Rugby World Cup 2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 04, 2011, 11:39:16 AM

mc_grens

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2011, 10:00:33 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 09, 2011, 09:58:24 AM
Will this be the first ever NZ World cup win without a try being scored by them?  Credit to Las Malvinas owners.  Some effort. Perhaps we will now see them in the annual southern Hem. tournament.  Deserve to be, I reckon.

surely this is proof that they can compete down there

Argentina will join the "Tri-nations" next year. That's already been decided quite some time ago.

Capt Pat

Your +28 points spread might have been in trouble if Reads first try had counted as it should. The conversion of that would have resulted in a 30 point difference.

CiKe

Quote from: Capt Pat on October 09, 2011, 10:19:07 AM
Your +28 points spread might have been in trouble if Reads first try had counted as it should. The conversion of that would have resulted in a 30 point difference.

he was out.

sans pessimism

Quote from: mc_grens on October 09, 2011, 10:06:46 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2011, 10:00:33 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 09, 2011, 09:58:24 AM
Will this be the first ever NZ World cup win without a try being scored by them?  Credit to Las Malvinas owners.  Some effort. Perhaps we will now see them in the annual southern Hem. tournament.  Deserve to be, I reckon.

surely this is proof that they can compete down there

Argentina will join the "Tri-nations" next year. That's already been decided quite some time ago.
Jeez, what'll they call it then??
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Capt Pat

Quote from: CiKe on October 09, 2011, 10:21:45 AM

he was out.

He shouodn't have been. He fluffed scoring the try.

Can some of the rugby boys on the board explain to me how the Saffers contrived to lose that game this morning ???

Was away all weekend so came on to read the post mortems and by God the begrudgery and people distancing themselves from Irish Rugby is ridiculous. What was wrong with believing we could beat Wales? That's what everyone should should be thinking coming into a game like this. Shame on you all!!

Anyway I would like to thank the lads for their honesty and commitment to the cause. In reality Wales have the nucleus of 2 Grand Slam teams and only for injury should probably have more. They are a serious outfit and can beat France and give the AB's a game in the final.

The failings which were pointed to before the tournament (and which were probably masked by the Oz game) came to fruition ie. Our scrum, O'Garas defensive frailties, BOD's powers on the wane and the poor form of D'Arcy, Earls and Heaslip.

Having said that we were not a million miles away and had we taken our points it could have been different. Wales were far superior in every way though and fair play to them and best of luck.

Best thing Ireland can do now is clear out whoever won't be available for 2015 and build from now. We may take a few hidings along the way but the Golden age is gone and to get back to the level we have been previously will be a big ask but I reckon we've the right man in charge to do that.

Thanks lads!!!

Quote from: screenexile on October 09, 2011, 06:37:02 PM
Was away all weekend so came on to read the post mortems and by God the begrudgery and people distancing themselves from Irish Rugby is ridiculous. What was wrong with believing we could beat Wales? That's what everyone should should be thinking coming into a game like this. Shame on you all!!

Anyway I would like to thank the lads for their honesty and commitment to the cause. In reality Wales have the nucleus of 2 Grand Slam teams and only for injury should probably have more. They are a serious outfit and can beat France and give the AB's a game in the final.

The failings which were pointed to before the tournament (and which were probably masked by the Oz game) came to fruition ie. Our scrum, O'Garas defensive frailties, BOD's powers on the wane and the poor form of D'Arcy, Earls and Heaslip.

Having said that we were not a million miles away and had we taken our points it could have been different. Wales were far superior in every way though and fair play to them and best of luck.

Best thing Ireland can do now is clear out whoever won't be available for 2015 and build from now. We may take a few hidings along the way but the Golden age is gone and to get back to the level we have been previously will be a big ask but I reckon we've the right man in charge to do that.

Thanks lads!!!

Good post.

sans pessimism

Quote from: muppet on October 09, 2011, 06:42:01 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 09, 2011, 06:37:02 PM

Thanks lads!!!

Good post.
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Those English boys just don't know when to stop!!!

England centre Manu Tuilagi has been formally warned by police for disorderly behaviour after jumping from a ferry in Auckland on Sunday night.

A Rugby Football Union (RFU) source confirmed that Tuilagi was detained by police after swimming a short distance to a pier at the ferry terminal.

The RFU would not comment on whether alcohol was involved but did says the player was unharmed.

The England team are due to leave for the UK later on Monday.

Auckland Police spokeswoman Noreen Hegarty said: "A member of the England team jumped off a passenger ferry and swam a short distance to pier three at the terminal at 6.48pm last night.

"As he climbed ashore he was met by police officers before being taken to the Auckland Central police station and held for around an hour and a half.

"He was formally warned about the offence of disorderly behaviour before being released back to the team management. There is no suggestion he was pushed from the vessel."

sans pessimism

Quote from: Declan on October 09, 2011, 09:52:50 PM
Those English boys just don't know when to stop!!!

England centre Manu Tuilagi has been formally warned by police for disorderly behaviour after jumping from a ferry in Auckland on Sunday night.

A Rugby Football Union (RFU) source confirmed that Tuilagi was detained by police after swimming a short distance to a pier at the ferry terminal.

The RFU would not comment on whether alcohol was involved but did says the player was unharmed.

The England team are due to leave for the UK later on Monday.

Auckland Police spokeswoman Noreen Hegarty said: "A member of the England team jumped off a passenger ferry and swam a short distance to pier three at the terminal at 6.48pm last night.

"As he climbed ashore he was met by police officers before being taken to the Auckland Central police station and held for around an hour and a half.

"He was formally warned about the offence of disorderly behaviour before being released back to the team management. There is no suggestion he was pushed from the vessel."
If there wasn't,you'd worry for his mental state!!
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Quote from: Capt Pat on October 09, 2011, 12:44:17 PM

he was out.

f**k sake, that's like saying "if he'd done this and if he'd done that". If Ireland were better defensively yesterday like they should have been then maybe they'd still be in the tournament. Read's foot was in touch, try was correctly disallowed. End of story.

Capt Pat

Read should have made it count by not dragging his foot over the line. It would have have been a good score but was over ruled on a technicality.
If I did that in school and the ref said no score I would have been livid. Technology rules at the world cup however.

Quote from: gallsman on October 09, 2011, 10:08:35 PM

he was out.

f**k sake, that's like saying "if he'd done this and if he'd done that". If Ireland were better defensively yesterday like they should have been then maybe they'd still be in the tournament. Read's foot was in touch, try was correctly disallowed. End of story.

Quote from: Capt Pat on October 09, 2011, 10:22:49 PM
Read should have made it count by not dragging his foot over the line. It would have have been a good score but was over ruled on a technicality.
If I did that in school and the ref said no score I would have been livid. Technology rules at the world cup however.

Quote from: gallsman on October 09, 2011, 10:08:35 PM

he was out.

Huh? Overruled on a technicality? Yes, he was technically out of play. This argument doesn;t make any sense. I think you're trying to say he could have done better and should have scored.