Tyrone v Down Ulster Championship First Round 8th June 2008

Started by To whom it may concern, April 14, 2008, 12:39:46 PM

Quote from: ziggysego on June 14, 2008, 10:18:12 PM
Wireless phones Jody. One of these new fangled things. Don't think it'll catch on though.

Ziggy don't mean to gloat or anything, but...

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6859.45

Hehe...

jodyb

Quote from: Square Ball on June 14, 2008, 10:15:40 PM
Quote from: jodyb on June 14, 2008, 10:08:51 PM
Ziggy, thought you were at the game? You on a blackberry or some other technological miracle that scares the sh!t outa me??

its called a phone Jodyb  ;)
Quote from: ziggysego on June 14, 2008, 10:18:12 PM
Wireless phones Jody. One of these new fangled things. Don't think it'll catch on though.

Ah ffs boys what wud I no? Sure i only got a mobile about 6 months ago an that was just at the missus insistence, so that she cud keep an eye on me!!

See the BBC has Down being reduced to ten men in the second half  ::)

superblues

Quote from: D4S on June 14, 2008, 12:36:19 PM
70 mins Down 2-12 Tyrone 2-12

AET Down 2-16 Tyrone 2-15!!!

John Clarke and Benny will have stormers 2nite scoring 1-5 each...........just wait and see...I dreamt this last nite :D

Not bad D4S, close enough to get the cigar.

But I bet the dream didn't quite capture the nail biting drama.

Whitehair

Just in there now with a fish supper and a six pack of magners, never as happy to sit in on a saturday nite! The lads showed great character to come back from being 4 up, to level then 4 down in extra time and grind out a win. A game of swings and roundabouts and luckily we came out on top, all credit to the panel, management and Ricey for a great assist!

goh4205

Quote from: superblues on June 14, 2008, 10:33:40 PM
did anyone else think the ref was poor

I thought he had a shite game, infact i thought he was anti down.  The seemed to be half killed before they got their free.  He's a complete gobshite is our Pat.

What a game, a real classic, they wont get entertainment like that at the European Championships or in the so called Premiership. Great night to be a Downman, we will enjoy it for a while, while sparing a thought for Tyrone, they were lion-hearted tonight and would have deserved a draw. I suspect we have not seen the last of them this year, they will break a few hearts in the qualifiers. Meanwhile us Down men will start to dream, sober analysis can be left to later

reddgnhand

i think we lost this one on the line. I'm still lost as to what tactics MH sent that team out with tonight. To keep big Sean in full forward for that length of time was criminal. Totally wasted in there. I was in line with him for the second half and he was totally frustrated.

mattockranger

A side to get goals are hard to beat and a Down team with cofidence is very hard to beat.....!
they beat us (louth) in the league at the death with a goal.......just when you think they are dead and buried,out of it they get a goal against the run of play

its a characteristic in this side and fair play to Ross carr and DJ Kane two down stalwarts who thought their team to play with guile and honesty!
dark horses for ulster! and then who knows!!
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

the green man

Quote from: Bogball XV on June 14, 2008, 10:15:52 PM
I think derry were beat in the first round up in irvinestown that year - i think it was my first game, unless they lost to fermanagh two years in a row.  We've handed out some amount of hammerings to them since then though.

Not too sure what round it was. Mickey Moran was over them along with the oul fella. Frankie Johnson drop kicked a line ball/free kick into a Fermanagh player, they scored from that and won.

Quote from: the green man on June 14, 2008, 11:42:50 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 14, 2008, 10:15:52 PM
I think derry were beat in the first round up in irvinestown that year - i think it was my first game, unless they lost to fermanagh two years in a row.  We've handed out some amount of hammerings to them since then though.

Not too sure what round it was. Mickey Moran was over them along with the oul fella. Frankie Johnson drop kicked a line ball/free kick into a Fermanagh player, they scored from that and won.
I'm guessing that since it was in irvinestown it wouldn't have been a semi-final anyway, that's frankie the slaughtmanus man?  Doctor?

Couldn't make the game tonight, well done Down, and good luck for the rest of it. Believe Mc Enaney was horrific, he's excelling himself these days.

the green man

Quote from: Bogball XV on June 14, 2008, 11:51:22 PM
I'm guessing that since it was in irvinestown it wouldn't have been a semi-final anyway, that's frankie the slaughtmanus man?  Doctor?

Defo Slaughtmanus, not sure if he's a doctor. The oul fella still spits when he talks about that game. You could be right, that the game was in Irvinestown

Just home from the game, Down thoroughly deserved their win, you could see how much it meant to the players at the end, Benny was jumping up and down like a madman!

The referee was awful, the Down players had to be beaten alive before they got the free, whilst tyrone got a number of soft frees, especially near the end of normal time.

Did anyone see Dooher kiss his man on the cheek, what was that about?  :o

If theres a better game this year, i pray to good that im at it.