Boxing Thread

Started by bennydorano, November 04, 2007, 09:00:01 PM

Quote from: StPatsAbu on September 25, 2021, 11:30:29 PM
Usyk could beat 2 Joshuas

You were seeing 3 Joshua's most of that fight I'd say

I was looking to quote someone there who predicted a Usyk win. Couldn't find one among the hindsight.

Michael Conlon's QF Olympic match officially declared a fix.

Michael "it's not news to me but it's good news"

https://www.bbc.com/sport/boxing/58747880

Apologies if wrong thread but any links to cage warriors tonight?

Rich Ricci

Quote from: Walter Cronc on October 01, 2021, 10:09:30 PM
Apologies if wrong thread but any links to cage warriors tonight?

Bellator is streaming on the iplayer, not sure if that's what you're after

Nah its cage warriors I'm after. Cheers RR.

toby47

Quote from: Walter Cronc on October 01, 2021, 10:19:27 PM
Nah its cage warriors I'm after. Cheers RR.

Some win for Hughes

Just about to watch Clubber Lang take on Rocky in the rematch! "I pitty fool" "you're prediction" "pain"
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Boxing will never match the skill levels of Apollo Creed!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Some can of worms with the Olympic corruption.

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 02, 2021, 09:45:27 AM

Jones lost 2-3 to South Korean Park-Si-Hun in the final of the light middleweight (71kg) division in the Seoul Games despite landing 86 punches to the home favourite's 32

Also Jones was awarded the best boxer during the tournament!

I'm sure we could go back even further to find bigger disgraceful decisions

Worked with a trainer years ago, lovely fella, knew his boxing inside out, he always said when the Ulster lads headed to the National stadium for the All Ireland's they generally had to stop their southern opponents to get the win

Probably happened at every games when it comes to boxing or any sport where judges are involved. Even big AJ got one or two dodgy decisions in 2012 with one against Felix Savons nephew. Sure look at the craic with the Chinese in 2008, in some fights it was near impossible to score a point against them.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 02, 2021, 10:44:31 AM

Jones lost 2-3 to South Korean Park-Si-Hun in the final of the light middleweight (71kg) division in the Seoul Games despite landing 86 punches to the home favourite's 32

Also Jones was awarded the best boxer during the tournament!

I'm sure we could go back even further to find bigger disgraceful decisions

Worked with a trainer years ago, lovely fella, knew his boxing inside out, he always said when the Ulster lads headed to the National stadium for the All Ireland's they generally had to stop their southern opponents to get the win

Remember that fight. Jones was doing exhibitions punches in the last round. Sort of a lap of honour.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 02, 2021, 10:44:31 AM
[/quote

And the scores of times Ulster lads won bouts on points (which is how the vast majority of amateur bouts at that level are decided) is just the exception to the rule.