Tyrone don't play fair

Started by Mike Sheehy, February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM

oakleafgael

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:10:52 PM
Well like myself I'm sure you're not privy to what county managers tell their players.  Most teams may have a diver or two but none have as many as Tyrone and it was them that were primarily responsible for bringing in to the game.  The widespread nature of within that team leads me to believe that it was a tactic/game plan. I never remember Canavan or Dooher diving before they played under Mickey Harte.

POG,

There has been diving in the game ever since I have played it, very badly, and followed it over the last 30 years. You mustnt have seen much of either Dooher or Canavan in the 90's then if you thing its only under Harte that they had trouble staying on there feet. There really only three of the current Tyrone team who are regular divers, I can count as many in the Armagh team and more in the Derry team.

Quote from: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:16:17 PM
Well like myself I'm sure you're not privy to what county managers tell their players.  Most teams may have a diver or two but none have as many as Tyrone and it was them that were primarily responsible for bringing in to the game.  The widespread nature of within that team leads me to believe that it was a tactic/game plan. I never remember Canavan or Dooher diving before they played under Mickey Harte.

POG,

There has been diving in the game ever since I have played it, very badly, and followed it over the last 30 years. You mustnt have seen much of either Dooher or Canavan in the 90's then if you thing its only under Harte that they had trouble staying on there feet. There really only three of the current Tyrone team who are regular divers, I can count as many in the Armagh team and more in the Derry team.
There will always be the odd players diving, never to extent there was in one team. 
I've seen plenty of Dooher and Canavan and neither dived to the extent they were under Harte.  There's a lot more than 3 in the Tyrone team diving, nearly them all were at it. 
Could you name the "divers" in the Armagh and Derry teams?

oakleafgael

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:22:30 PM
POG,
There will always be the odd players diving, never to extent there was in one team. 
I've seen plenty of Dooher and Canavan and neither dived to the extent they were under Harte.  There's a lot more than 3 in the Tyrone team diving, nearly them all were at it. 

POG,

On the Derry team Eoin Bradley is while for it, would be twice the player without it. His brother does it on occasion as well. McKaigue and Diver both where at it last year against Monaghan. Hinphey who is now back on the panel let himself down a bagful against Tyrone a couple of years ago when he went down as if he had been shot when Hughes hit him a dig in the ribs.

On the Armagh team McDonnell is fond of it, pulls the man in on top of himself. O'Rourke is a serial offender, his big brother must have taught him well.

Archie Mitchell

Pints, you have truely cemented your place as the biggest p***k on this board. Your embarassing yourself. Even a Derry man had to come on and take you down a peg or 2.

Quote from: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:40:59 PM
POG,

POG,

On the Derry team Eoin Bradley is while for it, would be twice the player without it. His brother does it on occasion as well. McKaigue and Diver both where at it last year against Monaghan. Hinphey who is now back on the panel let himself down a bagful against Tyrone a couple of years ago when he went down as if he had been shot when Hughes hit him a dig in the ribs.

On the Armagh team McDonnell is fond of it, pulls the man in on top of himself. O'Rourke is a serial offender, his big brother must have taught him well.
So you've came up with one player on each team who'd do it on a regularly, as I say, there will always be players who dive. There's only one team where it seems to be part of the gameplan.

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on February 21, 2010, 05:00:03 PM
Pints, you have truely cemented your place as the biggest p***k on this board. Your embarassing yourself. Even a Derry man had to come on and take you down a peg or 2.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 06:50:32 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:40:59 PM
POG,

POG,

So you've came up with one player on each team who'd do it on a regularly, as I say, there will always be players who dive. There's only one team where it seems to be part of the gameplan.

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on February 21, 2010, 05:00:03 PM
pints have you let mik sheehy log on under your name?
thats the sort of anti tyrone rubbish i thought only he was capable of!

It's not anti tyrone, it's anti diving/cheating/acting like a crying woman.

eiled in the bushes

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 07:07:56 PM
not often i would agree with an armagh man but good on you.canavan in 03 final was a disgrace
get some metal in your life

Quote from: eiled in the bushes on February 21, 2010, 07:23:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 07:07:56 PM
not often i would agree with an armagh man but good on you.canavan in 03 final was a disgrace

Hold on , he was brillant v Down in the 03  Final.

What a penalty !!!!!

QuoteIt's not anti tyrone, it's anti diving/cheating/acting like a crying woman.

Yep. Making a fool out of the defending AI champions defence was not on.  Imagine being upstaged by a man with only one leg?

cadhlancian

POG,
How strangely weird that you can remember much of another counties incidents over the years, yet can remember a MAJOR talking point from one of his own counties more recent major finals ( namely Paul McGranes elbow)..........how strange ::)

QuoteCourse it was.
No comment on Tyrone's diving for the last ten years? Dooher, Canavan, wing mirror Cavanagh, Jordan etc etc? Any comment on Canavan's dive in the Ulster final against Down, was it in 03? and the penalty that really was the winning of the game for Tyrone?
And now, when yous are caught acting the knackers and punished yous are crying. 

Was the penalty not part of the comeback in the drawn game?

Yeah it was a major part of the comeback if I remember rightly

I'd be the first to admit that the odd Tyrone man has been known to throw himself to the ground, but it's nowhere near an epidemic as Pints is making out and it certainly is not a disease exclusivity to Tyrone. Yes Pints, you're say you're anti-diving - not anti-Tyrone, but all your references have been about Tyrone.

Armagh have been well documented in the diving, but I wouldn't say it was part of the gameplan. No more than Derry, Kerry, Dublin or the rest of the counties.

Final Whistle

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 01:09:39 PM

Francie got an arm in the face against Cavan, get someone to give you an arm in the face and we'll see you're reaction. He was only guilty of going for the ball against Linden.  Tyrone brought diving into our games, lying down every five minutes, pathetic. I never seen McKeever dive and I'm certain he didn't get anyone sent off in an All Ireland Final.
I don't remember what McGrane done but if he did hit Jordan an elbow he didn't hit him hard enough.- I do remember yon dirty thug going down on his knees on McEntees throat though.

Pints, your just like FOX-spend all your sad existance on this board-open the curtains, let the sunshine in you sad f*cker. In your corrupt mind it was Jordan who put the knees into mcentee???? Research, correct your post and come back to us.