Katie Taylor in Croker?

Started by moonster, March 06, 2026, 11:12:22 PM

moonster

So Ed Hearne going to foot the bill? The **** is looking for a freebie by the looks of it.

2026 the year of the 9 Cups

Truthsayer

Good luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.

Quote from: Truthsayer on March 06, 2026, 11:17:35 PMGood luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Yes she would. Easily. Get a decent undercard

Truthsayer

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 07, 2026, 12:40:56 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on March 06, 2026, 11:17:35 PMGood luck to Katie but I never got that whole hype. Would she fill Croke Park? Can't understand why she doesn't want to fight in the Aviva as she played soccer for the Republic of Ireland.
Maybe she would then... You can have my ticket 🎟

Dag Dog

In the past, it sounded like the promoters wanted either the GAA or the government to take a bath on the cost of running the event.
Any more willingness from them this time around?

Aye but not because people are genuinely interested in watching her. The people of this island are event junkies and would go to the opening of an envelope and it's x10 now in the Instagram era.

There had been zero evidence for years that KT could fill Croker. If it had been a realistic possibility it would have happened by now. Hearn has never wanted to pay the cost as he knew selling out wasn't going to happen, hence why you had the likes of McGregor saying he'd help foot the bill.

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 07, 2026, 12:40:56 AMYes she would. Easily. Get a decent undercard

Do you ever actually have evidence for anything you say or just make up whatever shit comes into your head and throw it out there? Nobody outside a tiny niche group of enthusiasts buys a ticket to watch boxing for anything on the undercard.

Baile Brigín 2

Anyone who thinks there is a market for 90,000 tickets for boxing in Ireland is deluded. While I don't doubt she could put on an event in the Point or similar, she risks losing her arse and retirement fund on this one.

Also I see that gobshite minister for sport putting himself in the middle of this. Don't worry lads, he won't stop it happening.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 07, 2026, 11:11:44 AM
Aye but not because people are genuinely interested in watching her. The people of this island are event junkies and would go to the opening of an envelope and it's x10 now in the Instagram era.

Every country is coming down with event junkies.

But event junkies, they revel in FOMO experiences.

What's the biggest boxing event ever held in Ireland? Maybe 15,000 people? I don't know. But hosting big boxing events isn't part of our culture. And my guess would be if there aren't enough hardcore followers of an event/experience to swing the scarcity pendulum towards FOMO, then the "influencers" aren't  going to roll in behind it and force the issue.

Wouldn't watch women boxing live myself, men's boxing can be poor enough fair but 90 grand at Croker would be some event to pull off.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Baile Brigín 2

There are a handful of events that can attract 90,000 punters.
-AIF final
-AIH final
-Rugby v England when they are winning
-Ryder Cup
-Irish Open

But none of them actually can.

If there was a market for boxing events of this scale we would have them. Dunne's last fight in 2009 is the last big boxing event I can recall and that was ballpark 10,000 punters.

File under daft idea, but likely a stalking horse for somewhere else.

Brendan

Try branding it as Katie Taylor Swift, should sell out no problem

Womens boxing is a hard watch as it is. Never filling Croke Park for a Katie Taylor fight.

I would love to see some of you boys get in the ring with Katie.
Joe McDonagh 2026 🏆