The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Muck Savage

Quote from: Wee Barky on November 06, 2024, 08:04:46 AMWhat's the likely impact on the Ukraine war? Will trump reduce funding that will lead to a Russian victory ?
He'll likely look to "broker" a deal where the war stops, Russia take what the have and regroup until after he leaves office in 4 years
He will then look to arm the rest of Europe with weapons but make them pay for all generating wealth for the usual suspects and jobs for working class
As for the Middle East, he will look to bring back the sanctions on Iran and try to take them out of funding Hamas etc.
I do hope that this time around he might be a bit softer and look build bridges at home but that could be wishful thinking.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on November 06, 2024, 08:58:03 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 06, 2024, 08:49:11 AM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on November 06, 2024, 08:46:30 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 06, 2024, 08:31:08 AMit will lead to the genocide of Ukrainians or at least that was what posters were saying before the election.

Oh look there's the slippery one, missed you loads.

Yes, when Ukraine no longer exists and Ukrainians are forced to be "Russian" then that's a genocide.

so not impossible to know, as you wrote less than 30 minutes ago!!!

Impossible to know exactly what he is going to do but one thing he won't do is help Ukraine win the war.

And so on and on it will go for Ukraine.

Simple enough for you?

Lol, Slippery sitting on the sidelines and pouncing in with an imaginary gotcha.

;D there you are out on the front lines  ::)  while I sit on the sidelines.

it was definitive that it would be a genocide before the election and anyone not voting or would not vote for Harris was voting for a genocide of Ukrainians so why has that message changed since the election!!! its now impossible to know and he won't help Ukraine win.. like the US was helping Ukraine win for the past 3 years!!

what's your next username going to be?

It-s not
Quote from: Muck Savage on November 06, 2024, 09:02:53 AM
Quote from: Wee Barky on November 06, 2024, 08:04:46 AMWhat's the likely impact on the Ukraine war? Will trump reduce funding that will lead to a Russian victory ?
He'll likely look to "broker" a deal where the war stops, Russia take what the have and regroup until after he leaves office in 4 years
He will then look to arm the rest of Europe with weapons but make them pay for all generating wealth for the usual suspects and jobs for working class
As for the Middle East, he will look to bring back the sanctions on Iran and try to take them out of funding Hamas etc.
I do hope that this time around he might be a bit softer and look build bridges at home but that could be wishful thinking.
It's not as much about Trump as the people around him. It's turbo plutocracy and to hell with the gobshites who voted for him

Democrats had 3 times the election funds that Trump had. They really are stupid bastards.

Always be aware that we're outsiders looking at American politics in a skewed way.

Imagine if Irish politics was a spectator sport for foreigners. They'd be aghast at how dumb the Irish electorate for not making Ivana Bacik the Taoiseach, and they'd think Fintan O'Toole was the authoritative voice on all matters.

Inflation which hurts people pockets and weak border control were obviously more important issues.
I don't think the environment, identity politics, the Middle East etc are high priority for the Average Joe with such a backdrop.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 06, 2024, 09:05:02 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 06, 2024, 08:31:08 AMit will lead to the genocide of Ukrainians or at least that was what posters were saying before the election.

Yes, when Ukraine no longer exists and Ukrainians are forced to be "Russian" then that's a genocide.

Impossible to know exactly what he is going to do but one thing he won't do is help Ukraine win the war.

Simple enough for you?

Lol, Slippery sitting on the sidelines and pouncing in with an imaginary gotcha.

it was definitive that it would be a genocide before the election and anyone not voting or would not vote for Harris was voting for a genocide of Ukrainians so why has that message changed since the election!!! its now impossible to know and he won't help Ukraine win.. like the US was helping Ukraine win for the past 3 years!!

Ah the old "frontlines" jibe. That's a real favourite of the pro-Russian and the slippery closet pro-Russian brigade. Like you can't support Ukraine in their fight against genocide without heading to the frontlines. Just back from Gaza yourself are you? Maybe that's why you've been so quiet lately.

So, yes impossible to know. Will he abandon Ukraine outright or just force a frozen conflict on them (slow death)? Either way, the outcome will be the end of Ukraine.

So cling to your imaginary gotcha, it's all you've got.

Mourne Red

Ran a terrible campaign.. Was sneered at by the "know alls" on here but refusing to do Joe Rogans podcast under same terms Trump/Vance done, with the platform he has was stupid.

Trumps vote with young people increased and that was probably a contributor

What did Trump achieve in his first term that stands out or made a difference for the ordinary Joe?

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Given that now it looks like America is going to abandon its allies, Ireland surely now has to look at joining NATO. We've farmed out our defence to the Brits and America for too long.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: trileacman on November 06, 2024, 09:30:28 AMGiven that now it looks like America is going to abandon its allies, Ireland surely now has to look at joining NATO. We've farmed out our defence to the Brits and America for too long.

Not only that but Trump may try to lure Tech giants back home. Was a bit of noise about that in the news a few months back.

L
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 06, 2024, 09:30:27 AMWhat did Trump achieve in his first term that stands out or made a difference for the ordinary Joe?

Loaded the Supreme Court.
Got NATO countries to pay 2% on defence.
Overseen average economic growth with low inflation (nothing to do with him but he'll take credit for it like all politicians)

Big thing I would say is that he changed how immigration is viewed.

The supreme court is a big one. Thomas and Alito will both retire now, and Sotomayor might not outlast him.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on November 06, 2024, 09:26:15 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 06, 2024, 09:05:02 AM

Simple enough for you?

Ah the old "frontlines" jibe. That's a real favourite of the pro-Russian and the slippery closet pro-Russian brigade. Like you can't support Ukraine in their fight against genocide without heading to the frontlines. Just back from Gaza yourself are you? Maybe that's why you've been so quiet lately.

So, yes impossible to know. Will he abandon Ukraine outright or just force a frozen conflict on them (slow death)? Either way, the outcome will be the end of Ukraine.

So cling to your imaginary gotcha, it's all you've got.

why is it impossible to know now but before it wasn't?

you were very clear that it meant genocide for Ukrainians and you posted numerous times how not voting Harris was pro Russian ( a favourite line of yours) and I am/was pro Russian and against genocide in Gaza but not Ukraine for saying I would not vote for Harris. was it 20/30m more people from Ukraine into Europe but now its impossible to know??

if you cannot answer that's fine, it must be hard to remember all the shite you post with the numerous usernames you have... keep the childish insults flowing  :-\ ..

A sobering defeat for the Harris and the Democrats. Hard to have any at all sympathy given their sponsored slaughter of Palestinians in Gaza (not that Trump will be any better and will likely help build it back up for Israeli planters to move in). Harris supporting fracking would have driven away young voters too. I'd say next Irish government will not sit easy given the way US CEOs of major corporations won't want to cross him. Bezos and Tim Cook being prime  examples. The corporation tax gravy train could be over.