Rugby World Cup 2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 04, 2011, 11:39:16 AM

Quote from: trileacman on September 17, 2011, 11:36:46 AM
sweet mother of Jesus. Before the match we were discussing if Ireland were going to get out of the group, and just how big the hammering from aus would be.

Now were are counting down the days to the final. FFS have a bit of cop on.

!!!All aboard the Hype Train!!!!

Who said we wouldn't get out of the group?? Feckin begrudgers in this country... Why can't we be happy and positive about the team?

Eric Elwood should be on that stage.

Quote from: screenexile on September 17, 2011, 11:43:31 AM
Who said we wouldn't get out of the group?? Feckin begrudgers in this country... Why can't we be happy and positive about the team?

Plenty of people, I'd imagine. If Ireland bring their USA game to the Italy game then they might be grateful Australia didn't get a bonus point today!

Capt Pat

Moore was the biggest loss for them in the scrum.and lineout I think. It was a tight game not a loose open one where Pocock and Ioane might have thrived.

Quote from: CiKe on September 17, 2011, 11:34:21 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 17, 2011, 11:30:13 AM
You heard it from Capt Pat first.

Quote from: CiKe on September 17, 2011, 08:46:54 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 17, 2011, 08:01:15 AM
So Pocock is out of the game. I will make an optimistic prediction of an Irish victory. They don't have anything we don't have now. Question is whether we are in good enough form.

I'd beg to differ, we definitely don't have anyone in the backs like Kurtley Beale...

Good prediction alright, thought we had a chance but didn't believe we'd actually do it. Pocock was huge loss, don't think I heard Mcalman or whatever he's called mentioned once on ITV! Still don't think we've anything like Beale though, the guy looks so threatening - every time he got the ball i was worried!

Quote from: Capt Pat on September 17, 2011, 11:46:49 AM
Moore was the biggest loss for them in the scrum.and lineout I think. It was a tight game not a loose open one where Pocock and Ioane might have thrived.

So . . . you were wrong then? ;)

Didn't see the game live but watched the analysis there and the highlights.  Work rate seemed immense and they were very focused.  The focus was actually made very clear by Paul O'Connell after the game in the interview on ITV.  The interviewer was gushing with praise about Irelands performance and how it was a momentous day for Irish rugby and O'Connells attitude was "sure we've only won a pool game".  Brilliant I thought and the measure of a true leader.  Job done, don't bask in the glory, nothing won, move on.  Well done Ireland.

Unreal atmosphere, O'Driscoll was almost drowning in adrenaline at the end when giving his speech.
Tough on Murray not getting the try, we all shared his exclamation but ultimately it didn't matter, it wasn't a day for coming up short.
Is there any harm with having both Sexton and O'Gara on at the same time? Sexton just does not inspire confidence at any time from any distance with his penalties, he just does not gather any confidence from converting one or two, that you can say 'yes he'll pop this 25m kick over nice and easy'. The missed easy penalties just demonstrated the unquenchable belief this team had on the day, that they had the beating of Australia in all areas.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 17, 2011, 11:52:29 AM
Didn't see the game live but watched the analysis there and the highlights.  Work rate seemed immense and they were very focused.  The focus was actually made very clear by Paul O'Connell after the game in the interview on ITV.  The interviewer was gushing with praise about Irelands performance and how it was a momentous day for Irish rugby and O'Connells attitude was "sure we've only won a pool game".  Brilliant I thought and the measure of a true leader.  Job done, don't bask in the glory, nothing won, move on.  Well done Ireland.

Hmm. I thought it was a trite thing for him to say. The interviewer was closer to the truth, this was far more than 'just another pool game'

Quote from: deiseach on September 17, 2011, 11:54:44 AM

Hmm. I thought it was a trite thing for him to say. The interviewer was closer to the truth, this was far more than 'just another pool game'

That's the difference between teams of winners and teams of wannabes.  If he had come out saying "yeah this is brilliant, best day ever for Irish rugby"  then you could maybe be wary of losing the run of themselves.  It was simply a stepping stone with added benefits.  For too long we have lived off the mentality of the odd big perfomance.  Ireland have the quality to be a top team but for too long have not consistently shown it, the thing now as O'COnnell said is to repeat today's performance again.

Capt Pat

Great to see this team put two big performances against big teams back to back.
That is 24-8 against England and 15-6 against the Aussies. Both were competitive games. The other 5 pre world cup and the US were not real competitive games.

We have the potential we just need to stay focused.

Means Fcuk all if they don't win the other games, what's the point of turning up for World Cup games if you think ya can't win them, Very Mick McCarthy type thing, just turn up and enjoy it attitude there ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2011, 12:03:39 PM

Means Fcuk all if they don't win the other games, what's the point of turning up for World Cup games if you think ya can't win them, Very Mick McCarthy type thing, just turn up and enjoy it attitude there ;)

Riiiight. So if Ireland don't win the World Cup, this win was worthless.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 17, 2011, 12:01:06 PM

That's the difference between teams of winners and teams of wannabes.  If he had come out saying "yeah this is brilliant, best day ever for Irish rugby"  then you could maybe be wary of losing the run of themselves.  It was simply a stepping stone with added benefits.  For too long we have lived off the mentality of the odd big perfomance.  Ireland have the quality to be a top team but for too long have not consistently shown it, the thing now as O'COnnell said is to repeat today's performance again.

Agree with this O'Connell, O'Gara and Sexton in their interviews all seem to reinforce the point that while the win and performance were great it's a just a win and the goal is still a quarter-final. Their mental focus is that of winners, just need to deliver against Italy in 2 weeks.

Capt Pat

The Betting before the tournament was ridiculous. Australia were much shorter odds than Ireland.

Listen ye bundle of begrudgin unbelievin bastards.  Maybe now yis will halve a bit of faith in us.  Come on Ireland!