Tyrone don't play fair

Started by Mike Sheehy, February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM

Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 12:22:31 PM
No problem admitting certain players throw themselves to the ground and personally I dislike it. But every team has them. Is that a defensable excuse? No, but i just say that to highlight the fact that every team has them, so shouldn't be used as a stick to beat Tyrone with.

And for the record, I don't believe it's a tactic that Mickey Harte uses.

THen how do you explain all tyrones success?

Quote from: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 12:32:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 12:22:31 PM
No problem admitting certain players throw themselves to the ground and personally I dislike it. But every team has them. Is that a defensable excuse? No, but i just say that to highlight the fact that every team has them, so shouldn't be used as a stick to beat Tyrone with.

And for the record, I don't believe it's a tactic that Mickey Harte uses.

THen how do you explain all tyrones success?

I think the lads are on about fellas simulating injury to get an opponent sent off or booked. That's fairly low in my opinion. Diving to win frees is a less serious version of this, but not nice either. My personal bugbear is the guy holding the defenders hand and pulling him down on top of you to win a free. I hate that.

Aidan O'Mahoney's dive against Cork that year was an example of the former. Any of Micko's teams are fine practitioners of the latter.

Quote from: Final Whistle on February 22, 2010, 10:29:57 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 01:09:39 PM

Francie got an arm in the face against Cavan, get someone to give you an arm in the face and we'll see you're reaction. He was only guilty of going for the ball against Linden.  Tyrone brought diving into our games, lying down every five minutes, pathetic. I never seen McKeever dive and I'm certain he didn't get anyone sent off in an All Ireland Final.
I don't remember what McGrane done but if he did hit Jordan an elbow he didn't hit him hard enough.- I do remember yon dirty thug going down on his knees on McEntees throat though.

Pints, your just like FOX-spend all your sad existance on this board-open the curtains, let the sunshine in you sad f*cker. In your corrupt mind it was Jordan who put the knees into mcentee???? Research, correct your post and come back to us.
I didnt say it was Jordan, it was mcmenamin. 

The problem here is the applications (for reasons I can't quite understand) of the rules at intercounty level. It's clear to watch any of the intercounty club championships that alot more is let pass and free's are harder won. It's a harder game IMHO. At intercounty its alot easier to win or manufacture free's, a change that certain players exploit (including a number of Tyronemen). If the policing of frees and application of the rules were properly and consistently implemented we'd have alot less of this shite. A good ref knows a fair tackle and a cheap one.

The only other thing is that if we can retrospectively punish the likes of Paul Galvin and McMahon then why can't we do the same with Aidan O Mahoney, Phillip Jordan and Rory Kavanagh. That's something that really gets my goat. The "simulation" of injury to get men sent off will only get worse unless they are retrospectively punished. A four week ban would cut this out of televised championship football in no time. It would hardly be a contentious issue either as any incident of this nature is nearly always black and white (thinking Jordan, Kavanagh and O mahoney in paticular)

It's actually quite funny that in a week when a Mayo player committed one of the worst dives in recent years that Tyrone are getting abuse for diving based on a few Armagh fans still yapping on about a couple of decisions from 2003. Get over it. If that was a Tyrone player who committed the dive last week all the usual suspects would be on here calling the player a disgrace/tr**p etc and how Tyrone are full of divers etc.

Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever - if diving to win scoreable free's was part of Harte's game plan the players didn't implement it to welll!

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 09:04:17 PM
It's actually quite funny that in a week when a Mayo player committed one of the worst dives in recent years that Tyrone are getting abuse for diving based on a few Armagh fans still yapping on about a couple of decisions from 2003. Get over it. If that was a Tyrone player who committed the dive last week all the usual suspects would be on here calling the player a disgrace/tr**p etc and how Tyrone are full of divers etc.

Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever
- if diving to win scoreable free's was part of Harte's game plan the players didn't implement it to welll!

Stats?

There might not be any - but you'd be hard pushed to disagree with the point (even if the absoluteness of it being the highest ever, may be wrong).

Quote from: Puckoon on February 22, 2010, 09:14:17 PM
There might not be any - but you'd be hard pushed to disagree with the point (even if the absoluteness of it being the highest ever, may be wrong).
I dont understand how anyone can make such a statement without having the stats available so I'm sure Tyrone Dreamer has them.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 20, 2010, 11:43:50 PM
I think the Fair Play Index is meaningless and will remain so until all counties are subject to the same degree of scrutiny. I am not saying that Tyrone red cards aren't merited. When all is said and done, Tyrone's opponents in these games were also on trial by video. Between them, they don't come near Tyrone's tally.
Maybe Cork and Kerry would be down there beside Tyrone on this index if their game was looked at by the CCCC.

Before this thread turned into a Tyrone-Armagh slagging match, a very valid point was lost amongst the mire .

As usually happens on here, a sensible, well-balanced post gets ignored but if someone comes on with an outrageous view on anything it turns into 4 pages of pointless going around in circles

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 09:07:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 09:04:17 PM

Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever
- if diving to win scoreable free's was part of Harte's game plan the players didn't implement it to welll!

Stats?

Obviously hard to back this up and that's why I said probably. Here's links to the match reports from the quater finals on:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0816/dublin_tyronetracker.html - tyrone dublin qtr final - tally of 23 with 1 free.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0901/1220218691274.html - tyrone wexford semi final - tally of 23, 5 free's.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa-championships/gaelic-football/tyrone-terriers--savage-kerry-1479642.html - tally of 18, 2 free's.

With just 12.5% of Tyrone's scores coming from free's from quarter final on its fair to say diving to win free's wasn't a big part of the game plan.

Probably nothing, you haven't a clue.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:15:32 PM

Your the won coming on here saying Tyrone won their All Irelands by diving. The fact that in 2008 Tyrone scored more from play in every match from the Quarter Final on than their opponents scored in total in those games prove's that diving to win free's couldn't have been that big a part of the game plan. I'd say if you went back to 2005 a lot of Tyrone score's were also from play.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:15:32 PM

Tyrone Dreamer gave you some good links there Pints. Prove him wrong if you're so sure.

It doesn't matter if it was the highest anyway. The point I made in the last post prove's what nonsense Pints was talking anyway.

I didnt say Tyrone won their All Irelands from diving TD.

Ziggy if TD wants to make silly statements it's up for him to back them up. A couple of Tyrone's match reports doesn't demonstrate that "Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever".