Tyrone don't play fair

Started by Mike Sheehy, February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=124228

The latest NFL Fair Play Index sees Limerick's impressive disciplinary record maintained, while the CCCC's bans on Tyrone have dropped Mickey Harte's men to the foot of the table.
Limerick picked up three yellow cards in their win over Carlow but having a perfect record from their opening game against London means they maintain their position at the top.

Monaghan, who were joint top last week have dropped into the bottom half on foot of eight yellow cars picked up against Galway.

Tyrone, mid-table after four yellows in round one, have dropped to the bottom to the pile after three of those yellows were changed to red by the CCCC and Joe McMahon received a straight red in the loss to Mayo last Sunday.

Further proof that Mickey Harte and his evil dwarves are intent on ruining our great game with their thuggery.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=124228

The latest NFL Fair Play Index sees Limerick's impressive disciplinary record maintained, while the CCCC's bans on Tyrone have dropped Mickey Harte's men to the foot of the table.
Limerick picked up three yellow cards in their win over Carlow but having a perfect record from their opening game against London means they maintain their position at the top.

Monaghan, who were joint top last week have dropped into the bottom half on foot of eight yellow cars picked up against Galway.

Tyrone, mid-table after four yellows in round one, have dropped to the bottom to the pile after three of those yellows were changed to red by the CCCC and Joe McMahon received a straight red in the loss to Mayo last Sunday.

Further proof that Mickey Harte and his evil dwarves are intent on ruining our great game with their thuggery.

Seems conclusive alright. It's a terrible terrible shame.

BTW I think the tiltle of the thread is brilliant :D What Tyrone do is sooo not fair

Is that Mickey Harte in that picture Zap?

I can't believe a Tyrone poster doesnt see the irony in slagging someone else over it not being fair. Yous have been crying for the last week!

Trevor Hill

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM

:D :D :D :D

I think its a serious topic, worthy of disussion. Why are Tyronemen so aniti-football ? A player like Darragh O'Se would never prosper north of the border. Why is this ?

Club Rossa

The reason Darragh O'Se wouldn't prosper up here is obvious.Sure look how poorly the kerry boys have done against the evil dwarves in recent years,they just can't cope with us ;)

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 20, 2010, 08:32:33 AM
Is that Mickey Harte in that picture Zap?

I can't believe a Tyrone poster doesnt see the irony in slagging someone else over it not being fair. Yous have been crying for the last week!

Yes Pints, it's Mickey Harte.

I don't think that's ironic. Hypocritical but not ironic.

Cos Dara wouldn't be good enough;-). Ye lot had him and yis still couldn't beat Tyrone. Sh1t did I just remind you of that? Sorry Mike. I know you are still traumatised. Cheer up though, yis did beat us in the championship before though. Twenty four years ago.

I don't understand why people think Dara wouldn't be good enough to play for Tyrone.

As a Mayoman if we where to be have a choice between Kerry and Dara, or Tyrone in the Championship, I think you can all agree what the easy choice would be. Tyrone strikes absolutely no fear into us, in fact we often expect to win, now Kerry!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You're a unique fella then. Most people don't have any expectations of Mayo.:-P

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 11:23:34 AM
You're a unique fella then. Most people don't have any expectations of Mayo.:-P

Well 3 of the last 4 times we met Tyrone in the League and 2 of the last 3 times we have met Tyrone in the Championship we have won, now compare that to Mayo V Kerry in the League its close enough but in the Championship its something like 5-1 to Kerry since 1996.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 11:00:28 AM

As a Mayoman if we where to be have a choice between Kerry and Dara, or Tyrone in the Championship, I think you can all agree what the easy choice would be. Tyrone strikes absolutely no fear into us, in fact we often expect to win, now Kerry!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What result do ye get if you apply that theory to Kerry fearing Tyrone or Mayo? Not that it matters i'm only making the point that you don't have a point.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

FFS how meaningless is a table after two games? Have any of you actually looked at it.

I'm curious. Justy, Gormley and Penrose all had their yellows upgraded to reds. The reds count on the table as 2 yellows. So can anyone remind me who got the other 4 yellows over the 2 games.

From what I can make out, if Setanta hadn't covered the game, Tyrone would be equal to Mayo on the table with 7 yellows and 1 red.

Lies, damned lies and statistics.
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Mayo, you might want to do a re check on the figures. Mayo have two two not three of their last four league games with Tyrone. (2007 & 2010. Tyrone won in '08 and drew in '09). Anyway I take you point apart from that. In the same way, we expect to beat Kerry when we meet them. Just ask Mike.

Quote from: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 12:58:58 PM
You might want to do a re check on the figures. Mayo have zoo two not three of their last four league games with Tyrone. (2007 & 2010. Tyrone won in '08 and drew in '09). Anyway I take you point apart from that. In the same way, we expect to beat Kerry when we meet them. Just ask Mike.

Yes your right, I was thinking just of Healy Park meetings, so it 3 wins out of 4 in Healy Park in recent years and I can't remember what it is in McHale, is it 1 win, 1 draw and 1 loss (may be wrong)

Different teams don't like playing certain teams, in Mayo we have no fear of Tyrone or Dublin, Laois when they where good wouldn't have scared us much either. Cork in recent years (while they are beginning to scare other counties) are becoming a regular win for Mayo, yet when they where getting beaten by everyone else, they always beat us. Kerry, Derry & Donegal are real bogey teams for us. Galway is always (ok not so far this year  ;)  ) is always a challenge for us, even when teams from other provinces expected to beat them, yet in the 1998-2001/02 period we where probably less scared of them than other counties. For many a year we where very apprehensious of Roscommon (maybe not now) even when other counties did not rate them. Most Connacht counties will be wary of Leitrim especially up in Carrick, Meath & Donegal know what we mean now.