Long Kesh Park takes another step forward

Started by Donagh, April 16, 2007, 12:37:11 PM

Quote6.1  No environmental impact assessment has been carried out

This would also be a breach of a European Law if the stadium was approved without an EIA carried out. Depends on what stage the planning process is at. If it has been put in for approval to the council on this alone from my experience, if there is no EIA accompanying the proposal then it will be turned down straight away, thats if the above article is telling the truth.

Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 12:19:55 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on April 17, 2008, 12:02:43 PM

If that is the only point you can take exception to from a long and detailed Report, I'd say it is you who is being disingenuous in your efforts to disparage it! Anyhow, here is the full effort, since I think it merits a wider readership.

Life's too short to read through the rest of that rubbish. So have you nothing to say about the point I raised?

I personally don't know enough about Croke Park and Concerts to comment on that specific point, which is why I didn't. Assuming you do know the situation, please enlighten me.

Then when you've done so, would you like to explain how you can dismiss a long and detailed Report as "rubbish" if, by your own admission, you didn't take the time to read it?

Playing the man (Amalgamation) again Donagh, rather than the ball (Report)?  ::)

Quote from: thejuice on April 17, 2008, 12:51:33 PM

This would also be a breach of a European Law if the stadium was approved without an EIA carried out. Depends on what stage the planning process is at. If it has been put in for approval to the council on this alone from my experience, if there is no EIA accompanying the proposal then it will be turned down straight away, thats if the above article is telling the truth.

From what I gather, the Amalgamation has a couple of guys working on this who are pretty expert in the field of local government, Planning Permission etc, so I doubt they make such a bald assertion without being sure of their case, especially since the backers of the Maze would only have to produce an EIA so as to discredit them (Amalgamation).

Quote from: Evil Genius on April 17, 2008, 01:38:39 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 17, 2008, 12:51:33 PM

From what I gather, the Amalgamation has a couple of guys working on this who are pretty expert in the field of local government, Planning Permission etc, so I doubt they make such a bald assertion without being sure of their case, especially since the backers of the Maze would only have to produce an EIA so as to discredit them (Amalgamation).

OK, I just wasnt sure of the source, and its not just some journo ranting.

Quote from: Evil Genius on April 17, 2008, 01:30:58 PM

I personally don't know enough about Croke Park and Concerts to comment on that specific point, which is why I didn't. Assuming you do know the situation, please enlighten me.

Then when you've done so, would you like to explain how you can dismiss a long and detailed Report as "rubbish" if, by your own admission, you didn't take the time to read it?

Playing the man (Amalgamation) again Donagh, rather than the ball (Report)?  ::)

Well it's kind of looking into a bin. You see the blue wheelie bin (OWC website), open the lid and look in (reading the first two sections), seeing the rubbish (lies and spin in the first two sections) and you can be pretty certain that it's all rubbish (the report).

Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 03:10:47 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on April 17, 2008, 01:30:58 PM

Well it's kind of looking into a bin. You see the blue wheelie bin (OWC website), open the lid and look in (reading the first two sections), seeing the rubbish (lies and spin in the first two sections) and you can be pretty certain that it's all rubbish (the report).

Is that the best you've got? Very poor, even by your standards.

You see, people are always suspicious when someone uses flowery metaphors in a response to distract attention from the substance of the debate! But to humour you, I'll continue in kind to point out that you can't just have lifted the lid, had a quick look in and decided that all the contents were rubbish. After all, the fact that you picked one morsel from near the bottom (i.e. buried deep in what is quite a detailed Report) indicates that you must have gone through the contents.

And as I've said, if amidst all the arguments, one rather minor point was all you could take issue with, then that can actually be taken as an endorsement from you that the rest is hard to deny, otherwise you'd have applied your forensic skills much more widely! Which was the final corroboration I needed to reproduce here the Report in full.

Thanks for bringing it to our attention!  :D

SammyG

Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 03:10:47 PM(reading the first two sections)

So you only read the first two sections but you managed to quote one line from the middle of a paragraph, in the 3rd section.  ::)

Quote from: SammyG on April 17, 2008, 03:44:18 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 03:10:47 PM(reading the first two sections)

So you only read the first two sections but you managed to quote one line from the middle of a paragraph, in the 3rd section.  ::)

I glanced through it on OWC this morning and as you know well each of the sections are in different posts and with using the Page Down button I obviously missed one.

Here, you never got back to me on the hidden threads on OWC - what's wrong are ye too embarrassed to show us the extremists you are sheltering over there?

SammyG

Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 05:19:14 PM
Quote from: SammyG on April 17, 2008, 03:44:18 PM

I glanced through it on OWC this morning and as you know well each of the sections are in different posts and with using the Page Down button I obviously missed one.
Aye right  ::) Any chance you're gonna tell us what your original cryptic post was about?
Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 05:19:14 PM
Here, you never got back to me on the hidden threads on OWC - what's wrong are ye too embarrassed to show us the extremists you are sheltering over there?
Sorry thought I had got back to you. The threads are patrons only, to stop muppets posting shite, nothing embarrassing or extreme. In fact most of the patrons only stuff is about sharing info on cheap hotels and flights to away matches, one of the benefits that more than covers your fiver outlay.

Quote from: SammyG on April 17, 2008, 05:31:42 PM
Sorry thought I had got back to you. The threads are patrons only, to stop muppets posting shite, nothing embarrassing or extreme. In fact most of the patrons only stuff is about sharing info on cheap hotels and flights to away matches, one of the benefits that more than covers your fiver outlay.

So why hide that section instead of limiting access as you have done with the others?

The GAA didn't seek to have any other concerts in Croker last year as they had a busy enough schedule with the 6 nations, soccer and our own games (as you well know).

Quote from: Donagh on April 17, 2008, 08:31:09 PM

So why hide that section instead of limiting access as you have done with the others?

Either pay your fiver (one-off) and satisfy your curiousity about the advance travel plans of the NI away support etc, or don't. Either way, desist from what is a a painfully transparent attempt to change the subject away from the matter in hand, which is the Amalgamation Response to the Maze proposal. Speaking of which:

The GAA didn't seek to have any other concerts in Croker last year as they had a busy enough schedule with the 6 nations, soccer and our own games (as you well know).
Fine. The GAA chose not to have more than 1 concert in CP during 2007. The Amalgamation should therefore either rewrite or delete that comment.

Anyhow, now that you have undoubtedly read the Report in full, is there anything else to which you take exception? Or may we assume that it has, in fact, passed the test of Donagh's bin-hoking forensic analysis and is unimpeachible?

Quote from: Evil Genius on April 18, 2008, 01:47:28 PM

Either pay your fiver (one-off) and satisfy your curiousity about the advance travel plans of the NI away support etc, or don't. Either way, desist from what is a a painfully transparent attempt to change the subject away from the matter in hand, which is the Amalgamation Response to the Maze proposal. Speaking of which:

Sorry, which bit of that was addressed to you?

From that response to the PWC report

'(And even for GAA, the forecast is an average of 27,500 – still 30% empty!)'

What is the source for that forecast?

Quote from: Donagh on April 18, 2008, 02:19:36 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on April 18, 2008, 01:47:28 PM

Sorry, which bit of that was addressed to you?

Meanwhile, back at the debate:

Anyhow, now that you have undoubtedly read the Report in full, is there anything else to which you take exception? Or may we assume that it has, in fact, passed the test of Donagh's bin-hoking forensic analysis and is unimpeachible?

Quote from: Evil Genius on April 18, 2008, 02:38:04 PM

Meanwhile, back at the debate:

Don't you f**king tell me what I have or haven't done. I haven't read the report as it's irrelevant and I have better things to be doing. If there's to be no stadium at Long Kesh there will be no stadium anywhere, either way, it is of no interest to me except maybe taking a little pleasure in watching all of you OWC backslappers taking the boat to England if you get your way. Now feck off somewhere else and stop interrupting my conversations with other people, you irritating little person.