Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 19, 2011, 09:40:06 PM
Are Utd getting tired? Put that 19 on hold for the moment! ;)

I think they had a bad financial crisis. They are not the force they once were.

Orangemac

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on April 19, 2011, 09:52:28 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on April 19, 2011, 09:48:07 PM
2 points dropped.  Thought it was a pretty good game considering it was a 0-0.  Also thought both incidents should have been penalties but I suppose these things even themselves out over the season  :P

Hopefully Tottenham will take points off Arselol tomorrow night, I think they will.

dont worry lads, arsenal will shit in the nest, if not tomorrow night, then some other game, and some guy sitting 3 rows back, it will be his fault - or else the tea lady
Arsenal need to shit or get off the pot tomorrow night. 3 points and they would be back in it, particularly with Utd still to come to the Emirates.Sneaking feeling Everton might snatch a point at weekend.

new devil

I have said it before, I am only happy when I see a United team sheet with Carrick not listed.

Simply the fact that he doesnt have the money to spend to buy a new mid fielder cheaper to give the contract out to Carrick. In fairness and by no means am I a fan of his but he has played some decent stuff in the last few weeks, bar the goal at the weekend and last night. Always plays better when Flecther is in beside him doing the donkey work.

Poor performance all round last night take that draw and move on to the next one, typically enough the Toffees hitting a bit of form at the moment too.

Quote from: nrico2006 on April 20, 2011, 08:38:46 AM
I have said it before, I am only happy when I see a United team sheet with Carrick not listed.

Then you fail to understand the role he plays in the United team.

He is not Xavi and never will be, but he is the link man that holds everything together. He also reads play excellently - look at how many times he intercepts the ball in a match. He is by no means a superstar but is the best player at the club to perform this role - a role that is vital in the system United use.

Whatever about the penalties, Nani's dive last night was the worst ever.

Quote from: gallsman on April 20, 2011, 08:51:47 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 20, 2011, 08:38:46 AM

Then you fail to understand the role he plays in the United team.

He is not Xavi and never will be, but he is the link man that holds everything together. He also reads play excellently - look at how many times he intercepts the ball in a match. He is by no means a superstar but is the best player at the club to perform this role - a role that is vital in the system United use.

By link man do you mean someone who receives the ball from the back and gives it to a more forward based team-mate?  He has no acceleration, does not make any lung busting runs with or without the ball and the majority of his passes are 5 to 10 yard balls to the side.  He has not got a killer pass or never plays a pass that would make you go wow.  At best he will hit the odd diagonal ball forward.  Most midfielders intercept the ball quite a bit in any given match, it is after all where most of the play happens and he doesn't even really ever make a tackle.  Even at his age, Scholes is still the best 'link' man in the United squad, and Anderson would be ahead of Carrick all day long.   

I thought Anderson didn't do much last night at all, thought he was way of the pace, maybe he only coming back to fitness.

That Toite player from newcastle was best player on the field I thought, fierce engine and a nice touch about him. Mind you, can see why he gets booked so often, always seemed on the verge of diving in recklessly and is physical, was a cute booking he picked up last night though, well worth it.

Overthebar!

interesting statistic from last nights game courtesy of optajoe:

65% - Ryan Giggs completed only 65% of his passes in the first half v NUFC, the lowest rate of any of the 20 outfield players. Astray.

Giggs was horrendous last night kept giving it away needlessly and that meant no momentum could be built up.

Maybe his prematch routine has been changed and he wasn't himself.

Overthebar!

it annoyed me to see the hoor laughing when he missed that chance near the end!