Olympic boxing

Started by winghalfback, August 02, 2016, 01:54:24 PM

True Moysider, but maybe an interview like that, with some harsh truths, might make people at least sit up and cop on.

interview was on RTE screenexile.

Quote from: screenexile on August 16, 2016, 03:56:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 16, 2016, 03:56:19 PM
Fucked and blinded all around him, and called it corrupt. That was a brilliant interview.

That on RTE or BBC?

he let it all out on bbc there and fair dues to him. Advised no fighter to go near it as 'they're' corrupt. Olympic dream robbed by a crowd of cheaters etc

By the sound of it he's about right.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 16, 2016, 03:58:09 PM
True Moysider, but maybe an interview like that, with some harsh truths, might make people at least sit up and cop on.

interview was on RTE screenexile.

It ll change nothing. It ll be treated as sour grapes, whinging and bad manners by the people the run the sport.

The sport should be suspended from the Olympics, full stop.

ashman

We can safely assume he is going pro ???

Can't blame the lad TBH .

The Olympics have descended into a joke in recent years and for the life of me I don't understand how anyone could possibly take it seriously. W@nkers telling you about the great sporting event this is need a f**king slap round the head.

Quote from: ashman on August 16, 2016, 04:02:52 PM
We can safely assume he is going pro ???

Can't blame the lad TBH .

Absolutely not. I'm actually angry after looking at that.

Brilliant interview from Conlon. Pure raw emotion and someone calling it as it is

Quote from: trileacman on August 16, 2016, 04:04:05 PM
The Olympics have descended into a joke in recent years and for the life of me I don't understand how anyone could possibly take it seriously. W@nkers telling you about the great sporting event this is need a f**king slap round the head.

This is a boxing problem surely. Recent years? The Roy Jones fight is nearly 30 years ago and this shit is still happening.

easytiger95

Would have given Conlon the first two - actually thought the Russian won the third. Still robbery as the first was clearly his. Agree with Trileacman - deliberately haven't engaged with this Olympics as the whole movement is a farce at this stage.

Do they release Stats? Shots landed etc...

The start of the interview is on Paddypower's twitter . . . hard hitting stuff I haven't seen the fight but twitter has completely lost the plot including the British Press.

Here's a story from 2 weeks ago!

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2016/aug/01/rio-2016-olympics-boxing-corruption-allegations

Why did they change back to the 10-9 scoring? The points stuff at least highllghted when one judge was missing clear punches.I mean, this was blatant as blatant can be.

Time to dump the olympics corrupt as fcuk.

Any Offaly lads out there. By Jaysus if anything merited a sit down, that did. I didn't see the Ukrainian last night, but that was apparently as bad.