?

?
63 (87.5%)
?
9 (12.5%)

Total Members Voted: 72

Quote from: ONeill on November 10, 2009, 10:06:47 PM
Fair play to the Celtic fans - rendition of Aidan McAnespie during the Remembrance silence on Sunday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5y2-U6Ll1Q&feature=related

Oh why did you do it?
Have you not the guts to say
You say it was an accident or even a ricochet
But like Loughgall and Gibraltar you´re lies are well renowned
You murdered Aiden McAnespie on his way to the Gaelic ground

Celtic had asked Falkirk last week could they have a minutes applause instead of silence, Falkirk turned them down flat.

Archie Mitchell

Sad news today that John Kennedy has been forced to retire due to injuries.

the colonel

Awful news, could have been a legend. Many saying he would have been captain of club and country by now. Hope he gets well looked after and stays in the game in some capacity
the difference between success and failure is energy

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 11, 2009, 09:22:44 AM
Fair play to the Celtic fans - rendition of Aidan McAnespie during the Remembrance silence on Sunday.

Oh why did you do it?

Celtic had asked Falkirk last week could they have a minutes applause instead of silence, Falkirk turned them down flat.

Correct decision by Falkirk, why should they change their plans to try and save face for Celtic.

Really sorry to hear about John Kennedy. He hadnt had the chance to fully establish himself before the injury but he looked capable of being a really good footballer. It was a cowardly tackle in a friendly match which caused it, a real waste.

Myles Na G.

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 13, 2009, 06:49:07 PM

Oh why did you do it?

Correct decision by Falkirk, why should they change their plans to try and save face for Celtic.

Really sorry to hear about John Kennedy. He hadnt had the chance to fully establish himself before the injury but he looked capable of being a really good footballer. It was a cowardly tackle in a friendly match which caused it, a real waste.
If I remember, there was also no need for John to make the tackle, as the referee had blown his whistle to stop play seconds before.

Archie Mitchell

Would he be entitled to any compensation due to injury ruining his career? Either from Scottish FA, Romanian FA or the player himself?

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on November 13, 2009, 08:24:00 PM
Would he be entitled to any compensation due to injury ruining his career? Either from Scottish FA, Romanian FA or the player himself?

Could be a precedent

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/manchester_united/article4504210.ece

Archie Mitchell

Forgot about that case. He should be well within his rights to claim. He would be foolish not to.

I'm surprised that case didn't open the floodgates as there's bound to be hundreds, if not thousands, of lads up and down the country that had their careers cut short by injury, and not just in soccer. Perhaps its rare enough to be able to pin point a specific career ending incident. In Kennedy's case he seems to have suffered a few other injuries on top of the one against Romania, so maybe that muddies the water a bit.

Quote from: Myles Na G. on November 13, 2009, 08:16:54 PM
If I remember, there was also no need for John to make the tackle, as the referee had blown his whistle to stop play seconds before.

???

More guff.

the colonel

Quote from: Main Street on November 13, 2009, 09:44:28 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on November 13, 2009, 08:16:54 PM

???

More guff.

well if the whistle had gone, why did Ganea have to make the challenge then Myles? What a load of shite
the difference between success and failure is energy

QuoteIf I remember, there was also no need for John to make the tackle, as the referee had blown his whistle to stop play seconds before.

The pills and buckfast might have blurred your recollection somewhat.

Big John Hartson was on talksport tonight. Sounds like he's very well and is in with a fighting chance, though not out of the woods yet. Best of luck to him. Really looked very bad for him when the news first broke.

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 13, 2009, 06:49:07 PM

Oh why did you do it?

isnt the minutes applause the way they do things in European sport?

anyhow Celtic for the past few seasons have taken the precedent of using the minutes applause for all such commemortions - it makes more sense than a minute that is never a minute and can be ruined by one or two as opposed to hearing the actual support of a crowd !