Olympic boxing

Started by winghalfback, August 02, 2016, 01:54:24 PM

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 16, 2016, 11:00:56 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 16, 2016, 10:16:53 PM
It wouldn't matter if everyone got pbs. It will be medals that will judge it. The English are having some laugh at our silver medals.

Bollix. Any competitor that goes out and gets an SB or PB is doing well, if you're performing at the top of your abilities,tthat's as good as you can do.

Dunno what the English have to do with it tbh

The athletes themselves will be happy of course but the general public will always judge it on how medals. I couldn't tell you who has PBs or SBs from this olympics but I can tell you who has won olympic medals. This olympics has been a disaster. We are a small nation and of course we are not going to be leading the medal table but we should be doing better. 

Quote from: Franko on August 16, 2016, 10:49:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 16, 2016, 10:03:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 16, 2016, 10:01:04 PM
Has there been any international reaction to the fight, or are we viewing it through green glasses?

No, and I doubt there will be.... In fairness bar the boat people, we've been dung...

Not entirely true, Paulie Malignaggi, Billy Joe Saunders, Sergio Martinez, Matthew Macklin and Sonny Upton (to name a few) all had a say about it on Twitter. And it wasn't to congratulate the Russian lad.

Twitter?? I'm talking about on something that really matters, boxing associations be they professional or amateur bodies, outside of Ireland, ffs we'd a judge doing the Russian fight that was clearly on drugs (the judge, not figter!!). Not covering ourselves with any glory on that one
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 16, 2016, 10:45:00 PM
Compubox says Conlon won 2 rounds to 1 but they gave the first round to the Russian and the last to Conlon, clearly. I am very surprised by that as I was sure Conlon easily won the first but a lot of his punches must have caught glove.

Yes, the bare stats are quite surprising but I thought he simply outboxed him first round, catching him with much cleaner shots than he was hit with. He changed tactics to suit and out fought him in the final 2 rounds. I had him as a 3-0 winner though the Russian landed some good clean shots in the final round when Conlon engaged him inside.

Compubox stats don't always tell the full story of a fight.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 16, 2016, 11:15:07 PM
Has there been any international reaction to the fight, or are we viewing it through green glasses?

No, and I doubt there will be.... In fairness bar the boat people, we've been dung...

Not entirely true, Paulie Malignaggi, Billy Joe Saunders, Sergio Martinez, Matthew Macklin and Sonny Upton (to name a few) all had a say about it on Twitter. And it wasn't to congratulate the Russian lad.

Twitter?? I'm talking about on something that really matters, boxing associations be they professional or amateur bodies, outside of Ireland, ffs we'd a judge doing the Russian fight that was clearly on drugs (the judge, not figter!!). Not covering ourselves with any glory on that one

Yes, Twitter. The fight only happened about 7 hours ago. Social media's about the only reaction you're gonna get at this early stage.  What would constitute an 'international reaction' in your eyes?  A press release from Obama on Air Force One? And you're dead right about the judge.  I'd be friendly with a couple of younger lads who would box at quite a high level in Ireland (one of them trains most weekends at that elite centre in Dublin and was on the European schoolboys squad).  In his eyes the IABA wouldn't be much better than AIBA when it comes to dodgy results and the old 'nod and sink' stuff.

Quote from: Franko on August 16, 2016, 11:29:32 PM

Yes, Twitter. The fight only happened about 7 hours ago. Social media's about the only reaction you're gonna get at this early stage.  What would constitute an 'international reaction' in your eyes?  A press release from Obama on Air Force One? And you're dead right about the judge.  I'd be friendly with a couple of younger lads who would box at quite a high level in Ireland (one of them trains most weekends at that elite centre in Dublin and was on the European schoolboys squad).  In his eyes the IABA wouldn't be much better than AIBA when it comes to dodgy results and the old 'nod and sink' stuff.

Well if its all round twitter it will bound to cause a reaction, call me old fashion but to me it will be tomorrows fish and chip paper.... The kids that boxed for All irelands from Ulster were told ya had to knock them out to win the All Ireland title at the National stadium, corruption on our own door step
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: JimStynes on August 16, 2016, 11:08:38 PM
It wouldn't matter if everyone got pbs. It will be medals that will judge it. The English are having some laugh at our silver medals.

Bollix. Any competitor that goes out and gets an SB or PB is doing well, if you're performing at the top of your abilities,tthat's as good as you can do.

The athletes themselves will be happy of course but the general public will always judge it on how medals. I couldn't tell you who has PBs or SBs from this olympics but I can tell you who has won olympic medals. This olympics has been a disaster. We are a small nation and of course we are not going to be leading the medal table but we should be doing better.

Doing better in what disciplines exactly though?
Break it down and there are good reasons we don t do better I'm sure.

Quote from: moysider on August 16, 2016, 11:34:39 PM

Simple numbers game for starters... 5 million against say Britains 60+ million?? More money to throw at it also, the lure of foreigners to apply fir citizenship and represent GB... Soooooo many other factors, training facilities also and coaches to name but a few

Boxing is the obvious one but corruption seems to have ruined that one. Why do we not do better at sports like rowing or track cycling? Are there other sports that we have potential in but athletes not getting the opportunities to improve? No money put into it, an attitude of 'sure we are only a small country', only there for the craic etc no doubt all reasons. New Zealand has a smaller population than Ireland and they have 3 gold, 6 silver and 1 bronze. As I said we are a small country and no one is expecting us to be in the top 10 but we are currently 55th in the medal table with 2 silver. Pathetic. 

India population 1.3 billion = 0 olympic medals. That has to be the worst of the lot.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 16, 2016, 11:33:29 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 16, 2016, 11:29:32 PM

Well if its all round twitter it will bound to cause a reaction, call me old fashion but to me it will be tomorrows fish and chip paper.... The kids that boxed for All irelands from Ulster were told ya had to knock them out to win the All Ireland title at the National stadium, corruption on our own door step

Yip, that's about the height of it. Conlan was bang on when he said it was rotten from top to bottom.  I could be wrong but I think there could be more about this one - there's more than the Irish team very disgruntled at the display of judging at this Olympics.

https://twitter.com/maravillabox

Sergio Martinez seems to be a big fan of Conlon.

Quote from: Boycey on August 16, 2016, 09:40:56 PM
Quote from: ashman on August 16, 2016, 09:36:26 PM
Quote from: weareros on August 16, 2016, 07:56:49 PM
Not to throw a spanner in the works, but anyone think Katie got lucky with her gold in London. I thought the Russian had won that and by the sulk in her face afterwards and arms folded, so did she.

Katie Taylor won the 2012 final fairly convincingly .  I think the scoring made is seen easier than it was but no doubt she won well ,

I was at the fight and thought it was tight enough, there was a very nervous feeling in the air til the result was called.

Regardless of how poor the decision was against Conlan today I think he behaved like a dick afterwards..

Conlan did what many's a fighter wishes they had the balls to say and do. The officials wear a suit of propriety and commit far more terrible and consequential acts.

Quote from: JimStynes on August 16, 2016, 11:46:26 PM

Boxing is the obvious one but corruption seems to have ruined that one. Why do we not do better at sports like rowing or track cycling? Are there other sports that we have potential in but athletes not getting the opportunities to improve? No money put into it, an attitude of 'sure we are only a small country', only there for the craic etc no doubt all reasons. New Zealand has a smaller population than Ireland and they have 3 gold, 6 silver and 1 bronze. As I said we are a small country and no one is expecting us to be in the top 10 but we are currently 55th in the medal table with 2 silver. Pathetic.

Track cycling? does Ireland even have a velodrome?

The horsey stuff is an area where we could be doing better maybe but we used to sell off our best horses. Maybe we still do. wouldn t surprise me if some Irish bred horses 'won' medals for other countries last few olympics.

Victor Costello and Gary Halpin still hold Irish schools records in Shot and Hammer. Costello competed in 92 olympics. Field competitions may be an area we could target but lads that are decent in that area would also, more than likely, be involved in a team sport like rugby. Like Costello and Halpin concentrated o the rugby. God knows what they might have done if they were highly coached in the throwing.

The track will always be about making finals and pbs.

Joe Joyce (GBR) beating up an Uzbek in the Superheavyweight.

Surely there is a Galway connection!?