Laois SFC 2025

Started by Karate kid, July 21, 2025, 11:22:00 AM

Karate kid

With the Senior Football Championship just 2 days from commencing now thought I'd start this topic for the championship. I know I have been leading the giving out but hopefully we see a decent championship despite the thing being too big.

Going to make my predictions for the first round, feel free to throw your predictions in too and we'll have a bit of craic with this throughout the year.

Karate kid

Portarlington v The Heath - Not sure who is back from Port for this first one, I am under the impression that they will be without Cathal Bennett, Pigott, Colm and Rioghan Murphy. Believe young Slevin is over in the States too. Still think will have too much for The Heath but could be tighter than you might think. Port by 5.

Portlaoise v O' Dempseys - Portlaoise edge this for me. Believe Larkin is on holidays at the moment which I presume the town aren't happy about but one can only presume he'll be back for this. Portlaoise by 6.

Ballyroan abbey v Emo - Potential to be a good tie. You'd expect Ballyroan to be too strong but Emo can be a banana skin and Ballyroan are yet to push on in championship. Shaun Fitz will be a loss for Broan is still injured but think they will get over the line. Broan by 3

St Joseph's v Ballyfin - Shouldn't be in the same championship, prime example of champo being too big. Joseph's by 14.

Graigue v Stradbally - Another good tie on paper. Should be close but think Graigue are miles stronger than leagur form with Byrne and Collins back from county. Graigue by 2.

Arles Killeen v Rosenallis - Killeen have some firepower this year. Backs might let them down further down the line but apart from Friel, don't think Rosenallis have the forwards. Killeen by 5

Killeshin v Clonaslee St Manamans - Both off the back of good leagues. Corbett and Lee will cause trouble to anyone they play. On the other end, Killeshin have Roche and Heffernan as their two key players. Think Killeshin have stronger supporting cast. Killeshin by 4.

Crettyard v Courtwood - Time for Courtwood to push on. If they are serious about going far this year need to win this comfortably. Courtwood by 9.

SCFC

Port v Heath - Port by 6
O'Dempseys v Portlaoise - Portlaoise by 2 or 3
Emo v BA - draw
Killeshin v CSM - Clonaslee to pull off a shock by 2
Joes v Ballyfin - Joes by 13
Crettyard v Courtwood - Cretty by 2
Graigue v Stradbally - Graigue by 4
Rosenallis v Killeen - another draw

The PRO

Portarlington v The Heath - Port will get it hard to retain the title but The Heath are very average. Port by 7 or 8.

Portlaoise v O' Dempseys - Word is O'Dempseys are not going well. Best time to play Portlaoise might be round one. O'Dempseys will run this one close but Portlaoise by 2.

Ballyroan Abbey v Emo - A full strength Emo would be a serious proposition but both teams have injury issues going into this and BA have better strength in depth. BA by 3.

St Joseph's v Ballyfin - This could be an absolute massacre but Joes might ease off a bit in second half. Joseph's by 10.

Graigue v Stradbally - You never know what you're going to get with Graigue. Unpredictable as they come. Stradbally lack a bit of firepower. Graigue by 2.

Arles Killeen v Rosenallis - Hard one to call. Rosenallis are very much a tier 2 senior team but I wouldn't overestimate that Killeen league form either. Killeen by 1.

Killeshin v Clonaslee St Manamans - Killeshin might edge it by 2 or 3.

Crettyard v Courtwood - Not convinced about Courtwood. Won't have Niall Dunne. Then Cretty won't have O'Carroll. Draw.

Karate kid

If I'm not wrong all matches will be winner on the day lads, call the winner in your draws!

Biggest surprise is your thoughts on cwood, I would think they have too much for Crettyard but then again I am not a crettyard expert.

SCFC

Quote from: SCFC on July 21, 2025, 04:18:41 PMPort v Heath - Port by 6
O'Dempseys v Portlaoise - Portlaoise by 2 or 3
Emo v BA - draw
Killeshin v CSM - Clonaslee to pull off a shock by 2
Joes v Ballyfin - Joes by 13
Crettyard v Courtwood - Cretty by 2
Graigue v Stradbally - Graigue by 4
Rosenallis v Killeen - another draw

Didn't know that on the draws. Killeen and Emo in extra time then!

Smellyball

Im sure everyone had been waiting with baited breath for my prediction.
Here are the results of the SmellyBall jury -
Port by 5
Portlaoise by 18
Ballyroan by 6
Killeshin by 14
Joseph's by 16
Courtwood by 13
Graiguecullen by 5
Killeen by 2

Butch Cassidy

Popped into O Moore Park last night, Port finished strong when Heath were making a game of it. Heath were poor enough bar some good long range kicking from their number 11. What age is he? They gave away 2 sloppy goals.

You'd fancy Port to get stronger as their players return but will need to imrpove to challenge again. The corner back Corcoran looks a tidy player.

Karate kid

Quote from: Butch Cassidy on July 24, 2025, 10:25:06 AMPopped into O Moore Park last night, Port finished strong when Heath were making a game of it. Heath were poor enough bar some good long range kicking from their number 11. What age is he? They gave away 2 sloppy goals.

You'd fancy Port to get stronger as their players return but will need to imrpove to challenge again. The corner back Corcoran looks a tidy player.

Was in at it myself, thought port looked very average with what they had last night and although the heath were organised, a lot of teams could've taken port out last night. I would be in agreement though when they get 4 or 5 back they will be a different entity.

Paddy Fitzpatrick is number 11, younger brother of former Laois Ladies player Erone Fitzpatrick who of course is doing brilliantly in Australia in the AFL. He's a player with talent most definitely, he's in his second year adult and featured sporadically with the Laois under 20s this year. I imagine he will be a strong contender to start for that team next year.

SCFC

Was in Strad last night.
BA at their ease. Won by 9 but a couple of late Emo goals just took the bad look off it.
BA are a very balanced team. No big stars but no weak links either. The sub keeper did very well on kickouts.
Emo disappointed me. Greene and Costello clearly unfit. Kirwan started well but faded. Lacked speed up front. The modern game is built on fast, mobile players.
One other point. Great to see games outside OMP. Enjoyed last night and was in Courtwood the previous night for Mountmellick v Ballylinan. Good atmosphere at both games.

Smellyball

Quote from: Smellyball on July 23, 2025, 04:25:47 PMIm sure everyone had been waiting with baited breath for my prediction.
Here are the results of the SmellyBall jury -
Port by 5
Portlaoise by 18
Ballyroan by 6
Killeshin by 14
Joseph's by 16
Courtwood by 13
Graiguecullen by 5
Killeen by 2

By jaysus, not too shabby at the auld predictions.

Smellyball

Round 2 Winners

Portarlington v GraiguecullenBallyroan-Abbey v CourtwoodArles-Killeen v KilleshinPortlaoise v St Joseph's

Round 2 Losers

Stradbally v EmoBallyfin v RosenallisThe Heath v Clonaslee-St Manman'sO'Dempsey's v Crettyard

Leixman

Hope Clubber do something about their commentary teams. There was a guy doing the Joseph's game on Friday and the Killeshin game on Saturday and I can safely say it should be his last weekend. People spending their money to listen to his drivel

Joeythelips

Quote from: Smellyball on July 27, 2025, 04:43:41 PMRound 2 Winners

Portarlington v GraiguecullenBallyroan-Abbey v CourtwoodArles-Killeen v KilleshinPortlaoise v St Joseph's

Round 2 Losers

Stradbally v EmoBallyfin v RosenallisThe Heath v Clonaslee-St Manman'sO'Dempsey's v Crettyard

So the losers round is knockout and winners go to play losers from winners round?

Karate kid

Quote from: Joeythelips on July 28, 2025, 12:14:38 PM
Quote from: Smellyball on July 27, 2025, 04:43:41 PMRound 2 Winners

Round 2 Losers

So the losers round is knockout and winners go to play losers from winners round?

Spot on Joey