Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Dave

Yes Im a WUM whatever that is... Why is someone always shot down when they offer a different opinion.
Im not a Liverpool fan at all but it just goes to show you my obsession point is correct when the only defense you offer is that I am a Liverpool fan..
Only reason I post on here is because Manchester United are topical at the moment.

Clown

Quote from: magpie seanie on April 17, 2011, 11:45:17 PM
Look - the defeat to city is sickening to United supporters especially when the final is a game city should win to end the 35 year trophy drought. Truth be told though with the money behind them it was/is going to happen some time, though it was fun while it lasted (or lasts - Stoke will have nothing to lose and are dangerous at set pieces. If they can score first they'll probably do it and as we all know, no-one does shooting themselvs in the foot quite like city).

That said, there's no way you'd swap beating city in the semi for going out to Chel$ki in the CL quarter final. Yes - winning the CL is still not likely (it will be tough enough getting by Schalke, neve mind the winners of the other semi) but I'd prefer a 3/10 chance of the CL than a 9/10 FA Cup, regardless of who wins the bloody thing. United have been very unfortunate in the latter stages of FA Cups in recent times. This is now the longest FA Cup drought for United since I was born!

Most United supporters would settle for the title at the start of the season and if that is acheived it will have been a good season.

there was nothing lucky about Citys win on Saturday, they created more chances and wanted it more it seemed and deserved their win. From about the 15th minute onwards United were very poor and never threatened

there does seem to be a little obsession creeping in among United fans regarding City but thats to be expected as they continue to progress

And this has got to hurt a little more than the Portsmouth defeat a few years ago, to whoever said it was the same.

Looking back didn't United lose at home to Portsmouth which cost them another treble in 2008?

I thought Manchester derby was a poor game on Saturday, United looked very fatigued after their effort in the two Chelsea games, I can't remember city creating to many chances they just capitalised on that bad mistake so fair play to them for making the final.

Hopefully starts for Rooney,Anderson,Giggs & Hernandez will freshen things up for tomorrow nights game.

& yep lost to Portsmouth at Home in the QF 1-0 a certain Martin Atkinson was the ref in that game.

Howard Webb can't ref every Manure game you know...
Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: EC Unique on April 18, 2011, 12:59:25 PM
I'm not so concerned about City. They are not a club with a successful history as Utd and Liverpool are. They are a plastic club that are trying to overcome all problems by just throwing £££££ at it. They are not anything like Utd and never will be. Liverpool however are in the same bracket as Utd in terms of success and history. When I was growing up it was all Liverpool. Dominated the league. I was sick of the sight of them. Then things changed. Utd are now the dominant force in English football the last 20 years. If Utd do not win the league then usually are 2nd. When Fergie took over he wanted to 'knock Liverpool off their perch'. Well he done that a long time ago but number 19 will be the cherry on that cake. I doubt if it will take 20 years for Liverpool to get another league but no matter what they do they will never be able to mirror Utd's success under Fergie. The obsession for me is not with other clubs but with Utd proving that they are the best ever in their domestic league. LUHG.

How are they a "plastic club"? They may not have had the success that Liverpool or Utd have but every club has a history, regardless of the success achieved. As for "throwing £££££" at it, what club doesent do that? As far as i know they have no debt and are the plaything of a rich family, i would say the City fans will take any chance of silverware going as the Arabs continue to pump money into the club. It may be a short term ownership, but City had players like Jeff Whitley, Gerard Wiekens and Shaun Goater playing for them 10 years ago so i would say they are enjoying their change in fortunes. If they get the right manager in place, and Mancini isnt the right manager, they wont be too far away from winning the league in the next year or two.

As for Ferguson knocking Liverpool off their perch, he didnt, they did it themselves.

new devil

Yes stupid surely...but the 3rd post is the one that tells were "manure" came from...Just pointing out that its a bit classless using it

Big win over Chelsea's reserves tonight, this level looks too easy for the likes of King,Obertan & Bebe.

Anyway United need just one more point in their last two games to win the reserve league.

Quote from: Minder on April 18, 2011, 08:55:22 PM

As for Ferguson knocking Liverpool off their perch, he didnt, they did it themselves.

I prefer Carragher's explanation of it

'If I was in his company, I would also tell him, first off, that Manchester United never knocked Liverpool off their ******* perch, as he put it. That's just nonsense. Graeme Souness did that.

'When United were going for their first title under Ferguson in 1992-93, they were competing with Norwich and Aston Villa. They weren't competing with Liverpool, were they?'
Nordie Tayto is shite

new devil

Look at the lads sweating knowing 19 is only weeks away  :D :D

Quote from: new devil on April 18, 2011, 08:57:16 PM
Yes stupid surely...but the 3rd post is the one that tells were "manure" came from...Just pointing out that its a bit classless using it

What a load of old shite you're talking . . . anyone using it here is equating Man U with manure as a mildly derogatory term which is harmless and you all know that!

QuoteMan Utd is not a term United fans refer to themselves as. The term is only used by other supporters as a complete and utter insult to our club. The "united" is meant to be "u" by the rival fans.

The above quotation is just some dickhead going out of his way to be offended. . . you Manure fans need to learn to take a bit of stick now and again!!!

I think the above lads are missing the point of the knocking Liverpool off their perch thing; as i said earlier today it's about wanting to be the best! Liverpool for many years have held the record for the most titles but in few weeks United will officially overtake them.

In the coming years it will be Liverpool's turn to knock United off their perch.

Quote from: ross4life on April 18, 2011, 09:05:07 PM
Big win over Chelsea's reserves tonight, this level looks too easy for the likes of King,Obertan & Bebe.

Anyway United need just one more point in their last two games to win the reserve league.

Probably more to do with the fact that Chelsea's team was made of schoolboys, their fitness coach and Mark Beeney, and I am not joking about that.
The senior and youth games on Wednesday night taking precedance.

Bebe and Obertan, too good for school boys, but not good enough for big boys I'd suggest!