
Post by: comethekingdom on October 14, 2008, 09:26:39 PM
should be a deadly show. Was trying to get on the official website but no joy! where does a man get the presale code????
Post by: Puckoon on October 14, 2008, 10:13:59 PM
BkNBlk

(ssssssssssssshhhhhhh - its a secret).
Post by: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 09:16:04 AM
Wasn't the pre-sale due to start at 9am today?    Nothing on ticketmaster yet.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 15, 2008, 09:20:04 AM
That site is a bloody disaster. I keep seeing the sale page and then it disappears again.
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 15, 2008, 09:31:35 AM
two tickets secured
Post by: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 09:33:50 AM
Quotetwo tickets secured

How?  It says not on sale on ticketmaster.ie!
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 15, 2008, 09:41:39 AM
used wifes o2 phone to get a priority number. Think they are all gone
Post by: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 10:06:02 AM
If there all gone then obviously there was no presale on ticketba$tard as I;ve bene on it since 8.45!  >:(
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 15, 2008, 10:12:33 AM
the way it worked was you sent o2 a text. They sent you back a number and then you went on ticketmaster and booked them. If you register on the ac dc site for 40 dollars you get access to a block of tickets specific to members. If you dont get tickets you can apply for yous fee back.   
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 15, 2008, 01:36:05 PM
What was the number you had to text?
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 15, 2008, 01:51:46 PM
http://www.o2blueroom.ie/EventListing.aspx

Thats the link it was 51020

I was in such a f**king panic i nearly booked two tickets to go and see "Pink"
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 15, 2008, 02:57:50 PM
Cheers.  Says sold out  :(
Post by: thejuice on October 15, 2008, 04:51:19 PM
Got 2 standing tickets. Feeling very happy about myself. Will try get tix to London or Birmingham on Friday as well. Cant get enough of the DC.

I see some bastards selling them on E-bay for €400, wankers whoever they are!
Post by: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 06:17:56 PM
Is there a limit on the number you can buy in one go or a limit per card?  I cant miss this they are unreal.
Post by: thejuice on October 15, 2008, 07:44:20 PM
2 per card i believe, might be different on friday,
Post by: thejuice on October 15, 2008, 09:22:26 PM
This is gonna be awesome. Cannae wait mon

Listen to the new tracks on RTE.ie

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/1013/acdcalbum.html
Post by: nobackdoor on October 15, 2008, 10:56:04 PM
Why would u bother, every song they play sounds the same. Much like any BRAND, if they stick the label on it, the punters will buy. Angus and his school shorts, FFS & their "new" single sounds anything but new.  :'(
Post by: Maguire01 on October 16, 2008, 01:50:23 PM
Quote from: nobackdoor on October 15, 2008, 10:56:04 PM
Why would u bother, every song they play sounds the same. Much like any BRAND, if they stick the label on it, the punters will buy. Angus and his school shorts, FFS & their "new" single sounds anything but new.  :'(

Yes, essentially they have one song, but what a song!

I wouldn't get so upset about it.
Post by: under the bar on October 16, 2008, 02:09:13 PM
QuoteWhy would u bother, every song they play sounds the same.

If you think that then you haven't listened much.
Post by: thejuice on October 16, 2008, 02:31:11 PM
Quote from: nobackdoor on October 15, 2008, 10:56:04 PM

Absolute balls. The Bon Scott era albums are essential listening as is Back In Black. Simple, down to earth rock and roll. They havent changed to suit the trends they just do what they do best. Also the best live band on the planet by miles. As for Angus and his stage costume. So what its a gimmick that stuck, if you cant see the humour in it then perhaps your better of not going. Go watch Coldplay some other dull as dishwater act.
Post by: nobackdoor on October 16, 2008, 10:39:38 PM
Good luck to u pal, if your into one trick ponies. The guy that replaced Scott, appears to have a similar singing tone. Just checked out some of their stuff on You tube, and stand by previous comments.

AC/DC = Bland, one tune band, who's calling card appears to be man in shorts leaping about.

The Go Betweens, now there's a fine Aussie band.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 16, 2008, 10:57:51 PM
First gig I ever saw was AC/DC in the point and to this day it is still the greatest.

Bright and early in the morning for the tickets... For Those About to Rock

(http://www.gibson.com/Files/aaFeaturesImages/angus%20young.jpg)
Post by: Donagh on October 16, 2008, 11:01:30 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 16, 2008, 10:57:51 PM

Bright and early in the morning for the tickets... For Those About to Rock

What? Are there some left?
Post by: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 12:29:43 AM
Quote from: nobackdoor on October 16, 2008, 10:39:38 PM
Good luck to u pal, if your into one trick ponies. The guy that replaced Scott, appears to have a similar singing tone. Just checked out some of their stuff on You tube, and stand by previous comments.

AC/DC = Bland, one tune band, who's calling card appears to be man in shorts leaping about.

The Go Betweens, now there's a fine Aussie band.

suit yourself. but your way out if you think Angus is "the calling card of AC/DC". 200 million albums sold just on the back of a guy wearing a school uniform. Hmmmm not likely. And to assume that because someone likes AC/DC therefore makes "one-trick-ponies" their thing. Dont be silly. AC/DC dont do jazz break-downs or throw folk-tunes into their set and we dont want them to. The Grateful Dead and Led Zeppelin do that much better and when they come round (if ever) i'll happily go along see them.

Considering they dont play pop music, were "uncool" for long periods of the 90's and 00's (and perhaps their whole career except perhaps now) and havent released a great album by their own standards in 20 odd years, well they must be done something right along the way. After all you could say that about U2, The Rolling Stones, Metallica and Paul McCartney.

Anyway music's all about taste and if the Indie rock like Go Betweens float yer boat, thats fine, but I wont be turning off Highway To Hell for Liberty Belle And The Diamond Express any time soon
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 17, 2008, 09:06:57 AM
Any luck getting tickets on ticketmaster this morning? - I'm not having any luck :(
Post by: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 09:07:40 AM
They are all gone
Post by: TORGAEL on October 17, 2008, 09:13:32 AM
Seems like it. they must have sold out in seconds !
Post by: Donagh on October 17, 2008, 09:18:06 AM
Frig sake. What genius organised this for the Point?  ???
Post by: under the bar on October 17, 2008, 09:18:58 AM
Something stinks

I was on from before 9am on the fone & net and at 9.01 nothing was avail  :(
Post by: TORGAEL on October 17, 2008, 09:24:02 AM
Exactly the same here under the bar. there seems to have been no chance at all.
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 17, 2008, 09:27:33 AM
Didn't even get a sniff
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 17, 2008, 09:27:48 AM
It seems they went on sale at around 8-55. My brother wanted to buy 4 but he was only allowed 2. He got two and rang me straight away. took me 20s to get onto the site and they were all sold out. Should have put ac/dc in slane instead of oasis me thinks.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 17, 2008, 09:28:26 AM
I'm the same but the lad beside me here at work did get 2 just after 9. Ah they will have to put on another show such is demand.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 09:29:46 AM
Quote from: Donagh on October 17, 2008, 09:18:06 AM
Frig sake. What genius organised this for the Point?  ???

And at the same time put Oasis in Slane  :P

It looks like they sold all tickets in the pre sale, which I have never come across before. By 9.02 I was getting nothing online, it does look like there was nothing on sale!!
Post by: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 09:30:59 AM
There were lads queing since yesterday outside shops I hear, I can imagine many went home dissappointed. RDS, Croker, Lansdown, Pairc Tailteann even would be better. maybe they'll add another date.
Post by: Mentalman on October 17, 2008, 09:33:23 AM
Same as above, must have gone in seconds. Some coup for the point to get them and boost the venue's profile again, but as far as AC/DC fans are concerned it's a joke.
Post by: under the bar on October 17, 2008, 09:36:45 AM
Let me be the first board member to ask for a ticket.........
Post by: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 09:42:10 AM
Quote from: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 09:30:59 AM
There were lads queing since yesterday outside shops I hear, I can imagine many went home dissappointed. RDS, Croker, Lansdown, Pairc Tailteann even would be better. maybe they'll add another date.

:D :D A yes, you'd hear from Flowerhill

Post by: Billys Boots on October 17, 2008, 09:53:07 AM
QuoteAnyway music's all about taste and if the Indie rock like Go Betweens float yer boat, thats fine, but I wont be turning off Highway To Hell for Liberty Belle And The Diamond Express any time soon

Well, I like them both - couldn't be more different, but exceptional bands.
Post by: SuperMac on October 17, 2008, 09:56:15 AM
Quote from: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 09:30:59 AM

Exactly, why haven't they getting them for Slane or Croker........ Oasis - Oh Gee, they've never played in Ireland before have they  ::)
Post by: under the bar on October 17, 2008, 10:07:43 AM
The only logical reason that they haven't played Slane or Croker is that this isn't a stadium tour and all the venues seem to be smaller arenas, therefore the type of sound system, acoustics etc would be very different. 

One plus point abut it being an indoor gig is that it should be louder!
Post by: redboots on October 17, 2008, 10:11:01 AM
When I rang Ticketmaster this morning the pre recorded message tickets didn't go on sale untill 10 which was 10 minutes ago
Post by: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 10:19:03 AM
Got a ticket for Birmingham now as well, wa-hey,

Another factor I think AC/DC are playing a small venue, they came in 96 and could only half fill the Point and had to cancel a show in the Odyssey with poor sales. How things change (yet AC/DC stay the same  ;) )

Gerry Ryan announced more dates to be added just a few minutes ago, stay tuned

*****2nd show in London was announced and was sold out in minutes*****
Post by: billy the kid on October 17, 2008, 10:38:58 AM
will there be any more in Ireland lad
Post by: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 10:56:48 AM
well they play Dublin on the 18th, then Manchester on the 21st so a date on the 19th might just be possible. but since they already announced London perhaps not sadly. but fingers crossed.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 17, 2008, 01:16:48 PM
Got 2 first thing. Don't even know if they're seating or standing - just left it as 'best available' so as to waste as little time as possible. Roll on next April!

Quote from: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 10:19:03 AM
Another factor I think AC/DC are playing a small venue, they came in 96 and could only half fill the Point and had to cancel a show in the Odyssey with poor sales. How things change (yet AC/DC stay the same  ;) )

Well they would have had very poor sales for the Odyssey in 1996, saying as it Belfast's Millenium project and wasn't even built!
Post by: SidelineKick on October 17, 2008, 01:18:12 PM

Another factor I think AC/DC are playing a small venue, they came in 96 and could only half fill the Point   and had to cancel a show in the Odyssey with poor sales. How things change (yet AC/DC stay the same  ;) )

Post by: Maguire01 on October 17, 2008, 01:35:14 PM
Tue 14/04/09
The O2, London

Thu 16/04/09
The O2, London

Sat 18/04/09
The O2, Dublin

Tue 21/04/09
M.E.N. Arena Manchester

Thu 23/04/09
LG Arena Birmingham

Looking at those dates, two things appear clear:
They need 1 clear day to travel between cities - especially likely on either side of the Dublin date, given the overseas element.
They don't appear to want to play 2 nights in a row, given that the second London date isn't directly before or after the first one.

This probably makes the chance of a second Irish date unlikely.
Post by: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 02:09:37 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 17, 2008, 01:16:48 PM
Got 2 first thing. Don't even know if they're seating or standing - just left it as 'best available' so as to waste as little time as possible. Roll on next April!

Well they would have had very poor sales for the Odyssey in 1996, saying as it Belfast's Millenium project and wasn't even built!

Well whatever belfast venue it was.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 17, 2008, 02:42:24 PM

I was at that 96 gig (26th june - same night as Germany beat england on penalties) and it was fairly full and loud from what I thought !
Great gig.
Post by: Zulu on October 17, 2008, 03:01:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDAHD80wpfE&feature=related

Class.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 04:05:58 PM
I was at the gig in the point and I am certain that it was earlier than 96.

Well given that this was released in 92 and had tracks from the gig on it them I had to be

(http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/B000002JQ6.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_V1115805513_.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 17, 2008, 04:25:26 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 17, 2008, 10:07:43 AM
The only logical reason that they haven't played Slane or Croker is that this isn't a stadium tour and all the venues seem to be smaller arenas, therefore the type of sound system, acoustics etc would be very different. 

They are only playing one venue over 20,000 seats in their North American tour as well - here, twice - once in November and once in January
Post by: thejuice on October 17, 2008, 04:36:44 PM
Well I wasnt at those gigs but I was told that they played in the Point in 96 and that it was nowhere near full. But if you were there, I cant really argue.

They would have been on the Ballbreaker tour in 96. In 92 it would have been the Razors-edge tour. They didnt bother with us in 2000 for the Stiff Upper Lip tour, which would suggest there wasnt much interest then. but who knows
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 17, 2008, 04:38:09 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 04:05:58 PM

Well given that this was released in 92 and had tracks from the gig on it them I had to be

(http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/B000002JQ6.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_V1115805513_.jpg)

there were two gigs in the point - I was at both (brother who was with me wants me to get two tickets for this new gig).
the 'Razors edge tour' could have been 92 alright (I still have two of the 'Angus Dollar bills that' came down in the 'moneytalks' song) and the 'ballbreaker' tour in 96
Post by: Denn Forever on October 17, 2008, 04:54:56 PM
Do they play any/many pre Back in Black songs in their concerts?

I have to say that I hate Brian Johnson voice and post Back in Black their songs do not seem to have the humour and tongue in cheek that was prevalent in Bon Scott's delivery.

If you like Bon Scott, try the 1998 album "Bon Scott Rarities".  Brilliant and so unfortunate that he died when he did.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 07:14:27 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 17, 2008, 04:38:09 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 17, 2008, 04:05:58 PM

there were two gigs in the point - I was at both (brother who was with me wants me to get two tickets for this new gig).
the 'Razors edge tour' could have been 92 alright (I still have two of the 'Angus Dollar bills that' came down in the 'moneytalks' song) and the 'ballbreaker' tour in 96

I stand corrected LB and I have to say I am disgusted with myself!! Me thinking that I was the big fan with all the albums, the t-shirts, the posters and patch covered Denim and I don't remember anything about a 96 gig (which I obviously wasn't at)  :-[

Most have been so wrapped up the club's run to victory that season that in the words of mettalica "nothing else mattered"  :D

To answer you Denn, Yes they do, check out AC/DC live to see
Post by: thejuice on October 18, 2008, 05:56:39 PM
When I saw them in 2000 they played mostly Bon SCott era songs. Only Back in Black songs, For those about to rock, thunderstruck and stiff upper lip were played from johnson era.

memory serves me correct they played

problem child
hell aint a bad place to be
bad boy boogie
up to my neck in you
dirty deeds
whole lotta rosie
highway to hell
let there be rock
shot down in flames
Post by: thejuice on October 18, 2008, 06:08:53 PM
Daily Star has quoted a spokesperson for the band that more dates will be added.

some amount of wankers have tickets on e-bay for as much as a grand
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2008, 10:16:17 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 18, 2008, 06:08:53 PM
some amount of w**kers have tickets on e-bay for as much as a grand

Has anyone else every considered opening false ebay accounts just to bid stupid amounts against such tickets just to mess up these auctions?
Post by: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 10:28:04 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2008, 10:16:17 PM

Has anyone else every considered opening false ebay accounts just to bid stupid amounts against such tickets just to mess up these auctions?

That would be a shocking cunty thing to do. Used to have awful problems with that.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2008, 10:42:26 PM
Quote from: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 10:28:04 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2008, 10:16:17 PM

That would be a shocking cunty thing to do. Used to have awful problems with that.
Whereas taking tickets away from genuine fans, just so that you can make a mint is a good thing?
It's not something i've ever done myself, but touting is sickening (and a concert is no different that tickets for the AI final) and i wouldn't lose any sleep if such people were inconvenienced.
Post by: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 11:08:07 PM
It's a good thing for the seller yeah. It just economics. Obviously fans are going to be aggrieved. The onus is on Ticketmaster et al to practice measures to prevent this, and they seem to have taken positive steps in this regard over the past few years.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2008, 11:21:50 PM
Quote from: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 11:08:07 PM
It's a good thing for the seller yeah. It just economics. Obviously fans are going to be aggrieved. The onus is on Ticketmaster et al to practice measures to prevent this, and they seem to have taken positive steps in this regard over the past few years.

Yes, ticketmaster are definitely on top of this one...
http://shop.ebay.ie/items/_W0QQ_nkwZacQ5cdcQ20dublinQQ_armrsZ1QQ_fromZR40QQ_mdoZ

And i assume you think it's just economics when All Ireland final tickets go up on ebay?

Oh, and drug dealing is good for the seller. And it's just economics. But it's not right.
Post by: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 11:38:51 PM
I didn't say they were on top of it, I said they had taken measures in the last few years  :-\

Yes, it's economics at work. Again, I'll emphasise that it's annoying for the average fan when these 3rd parties intervene.

I never said it was 'right.' I wouldn't call it 'wrong' either though.

Post by: thebuzz on October 18, 2008, 11:47:26 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 17, 2008, 04:54:56 PM
Do they play any/many pre Back in Black songs in their concerts?

I have to say that I hate Brian Johnson voice and post Back in Black their songs do not seem to have the humour and tongue in cheek that was prevalent in Bon Scott's delivery.

If you like Bon Scott, try the 1998 album "Bon Scott Rarities".  Brilliant and so unfortunate that he died when he did.

I don't hate Brian Johnson's voice but I loved Bon Scott's. I was heartbroken when he died. Luckily I got to see them on the "Highway To Hell" tour in the Ulster Hall in 79. Got to see them with Johnson in 81 and 85 at Castle Donnington Monsters of Rock. Saw them in Dublin sometime after that but I must be gettin oul now as I've lost interest. I'm half deaf as well.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2008, 11:49:02 PM
Quote from: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 11:38:51 PM
I didn't say they were on top of it, I said they had taken measures in the last few years  :-\
What have they done?
Post by: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 11:51:42 PM
google is your friend here
Post by: Maguire01 on October 19, 2008, 12:18:50 AM
Does that mean you don't know?

Anyway, i googled it...
http://www.ticketsnow.com/
Ticketmaster bought up a company that resold tickets, so that they could do it themselves... you're right - definitely a positive step in tackling this issue.   ::)
Post by: Stalin on October 19, 2008, 12:22:28 AM
Na it didnt mean I dont know. Im sure if you look harder you will find more steps taken. Or did you just ignore them to further whatever point it is you're trying to make?

But anyway, im finished with this debate now.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 19, 2008, 02:28:12 PM
Just got myself two for MSG November 12, cant wait! :)
Post by: ardmhachaabu08 on October 19, 2008, 02:36:11 PM
was on ticketmaster at 9.02am for tickets to dublin and had my mate queue up at a ticketmaster outlet from 7am....nothing on the internet, seemed tickets never went on sale at all they went soo quick and my mate was 2nd in the queue and they announced that tickets were sold out :@:@  any fancy sellin 2 tix for dublin :P:P £75 each ???
Post by: heineken_on_tap on October 22, 2008, 03:35:19 PM
Listening to Today FM there.............strong rumour they will play the phoenix park next year.
Post by: Over the Bar on October 22, 2008, 03:44:20 PM
QuoteListening to Today FM there.............strong rumour they will play the phoenix park next year.

If there was ever a sh*t venue for concerts it is Phoenix Park.  If you are near the back the natual curvature of the park means you can't see the stage! Crap!
Post by: Denn Forever on October 22, 2008, 03:57:57 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 22, 2008, 03:44:20 PM
QuoteListening to Today FM there.............strong rumour they will play the phoenix park next year.

If there was ever a sh*t venue for concerts it is Phoenix Park.  If you are near the back the natual curvature of the park means you can't see the stage! Crap!

But you'll hear the music and create your own Moshpit/drunken tom foolery.  Why do you need to see the stage?  Maybe there will be screens?
Post by: Maguire01 on October 22, 2008, 06:10:55 PM
I'd rather Croke Park myself.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 22, 2008, 06:12:55 PM
I dont know why it wasnt Croke Park from the outset, they could fill it 10 times over!
Post by: Maguire01 on October 22, 2008, 06:20:25 PM
Well thes pring tour is an arena tour throughout Europe, so it was always going to be indoors. Croke Park in April could be a bit chilly as well!
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 24, 2008, 09:20:49 AM
Still tickets to be had for UK shows if any of you are interested at these prices...

http://www.play.com/Tickets/TicketsEvent/6-/RegionHome.html?source=1090112221&cm_mmc=Other-_-Other_wk43%20Oct%20Vol%201%20Tickets%20NL-_-U-_-TICKETS_MAIN

Post by: Maguire01 on October 24, 2008, 01:31:02 PM
That's not really any better than the ebay option though, is it?
Post by: thejuice on November 07, 2008, 09:13:17 AM
Heard word from an MCD employee that there'll be a stand alone gig (as in not Oxygen) in Punchestown next summer. Sure I might as well go along to that as well   ;D
Post by: Over the Bar on November 07, 2008, 01:13:44 PM
If anyone has a spare ticket I will pay them very handsomely for it!   PM me
Post by: billy the kid on November 07, 2008, 01:19:41 PM
Good stuff juice. Could you post up any info you hear as soon as you get it? Would f**king die if i missed out again.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 07, 2008, 01:20:05 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 07, 2008, 09:13:17 AM
Heard word from an MCD employee that there'll be a stand alone gig (as in not Oxygen) in Punchestown next summer. Sure I might as well go along to that as well   ;D
Cool. They'd be wasted on an Oxegen crowd.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 08, 2008, 01:01:45 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 07, 2008, 09:13:17 AM

YIP YA  - Let there be Rock   8)

I hope to God you are right Juice
Post by: thejuice on November 08, 2008, 01:45:21 PM
Well someone told me today that  Tony Fenton on TodayFM again announced they'd play Phoenix park in the summer,

What seems definate there will be an outdoor show in the summer, where it will be doesnt bother me a whole lot
Post by: Goats Do Shave on November 10, 2008, 08:14:08 AM
Heard they may be head-lining Reading.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 10, 2008, 08:35:45 PM
Has anyone tried the link at the bottom of the Gaaboard page (there as I write this)?  I thought Dublin was sold out?
Post by: thejuice on December 10, 2008, 01:03:28 PM
I've heard word that the wheels have been put in motion for a gig in Punchestown. I'll keep ye posted.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 01:04:10 PM
Please do!!
Post by: AFS on December 10, 2008, 01:10:33 PM
Punchestown as in Oxegen or just a gig on their own?
Post by: thejuice on December 10, 2008, 01:59:48 PM
20th June is the date that I keep hearing. I think this clashes with another big gig and also a trip to France for me. So hopefully it might be a different date.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 10, 2008, 08:14:39 PM
My tickets arrived in the post today. Yeoooooooow!
Post by: thejuice on December 12, 2008, 11:54:19 AM
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!CONFIRMED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

26 Jun 2009 London GB Wembley Stadium

28 Jun 2009 Dublin IE Punchestown Racetrack

30 Jun 2009 Glasgow GB Hampden Park
Post by: SidelineKick on December 12, 2008, 12:04:21 PM
Tickets???
Post by: thejuice on December 12, 2008, 12:10:03 PM
you mean when will they be realeased?

That hasnt been announced. Hope to God its after Christmas!
Post by: SidelineKick on December 12, 2008, 12:25:13 PM
Yeah sorry that was just my excitement could only get one word out  :D

Hoping its after xmas too!
Post by: thejuice on December 12, 2008, 03:20:18 PM
Tickets are going on sale for Wembley next Wednesday, so I would assume that Hampden and Punchestown are going to be around the same time.

Not great timing but I might just do without food for 2 weeks, it shouldnt be a problem.
Post by: thejuice on December 12, 2008, 03:52:30 PM
Next Friday apparently.
Post by: billy the kid on December 15, 2008, 11:55:50 AM
Does anyone Know for sure when the tks are going on sale for the P,town Gig? I looked on Ticketmaster and there was no mention of the concert at all???
Post by: thejuice on December 15, 2008, 12:23:25 PM
Their official website is down at the minute. but they had the dates for ticket releases for the gigs in April so keep checking back there.

www.acdc.com
Post by: Louth Exile on December 15, 2008, 01:36:15 PM
2FM announced at lunchtime that tickets go on sale at 8am this Thursday morning  :)
Post by: Maguire01 on December 15, 2008, 01:46:04 PM
Far too many tickets going on sale at this time this year. On top of the GAA tickets, you have the likes of Morrissey and AC/DC (and Coldplay if you wanted, and probably plenty more). It's all a bit much coming up to Christmas.
I think i'm going to give Punchestown a miss - it's a real hassle to get in and out of, and would have been so much easier if it was Croke Park or the RDS. I'll be happy enough with the gig in the Point.
Post by: thejuice on December 15, 2008, 01:54:39 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on December 15, 2008, 01:36:15 PM
2FM announced at lunchtime that tickets go on sale at 8am this Thursday morning  :)

Friday according to their website

https://tickets.acdc.com/index.php?location=eu
Post by: thejuice on December 15, 2008, 02:36:41 PM
Ok a few friends have got emails saying Thursday 8am, so I'd be inclined to go with them. €75 though, bit steep.
Post by: billy the kid on December 16, 2008, 09:38:03 AM
Just seen it on ticketmaster and it says tickets go on sale this thursday at 8;00AM. It wasnt listed under AC/DC gigs but when I looked up my preferences it came up with the AC/DC tag.

According to AC/DC fanclub Site the fan club allocation go on sale on Friday morning.
Post by: thejuice on December 17, 2008, 10:10:58 AM
Got my expenses from work back today so got a ticket for Wembley gig this morning, and hopefully another tomorrow morning will mean I get to see them 4 times next year.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on December 17, 2008, 10:35:12 AM
IF I get 2 tomorrow morning, I wonder would there be anyone looking to swap for the Dublin gig?
Post by: under the bar on December 17, 2008, 10:36:51 AM
I have 2 in hand.  Who will swap me for the RDS gig?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on December 17, 2008, 10:40:32 AM
Quote from: under the bar on December 17, 2008, 10:36:51 AM

Ye dawg!
Post by: thejuice on December 17, 2008, 10:46:06 AM
Quote from: under the bar on December 17, 2008, 10:36:51 AM

Who'd playing in the RDS?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on December 18, 2008, 08:01:49 AM
Anybody with the code?  ???
Post by: thejuice on December 18, 2008, 08:19:49 AM
Got 2 tickets, anyone else have any luck?
Post by: Santino on December 18, 2008, 12:18:40 PM
Tics sorted myself too and should be lethal.
Its an early evening gig too so good excuse for a sun night rip in dublin too
Rock out with yer c*ck out!
Post by: TORGAEL on December 18, 2008, 12:33:57 PM
Tickets secured, happy days, roll on june !
Post by: Louth Exile on December 18, 2008, 07:02:52 PM
Got my two this morning  :)

They are still on sale I see

Post by: under the bar on December 19, 2008, 02:51:48 PM
I will swap 2 punchestown tickets for one Point Depot or 4 for 2 if anyone is interested.

Thanks
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2009, 03:24:55 PM
Yeeeeow - just got 2 tickets handed to me for tonight's show - can't wait  :D
Post by: thejuice on January 09, 2009, 03:42:12 PM
Where's that on Gab?

County Downs very own The Answer are opening for them on their US tour and in the O2 in Dublin. There is a good chance they will open for them in Punchestown as well. I hear there will be a few bands playing support slots in Punchestown but who else exactly remains to be seen.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2009, 08:21:14 PM
Rogers Centre (formerly known as the Skydome)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 12, 2009, 05:49:45 PM
what a fecking show  ;D ;D

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/1966.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/2214.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/3946.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/4470.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/5678.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/6868.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/7639.jpg)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/8262.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on January 12, 2009, 06:04:31 PM
Class! Cheers GH.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 12, 2009, 07:05:42 PM
Angus Young was amazing

Got me one of these as well - well, I got it bought for me  8)

(http://xs435.xs.to/xs435/09031/dcct397972.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on February 19, 2009, 04:53:30 PM
(http://www.spirit-of-metal.com/membre_groupe/photo/Bon_Scott-12454.jpg)

29 years ago today

He'd be 62 if he was still around, dont think he ever planned sticking around that long to be fair!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2Fm8NW-SEs

RIP Bon
Post by: under the bar on April 16, 2009, 01:08:38 PM
Anyone got any spare tickets for the Point this Sat nite?   Will collect.  Distance no object!  :)
Post by: Katchit on April 17, 2009, 12:55:23 PM
I had a spare ticket until this morning! Not too far from my house  :-*
Post by: Maguire01 on April 17, 2009, 12:57:29 PM
Can't wait for this one now!
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 17, 2009, 01:10:18 PM
Cant wait. Ian Dempsey played Thunderstruck this morning at 7.15, great start to the day, the kids werent too sure what Daddy was doing, the wife just turned away! A lad in the job with me was at the wrestling on wedensday and he said the 02 is fantastic. I expect after saturday night to be still deaf sometime in August.
Post by: Fun Bobby on April 17, 2009, 01:29:17 PM
Not long now my fellow rockers :)

Can't wait, i know i'm gonna get robbed with the price of the stg to euro and the crazzee price the drink will be, but to be honest, i don't really care

Bring it on
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 17, 2009, 02:18:12 PM
This is the setlist they've been playing in most of their concerts on the tour

The group's setlist was as follows:

01. Rock 'N Roll Train
02. Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be
03. Back In Black
04. Big Jack
05. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
06. Thunderstruck
07. Black Ice
08. The Jack
09. Hells Bells
10. War Machine
11. Anything Goes
12. You Shook Me All Night Long
13. TNT
14. Whole Lotta Rosie
15. Let There Be Rock
----------------------
16. Highway To Hell
17. For Those About To Rock
Post by: thejuice on April 17, 2009, 09:24:43 PM
Here dont be posting set-lists. thats a no-no.

SOme tickets went back on sale earlier today I heard. You might want to look.

Cant wait, less than 24 hours. By all accounts London was savage.
Post by: Family guy on April 17, 2009, 09:46:56 PM
Seen them at madison square garden and it really was class,there playing in jersey soon and needa get tickets for them.
Enjoy  ;D
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 19, 2009, 12:06:45 AM
Just home. Unreal! Nothing more to be said.
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2009, 12:11:55 PM
That was indeed a savage night. I know a few people who saw them for the 1st time last night and were totally blown away by it.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 19, 2009, 01:06:31 PM
Thats me second time seeing them, I think they have got better. Brought my two 16 year old nephews and the one word they kept saying  was "Savage"
Thought the new Point was excellent. Had four pints before the gig, walked up to the bar each time, no queuing nothing, paid 5.50 for pints of stout.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 19, 2009, 04:32:50 PM
Was a good gig alright, although the speakers were in the way of the video screens if you were away to the side. Otherwise it was a brilliant show and a great atmosphere.

Amazing to see a Guinness poured in about 3 seconds as well - fastest taps i've even seen!

The Answer went down pretty well too, although i think they got a bit shafted, sound-wise.
Post by: Declan on April 20, 2009, 02:00:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr8g_GxN4eA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr8g_GxN4eA)

Angus Angus!!!
Post by: thejuice on April 20, 2009, 02:26:46 PM
Class, the athmosphere was class. Still buzzing about this gig. Doing it all again on Thursday in Birmingham  ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on April 20, 2009, 02:28:26 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 20, 2009, 02:00:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr8g_GxN4eA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr8g_GxN4eA)

Angus Angus!!!

How does he still do it!!
Post by: thejuice on April 20, 2009, 02:45:56 PM
Just read there, Angus is 54, Malcom 56 and Brian Johnson is 61. Still have a bit to go to catch up with Mick Jagger and them lads but then again they dont put on a show quite like the 'DC  ;)
Post by: The Corporal on April 21, 2009, 09:38:08 AM
What were your thoughts on The Answer Juice?
Post by: thejuice on April 24, 2009, 12:13:00 AM
Just back from the Birmingham gig,. What a feckin night. Probably not a s good as Dublin for the crowd but the band were just as sharp. Cant get enough of the ACKY DACKY!!!

To "Answer" (ahem) your question Corporal. They had poor sound for Dublin but it was much better tonight. I only have thier first album and enjoyed the tracks of that, Might need to hear the new ones on CD didnt quite get into them live, though "On and On" is a good one. They got a really good reception in Birmingham tonight, fair play to them, few bands have the chops to open for AC/DC.
Post by: thejuice on May 11, 2009, 04:53:49 PM
QuoteTHIN LIZZY has been confirmed as "special guest" on the following AC/DC shows:

June 26 - England, London - Wembley Stadium
June 28 - Ireland, Dublin - Punchestown Racetrack
June 30 - Scotland, Glasgow - Hampden Park

For more information on the THIN LIZZY 2009 tour dates, go to www.thinlizzyonline.com.

THIN LIZZY's current touring lineup is as follows:

Scott Gorham - Guitar
John Sykes - Vocals, Guitar
Tommy Aldridge - Drums
Francesco DiCosmo - Bass

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I know there will be those who aren't so keen on the 'reformed' Thin Lizzy, but I urge anyone who is put off by them to put sentimentality aside and watch them because they absolutely floor the place live. Seen them twice and they are a close 2nd to AC/DC in putting on a live performance.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 17, 2009, 09:34:07 PM
Starting to get the buzz about the gig now  ;D

Went to Def Leppard on Friday night and it has me warmed up, getting together an aul compliation CD for the bus journey down from the wee county and it got me thinking!!!

The double live album in 92 had some songs from the Dublin gig, Sin City was one and pretty certain Thunderstruck has to be from Dublin with the ole,ole. Here is the question I have (I'm expecting the juice at least to know the answer) how many other songs from the album are from the Dublin gig???
Post by: Stalin on June 17, 2009, 09:50:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X80Qjh9Yivs&feature=related

warm y'all up ;D
Post by: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 08:46:01 AM
Thin Lizzy have had to pull out due to drummer breaking his collarbone in Bike Accident!!!
Disappointing, they have been replaced by the Blizzards! Strange one I would have thought, their indie pop tunes are nice to listen to on the radio and sing along to, they have some good tunes and are prefect for the summer festival scene...... But, I would have my doubts as to how they will be suited to supporting AC/DC!

Quote from: Louth Exile on June 17, 2009, 09:34:07 PM
The double live album in 92 had some songs from the Dublin gig, Sin City was one and pretty certain Thunderstruck has to be from Dublin with the ole,ole. Here is the question I have (I'm expecting the juice at least to know the answer) how many other songs from the album are from the Dublin gig???

Anyone  ???
Post by: Chrisowc on June 24, 2009, 10:20:07 AM
More tickets went up on Ticketmaster yesterday.  I was hoping The Answer would still be opening.
Post by: ludermor on June 24, 2009, 10:39:16 AM
i have got a couple of spare tickets if anyone is looking.
Post by: thejuice on June 24, 2009, 10:55:53 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 08:46:01 AM
Thin Lizzy have had to pull out due to drummer breaking his collarbone in Bike Accident!!!
Disappointing, they have been replaced by the Blizzards! Strange one I would have thought, their indie pop tunes are nice to listen to on the radio and sing along to, they have some good tunes and are prefect for the summer festival scene...... But, I would have my doubts as to how they will be suited to supporting AC/DC!

Quote from: Louth Exile on June 17, 2009, 09:34:07 PM

Anyone  ???

Sorry was away in France there, I dont know if there are anymore from Dublin than the 2 you mention. Theres a few from Donnington as well.

Sadly I cant make Punchestown anymore, will just have to make do with Wembley Stadium on friday. Gutted about Lizzy but I dont think I'd be able to catch any of the support groups anyway, might even miss the start of AC/DC which would be a crime.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 24, 2009, 11:20:17 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on June 24, 2009, 10:20:07 AM
I was hoping The Answer would still be opening.
Are they not?
Post by: lfdown2 on June 24, 2009, 11:41:21 AM
well not quite opening

Blizzards
The Answer
ACDC
Post by: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 11:53:38 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on June 24, 2009, 11:41:21 AM
well not quite opening

Blizzards
The Answer
ACDC

No, the answer are still first on stage, with the Blizzards coming in as a straight replacement for Lizzy
Post by: Chrisowc on June 24, 2009, 12:09:54 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 24, 2009, 11:20:17 AM
Are they not?

Happy days!
Post by: thejuice on June 24, 2009, 12:24:18 PM
Glyder would have been a better replacement than the Blizzards. I'd imagine there'll be a scrum at the bar during their set.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 24, 2009, 03:02:25 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on June 24, 2009, 12:09:54 PM
Are they not?

Happy days!
nuclear assault ?
Post by: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 03:14:20 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 24, 2009, 03:02:25 PM
Are they not?

Happy days!
nuclear assault ?

Hang the ............
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 24, 2009, 03:52:46 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 03:14:20 PM
Are they not?

Happy days!
nuclear assault ?

Hang the ............
I prefer this version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P9B7RfbRAo
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2009, 04:22:51 PM
fellow rockers :)

1.  got tickets for this gig just at weekend off an associate; it has the name of the original purchaser along the end; will this cause problems on the day  (not a regular to these sorts of things!)

2.  additionally, it says on tickets that gates open at 4; roughly what time would acdc be expected on stage; and what time would these other bands you mention be starting it;

coming down from NI, just need an indication of what time to set sail at etc; dont want to go completely mad; as i need to be in some sort of nick for doin a bit of work come monday :-\
Post by: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 05:10:48 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2009, 04:22:51 PM
fellow rockers :)

1.  got tickets for this gig just at weekend off an associate; it has the name of the original purchaser along the end; will this cause problems on the day  (not a regular to these sorts of things!)

2.  additionally, it says on tickets that gates open at 4; roughly what time would acdc be expected on stage; and what time would these other bands you mention be starting it;

coming down from NI, just need an indication of what time to set sail at etc; dont want to go completely mad; as i need to be in some sort of nick for doin a bit of work come monday :-\

1. Once the associate is reliable and hasn't printed it ten times with the intention of walking in the gate himself at 4pm then I don't think thats a problem

Car Parks 2pm, Gates 4pm, The Answer 5pm, The Blizzards 6.30pm, AC/DC 8.30

From Dundalk, down the M1, M50, N7 would take just over an hour with a clear run. But you won't get a clear run, so add at least an hour on to that I'd say

Full details on www.mcd.ie
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2009, 05:20:38 PM
Louth Exile - never met the guy before in me life, but he looked honest enough, lol;
ah, twas through a friend of a friend, so dont expect shenanigans;

cheers for directions also; but may be staying with a friend in dublin rather than goin straight there;
you seem a knowledgeable sort ;) should i anticiapte much hassle going from dublin (dunno what part!) to punchestown? 
If said friend were to drive us, would it take him an age or would it not be so bad?
Post by: Louth Exile on June 24, 2009, 07:59:19 PM
How longs a piece of string  :D

Depends what part of Dublin, what time of day (the derby is on up the road in the curragh), what car park ye are heading for, and how fast your mate drives  :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 25, 2009, 12:17:06 PM
I have a spare ticket for the Gig in punchestown. Face Value. PM me if interested but try do it today so I can sort ye out in time.
Post by: ludermor on June 25, 2009, 12:42:35 PM
I still have 3 tickets myself if anyone is interested. Will take below cost just to get rid of them! ( not trying to Gazump Myles!!! well ok i am..)
Post by: thewobbler on June 25, 2009, 12:54:55 PM
Join my train fellas:

http://acdcrockandrolltrain.com/tank_engine_tony/join
Post by: Chrisowc on June 25, 2009, 01:03:51 PM
Are they not?

Happy days!
nuclear assault ?

God no.  They're brutal.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 25, 2009, 01:12:33 PM
Punchestown is a disaster to get in and out of. Allow plenty of time. Having already seen them in April, the venue this time put me off going - if it had been in Croker or the RDS, i'd be there.
Post by: Chrisowc on June 25, 2009, 01:50:27 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 25, 2009, 01:12:33 PM
Punchestown is a disaster to get in and out of. Allow plenty of time. Having already seen them in April, the venue this time put me off going - if it had been in Croker or the RDS, i'd be there.

Allowing for Traffic would you say about an hour from the airport?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 25, 2009, 02:07:09 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on June 25, 2009, 01:50:27 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 25, 2009, 01:12:33 PM

Allowing for Traffic would you say about an hour from the airport?
Probably more. Depending on what time you're heading at.
Post by: The Iceman on June 25, 2009, 03:07:18 PM
Going to see them in Giants Stadium in July - can't wait.

Thunder!
Post by: TORGAEL on June 29, 2009, 05:30:34 PM
What a show that was yesterday......Angus is a legend !!!
Post by: thejuice on June 29, 2009, 07:57:49 PM
Yeah, sounded deadly, a number of non AC/DC fans went along and i bet none left dissappointed. Wembley was class as well, lucky to get home at all though. Thank GOd for delayed trains. Read an article in the Times there, it seems AC/DC have as much a grip on rural Ireland as the GAA if the journo is to be believed.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2009/0627/1224249636218.html

Rumours of them touring next year playing all of Back In Black. Would be sweet.

Post by: Santino on June 29, 2009, 08:39:26 PM
been to many gigs over the last 10 yrs and that was one of the best!
Post by: thebandit on June 29, 2009, 09:01:11 PM
I was at the gig yesterday, wouldn't be a big fan, but it was a good concert. It was an absolute joke trying to get in and out though - nowhere else in Europe would that infrastructure be deemed acceptable.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 29, 2009, 09:27:56 PM
Was at the show. It was tremendous. However, the organisation to let people out was a disgrace and I am surprised no one got hurt. People were knocking barriers and storming towards buses.
Post by: under the bar on June 29, 2009, 10:57:44 PM
I've seen a lot of concerts over the past 25 years and that ranks with any.  Simply superb.  Angus Young has the energy of a 20 year old.

Before anyone starts whining about the traffic/buses etc.  remember Punchestown is in the middle of nowhere.  Waht did you expect, a train service??

I parked in Naas and walked in and was back in the car an hour after the gig and straight home, no probs.
Post by: Armamike on June 29, 2009, 11:10:22 PM
Fantastic show. I'm not an ACDC fan but went along to this out of interest - always heard they were great live.

I'm not a prude, and like my pint as much as the next man but the amount of piss heads (and i use the word piss deliberately) there would put me off an outdoor concert like this again. Too many people out of their heads acting like low life. A lot of people in this country can't handle their drink. But the band themselves were unreal - especially oul Angus. He can play guitar.

Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 29, 2009, 11:37:32 PM
Quote from: Armamike on June 29, 2009, 11:10:22 PM
Fantastic show. I'm not an ACDC fan but went along to this out of interest - always heard they were great live.

I'm not a prude, and like my pint as much as the next man but the amount of piss heads (and i use the word piss deliberately) there would put me off an outdoor concert like this again. Too many people out of their heads acting like low life. A lot of people in this country can't handle their drink. But the band themselves were unreal - especially oul Angus. He can play guitar.

have to agree 100% with all of this post Armamike. There were some drunken bombscares ! As you said i'm no prude either and i was drinking beer from 10 yesterday morning, but wasnt anywere near the shape of a lot of these guys. Would make me think about an event like this again. Probably wouldnt have to think too hard either. Concert itself was fantastic.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 30, 2009, 09:09:14 AM
Quote from: under the bar on June 29, 2009, 10:57:44 PM
Before anyone starts whining about the traffic/buses etc.  remember Punchestown is in the middle of nowhere.  Waht did you expect, a train service??
You expect the concert to be in a suitable venue to start with.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2009, 09:29:37 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 30, 2009, 09:09:14 AM
thats why I wouldnt go to see them on sun, punchestown too painful to get to and from.
Same goes for slane..
Post by: Chrisowc on June 30, 2009, 09:37:49 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 30, 2009, 09:09:14 AM

It didn't help when I ended up in Bray on the way down.

I was expecting to get kept in the car park for at least an hour but was back to the car and away in no time.
Post by: hectorsheroes on June 30, 2009, 10:11:25 AM
Class concert but an absolute shambles organisational wise. A 4/5 mile walk in and an absolute disgrace with the buses at the end. I'll never be at Punchestown again that for sure
Post by: Louth Exile on June 30, 2009, 05:32:52 PM
Jaysus, didn't have any of the problems in relation to in and out!! We left the Potin Still after the Connaught match, headed through Johnstown and got into the venue in no time. We travelled by minibus, we were maybe an hour getting out of the place, but that was no big deal, for what was a mighty gig.

How in the name of god do they do it? I'd have to say my favourite songs on the night were TNT, Rosie, Let there be Rock. There were a few curve balls that you mightn't have been expecting like Dog Eat Dog and four off the current album. The whole gang of us thought it was amazing.

The cousin took this photo from my shoulders during let there be rock, what a shot

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc220/JoesExile/IMG_0956.jpg)
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 30, 2009, 08:58:23 PM
I came in from the city with Dublin Bus as widely advised by promoters, gardai etc. First up it seemed to me that pretty much no special allowance for buses or at least none worth a damn was in place. Took us 3.5 hours to get from Dublin to Punchestown. I didn't mind too much as I got there in time and had a few cans on the bus to pass the time. Now at the end of the gig was when the joke started. There were clear signs where to go to get Dublin Bus and a tool with a loud speaker informing us too. So into a big field we went to queue up in a big long zig zag line. We could see the buses come at first empty and fill up from our queue and things moved a bit but then all ground to a halt and every Dublin bus that came was full before it even got to the queue. After an hour of standing without moving an inch people lost the plot and started knocking down barriers. It was dangerous enough, a big crowd and large heavy steel barriers being knocked. No place for kids. So the crowd tried to get to the buses. Pretty much we had to walk up the road in the direction the buses came from to find that people were way up the road being allowed to board them. Gardai, security and Dublin Bus people standing looking and scratching. Such a bunch of useless f**kers I have never seen before. It was after 2am when we got back to the city. So much for prioritising public transport, would have been better to drive.
Post by: rolloutking on June 30, 2009, 11:42:07 PM
Jesus Christ why do people have to moan so much about piss head ands queue's for buses at concerts. I've been to about 10 gigs in the last 9 months and it's always the same reaction from people on this board ,

"I had to wait 2 hours on a bus"
"Every teenager I seen was off their face"
"The stewards just stood around and did nothing"
"I had to que too long for a drink"
"The sound system was shite"
"Half the crowd where pilled out of it" 
"I'm never going to a concert again"

Really what you should say is:

"I'm just a sour oul **** who is over the hill and is jealous of everyone having the craic"

It's a f**king concert. These things are part of it. Get over it. It people like you lot that spoil the whole thing.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 02, 2009, 07:12:34 PM
I 100% agree with you Roll Out  :D

Best one I heard was yesterday off a young lady in Carrick. "The rain was terrible and the burgers were expensive"
I enquired further and while we were giving it loads up the front during Rosie they were up the back at the bar eatin burgers!! DURING ROSIE FFS!  :D It couldn't have rained hard enough during Let there be Rock.

That concert has lifted me all week long, the old ticketmaster spam shows that there are a tribute act playing the button factory on the 18th, was considering it until I checked them out on my space

http://www.myspace.com/azdztribute

:o  :-[

If the Glasgow gig was this weekend instead of Tuesday I'd be gone.
Some good vids up on youtube.
Also noticed that the set list is cast in concrete, the exact same every night of the tour
Post by: Maguire01 on July 02, 2009, 07:18:25 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on June 30, 2009, 11:42:07 PM
Jesus Christ why do people have to moan so much about piss head ands queue's for buses at concerts. I've been to about 10 gigs in the last 9 months and it's always the same reaction from people on this board ,

"I'm just a sour oul **** who is over the hill and is jealous of everyone having the craic"

It's a f**king concert. These things are part of it. Get over it. It people like you lot that spoil the whole thing.
These things are part of it if you accept them. Why should you pay €80 for a concert and then have a crap soundsystem? Or have to wait 2 hours because the organisers can't get the public transport sorted?
As for the queues at bars - i just don't understand this. The amount of money that could be made here if there were enough bars - it's madness on the part of the organisers.

For the record, I was at the gig in The Point in April - good crowd and no queues for anything - straight to the front of the bar every time (and I was only going at intervals, when they're normally bunged).
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 02, 2009, 10:47:30 PM
Those who claim the sound is crap are usually those to be found standing in between 2 relay stations.  Just move closer to one of them and hey presto!
Post by: rolloutking on July 03, 2009, 01:36:50 AM
QuoteThese things are part of it if you accept them. Why should you pay €80 for a concert and then have a crap soundsystem? Or have to wait 2 hours because the organisers can't get the public transport sorted?
As for the queues at bars - i just don't understand this. The amount of money that could be made here if there were enough bars - it's madness on the part of the organisers.

For the record, I was at the gig in The Point in April - good crowd and no queues for anything - straight to the front of the bar every time (and I was only going at intervals, when they're normally bunged).

The point I am making is that concerts are like this and all these things are part of the experience. Concerts aren't just about the music. They're about the craic, the warm beer, the half cooked burgers, the mud, the rain, the not giving a f**k about anything for a while, having a day out with your mates, getting soaked with a pint from someone miles back and not caring, swinging you tshirt over you head, having a total stranger lift you on their shoulders, being in the company of people who know every word of every song just like you, the mosh pits, singing your favourite song as loud you can along with 80000 people, seeing your mate with a girl who you wouldn't put your boot in never mind your tool and just laughing it off.

Thats what happens at concerts and thats why you pay 80 Euros for a ticket. So next time your standing in a que for a drink or a bus for 2 hours try being sociable and have the craic with the person beside you instead of standing with a sour face thinking about what radio phone in show your going to call in the morning. If you go to a gig just to hear the music you would be safer staying at home and listening to a live album in the comfort of your living room. Otherwise spend your 80 euros on a opera ticket or a musical in some theatre. I hear they are very respectable occasions.

Post by: Rav67 on July 03, 2009, 01:46:46 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on July 03, 2009, 01:36:50 AM
QuoteThese things are part of it if you accept them. Why should you pay €80 for a concert and then have a crap soundsystem? Or have to wait 2 hours because the organisers can't get the public transport sorted?

The point I am making is that concerts are like this and all these things are part of the experience. Concerts aren't just about the music. They're about the craic, the warm beer, the half cooked burgers, the mud, the rain, the not giving a f**k about anything for a while, having a day out with your mates, getting soaked with a pint from someone miles back and not caring, swinging you tshirt over you head, having a total stranger lift you on their shoulders, being in the company of people who know every word of every song just like you, the mosh pits, singing your favourite song as loud you can along with 80000 people, seeing your mate with a girl who you wouldn't put your boot in never mind your tool and just laughing it off.
Thats what happens at concerts and thats why you pay 80 Euros for a ticket. So next time your standing in a que for a drink or a bus for 2 hours try being sociable and have the craic with the person beside you instead of standing with a sour face thinking about what radio phone in show your going to call in the morning. If you go to a gig just to hear the music you would be safer staying at home and listening to a live album in the comfort of your living room. Otherwise spend your 80 euros on a opera ticket or a musical in some theatre. I hear they are very respectable occasions.

:D Thats him told!

Rolloutking - regarding the bit in bold, I though you were a girl?  Or has the mask slipped and you're actually a fella like the majority of "ladies" on this board!
Post by: rolloutking on July 03, 2009, 02:58:58 AM
QuoteThats him told!

Rolloutking - regarding the bit in bold, I though you were a girl?  Or has the mask slipped and you're actually a fella like the majority of "ladies" on this board!

What the f**k made you think that? Ther usernames RollOutKing, not RollOutQueen

Post by: Rav67 on July 03, 2009, 01:20:48 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on July 03, 2009, 02:58:58 AM
QuoteThats him told!

What the f**k made you think that? Ther usernames RollOutKing, not RollOutQueen

:D Cant remember its just in my head from ages ago.  In fairness I did think you went on like a fella and must be a mucksavage/ladette!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 03, 2009, 03:19:34 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on July 03, 2009, 01:36:50 AM

The stuff in your first paragraph - fair enough - none of that is down to the promoters. I've been in the mosh pit, i've been soaked, i've sung along to the songs..... who's complaining about any of that?

But in relation to the rest of it - if your accept second best, that's what you get. Such lack of organisation and facilities is common, especially in Ireland, but that doesn't make it okay.

I've been to hundreds of festivals and gigs - both working and as a punter - and have seen the good, the bad and the ugly. If some promoters can ensure their events have proper transport arrangements, proper bar facilities etc, then there's no excuse for the rest.

Take a visit to a festival in Europe, then come back and compare to Oxegen / Slane / Punchestown - you don't need to go to an opera or a musical.

And I don't call any radio shows.
Post by: thejuice on July 03, 2009, 04:31:43 PM
Been going to festivals in Europe more often these days. Better craic, less knackers, better choice, better organisation generally, better weather, sexier women and everythings generally cheaper.

The festivals in Germany are the best run in my experience.

Only go to smaller festivals at home. Would have to take something ridiculously good to get me to go back to Oxegen or Slane or a big festival in the UK.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 03, 2009, 08:04:51 PM
The brother told me last night that one of his mates is away off to a Belgian festival, something like €150 for a four or five day ticket!!! Its €106 for a one day ticket to Oxegen!!

Anyway, this thread has got highjacked..... AC/DC RULE!!!!!
Post by: ludermor on July 03, 2009, 09:45:39 PM
Lads any of ye going to the electric picnic this year?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 03, 2009, 10:43:49 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 03, 2009, 09:45:39 PM
Lads any of ye going to the electric picnic this year?
Hopefully. Not an exceptional line-up, but always a great atmosphere.
Post by: Armamike on July 03, 2009, 11:04:57 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on June 30, 2009, 11:42:07 PM

That's bollix . Having some c**t trying to pish down the back of your leg isn't part of anything - not in my world anyway.

I've been to enough good open air concerts over the years to know my apples from oranges - half the knackers at the DC concert didn't get to see the fookin concert never mind have a good time.

Post by: thejuice on July 04, 2009, 02:11:52 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 03, 2009, 08:04:51 PM
The brother told me last night that one of his mates is away off to a Belgian festival, something like €150 for a four or five day ticket!!! Its €106 for a one day ticket to Oxegen!!

Damn Straight!

Rumours that they are touring next year just playing the Back In Black album in its entirety as its 30 years old.

I'll attend those shows if its true but if I were so privileged to pick an AC/DC set list it would be this:

1. Riff Raff
2. Bad Boy Boogie
3. Whats Next To The Moon,
4. Shake a Leg,
5. Its A Long Way To The Top,
6. Girls Got Rhythm
7. Rock and Roll Train
8. Rock And Roll Ain't Noise Pollution
9. High Voltage
10. Let There Be Rock
11. Problem Child
12. Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be
13. Hells Bells
14. Highway To Hell
15. For Those About To Rock,
16. If You Want Blood

wishful thinking of course.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 04, 2009, 11:02:07 AM
good oul list there juice, not many arguments (apart from the odd glaring omission ;))

which reminds me; huge fan of the old "bad boy boogie" number, was really wantin it to come up at some stage on sunday;
a chap beside me remarked that they never do it live, which i accepted at the time;
i was wondering i any of the hard core fans knew if there was a reason behind this at all?

also, have to agree with the majority of the posters on here; theres an acceptable elvel of tolerance for the sh1t you have to go through to get to a concert, and while there, and on the way home;
standing in a massive snake like queue, while feckers jump barriers, and stewards and gards do nothing is not my idea of fun; we stood in the queue for an hour, and would still have been in the queue for another hr minimum till they barriers were tumbled; not my idea of fun i tell thee
Post by: Maguire01 on July 04, 2009, 11:20:53 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 04, 2009, 02:11:52 AM
Rumours that they are touring next year just playing the Back In Black album in its entirety as its 30 years old.
I'd rather a straight set. How long is Back & Black? It's a great album, but it wouldn't be much of a concert on its own.
Maybe they'll do something like the latest Manics tour, where they played their new album in full for the first half of the gig and then played a greatest hits set.
Post by: thejuice on July 04, 2009, 12:00:48 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 04, 2009, 11:20:53 AM
I'd rather a straight set. How long is Back & Black? It's a great album, but it wouldn't be much of a concert on its own.
Maybe they'll do something like the latest Manics tour, where they played their new album in full for the first half of the gig and then played a greatest hits set.

Back In Black is about 40 minutes, they'll probably do as you say, play the hits after.

RE: jibbajabba

I picked songs they havent played in years or ever. But in regards Bad Boy Boogie, they played it on the Stiff Upper Lip tour in 2000.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAwrB7PLgVc&feature=related

They never play Its A Long Way To Top. SOme say its because of the Bagpipes but some say that it was Bons signature tune and they dont play it as a mark of respect. But i'd love to hear them play it.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 04, 2009, 12:33:06 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 03, 2009, 08:04:51 PM

Damn Straight!

I'll attend those shows if its true but if I were so privileged to pick an AC/DC set list it would be this:

1. Riff Raff
2. Bad Boy Boogie
3. Whats Next To The Moon,
4. Shake a Leg,
5. Its A Long Way To The Top,
6. Girls Got Rhythm
7. Rock and Roll Train
8. Rock And Roll Ain't Noise Pollution
9. High Voltage
10. Let There Be Rock
11. Problem Child
12. Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be
13. Hells Bells
14. Highway To Hell
15. For Those About To Rock,
16. If You Want Blood

wishful thinking of course.

Only two songs post BiB  :o

Bad Boy Boogie doesn't fetaure on the live double album or family jewels dvd

My ten year old loves Long way to the top and LZ's emigrant song, all as a result of school of rock. If you want to convert kids to rock its a class way to do it.
Post by: thejuice on July 04, 2009, 04:27:49 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 04, 2009, 12:33:06 PM
My ten year old loves Long way to the top and LZ's emigrant song, all as a result of school of rock. If you want to convert kids to rock its a class way to do it.

good stuff, start them early.

Don't know what I'd do if my kids bring home albums by boy bands or pop-groups. Suppose I'd take a leaf out of the PMRC's books and confiscate such evil music and give them something more wholesome like W.A.S.P. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxHl3gr-WMM)
Post by: The Blegard on July 04, 2009, 05:56:11 PM
saw them in Sydney years ago when they were supported by the Living end. One of the best concerts i have been to

My favourite songs have always been Downpayment Blues and gone Shooting from Powerage. Been caught speeding a few times to them
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on July 05, 2009, 12:27:24 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 04, 2009, 04:27:49 PM

Don't know what I'd do if my kids bring home albums by boy bands or pop-groups. Suppose I'd take a leaf out of the PMRC's books and confiscate such evil music and give them something more wholesome like W.A.S.P. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxHl3gr-WMM)

White Anglo Saxon Protestants?
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 05, 2009, 12:48:55 AM
QuoteRumours that they are touring next year just playing the Back In Black album in its entirety as its 30 years old.

typical schoolboy rumour and obvious crock of shite ::)
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 03:28:59 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on July 05, 2009, 12:48:55 AM
QuoteRumours that they are touring next year just playing the Back In Black album in its entirety as its 30 years old.

Did Metallica not recently do something similar with Master of Puppets? No reason at all to suspect it's "shite".
Post by: thejuice on July 05, 2009, 10:39:31 AM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on July 05, 2009, 12:27:24 AM

When asked about the band's name, Lawless has avoided giving a straight answer; in an interview he answered "We Ain't Sure, Pal". its hardly white anglo saxon prods as Blackie is half native American.
Post by: thejuice on July 05, 2009, 10:40:22 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on July 05, 2009, 12:48:55 AM

well the person who told me, funnily enough was dressed like a school boy  ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on July 18, 2009, 12:32:28 PM
Best buy of the week  ;)

http://acdc.officialmerchshop.com/mainstreet/forms/ms_item_images.aspx?item_guid=29c33c98-c085-475e-8a6c-cdda98cef219&image_guid=

Post by: thejuice on July 26, 2009, 11:37:27 PM
Did ya see Brian Johnson on Top Gear. He got I think the 2nd fastest time.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 26, 2009, 11:52:38 PM
F it, missed that, I think that it is repeated on Friday evenings
Post by: thejuice on July 26, 2009, 11:55:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ae0IsUEsfGg
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 27, 2009, 11:09:29 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 05, 2009, 10:39:31 AM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on July 05, 2009, 12:27:24 AM

When asked about the band's name, Lawless has avoided giving a straight answer; in an interview he answered "We Ain't Sure, Pal". its hardly white anglo saxon prods as Blackie is half native American.

well when I saw them live years ago in philly (1989) they shouted out what the bands name meant

'we are sexual perverts' !

Blackie lawless always rubbished the notion that it was anything to do with white anglo saxon prods - though it means feck all even if it did in relation to the band live !

Might go to that gig in Dec.

Saw Brian Johnson on top gear. Great driver and great down to earth guy !
Post by: Louth Exile on July 27, 2009, 11:48:48 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 26, 2009, 11:55:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ae0IsUEsfGg

Taken down already, the BBC are always very quick to pull down the youtube stuff, particularly anything to do with top gear
Title: AC/DC 2010 European Tour dates - More to Follow!!
Post by: thejuice on December 14, 2009, 08:56:47 PM
Quote22 May 2010: Wels, Austria (Flugplatz Wels)
25 May 2010: Hannover, Germany (Hannover Messe)
12 Jun 2010: Stuttgart, Germany (Cannstatter Wasen) Festival
19 Jun 2010: Dresden, Germany (Festwiese Ostragehege) Festival 
22 Jun: 2010: Berlin, Germany (Olympiastadion)

More Dates to Follow. After the crowds they got this year in Ireland they'd be mad not to come back.

Already have my tickets for Mastodon and KISS next year, Iron Maiden are touring as well next year.

2010 is going to be a good one gig wise!
Post by: under the bar on December 14, 2009, 10:13:42 PM
They should do Slane next year and reclaim it for proper rock bands
Post by: Maguire01 on December 15, 2009, 06:02:32 PM
I'd almost rather they didn't come back for a year or two - i'd hate to miss them, but with Metallica and 2 Pearl Jam gigs already in the pipeline, it could be a bit too much for the wallet to handle! Maybe if they came to Belfast and there were no other travel/accommodation costs it would be ok.
Post by: thejuice on December 15, 2009, 07:00:20 PM
QuoteFull Tour announced

4-May-2010 - Sofia, Bulgaria - Vassil Levsky Stadium - Fri Dec 18 @ 9AM
16-May-2010 - Bucharest, Romania - Piata Constitutiei - Wed Dec 16 @9AM
19-May-2010 - Udine, Italy - Stadio Friuli - Thurs Dec 17 @8PM
22-May-2010 - Wels, Austria - Air Field - Wed Dec 16 @9AM
25-May-2010 - Hannover, Germany - Messe - Wed Dec 16 @9AM
27-May-2010 - Warsaw, Poland - Bermov Airfield - TBD
30-May-2010 - Tallinn, Estonia - Song Festival Ground - TBD
1-Jun-2010 - Tampere, Finland - Ratina Stadium - TBD
3-Jun-2010 - Stockholm, Sweden - Olympic Stadium - TBD
5-Jun-2010 - Horsens, Denmark - Horsens Stadium - TBD
8-Jun-2010 - Zurich, Switzerland - Letzigrund Stadion - TBD
11-Jun-2010 Donnington, UK - Download Festival - TBD
13-Jun-2010 - Stuttgart, Germany - Cannstatter Wasen - Wed Dec 16 @
15-Jun-2010 - Nice,France-Parc des Sports Charles Ehrmann -Fri Dec 18
18-Jun-2010 - Paris, France - Stadt De France - Fri Dec 18 @ 8AM
20-Jun-2010 - Dresden, Germany - Ostrahege - Wed Dec 16 @9AM
22-Jun-2010 - Berlin, Germany - Olympic Stadium - Wed Dec 16

No Irish date which I'm really surprised about.  Unless they wheel back for Slane in August.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 12, 2014, 09:20:04 AM
Back in Dublin July 1st Aviva stadium.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 12, 2014, 10:40:38 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 12, 2014, 09:20:04 AM

As a mate of mine says....I'd rather listen to a kango.
Post by: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 10:59:20 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 12, 2014, 10:40:38 AM

You and your mate have no taste  ;D

Showing my age here but it'll be almost 33 years since I first saw them in Dublin by the time time this gig comes around  :o. I'd prefer they were doing somewhere like the 3Arena but this will have to do..
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 12:15:02 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 10:59:20 AM

Showing my age here but it'll be almost 33 years since I first saw them in Dublin by the time time this gig comes around  :o. I'd prefer they were doing somewhere like the 3Arena but this will have to do..
the Razors Edge tour??
was excellent gig !
I still have at least one of the Angus Dollar bills!

Post by: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 01:22:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 12:15:02 PM

Showing my age here but it'll be almost 33 years since I first saw them in Dublin by the time this gig comes around  :o. I'd prefer they were doing somewhere like the 3Arena but this will have to do..
the Razors Edge tour??
was excellent gig !

Razors Edge would have been 91ish??? with the excellent Kings X supporting them. 82 would have been the For those about to Rock tour. I was a very excitable 14 year old on his first trip out into the big bad world. Christ I'm getting old
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 12, 2014, 02:48:28 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 01:22:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2014, 12:15:02 PM

Showing my age here but it'll be almost 33 years since I first saw them in Dublin by the time this gig comes around  :o. I'd prefer they were doing somewhere like the 3Arena but this will have to do..
the Razors Edge tour??
was excellent gig !

Razors Edge would have been 91ish??? with the excellent Kings X supporting them. 82 would have been the For those about to Rock tour. I was a very excitable 14 year old on his first trip out into the big bad world. Christ I'm getting old

How the feck did you get let go to that at your age, I'm a year older and wasn't let go, the brother went. We have 7 definitely wanting to go in my family, aged 14 to 52, it will be hard to get tickets.

Post by: charlieTully on December 12, 2014, 03:59:10 PM
€87.50   it's a bit steep. Seen them in Kings hall early 90s and punchestown. Two brilliant gigs but couldn't justify paying that for a one off day.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 12, 2014, 04:20:27 PM
That's a ridiculous price alright, especially when you factor in all the other costs.
Post by: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 04:26:23 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 12, 2014, 03:59:10 PM
€87.50   it's a bit steep. Seen them in Kings hall early 90s and punchestown. Two brilliant gigs but couldn't justify paying that for a one off day.

Fairly run of the mill price I'd say? I took a notion the other day I wanted to go to Fleetwood Mac. The tickets when I went to my local ticketmaster outlet were €135 EACH, I passed on them...

One thing that makes me slightly cross is the date. July 1st is just after the longest day, Id say we'll not get the full effect of their lightshow.
Post by: charlieTully on December 12, 2014, 04:37:28 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 04:26:23 PM

Fairly run of the mill price I'd say? I took a notion the other day I wanted to go to Fleetwood Mac. The tickets when I went to my local ticketmaster outlet were €135 EACH, I passed on them...

One thing that makes me slightly cross is the date. July 1st is just after the longest day, Id say we'll not get the full effect of their lightshow.

The last three gigs I was at were therapy in mandela hall £13 biffy Clyro at belsonic £30 and electric picnic  €170 approx which is numerous bands over three days. I couldn't afford 87.50 and all the other costs the go with it. Wish I could it will  be a brilliant  day.
Post by: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 05:04:24 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 12, 2014, 04:37:28 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 12, 2014, 04:26:23 PM

The last three gigs I was at were therapy in mandela hall £13 biffy Clyro at belsonic £30 and electric picnic  €170 approx which is numerous bands over three days. I couldn't afford 87.50 and all the other costs the go with it. Wish I could it will  be a brilliant  day.

Yeah mate I hear what you are saying, my point was just that the size of a band they are and what their peers are charging I wasn't one bit surprised at what the price is.

Hopefully Santa will be good to you and you get a ticket  ;)
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 17, 2014, 09:10:41 AM
5 on the pitch. Yehaaaa
Post by: Boycey on December 17, 2014, 01:58:55 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 17, 2014, 09:10:41 AM
5 on the pitch. Yehaaaa

Good man, bagged 4 for the pitch myself... Looks like there'll be plenty of us golden oldies there going by the others I know who have also been lucky...

Heres a wee tune to warm you up https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44XYEeD1A1U
Post by: clarshack on December 17, 2014, 03:53:00 PM
got 2 tickets myself. never seen them in concert before so looking forward to it :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 17, 2014, 07:14:36 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 17, 2014, 03:53:00 PM
got 2 tickets myself. never seen them in concert before so looking forward to it :)
Despite Malcolm young missing you will enjoy it - they always put on a hell of a show!!

Don't think I will go to this one.
The razors edge and ballbreaker shows will never be topped!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 17, 2014, 07:39:53 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 17, 2014, 07:14:36 PM
Despite Malcolm young missing you will enjoy it - they always put on a hell of a show!!

Two great shows, but this would have been the way to see them:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sj56AySck9E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sj56AySck9E)

Post by: lynchbhoy on December 17, 2014, 11:59:31 PM
Cracking perf alright!
I used to have the let there be rock video - shot in Paris
Think it was 1978
What a show!!!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 18, 2014, 01:00:46 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 17, 2014, 11:59:31 PM
Cracking perf alright!
I used to have the let there be rock video - shot in Paris
Think it was 1978
What a show!!!

Had that myself, great show!
Post by: thebuzz on December 18, 2014, 01:50:42 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 17, 2014, 07:39:53 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 17, 2014, 07:14:36 PM

Two great shows, but this would have been the way to see them:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sj56AySck9E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sj56AySck9E)

Just pulled on the old earphones there and watched it at work. Have to say I didn't expect it to make me feel so emotional. First saw them in the Ulster Hall in 1979 (Highway to Hell Tour). Certainly made me feel old  :)
Post by: johnneycool on December 18, 2014, 04:16:12 PM
Went to see them in 1988 in the Wembley Area on one of those Makin Traks/ Skelton tours yolks. Disaster of a journey but well made up by the concert 8 rows from the front, the whole place was seated, no mosh pit at the front, magic night. I was 16 at the time.
Seen them again in Belfast with the inflatable Rosie when those inflatables were the height of the technology.

I think I'll give this one a miss as I'd prefer to remember them from my youth rather than wrinkly old men toddling about the stage..
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 26, 2014, 09:47:04 PM
Restricted view, side of stage 69.50 Euro tickets currently for sale on ticketmaster.
Post by: thejuice on December 27, 2014, 01:02:33 AM
Having to give this a miss this time round as my first child is expected to arrive that week. Prices are a bit too steep anyway.

I'm a huge fan and it's probably their last hurrah but I've been lucky to have seen them 4 times on their last two tours. I'm holding out for a few extra European dates to be added later in the year but I doubt it'll happen.

I have that Let There Be Rock vhs too, watched it repeatedly for about two years after I got it.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 27, 2014, 07:16:25 PM
Quote from: thejuice on December 27, 2014, 01:02:33 AM
Having to give this a miss this time round as my first child is expected to arrive that week. Prices are a bit too steep anyway.

I'm a huge fan and it's probably their last hurrah but I've been lucky to have seen them 4 times on their last two tours. I'm holding out for a few extra European dates to be added later in the year but I doubt it'll happen.

I have that Let There Be Rock vhs too, watched it repeatedly for about two years after I got it.
The music and perf are sensational but the but where Angus gets oxygen then goes back out to play is unbelieveable !!
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2015, 04:58:57 PM
 A good two hour concert last night. The old rockers still have it.
Post by: ziggysego on July 02, 2015, 05:24:09 PM
It was some craic, don't know how they still do it.
Post by: armaghniac on July 02, 2015, 05:45:43 PM
Did they shake yous all night long?
Post by: Over the Bar on July 02, 2015, 08:17:13 PM
Deadly show.  Every bit as good as Punchestown if not better but quite different in that P'town was fully outdoors.  On the pitch last night had the benefit of the sound bouncing off the roof.  Wish now I'd booked Wembley as well.    You'd swear Malcolm Young's nephew was actually the man himself!     
Post by: clarshack on July 02, 2015, 09:32:27 PM
Great gig last night!!!
Post by: Blowitupref on February 12, 2024, 04:08:26 PM
Confirmed today for August 17th in Croke Park. A Saturday night in Dublin with their overpriced accommodation will rule plenty out.
Post by: trailer on February 12, 2024, 04:12:48 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 12, 2024, 04:08:26 PMConfirmed today for August 17th in Croke Park. A Saturday night in Dublin with their overpriced accommodation will rule plenty out.

Ticket prices and accommodation will be scandalous.
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2024, 05:12:03 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 12, 2024, 04:08:26 PMConfirmed today for August 17th in Croke Park. A Saturday night in Dublin with their overpriced accommodation will rule plenty out.
This is probably another reason for the split season. Concerts in CP in August.
Post by: Puckoon on February 12, 2024, 05:32:47 PM
Pearl Jam rumored for Morley Park June 22. Where would the best places to stay be if you were flying into Dublin for that venue?
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2024, 09:01:57 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-ie/entertainment/music/ac-dc-set-to-rock-croke-park-this-summer

AC/DC last played Ireland in 2015 when a sold-out show in the Aviva Stadium was reportedly heard across the city.
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 12, 2024, 09:11:27 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 12, 2024, 05:32:47 PMPearl Jam rumored for Morley Park June 22. Where would the best places to stay be if you were flying into Dublin for that venue?
It's a tough place to get to. You'd be 5/6 Kms from Sandyford or Dundrum. That might be your best bet.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 13, 2024, 06:09:15 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 12, 2024, 05:12:03 PM
This is probably another reason for the split season. Concerts in CP in August.

Skeptics on the split season do think that.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2024, 09:33:26 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 12, 2024, 05:32:47 PMPearl Jam rumored for Morley Park June 22. Where would the best places to stay be if you were flying into Dublin for that venue?

Have been waiting to see when they're here. How strong is that rumour?
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2024, 04:19:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2024, 09:33:26 AM

All the other rumors were right - and it was just confirmed today after the release of the new single. First Irish show since 2010

June 22nd Morely Park
June 25 Manchester
June 29 Spurs Stadium
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2024, 05:13:20 PM

Spot all the lads in their late 40s 👀
Post by: Blowitupref on February 13, 2024, 05:52:05 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 13, 2024, 04:19:12 PM

All the other rumors were right - and it was just confirmed today after the release of the new single. First Irish show since 2010

June 22nd Morely Park
June 25 Manchester
June 29 Spurs Stadium

Saturday in Dublin again. Manchester mid week will likely would work out cheaper for those that want to attend.
Post by: balladmaker on February 13, 2024, 06:19:41 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 12, 2024, 04:12:48 PM

Ticket prices and accommodation will be scandalous.

Will still be jammers though on the night.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2024, 06:45:32 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 13, 2024, 04:19:12 PM

June 22nd Morely Park
June 25 Manchester
June 29 Spurs Stadium

Yeah just got the presale email from herself!!
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2024, 06:59:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2024, 05:13:20 PM

Spot all the lads in their late 40s 👀

Early 40s Tony. Relax Yourself FFS!

We've been following them around for the last few years and have had a superb experience at each show. Each one different, different opening song, different set list every night. Would love to do Dublin but the prices of accommodation are scandalous. Would be as cheap to go to Madison Square and stay in NYC so I've lumped my luck in for MSG, Wrigley, Seattle, and Montana. If I get 2 I'll be happy.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 14, 2024, 07:28:58 AM
anyone going to see DKM in Iveagh Gardens?
Post by: clarshack on February 16, 2024, 10:25:00 AM
What was the scramble for tickets like? and were they pricey?
didn't bother this time as had seen them at the Aviva in 2015 and while it was good then just can't see how it could be as good nearly 10 years later. Angus is nearly 70 at this stage.
Post by: 5times5times on February 16, 2024, 10:41:35 AM
I popped on earlier, close to 500 yoyos for 3 tickets.. And throw in Ticketmaster being the worst site on the planet.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 16, 2024, 11:38:36 AM
Tried for steerage tickets.

No luck. All I was offered was crap stand tickets.
Me arse!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 16, 2024, 12:33:39 PM
£135 for a ticket, steep
Post by: seafoid on February 16, 2024, 02:25:19 PM
I saw on a German website that tickets for one of their concerts in Germany sold out in 8 minutes.
Post by: seafoid on February 16, 2024, 02:25:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 16, 2024, 12:33:39 PM£135 for a ticket, steep
That's £120 in 2020 money
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 16, 2024, 06:16:07 PM
Think it was £70 in the Aviva less than 10yrs ago. There's inflation, and theirs taking the piss!
Post by: dec on February 16, 2024, 09:32:44 PM
Market forces
Post by: Blowitupref on February 17, 2024, 02:10:21 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 16, 2024, 06:16:07 PMThink it was £70 in the Aviva less than 10yrs ago. There's inflation, and theirs taking the piss!

Was at it with fees and all it was a little over 80 euro.

For standing tickets this concert including fees €156.75 and then add in the price of Dublin accommodation for a Saturday night.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 17, 2024, 09:05:47 AM
The Promoters know that an AC/DC Concert will sell out. It's all about Maximising profits. They have taken over from the Tout who used to have the 20% to 50% mark-up.

A couple of years ago Taylor Swift only sold 70% of her concert capacity. Promoters were not bothered as the higher tickets prices more than made up for the shortfall. Touts sold tickets for less than face value.

It's nice for real fans to get the chance to see legends for probably one last time (even if their view is a dot on a Stage or on a big screen).