Round 4 Qualfier: Kildare v Monaghan

Started by Dinny Breen, July 20, 2014, 05:40:08 PM

Quote from: rrhf on August 02, 2014, 09:38:25 PM
Stand up for the ulster men.  What's the best represented province in the next round?

Munster & Ulster represented equally proportionally speaking

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2014, 10:50:12 PM
Stand up for the ulster men.  What's the best represented province in the next round?

yeah but who's hte best team

Quote from: INDIANA on August 02, 2014, 10:54:22 PM

Hard to see past the winners of the Mayo / Galway SF

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2014, 10:59:12 PM

Surely the winners of the Armagh/Monaghan semi final would have a shout?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: armaghniac on August 02, 2014, 11:11:04 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2014, 10:59:12 PM

Surely the winners of the Armagh/Monaghan semi final would have a shout?

True for ya armaghniac, ye could give one of us a right good game of it. Sorry for getting carried away, thinking we had it all sewn up

Very entertaining evening and great to get the win. Plenty i f mistakes all over the field, but given the conditions that's probably to be expected.

McManus again showed that he's a great player, double-marked and still getting out first to the ball. The two goals were obvious highlights. Great to see Corey getting forward for a cracker and McGuinness showed that he's worth his starting place. Great stop by Beggan in extra time too.

Hard luck to Kildare. It was one of those games that could have gone either way. Our getting the second goal when we did was the difference.

grounded

Great win for Monaghan. I thought they looked dead on their feet at the end of normal time and just about hung on for the draw. They really pushed on in extra time and fully deserved their win. Do Kildare not have any left footed free takers? They squandered two free kick chances in the second half of normal time that probably would have won them the game.

Monaghan were very slow to get started. Two goals by Kildare in the first half suggests a hole in the blanket and does not bode well against Dublin. Monaghan did better later on, but against Dublin they won't have the luxury of waiting 40 minutes to get going.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Unfortunately we can't play Armagh every week :)

Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 02, 2014, 10:37:26 PM
The Monaghan lads were constantly running into tackles and then throwing themselves forwards with both hands outstretched which every time led to a very soft free. The ref was eating out of their hands.

I don't know if it's a tactic or not but it does seem to happen regularly with 2 out of 3 of the full back line. Refs don't buy it all the time all the same.

Ohtoohtobe

Congrats to Monaghan. Very proud of our lads, after the Meath debacle all I really wanted was some fight and guts and we got that in spades.

Very entertaining game but at a level far below where Dublin operate. I think the quarter-final will be a massacre, unfortunately.

Expectations for this summer were quite low and apart from the first 50 minutes against Meath I think Kildare acquitted themselves reasonably well this campaign.

No complaints last night. We just can't seem to catch a break in a big game in Croke Park. Good luck to Monaghan next week.

Entertaining game and Kildare seem to finally be finding their feet after a wavering first season under Ryan. The Meath game was too soon for them. There is talent there and the best 15 and their positioning still to be determined.
I have to comment on some of the defending and defenders.
Lyons for Kildare and wylie and walshe for Monaghan should have been black carded in the first half.
Not sure if this is the norm for Lyons - but his county colleague Peter Kelly when fit and both these Monaghan players deserve the black card ( for yellow cards for persistent holding and fouling) inside the first 15 mins of every game I see them play in. Dessie mone sometimes too when he isn't diving and looking for a Hollywood contract.
The thing is that these players are excellent and don't need to do this. It's fecking annoying to watch.
A more stringent ref would correctly devastate Monaghan!

Monaghan slightly disappointing last night - they are capable of much more and will need it against Dublin - but they will be fearless and relish the challenge

Kildare showed they have talent and hope they continue to progress under Ryan next season. Some wonderful players - some not started that should have been IMO !

Go home ref

The amount of turnovers we conceded in the 1st half of extra time was unreal and it cost us but it should never of got that far Coldrick is an absolute disgrace rode us from start to finish kept Monaghan in the game by himself the free at the end was a disgusting decision all you can ask for is fairness and Kildare didn't get that last night

Quote from: Go home ref on August 03, 2014, 09:13:50 AM
The amount of turnovers we conceded in the 1st half of extra time was unreal and it cost us but it should never of got that far Coldrick is an absolute disgrace rode us from start to finish kept Monaghan in the game by himself the free at the end was a disgusting decision all you can ask for is fairness and Kildare didn't get that last night

Ref didn't bate ye in my view. Some frees were questionable on both sides but Kildare coughed the ball up too easily and not having a left footed free taker hurt you as well.